Рынок биозащиты — рост, тенденции, влияние COVID-19 и прогнозы (2022–2027 гг.)

Рынок биозащиты сегментирован по продуктам (сибирская язва, ботулизм, оспа, ядерные и другие продукты) и по географии.

Обзор рынка

biodefense market
Study Period: 2018 - 2026
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Europe
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 4 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Обзор рынка

Рынок биозащиты определяется такими факторами, как наличие благоприятных государственных инициатив, увеличение инвестиций со стороны правительств в развитых странах и быстрый технологический прогресс.

Каждый год правительства тратят значительные средства на исследования и разработки вакцин, чтобы быть готовыми к любым биотеррористическим атакам. Фармацевтические компании, работающие на рынке биозащиты, имеют огромные возможности для расширения благодаря стремлению правительств быть готовыми к любому виду биотерроризма.

В 2017 году более 50 заинтересованных сторон в области биобезопасности из государственного и частного секторов приняли участие в совещании в Центре Джона Хопкинса в Вашингтоне, округ Колумбия, для выработки рекомендаций в отношении Национальной стратегии биозащиты и Плана реализации. На развивающихся рынках, таких как Индия, есть несколько объектов, разрабатывающих защитные меры для борьбы с биологическими атаками, например Организация оборонных исследований и разработок (DRDO) в Индии. Прилагаются значительные усилия для подготовки вооруженных сил к биологической атаке. В последние два десятилетия наблюдается постепенное усиление внимания к распространению информации о биотерроризме во всех странах, наряду с несколькими предложениями и встречами по борьбе с такой деятельностью, что является одной из основных причин, стимулирующих спрос на биозащиту.

Объем отчета

Биотерроризм – это использование биологических агентов, наносящих вред человечеству. Биозащита представляет собой использование медицинских мер для защиты людей от биотерроризма, включая вмешательства, такие как лекарства и вакцинация. Кроме того, есть улучшения с точки зрения исследований и подготовки общественного здравоохранения для защиты от биологических атак. Растет осведомленность о синтетической биологии, в основном для использования биологических организмов для снижения бремени болезней, особенно для повышения урожайности сельскохозяйственных культур.

By Product
Anthrax
Botulism
Smallpox
Nuclear
Other Products
Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Italy
Spain
Rest of Europe
Asia-Pacific
China
Japan
India
Australia
South Korea
Rest of Asia-Pacific
Rest of the World

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Ключевые тенденции рынка

Ожидается, что ядерная продукция зарегистрирует самый высокий CAGR за прогнозируемый период

Ядерный сегмент изучаемого рынка в основном обусловлен растущим вниманием государственных органов к снижению рисков, связанных с химическими, биологическими, радиологическими и ядерными (CBRN) угрозами, и увеличением финансирования биозащиты. Ядерное или радиационное оружие вызывает разрушения вследствие вредного воздействия ионизирующих излучений и наносит ущерб, подобный тому, который причиняют разрывные бомбы. ХБРЯ и взрывчатые вещества представляют собой оружие массового уничтожения (ОМУ), которое может привести к уничтожению больших масштабов.

Различные агентства, часто в сочетании с инициативами по обороне и обеспечению готовности, тратят средства на сдерживание этих заболеваний наряду с растущими расходами на здравоохранение. Следовательно, все эти инициативы открывают возможности для фирм, занимающихся биозащитой, тем самым способствуя росту изучаемого рынка.

Biodefense Market 2.png

Ожидается, что регион Северной Америки будет доминировать на рынке в течение прогнозируемого периода

В Соединенных Штатах Национальный совет по науке и технологиям (NSTC) в Управлении научно-технической политики координирует науку и технологии, и одной из его тем является биобезопасность.

Для распространения информации был разработан специальный веб-сайт, предназначенный для общественности, академических исследователей, научных обществ, а также биотехнологической и фармацевтической промышленности, занимающихся биологическими исследованиями.

В Соединенных Штатах рост объясняется увеличением государственного финансирования для производства и накопления достаточного количества вакцин для использования против сибирской язвы, в основном в рамках различных инициатив, таких как Закон о биозащите, Управление передовых биомедицинских исследований и разработок (BARDA), и Исполнительный офис Объединенной программы химической и биологической защиты. 

Например, Министерство здравоохранения и социальных служб США объявило о своем плане потратить более 25 миллионов долларов США на антитоксин сибирской язвы в рамках плана обеспечения готовности к чрезвычайным ситуациям в 2018 г. В мае 2018 г. Коалиция за инновации в области обеспечения готовности к эпидемиям (CEPI ) объявила о выделении 25 миллионов долларов США на разработку и производство вакцин против вируса Нипах (NiV). Это финансирование было предоставлено крупным игрокам рынка, таким как Profectus BioSciences Inc. и Emergent BioSolutions Inc.

Biodefense Market 2

Конкурентная среда

Рынок биозащиты состоит из таких игроков, как Emergent BioSolutions Inc., Siga Technologies Inc., Ology Bioservices и Elusys Therapeutics. Многие компании получают средства от правительств и разрабатывают определенные вакцины или продукты, полезные с точки зрения национальной биобезопасности. Поскольку правительство Соединенных Штатов запланировало увеличить финансирование биозащиты, ожидается, что эти компании получат то же самое в ближайшем будущем.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Deliverables

    2. 1.2 Study Assumptions

    3. 1.3 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Presence of Favorable Government Initiatives

      2. 4.2.2 Increasing Investment by the Governments in Developed Countries

      3. 4.2.3 Rapid Technological Advancements

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

      1. 4.3.1 Low Penetration in Developing and Underdeveloped Countries

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Product

      1. 5.1.1 Anthrax

      2. 5.1.2 Botulism

      3. 5.1.3 Smallpox

      4. 5.1.4 Nuclear

      5. 5.1.5 Other Products

    2. 5.2 Geography

      1. 5.2.1 North America

        1. 5.2.1.1 United States

        2. 5.2.1.2 Canada

        3. 5.2.1.3 Mexico

      2. 5.2.2 Europe

        1. 5.2.2.1 Germany

        2. 5.2.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.2.2.3 France

        4. 5.2.2.4 Italy

        5. 5.2.2.5 Spain

        6. 5.2.2.6 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.2.3 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.2.3.1 China

        2. 5.2.3.2 Japan

        3. 5.2.3.3 India

        4. 5.2.3.4 Australia

        5. 5.2.3.5 South Korea

        6. 5.2.3.6 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.2.4 Rest of the World

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 Emergent BioSolutions Inc.

      2. 6.1.2 Siga Technologies Inc.

      3. 6.1.3 Bavarian Nordic

      4. 6.1.4 Cleveland BioLabs

      5. 6.1.5 Ology Bioservices

      6. 6.1.6 Elusys Therapeutics

      7. 6.1.7 Altimmune Inc.

      8. 6.1.8 Ichor Medical Systems

      9. 6.1.9 PathSensors Inc.

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Competitive Landscape covers- Business Overview, Financials, Products and Strategies, and Recent Developments

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Biodefense Market market is studied from 2018 - 2026.

The Biodefense Market is growing at a CAGR of 4% over the next 5 years.

Europe is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

North America holds highest share in 2021.

Siga Technologies Inc., Bavarian Nordic, Emergent BioSolutions Inc., Cleveland BioLabs, Altimmune Inc. are the major companies operating in Biodefense Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Biodefense Market - Growth, Trends, and Forecast (2020 - 2025)

The market is segmented by Product (Anthrax, Botulism, Smallpox, Nuclear, and Other Products) and Geography.

Market Snapshot

Study Period:

2016-2024

Base Year:

2019

Fastest Growing Market:

Europe

Largest Market:

North America

Major Players:

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Market Overview

The biodefense market is driven by factors, such as the presence of favorable government initiatives, increasing investment by the governments in developed countries, and rapid technological advancements.

Every year, the governments are spending heavily on the R&D of vaccines, in order to stay prepared for any bioterrorism attacks. Pharmaceutical companies operating in the biodefense market have huge opportunities to expand, due to governments’ drive to be prepared for any kind of bioterrorism.

For instance, in 2004, the United States Congress passed the Project BioShield Act, calling for USD 5 billion investment for purchasing vaccines, which can be used in the event of a bioterrorist attack. This act was designed to acquire medical countermeasures to biological, chemical, radiological, and nuclear agents, for civilian use. Though the implementation is observed to be slow, several recommendations and initiatives have been planned, particularly in the matured markets, such as North America. For example, in 2015, 33 recommendations were given by the Blue Ribbon Study Panel, in order to improve biodefense.

In 2017, more than 50 public and private sector biosecurity stakeholders engaged in a meeting in Johns Hopkins Center, Washington DC, for recommendations toward the National Biodefense Strategy and Implementation Plan. In emerging markets, such as India, there are several facilities developing defensive measures to combat biological attack, such as the Defense Research and Development Organization (DRDO). Substantial efforts are being made to prepare the military force for a biological attack. In the past two decades, there has been a gradual increase in the focus toward spreading awareness regarding bioterrorism across all countries, along with several proposals and meetings to combat such activity, which is one of the primary reasons driving the demand for biodefense.

 

Scope of the Report

Bioterrorism is the use of biological agents that are harmful to the mankind. Biodefense constitutes the use of medical measures, to protect individuals against bioterrorism, including interventions, such as drugs and vaccinations. Furthermore, there is an improvement, in terms of research and public health preparations, in order to defend against biological attacks. There is an increasing awareness regarding synthetic biology, mainly for using biological organisms, to reduce the burden of diseases, especially for improving agricultural yields.

Product
Anthrax
Botulism
Smallpox
Nuclear
Other Products
Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Italy
Spain
Rest of Europe
Asia-Pacific
China
Japan
India
Australia
South Korea
Rest of Asia-Pacific
Rest of the World

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Nuclear Products are Expected to Register the Highest CAGR over the Forecast Period

The nuclear segment of the market studied is majorly driven by the rising focus of the public agencies on mitigating the risks associated with the chemical, biological, radiological, and nuclear (CBRN) threats and increased funding for biodefense. The nuclear or radiation weapons cause destruction, due to the harmful effects of ionizing radiations and render damage like that caused by explosive bombs. CBRN and explosives constitute weapons of mass destruction (WMD) that have the potential to cause the annihilation of high magnitude.

The Nuclear Threat Initiative (NTI), founded in 2001, is actively involved in developing and implementing projects that bring new strategies, partnerships, and effective actions, in order to reduce the dangers from the nuclear, biological, and chemical weapons. The initiative’s mission is to strengthen global security, by reducing the risk of use and preventing the spread of nuclear, biological, and chemical weapons.

Various agencies, often combined with defense and preparedness initiatives, are spending on curbing the chemical or nuclear threats. Hence, all these initiatives are offering opportunities for the firms involved in the biodefense industry, thereby, propelling the growth of the market studied.

To understand key trends, Download Sample Report

The North American Region is Projected to Dominate the Market

In the United States, the National Science and Technology Council (NSTC), in the Office of Science and Technology Policy, coordinates science and technology, and one of its topics is biosecurity.

A dedicated website was designed to spread awareness, which targets the public, academic researchers, scientific societies, and biotechnology and pharmaceutical industries in biological research.

In the United States, the growth is attributed to an increase in government funding, in order to generate and stockpile sufficient vaccines to be used against anthrax, mainly through various initiatives, such as BioShield Act, Biomedical Advanced Research and Development Authority (BARDA), and the Joint Program Executive Office for Chemical & Biological Defense. 

For instance, the US Department of Health and Human Services announced its plan to spend more than USD 25 million on an anthrax antitoxin, as a part of an emergency preparedness plan, in 2018. In May 2018, the Coalition for Epidemic Preparedness Innovations (CEPI) announced that USD 25 million was granted to advance the development of, and to manufacture, vaccines against the Nipah virus (NiV). This funding was provided to major market players, such as Profectus BioSciences Inc. and Emergent BioSolutions Inc.

To understand geography trends, Download Sample Report.

Competitive Landscape

The biodefense market consists of players, such as Emergent BioSolutions Inc., Siga Technologies Inc., Ology Bioservices, and Elusys Therapeutics. These companies are getting funds from the governments and are developing certain vaccines or products that are beneficial, in terms of national biosecurity. As the government of the United States has planned to increase the funding for biodefense, these companies are expected to benefit from the same in the coming future.

Table Of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Deliverables

    2. 1.2 Study Assumptions

    3. 1.3 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Presence of Favorable Government Initiatives

      2. 4.2.2 Increasing Investment by the Governments in Developed Countries

      3. 4.2.3 Rapid Technological Advancements

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

      1. 4.3.1 Low Penetration in Developing and Underdeveloped Countries

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Product

      1. 5.1.1 Anthrax

      2. 5.1.2 Botulism

      3. 5.1.3 Smallpox

      4. 5.1.4 Nuclear

      5. 5.1.5 Other Products

    2. 5.2 Geography

      1. 5.2.1 North America

        1. 5.2.1.1 United States

        2. 5.2.1.2 Canada

        3. 5.2.1.3 Mexico

      2. 5.2.2 Europe

        1. 5.2.2.1 Germany

        2. 5.2.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.2.2.3 France

        4. 5.2.2.4 Italy

        5. 5.2.2.5 Spain

        6. 5.2.2.6 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.2.3 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.2.3.1 China

        2. 5.2.3.2 Japan

        3. 5.2.3.3 India

        4. 5.2.3.4 Australia

        5. 5.2.3.5 South Korea

        6. 5.2.3.6 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.2.4 Rest of the World

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 Emergent BioSolutions Inc.

      2. 6.1.2 Siga Technologies Inc.

      3. 6.1.3 Bavarian Nordic

      4. 6.1.4 Cleveland BioLabs

      5. 6.1.5 Ology Bioservices

      6. 6.1.6 Elusys Therapeutics

      7. 6.1.7 Altimmune Inc.

      8. 6.1.8 Ichor Medical Systems

      9. 6.1.9 PathSensors Inc.

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Competitive Landscape covers- Business Overview, Financials, Products and Strategies, and Recent Developments

Related Reports