抗生素市场规模和份额分析 - 增长趋势和预测(2024 - 2029)

该报告涵盖了大环内酯类抗生素市场概述,并按产品(头孢菌素类、青霉素类、氟喹诺酮类、大环内酯类、碳青霉烯类、氨基糖苷类、磺胺类和其他产品类型)、谱(广谱抗生素、窄谱抗生素和其他谱)进行细分和地理(北美、欧洲、亚太地区、中东、非洲和南美洲)。上述细分市场的市场规模和价值(单位:百万美元)。

抗生素市场规模

单用户许可

$4750

团队许可

$5250

公司许可

$8750

提前预订
抗生素市场概况
share button
研究期 2021 - 2029
市场规模 (2024) USD 534.3亿美元
市场规模 (2029) USD 652.2亿美元
CAGR(2024 - 2029) 4.07 %
增长最快的市场 亚太地区
最大的市场 北美

主要参与者

抗生素市场主要参与者

*免责声明:主要玩家排序不分先后

我们可以帮忙吗?

单用户许可

$4750

团队许可

$5250

公司许可

$8750

提前预订

抗生素市场分析

2024年抗生素市场规模估计为534.3亿美元,预计到2029年将达到652.2亿美元,在预测期内(2024-2029年)复合年增长率为4.07%。

COVID-19的爆发影响了抗生素市场。在大流行的初期阶段,治疗 COVID-19 的抗生素需求显着增加。例如,2020 年 3 月,辉瑞宣布在法国进行的一项冠状病毒 (COVID-19) 临床试验中使用阿奇霉素 (Zithromax) 和羟氯喹取得了积极数据。经过这些临床试验,阿奇霉素成为​​广泛使用的治疗 COVID-19 的药物。此外,根据 NCBI 2021 年 7 月的一篇研究文章和 Mordor Intelligence 的分析,COVID-19 导致总共约 2.16 亿份非 CAF(儿童适宜制剂)抗生素过量,以及 3800 万份阿奇霉素额外剂量。 2020 年 6 月和 9 月在印度。因此,由于对抗生素的高需求,市场在大流行期间出现了高速增长。不过,预计疫情过后将保持稳定增长。

抗 MRSA/VRE 药物的出现、传染病负担的增加、脆弱的老龄化人口以及对有效和更新的抗生素的需求正在推动市场增长。例如,根据世界卫生组织2022年10月的报告,2021年约有1060万人患有结核病,比2020年增加了4.5%,全球有160万人死于结核病。同一消息来源还报告称,2020 年至 2021 年间,耐药结核病 (DR-TB) 的负担增加了 3.0%,2021 年新发利福平耐药结核病 (RR-TB) 病例达 45 万例。此外,三分之一的病例这些病例来自八个国家,包括印度、中国、印度尼西亚、菲律宾、巴基斯坦、尼日利亚、孟加拉国和南非。因此,传染病的高发病率可能会推动对抗生素的需求,进一步推动市场增长。

城市化和自然栖息地的破坏、气候变化和生态系统变化是导致所有年龄段传染病高发的三个主要因素。例如,根据联合国儿童基金会 2022 年 8 月发布的数据,全球每 10 万名儿童中有超过 1,400 例肺炎病例,即每年 71 名儿童中就有 1 例,其中南亚发病率最高(每 10 万名儿童中有 2,500 例) )以及西非和中非(每 100,000 名儿童 1,620 例)。同样,根据2021年ERS杂志估计,2020年约有36,580,965名欧洲人患有慢性阻塞性肺病。根据Mordor Intelligence分析,2050年约有49,453,852名欧洲人患有慢性阻塞性肺病。抗生素广泛用于治疗各种类型的疾病。因此,如此高的疾病患病率预计将对预测期内的市场增长产生积极影响。

然而,抗生素耐药性和参与积极研究的公司较少等因素预计将阻碍预测期内抗生素市场的增长。

抗生素市场趋势

预计头孢菌素类药物在预测期内将出现大幅增长

头孢菌素是一种 β-内酰胺抗生素,可抑制细菌细胞壁中肽聚糖的合成。它可以治疗多种革兰氏阳性菌和革兰氏阴性菌感染。这些抗生素通常治疗肺炎、皮肤感染、耳部感染、脑膜炎、上呼吸道感染等。

第一个头孢菌素于 1945 年被发现。随着时间的推移,人们取得了许多进展,以提高头孢菌素对各种细菌的功效。每次升级被称为一代。目前,头孢菌素有五代。由于其广泛的适用性和灵活的给药途径(口服或静脉注射),头孢菌素在全世界范围内被广泛使用,这是该领域的主要驱动因素。此外,随着感染发生率的不断上升,这些公司正在不断改进其产品系列,推出新产品,并采取并购策略来开发新产品线。例如,2021年10月,诺华子公司山德士以5亿美元收购了葛兰素史克(GSK)的头孢类抗生素业务。此次交易授予山德士 GSK 的 Zinnat、Zinacef 和 Fortum 品牌的权利,这些品牌在 100 多个市场销售。

头孢菌素在对抗各​​种感染方面的高效性也有望推动该细分市场的增长。例如,根据 2021 年 10 月 NCBI 研究,对 COVID-19 患者使用抗生素已显示出相当大的治疗效果。这在重症肺炎患者和接受糖皮质激素或其他免疫抑制剂治疗的患者中尤为明显。该研究还指出,头孢他啶和头孢吡肟对 COVID-19 表现出良好的抑制活性。它还得出结论,头孢他啶和头孢吡肟的重新利用对于改善中度和重度 COVID-19 患者的症状非常有效。

因此,由于上述因素,预计头孢菌素细分市场在预测期内将出现大幅增长。

抗生素市场:2021 年全球结核病和耐药结核病患者人数(百万)

预计北美在预测期内将出现显着增长

预计北美将在预测期内主导抗生素市场。这一增长是由于传染病负担沉重和人口老龄化加剧导致该地区抗生素需求和消费量增加等因素造成的。例如,根据 2022 年 10 月 CDC 报告,2021 年美国报告了超过 7,174 例新结核病例。该消息来源还指出,西班牙裔或拉丁裔人群的结核病患病率最高,约占该国报告的结核病病例总数的 30.0%。因此,传染病的高发病率预计将推动该地区对抗生素的需求,从而推动市场增长。

关键产品的推出、市场参与者或制造商的高度集中、重要参与者之间的收购和合作以及美国疾病的高流行是推动该国抗生素市场增长的一些因素。例如,根据密苏里大学研究人员 2021 年 10 月发表的研究,美国每 10,000 名成年人中有 24.8 例肺炎病例。同样,根据 CDC 2021 年 11 月的文章,普通感冒每年影响数百万人。成人每年感冒2-3次,儿童则更多。因此,由于美国细菌传染病负担沉重,预计美国将在北美地区抗生素市场中占据重要份额。

因此,由于上述因素,预计北美地区的研究市场将会增长。

抗生素市场-按地区增长率

抗生素行业概况

抗生素市场高度分散,由几个主要参与者组成。就市场份额而言,目前很少有重要参与者占据市场主导地位。竞争格局包括对一些拥有市场份额且知名的国际和本地公司的分析,包括强生公司、辉瑞公司、拜耳公司、诺华公司和雅培公司等。

抗生素市场领导者

  1. Merck & Co. Inc.

  2. Bayer AG

  3. Pfizer Inc

  4. Abbott Laboratories

  5. Johnson & Johnson Inc.

*免责声明:主要玩家排序不分先后

抗生素市场集中度
bookmark 需要更多关于市场参与者和竞争对手的细节吗?
下载PDF

抗生素市场新闻

  • 2021 年 10 月——大冢在欧洲获得了额外儿科适应症的批准。大冢一直致力于在全球范围内扩大 DELTYBA 的使用范围,以支持这一努力。
  • 2021年10月——诺华旗下山德士收购了葛兰素史克的头孢类抗生素业务。目前,它在100多个市场拥有三个知名品牌(Zinnat、Zinacef和Fortum)的权利,巩固了其作为全球领先抗生素公司的地位。

抗生素市场报告 - 目录

  1. 1. 介绍

    1. 1.1 研究假设和市场定义

      1. 1.2 研究范围

      2. 2. 研究方法论

        1. 3. 执行摘要

          1. 4. 市场动态

            1. 4.1 市场概况

              1. 4.2 市场驱动因素

                1. 4.2.1 抗 MRSA/VRE 药物的出现

                  1. 4.2.2 传染病负担日益增加

                    1. 4.2.3 弱势老龄化人口

                    2. 4.3 市场限制

                      1. 4.3.1 抗生素耐药性

                        1. 4.3.2 参与积极研究的公司较少

                        2. 4.4 波特五力分析

                          1. 4.4.1 供应商的议价能力

                            1. 4.4.2 买家/消费者的议价能力

                              1. 4.4.3 新进入者的威胁

                                1. 4.4.4 替代产品的威胁

                                  1. 4.4.5 竞争激烈程度

                                2. 5. 市场细分(按价值划分的市场规模 - 百万美元)

                                  1. 5.1 按产品类型

                                    1. 5.1.1 头孢菌素类

                                      1. 5.1.2 青霉素类

                                        1. 5.1.3 氟醌类

                                          1. 5.1.4 大环内酯类

                                            1. 5.1.5 碳青霉烯类

                                              1. 5.1.6 氨基糖苷类

                                                1. 5.1.7 磺胺类药物

                                                  1. 5.1.8 其他产品类型

                                                  2. 5.2 按光谱

                                                    1. 5.2.1 广谱抗生素

                                                      1. 5.2.2 窄谱抗生素

                                                      2. 5.3 地理

                                                        1. 5.3.1 北美

                                                          1. 5.3.1.1 美国

                                                            1. 5.3.1.2 加拿大

                                                              1. 5.3.1.3 墨西哥

                                                              2. 5.3.2 欧洲

                                                                1. 5.3.2.1 德国

                                                                  1. 5.3.2.2 英国

                                                                    1. 5.3.2.3 法国

                                                                      1. 5.3.2.4 意大利

                                                                        1. 5.3.2.5 西班牙

                                                                          1. 5.3.2.6 欧洲其他地区

                                                                          2. 5.3.3 亚太

                                                                            1. 5.3.3.1 中国

                                                                              1. 5.3.3.2 日本

                                                                                1. 5.3.3.3 印度

                                                                                  1. 5.3.3.4 澳大利亚

                                                                                    1. 5.3.3.5 韩国

                                                                                      1. 5.3.3.6 亚太其他地区

                                                                                      2. 5.3.4 中东和非洲

                                                                                        1. 5.3.4.1 海湾合作委员会

                                                                                          1. 5.3.4.2 南非

                                                                                            1. 5.3.4.3 中东和非洲其他地区

                                                                                            2. 5.3.5 南美洲

                                                                                              1. 5.3.5.1 巴西

                                                                                                1. 5.3.5.2 阿根廷

                                                                                                  1. 5.3.5.3 南美洲其他地区

                                                                                              2. 6. 竞争格局

                                                                                                1. 6.1 公司简介

                                                                                                  1. 6.1.1 Johnson & Johnson Inc.

                                                                                                    1. 6.1.2 Merck & Co. Inc.

                                                                                                      1. 6.1.3 Pfizer Inc.

                                                                                                        1. 6.1.4 Bayer Healthcare AG

                                                                                                          1. 6.1.5 Novartis AG

                                                                                                            1. 6.1.6 Abbott Laboratories

                                                                                                              1. 6.1.7 F. Hoffmann-La Roche AG

                                                                                                                1. 6.1.8 Otsuka Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd

                                                                                                                  1. 6.1.9 Eli Lilly and Company

                                                                                                                    1. 6.1.10 Daiichi Sankyo

                                                                                                                      1. 6.1.11 Astellas Pharma

                                                                                                                    2. 7. 市场机会和未来趋势

                                                                                                                      **视供应情况而定
                                                                                                                      **竞争格局涵盖 - 业务概览、财务、产品和战略以及最新发展
                                                                                                                      bookmark 您可以购买此报告的部分。查看特定部分的价格
                                                                                                                      立即获取价格明细

                                                                                                                      抗生素行业细分

                                                                                                                      根据报告的范围,抗生素药物是指通过杀死细菌来治疗感染的药物。这些是全世界对抗细菌感染最常开的课程之一,主要是在门诊环境中。抗生素市场按产品(头孢菌素类、青霉素类、氟喹诺酮类、大环内酯类、碳青霉烯类、氨基糖苷类、磺胺类和其他产品类型)、谱(广谱抗生素、窄谱抗生素和其他谱)和地理(北美)细分、欧洲、亚太地区、中东、非洲和南美洲)。该报告还涵盖了全球主要地区 17 个国家的估计市场规模和趋势。该报告提供了上述细分市场的价值(以百万美元为单位)。

                                                                                                                      按产品类型
                                                                                                                      头孢菌素类
                                                                                                                      青霉素类
                                                                                                                      氟醌类
                                                                                                                      大环内酯类
                                                                                                                      碳青霉烯类
                                                                                                                      氨基糖苷类
                                                                                                                      磺胺类药物
                                                                                                                      其他产品类型
                                                                                                                      按光谱
                                                                                                                      广谱抗生素
                                                                                                                      窄谱抗生素
                                                                                                                      地理
                                                                                                                      北美
                                                                                                                      美国
                                                                                                                      加拿大
                                                                                                                      墨西哥
                                                                                                                      欧洲
                                                                                                                      德国
                                                                                                                      英国
                                                                                                                      法国
                                                                                                                      意大利
                                                                                                                      西班牙
                                                                                                                      欧洲其他地区
                                                                                                                      亚太
                                                                                                                      中国
                                                                                                                      日本
                                                                                                                      印度
                                                                                                                      澳大利亚
                                                                                                                      韩国
                                                                                                                      亚太其他地区
                                                                                                                      中东和非洲
                                                                                                                      海湾合作委员会
                                                                                                                      南非
                                                                                                                      中东和非洲其他地区
                                                                                                                      南美洲
                                                                                                                      巴西
                                                                                                                      阿根廷
                                                                                                                      南美洲其他地区

                                                                                                                      抗生素市场研究常见问题解答

                                                                                                                      抗生素市场规模预计到 2024 年将达到 534.3 亿美元,复合年增长率为 4.07%,到 2029 年将达到 652.2 亿美元。

                                                                                                                      2024年,抗生素市场规模预计将达到534.3亿美元。

                                                                                                                      Merck & Co. Inc.、Bayer AG、Pfizer Inc、Abbott Laboratories、Johnson & Johnson Inc. 是抗生素市场运营的主要公司。

                                                                                                                      预计亚太地区在预测期内(2024-2029 年)复合年增长率最高。

                                                                                                                      2024年,北美占据抗生素市场最大的市场份额。

                                                                                                                      2023年,抗生素市场规模估计为513.4亿美元。该报告涵盖了以下年份的抗生素市场历史市场规模:2021年、2022年和2023年。该报告还预测了以下年份的抗生素市场规模:2024年、2025年、2026年、2027年、2028年和2029年。

                                                                                                                      抗生素行业报告

                                                                                                                      Mordor Intelligence™ 行业报告创建的 2024 年抗生素市场份额、规模和收入增长率统计数据。抗生素分析包括对 2029 年的市场预测展望和历史回顾。获取此行业分析的样本(免费下载 PDF 报告)。

                                                                                                                      close-icon
                                                                                                                      80% 的客户寻求定制报告。 您希望我们如何为您量身定制?

                                                                                                                      请输入有效的电子邮件ID

                                                                                                                      请输入有效的消息!

                                                                                                                      抗生素市场规模和份额分析 - 增长趋势和预测(2024 - 2029)

Antibiotics Market Size & Share Analysis - Growth Trends & Forecasts (2024 - 2029)

The report covers Macrolide Antibiotics Market Overview and it is segmented by product (Cephalosporins, Penicillin, Fluoroquinolones, Macrolides, Carbapenems, Aminoglycosides, Sulfonamides, and other product types), spectrum (broad-spectrum antibiotics, narrow-spectrum antibiotics, and other spectrums), and geography (North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, Middle East, and Africa, and South America). The market size and values (in USD million) for the above segments.

Antibiotics Market Size

Antibiotics Market  Summary
share button
Study Period 2021 - 2029
Market Size (2024) USD 53.43 Billion
Market Size (2029) USD 65.22 Billion
CAGR (2024 - 2029) 4.07 %
Fastest Growing Market Asia Pacific
Largest Market North America

Major Players

Antibiotics Market  Major Players

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

setting-icon

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Antibiotics Market Analysis

The Antibiotics Market size is estimated at USD 53.43 billion in 2024, and is expected to reach USD 65.22 billion by 2029, growing at a CAGR of 4.07% during the forecast period (2024-2029).

The outbreak of COVID-19 impacted the antibiotics market. During the initial phase of the pandemic, the demand for antibiotics significantly increased for treating COVID-19. For instance, in March 2020, Pfizer announced positive data by using azithromycin (Zithromax) and hydroxychloroquine in a coronavirus (COVID-19) clinical trial, performed in France. Following these clinical trials, azithromycin became a widely used drug for treating COVID-19. Furthermore, according to a July 2021 NCBI research article and as per the Mordor Intelligence analysis, COVID-19 contributed to about 216.0 million excess doses of non-CAF (child-appropriate formulations) of antibiotics in total and 38 million extra doses of azithromycin between June and September 2020 in India. Therefore, the market witnessed high growth during the pandemic due to such high demand for antibiotics. However, it is expected to observe stable growth after the pandemic.

The emergence of Anti-MRSA/VRE drugs, the increasing burden of infectious diseases, the vulnerable aging population, and the need for effective and newer antibiotics are driving the market growth. For instance, according to the October 2022 report of the WHO, around 10.6 million people suffered from TB in 2021. It was an increase of 4.5% from 2020, and 1.6 million people died from TB across the globe. The same source also reported that the burden of drug-resistant TB (DR-TB) increased by 3.0% between 2020 and 2021, with 450000 new cases of rifampicin-resistant TB (RR-TB) in 2021. Furthermore, one-third of the cases were reported from eight countries, including India, China, Indonesia, Philippines, Pakistan, Nigeria, Bangladesh, and South Africa. Therefore, such a high prevalence of infectious diseases may propel the demand for antibiotics, further surging market growth.

The urbanization and destruction of natural habitats, climate change, and changing ecosystems are three major factors contributing to the high rate of infectious diseases in all age groups. For instance, as per the UNICEF data published in August 2022, there were more than 1,400 cases of pneumonia per 100,000 children, or 1 case in 71 children each year, globally, with the highest incidence occurring in South Asia (2,500 cases per 100,000 children) and West and Central Africa (1,620 cases per 100,000 children). Similarly, as per the ERS journal of 2021, it was estimated that around 36,580,965 Europeans suffered from COPD in 2020. According to Mordor Intelligence analysis, approximately 49,453,852 Europeans will suffer from COPD in 2050. Antibiotics are widely used for treating various types of diseases. Therefore, such a high disease prevalence is anticipated to impact the market growth over the forecast period positively.

However, factors such as antibiotic resistance and fewer companies involved in active research are expected to impede the growth of the antibiotics market over the forecast period.

Antibiotics Market Trends

This section covers the major market trends shaping the Antibiotics Market according to our research experts:

Cephalosporins is Expected to Witness Considerable Growth Over the Forecast Period

Cephalosporins are a beta-lactam antibiotic that inhibits peptidoglycan synthesis in the bacterial cell wall. It manages a wide range of infections from gram-positive and gram-negative bacteria. These antibiotics commonly treat pneumonia, skin infections, ear infections, meningitis, upper respiratory tract infections, etc.

The first cephalosporin was discovered in 1945. With time, many advancements were made to improve the cephalosporin efficacy against various bacteria. Each upgrade was termed a generation. Currently, there are five generations of cephalosporins. Due to their broad applicability and flexible route of administration (oral or intravenous), cephalosporins are prescribed and used widely worldwide, which is the major driving factor for the segment. In addition, with the growing incidence of infection, the companies are evolving their product offerings, launching new ones, and adopting merger and acquisition strategies to develop new product lines. For instance, in October 2021, Novartis' subsidiary Sandoz acquired GlaxoSmithKline's (GSK) cephalosporin antibiotics business for USD 500 million. The transaction has granted Sandoz the rights to GSK's Zinnat, Zinacef, and Fortum brands, sold in more than 100 markets.

The high efficiency of cephalosporin in combating various infections is also expected to propel segment growth. For instance, according to the October 2021 NCBI research study, antibiotics use for COVID-19 patients has shown considerable therapeutic benefits. It is evident in patients with severe pneumonia and those receiving glucocorticoids or other immunosuppressant therapeutics. The study also stated ceftazidime and cefepime demonstrated good inhibitory activity toward COVID-19. It also concluded ceftazidime and cefepime repurposing are highly effective for moderate and severe COVID-19 patient symptomatic improvement.

Therefore, owing to these factors mentioned above, the cephalosporin segment is expected to witness considerable growth over the forecast period.

Antibiotics Market : Number of People Suffered from TB and Drugresistant TB (in million), Global, 2021

North America Expected to Witness Significant Growth Over the Forecast Period

North America is expected to dominate the antibiotics market over the forecast period. The growth is due to factors such as the high antibiotics demand and consumption in the region due to the high burden of infectious diseases and the growing aging population. For instance, according to the October 2022 CDC report, in 2021, more than 7,174 new cases of TB were reported in the US. The same source also noted that the prevalence of TB was to be highest among Hispanic or Latino persons, who accounted for about 30.0% of the total TB cases reported in the country. Thus, such a high prevalence of infectious diseases is expected to drive the demand for antibiotics in the region, thereby propelling market growth.

Key product launches, high concentration of market players or manufacturer's presence, acquisitions and partnerships among significant players, and the high prevalence of diseases in the US are some of the factors driving the growth of the antibiotics market in the country. For instance, according to the study published by researchers from the University of Missouri in October 2021, pneumonia was reported to be 24.8 cases per 10,000 adults in the United States. Similarly, according to the November 2021 article of the CDC, the common cold affects millions of people in the US each year. Adults have 2-3 colds yearly, and children get even more. Thus, due to the country's high burden of bacterial infectious diseases, the US is expected to hold a significant share of the antibiotics market in the North American region.

Therefore, the studied market growth is anticipated in the North America Region due to the aforementioned factors.

Antibiotics Market- Growth Rate by Region

Antibiotics Industry Overview

The antibiotics market is highly fragmented and consists of several major players. In terms of market share, few significant players currently dominate the market. The competitive landscape includes an analysis of a few international and local companies that hold market shares and are well known, including Johnson & Johnson, Pfizer PLC, Bayer AG, Novartis AG, and Abbott Inc., among others.

Antibiotics Market Leaders

  1. Merck & Co. Inc.

  2. Bayer AG

  3. Pfizer Inc

  4. Abbott Laboratories

  5. Johnson & Johnson Inc.

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

Antibiotics Market Concentration
bookmark Need More Details on Market Players and Competitors?
Download PDF

Antibiotics Market News

  • October 2021- Otsuka received approval for an additional pediatric indication in Europe. Otsuka has been working on expanding access to DELTYBA worldwide in support of that effort.
  • October 2021- Sandoz, a Novartis division, acquired GSK's cephalosporin antibiotics business. It now has the rights to three well-known brands (Zinnat, Zinacef, and Fortum) in more than 100 markets, strengthening its position as the world's leading antibiotics company.

Antibiotics Market Report - Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Emergence of Anti-MRSA/VRE Drugs

      2. 4.2.2 Increasing Burden of Infectious Diseases

      3. 4.2.3 Vulnerable Aging Population

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

      1. 4.3.1 Antibiotic Resistance

      2. 4.3.2 Fewer Companies Involved in Active Research

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION (Market Size by Value - USD Million)

    1. 5.1 By Product Type

      1. 5.1.1 Cephalosporins

      2. 5.1.2 Penicillins

      3. 5.1.3 Fluroquinilones

      4. 5.1.4 Macrolides

      5. 5.1.5 Carbapenems

      6. 5.1.6 Aminoglycosides

      7. 5.1.7 Sulfonamides

      8. 5.1.8 Other Product Types

    2. 5.2 By Spectrum

      1. 5.2.1 Broad-spectrum Antibiotics

      2. 5.2.2 Narrow-spectrum Antibiotics

    3. 5.3 Geography

      1. 5.3.1 North America

        1. 5.3.1.1 United States

        2. 5.3.1.2 Canada

        3. 5.3.1.3 Mexico

      2. 5.3.2 Europe

        1. 5.3.2.1 Germany

        2. 5.3.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.3.2.3 France

        4. 5.3.2.4 Italy

        5. 5.3.2.5 Spain

        6. 5.3.2.6 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.3.3 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.3.3.1 China

        2. 5.3.3.2 Japan

        3. 5.3.3.3 India

        4. 5.3.3.4 Australia

        5. 5.3.3.5 South Korea

        6. 5.3.3.6 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.3.4 Middle East and Africa

        1. 5.3.4.1 GCC

        2. 5.3.4.2 South Africa

        3. 5.3.4.3 Rest of Middle-East and Africa

      5. 5.3.5 South America

        1. 5.3.5.1 Brazil

        2. 5.3.5.2 Argentina

        3. 5.3.5.3 Rest of South America

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 Johnson & Johnson Inc.

      2. 6.1.2 Merck & Co. Inc.

      3. 6.1.3 Pfizer Inc.

      4. 6.1.4 Bayer Healthcare AG

      5. 6.1.5 Novartis AG

      6. 6.1.6 Abbott Laboratories

      7. 6.1.7 F. Hoffmann-La Roche AG

      8. 6.1.8 Otsuka Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd

      9. 6.1.9 Eli Lilly and Company

      10. 6.1.10 Daiichi Sankyo

      11. 6.1.11 Astellas Pharma

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Subject to Availability
**Competitive Landscape covers- Business Overview, Financials, Products and Strategies and Recent Developments
bookmark You Can Purchase Parts Of This Report. Check Out Prices For Specific Sections
Get Price Break-up Now

Antibiotics Industry Segmentation

As per the scope of the report, antibiotic medicines refer to medicines used to treat infections by killing bacteria. These are among the most prescribed courses worldwide in fighting bacterial infections, primarily in outpatient settings. The Antibiotics Market is segmented by product (Cephalosporins, Penicillin, Fluoroquinolones, Macrolides, Carbapenems, Aminoglycosides, Sulfonamides, and other product types), spectrum (broad-spectrum antibiotics, narrow-spectrum antibiotics, and other spectrums), and geography (North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, Middle East, and Africa, and South America). The report also covers the estimated market sizes and trends for 17 countries across major global regions. The report offers values (in USD million) for the above segments.

By Product Type
Cephalosporins
Penicillins
Fluroquinilones
Macrolides
Carbapenems
Aminoglycosides
Sulfonamides
Other Product Types
By Spectrum
Broad-spectrum Antibiotics
Narrow-spectrum Antibiotics
Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Italy
Spain
Rest of Europe
Asia-Pacific
China
Japan
India
Australia
South Korea
Rest of Asia-Pacific
Middle East and Africa
GCC
South Africa
Rest of Middle-East and Africa
South America
Brazil
Argentina
Rest of South America
customize-icon Need A Different Region Or Segment?
Customize Now

Antibiotics Market Research FAQs

The Antibiotics Market size is expected to reach USD 53.43 billion in 2024 and grow at a CAGR of 4.07% to reach USD 65.22 billion by 2029.

In 2024, the Antibiotics Market size is expected to reach USD 53.43 billion.

Merck & Co. Inc., Bayer AG, Pfizer Inc, Abbott Laboratories and Johnson & Johnson Inc. are the major companies operating in the Antibiotics Market.

Asia Pacific is estimated to grow at the highest CAGR over the forecast period (2024-2029).

In 2024, the North America accounts for the largest market share in Antibiotics Market.

In 2023, the Antibiotics Market size was estimated at USD 51.34 billion. The report covers the Antibiotics Market historical market size for years: 2021, 2022 and 2023. The report also forecasts the Antibiotics Market size for years: 2024, 2025, 2026, 2027, 2028 and 2029.

The major challenges in the Antibiotics Market are a) Focus on short-term profits due to lower sales volume compared to drugs for chronic conditions b) Insufficient government support for research into new antibiotics compared to other therapeutic areas

Antibiotics Industry Report

The global antibiotics market is on a path of steady growth, catalyzed by the escalating prevalence of bacterial infections and notable advancements in R&D. This vibrant sector, characterized by key drug classes like penicillin, cephalosporins, and macrolides, is undergoing shifts in demand, notably with an uptick in consumption within developing regions driven by healthcare advancements and surging infectious diseases. In contrast, developed areas are witnessing a usage decline, prompted by rigorous efforts to curb antimicrobial resistance. Yet, the industry remains resilient, buoyed by the evolution of broad-spectrum antibiotics, a focus on novel treatments, and strategic partnerships for new drug discoveries. Efforts to boost antibiotic efficacy against resistant strains and the diversification of administration routes illustrate the sector’s nimble adaptation to health crises. With initiatives to refine antibiotic use and pioneering strategies against resistance, the antibiotics market is well-poised for future growth, leveraging both traditional and innovative approaches to meet the demands of a changing health landscape. Get a sample of this industry analysis as a free report PDF download.

close-icon
80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Antibiotics Market Size & Share Analysis - Growth Trends & Forecasts (2024 - 2029)