US-Markt für Hochspannungs-Gleichstrom-Übertragungssysteme (HGÜ) – Wachstum, Trends, Auswirkungen von COVID-19 und Prognosen (2023 – 2028)

Der Markt ist nach Übertragungstyp (unterseeisches HGÜ-Übertragungssystem, HGÜ-Freileitungssystem und unterirdisches HGÜ-Übertragungssystem) und Komponente (Konverterstationen und Übertragungsmedium (Kabel)) unterteilt.

Markt-Snapshot

United States High-Voltage Direct Current (HVDC) Transmission Systems Market - Market Summary
Study Period: 2019-2027
CAGR: > 11 %

Major Players

rd-img

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

setting-icon

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Marktübersicht

Der Markt für Hochspannungs-Gleichstrom-Übertragungssysteme (HGÜ) in den Vereinigten Staaten wird im Prognosezeitraum 2022-2027 voraussichtlich eine CAGR von mehr als 11 % verzeichnen. Der Ausbruch von COVID-19 im ersten Quartal 2020 hatte einen moderaten Effekt in Bezug auf verzögerte laufende Projekte und die Verschiebung von Trends für anstehende Projekte. Faktoren wie die steigenden Investitionen und bevorstehende Übertragungs- und Verteilungsprojekte, die zunehmende Durchdringung erneuerbarer Energiequellen und der Ausbau der Strominfrastruktur werden den Markt im Prognosezeitraum voraussichtlich antreiben. Allerdings dürften hohe Installationskosten und hohe Verluste bei kleineren Übertragungsdistanzen das Marktwachstum behindern.

  • Das U-Boot-HGÜ-Übertragungssystem wird aufgrund der bevorstehenden Projektentwicklungen und der zunehmenden Konzentration auf den Stromhandel zwischen den Ländern voraussichtlich ein erhebliches Wachstum verzeichnen.
  • Technologische Fortschritte bei HGÜ-Übertragungssystemen sollen dazu beitragen, betriebliche Probleme mit Offshore-Wind- und Solarstromübertragungssystemen zu mindern. Daher wird erwartet, dass dies eine bessere Gelegenheit für das Wachstum des Marktes für HGÜ-Übertragungssysteme im Land bietet.
  • Die zunehmende Durchdringung erneuerbarer Energiequellen dürfte den US-Markt für Hochspannungs-Gleichstrom-Übertragungssysteme (HGÜ) im Prognosezeitraum antreiben.

Umfang des Berichts

Der US-amerikanische Marktbericht für Hochspannungs-Gleichstrom-Übertragungssysteme (HGÜ) umfasst:

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Wichtige Markttrends

U-Boot-HGÜ-Übertragungssystemtyp mit deutlichem Wachstum

  • Die submarine Übertragung von Strom gewinnt aufgrund der zunehmenden Fokussierung auf den Stromhandel zwischen Ländern an Bedeutung. Das U-Boot-Stromübertragungssystem HGÜ gilt als Schlüsseltechnologie für die Entwicklung zukünftiger Stromübertragungsnetze. Es ist auch die einzige verfügbare Lösung für die Übertragung hoher Leistung über lange Unterwasserdistanzen. Aus diesen Gründen werden HGÜ-Leitungen für die weltweite Verbindung von Offshore-Windanlagen bevorzugt.
  • Im HGÜ-Übertragungssystem können die Unterseekabel kostengünstiger sein, insbesondere bei langen Verbindungen, bei denen die Kapazität des Kabels zu viel zusätzlichen Ladestrom erfordert.
  • Ab 2020 werden die anstehenden Projekte in den Vereinigten Staaten wie Atlantic Wind Connection-Transmission (im Wert von ca. 5 Mrd. USD), Grain Belt Express Clean Line (im Wert von ca. 3 Mrd. USD), Trans-West Express Transmission Line (im Wert von ca ca. 3 Milliarden) usw. werden voraussichtlich eine enorme Nachfrage nach HGÜ-Übertragungssystemen schaffen.
  • Im Juni 2021 gab SOO Green HVDC Link die Auswahl der Prysmian Group als bevorzugten Lieferanten von Hochspannungs-Gleichstrom-Kabelsystemen für das erste Übertragungsprojekt seiner Art bekannt, das zusammen mit bestehenden Eisenbahnwegen unterirdisch installiert werden soll. Das interregionale 2.100-MW-Projekt, das als erste Verbindung in einem nationalen sauberen Energienetz gilt, wird zwei der größten Energiemärkte in den Vereinigten Staaten verbinden.
  • Faktoren wie die zunehmende Zahl von Offshore-Windparks sowie Verbindungen zwischen Ländern durch Seekabel werden die Nachfrage nach Unterwasser-Übertragungssystemen im Prognosezeitraum voraussichtlich erhöhen.
  • Aufgrund der oben genannten Punkte wird daher erwartet, dass U-Boot-HGÜ-Übertragungssysteme im Prognosezeitraum ein erhebliches Wachstum verzeichnen werden.
United States High-Voltage Direct Current (HVDC) Transmission Systems Market - Net Energy Generation Mix by Source

Erhöhte Durchdringung erneuerbarer Energiequellen treibt die Marktnachfrage an

  • Die Stromversorgung der Vereinigten Staaten befindet sich in einem bedeutenden Wandel, weg von fossilen Brennstoffen und hin zu erneuerbaren Energiequellen. Darüber hinaus sind Wind- und Solar-PV auf dem besten Weg, die billigsten Stromquellen zu werden, was neue Möglichkeiten für die Dekarbonisierung bietet. Da eine größere Anzahl von Kohlekraftwerken außer Betrieb genommen wird, wird erwartet, dass die erneuerbare Erzeugung eine entscheidende Rolle bei der Deckung des steigenden Energiebedarfs spielen wird.
  • Darüber hinaus sinken die Kosten für die Stromerzeugung aus erneuerbaren Energien, hauptsächlich aus Solar- und Windenergie, kontinuierlich. Die Hauptgründe sind Fertigungsinnovationen, Verbesserungen bei Materialien und Konstruktionen von Windturbinen, Skaleneffekte und Fortschritte bei thermischen Energiespeichersystemen für konzentrierte Solarkraftwerke (CSP).
  • Darüber hinaus lieferten erneuerbare Energien in den Vereinigten Staaten im Jahr 2020 etwa 11,59 Billiarden British Thermal Units (BTU), was 12 % des gesamten Energieverbrauchs entspricht. Der Stromsektor machte im Jahr 2020 etwa 60 % des gesamten Verbrauchs an erneuerbarer Energie in den Vereinigten Staaten aus, und etwa 20 % der gesamten Stromerzeugung in den Vereinigten Staaten stammte aus erneuerbaren Energiequellen.
  • Außerdem befinden sich die erneuerbaren Kraftwerke im Allgemeinen in ländlichen Gebieten und benötigen Fernübertragungsleitungen, um den erzeugten Strom an die Verbraucher zu liefern. Die HGÜ ist zu einem integralen Bestandteil vieler Übertragungsnetze geworden, da sie entfernte Quellen der Stromerzeugung (erneuerbare Quellen wie Wasserkraft oder Wind) mit Lastzentren verbinden kann, wo sie benötigt werden, Hunderte oder sogar Tausende von Kilometern entfernt.
  • Es gibt Pläne, die 600 kV, 4.000 MW Plains und Eastern Clean Line zu entwickeln, um Windenergie vom Oklahoma-Texas Panhandle nach Arkansas, Tennessee und anderen Bundesstaaten in der Region zu liefern.
  • Darüber hinaus unterstützen die dänische Investmentfirma und die Siemens AG eine geplante unterirdische Hochspannungs-Gleichstrom-Übertragungsleitung im Wert von 2,5 Milliarden US-Dollar, die möglicherweise die erste ihrer Art in den Vereinigten Staaten ist.
  • Im Oktober 2021 beauftragte Orsted und Eversource Siemens Energy mit der Lieferung eines Übertragungssystems für einen 924-MW-Offshore-Windpark, der den Staat New York mit Strom versorgt. Sunrise Wind wird das erste Offshore-Windprojekt in den Vereinigten Staaten sein, das HGÜ-Technologie nutzt.
  • Aufgrund der oben genannten Punkte wird daher erwartet, dass die Zunahme der Installationen erneuerbarer Energien den Markt für Hochspannungs-Gleichstrom-Übertragungssysteme (HGÜ) in den Vereinigten Staaten im Prognosezeitraum antreiben wird.
United States High-Voltage Direct Current (HVDC) Transmission Systems Market - Total Primary Energy Consumption Share by Source

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der Markt der Vereinigten Staaten von Hochspannungs-Gleichstrom-Übertragungssystemen (HGÜ) ist mäßig fragmentiert. Zu den Hauptakteuren auf dem Markt gehören unter anderem General Electric Company, Toshiba Corporation, Siemens Energy AG, LS Electric Co., Ltd. und NKT A/S.

Hauptakteure

  1. General Electric Company

  2. Toshiba Corporation

  3. NKT A/S

  4. LS Electric Co., Ltd. 

  5. Siemens Energy AG

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

The United States High-Voltage-Direct-Current (HVDC) Transmission Systems Market - Market Concentration.png

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der Markt der Vereinigten Staaten von Hochspannungs-Gleichstrom-Übertragungssystemen (HGÜ) ist mäßig fragmentiert. Zu den Hauptakteuren auf dem Markt gehören unter anderem General Electric Company, Toshiba Corporation, Siemens Energy AG, LS Electric Co., Ltd. und NKT A/S.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. EINLEITUNG

    1. 1.1 Umfang der Studie

      1. 1.2 Marktdefinition

        1. 1.3 Annahmen studieren

        2. 2. ZUSAMMENFASSUNG

          1. 3. FORSCHUNGSMETHODIK

            1. 4. MARKTÜBERSICHT

              1. 4.1 Einführung

                1. 4.2 Marktgröße und Nachfrageprognose in Mrd. USD bis 2027

                  1. 4.3 Jüngste Trends und Entwicklungen

                    1. 4.4 Regierungsrichtlinien und -vorschriften

                      1. 4.5 Marktdynamik

                        1. 4.5.1 Treiber

                          1. 4.5.2 Einschränkungen

                          2. 4.6 Lieferkettenanalyse

                            1. 4.7 PESTLE-Analyse

                            2. 5. MARKTSEGMENTIERUNG

                              1. 5.1 Übertragungsart

                                1. 5.1.1 U-Boot-HGÜ-Übertragungssystem

                                  1. 5.1.2 HGÜ-Freileitungssystem

                                    1. 5.1.3 Unterirdisches HGÜ-Übertragungssystem

                                    2. 5.2 Komponente

                                      1. 5.2.1 Konverterstationen

                                        1. 5.2.2 Übertragungsmedium (Kabel)

                                      2. 6. WETTBEWERBSLANDSCHAFT

                                        1. 6.1 Fusionen und Übernahmen, Joint Ventures, Kooperationen und Vereinbarungen

                                          1. 6.2 Von führenden Spielern übernommene Strategien

                                            1. 6.3 Unternehmensprofile

                                              1. 6.3.1 ABB Ltd

                                                1. 6.3.2 Allgemeine Elektricitäts-Gesellschaft

                                                  1. 6.3.3 Alstom S.A.

                                                    1. 6.3.4 Toshiba Corporation

                                                      1. 6.3.5 Siemens Energie AG

                                                        1. 6.3.6 Schneider Electric SE

                                                          1. 6.3.7 LS Electric Co., Ltd.

                                                            1. 6.3.8 NKT A/S

                                                              1. 6.3.9 Doble Ingenieurbüro

                                                                1. 6.3.10 Cisco Systems, Inc.

                                                              2. 7. MARKTCHANCEN UND ZUKÜNFTIGE TRENDS

                                                                **Subject to Availability
                                                                You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

                                                                Frequently Asked Questions

                                                                Der US-Markt für Hochspannungs-Gleichstrom-Übertragungssysteme (HGÜ) wird von 2019 bis 2028 untersucht.

                                                                Der US-Markt für Hochspannungs-Gleichstrom-Übertragungssysteme (HGÜ) wächst in den nächsten 5 Jahren mit einer CAGR von >11 %.

                                                                General Electric Company, Toshiba Corporation, NKT A/S, LS Electric Co., Ltd., Siemens Energy AG sind die größten Unternehmen, die auf dem US-amerikanischen Markt für Hochspannungs-Gleichstrom-Übertragungssysteme (HGÜ) tätig sind.

                                                                close-icon
                                                                80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

                                                                Please enter a valid email id!

                                                                Please enter a valid message!

United States High-voltage Direct Current (HVDC) Transmission Systems Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2022 - 2027)

The United States High-voltage Direct Current (HVDC) Transmission Systems Market is segmented by Transmission Type (Submarine HVDC Transmission System, HVDC Overhead Transmission System, and HVDC Underground Transmission System) and Component (Converter Stations, and Transmission Medium [Cables]).

Market Snapshot

United States High-Voltage Direct Current (HVDC) Transmission Systems Market - Market Summary
Study Period: 2019-2027
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: >11 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The US high-voltage direct current (HVDC) transmission systems market is expected to register a CAGR of more than 11% during the forecast period of 2022-2027. The COVID-19 outbreak in Q1 of 2020 had a moderate effect in terms of delayed ongoing projects and rescheduling of trends for upcoming projects. Factors such as the increasing investments and upcoming transmission and distribution projects, increasing penetration of renewable energy sources, and expansion of electricity infrastructure are expected to drive the market during the forecast period. However, high installation costs and high losses for smaller transmission distances are likely to hinder the market growth.

  • The submarine HVDC transmission system is expected to witness significant growth due to upcoming project developments and an increasing focus on power trading between countries.
  • Technological advancements in HVDC transmission systems are expected to help in mitigating operational issues with offshore wind- and solar-based electricity transmission systems. Hence, this is expected to provide a better opportunity for the growth of the HVDC transmission system market in the country.
  • The increasing penetration of renewable energy sources is likely to drive the US high-voltage direct current (HVDC) transmission systems market during the forecast period.

Scope of the Report

The US high-voltage direct current (HVDC) transmission systems market report includes:

Transmission Type
Submarine HVDC Transmission System
HVDC Overhead Transmission System
HVDC Underground Transmission System
Component
Converter Stations
Transmission Medium (Cables)

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

The Submarine HVDC Transmission System Type is Expected to Witness Significant Growth

  • The submarine transmission of electricity is gaining importance on account of the increasing focus on power trading between countries. The HVDC submarine power transmission system is considered a key technology for the development of future power transmission networks. It is also the only solution available for the transfer of high power across long subsea distances. For these reasons, HVDC lines are preferred for interconnecting offshore wind plants worldwide.
  • In the HVDC transmission system, the submarine power cables can be less costly, especially on a long link where the capacitance of the cable requires too much additional charging current.
  • As of 2020, the upcoming projects in the United States such as Atlantic Wind Connection-Transmission (worth USD 5 billion approx.), Grain Belt Express Clean Line (worth USD 3 billion approx.), and Trans-West Express Transmission Line (worth USD 3 billion approx.) are anticipated to create a huge demand for HVDC transmission systems.
  • In June 2021, SOO Green HVDC Link announced the selection of Prysmian Group as its preferred supplier of high-voltage direct current cable systems for the first-of-its-kind transmission project to be installed underground along with existing railroad rights of way. The 2,100 MW interregional project, considered the first link in a national clean energy grid, will connect two of the largest energy markets in the United States.
  • Factors such as the increasing number of offshore wind farms, along with interconnections between countries through submarine cables, are expected to increase the demand for submarine transmission systems over the forecast period.
  • Therefore, owing to the above points, submarine HVDC transmission systems are expected to witness significant growth during the forecast period.
United States High-Voltage Direct Current (HVDC) Transmission Systems Market - Net Energy Generation Mix by Source

Increased Penetration of Renewable Energy Sources Driving the Market Demand

  • The US power supply is undergoing a significant transition, shifting away from fossil fuels and moving toward renewable energy sources. Moreover, wind and solar PV are on track to become the cheapest sources of electricity, thereby providing new opportunities for decarbonization. Also, as more significant number of coal plants are decommissioned, renewable generation is expected to play a vital role in fulfilling the increasing energy demand.
  • Moreover, the cost of renewable power generation, mainly solar and wind power generation, is continuously declining. The primary reasons are manufacturing innovations, improvement in wind turbine materials and designs, economies of scale, and advances in thermal energy storage systems for concentrated solar power (CSP) plants.
  • Furthermore, during 2020, renewable energy in the United States provided about 11.59 quadrillion British thermal units (Btu) equal to 12% of the total energy consumption. The electric power sector accounted for about 60% of the total US renewable energy consumption in 2020, and about 20% of the total US electricity generation was from renewable energy sources.
  • Besides, the renewable power plants are generally located in rural areas and require long-distance transmission lines to provide generated electricity to the consumers. HVDC has become an integral part of many transmission grids, as it can connect remote sources of electrical generation (renewable sources, like hydro or wind) to load centers where it is needed, hundreds or even thousands of kilometers away.
  • There are plans underway to develop the 600 kV, 4,000 MW Plains and Eastern Clean Line to deliver wind power from the Oklahoma‐Texas Panhandle to Arkansas, Tennessee, and other states in the region.
  • Additionally, a Danish investment firm and Siemens AG are backing a proposed USD 2.5 billion underground high-voltage direct-current transmission line, which may be the first of its kind in the United States.
  • In October 2021, Orsted and Eversource selected Siemens Energy to supply a transmission system for a 924 MW offshore wind farm powering New York State. Sunrise wind will be the first offshore wind project in the United States to use HVDC transmission technology.
  • Therefore, owing to the above points, increasing renewable energy installations are expected to drive the US high-voltage direct current (HVDC) transmission systems market during the forecast period.
United States High-Voltage Direct Current (HVDC) Transmission Systems Market - Total Primary Energy Consumption Share by Source

Competitive Landscape

The US high-voltage direct current (HVDC) transmission systems market is moderately fragmented. The key players in the market include General Electric Company, Toshiba Corporation, Siemens Energy AG, LS Electric Co. Ltd, and NKT AS, among others.

Recent Developments

  • In October 2021, Orsted and Eversource selected Siemens Energy to supply a transmission system for a 924 MW offshore wind farm powering New York State. Sunrise wind will be the first offshore wind project in the United States to use HVDC Transmission Technology.
  • In June 2021, SOO Green HVDC Link announced the selection of Prysmian Group as its preferred supplier of high-voltage direct current cable systems for a first-of-its-kind transmission project to be installed underground along with existing railroad rights of way. The 2,100 MW interregional project, considered the first link in a national clean energy grid, will connect two of the largest energy markets in the United States.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Scope of the Study

    2. 1.2 Market Definition

    3. 1.3 Study Assumptions

  2. 2. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  3. 3. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  4. 4. MARKET OVERVIEW

    1. 4.1 Introduction

    2. 4.2 Market Size and Demand Forecast in USD billion, till 2027

    3. 4.3 Recent Trends and Developments

    4. 4.4 Government Policies and Regulations

    5. 4.5 Market Dynamics

      1. 4.5.1 Drivers

      2. 4.5.2 Restraints

    6. 4.6 Supply Chain Analysis

    7. 4.7 PESTLE Analysis

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Transmission Type

      1. 5.1.1 Submarine HVDC Transmission System

      2. 5.1.2 HVDC Overhead Transmission System

      3. 5.1.3 HVDC Underground Transmission System

    2. 5.2 Component

      1. 5.2.1 Converter Stations

      2. 5.2.2 Transmission Medium (Cables)

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Mergers and Acquisitions, Joint Ventures, Collaborations, and Agreements

    2. 6.2 Strategies Adopted by Leading Players

    3. 6.3 Company Profiles

      1. 6.3.1 ABB Ltd

      2. 6.3.2 General Electric Company

      3. 6.3.3 Alstom SA

      4. 6.3.4 Toshiba Corporation

      5. 6.3.5 Siemens Energy AG

      6. 6.3.6 Schneider Electric SE

      7. 6.3.7 LS Electric Co. Ltd

      8. 6.3.8 NKT AS

      9. 6.3.9 Doble Engineering Company

      10. 6.3.10 Cisco Systems Inc.

    4. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The United States High-voltage Direct Current (HVDC) Transmission Systems Market market is studied from 2019 - 2027.

The United States High-voltage Direct Current (HVDC) Transmission Systems Market is growing at a CAGR of >11% over the next 5 years.

General Electric Company , Toshiba Corporation , NKT A/S, LS Electric Co., Ltd. , Siemens Energy AG are the major companies operating in United States High-voltage Direct Current (HVDC) Transmission Systems Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!