Markt für Kartonverpackungen – Wachstum, Trends, Auswirkungen von COVID-19 und Prognosen (2022 – 2027)

Der Markt ist nach Qualität (Karton, Containerboard), Produkttyp (Faltschachteln, Wellpappenschachteln), Endverbraucherbranche (Lebensmittel, Getränke, Gesundheitswesen, Körperpflege, Haushaltspflege, Elektroprodukte) und Geografie unterteilt.

Markt-Snapshot

Paperboard Packaging Market - Market Summary
Study Period: 2020-2027
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: North America
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 3.76 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Marktübersicht

Der Markt für Kartonverpackungen wird im Prognosezeitraum (2022-2027) voraussichtlich um eine CAGR von 3,76 % wachsen. Wesentliche Treiber des untersuchten Marktes sind das Umsatzwachstum im E-Commerce und die steigende Nachfrage nach Faltschachtelverpackungen.

  • Karton ist ein dickes Material auf Papierbasis, das häufig für Verpackungen verwendet wird. Es wird aus Zellstoff als Grundmaterial hergestellt. Um Abholzung und Abfall zu vermeiden, wird ein erheblicher Prozentsatz des Kartons recycelt. Diese werden hauptsächlich in Lebensmittel- und Getränkeverpackungen, medizinischen Verpackungen, Gebrauchs- und Verbrauchsgüterverpackungen, Industrieverpackungen und Kosmetikverpackungen verwendet.
  • Gegenwärtig bevorzugen Verbraucher Recyclingfähigkeit und biologische Abbaubarkeit als wichtige Parameter von Verpackungen gegenüber Wiederverwendbarkeit. Dies unterstreicht die wachsende Besorgnis der Verbraucher hinsichtlich der Umweltauswirkungen von Verpackungsabfällen in der Zukunft. Mehr als 60 % aller Gemeinden in den Vereinigten Staaten sammeln und recyceln Kartonverpackungen. Darüber hinaus konzentrieren sich die Unternehmen auch auf die Einführung von recycelbaren Kartonprodukten. The Cascades hat vor kurzem eine Kartonschale aus recycelbaren Fasern auf den Markt gebracht. SIG hat auch Kartons auf den Markt gebracht, die aus recycelten Polymeren unter Verwendung von Post-Consumer-Abfällen hergestellt werden.
  • Da fortschrittliche Technologien wie digital bedruckter Karton hohe Investitionen anziehen, setzen die Produkthändler zunehmend die folgende Technologie ein, da die Lösung interaktive und farbenfrohe Designs bietet, die den Verbrauchern auffallen. Darüber hinaus führen staatliche Vorschriften, die von verschiedenen Ländern durchgesetzt werden, zu einer Nachfrage nach nachhaltigeren und umweltfreundlicheren Verpackungslösungen wie Faltschachteln.
  • Die Verpackungsindustrie war aufgrund der COVID-19-Pandemie mit einigen großen Problemen konfrontiert, darunter die Auswirkungen der landesweiten Sperrung, die Verlagerung von Unternehmen aus China und die Überarbeitung von Verpackungsmaterialien. Obwohl die Angebotsseite von Papierverpackungen einen erheblichen Einfluss erlebt hat, hat ein drastischer Anstieg der Endverbrauchernachfrage in einigen Anwendungen den Anwendungsbereich von Papierverpackungen erheblich erweitert.
  • Verpackungen aus Wellpappe haben sich aufgrund ihrer Entwicklung als Point-of-Sale-Display in Einzelhandelsanwendungen zu einem wichtigen Treiber dieses Marktes entwickelt, gepaart mit der kontinuierlichen Entwicklung bei kleinen Wellen und hochwertigem Grafikkarton, wodurch Wellpappschachteln die traditionelle Faltung durchdringen können Kartonanwendungen.
  • Es wird jedoch erwartet, dass die Verfügbarkeit von Hochleistungsersatzstoffen das Wachstum des untersuchten Marktes hemmt. Kartonverpackungen sind eine der am häufigsten verwendeten umweltfreundlichen Verpackungslösungen. Die Fähigkeit dieses Verpackungsformats, im Vergleich zu anderen sperrigeren Verpackungsoptionen in vielen Größen mit geringem Platzbedarf hergestellt zu werden, macht es für den Einsatz in fast allen Endverbraucherbranchen möglich.

Umfang des Berichts

Karton ist ein dickes Material auf Papierbasis mit überlegenen Falt- und Steifigkeitseigenschaften im Vergleich zu Papier. Es lässt sich leicht schneiden und formen. Sein geringes Gewicht und seine Festigkeit machen es ideal für viele Verpackungsanwendungen. Der Bericht bietet eine umfassende Studienanalyse des Kartonverpackungsmarktes, segmentiert nach Qualität, Produkttyp, Endbenutzer und Geografie.

By Grade
Cartonboard
Containerboard
Other Grades
By Product Type
Folding Cartons
Corrugated Boxes
Other Types
By End-User Industry
Food
Beverage
Healthcare
Personal Care
Household Care
Electrical Products
Other End-User Industries
By Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
Italy
France
Rest of Europe
Asia Pacific
China
Japan
India
Rest of Asia Pacific
Latin America
Brazil
Argentina
Mexico
Rest of Latin America
Middle East and Africa
Saudi Arabia
South Africa
Rest of Middle East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Wichtige Markttrends

Steigende Nachfrage nach Lebensmitteln und Getränken

  • Die Lebensmittel- und Getränkeindustrie ist der größte Endverbraucher für den Kartonverpackungsmarkt und macht mehr als die Hälfte des globalen Marktanteils aus. Die Nahrungsmittel- und Getränkeindustrie verwendet hauptsächlich beschichtete, ungebleichte Kartons zum Verpacken von Getränken und Wellpappenkartons zum Verpacken von Obst, Gemüse und Lebensmittelprodukten. Die Beschleunigung von Tiefkühlkost dürfte die Nachfrage nach Faltschachtelverpackungen ankurbeln.
  • Unterdessen können Papierersatzstoffe durch nachhaltige Verfestigungsverfahren die gleiche Festigkeit, Feuchtigkeitsbeständigkeit und Haltbarkeit wie Kunststoff erreichen (z. B. Beschichtungen auf Wasserbasis). Plastikstrohhalme und -besteck werden auch aus der vorverpackten Lebensmittelindustrie zugunsten von Papier-/Holzalternativen ausgemustert.
  • Veränderungen im Lebensstil und eine wachsende junge Bevölkerung führen zu einer höheren Nachfrage nach Marken- und verpackten Substanzen. Nach Angaben der Flexible Packaging Association macht der Getränkesektor in den Vereinigten Staaten fast 50 % des Verpackungsmarktes aus. Derzeit bestellen über 30 % der Amerikaner zweimal pro Woche Essen, und es wird erwartet, dass dies in den kommenden Jahren um 3 % zunehmen wird.
  • Darüber hinaus wurde der Anstieg ökologischer Verpackungsoptionen durch eine schnelle Welle des öffentlichen Interesses vorangetrieben. Laut Food Dive glauben 67 % der Kunden auf der ganzen Welt, dass es wichtig ist, dass die von ihnen gekauften Artikel in recycelbaren Verpackungen geliefert werden, wobei 54 % angeben, dass dies ein Faktor ist, den sie beim Kauf berücksichtigen. Außerdem sind 83 % der jüngeren Käufer bereit, mehr für nachhaltig verpackte Produkte auszugeben.
  • Darüber hinaus befeuert der Unterwegskonsum in Ländern wie Indien, China und Japan die Nachfrage weiter. In Ländern wie China und Indien ist die Nachfrage nach Lebensmitteln und Getränken immer höher, was den Markt für Kartonverpackungen antreibt. Ein solch positives Wachstum in der Lebensmittel- und Getränkeindustrie wird voraussichtlich die Nachfrage nach Kartonverpackungen im Prognosezeitraum erhöhen.
Paperboard Packaging Market

Nordamerika wird Zeuge einer signifikanten Wachstumsrate

  • Nordamerika ist nach wie vor einer der führenden Märkte für Kartonverpackungsprodukte, was auf die Präsenz einer großen Anzahl von Akteuren zurückzuführen ist, die im Land tätig sind. Die steigende Nachfrage nach verpackten Lebensmitteln in den USA und die Verlagerung der Verbraucherpräferenz in Richtung Lebensmittel- und Getränkeprodukte dürften erhebliche Chancen schaffen.
  • Die Vereinigten Staaten dominieren den Faltschachtelverpackungsmarkt in der nordamerikanischen Region, wo Lebensmittel voraussichtlich weiterhin der primäre Endverbraucher von Faltschachteln sein werden. Laut der Association for Packaging and Processing Technologies wird beispielsweise erwartet, dass die US-Lebensmittelindustrie bis 2022 mit einer konstanten Rate von 2,9 % CAGR wachsen wird.
  • Nach Angaben des US-Handelsministeriums erwirtschafteten US-Kurier- und Kurierdienste im Jahr 2020 Betriebseinnahmen von fast 117,3 Milliarden US-Dollar. Der größte Kurier- und Zustelldienstleister in den Vereinigten Staaten ist UPS mit rund 40 % des Kuriermarktes. Solche Statistiken weisen auf die große Nachfrage nach Kuriertaschen aus braunem Kraftpapier in den Vereinigten Staaten hin.
  • Darüber hinaus sind zunehmende Umweltbedenken in Bezug auf die Verwendung von Kunststoffen und der Fokus verschiedener Organisationen und Regierungen auf die Entwicklung nachhaltiger Verpackungsmaterialien weitere Faktoren, die das Wachstum des Zielmarktes im Prognosezeitraum voraussichtlich weiter vorantreiben werden.
  • Darüber hinaus investieren Marktteilnehmer durch verstärkte M&A-Aktivitäten oder F&E-Strategien zunehmend in fortschrittliche und kundenspezifische Verpackungslösungen. Darüber hinaus erlebt der Markt auch neue Akteure, die die Landschaft betreten. EdelmannUSA wurde beispielsweise kürzlich Mitglied der PPC. Dies ist ein Hinweis auf den verstärkten Fokus des in Europa ansässigen Unternehmens, in diesem Markt zu expandieren.
Paperboard Packaging Market, Growth by Region (2022-2027)

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der globale Markt für Kartonverpackungen ist stark fragmentiert. Die Hauptakteure auf dem Markt konzentrieren sich auf die Innovation neuer Produkte und gehen eine strategische Partnerschaft ein, um ihre Marktpräsenz zu stärken. Zu den wichtigsten Akteuren auf dem Markt gehören unter anderem NIPPON PAPER INDUSTRIES CO. LTD, Mondi, METSÄ BOARD, WestRock Company und ITC Limited.

  • Oktober 2021 – DS Smith PLC eröffnet seinen ersten hybriden Customer Innovation Hub. Das Zentrum mit Sitz in Lissabon ist so ausgestattet, dass es kollaborative Innovations- und Designsitzungen für Kunden in persönlichen, Online- und hybriden Umgebungen unterstützt. Dieser neue hybride Customer Innovation Hub ermöglicht es DS Smith, persönlich mit Kunden in der gesamten iberischen Region und aus der Ferne mit internationalen Vertretern in Kontakt zu treten.
  • September 2021 – Heinz kooperiert mit WestRock, um in Schrumpffolie verpackte Multipacks von Heinz Bohnen, Heinz Suppen und Heinz Nudelsorten in den Supermarktregalen durch recycelbaren Karton zu ersetzen, der von WestRock entwickelt wurde. Die Heinz Eco-Friendly Sleeve ist recycelbar und stammt aus nachhaltig bewirtschafteten Wäldern. Das innovative Verpackungsdesign verwendet keinen Klebstoff und 50 Prozent weniger Material als eine vollständig geschlossene Wickelschachtel und 10 Prozent weniger als ein herkömmliches Kartonhüllendesign.

Hauptakteure

  1. NIPPON PAPER INDUSTRIES CO. LTD

  2. Welten

  3. WALDBRETT

  4. Westrock-Unternehmen

  5. Oji Holdings Corporation

Paperboard Packaing Market - Market Concentration

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der globale Markt für Kartonverpackungen ist stark fragmentiert. Die Hauptakteure auf dem Markt konzentrieren sich auf die Innovation neuer Produkte und gehen eine strategische Partnerschaft ein, um ihre Marktpräsenz zu stärken. Zu den wichtigsten Akteuren auf dem Markt gehören unter anderem NIPPON PAPER INDUSTRIES CO. LTD, Mondi, METSÄ BOARD, WestRock Company und ITC Limited.

  • Oktober 2021 – DS Smith PLC eröffnet seinen ersten hybriden Customer Innovation Hub. Das Zentrum mit Sitz in Lissabon ist so ausgestattet, dass es kollaborative Innovations- und Designsitzungen für Kunden in persönlichen, Online- und hybriden Umgebungen unterstützt. Dieser neue hybride Customer Innovation Hub ermöglicht es DS Smith, persönlich mit Kunden in der gesamten iberischen Region und aus der Ferne mit internationalen Vertretern in Kontakt zu treten.
  • September 2021 – Heinz kooperiert mit WestRock, um in Schrumpffolie verpackte Multipacks von Heinz Bohnen, Heinz Suppen und Heinz Nudelsorten in den Supermarktregalen durch recycelbaren Karton zu ersetzen, der von WestRock entwickelt wurde. Die Heinz Eco-Friendly Sleeve ist recycelbar und stammt aus nachhaltig bewirtschafteten Wäldern. Das innovative Verpackungsdesign verwendet keinen Klebstoff und 50 Prozent weniger Material als eine vollständig geschlossene Wickelschachtel und 10 Prozent weniger als ein herkömmliches Kartonhüllendesign.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHTS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.2.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.2.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.2.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.2.4 Threat of Substitute Products and Services

      5. 4.2.5 Threat of Competitive Rivalry

    3. 4.3 Industry Value Chain Analysis

  5. 5. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 5.1 Market Drivers

      1. 5.1.1 Strong demand from the e-commerce sector

      2. 5.1.2 Growing adoption of light weighting materials and scope for printing innovations propelling growth in electronics & personal care segment

    2. 5.2 Market Restraints

      1. 5.2.1 Effects of Deforestation on Paper Packaging

      2. 5.2.2 Increasing Operational Costs

  6. 6. IMPACT OF COVID-19 ON PAPERBOARD PACKAGING INDUSTRY

  7. 7. CARTONBOARD EXIM SCENERIO

    1. 7.1 Cartonboard Exports By Value and Volume

    2. 7.2 Cartonboard Import By Value and Volume

  8. 8. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 8.1 By Grade

      1. 8.1.1 Cartonboard

      2. 8.1.2 Containerboard

      3. 8.1.3 Other Grades

    2. 8.2 By Product Type

      1. 8.2.1 Folding Cartons

      2. 8.2.2 Corrugated Boxes

      3. 8.2.3 Other Types

    3. 8.3 By End-User Industry

      1. 8.3.1 Food

      2. 8.3.2 Beverage

      3. 8.3.3 Healthcare

      4. 8.3.4 Personal Care

      5. 8.3.5 Household Care

      6. 8.3.6 Electrical Products

      7. 8.3.7 Other End-User Industries

    4. 8.4 By Geography

      1. 8.4.1 North America

        1. 8.4.1.1 United States

        2. 8.4.1.2 Canada

      2. 8.4.2 Europe

        1. 8.4.2.1 Germany

        2. 8.4.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 8.4.2.3 Italy

        4. 8.4.2.4 France

        5. 8.4.2.5 Rest of Europe

      3. 8.4.3 Asia Pacific

        1. 8.4.3.1 China

        2. 8.4.3.2 Japan

        3. 8.4.3.3 India

        4. 8.4.3.4 Rest of Asia Pacific

      4. 8.4.4 Latin America

        1. 8.4.4.1 Brazil

        2. 8.4.4.2 Argentina

        3. 8.4.4.3 Mexico

        4. 8.4.4.4 Rest of Latin America

      5. 8.4.5 Middle East and Africa

        1. 8.4.5.1 Saudi Arabia

        2. 8.4.5.2 South Africa

        3. 8.4.5.3 Rest of Middle East and Africa

  9. 9. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 9.1 Company Profiles

      1. 9.1.1 International Paper Company

      2. 9.1.2 Mondi Group

      3. 9.1.3 Smurfit Kappa Group

      4. 9.1.4 DS Smith PLC

      5. 9.1.5 WestRock Company

      6. 9.1.6 Packaging Corporation of America

      7. 9.1.7 Cascades Inc.

      8. 9.1.8 Oji Holdings Corporation

      9. 9.1.9 Nippon Paper Industries Ltd

      10. 9.1.10 Rengo Co. Ltd

      11. 9.1.11 Graphic Packaging International

      12. 9.1.12 Metsä Board Oyj

      13. 9.1.13 Sonoco Products Company

      14. 9.1.14 Visy Industries

      15. 9.1.15 Seaboard Folding Box Company Inc.

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  10. 10. FUTURE OUTLOOK OF THE MARKET

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Der Markt für Kartonverpackungen wird von 2020 bis 2027 untersucht.

Der Kartonverpackungsmarkt wächst in den nächsten 5 Jahren mit einer CAGR von 3,76 %.

Nordamerika wächst von 2021 bis 2026 mit der höchsten CAGR.

Nordamerika hält 2021 den höchsten Anteil.

NIPPON PAPER INDUSTRIES CO. LTD, Mondi, METSÄ BOARD, WestRock Company und Oji Holdings Corporation sind die wichtigsten Unternehmen, die auf dem Markt für Kartonverpackungen tätig sind.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Paperboard Packaging Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2022 - 2027)

The market is segmented by Grade (Cartonboard​, Containerboard​), Product Type (Folding Cartons, Corrugated Boxes), End User Industry (Food, Beverage, Healthcare, Personal Care, Household Care, Electrical Products), and Geography.

Market Snapshot

Paperboard Packaging Market - Market Summary
Study Period: 2020-2027
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: North America
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 3.76 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The market for paperboard packaging is expected to expand at a CAGR of 3.76% during the forecast period (2022-2027). Major factors driving the market studied are the growth in e-commerce sales and the increasing demand for folded carton packaging.

  • Paperboard is a thick paper-based material that is commonly used in packaging. It is made from wood pulp as basic material. To prevent deforestation and trash, a substantial percentage of paperboard is recycled. These are mostly utilized in food and beverage packaging, medical packaging, durable and non-durable goods packaging, industrial packaging, and cosmetics packaging.
  • Currently, consumers prefer recyclability and biodegradability as important parameters of packaging over reusability. This underlines the growing concerns of consumers pertaining to the environmental impact of packaging wastes in the future. More than 60% of all communities in the United States collect and recycle paperboard packaging. Furthermore, companies are also focusing on introducing recyclable paper board products. The Cascades recently launched a cardboard tray made from recyclable fibers. SIG has also launched cartons made from recycled polymers using post-consumer waste.
  • With advanced technologies like digitally printed paperboard attracting high investments, the product distributors are increasingly adopting the following technology due to the solution offering interactive and colorful designs for the consumers to notice. Furthermore, government regulations being enforced by various countries are also leading to the demand for more sustainable and eco-friendly packaging solutions, like folding cartons.
  • The packaging industry witnessed some major issues due to the COVID-19 pandemic, including the effects of nationwide lockdown, companies moving to source away from China, and reconsidering materials used in packaging. Although the supply side of paper packaging has witnessed a significant impact, a drastic increase in the end-user demand in some applications has significantly expanded the scope of paper packaging.
  • Corrugated packaging has emerged as a key driver of this market due to its evolution as a point-of-sale display in retail applications, coupled with continuous development in small flute and high-quality graphics board, which is enabling corrugated boxes to penetrate traditional folding carton applications.
  • However, the availability of high-performance substitutes is expected to hinder the growth of the market studied. Paperboard packaging is one of the most used eco-friendly packaging solutions. The ability of this format of packaging to be produced in many sizes with a small footprint, when compared to the other bulkier packaging options, makes it feasible for use in almost all end-user industries.

Scope of the Report

Paperboard is a paper-based thick material with superior foldable and rigidity properties as compared to paper. It can be easily cut and formed. Its lightweight nature and strength make it ideal for many packaging applications. The report offers a comprehensive study analysis of the paperboard packaging market segmented by Grade, Product Type, End-User, and Geography.

By Grade
Cartonboard
Containerboard
Other Grades
By Product Type
Folding Cartons
Corrugated Boxes
Other Types
By End-User Industry
Food
Beverage
Healthcare
Personal Care
Household Care
Electrical Products
Other End-User Industries
By Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
Italy
France
Rest of Europe
Asia Pacific
China
Japan
India
Rest of Asia Pacific
Latin America
Brazil
Argentina
Mexico
Rest of Latin America
Middle East and Africa
Saudi Arabia
South Africa
Rest of Middle East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Increasing Demand from Food and Beverage

  • The food and beverage industry is the largest end-user for the paperboard packaging market and accounts for more than half of the global market share. The food and beverage industry majorly utilizes coated unbleached boards for packaging beverages and corrugated container boards for packaging fruits, vegetables, and food products. The acceleration of frozen foods is likely to drive the demand for folding carton packaging.
  • Meanwhile, using sustainable strengthening processes, paper substitutes can attain the same strength, moisture resistance, and durability as plastic (e.g., water-based coatings). Plastic straws and cutlery are also being phased out of the pre-packaged food industry in favor of paper/wooden alternatives.
  • Changes in lifestyle and a growing young population lead to a higher demand for branded and packaged substances. According to the Flexible Packaging Association, the beverage sector in the United States accounted for nearly 50% of the packaging market. Currently, over 30% of Americans order food twice a week, and this is expected to grow by 3% in the coming years.
  • Furthermore, the surge in ecological packaging options has been driven by a rapid wave of popular interest. According to Food Dive, 67% of customers around the world believe it is critical that the items they buy come in recyclable packaging, with 54% indicating it is a factor they consider when purchasing. Also, 83% of younger buyers are prepared to spend more on products that are packed in a sustainable manner.
  • Moreover, on-the-go consumption in countries like India, China, Japan is further fuelling the demand. In countries such as China and India, the food and beverage demand is always on a higher side, which is subsequently driving the paperboard packaging market. Such positive growth in the food and beverage industry is expected to increase the demand for paperboard packaging during the forecast period.
Paperboard Packaging Market

North America to Witness Significant Growth Rate

  • North America continues to be one of the leading markets for paperboard packaging products, owing to the presence of a large number of players operating in the country. Rising demand for packaged food in the U.S. and shifting consumer preference towards food & beverages products are expected to create significant opportunities.
  • The United States dominates the folding carton packaging market in the North American region, where food is expected to continue as the primary end-user of folding cartons. For instance, according to the Association for Packaging and Processing Technologies, the U.S. food industry is expected to proliferate at a steady rate of 2.9% CAGR through 2022.
  • According to the U.S. Department of Commerce, in 2020, U.S. couriers and messengers generated almost USD 117.3 billion in operating revenue. The largest courier and delivery service provider in the United States is UPS, with around 40% of the courier market. Such stats indicate the major demand for brown kraft paper courier bags in the United States.
  • In addition, increasing environmental concerns regarding the use of plastics and various organizations and governments' focus on the development of sustainable packaging materials are other factors expected to further fuel the growth of the target market over the forecast period.
  • Furthermore, players in the market are increasingly investing in advanced and customized packaging solutions through increased M&A activities or R&D strategies. Moreover, the market is also witnessing new players entering the landscape. For instance, EdelmannUSA recently became a member of the PPC. This is indicative of the increased focus of the Europe-based company to expand in this market.
Paperboard Packaging Market, Growth by Region (2022-2027)

Competitive Landscape

The global paperboard packaging market is highly fragmented. The major players operating in the market are focusing on innovating new products and entering into a strategic partnership to strengthen their market presence. Some of the major players operating in the market include NIPPON PAPER INDUSTRIES CO. LTD, Mondi, METSÄ BOARD, WestRock Company, and ITC Limited, among others.

  • October 2021 - DS Smith PLC to open its first hybrid Customer Innovation Hub. The center, based in Lisbon, is equipped to support collaborative innovation and design sessions for customers in face-to-face, online and hybrid settings. This new hybrid Customer Innovation Hub allows DS Smith to connect in person with customers across the Iberian region and remotely with international representatives.
  • September 2021 - Heinz Partners with WestRock to replace shrink-wrapped multipacks of Heinz beanz, Heinz soups, and Heinz pasta varieties on supermarket shelves with recyclable paperboard developed by WestRock. The Heinz Eco-Friendly Sleeve is recyclable and comes from sustainably managed forests. The innovative wrap design uses no glue and 50 percent less material than a fully enclosed wraparound box and 10 percent less than a traditional paperboard sleeve design.

Recent Developments

  • August 2021 - Mondi group launched seven new sustainable corrugated packaging solutions for growing online grocery delivery services across Central Europe. Grocery retailers can deliver a variety of goods, from perishable food to wine bottles, in these fit-for-purpose packaging. All boxes in the grocery portfolio are fully recyclable.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHTS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.2.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.2.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.2.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.2.4 Threat of Substitute Products and Services

      5. 4.2.5 Threat of Competitive Rivalry

    3. 4.3 Industry Value Chain Analysis

  5. 5. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 5.1 Market Drivers

      1. 5.1.1 Strong demand from the e-commerce sector

      2. 5.1.2 Growing adoption of light weighting materials and scope for printing innovations propelling growth in electronics & personal care segment

    2. 5.2 Market Restraints

      1. 5.2.1 Effects of Deforestation on Paper Packaging

      2. 5.2.2 Increasing Operational Costs

  6. 6. IMPACT OF COVID-19 ON PAPERBOARD PACKAGING INDUSTRY

  7. 7. CARTONBOARD EXIM SCENERIO

    1. 7.1 Cartonboard Exports By Value and Volume

    2. 7.2 Cartonboard Import By Value and Volume

  8. 8. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 8.1 By Grade

      1. 8.1.1 Cartonboard

      2. 8.1.2 Containerboard

      3. 8.1.3 Other Grades

    2. 8.2 By Product Type

      1. 8.2.1 Folding Cartons

      2. 8.2.2 Corrugated Boxes

      3. 8.2.3 Other Types

    3. 8.3 By End-User Industry

      1. 8.3.1 Food

      2. 8.3.2 Beverage

      3. 8.3.3 Healthcare

      4. 8.3.4 Personal Care

      5. 8.3.5 Household Care

      6. 8.3.6 Electrical Products

      7. 8.3.7 Other End-User Industries

    4. 8.4 By Geography

      1. 8.4.1 North America

        1. 8.4.1.1 United States

        2. 8.4.1.2 Canada

      2. 8.4.2 Europe

        1. 8.4.2.1 Germany

        2. 8.4.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 8.4.2.3 Italy

        4. 8.4.2.4 France

        5. 8.4.2.5 Rest of Europe

      3. 8.4.3 Asia Pacific

        1. 8.4.3.1 China

        2. 8.4.3.2 Japan

        3. 8.4.3.3 India

        4. 8.4.3.4 Rest of Asia Pacific

      4. 8.4.4 Latin America

        1. 8.4.4.1 Brazil

        2. 8.4.4.2 Argentina

        3. 8.4.4.3 Mexico

        4. 8.4.4.4 Rest of Latin America

      5. 8.4.5 Middle East and Africa

        1. 8.4.5.1 Saudi Arabia

        2. 8.4.5.2 South Africa

        3. 8.4.5.3 Rest of Middle East and Africa

  9. 9. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 9.1 Company Profiles

      1. 9.1.1 International Paper Company

      2. 9.1.2 Mondi Group

      3. 9.1.3 Smurfit Kappa Group

      4. 9.1.4 DS Smith PLC

      5. 9.1.5 WestRock Company

      6. 9.1.6 Packaging Corporation of America

      7. 9.1.7 Cascades Inc.

      8. 9.1.8 Oji Holdings Corporation

      9. 9.1.9 Nippon Paper Industries Ltd

      10. 9.1.10 Rengo Co. Ltd

      11. 9.1.11 Graphic Packaging International

      12. 9.1.12 Metsä Board Oyj

      13. 9.1.13 Sonoco Products Company

      14. 9.1.14 Visy Industries

      15. 9.1.15 Seaboard Folding Box Company Inc.

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  10. 10. FUTURE OUTLOOK OF THE MARKET

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Paperboard Packaging Market market is studied from 2020 - 2027.

The Paperboard Packaging Market is growing at a CAGR of 3.76% over the next 5 years.

North America is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

North America holds highest share in 2021.

NIPPON PAPER INDUSTRIES CO. LTD, Mondi, METSÄ BOARD, WestRock Company, Oji Holdings Corporation are the major companies operating in Paperboard Packaging Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!