سوق أدوية السيفالوسبورين - النمو ، والاتجاهات ، وتأثير COVID-19 ، والتنبؤات (2023 - 2028)

سوق أدوية السيفالوسبورين مقسم حسب الجيل (الجيل الأول ، الجيل الثاني ، الجيل الثالث ، الجيل الرابع ، الجيل الخامس) ، نوع الوصفات الطبية (الأدوية التي تصرف بوصفة طبية والأدوية التي تصرف بدون وصفة طبية) والجغرافيا (أمريكا الشمالية وأوروبا وآسيا- المحيط الهادئ والشرق الأوسط وأفريقيا وأمريكا الجنوبية). يقدم التقرير القيمة (بالمليون دولار أمريكي) للقطاعات المذكورة أعلاه.

لقطة السوق

CAGR
Study Period: 2018-2026
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 2.75 %

Major Players

rd-img

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

setting-icon

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

نظرة عامة على السوق

بلغت قيمة سوق أدوية السيفالوسبورين حوالي 14،010 مليون دولار أمريكي في عام 2020 ، ومن المتوقع أن تصل إلى 16،490 مليون دولار أمريكي بحلول عام 2026 ، مسجلاً معدل نمو سنوي مركب بنسبة 2.75٪ خلال الفترة المتوقعة ، 2021-2026.

هناك العديد من الدراسات التي وجدت أن ارتفاع معدل استهلاك السيفالوسبورين ونسبة استخدامه قد قلل من معدلات المراضة والوفيات الناجمة عن COVID-19 مقارنة بمضادات الجراثيم الأخرى. على سبيل المثال ، وفقًا لدراسة بحثية أجراها Hisaya Tanioka et aol. ، والتي نُشرت في مجلة BMJ Journal أكتوبر 2020 ، وجدت نتائج الدراسة أنه يجب تجنب استخدام البنسلينات في حالة الإصابة بفيروس COVID-19. يُقترح العلاج التجريبي بمثبطات النورامينيداز ومزيج من السيفالوسبورينات والماكروليدات أو الكينولونات ليكون علاجًا فعالًا لـ COVID-19. ومع ذلك ، فإن السيفالوسبورينات تثبط السارس- CoV-2 ، ونتائج الدراسة والحالات الفعالة تشير إلى أن السيفالوسبورينات قد تعمل ضد فيروس SARS-CoV-2. أيضا، قد تكون السيفالوسبورينات مع الماكروليدات والكينولونات فعالة بشكل محتمل ضد COVID-19 (SARS-CoV-2). لذلك ، هناك دراسات في المختبر والحي جارية لتقييم إمكانات أجيال من السيفالوسبورين لـ COVID-19.

من المتوقع أن ينمو السوق بسبب الطلب المتزايد على مضادات الميكروبات بمختلف المؤشرات ، وتزايد انتشار الأمراض المعدية ، وزيادة التمويل لتطوير المضادات الحيوية. يُعزى نمو السوق أيضًا إلى زيادة استهلاك السيفالوسبورين ، وسهولة توفره ، وزيادة الطلب على الأدوية التي لا تستلزم وصفة طبية.

وفقًا لمراكز السيطرة على الأمراض والوقاية منها (CDC) ، في عام 2019 ، تم الإبلاغ عن ما مجموعه 8920 حالة جديدة من السل (TB) في الولايات المتحدة ، وهو ما يمثل معدل حدوث 2.7 حالة لكل 100000 نسمة. وفقًا لتقرير وزارة الصحة والخدمات الإنسانية الأمريكية لعام 2020 ، تم تشخيص إصابة حوالي 37832 شخصًا في الولايات المتحدة بفيروس نقص المناعة البشرية في عام 2018 ، ولا يزال هناك 38000 إصابة جديدة بفيروس نقص المناعة البشرية في الولايات المتحدة. كما تم الإبلاغ عن انتشار سريع لمختلف الأمراض المعدية التي تغذي نمو السوق.

من المتوقع أيضًا أن يؤدي العدد المتزايد من التجارب السريرية للبحث والتطوير لعقاقير السيفالوسبورين إلى دفع نمو سوق أدوية السيفالوسبورين خلال الفترة المتوقعة. على سبيل المثال ، في سبتمبر 2018 ، منحت المعاهد الوطنية للصحة (NIH) 9.4 مليون دولار أمريكي لإنشاء مركز التميز في البحوث الطبية الحيوية (COBRE) لمواجهة التهديد العالمي لمسببات الأمراض المقاومة للأدوية.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، هناك أيضًا شركات تعمل في التطوير الاستراتيجي للمنتجات الجديدة ؛ على سبيل المثال ، في أبريل 2018 ، أعلنت Basilea Pharmaceutica Ltd أن شريكتها Avir Pharma Inc. أطلقت المضاد الحيوي Zevtera (سيفتوبيبرول) في مستشفى Basilea في كندا. ومن ثم ، فإن كل هذه العوامل قد تساعد سوق أدوية السيفالوسبورين على تحقيق نمو مرتفع خلال الفترة المتوقعة.

نطاق التقرير

وفقًا لنطاق هذا التقرير ، تعد السيفالوسبورينات جزءًا من مجموعة بيتا لاكتام وتعمل عن طريق التدخل في تخليق جدار الخلية البكتيرية. قد يُعطى البعض عن طريق الفم ، لكن يُعطى معظمه عن طريق الحقن. هم عادة الخيار الثاني للمضادات الحيوية ، واستخداماتها الرئيسية في الالتهاب الرئوي ، وتسمم الدم ، والتهاب السحايا ، والتهاب الجيوب الأنفية ، وعلاج المسالك البولية. على الرغم من استخدام الخط الثاني ، تمتلك السيفالوسبورينات طيفًا أوسع من النشاط وهي أقوى من البنسلين. 

سوق أدوية السيفالوسبورين مقسم حسب الجيل (الجيل الأول ، الجيل الثاني ، الجيل الثالث ، الجيل الرابع ، الجيل الخامس) ، نوع الوصفات الطبية (العقاقير التي تستلزم وصفة طبية والأدوية التي لا تستلزم وصفة طبية) والجغرافيا (أمريكا الشمالية وأوروبا وآسيا- المحيط الهادئ والشرق الأوسط وأفريقيا وأمريكا الجنوبية). يقدم التقرير القيمة (بالمليون دولار أمريكي) للقطاعات المذكورة أعلاه.

By Generation
First-generation
Second-generation
Third-generation
Fourth-generation
Fifth-generation
By Prescription Type
Prescription Drugs
OTC Drugs
Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Italy
Spain
Rest of Europe
Asia-Pacific
China
Japan
India
Australia
South Korea
Rest of Asia-Pacific
Middle East and Africa
GCC
South Africa
Rest of Middle East and Africa
South America
Brazil
Argentina
Rest of South America

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

اتجاهات السوق الرئيسية

من المتوقع أن تشهد شريحة الجيل الخامس نموًا صحيًا خلال فترة التنبؤ

تم تطوير الجيل الخامس من السيفالوسبورينات في المختبر لاستهداف سلالات البكتيريا المقاومة على وجه التحديد. يشتمل الجيل الخامس من السيفالوسبورينات على سيفتوبيبرول وسفتارولين وسفتولوزان. تم العثور على ceftobiprole لتكون فعالة ضد المكورات العنقودية الذهبية المقاومة للميثيسيلين (MRSA).

أدى تفشي وباء COVID-19 إلى زيادة عدد الأمراض المعدية ، مما دفع صناعة الأدوية إلى تطوير تدخلات علاجية ووقائية. يتزايد عبء الأمراض المعدية في جميع أنحاء العالم ، مما يؤدي إلى زيادة التركيز على تشخيص وعلاج الأمراض المعدية. وفقًا لبرنامج الأمم المتحدة المشترك المعني بفيروس نقص المناعة البشرية / الإيدز ، خلال عام 2019 ، بلغ عدد حالات الإصابة بفيروس نقص المناعة البشرية / الإيدز المكتشفة في العالم حوالي 1.7 مليون ، وكان حوالي 38 مليون شخص مصابين بفيروس نقص المناعة البشرية في جميع أنحاء العالم في نفس العام.

يحتوي Ceftobiprole على خصائص مضادة للخلايا التي تبدو أقل عرضة لتطور المقاومة. تم وصف Ceftaroline أيضًا على أنه الجيل الخامس من السيفالوسبورين ولكنه لا يحتوي على تغطية antipseudomonal أو VRE لـ ceftobiprole. الجيل الخامس من السيفالوسبورينات ليست نشطة ضد أنواع Pseudomonas .

تم العثور على السوق ينمو لأنه فتح بوابات بديلة لعلاج الالتهابات المعقدة داخل البطن والتهابات المسالك البولية المعقدة. علاوة على ذلك ، يتم أيضًا دمج السيفتولوزان مع مثبط β-lactamase tazobactam ، حيث تظهر الالتهابات البكتيرية المقاومة للأدوية المتعددة عمومًا مقاومة لجميع المضادات الحيوية β-lactam ، ما لم يتم تثبيط هذا الإنزيم. ومن ثم ، فإن الاستخدام المتزايد للعلاجات المركبة قد يدفع السوق خلال فترة التنبؤ.

في مارس 2018 ، أعلنت Basilea Pharmaceutica Ltd أن شريكها Grupo Biotoscana SL قد أطلق المضاد الحيوي Zevtera في مستشفى Basilea (سيفتوبيبرول) في الأرجنتين. أيضًا ، كانت هناك زيادة ملحوظة في أدوية الجيل الخامس من السيفالوسبورين مثل ceftobiprole و ceftaroline والتي تُعزى إلى قدرتها على قتل مجموعة واسعة من البكتيريا. وبالتالي ، نظرًا للعوامل المذكورة أعلاه ، من المتوقع أن يدفع نمو القطاع خلال فترة التنبؤ.

Total HIV Cases in million, Global, 2016-2019

من المتوقع أن تكون منطقة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ أسرع القطاعات نموًا في السوق العالمية

من المتوقع أن تشهد منطقة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ نموًا مرتفعًا بسبب الانتشار المتزايد للأمراض المعدية ، وزيادة الإنفاق على الرعاية الصحية ، والقاعدة السكانية الكبيرة. علاوة على ذلك ، سيفوروكسيم هو مضاد حيوي من الجيل الثاني من السيفالوسبورين له نشاط واسع النطاق ويستخدم بشكل شائع لعلاج التهابات الجهاز التنفسي العلوي والسفلي ومرض لايم والتهابات المسالك البولية التناسلية. إنه متاح بسهولة وبأسعار معقولة ، وهو موجود في كل من الأشكال الشفوية والحقنية.

أظهر جائحة COVID-19 تأثيرًا طفيفًا على هذا السوق حيث لم يتم إثبات فعالية السيفالوسبورينات بشكل كبير ضد الفيروسات. المضادات الحيوية بيتا لاكتام ، بما في ذلك السيفالوسبورينات ، لها تأثير جراثيم. العمل الجراثيم يعني عمل قمع نمو البكتيريا. تعمل المضادات الحيوية بيتا-لاكتام عن طريق تثبيط سينثيز ببتيدوجليكان ، وهو إنزيم ضروري لتركيب جدران الخلايا البكتيرية.

يعتبر السل في الصين السبب الرئيسي للوفاة بسبب الأمراض المعدية بين البالغين. وفقًا لمنظمة الصحة العالمية في عام 2019 ، أصيب 833000 شخص بالسل في الصين. ومع ذلك ، لا تزال الصين من بين 30 دولة تعاني من مرض السل في العالم ، ولا يزال السل مصدر قلق للصحة العامة. من المتوقع أن يؤدي ارتفاع حالات مرض السل إلى تعزيز النمو الإجمالي للسوق.

أيضًا ، هناك زيادة في استهلاك السيفالوسبورين ، وتوافر أسهل ، وزيادة في الطلب على الأدوية التي لا تستلزم وصفة طبية ، وزيادة العدوى البكتيرية في المنطقة التي تساعد في دفع نمو السوق.

Cephalosporin Drugs Market- Growth Rate By Region

مشهد تنافسي

سوق أدوية السيفالوسبورين مجزأ من حيث المنافسة ، بسبب وجود العديد من الشركات الصغيرة والكبيرة. هناك أيضًا العديد من أوجه التعاون والاتفاقيات والشراكات وإطلاق المنتجات الجديدة التي تعد بعضًا من الاستراتيجيات المهمة التي يعتمدها اللاعبون في السوق. بعض اللاعبين المعروفين في السوق الذين تمت دراستهم هم Astellas Pharma Inc. ، و Baxter International ، و F. Hoffmann-La Roche AG ، و GlaxoSmithKline PLC ، و Lupine Pharmaceuticals ، و Macleods Pharmaceuticals Ltd ، و Mankind Pharma ، و Merck & Co. ، و Pfizer Inc . ، و Teva Pharmaceuticals. من المتوقع أن يؤدي العدد المتزايد من التجارب السريرية للبحث والتطوير لعقاقير السيفالوسبورين من قبل هذه الشركات إلى دفع نمو سوق أدوية السيفالوسبورين خلال الفترة المتوقعة.

اللاعبين الرئيسيين

  1. باكستر انترناشيونال

  2. شركة جلاكسو سميث كلاين PLC

  3. شركة لوبين للادوية

  4. شركة فايزر

  5. شركة تيفا للصناعات الدوائية المحدودة

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

landscape cephalosporin.png

مشهد تنافسي

سوق أدوية السيفالوسبورين مجزأ من حيث المنافسة ، بسبب وجود العديد من الشركات الصغيرة والكبيرة. هناك أيضًا العديد من أوجه التعاون والاتفاقيات والشراكات وإطلاق المنتجات الجديدة التي تعد بعضًا من الاستراتيجيات المهمة التي يعتمدها اللاعبون في السوق. بعض اللاعبين المعروفين في السوق الذين تمت دراستهم هم Astellas Pharma Inc. ، و Baxter International ، و F. Hoffmann-La Roche AG ، و GlaxoSmithKline PLC ، و Lupine Pharmaceuticals ، و Macleods Pharmaceuticals Ltd ، و Mankind Pharma ، و Merck & Co. ، و Pfizer Inc . ، و Teva Pharmaceuticals. من المتوقع أن يؤدي العدد المتزايد من التجارب السريرية للبحث والتطوير لعقاقير السيفالوسبورين من قبل هذه الشركات إلى دفع نمو سوق أدوية السيفالوسبورين خلال الفترة المتوقعة.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Rising Demand for Anti-microbials in Various Indications

      2. 4.2.2 Rising Prevalence of Infectious Diseases

      3. 4.2.3 Increase in Funding for the Development of Antibiotics

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

      1. 4.3.1 Stringent Regulatory Guidelines

      2. 4.3.2 Side Effects Associated with Cephalosporin

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Generation

      1. 5.1.1 First-generation

      2. 5.1.2 Second-generation

      3. 5.1.3 Third-generation

      4. 5.1.4 Fourth-generation

      5. 5.1.5 Fifth-generation

    2. 5.2 By Prescription Type

      1. 5.2.1 Prescription Drugs

      2. 5.2.2 OTC Drugs

    3. 5.3 Geography

      1. 5.3.1 North America

        1. 5.3.1.1 United States

        2. 5.3.1.2 Canada

        3. 5.3.1.3 Mexico

      2. 5.3.2 Europe

        1. 5.3.2.1 Germany

        2. 5.3.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.3.2.3 France

        4. 5.3.2.4 Italy

        5. 5.3.2.5 Spain

        6. 5.3.2.6 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.3.3 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.3.3.1 China

        2. 5.3.3.2 Japan

        3. 5.3.3.3 India

        4. 5.3.3.4 Australia

        5. 5.3.3.5 South Korea

        6. 5.3.3.6 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.3.4 Middle East and Africa

        1. 5.3.4.1 GCC

        2. 5.3.4.2 South Africa

        3. 5.3.4.3 Rest of Middle East and Africa

      5. 5.3.5 South America

        1. 5.3.5.1 Brazil

        2. 5.3.5.2 Argentina

        3. 5.3.5.3 Rest of South America

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 Baxter International

      2. 6.1.2 F. Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd

      3. 6.1.3 GlaxoSmithKline PLC

      4. 6.1.4 Lupin Pharmaceuticals Inc.

      5. 6.1.5 Macleods Pharmaceuticals Ltd

      6. 6.1.6 Mankind Pharma

      7. 6.1.7 Merck & Co. Inc.

      8. 6.1.8 Pfizer Inc.

      9. 6.1.9 Teva Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd

      10. 6.1.10 Bristol-Myers Squibb Company

      11. 6.1.11 Eli Lilly and Company

      12. 6.1.12 Sun Pharmaceutical

      13. 6.1.13 Abbvie Inc.

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Competitive Landscape Covers - Business Overview, Financials, Products and Strategies, and Recent Developments
You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

تمت دراسة سوق أدوية السيفالوسبورين العالمي من 2018 إلى 2028.

ينمو سوق أدوية السيفالوسبورين العالمي بمعدل نمو سنوي مركب قدره 2.75 ٪ على مدى السنوات الخمس المقبلة.

تنمو منطقة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ بأعلى معدل نمو سنوي مركب خلال الفترة 2018-2028.

تمتلك أمريكا الشمالية أعلى حصة في عام 2021.

باكستر إنترناشيونال ، جلاكسو سميث كلاين بي إل سي ، لوبين فارماسيوتيكالز إنك ، فايزر إنك ، تيفا للصناعات الدوائية المحدودة هي الشركات الكبرى العاملة في سوق أدوية سيفالوسبورين العالمي.

close-icon
80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Cephalosporin Drugs Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2021 - 2026)

The Cephalosporin Drugs Market is Segmented by Generation (First-generation, Second-generation, Third-generation, Fourth-generation, and Fifth-generation), Prescription Type (Prescription Drugs and OTC Drugs) and Geography (North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, Middle East and Africa and South America). The report offers the value (in USD million) for the above segments.

Market Snapshot

CAGR
Study Period: 2018-2026
Base Year: 2020
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 2.75 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The cephalosporin drugs market was valued at approximately USD 14,010 million in 2020, and it is expected to reach USD 16,490 million by 2026, registering a CAGR of 2.75% during the forecast period, 2021-2026.

There are various studies that have found that the higher cephalosporin consumption rate and use ratio have made lower morbidity and mortality caused by COVID-19 than other antibacterials. For instance, according to a research study by Hisaya Tanioka et aol., published in BMJ Journal October 2020, the study results found that penicillins should be avoided to use under the condition in COVID-19. Empirical treatment with neuraminidase inhibitors and the combination of cephalosporins and macrolides or quinolones are suggested to be an effective treatment for COVID-19. However, cephalosporins inhibit the SARS-CoV-2, and the results of the study and the effective cases imply that cephalosporins may work against the SARS-CoV-2 virus. Also, the cephalosporins in combinations with macrolides and quinolones may be potentially effective against COVID-19 (SARS-CoV-2). Therefore, there are in vitro and in vivo studies going on to evaluate the potential of generations of cephalosporin for COVID-19.

The market is expected to grow due to the increasing demand for anti-microbials in various indications, the rising prevalence of infectious diseases, and the increase in funding for the development of antibiotics. The market growth is also attributed to the increase in consumption of cephalosporin, easier availability, and a rise in demand for over-the-counter drugs.

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), in 2019, a total of 8,920 new cases of tuberculosis (TB) were reported in the United States, representing an incidence rate of 2.7 cases per 100,000 population. As per the US Department of Health & Human Services report 2020, about 37,832 people in the United States were diagnosed with HIV in 2018, and 38,000 new HIV infections still occur in the United States. It has also been reported that there is a rapid spread of various infectious diseases that is fueling the market growth.

The increasing number of clinical trials for R&D of cephalosporin drugs is also expected to propel the growth of the cephalosporin drugs market over the forecast period. For instance, in September 2018, the National Institutes of Health (NIH) granted USD 9.4 million for establishing the Center for Biomedical Research Excellence (COBRE) to address the worldwide threat of drug-resistant pathogens.

Additionally, there are also companies involved in the strategic development of new products; for example, in April 2018, Basilea Pharmaceutica Ltd announced that its partner Avir Pharma Inc. launched Basilea’s hospital antibiotic Zevtera (ceftobiprole) in Canada. Hence, all these factors may help the cephalosporin drugs market to witness high growth over the forecast period.

Scope of the Report

As per the scope of this report, cephalosporins are part of the beta-lactams group and work by interfering with the synthesis of the bacterial cell wall. Some may be given orally, but most are given by injection. They are typically the second-choice antibiotic, and their main uses are in pneumonia, septicemia, meningitis, sinusitis, and UTI treatment. Despite their second-line usage, cephalosporins have a broader spectrum of activity and are more potent than penicillin. 

The cephalosporin drugs market is segmented by Generation (First-generation, Second-generation, Third-generation, Fourth-generation, and Fifth-generation), Prescription Type (Prescription Drugs and OTC Drugs) and Geography (North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, Middle East and Africa and South America). The report offers the value (in USD million) for the above segments.

By Generation
First-generation
Second-generation
Third-generation
Fourth-generation
Fifth-generation
By Prescription Type
Prescription Drugs
OTC Drugs
Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Italy
Spain
Rest of Europe
Asia-Pacific
China
Japan
India
Australia
South Korea
Rest of Asia-Pacific
Middle East and Africa
GCC
South Africa
Rest of Middle East and Africa
South America
Brazil
Argentina
Rest of South America

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

The Fifth-generation Segment is Expected to Witness Healthy Growth Over the Forecast Period

The fifth-generation cephalosporins are found to be developed in the lab to specifically target resistant strains of bacteria. The fifth-generation cephalosporins include ceftobiprole, ceftaroline, and ceftolozane. The ceftobiprole is found to be effective against methicillin-resistant staphylococcus aureus (MRSA).

The outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic has led to an increase in the number of infectious diseases, which has impelled the pharmaceutical industry to develop both therapeutic and preventive interventions. The burden of infectious diseases across the world is increasing, which is resulting in the rising focus on diagnosis and treatment of the same. According to the UNAIDS, during 2019, the number of new HIV/AIDS cases found in the world was around 1.7 million, and about 38 million people were living with HIV worldwide in the same year.

Ceftobiprole has antipseudomonal characteristics that appear to be less susceptible to the development of resistance. Ceftaroline has also been described as the fifth-generation cephalosporin but does not have the antipseudomonal or VRE coverage of ceftobiprole. The fifth-generation cephalosporins are not active against Pseudomonas species.

The market is found growing as it has opened gates for an alternative for the treatment of complicated intra-abdominal infections and complicated urinary tract infections. Furthermore, ceftolozane is also combined with the β-lactamase inhibitor tazobactam, as multi-drug resistant bacterial infections generally exhibit resistance to all β-lactam antibiotics, unless this enzyme is inhibited. Hence, the rising use of combination therapies may drive the market during the forecast period.

In March 2018, Basilea Pharmaceutica Ltd announced that its partner Grupo Biotoscana S.L. had launched Basilea's hospital antibiotic Zevtera (ceftobiprole) in Argentina. Also, there has been a notable increase in the fifth-generation cephalosporin drugs such as ceftobiprole and ceftaroline that has been attributed to their ability to kill a wide range of bacteria. Thus, owing to above mentioned factors it is expected to drive segment growth over the forecast period.

Total HIV Cases in million, Global, 2016-2019

Asia-Pacific is Expected to be the Fastest Growing Segment in the Global Market

Asia-Pacific is expected to witness high growth due to the rising prevalence of infectious diseases, increasing healthcare expenditure, and a large population base. Furthermore, cefuroxime is a second-generation cephalosporin antibiotic that has a broad-spectrum activity and is commonly used for the treatment of both upper and lower respiratory tract infections, Lyme disease, and genitourinary tract infections. It is readily available and affordable, and it exists in both oral and parenteral forms.

The COVID-19 pandemic has shown a slight impact on this market as the cephalosporins have not been proven much effective against viruses. β-lactam antibiotics, including cephalosporins, have a bacteriostatic effect. The bacteriostatic action means the action of suppressing the growth of bacteria. β-lactam antibiotics act by inhibiting peptidoglycan synthase, which is an enzyme required for synthesizing bacterial cell walls.

In China, tuberculosis is the leading cause of death due to infectious diseases among adults. According to the World Health Organization in 2019, 8,33,000 people fell ill with tuberculosis in China. However, China is still among the 30 high-burden tuberculosis countries in the world, and tuberculosis remains a public health concern. The rising cases of tuberculosis are expected to boost the overall growth of the market.

Also, there is an increase in consumption of cephalosporin, easier availability, a rise in demand for over-the-counter drugs, and an increase in bacterial infection in the region that help in driving the market growth.

Cephalosporin Drugs Market- Growth Rate By Region

Competitive Landscape

The Cephalosporin Drugs Market is fragmented in terms of competition, owing to the presence of many small and large companies. There are also various collaborations, agreements, partnerships, and new product launches that are some of the important strategies adopted by the market players. Some of the well-known players in the market studied include Astellas Pharma Inc., Baxter International, F. Hoffmann-La Roche AG, GlaxoSmithKline PLC, Lupin Pharmaceuticals, Macleods Pharmaceuticals Ltd, Mankind Pharma, Merck & Co. Inc., Pfizer Inc., and Teva Pharmaceuticals. The increasing number of clinical trials for R&D of cephalosporin drugs by these companies is expected to propel the growth of the cephalosporin drugs market over the forecast period.

Recent Developments

In February 2021, Novartis' generics division Sandoz signed an agreement with British drugmaker GlaxoSmithKline (GSK) to acquire its cephalosporin antibiotics brands for up to USD 500 million.

In February 2020, Shionogi & Co. Ltd announced that FETROJA (cefiderocol) was now available in the United States for patients 18 years of age or older who have limited or no alternative treatment options for the treatment of complicated urinary tract infections (cUTIs). FETROJA (cefiderocol) is a cephalosporin antibiotic with a novel mechanism for penetrating the outer cell membrane of Gram-negative pathogens by acting as a siderophore.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Rising Demand for Anti-microbials in Various Indications

      2. 4.2.2 Rising Prevalence of Infectious Diseases

      3. 4.2.3 Increase in Funding for the Development of Antibiotics

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

      1. 4.3.1 Stringent Regulatory Guidelines

      2. 4.3.2 Side Effects Associated with Cephalosporin

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Generation

      1. 5.1.1 First-generation

      2. 5.1.2 Second-generation

      3. 5.1.3 Third-generation

      4. 5.1.4 Fourth-generation

      5. 5.1.5 Fifth-generation

    2. 5.2 By Prescription Type

      1. 5.2.1 Prescription Drugs

      2. 5.2.2 OTC Drugs

    3. 5.3 Geography

      1. 5.3.1 North America

        1. 5.3.1.1 United States

        2. 5.3.1.2 Canada

        3. 5.3.1.3 Mexico

      2. 5.3.2 Europe

        1. 5.3.2.1 Germany

        2. 5.3.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.3.2.3 France

        4. 5.3.2.4 Italy

        5. 5.3.2.5 Spain

        6. 5.3.2.6 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.3.3 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.3.3.1 China

        2. 5.3.3.2 Japan

        3. 5.3.3.3 India

        4. 5.3.3.4 Australia

        5. 5.3.3.5 South Korea

        6. 5.3.3.6 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.3.4 Middle East and Africa

        1. 5.3.4.1 GCC

        2. 5.3.4.2 South Africa

        3. 5.3.4.3 Rest of Middle East and Africa

      5. 5.3.5 South America

        1. 5.3.5.1 Brazil

        2. 5.3.5.2 Argentina

        3. 5.3.5.3 Rest of South America

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 Baxter International

      2. 6.1.2 F. Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd

      3. 6.1.3 GlaxoSmithKline PLC

      4. 6.1.4 Lupin Pharmaceuticals Inc.

      5. 6.1.5 Macleods Pharmaceuticals Ltd

      6. 6.1.6 Mankind Pharma

      7. 6.1.7 Merck & Co. Inc.

      8. 6.1.8 Pfizer Inc.

      9. 6.1.9 Teva Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd

      10. 6.1.10 Bristol-Myers Squibb Company

      11. 6.1.11 Eli Lilly and Company

      12. 6.1.12 Sun Pharmaceutical

      13. 6.1.13 Abbvie Inc.

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Subject to Availability
**Competitive Landscape Covers - Business Overview, Financials, Products and Strategies, and Recent Developments

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Global Cephalosporin Drugs Market market is studied from 2018 - 2026.

The Global Cephalosporin Drugs Market is growing at a CAGR of 2.75% over the next 5 years.

The Global Cephalosporin Drugs Market is valued at 14010 Million USD in 2018.

The Global Cephalosporin Drugs Market is valued at 16490 Million USD in 2026.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

North America holds highest share in 2020.

Baxter International, GlaxoSmithKline PLC, Lupin Pharmaceuticals Inc., Pfizer Inc., Teva Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd are the major companies operating in Global Cephalosporin Drugs Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!