سوق تغليف الورق المقوى - النمو والاتجاهات وتأثير COVID-19 والتوقعات (2022-2027)

السوق مقسم حسب الدرجة (الكرتون ، الكرتون الحاوية) ، نوع المنتج (الكراتين القابلة للطي ، الصناديق المموجة) ، صناعة المستخدم النهائي (الأطعمة ، المشروبات ، الرعاية الصحية ، العناية الشخصية ، العناية المنزلية ، المنتجات الكهربائية) ، والجغرافيا.

لقطة السوق

Paperboard Packaging Market - Market Summary
Study Period: 2020-2027
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: North America
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 3.76 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

نظرة عامة على السوق

من المتوقع أن يتوسع سوق عبوات الورق المقوى بمعدل نمو سنوي مركب نسبته 3.76٪ خلال فترة التوقعات (2022-2027). العوامل الرئيسية التي تقود السوق المدروسة هي نمو مبيعات التجارة الإلكترونية والطلب المتزايد على عبوات الكرتون المطوية.

  • الورق المقوى عبارة عن مادة ورقية سميكة تُستخدم بشكل شائع في التعبئة والتغليف. وهي مصنوعة من لب الخشب كمادة أساسية. لمنع إزالة الغابات والقمامة ، يتم إعادة تدوير نسبة كبيرة من الورق المقوى. تستخدم هذه في الغالب في تغليف المواد الغذائية والمشروبات ، والتعبئة الطبية ، وتغليف البضائع المعمرة وغير المعمرة ، والتعبئة الصناعية ، وتغليف مستحضرات التجميل.
  • حاليًا ، يفضل المستهلكون إعادة التدوير والقابلية للتحلل الحيوي كمعلمات مهمة للتعبئة على إعادة الاستخدام. وهذا يؤكد المخاوف المتزايدة للمستهلكين فيما يتعلق بالتأثير البيئي لمخلفات التعبئة والتغليف في المستقبل. تقوم أكثر من 60٪ من جميع المجتمعات في الولايات المتحدة بجمع وإعادة تدوير عبوات الورق المقوى. علاوة على ذلك ، تركز الشركات أيضًا على إدخال منتجات الورق المقوى القابلة لإعادة التدوير. أطلقت Cascades مؤخرًا صينية من الورق المقوى مصنوعة من ألياف قابلة لإعادة التدوير. أطلقت SIG أيضًا علب كرتون مصنوعة من البوليمرات المعاد تدويرها باستخدام نفايات ما بعد الاستهلاك.
  • مع التقنيات المتقدمة مثل الورق المقوى المطبوع رقميًا التي تجذب استثمارات عالية ، يتبنى موزعو المنتجات التكنولوجيا التالية بشكل متزايد بسبب الحل الذي يقدم تصميمات تفاعلية وملونة للمستهلكين لملاحظة ذلك. علاوة على ذلك ، تؤدي اللوائح الحكومية التي تطبقها دول مختلفة أيضًا إلى الطلب على حلول تغليف أكثر استدامة وصديقة للبيئة ، مثل الكراتين القابلة للطي.
  • شهدت صناعة التعبئة والتغليف بعض المشكلات الرئيسية بسبب جائحة COVID-19 ، بما في ذلك آثار الإغلاق على مستوى البلاد ، وانتقال الشركات إلى المصدر بعيدًا عن الصين ، وإعادة النظر في المواد المستخدمة في التعبئة والتغليف. على الرغم من أن جانب العرض من العبوات الورقية قد شهد تأثيرًا كبيرًا ، إلا أن الزيادة الهائلة في طلب المستخدم النهائي في بعض التطبيقات أدت إلى توسيع نطاق تغليف الورق بشكل كبير.
  • برزت العبوات المموجة كمحرك رئيسي لهذا السوق نظرًا لتطورها كشاشة عرض لنقاط البيع في تطبيقات البيع بالتجزئة ، إلى جانب التطوير المستمر في الفلوت الصغير ولوحة الرسومات عالية الجودة ، مما يتيح للصناديق المموجة اختراق الطي التقليدي تطبيقات الكرتون.
  • ومع ذلك ، من المتوقع أن يؤدي توافر بدائل عالية الأداء إلى إعاقة نمو السوق المدروسة. يعد تغليف الورق المقوى أحد أكثر حلول التغليف الصديقة للبيئة استخدامًا. إن قدرة هذا الشكل من العبوات على أن يتم إنتاجها بأحجام عديدة وبصمة صغيرة ، عند مقارنتها بخيارات التغليف الأخرى الأكبر حجمًا ، تجعلها مجدية للاستخدام في جميع صناعات المستخدم النهائي تقريبًا.

نطاق التقرير

الورق المقوى عبارة عن مادة ورقية سميكة تتميز بخصائص فائقة لقابلية الطي وصلابة مقارنة بالورق. يمكن قصها وتشكيلها بسهولة. تجعل طبيعتها خفيفة الوزن وقوتها مثالية للعديد من تطبيقات التعبئة والتغليف. يقدم التقرير تحليلًا دراسيًا شاملاً لسوق تغليف الورق المقوى مقسمًا حسب الدرجة ونوع المنتج والمستخدم النهائي والجغرافيا.

By Grade
Cartonboard
Containerboard
Other Grades
By Product Type
Folding Cartons
Corrugated Boxes
Other Types
By End-User Industry
Food
Beverage
Healthcare
Personal Care
Household Care
Electrical Products
Other End-User Industries
By Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
Italy
France
Rest of Europe
Asia Pacific
China
Japan
India
Rest of Asia Pacific
Latin America
Brazil
Argentina
Mexico
Rest of Latin America
Middle East and Africa
Saudi Arabia
South Africa
Rest of Middle East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

اتجاهات السوق الرئيسية

زيادة الطلب من الأطعمة والمشروبات

  • تعد صناعة الأغذية والمشروبات أكبر مستخدم نهائي لسوق تغليف الكرتون وتمثل أكثر من نصف حصة السوق العالمية. تستخدم صناعة الأغذية والمشروبات بشكل رئيسي الألواح المطلية غير المبيضة لتعبئة المشروبات وألواح الحاويات المموجة لتعبئة الفواكه والخضروات والمنتجات الغذائية. من المحتمل أن يؤدي تسريع الأطعمة المجمدة إلى زيادة الطلب على عبوات الكرتون القابلة للطي.
  • وفي الوقت نفسه ، باستخدام عمليات التقوية المستدامة ، يمكن أن تحصل بدائل الورق على نفس القوة ومقاومة الرطوبة والمتانة مثل البلاستيك (على سبيل المثال ، الطلاء القائم على الماء). يتم أيضًا التخلص التدريجي من القش البلاستيكي وأدوات المائدة من صناعة المواد الغذائية المعبأة مسبقًا لصالح البدائل الورقية / الخشبية.
  • تؤدي التغييرات في نمط الحياة وتزايد السكان الشباب إلى زيادة الطلب على المواد ذات العلامات التجارية والمعبأة. وفقًا لجمعية التغليف المرنة ، يمثل قطاع المشروبات في الولايات المتحدة ما يقرب من 50 ٪ من سوق التعبئة والتغليف. في الوقت الحالي ، يطلب أكثر من 30٪ من الأمريكيين الطعام مرتين في الأسبوع ، ومن المتوقع أن ينمو هذا بنسبة 3٪ في السنوات القادمة.
  • علاوة على ذلك ، كان الدافع وراء الزيادة في خيارات التعبئة البيئية هو موجة سريعة من الاهتمام الشعبي. وفقًا لـ Food Dive ، يعتقد 67٪ من العملاء حول العالم أنه من الأهمية بمكان أن تأتي العناصر التي يشترونها في عبوات قابلة لإعادة التدوير ، مع 54٪ يشيرون إلى أنه عامل يأخذون في الاعتبار عند الشراء. أيضًا ، 83٪ من المشترين الأصغر سنًا مستعدون لإنفاق المزيد على المنتجات المعبأة بطريقة مستدامة.
  • علاوة على ذلك ، يؤدي الاستهلاك أثناء التنقل في دول مثل الهند والصين واليابان إلى زيادة الطلب. في بلدان مثل الصين والهند ، يكون الطلب على الأطعمة والمشروبات دائمًا على جانب أعلى ، مما يؤدي لاحقًا إلى دفع سوق تغليف الورق المقوى. من المتوقع أن يؤدي هذا النمو الإيجابي في صناعة الأغذية والمشروبات إلى زيادة الطلب على عبوات الورق المقوى خلال فترة التنبؤ.
Paperboard Packaging Market

أمريكا الشمالية تشهد معدل نمو كبير

  • لا تزال أمريكا الشمالية واحدة من الأسواق الرائدة لمنتجات تغليف الورق المقوى ، نظرًا لوجود عدد كبير من اللاعبين العاملين في البلاد. من المتوقع أن يؤدي ارتفاع الطلب على الأغذية المعبأة في الولايات المتحدة وتحويل تفضيل المستهلك نحو منتجات الأطعمة والمشروبات إلى خلق فرص كبيرة.
  • تهيمن الولايات المتحدة على سوق عبوات الكرتون القابلة للطي في منطقة أمريكا الشمالية ، حيث من المتوقع أن يستمر الطعام باعتباره المستخدم النهائي الأساسي للكرتون القابل للطي. على سبيل المثال ، وفقًا لجمعية تقنيات التغليف والمعالجة ، من المتوقع أن تنتشر صناعة الأغذية الأمريكية بمعدل ثابت يبلغ 2.9٪ معدل نمو سنوي مركب حتى عام 2022.
  • وفقًا لوزارة التجارة الأمريكية ، في عام 2020 ، حقق الناقلون والمراسلون الأمريكيون ما يقرب من 117.3 مليار دولار أمريكي في الإيرادات التشغيلية. أكبر مزود لخدمات البريد والتوصيل في الولايات المتحدة هو UPS ، مع حوالي 40 ٪ من سوق البريد السريع. تشير هذه الإحصائيات إلى الطلب الرئيسي على أكياس البريد السريع المصنوعة من ورق الكرافت البني في الولايات المتحدة.
  • بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن المخاوف البيئية المتزايدة فيما يتعلق باستخدام البلاستيك والعديد من المنظمات وتركيز الحكومات على تطوير مواد التعبئة والتغليف المستدامة هي عوامل أخرى من المتوقع أن تزيد من نمو السوق المستهدف خلال فترة التنبؤ.
  • علاوة على ذلك ، يستثمر اللاعبون في السوق بشكل متزايد في حلول التعبئة والتغليف المتقدمة والمخصصة من خلال زيادة أنشطة الاندماج والاستحواذ أو استراتيجيات البحث والتطوير. علاوة على ذلك ، يشهد السوق أيضًا دخول لاعبين جدد إلى المشهد. على سبيل المثال ، أصبحت EdelmannUSA مؤخرًا عضوًا في PPC. وهذا يدل على التركيز المتزايد للشركة التي تتخذ من أوروبا مقراً لها على التوسع في هذا السوق.
Paperboard Packaging Market, Growth by Region (2022-2027)

مشهد تنافسي

السوق العالمي لتغليف الورق المقوى مجزأ للغاية. يركز اللاعبون الرئيسيون العاملون في السوق على ابتكار منتجات جديدة والدخول في شراكة استراتيجية لتعزيز وجودهم في السوق. بعض اللاعبين الرئيسيين العاملين في السوق تشمل NIPPON PAPER INDUSTRIES CO. LTD و Mondi و METSÄ BOARD و WestRock Company و ITC Limited ، من بين آخرين.

  • أكتوبر 2021 - افتتحت DS Smith PLC أول مركز هجين لابتكار العملاء. تم تجهيز المركز ، ومقره في لشبونة ، لدعم جلسات الابتكار والتصميم التعاوني للعملاء في الإعدادات وجهًا لوجه وعبر الإنترنت والهجين. يتيح مركز ابتكار العملاء الهجين الجديد لـ DS Smith التواصل شخصيًا مع العملاء في جميع أنحاء المنطقة الأيبيرية وعن بُعد مع الممثلين الدوليين.
  • سبتمبر 2021 - تعاونت Heinz مع WestRock لاستبدال العبوات المتعددة المغلفة بالانكماش من فول هاينز وحساء هاينز وأنواع معكرونة هاينز على أرفف السوبر ماركت بورق مقوى قابل لإعادة التدوير طورته شركة WestRock. غلاف Heinz صديق البيئة قابل لإعادة التدوير ويأتي من غابات مُدارة بشكل مستدام. لا يستخدم تصميم الغلاف المبتكر أي غراء ومادة أقل بنسبة 50 في المائة من الصندوق الملفوف المغلق بالكامل وأقل بنسبة 10 في المائة من تصميم غلاف الورق المقوى التقليدي.

اللاعبين الرئيسيين

  1. شركة NIPPON PAPER INDUSTRIES CO. LTD

  2. عوالم

  3. مجلس الغابات

  4. شركة ويستروك

  5. شركة أوجي القابضة

Paperboard Packaing Market - Market Concentration

مشهد تنافسي

السوق العالمي لتغليف الورق المقوى مجزأ للغاية. يركز اللاعبون الرئيسيون العاملون في السوق على ابتكار منتجات جديدة والدخول في شراكة استراتيجية لتعزيز وجودهم في السوق. بعض اللاعبين الرئيسيين العاملين في السوق تشمل NIPPON PAPER INDUSTRIES CO. LTD و Mondi و METSÄ BOARD و WestRock Company و ITC Limited ، من بين آخرين.

  • أكتوبر 2021 - افتتحت DS Smith PLC أول مركز هجين لابتكار العملاء. تم تجهيز المركز ، ومقره في لشبونة ، لدعم جلسات الابتكار والتصميم التعاوني للعملاء في الإعدادات وجهًا لوجه وعبر الإنترنت والهجين. يتيح مركز ابتكار العملاء الهجين الجديد لـ DS Smith التواصل شخصيًا مع العملاء في جميع أنحاء المنطقة الأيبيرية وعن بُعد مع الممثلين الدوليين.
  • سبتمبر 2021 - تعاونت Heinz مع WestRock لاستبدال العبوات المتعددة المغلفة بالانكماش من فول هاينز وحساء هاينز وأنواع معكرونة هاينز على أرفف السوبر ماركت بورق مقوى قابل لإعادة التدوير طورته شركة WestRock. غلاف Heinz صديق البيئة قابل لإعادة التدوير ويأتي من غابات مُدارة بشكل مستدام. لا يستخدم تصميم الغلاف المبتكر أي غراء ومادة أقل بنسبة 50 في المائة من الصندوق الملفوف المغلق بالكامل وأقل بنسبة 10 في المائة من تصميم غلاف الورق المقوى التقليدي.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHTS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.2.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.2.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.2.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.2.4 Threat of Substitute Products and Services

      5. 4.2.5 Threat of Competitive Rivalry

    3. 4.3 Industry Value Chain Analysis

  5. 5. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 5.1 Market Drivers

      1. 5.1.1 Strong demand from the e-commerce sector

      2. 5.1.2 Growing adoption of light weighting materials and scope for printing innovations propelling growth in electronics & personal care segment

    2. 5.2 Market Restraints

      1. 5.2.1 Effects of Deforestation on Paper Packaging

      2. 5.2.2 Increasing Operational Costs

  6. 6. IMPACT OF COVID-19 ON PAPERBOARD PACKAGING INDUSTRY

  7. 7. CARTONBOARD EXIM SCENERIO

    1. 7.1 Cartonboard Exports By Value and Volume

    2. 7.2 Cartonboard Import By Value and Volume

  8. 8. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 8.1 By Grade

      1. 8.1.1 Cartonboard

      2. 8.1.2 Containerboard

      3. 8.1.3 Other Grades

    2. 8.2 By Product Type

      1. 8.2.1 Folding Cartons

      2. 8.2.2 Corrugated Boxes

      3. 8.2.3 Other Types

    3. 8.3 By End-User Industry

      1. 8.3.1 Food

      2. 8.3.2 Beverage

      3. 8.3.3 Healthcare

      4. 8.3.4 Personal Care

      5. 8.3.5 Household Care

      6. 8.3.6 Electrical Products

      7. 8.3.7 Other End-User Industries

    4. 8.4 By Geography

      1. 8.4.1 North America

        1. 8.4.1.1 United States

        2. 8.4.1.2 Canada

      2. 8.4.2 Europe

        1. 8.4.2.1 Germany

        2. 8.4.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 8.4.2.3 Italy

        4. 8.4.2.4 France

        5. 8.4.2.5 Rest of Europe

      3. 8.4.3 Asia Pacific

        1. 8.4.3.1 China

        2. 8.4.3.2 Japan

        3. 8.4.3.3 India

        4. 8.4.3.4 Rest of Asia Pacific

      4. 8.4.4 Latin America

        1. 8.4.4.1 Brazil

        2. 8.4.4.2 Argentina

        3. 8.4.4.3 Mexico

        4. 8.4.4.4 Rest of Latin America

      5. 8.4.5 Middle East and Africa

        1. 8.4.5.1 Saudi Arabia

        2. 8.4.5.2 South Africa

        3. 8.4.5.3 Rest of Middle East and Africa

  9. 9. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 9.1 Company Profiles

      1. 9.1.1 International Paper Company

      2. 9.1.2 Mondi Group

      3. 9.1.3 Smurfit Kappa Group

      4. 9.1.4 DS Smith PLC

      5. 9.1.5 WestRock Company

      6. 9.1.6 Packaging Corporation of America

      7. 9.1.7 Cascades Inc.

      8. 9.1.8 Oji Holdings Corporation

      9. 9.1.9 Nippon Paper Industries Ltd

      10. 9.1.10 Rengo Co. Ltd

      11. 9.1.11 Graphic Packaging International

      12. 9.1.12 Metsä Board Oyj

      13. 9.1.13 Sonoco Products Company

      14. 9.1.14 Visy Industries

      15. 9.1.15 Seaboard Folding Box Company Inc.

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  10. 10. FUTURE OUTLOOK OF THE MARKET

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

تمت دراسة سوق تغليف الورق المقوى من 2020 إلى 2027.

ينمو سوق تغليف الورق المقوى بمعدل نمو سنوي مركب نسبته 3.76٪ على مدى السنوات الخمس المقبلة.

تنمو أمريكا الشمالية بأعلى معدل نمو سنوي مركب خلال الفترة 2021-2026.

تمتلك أمريكا الشمالية أعلى حصة في عام 2021.

NIPPON PAPER INDUSTRIES CO. LTD و Mondi و METSÄ BOARD و WestRock Company و Oji Holdings Corporation هي الشركات الكبرى العاملة في سوق تغليف الورق المقوى.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Paperboard Packaging Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2022 - 2027)

The market is segmented by Grade (Cartonboard​, Containerboard​), Product Type (Folding Cartons, Corrugated Boxes), End User Industry (Food, Beverage, Healthcare, Personal Care, Household Care, Electrical Products), and Geography.

Market Snapshot

Paperboard Packaging Market - Market Summary
Study Period: 2020-2027
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: North America
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 3.76 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The market for paperboard packaging is expected to expand at a CAGR of 3.76% during the forecast period (2022-2027). Major factors driving the market studied are the growth in e-commerce sales and the increasing demand for folded carton packaging.

  • Paperboard is a thick paper-based material that is commonly used in packaging. It is made from wood pulp as basic material. To prevent deforestation and trash, a substantial percentage of paperboard is recycled. These are mostly utilized in food and beverage packaging, medical packaging, durable and non-durable goods packaging, industrial packaging, and cosmetics packaging.
  • Currently, consumers prefer recyclability and biodegradability as important parameters of packaging over reusability. This underlines the growing concerns of consumers pertaining to the environmental impact of packaging wastes in the future. More than 60% of all communities in the United States collect and recycle paperboard packaging. Furthermore, companies are also focusing on introducing recyclable paper board products. The Cascades recently launched a cardboard tray made from recyclable fibers. SIG has also launched cartons made from recycled polymers using post-consumer waste.
  • With advanced technologies like digitally printed paperboard attracting high investments, the product distributors are increasingly adopting the following technology due to the solution offering interactive and colorful designs for the consumers to notice. Furthermore, government regulations being enforced by various countries are also leading to the demand for more sustainable and eco-friendly packaging solutions, like folding cartons.
  • The packaging industry witnessed some major issues due to the COVID-19 pandemic, including the effects of nationwide lockdown, companies moving to source away from China, and reconsidering materials used in packaging. Although the supply side of paper packaging has witnessed a significant impact, a drastic increase in the end-user demand in some applications has significantly expanded the scope of paper packaging.
  • Corrugated packaging has emerged as a key driver of this market due to its evolution as a point-of-sale display in retail applications, coupled with continuous development in small flute and high-quality graphics board, which is enabling corrugated boxes to penetrate traditional folding carton applications.
  • However, the availability of high-performance substitutes is expected to hinder the growth of the market studied. Paperboard packaging is one of the most used eco-friendly packaging solutions. The ability of this format of packaging to be produced in many sizes with a small footprint, when compared to the other bulkier packaging options, makes it feasible for use in almost all end-user industries.

Scope of the Report

Paperboard is a paper-based thick material with superior foldable and rigidity properties as compared to paper. It can be easily cut and formed. Its lightweight nature and strength make it ideal for many packaging applications. The report offers a comprehensive study analysis of the paperboard packaging market segmented by Grade, Product Type, End-User, and Geography.

By Grade
Cartonboard
Containerboard
Other Grades
By Product Type
Folding Cartons
Corrugated Boxes
Other Types
By End-User Industry
Food
Beverage
Healthcare
Personal Care
Household Care
Electrical Products
Other End-User Industries
By Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
Italy
France
Rest of Europe
Asia Pacific
China
Japan
India
Rest of Asia Pacific
Latin America
Brazil
Argentina
Mexico
Rest of Latin America
Middle East and Africa
Saudi Arabia
South Africa
Rest of Middle East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Increasing Demand from Food and Beverage

  • The food and beverage industry is the largest end-user for the paperboard packaging market and accounts for more than half of the global market share. The food and beverage industry majorly utilizes coated unbleached boards for packaging beverages and corrugated container boards for packaging fruits, vegetables, and food products. The acceleration of frozen foods is likely to drive the demand for folding carton packaging.
  • Meanwhile, using sustainable strengthening processes, paper substitutes can attain the same strength, moisture resistance, and durability as plastic (e.g., water-based coatings). Plastic straws and cutlery are also being phased out of the pre-packaged food industry in favor of paper/wooden alternatives.
  • Changes in lifestyle and a growing young population lead to a higher demand for branded and packaged substances. According to the Flexible Packaging Association, the beverage sector in the United States accounted for nearly 50% of the packaging market. Currently, over 30% of Americans order food twice a week, and this is expected to grow by 3% in the coming years.
  • Furthermore, the surge in ecological packaging options has been driven by a rapid wave of popular interest. According to Food Dive, 67% of customers around the world believe it is critical that the items they buy come in recyclable packaging, with 54% indicating it is a factor they consider when purchasing. Also, 83% of younger buyers are prepared to spend more on products that are packed in a sustainable manner.
  • Moreover, on-the-go consumption in countries like India, China, Japan is further fuelling the demand. In countries such as China and India, the food and beverage demand is always on a higher side, which is subsequently driving the paperboard packaging market. Such positive growth in the food and beverage industry is expected to increase the demand for paperboard packaging during the forecast period.
Paperboard Packaging Market

North America to Witness Significant Growth Rate

  • North America continues to be one of the leading markets for paperboard packaging products, owing to the presence of a large number of players operating in the country. Rising demand for packaged food in the U.S. and shifting consumer preference towards food & beverages products are expected to create significant opportunities.
  • The United States dominates the folding carton packaging market in the North American region, where food is expected to continue as the primary end-user of folding cartons. For instance, according to the Association for Packaging and Processing Technologies, the U.S. food industry is expected to proliferate at a steady rate of 2.9% CAGR through 2022.
  • According to the U.S. Department of Commerce, in 2020, U.S. couriers and messengers generated almost USD 117.3 billion in operating revenue. The largest courier and delivery service provider in the United States is UPS, with around 40% of the courier market. Such stats indicate the major demand for brown kraft paper courier bags in the United States.
  • In addition, increasing environmental concerns regarding the use of plastics and various organizations and governments' focus on the development of sustainable packaging materials are other factors expected to further fuel the growth of the target market over the forecast period.
  • Furthermore, players in the market are increasingly investing in advanced and customized packaging solutions through increased M&A activities or R&D strategies. Moreover, the market is also witnessing new players entering the landscape. For instance, EdelmannUSA recently became a member of the PPC. This is indicative of the increased focus of the Europe-based company to expand in this market.
Paperboard Packaging Market, Growth by Region (2022-2027)

Competitive Landscape

The global paperboard packaging market is highly fragmented. The major players operating in the market are focusing on innovating new products and entering into a strategic partnership to strengthen their market presence. Some of the major players operating in the market include NIPPON PAPER INDUSTRIES CO. LTD, Mondi, METSÄ BOARD, WestRock Company, and ITC Limited, among others.

  • October 2021 - DS Smith PLC to open its first hybrid Customer Innovation Hub. The center, based in Lisbon, is equipped to support collaborative innovation and design sessions for customers in face-to-face, online and hybrid settings. This new hybrid Customer Innovation Hub allows DS Smith to connect in person with customers across the Iberian region and remotely with international representatives.
  • September 2021 - Heinz Partners with WestRock to replace shrink-wrapped multipacks of Heinz beanz, Heinz soups, and Heinz pasta varieties on supermarket shelves with recyclable paperboard developed by WestRock. The Heinz Eco-Friendly Sleeve is recyclable and comes from sustainably managed forests. The innovative wrap design uses no glue and 50 percent less material than a fully enclosed wraparound box and 10 percent less than a traditional paperboard sleeve design.

Recent Developments

  • August 2021 - Mondi group launched seven new sustainable corrugated packaging solutions for growing online grocery delivery services across Central Europe. Grocery retailers can deliver a variety of goods, from perishable food to wine bottles, in these fit-for-purpose packaging. All boxes in the grocery portfolio are fully recyclable.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHTS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.2.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.2.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.2.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.2.4 Threat of Substitute Products and Services

      5. 4.2.5 Threat of Competitive Rivalry

    3. 4.3 Industry Value Chain Analysis

  5. 5. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 5.1 Market Drivers

      1. 5.1.1 Strong demand from the e-commerce sector

      2. 5.1.2 Growing adoption of light weighting materials and scope for printing innovations propelling growth in electronics & personal care segment

    2. 5.2 Market Restraints

      1. 5.2.1 Effects of Deforestation on Paper Packaging

      2. 5.2.2 Increasing Operational Costs

  6. 6. IMPACT OF COVID-19 ON PAPERBOARD PACKAGING INDUSTRY

  7. 7. CARTONBOARD EXIM SCENERIO

    1. 7.1 Cartonboard Exports By Value and Volume

    2. 7.2 Cartonboard Import By Value and Volume

  8. 8. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 8.1 By Grade

      1. 8.1.1 Cartonboard

      2. 8.1.2 Containerboard

      3. 8.1.3 Other Grades

    2. 8.2 By Product Type

      1. 8.2.1 Folding Cartons

      2. 8.2.2 Corrugated Boxes

      3. 8.2.3 Other Types

    3. 8.3 By End-User Industry

      1. 8.3.1 Food

      2. 8.3.2 Beverage

      3. 8.3.3 Healthcare

      4. 8.3.4 Personal Care

      5. 8.3.5 Household Care

      6. 8.3.6 Electrical Products

      7. 8.3.7 Other End-User Industries

    4. 8.4 By Geography

      1. 8.4.1 North America

        1. 8.4.1.1 United States

        2. 8.4.1.2 Canada

      2. 8.4.2 Europe

        1. 8.4.2.1 Germany

        2. 8.4.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 8.4.2.3 Italy

        4. 8.4.2.4 France

        5. 8.4.2.5 Rest of Europe

      3. 8.4.3 Asia Pacific

        1. 8.4.3.1 China

        2. 8.4.3.2 Japan

        3. 8.4.3.3 India

        4. 8.4.3.4 Rest of Asia Pacific

      4. 8.4.4 Latin America

        1. 8.4.4.1 Brazil

        2. 8.4.4.2 Argentina

        3. 8.4.4.3 Mexico

        4. 8.4.4.4 Rest of Latin America

      5. 8.4.5 Middle East and Africa

        1. 8.4.5.1 Saudi Arabia

        2. 8.4.5.2 South Africa

        3. 8.4.5.3 Rest of Middle East and Africa

  9. 9. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 9.1 Company Profiles

      1. 9.1.1 International Paper Company

      2. 9.1.2 Mondi Group

      3. 9.1.3 Smurfit Kappa Group

      4. 9.1.4 DS Smith PLC

      5. 9.1.5 WestRock Company

      6. 9.1.6 Packaging Corporation of America

      7. 9.1.7 Cascades Inc.

      8. 9.1.8 Oji Holdings Corporation

      9. 9.1.9 Nippon Paper Industries Ltd

      10. 9.1.10 Rengo Co. Ltd

      11. 9.1.11 Graphic Packaging International

      12. 9.1.12 Metsä Board Oyj

      13. 9.1.13 Sonoco Products Company

      14. 9.1.14 Visy Industries

      15. 9.1.15 Seaboard Folding Box Company Inc.

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  10. 10. FUTURE OUTLOOK OF THE MARKET

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Paperboard Packaging Market market is studied from 2020 - 2027.

The Paperboard Packaging Market is growing at a CAGR of 3.76% over the next 5 years.

North America is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

North America holds highest share in 2021.

NIPPON PAPER INDUSTRIES CO. LTD, Mondi, METSÄ BOARD, WestRock Company, Oji Holdings Corporation are the major companies operating in Paperboard Packaging Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!