日本高压直流 (HVDC) 输电系统市场 - 增长、趋势、COVID-19 影响和预测(2022 - 2027 年)

市场按传输类型(HVDC 架空传输系统,以及 HVDC 地下和海底传输系统)和组件(换流站和传输介质(电缆))进行细分。

市场快照

Japan High-Voltage Direct Current (HVDC) Transmission Systems - Market Summary
Study Period: 2019-2027
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 6.51 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

市场概况

2021 年日本高压直流 (HVDC) 输电系统市场预计为 1.0948 亿美元,预计到 2027 年将达到 1.5982 亿美元,2022-2027 年的复合年增长率为 6.51%。受 COVID-19 的影响,市场相对稳定,尽管项目开发商面临供应链中断,但并未出现任何重大延误。推动市场发展的主要因素包括可再生能源的渗透率不断提高,以及增加输电系统投资和效率的政策。然而,由于该国越来越多地采用分布式和远程电力系统,预计对高压直流输电系统的需求将受到限制。

  • 就传输类型而言,地下和海底高压直流输电系统部分预计将在日本高压直流输电系统市场中占据最大份额。这主要是由于几个项目将不同岛屿与 HVDC 输电系统连接起来,因为这些项目具有一些优选的特性,例如低功率损耗和自然灾害的安全性。
  • 在组件方面,换流站部分占据了所研究市场的最大份额。诸如大容量输电需求增加、HVDC 渗透率增加以及将交流线路连接到直流线路以实现高效传输等因素导致对换流站的需求增加。
  • 日本正在经历重大的能源转型,并正在摆脱化石燃料。可再生能源,尤其是海上风能和太阳能的日益普及,预计将推动日本市场的增长。2020 年,日本政府宣布了到 2040 年在该国安装 45 吉瓦海上风电的计划,这预示着对海底输电线路的需求将增加。

Scope of the report

The Japan high voltage direct current (HVDC) transmission systems market report includes:

Transmission Type
HVDC Overhead Transmission System
HVDC Underground and Submarine Transmission System
Component
Converter Stations
Transmission Medium (Cables)

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

主要市场趋势

对地下和海底高压直流输电系统的需求增加

  • 由于越来越关注风能等可再生能源以及与邻国的电力交易,海底输电正变得越来越重要。
  • 海底直流输电需要在每一端设置一个换流站,以使直流与交流电网相互作用。在高压直流输电系统中,与仅由导体组成的架空输电线路相比,海底电力电缆的结构要复杂得多。
  • 为支持其海上风能计划,2020 年 6 月,政府根据其 2019 年海上风能促进法在该国启动了首次海上风能拍卖。此外,2021 年 4 月,该国首个大型海上风电项目开工建设风电场,叫秋田能代。预计该国海上风能部门的此类发展将在预测期内创造对海底高压直流输电系统的需求。
  • 除风能外,日本领土还包括北海道、本州、四国、九州等四大岛屿和其他较小的岛屿,这使得海底高压直流系统成为该国电力连接的首选和急需的选择。
  • 因此,由于上述几点,预计在预测期内,地下和海底 HVDC 系统的安装和需求将增加,因此成为市场上最大的细分市场。
Japan HVDC Transmission Systems Market- Market Share by Transmission Type

不断增长的可再生能源行业有望推动市场

  • 日本的电力供应正在经历重大转变,从化石燃料和可再生能源转向。此外,风能和太阳能光伏有望成为最便宜的电力来源,从而为脱碳提供新的机会。此外,随着越来越多的燃煤电厂退役,可再生能源发电有望在满足日益增长的能源需求方面发挥重要作用。
  • 以太阳能和风能发电为主的可再生能源发电成本持续下降。主要原因是制造创新、风力涡轮机材料和设计的改进、规模经济。
  • 可再生能源发电设施,例如日本的海上风能,通常远离终端用户。它们需要长距离的输电线路为消费者提供发电。
  • HVDC 已成为许多输电网不可分割的一部分。它可以将远程发电资源(可再生能源,如水力或风能)连接到数百甚至数千公里以外的负载中心。
  • 由于 HVDC 线路更适合长距离输电;因此,对于输电公司来说,HVDC 输电线路比 HVAC 对于可再生能源发电厂更具吸引力。它们确保了高可用性、最少的维护和更低的损耗(比 HVAC 降低约 50%)。
  • 预计该国海上风能行业的总装机容量将逐步增长。因此,预计这将对可再生能源产生巨大的需求,并在未来几年与电网整合。因此,除了太阳能和陆上风电场外,海上风能领域预计将在预测期内对日本的高压直流输电系统产生可观的需求。
  • 此外,根据新能源和工业技术开发(NEDO)的数据,基于风能开发标准的日本海上风电潜力约为 13.8 亿千瓦,分布在日本沿海旅行沿线,主要位于远离大负荷区域。预计其中约 70% 将位于北海道、东北和九州地区的沿海地区。
  • 因此,由于上述几点,预计可再生能源装置的增加将在预测期内推动日本高压直流 (HVDC) 输电系统市场。
Japan High Voltage Direct Current (HVDC) Transmission System Market - Wind Energy Installations

竞争格局

日本的高压直流 (HVDC) 输电系统市场得到巩固。该市场的一些主要参与者包括日立 ABB 电网有限公司、住友电气工业有限公司、东芝公司和三菱电机公司。

竞争格局

日本的高压直流 (HVDC) 输电系统市场得到巩固。该市场的一些主要参与者包括日立 ABB 电网有限公司、住友电气工业有限公司、东芝公司和三菱电机公司。

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Scope of the Study

    2. 1.2 Market Definition

    3. 1.3 Study Assumptions

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET OVERVIEW

    1. 4.1 Introduction

    2. 4.2 Market Size and Demand Forecast, in USD billion, till 2027

    3. 4.3 Recent Trends and Developments

    4. 4.4 Government Policies and Regulations

    5. 4.5 Market Dynamics

      1. 4.5.1 Drivers

      2. 4.5.2 Restraints

    6. 4.6 Supply Chain Analysis

    7. 4.7 PESTLE ANALYSIS

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Transmission Type

      1. 5.1.1 HVDC Overhead Transmission System

      2. 5.1.2 HVDC Underground and Submarine Transmission System

    2. 5.2 Component

      1. 5.2.1 Converter Stations

      2. 5.2.2 Transmission Medium (Cables)

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Mergers and Acquisitions, Joint Ventures, Collaborations, and Agreements

    2. 6.2 Strategies Adopted by Leading Players

    3. 6.3 Company Profiles

      1. 6.3.1 Hitachi ABB Power Grids Ltd

      2. 6.3.2 Mitsubishi Electric Corporation

      3. 6.3.3 Toshiba Corporation

      4. 6.3.4 Sumitomo Electric Industries Ltd

    4. *List Not Exhaustive
    5. 6.4 Market Player Ranking

  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Japan High Voltage Direct Current (HVDC) Transmission Systems Market market is studied from 2019 - 2027.

The Japan High Voltage Direct Current (HVDC) Transmission Systems Market is growing at a CAGR of 6.51% over the next 5 years.

The Japan High Voltage Direct Current (HVDC) Transmission Systems Market is valued at 109 Million USD in 2019.

The Japan High Voltage Direct Current (HVDC) Transmission Systems Market is valued at 159 Million USD in 2027.

Toshiba Corporation , Mitsubishi Electric Corporation, Sumitomo Electric Industries Ltd , Hitachi ABB Power Grids Ltd are the major companies operating in Japan High Voltage Direct Current (HVDC) Transmission Systems Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Japan High Voltage Direct Current (HVDC) Transmission Systems Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2022 - 2027)

The market is segmented by Transmission Type (HVDC Overhead Transmission System, and HVDC Underground and Submarine Transmission System) and Component (Converter Stations and Transmission Medium (Cables)).

Market Snapshot

Japan High-Voltage Direct Current (HVDC) Transmission Systems - Market Summary
Study Period: 2019-2027
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 6.51 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The Japan High Voltage Direct Current (HVDC) transmission systems market is estimated to be USD 109.48 million in 2021, and it is expected to reach USD 159.82 million by 2027, at a CAGR of 6.51% during 2022-2027. The market was relatively stable from the impact of COVID-19, and it did not witness any significant delays, despite the supply chain disruptions faced by project developers. The major factors driving the market include increasing penetration of renewable energy and policies for increasing investments and efficiency of the transmission system. However, due to the growing adoption of distributed and remote power systems in the country, the demand for HVDC transmission systems is expected to experience a restraint.

  • The underground and submarine HVDC transmission system segment is expected to account for the largest share in the Japanese HVDC transmission systems market in terms of transmission type. This is primarily due to the several projects for connecting different islands with HVDC transmission systems owing to several preferable properties, such as low power loss and safety from natural calamities.
  • In terms of components, the converter stations segment held the largest share of the market studied. Factors such as increasing demand for bulk power transmission, increasing penetration of HVDC and connecting AC line to DC line for efficient transmission lead to the increased demand for converter stations.
  • Japan is undergoing a significant energy transition and is shifting away from fossil fuels. The increasing penetration of renewable energy, especially offshore wind, and solar energy, is expected to drive the market's growth in Japan. In 2020, the government of Japan announced its plan to install 45 GW of offshore wind power in the country by 2040, which foreshadows the increase in demand for subsea transmission lines.

Scope of the report

The Japan high voltage direct current (HVDC) transmission systems market report includes:

Transmission Type
HVDC Overhead Transmission System
HVDC Underground and Submarine Transmission System
Component
Converter Stations
Transmission Medium (Cables)

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Increasing Demand for Underground and Submarine HVDC Transmission Systems

  • The submarine transmission of electricity is gaining importance, on account of increasing focus on renewable energy, such as wind energy, and power trading with neighbouring countries.
  • The submarine direct current transmission requires a converter station at each end to make the DC interact with the AC grid network. In an HVDC transmission system, the submarine power cables have a much more complicated structure, compared to the overhead transmission lines, which are only composed of conductors.​
  • To support its offshore wind energy plan, in June 2020, the government launched its first offshore wind energy auctions in the country, under its offshore wind promotion law of 2019. Further, in April 2021, construction began at the country’s first large-scale offshore wind farm, called Akita Noshiro. Such developments in the country’s offshore wind energy sector are expected to create demand for submarine HVDC transmission systems during the forecast period.
  • Apart from wind energy, Japan's territory comprises the four large islands of Hokkaido, Honshu, Shikoku, Kyushu, and other smaller islands, which makes the submarine HVDC system a preferable and much-needed choice for the country’s electricity connectivity.
  • Therefore, owing to the above points, the installation and demand for underground and submarine HVDC systems are expected to increase during the forecast period, thus making is largest segment in the market.
Japan HVDC Transmission Systems Market- Market Share by Transmission Type

Growing Renewable Energy Sector Expected to Drive the Market

  • The Japanese power supply has been undergoing a significant transition, shifting away from fossil fuels and renewable energy sources. Moreover, wind and solar PV are on track to become the cheapest sources of electricity, thereby, providing new opportunities for decarbonization. Furthermore, as a more significant number of coal plants are decommissioned, renewable generation is expected to play a vital role in fulfilling the increasing energy demand.
  • The cost of renewable power generation, mainly solar and wind power generation, has been continuously declining. The primary reasons are manufacturing innovations, improvement in wind turbine materials and designs, economies of scale.
  • Renewable power generation facilities, such as offshore wind energy in Japan, are generally located far from the end-users. They require long-distance transmission lines to provide generated electricity to the consumers.
  • The HVDC has become an integral part of many transmission grids. It can connect remote sources of electrical generation (renewable sources, like hydro or wind) to load centers where it is needed, hundreds or even thousands of kilometers away.
  • As the HVDC lines are better suited for long-distance power transmission; hence, for power transmission companies HVDC transmission lines are more attractive option over HVAC for renewable power plants. They ensure high availability, minimal maintenance, and lower losses (by around 50% than HVAC).
  • The country’s offshore wind energy sector is expected to witness a gradual growth in total installed capacity. Thus, this is expected to create a significant demand for renewable energy, integrating with the grid in the coming years. Therefore, in addition to solar and onshore wind farms, the offshore wind energy sector is expected to create a considerable demand for HVDC transmission systems in Japan during the forecast period.
  • Moreover, according to the New Energy and Industrial Technology Development (NEDO), offshore wind power potential in Japan based on wind development criteria is about 1,380 million kW, distributed along the Japan coastal trip and primarily located away from large load areas. Approximately 70% of them are expected to be situated along the coast of the Hokkaido, Tohoku, and Kyushu regions.
  • Therefore, owing to the above points, increasing installations of renewable energy are expectd to drive Japan high voltage direct current (HVDC) transmission systems market dirng the forecast period.
Japan High Voltage Direct Current (HVDC) Transmission System Market - Wind Energy Installations

Competitive Landscape

The market for high voltage direct current (HVDC) transmission systems in Japan is consolidated. Some of the major players in this market include Hitachi ABB Power Grids Ltd, Sumitomo Electric Industries Ltd, Toshiba Corporation, and Mitsubishi Electric Corporation.

Recent Developments

  • In April 2021, Toshiba Energy Systems & Solutions Corporation announced that the Shin-Shinano frequency converter expansion project, which was designed, procured, and installed by Toshiba ESS (Nagano Prefecture, rated capacity 450 MW ×2, DC ±200 kV, DC 2,250A) for TEPCO PG, commenced its commercial operation in March 2021.
  • Hitachi Ltd, in April 2021, announced that the operations of the Hida-Shinano frequency conversion facility have commenced, enabling the Shin-Shinano Substation of TEPCO Power Grid, Inc. (TEPCO). This conversion facility will connect the Hida Converter Station of Chubu Electric Power Grid Co., Inc. (Chubu Electric Power), to which Hitachi delivered a line commutate converter high-voltage direct current (HVDC) system.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Scope of the Study

    2. 1.2 Market Definition

    3. 1.3 Study Assumptions

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET OVERVIEW

    1. 4.1 Introduction

    2. 4.2 Market Size and Demand Forecast, in USD billion, till 2027

    3. 4.3 Recent Trends and Developments

    4. 4.4 Government Policies and Regulations

    5. 4.5 Market Dynamics

      1. 4.5.1 Drivers

      2. 4.5.2 Restraints

    6. 4.6 Supply Chain Analysis

    7. 4.7 PESTLE ANALYSIS

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Transmission Type

      1. 5.1.1 HVDC Overhead Transmission System

      2. 5.1.2 HVDC Underground and Submarine Transmission System

    2. 5.2 Component

      1. 5.2.1 Converter Stations

      2. 5.2.2 Transmission Medium (Cables)

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Mergers and Acquisitions, Joint Ventures, Collaborations, and Agreements

    2. 6.2 Strategies Adopted by Leading Players

    3. 6.3 Company Profiles

      1. 6.3.1 Hitachi ABB Power Grids Ltd

      2. 6.3.2 Mitsubishi Electric Corporation

      3. 6.3.3 Toshiba Corporation

      4. 6.3.4 Sumitomo Electric Industries Ltd

    4. *List Not Exhaustive
    5. 6.4 Market Player Ranking

  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Japan High Voltage Direct Current (HVDC) Transmission Systems Market market is studied from 2019 - 2027.

The Japan High Voltage Direct Current (HVDC) Transmission Systems Market is growing at a CAGR of 6.51% over the next 5 years.

The Japan High Voltage Direct Current (HVDC) Transmission Systems Market is valued at 109 Million USD in 2019.

The Japan High Voltage Direct Current (HVDC) Transmission Systems Market is valued at 159 Million USD in 2027.

Toshiba Corporation , Mitsubishi Electric Corporation, Sumitomo Electric Industries Ltd , Hitachi ABB Power Grids Ltd are the major companies operating in Japan High Voltage Direct Current (HVDC) Transmission Systems Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!