سوق المستحضرات الصيدلانية الحيوية - النمو والاتجاهات وتأثير COVID-19 والتوقعات (2022 - 2027)

سوق المستحضرات الصيدلانية الحيوية مقسم حسب نوع المنتج (الأجسام المضادة وحيدة النسيلة وعوامل النمو المؤتلف والبروتينات النقية والبروتينات المؤتلفة والهرمونات المؤتلفة واللقاحات والإنزيمات المؤتلفة وعلاجات الخلايا والجينات ومعدلات المناعة الاصطناعية وأنواع المنتجات الأخرى) والتطبيق العلاجي (على والأمراض المعدية ، واضطرابات المناعة الذاتية ، واضطرابات التمثيل الغذائي ، والاضطرابات الهرمونية ، وأمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية ، والأمراض العصبية ، وأمراض أخرى) ، والجغرافيا (أمريكا الشمالية وأوروبا وآسيا والمحيط الهادئ والشرق الأوسط وأفريقيا وأمريكا الجنوبية). يقدم التقرير قيمًا (بملايين الدولارات الأمريكية) للقطاعات المذكورة أعلاه.

لقطة السوق

biopharmaceuticals industry overview
Study Period: 2018-2026
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 7.32 %
biopharmaceuticals market companies

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

نظرة عامة على السوق

بلغت قيمة سوق الأدوية الحيوية حوالي 325.17 مليار دولار أمريكي في عام 2020 ، ومن المتوقع أن يشهد إيرادات قدرها 496.71 مليار دولار أمريكي في عام 2026 ، بمعدل نمو سنوي مركب قدره 7.32٪ خلال الفترة المتوقعة 2021-2026.

من المتوقع أن يكون لوباء COVID-19 المستمر على مستوى العالم تأثير كبير على صناعة المستحضرات الصيدلانية الحيوية. تسعى معظم شركات الأدوية الحيوية إلى تطوير لقاحات ضد فيروس SARS-CoV2. بعض اللقاحات المرشحة هي لقاحات تقليدية مثل المنتجات المعطلة والمضعفة ؛ ومع ذلك ، فإن معظم اللقاحات المرشحة التي يتم تطويرها هي لقاحات متطورة من DNA و RNA ولقاحات البروتينات الفرعية. من المتوقع أن يعزز هذا العامل نمو سوق الأدوية الحيوية على الوباء. ومع ذلك ، قد تشهد الإجراءات السريرية والتنظيمية لمرشحي الأدوية ذات المؤشرات الأخرى وتيرة بطيئة بسبب تحول أولويات نظام الرعاية الصحية لتقليل العدوى إلى مرضى التجارب السريرية.

السوق مدفوع إلى حد كبير بتزايد عدد المسنين ، وتزايد الأمراض المزمنة ، وزيادة القبول والطلب الهائل في السوق على المستحضرات الصيدلانية الحيوية. وفقًا لتقرير Globocan 2020 ، تم تشخيص ما مجموعه 19،292،789 حالة سرطان جديدة ، مع 9،958،133 حالة وفاة بسبب السرطانات في جميع أنحاء العالم. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، وفقًا لبيانات تقرير الأمم المتحدة للتوقعات السكانية في العالم لعام 2019 ، بحلول عام 2050 ، سيكون واحد من كل ستة أشخاص في العالم أكبر من 65 عامًا ، وهي زيادة عن واحد من كل 11 في عام 2019 ، وبحلول عام 2050 في أربعة أشخاص يعيشون في أوروبا وأمريكا الشمالية يمكن أن تكون أعمارهم 65 سنة أو أكثر. من المتوقع أن يتضاعف عدد الأشخاص الذين تبلغ أعمارهم 80 عامًا أو أكثر على مستوى العالم ثلاث مرات ، من 143 مليونًا في عام 2019 إلى 426 مليونًا في عام 2050.

يتم تسهيل الطلب الهائل على المستحضرات الصيدلانية الحيوية من خلال التركيز المتسارع على البحوث والاستثمارات ذات الصلة. إن قدرة المنتجات الصيدلانية الحيوية على معالجة الظروف غير القابلة للمعالجة سابقًا قد أدخلت عقاقير مبتكرة في السوق. وبالتالي ، بالنظر إلى العوامل المذكورة أعلاه ، من المتوقع أن ينمو السوق المدروس خلال فترة التنبؤ.

كما أن طلب السوق على المستحضرات الصيدلانية الحيوية آخذ في الازدياد مع تزايد الرغبة في التحايل على الآثار الجانبية المرتبطة ببعض العلاجات الجزيئية الصغيرة والعلاجات الجراحية الغازية. ومع ذلك ، فإن القضايا التنظيمية الصارمة ومتطلبات الاستثمار العالي في تطوير دواء بيولوجي الصيدلانية هي العوامل التي تحد من نمو السوق المدروسة.

نطاق التقرير

وفقًا لنطاق التقرير ، تشير المستحضرات الصيدلانية الحيوية إلى أي جزيء مركب بيولوجيًا يستخدم لعلاج الاضطرابات أو إدارتها. تشمل المنتجات الصيدلانية الحيوية (على سبيل المثال لا الحصر) الأجسام المضادة أحادية النسيلة وعوامل النمو المؤتلف والبروتينات النقية والبروتينات المؤتلفة والهرمونات المؤتلفة واللقاحات والإنزيمات المؤتلفة ومعدلات المناعة الاصطناعية وعلاجات الخلايا والجينات ومنتجات أخرى. يتم تقسيم سوق المستحضرات الصيدلانية الحيوية حسب نوع المنتج والتطبيق العلاجي والجغرافيا. حسب نوع المنتج ، يتم تقسيم السوق إلى أجسام مضادة وحيدة النسيلة ، وعوامل نمو مؤتلفة ، وبروتينات نقية ، وبروتينات مؤتلفة ، وهرمونات مؤتلفة ، ولقاحات ، وأنزيمات مؤتلفة ، وعلاجات الخلايا والجينات ، ومعدلات المناعة الاصطناعية ، وأنواع المنتجات الأخرى. من خلال التطبيق العلاجي ، ينقسم السوق إلى قسم الأورام ، الأمراض الالتهابية والمعدية واضطرابات المناعة الذاتية واضطرابات التمثيل الغذائي والاضطرابات الهرمونية وأمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية والأمراض العصبية وغيرها من الأمراض. حسب الجغرافيا ، يتم تقسيم السوق إلى أمريكا الشمالية وأوروبا وآسيا والمحيط الهادئ والشرق الأوسط وأفريقيا وأمريكا الجنوبية. يقدم التقرير قيمًا (بملايين الدولارات الأمريكية) للقطاعات المذكورة أعلاه.

By Product Type
Monoclonal Antibodies
Anti-cancer Monoclonal Antibodies
Anti-inflammatory Monoclonal Antibodies
Other Monoclonal Antibodies
Recombinant Growth Factors
Erythropoietin
Granulocyte Colony Stimulating Factor
Purified Proteins
Leukemia Inhibitory Factor (LIF)
P53 Protein
P38 Protein
Other Purified Proteins
Recombinant Proteins
Serum Albumin
Amyloid Protein
Defensin
Transferrin
Recombinant Hormones
Recombinant Human Growth Hormones
Recombinant Insulin
Other Recombinant Hormones
Vaccines
Recombinant Vaccines
Cancer Vaccines
Malaria Vaccines
Ebola Vaccine
Hepatitis B Vaccine
Tetanus Vaccine
Diptheria Vaccine
Cholera Vaccine
Other Recombinant Vaccines
Conventional Vaccines
Polio Vaccine
Pox Vaccine
Other Conventional Vaccines
Recombinant Enzymes
Enterokinase
Cyclase
Caspase
Cathepsin
Cell and Gene Therapies
Allogenic Products
Autologous Products
Acellular Products
Synthetic Immunomodulators
Cytokines, Interferons, and Interleukins
Other Product Types
Blood Factors
Other Product Types
By Therapeutic Application
Oncology
Inflammatory and Infectious Diseases
Autoimmune Disorders
Metabolic Disorders
Hormonal Disorders
Cardiovascular Diseases
Neurological Diseases
Other Diseases
Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Italy
Spain
Rest of Europe
Asia-Pacific
China
Japan
India
Australia
South Korea
Rest of Asia-Pacific
Middle-East and Africa
GCC
South Africa
Rest of Middle-East and Africa
South America
Brazil
Argentina
Rest of South America

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

اتجاهات السوق الرئيسية

من المتوقع أن يحتفظ قطاع الأجسام المضادة وحيدة النسيلة بحصة سوقية عالية خلال فترة التنبؤ

يعد الاستخدام الناجح للأجسام المضادة وحيدة النسيلة ومشتقات الأجسام المضادة في العلاجات المحرك الرئيسي للنمو السريع للقطاع المدروس. تشمل التطبيقات العلاجية للأجسام المضادة وحيدة النسيلة في مجالات السرطان والتهاب المفاصل الروماتويدي والتصلب المتعدد وأمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية ، من بين أمور أخرى.

تسبب تفشي فيروس كوفيد -19 الأخير في خلق عبء ثقيل على أنظمة الرعاية الصحية. يبذل الباحثون في جميع أنحاء العالم جهودًا متواصلة للتعامل مع هذا العبء المتزايد. وبالتالي ، من المرجح أن يتجاوز الطلب على الأجسام المضادة وحيدة النسيلة التي تستهدف COVID-19. على سبيل المثال ، في يوليو 2020 ، تمت الموافقة على الجسم المضاد أحادي النسيلة المضاد لـ CD6 IgG1 المسمى Itolizumab (ALZUMAb) ، من Biocon Ltd ، الهند ، من قبل وحدة التحكم في الأدوية العامة في الهند (DCGI) للعلاج الطارئ لمتلازمة إطلاق السيتوكين في الضائقة التنفسية الحادة مرضى متلازمة المصابين بـ COVID-19.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، من المتوقع أن تدفع موافقات إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية (FDA) المتزايدة وإطلاق منتجات جديدة لمؤشرات مختلفة هذا القطاع. على سبيل المثال ، في أكتوبر 2019 ، حصلت شركة Novartis على موافقة إدارة الأغذية والعقاقير (FDA) لحقنها Beovu (brolucizumab) ، المعروف أيضًا باسم RTH258 ، لعلاج التنكس البقعي المرتبط بالعمر (AMD). في مارس 2019 ، وافقت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية على البديل الحيوي للأورام الخاص بشركة Pfizer ، وهو TRAZIMERA ، وهو جسم مضاد أحادي النسيلة مشابه حيويًا للطب البيولوجي المنشئ ، Herceptin. وبالتالي ، نظرًا للعوامل المذكورة أعلاه ، من المتوقع أن يشهد قطاع الأجسام المضادة وحيدة النسيلة نموًا كبيرًا خلال فترة التنبؤ.

biopharmaceuticals market growth

تهيمن أمريكا الشمالية على السوق ومن المتوقع أن تفعل الشيء نفسه في فترة التنبؤ

العبء المتزايد للأمراض المزمنة وزيادة الاستثمارات في أنشطة البحث والتطوير في الولايات المتحدة هي العوامل الرئيسية التي تدفع سوق المستحضرات الصيدلانية الحيوية في أمريكا الشمالية. تم الاعتراف بالولايات المتحدة باعتبارها عاصمة الابتكار في العالم لعلوم الحياة ، وهي تشارك في استثمارات رأس المال العالمية في المراحل الأولى لشركات الأدوية الحيوية.

خلال جائحة COVID-19 الحالية ، كانت جميع شركات الأدوية الحيوية تقريبًا في المنطقة تسعى جاهدة لتطوير علاجات فعالة ضد COVID-19 ، ومن المتوقع أن يعزز هذا السوق المدروس على الوباء في أمريكا الشمالية. وفقًا للبحوث الصيدلانية والشركات المصنعة في أمريكا ، اعتبارًا من يناير 2021 ، كان ما يقرب من 1750 تجربة سريرية قيد التقدم لتطوير اللقاحات والعقاقير في علاج COVID-19 ، من بينها 420 تجربة سريرية في الولايات المتحدة.

وفقًا لـ Globocan 2020 ، بلغ عدد حالات الإصابة بالسرطان المقدرة في الولايات المتحدة 2،281،658 ، مع 612،390 حالة وفاة ، في عام 2020. يؤدي ارتفاع معدل الإصابة بالسرطان إلى زيادة الطلب على العلاجات الفعالة ، وبالتالي ، يدفع السوق المدروسة. وفقًا لجمعية الأبحاث الصيدلانية والمصنعين (PhRMA) ، في عام 2018 ، عمل أكثر من 4.7 مليون شخص في صناعة المستحضرات الصيدلانية الحيوية في الولايات المتحدة عبر مجموعة واسعة من المهن ، بما في ذلك البحث العلمي والدعم الفني والتصنيع. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، في مارس 2020 ، استثمرت Thermo Fisher Scientific Inc. ما يقرب من 475 مليون دولار أمريكي كاستثمار في الأدوية الحيوية في التوسع في المستحضرات الدوائية الحيوية والعلاج بالخلايا والجينات وتطوير المنتجات الدوائية وزيادة قدراتها التجارية على مستوى العالم. وبالمثل ، في يناير 2020 ، أبرمت شركة Eli Lilly and Company اتفاقية للاستحواذ على شركة Dermira ، وهي شركة أدوية بيولوجية. يساعد هذا الاستحواذ في توسيع محفظة الشركة الصيدلانية الحيوية مع إضافة Lebrikizumab من Dermira ، وهو جسم مضاد لـ IL-13 مخصص للاستخدام في علاج التهاب الجلد التأتبي المتوسط ​​إلى الشديد. وبالتالي ، بالنظر إلى العوامل المذكورة أعلاه ، من المتوقع أن يتحرك السوق المدروس بشكل كبير خلال فترة التنبؤ في أمريكا الشمالية.

biopharmaceuticals market size

مشهد تنافسي

يتسم سوق المستحضرات الصيدلانية الحيوية بقدرة تنافسية عالية ويتكون من العديد من اللاعبين الرئيسيين. من حيث الحصة السوقية ، يهيمن عدد قليل من اللاعبين الرئيسيين على السوق حاليًا. ومع ذلك ، مع التقدم التكنولوجي وابتكارات المنتجات ، تعمل الشركات المتوسطة الحجم إلى الأصغر على زيادة تواجدها في السوق من خلال إطلاق منتجات جديدة. تمتلك شركات مثل Amgen Inc. و Eli Lily and Company و Johnson and Johnson و Sanofi SA و AstraZeneca PLC و Pfizer Inc. حصة كبيرة في سوق المستحضرات الصيدلانية الحيوية وتشارك في العديد من التحالفات الإستراتيجية مثل عمليات الاستحواذ والتعاون لتوسيع محافظ منتجاتها . على سبيل المثال ، في أغسطس 2020 ، أبرمت شركة Sanofi SA اتفاقية نهائية للاستحواذ على شركة Principia Biopharma Inc. ، وهي شركة أدوية بيولوجية في مرحلة متأخرة تشارك في تطوير علاجات للأمراض المناعية.

مشهد تنافسي

يتسم سوق المستحضرات الصيدلانية الحيوية بقدرة تنافسية عالية ويتكون من العديد من اللاعبين الرئيسيين. من حيث الحصة السوقية ، يهيمن عدد قليل من اللاعبين الرئيسيين على السوق حاليًا. ومع ذلك ، مع التقدم التكنولوجي وابتكارات المنتجات ، تعمل الشركات المتوسطة الحجم إلى الأصغر على زيادة تواجدها في السوق من خلال إطلاق منتجات جديدة. تمتلك شركات مثل Amgen Inc. و Eli Lily and Company و Johnson and Johnson و Sanofi SA و AstraZeneca PLC و Pfizer Inc. حصة كبيرة في سوق المستحضرات الصيدلانية الحيوية وتشارك في العديد من التحالفات الإستراتيجية مثل عمليات الاستحواذ والتعاون لتوسيع محافظ منتجاتها . على سبيل المثال ، في أغسطس 2020 ، أبرمت شركة Sanofi SA اتفاقية نهائية للاستحواذ على شركة Principia Biopharma Inc. ، وهي شركة أدوية بيولوجية في مرحلة متأخرة تشارك في تطوير علاجات للأمراض المناعية.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Increasing Acceptance and Huge Market Demand for Biopharmaceuticals

      2. 4.2.2 Ability of Biopharmaceuticals to Treat Previously Untreatable Diseases

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

      1. 4.3.1 High-end Manufacturing Requirements

      2. 4.3.2 Complicated and Cumbersome Regulatory Requirements

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION (Market Size in Value)

    1. 5.1 By Product Type

      1. 5.1.1 Monoclonal Antibodies

        1. 5.1.1.1 Anti-cancer Monoclonal Antibodies

        2. 5.1.1.2 Anti-inflammatory Monoclonal Antibodies

        3. 5.1.1.3 Other Monoclonal Antibodies

      2. 5.1.2 Recombinant Growth Factors

        1. 5.1.2.1 Erythropoietin

        2. 5.1.2.2 Granulocyte Colony Stimulating Factor

      3. 5.1.3 Purified Proteins

        1. 5.1.3.1 Leukemia Inhibitory Factor (LIF)

        2. 5.1.3.2 P53 Protein

        3. 5.1.3.3 P38 Protein

        4. 5.1.3.4 Other Purified Proteins

      4. 5.1.4 Recombinant Proteins

        1. 5.1.4.1 Serum Albumin

        2. 5.1.4.2 Amyloid Protein

        3. 5.1.4.3 Defensin

        4. 5.1.4.4 Transferrin

      5. 5.1.5 Recombinant Hormones

        1. 5.1.5.1 Recombinant Human Growth Hormones

        2. 5.1.5.2 Recombinant Insulin

        3. 5.1.5.3 Other Recombinant Hormones

      6. 5.1.6 Vaccines

        1. 5.1.6.1 Recombinant Vaccines

          1. 5.1.6.1.1 Cancer Vaccines

          2. 5.1.6.1.2 Malaria Vaccines

          3. 5.1.6.1.3 Ebola Vaccine

          4. 5.1.6.1.4 Hepatitis B Vaccine

          5. 5.1.6.1.5 Tetanus Vaccine

          6. 5.1.6.1.6 Diptheria Vaccine

          7. 5.1.6.1.7 Cholera Vaccine

          8. 5.1.6.1.8 Other Recombinant Vaccines

        2. 5.1.6.2 Conventional Vaccines

          1. 5.1.6.2.1 Polio Vaccine

          2. 5.1.6.2.2 Pox Vaccine

          3. 5.1.6.2.3 Other Conventional Vaccines

      7. 5.1.7 Recombinant Enzymes

        1. 5.1.7.1 Enterokinase

        2. 5.1.7.2 Cyclase

        3. 5.1.7.3 Caspase

        4. 5.1.7.4 Cathepsin

      8. 5.1.8 Cell and Gene Therapies

        1. 5.1.8.1 Allogenic Products

        2. 5.1.8.2 Autologous Products

        3. 5.1.8.3 Acellular Products

      9. 5.1.9 Synthetic Immunomodulators

        1. 5.1.9.1 Cytokines, Interferons, and Interleukins

      10. 5.1.10 Other Product Types

        1. 5.1.10.1 Blood Factors

        2. 5.1.10.2 Other Product Types

    2. 5.2 By Therapeutic Application

      1. 5.2.1 Oncology

      2. 5.2.2 Inflammatory and Infectious Diseases

      3. 5.2.3 Autoimmune Disorders

      4. 5.2.4 Metabolic Disorders

      5. 5.2.5 Hormonal Disorders

      6. 5.2.6 Cardiovascular Diseases

      7. 5.2.7 Neurological Diseases

      8. 5.2.8 Other Diseases

    3. 5.3 Geography

      1. 5.3.1 North America

        1. 5.3.1.1 United States

        2. 5.3.1.2 Canada

        3. 5.3.1.3 Mexico

      2. 5.3.2 Europe

        1. 5.3.2.1 Germany

        2. 5.3.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.3.2.3 France

        4. 5.3.2.4 Italy

        5. 5.3.2.5 Spain

        6. 5.3.2.6 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.3.3 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.3.3.1 China

        2. 5.3.3.2 Japan

        3. 5.3.3.3 India

        4. 5.3.3.4 Australia

        5. 5.3.3.5 South Korea

        6. 5.3.3.6 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.3.4 Middle-East and Africa

        1. 5.3.4.1 GCC

        2. 5.3.4.2 South Africa

        3. 5.3.4.3 Rest of Middle-East and Africa

      5. 5.3.5 South America

        1. 5.3.5.1 Brazil

        2. 5.3.5.2 Argentina

        3. 5.3.5.3 Rest of South America

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 Abbvie Inc.

      2. 6.1.2 Amgen Inc.

      3. 6.1.3 Bristol-Myers Squibb Company

      4. 6.1.4 Eli Lilly and Company

      5. 6.1.5 Johnson & Johnson

      6. 6.1.6 Novartis AG

      7. 6.1.7 Novo Nordisk AS

      8. 6.1.8 Pfizer Inc.

      9. 6.1.9 GlaxoSmithKline PLC

      10. 6.1.10 F. Hoffmann-La Roche AG

      11. 6.1.11 Merck Co. & Inc.

      12. 6.1.12 Sanofi SA

      13. 6.1.13 AstraZeneca PLC

      14. 6.1.14 Bayer AG

      15. 6.1.15 Takeda Pharmaceutical Company Limited

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Competitive Landscape covers- Business Overview, Financials, Products and Strategies and Recent Developments

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

تمت دراسة السوق العالمي للمستحضرات الصيدلانية الحيوية من 2018 إلى 2026.

ينمو السوق العالمي للمستحضرات الصيدلانية الحيوية بمعدل نمو سنوي مركب يبلغ 7.32٪ على مدى السنوات الخمس المقبلة.

تنمو منطقة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ بأعلى معدل نمو سنوي مركب خلال الفترة 2021-2026.

تمتلك أمريكا الشمالية أعلى حصة في عام 2021.

Amgen Inc. و Abbvie Inc. و Bristol-Myers Squibb Company و Eli Lilly and Company و Novo Nordisk هي الشركات الكبرى العاملة في السوق العالمية للمستحضرات الصيدلانية الحيوية.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Biopharmaceuticals Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2021 - 2026)

The Biopharmaceuticals Market is segmented by Product Type (Monoclonal Antibodies, Recombinant Growth Factors, Purified Proteins, Recombinant Proteins, Recombinant Hormones, Vaccines, Recombinant Enzymes, Cell and Gene Therapies, Synthetic Immunomodulators, and Other Product Types), Therapeutic Application (Oncology, Inflammatory and Infectious Diseases, Autoimmune Disorders, Metabolic Disorders, Hormonal Disorders, Cardiovascular Diseases, Neurological Diseases, and Other Diseases), and Geography (North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, Middle-East and Africa, and South America). The report offers values (in USD million) for the above segments.

Market Snapshot

CAGR
Study Period:

2018-2026

Base Year:

2020

Fastest Growing Market:

Asia Pacific

Largest Market:

North America

CAGR:

7.32 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The biopharmaceuticals market was valued at approximately USD 325.17 billion in 2020, and it is expected to witness a revenue of USD 496.71 billion in 2026, with a CAGR of 7.32% over the forecast period, 2021-2026.

The ongoing COVID-19 pandemic globally is expected to have a significant impact on the biopharmaceutical industry. Most of the biopharmaceutical companies are striving extensively for the development of vaccines against the SARS-CoV2 virus. Some of the candidates are traditional-type vaccines such as inactivated and attenuated products; however, most of the vaccine candidates being developed are advanced DNA, RNA, and protein subunit vaccines. This factor is expected to boost the growth of the biopharmaceuticals market over the pandemic. However, the clinical and regulatory procedures for drug candidates of other indications may witness a slow pace due to the shifting priorities of the healthcare system to reduce the infections to clinical trial patients.

The market is largely driven by the growing geriatric population, rising chronic diseases, and increasing acceptance of and huge market demand for biopharmaceuticals. According to the Globocan 2020 report, a total of 19,292,789 new cancer cases were diagnosed, with 9,958,133 deaths due to cancers worldwide. Additionally, as per the data from the United Nations World Population Prospects 2019 report, by 2050, one in six people in the world will be over 65 years of age, which is an increase from one in 11 in 2019, and by 2050, one in four persons living in Europe and Northern America could be aged 65 years or over. The number of persons aged 80 years or over globally is projected to triple, from 143 million in 2019 to 426 million in 2050.

The huge demand for biopharmaceuticals is facilitated by an accelerating focus on research and related investments. The ability of biopharmaceutical products to address previously untreatable conditions has introduced innovative drugs in the market. Thus, given the aforementioned factors, the studied market is expected to grow over the forecast period.

Also, the market demand for biopharmaceuticals is increasing with the rising desire to circumvent the side effects associated with some small-molecule therapeutics and invasive surgical treatments. However, stringent regulatory issues and the requirement of high investment in the development of a biopharmaceutical drug are the growth limiting factors for the studied market.

Scope of the Report

As per the scope of the report, biopharmaceuticals refer to any biologically synthesized molecule used to treat or manage disorders. Biopharmaceutical products include (but are not limited to) monoclonal antibodies, recombinant growth factors, purified proteins, recombinant proteins, recombinant hormones, vaccines, recombinant enzymes, synthetic immunomodulators, cell and gene therapies, and other products. The biopharmaceuticals market is segmented by product type, therapeutic application, and geography. By product type, the market is segmented into monoclonal antibodies, recombinant growth factors, purified proteins, recombinant proteins, recombinant hormones, vaccines, recombinant enzymes, cell and gene therapies, synthetic immunomodulators, and other product types. By therapeutic application, the market is segmented into oncology, inflammatory and infectious diseases, autoimmune disorders, metabolic disorders, hormonal disorders, cardiovascular diseases, neurological diseases, and other diseases. By geography, the market is segmented into North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, Middle-East and Africa, and South America. The report offers values (in USD million) for the above segments.

By Product Type
Monoclonal Antibodies
Anti-cancer Monoclonal Antibodies
Anti-inflammatory Monoclonal Antibodies
Other Monoclonal Antibodies
Recombinant Growth Factors
Erythropoietin
Granulocyte Colony Stimulating Factor
Purified Proteins
Leukemia Inhibitory Factor (LIF)
P53 Protein
P38 Protein
Other Purified Proteins
Recombinant Proteins
Serum Albumin
Amyloid Protein
Defensin
Transferrin
Recombinant Hormones
Recombinant Human Growth Hormones
Recombinant Insulin
Other Recombinant Hormones
Vaccines
Recombinant Vaccines
Cancer Vaccines
Malaria Vaccines
Ebola Vaccine
Hepatitis B Vaccine
Tetanus Vaccine
Diptheria Vaccine
Cholera Vaccine
Other Recombinant Vaccines
Conventional Vaccines
Polio Vaccine
Pox Vaccine
Other Conventional Vaccines
Recombinant Enzymes
Enterokinase
Cyclase
Caspase
Cathepsin
Cell and Gene Therapies
Allogenic Products
Autologous Products
Acellular Products
Synthetic Immunomodulators
Cytokines, Interferons, and Interleukins
Other Product Types
Blood Factors
Other Product Types
By Therapeutic Application
Oncology
Inflammatory and Infectious Diseases
Autoimmune Disorders
Metabolic Disorders
Hormonal Disorders
Cardiovascular Diseases
Neurological Diseases
Other Diseases
Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Italy
Spain
Rest of Europe
Asia-Pacific
China
Japan
India
Australia
South Korea
Rest of Asia-Pacific
Middle-East and Africa
GCC
South Africa
Rest of Middle-East and Africa
South America
Brazil
Argentina
Rest of South America

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

The Monoclonal Antibodies Segment is Expected to Hold a High Market Share During the Forecast Period

The successful use of monoclonal antibodies and antibody derivatives in therapeutics is the major driver for the rapid growth of the studied segment. The therapeutic applications of monoclonal antibodies include in the areas of cancer, rheumatoid arthritis, multiple sclerosis, and cardiovascular diseases, among others.

The recent COVID-19 outbreak has been creating a huge burden on healthcare systems. Researchers across the world are continuously making efforts to cope with this rising burden. Thus, the demand for monoclonal antibodies targeting COVID-19 is likely to exceed. For instance, in July 2020, an anti-CD6 IgG1 monoclonal antibody named Itolizumab (ALZUMAb), from Biocon Ltd, India, was approved by the Drugs Controller General of India (DCGI) for the emergency treatment of cytokine release syndrome in acute respiratory distress syndrome patients infected with COVID-19.

Additionally, the growing FDA approvals and new product launches for various indications are expected to drive the segment. For instance, in October 2019, Novartis received the FDA approval for its Beovu (brolucizumab) injection, also known as RTH258, for the treatment of wet age-related macular degeneration (AMD). In March 2019, the US FDA approved Pfizer’s oncology biosimilar, TRAZIMERA, which is a monoclonal antibody biosimilar to the originator biologic medicine, Herceptin. Thus, owing to the aforementioned factors, the monoclonal antibodies segment is anticipated to witness significant growth over the forecast period.

image

To understand key trends, Download Sample Report

North America Dominates the Market and is Expected to do the Same in the Forecast Period

The growing burden of chronic disease and increasing investments in research and development activities in the United States are the major factors driving the biopharmaceuticals market in North America. The United States has been recognized as the innovation capital of the world for life sciences, and it is involved in global capital investments in the early stages of biopharmaceutical companies.

During the present COVID-19 pandemic, almost all the biopharmaceutical companies in the region have been striving for the development of effective therapeutics against COVID-19, and this is expected to boost the studied market over the pandemic in North America. According to the Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America, as of January 2021, nearly 1,750 clinical trials were in progress for the development of vaccines and drugs in the treatment of COVID-19, among which 420 clinical trials were based in the United States.

According to Globocan 2020, the estimated incidence of cancer cases in the United States accounted for 2,281,658, with 612,390 deaths, in 2020. The high incidence of cancer surges the demand for effective therapeutics, and thus, drives the studied market. According to the Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers Association (PhRMA), in 2018, more than 4.7 million people worked in the US biopharmaceutical industry across a broad spectrum of occupations, including scientific research, technical support, and manufacturing. Additionally, in March 2020, Thermo Fisher Scientific Inc. invested nearly USD 475 million as a biopharma investment in the expansion of biologics, cell and gene therapy, and drug product development and to increase its commercial capabilities globally. Similarly, in January 2020, Eli Lilly and Company entered an agreement to acquire Dermira, a biopharmaceutical company. This acquisition aids in the expansion of the company's biopharmaceutical portfolio with the addition of Dermira's lebrikizumab, an IL-13 antibody that is intended for use in the treatment of moderate-to-severe atopic dermatitis. Thus, given the aforementioned factors, the studied market is expected to propel significantly over the forecast period in North America.

image

To understand geography trends, Download Sample Report

Competitive Landscape

The biopharmaceuticals market is highly competitive and consists of several major players. In terms of market share, few of the major players currently dominate the market. However, with technological advancements and product innovations, mid-size to smaller companies are increasing their market presence by new product launches. Companies like Amgen Inc., Eli Lily and Company, Johnson and Johnson, Sanofi SA, AstraZeneca PLC, and Pfizer Inc. hold a significant share in the biopharmaceuticals market and are involved in various strategic alliances such as acquisitions and collaborations to expand their product portfolios. For instance, in August 2020, Sanofi SA entered a definitive agreement to acquire Principia Biopharma Inc., a late-stage biopharmaceutical company involved in the development of treatments for immune-mediated diseases.

Recent Developments

In November 2020, the US Food and Drug Administration granted accelerated approval to naxitamab (DANYELZA) of Y-mAbs Therapeutics Inc. to be used in combination with granulocyte-macrophage colony-stimulating factor (GM-CSF) for pediatric and adult patients with relapsed or refractory high-risk neuroblastoma in the bone or bone marrow.

In May 2020, Genmab AS received the US Food and Drug Administration approval for the use of the subcutaneous formulation of daratumumab, DARZALEX FASPRO, a monoclonal antibody (mAb) in the treatment of patients with multiple myeloma.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Increasing Acceptance and Huge Market Demand for Biopharmaceuticals

      2. 4.2.2 Ability of Biopharmaceuticals to Treat Previously Untreatable Diseases

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

      1. 4.3.1 High-end Manufacturing Requirements

      2. 4.3.2 Complicated and Cumbersome Regulatory Requirements

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION (Market Size in Value)

    1. 5.1 By Product Type

      1. 5.1.1 Monoclonal Antibodies

        1. 5.1.1.1 Anti-cancer Monoclonal Antibodies

        2. 5.1.1.2 Anti-inflammatory Monoclonal Antibodies

        3. 5.1.1.3 Other Monoclonal Antibodies

      2. 5.1.2 Recombinant Growth Factors

        1. 5.1.2.1 Erythropoietin

        2. 5.1.2.2 Granulocyte Colony Stimulating Factor

      3. 5.1.3 Purified Proteins

        1. 5.1.3.1 Leukemia Inhibitory Factor (LIF)

        2. 5.1.3.2 P53 Protein

        3. 5.1.3.3 P38 Protein

        4. 5.1.3.4 Other Purified Proteins

      4. 5.1.4 Recombinant Proteins

        1. 5.1.4.1 Serum Albumin

        2. 5.1.4.2 Amyloid Protein

        3. 5.1.4.3 Defensin

        4. 5.1.4.4 Transferrin

      5. 5.1.5 Recombinant Hormones

        1. 5.1.5.1 Recombinant Human Growth Hormones

        2. 5.1.5.2 Recombinant Insulin

        3. 5.1.5.3 Other Recombinant Hormones

      6. 5.1.6 Vaccines

        1. 5.1.6.1 Recombinant Vaccines

          1. 5.1.6.1.1 Cancer Vaccines

          2. 5.1.6.1.2 Malaria Vaccines

          3. 5.1.6.1.3 Ebola Vaccine

          4. 5.1.6.1.4 Hepatitis B Vaccine

          5. 5.1.6.1.5 Tetanus Vaccine

          6. 5.1.6.1.6 Diptheria Vaccine

          7. 5.1.6.1.7 Cholera Vaccine

          8. 5.1.6.1.8 Other Recombinant Vaccines

        2. 5.1.6.2 Conventional Vaccines

          1. 5.1.6.2.1 Polio Vaccine

          2. 5.1.6.2.2 Pox Vaccine

          3. 5.1.6.2.3 Other Conventional Vaccines

      7. 5.1.7 Recombinant Enzymes

        1. 5.1.7.1 Enterokinase

        2. 5.1.7.2 Cyclase

        3. 5.1.7.3 Caspase

        4. 5.1.7.4 Cathepsin

      8. 5.1.8 Cell and Gene Therapies

        1. 5.1.8.1 Allogenic Products

        2. 5.1.8.2 Autologous Products

        3. 5.1.8.3 Acellular Products

      9. 5.1.9 Synthetic Immunomodulators

        1. 5.1.9.1 Cytokines, Interferons, and Interleukins

      10. 5.1.10 Other Product Types

        1. 5.1.10.1 Blood Factors

        2. 5.1.10.2 Other Product Types

    2. 5.2 By Therapeutic Application

      1. 5.2.1 Oncology

      2. 5.2.2 Inflammatory and Infectious Diseases

      3. 5.2.3 Autoimmune Disorders

      4. 5.2.4 Metabolic Disorders

      5. 5.2.5 Hormonal Disorders

      6. 5.2.6 Cardiovascular Diseases

      7. 5.2.7 Neurological Diseases

      8. 5.2.8 Other Diseases

    3. 5.3 Geography

      1. 5.3.1 North America

        1. 5.3.1.1 United States

        2. 5.3.1.2 Canada

        3. 5.3.1.3 Mexico

      2. 5.3.2 Europe

        1. 5.3.2.1 Germany

        2. 5.3.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.3.2.3 France

        4. 5.3.2.4 Italy

        5. 5.3.2.5 Spain

        6. 5.3.2.6 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.3.3 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.3.3.1 China

        2. 5.3.3.2 Japan

        3. 5.3.3.3 India

        4. 5.3.3.4 Australia

        5. 5.3.3.5 South Korea

        6. 5.3.3.6 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.3.4 Middle-East and Africa

        1. 5.3.4.1 GCC

        2. 5.3.4.2 South Africa

        3. 5.3.4.3 Rest of Middle-East and Africa

      5. 5.3.5 South America

        1. 5.3.5.1 Brazil

        2. 5.3.5.2 Argentina

        3. 5.3.5.3 Rest of South America

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 Abbvie Inc.

      2. 6.1.2 Amgen Inc.

      3. 6.1.3 Bristol-Myers Squibb Company

      4. 6.1.4 Eli Lilly and Company

      5. 6.1.5 Johnson & Johnson

      6. 6.1.6 Novartis AG

      7. 6.1.7 Novo Nordisk AS

      8. 6.1.8 Pfizer Inc.

      9. 6.1.9 GlaxoSmithKline PLC

      10. 6.1.10 F. Hoffmann-La Roche AG

      11. 6.1.11 Biogen Inc.

      12. 6.1.12 Merck Co. & Inc.

      13. 6.1.13 Sanofi SA

      14. 6.1.14 AstraZeneca PLC

      15. 6.1.15 Bayer AG

      16. 6.1.16 Takeda Pharmaceutical Company Limited

      17. 6.1.17 Agilent Technologies Inc.

      18. 6.1.18 Thermo Fisher Scientific Inc.

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Subject to Availability
**Competitive Landscape covers- Business Overview, Financials, Products and Strategies and Recent Developments

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Global Biopharmaceuticals Market market is studied from 2018 - 2026.

The Global Biopharmaceuticals Market is growing at a CAGR of 7.32% over the next 5 years.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

North America holds highest share in 2020.

  • Amgen Inc.
  • Abbvie Inc.
  • Bristol-Myers Squibb Company
  • Eli Lilly and Company
  • Novo Nordisk

Are the major companies operating in Global Biopharmaceuticals Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!