Markt für Toxikologie-Drogenscreening – Wachstum, Trends, Auswirkungen von COVID-19 und Prognosen (2022 – 2027)

Der Markt für Toxikologie-Drogenscreening ist nach Testtyp (In-vitro, In-vivo und In-silico), Produkt (Instrumente, Reagenzien und Verbrauchsmaterialien, Tiermodelle, Software und andere Produkte), Anwendung (Immuntoxizität, Systemtoxizität, Entwicklungs- und Reproduktionstoxizität) unterteilt (DART), endokrine Störungen und andere Anwendungen) und Geografie (Nordamerika, Europa, Asien-Pazifik, Naher Osten und Afrika sowie Südamerika). Der Bericht bietet den Wert (in Mio. USD) für die oben genannten Segmente.

Markt-Snapshot

Graph Templates_Healthcare_Final 4.jpg
Study Period: 2019-2027
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 11.25 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Marktübersicht

Der Markt für Toxikologie-Drogenscreening wird im Prognosezeitraum 2022-2027 voraussichtlich mit einer registrierten CAGR von 11,25 % wachsen.

Aufgrund der aktuellen COVID-19-Situation und des Drängens, einen Impfstoff und eine wirksame Behandlung zu entwickeln, wurden toxikologische Screening-Methoden in der Arzneimittelentwicklung von verschiedenen Forschungslabors und der biopharmazeutischen Industrie ausgiebig eingesetzt. Laut einem vom Science Advisory Board im Juli 2020 veröffentlichten Artikel verwenden Forscher einen SARS-CoV-2-Stamm, der Mäuse infizieren kann, um ein neues Maus-Infektionsmodell zu erstellen, um mehrere In-vivo-Tests von COVID-19-Impfstoffkandidaten zu erleichtern und Therapien. Es gibt jedoch einen deutlichen Rückgang der nicht mit COVID-19 zusammenhängenden Forschung, was sich wahrscheinlich auf das Wachstum auswirken wird.

In vitro, in vivo und in-silico sind die verschiedenen Techniken, die verwendet werden, um die Toxizität von Arzneimitteln zu bewerten und die Sicherheit des Arzneimittels im Arzneimittelentdeckungs- und Arzneimittelentwicklungsprozess von klinischen und vorklinischen Studien zu bestätigen. Toxizitätstests sind mit verschiedenen fortschrittlichen Technologien vertraut, die den Prozess unterstützen, und es wird derzeit erwartet, dass sie von vielversprechenden Revolutionen auf dem Gebiet der Biotechnologie und Pharmazie profitieren werden.

Das untersuchte Marktwachstum wird durch drei Hauptfaktoren angetrieben, wie steigende Forschungs- und Entwicklungsausgaben, technologische Fortschritte beim Toxizitätsscreening und steigende Nachfrage nach toxikologischem Arzneimittelscreening. Gemäss dem Jahresbericht der Unternehmen im Jahr 2019 entstanden bei Roche F&E-Kosten in Höhe von CHF 11,7 Milliarden, während Jhonson und Johnson USD 11,36 Milliarden in F&E investierten. Darüber hinaus tragen die jüngsten technologischen Entwicklungen der Marktteilnehmer und Forscher zum Wachstum des untersuchten Marktes bei. Beispielsweise wurde in der in Biofabrication, 2020, veröffentlichten Forschungsstudie eine primäre, von menschlichen Zellen und Stammzellen abgeleitete 3D-Organoid-Technologie eingesetzt, um eine Reihe von Arzneimitteln zu screenen, die von der FDA vom Markt zurückgerufen wurden. Die Plattform besteht aus mehreren Gewebe-Organoid-Typen, die mindestens 28 Tage in vitro lebensfähig bleiben. Zuvor, im August 2019, führte Covance eine Laborlösung innerhalb seines Angebots für funktionale Dienstleister (FSPx) ein, die seinen klinischen Analysedienst und seine klinischen Betriebskapazitäten erweiterte.

Die steigende Prävalenz verschiedener Krankheiten ist auch einer der Hauptgründe dafür, dass die Marktnachfrage nach verschiedenen toxikologischen Screeningverfahren angeheizt wird, indem der Fokus der Marktteilnehmer auf die Entwicklung neuer Therapeutika erhöht wird. Laut Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO) nimmt die Belastung durch chronische Krankheiten zu. Dies wird voraussichtlich die Nachfrage nach der Entwicklung neuer Medikamente erhöhen, was die Nachfrage nach klinischen Studien wahrscheinlich weiter erhöhen wird. Es wurde beobachtet, dass fast die Hälfte aller Todesfälle durch chronische Krankheiten auf Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen, Fettleibigkeit und Diabetes zurückzuführen sind, die zunehmende Tendenzen zeigen. Der WHO-Bericht 2019 stellt fest, dass jedes Jahr 41 Millionen Menschen an chronischen Krankheiten sterben, was 71 % aller Todesfälle weltweit entspricht.

Darüber hinaus ist Krebs weltweit die zweithäufigste Todesursache und laut WHO-Bericht 2021 für schätzungsweise 10 Millionen Todesfälle im Jahr 2020 verantwortlich. Weltweit war etwa 1 von 6 Todesfällen auf Krebs zurückzuführen. Darüber hinaus treten etwa 70 % der Todesfälle durch Krebs in Ländern mit niedrigem und mittlerem Einkommen auf. The Cancer Research UK schlägt auch vor, dass, wenn die jüngsten Trends bei der Inzidenz schwerer Krebsarten und dem Bevölkerungswachstum konsistent sind, bis 2040 weltweit jedes Jahr 27,5 Millionen neue Krebsfälle auftreten werden. Daher wird mit einer steigenden Belastung durch diese Krankheiten gerechnet Marktwachstum antreiben.

Die Anwendungen von Toxizitätstests werden mit den Fortschritten in der Biotechnologie und der Pharmazie zunehmen, was zu einer entsprechenden Nachfrage auf dem Markt führen wird. Eine Reihe neuer Gebiete und Techniken tragen zu wichtigen neuen Erkenntnissen zum Verständnis biologischer Reaktionen auf Chemikalien in menschlichem Gewebe bei. Die weltweiten Ausgaben für pharmazeutische Forschung und Entwicklung steigen, so haben die weltweiten Ausgaben für Forschung und Entwicklung laut dem UNESCO-Institut für Statistik 2020 im Jahr 2020 ein Rekordhoch von fast 1,7 Billionen US-Dollar erreicht Nachfrage nach toxikologischem Arzneimittelscreening in der pharmazeutischen und biotechnologischen Industrie sind die wichtigsten treibenden Faktoren für das Marktwachstum. Aber,

Umfang des Berichts

Gemäß dem Umfang des Berichts besteht das toxikologische Screening aus einer Reihe diagnostischer Tests, die durchgeführt werden, um die Sicherheit potenzieller Arzneimittelkandidaten zu bewerten. Der Markt für das Toxikologie-Medikamentenscreening ist nach Testtyp (In-vitro, In-vivo und In-silico), Produkt (Instrumente, Reagenzien und Verbrauchsmaterialien, Tiermodelle, Software und andere Produkte), Anwendung (Immuntoxizität, Systemtoxizität, Entwicklungs- und Reproduktionstoxizität) unterteilt (DART), endokrine Störungen und andere Anwendungen) und Geographie (Nordamerika, Europa, Asien-Pazifik, Naher Osten und Afrika sowie Südamerika). Der Marktbericht deckt auch die geschätzten Marktgrößen und -trends für 17 verschiedene Länder in wichtigen Regionen weltweit ab. Der Bericht bietet den Wert (in Mio. USD) für die oben genannten Segmente.

By Testing Type
In vitro
In vivo
In silico
By Product
Instruments
Reagents and Consumables
Animal Models
Softwares
Other Products
By Application
Immunotoxicity
Systemictoxicity
Developmental and Reproductive Toxicity (DART)
Endocrine Disruption
Other Applications
Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Italy
Spain
Rest of Europe
Asia-Pacific
China
Japan
India
Australia
South Korea
Rest of Asia-Pacific
Middle-East and Africa
GCC
South Africa
Rest of Middle-East and Africa
South America
Brazil
Argentina
Rest of South America

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Wichtige Markttrends

Das In-silico-Segment wird voraussichtlich ein robustes Wachstum auf dem Markt für toxikologische Arzneimittelscreenings verzeichnen

Das In-Silico-Segment hält einen bedeutenden Marktanteil auf dem Markt für toxikologische Arzneimittelscreenings und wird voraussichtlich im Prognosezeitraum ein robustes Wachstum aufweisen. In-silico-Methoden helfen bei der Identifizierung von Wirkstoffzielen über Bioinformatik-Tools und werden auch verwendet, um die Zielstrukturen zur Generierung von Kandidatenmolekülen, möglichen Bindungs-/Aktivstellen zu analysieren, auf ihre Wirkstoffähnlichkeit zu prüfen und die Moleküle weiter zu optimieren, um die Bindungseigenschaften zu verbessern.

Nach Schätzungen der Food Drug and Administration (FDA) aus dem Jahr 2019 beliefen sich die Pipeline-Medikamente auf Wachstumsraten von 6 % im Vergleich zur Wachstumsrate des Vorjahres von 2,7 %. Gegenwärtig revolutioniert der Arzneimittelentdeckungsprozess durch den Einsatz verschiedener Proteomik, Genomik, Bioinformatik und effizienter Technologien wie in silico ADMET-Screening und strukturbasiertes Arzneimitteldesign, virtuelles Screening, De-novo-Design usw., die beim Nachweis von Arzneimitteln helfen Toxikologie.

Zunehmende Forschungs- und Entwicklungsaktivitäten, technologische Fortschritte im Arzneimittelscreening und eine steigende Nachfrage nach toxikologischem Arzneimittelscreening in der pharmazeutischen und biotechnologischen Industrie sind die wichtigsten treibenden Faktoren im In-silico-Segment.

Die In-silico-Plattform wird als potenzielles Werkzeug in verschiedenen COVID-19-bezogenen Forschungen zur Vorhersage von Immunantworten potenzieller Impfstoffkandidaten angesehen. Die In-Silico-Plattform Universal Immune System Simulator (UISS) hat ein starkes Potenzial, das Ergebnis der Impfstrategie gegen das COVID-19-Virus vorherzusagen, und sie wurde häufig in verschiedenen Forschungsarbeiten eingesetzt, um die Entdeckungspipeline des Impfstoffs zu beschleunigen und voranzutreiben. Daher wird erwartet, dass das Segment im Prognosezeitraum ein positives Wachstum aufweisen wird.

RD

Nordamerika wird voraussichtlich einen bedeutenden Anteil am Markt halten

Es wird erwartet, dass Nordamerika aufgrund zunehmender Forschungs- und Entwicklungsaktivitäten zur frühzeitigen Erkennung von Toxizitätswerten im menschlichen Körper in dieser Region einen großen Marktanteil auf dem globalen Markt für toxikologische Arzneimittelscreenings halten wird. Die Forschung und Entwicklung in dieser Region hat ein Plateau erreicht, da diese Studien in andere Regionen, wie den asiatischen Markt, ausgelagert werden. Steigende F&E-Investitionen und eine steigende Nachfrage nach Arzneimittelentwicklung sind jedoch die Hauptfaktoren für das Marktwachstum. In dieser Region wenden Pharmaunternehmen mehr Geld, Zeit und Energie für Forschung und Entwicklung auf als die meisten anderen Pharmaunternehmen in einer anderen Region. Laut einem vom National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics 2020 veröffentlichten Artikel gaben die 42 staatlich finanzierten Forschungs- und Entwicklungszentren (FFRDCs) in den Vereinigten Staaten 23 USD aus. 5 Milliarden für Forschung und Entwicklung im GJ 2020, eine jährliche Steigerung von 3,4 %. Dieser Anstieg der Ausgaben wird hauptsächlich durch den Fokus auf einen Wettbewerbsvorteil gegenüber der Konkurrenz und hohe Erträge aus dem neu entwickelten Produkt getrieben

Auch die F&E-Budgets der Pharmaunternehmen sind in den letzten Jahren aufgrund der steigenden Belastung durch Krankheiten, komplexe Moleküle und Therapiesegmente gestiegen. Laut den Daten von Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America 2019 sind die Forschungs- und Entwicklungsausgaben der US-Pharmaindustrie von 15,2 Milliarden im Jahr 1995 auf 79,6 Milliarden im Jahr 2018 gestiegen.

Darüber hinaus ist der Markt für klinische Studien in den Vereinigten Staaten aufgrund der Präsenz der wichtigsten Marktteilnehmer und der fokussierten Forschung und Entwicklung neuer Medikamente allmählich gewachsen, was sich auch positiv auf den toxikologischen Markt für Arzneimittelscreenings in der Region auswirkt. Laut The Biotechnology Innovation Organization wurden im Jahr 2019 rund 50 neuartige Medikamente vom Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER) zugelassen. Darüber hinaus haben technische Fortschritte und unterstützende staatliche Vorschriften zu einer schnellen Entwicklung innovativer und kostengünstiger Tests geführt, und das Vorhandensein einer gut etablierten Gesundheitsinfrastruktur treibt das Wachstum des Gesamtmarktes in hohem Maße voran.

Toxicology Drug Screening Market 2

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der Markt für Toxikologie-Drogenscreening ist konsolidiert und mäßig wettbewerbsintensiv, da nur wenige Hauptakteure vorhanden sind. In Bezug auf den Marktanteil dominieren derzeit einige der großen Akteure den Markt. Einige der derzeit marktbeherrschenden Unternehmen sind Agilent Technologies Inc., Bio-Rad Laboratories Inc., Eurofins Scientific, Danaher, Laboratory Corporation of America Holdings, BioReliance Inc., Thermo Fisher Scientific Inc. und Enzo Life Sciences Inc.

Hauptakteure

  1. Agilent Technologies, Inc

  2. Bio-Rad Laboratories, Inc

  3. Eurofins scientific

  4. Danaher

  5. Laboratory Corporation of America Holdings

Picture1.png

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der Markt für Toxikologie-Drogenscreening ist konsolidiert und mäßig wettbewerbsintensiv, da nur wenige Hauptakteure vorhanden sind. In Bezug auf den Marktanteil dominieren derzeit einige der großen Akteure den Markt. Einige der derzeit marktbeherrschenden Unternehmen sind Agilent Technologies Inc., Bio-Rad Laboratories Inc., Eurofins Scientific, Danaher, Laboratory Corporation of America Holdings, BioReliance Inc., Thermo Fisher Scientific Inc. und Enzo Life Sciences Inc.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Increasing R&D Activities

      2. 4.2.2 Technological Advancements in Toxicology Drug Screening

      3. 4.2.3 Rise in Demand for Toxicology Drug Screening in the Pharmaceutical and Biotechnology Industries

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

      1. 4.3.1 Longer Time for Sample Testing

      2. 4.3.2 Regulatory Issues Regarding Approval of Healthcare Molecule

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION (Market Size by Value – USD million)

    1. 5.1 By Testing Type

      1. 5.1.1 In vitro

      2. 5.1.2 In vivo

      3. 5.1.3 In silico

    2. 5.2 By Product

      1. 5.2.1 Instruments

      2. 5.2.2 Reagents and Consumables

      3. 5.2.3 Animal Models

      4. 5.2.4 Softwares

      5. 5.2.5 Other Products

    3. 5.3 By Application

      1. 5.3.1 Immunotoxicity

      2. 5.3.2 Systemictoxicity

      3. 5.3.3 Developmental and Reproductive Toxicity (DART)

      4. 5.3.4 Endocrine Disruption

      5. 5.3.5 Other Applications

    4. 5.4 Geography

      1. 5.4.1 North America

        1. 5.4.1.1 United States

        2. 5.4.1.2 Canada

        3. 5.4.1.3 Mexico

      2. 5.4.2 Europe

        1. 5.4.2.1 Germany

        2. 5.4.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.4.2.3 France

        4. 5.4.2.4 Italy

        5. 5.4.2.5 Spain

        6. 5.4.2.6 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.4.3 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.4.3.1 China

        2. 5.4.3.2 Japan

        3. 5.4.3.3 India

        4. 5.4.3.4 Australia

        5. 5.4.3.5 South Korea

        6. 5.4.3.6 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.4.4 Middle-East and Africa

        1. 5.4.4.1 GCC

        2. 5.4.4.2 South Africa

        3. 5.4.4.3 Rest of Middle-East and Africa

      5. 5.4.5 South America

        1. 5.4.5.1 Brazil

        2. 5.4.5.2 Argentina

        3. 5.4.5.3 Rest of South America

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 Agilent Technologies, Inc

      2. 6.1.2 Bio-Rad Laboratories Inc.

      3. 6.1.3 BioReliance Inc. (Merck)

      4. 6.1.4 Charles River Laboratories International Inc.

      5. 6.1.5 Enzo Life Sciences Inc.

      6. 6.1.6 Eurofins Scientific

      7. 6.1.7 Danaher

      8. 6.1.8 Laboratory Corporation of America Holdings

      9. 6.1.9 Promega Corporation

      10. 6.1.10 The Jackson Laboratory

      11. 6.1.11 Thermo Fisher Scientific Inc.

      12. 6.1.12 Wuxi AppTec

      13. 6.1.13 Waters

      14. 6.1.14 Selvita

      15. 6.1.15 TECHCOMP GROUP (SCION INSTRUMENTS)

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Competitive Landscape covers- Business Overview, Financials, Products and Strategies, and Recent Developments
You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Der globale Markt für Toxikologie-Drogenscreening wird von 2019 bis 2027 untersucht.

Der globale Markt für Toxikologie-Drogenscreening wächst in den nächsten 5 Jahren mit einer CAGR von 11,25 %.

Der asiatisch-pazifische Raum wächst zwischen 2021 und 2026 mit der höchsten CAGR.

Nordamerika hält 2021 den höchsten Anteil.

Agilent Technologies, Inc, Bio-Rad Laboratories, Inc, Eurofins Scientific, Danaher, Laboratory Corporation of America Holdings sind die wichtigsten Unternehmen, die auf dem globalen Markt für Toxikologie-Drogenscreening tätig sind.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Toxicology Drug Screening Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2022 - 2027)

The Toxicology Drug Screening Market is Segmented by Testing Type (In Vitro, In Vivo, and In Silico), Product (Instruments, Reagents and Consumables, Animal Models, Software, and Other Products), Application (Immunotoxicity, Systemictoxicity, Developmental and Reproductive Toxicity (DART), Endocrine Disruption, and Other Applications), and Geography (North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, Middle-East and Africa, and South America). The report offers the value (USD million) for the above segments.

Market Snapshot

Toxicology Drug Screening Market Summary
Study Period: 2019-2027
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 11.25 %
Toxicology Drug Screening Market Major Players

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The toxicology drug screening market is expected to register a CAGR of 11.25% during the forecast period (2022-2027).

Due to the current COVID-19 situation and the need to develop vaccines and effective treatment methods, various research laboratories and biopharmaceutical industries have extensively used toxicological screening methods in drug development. According to an article published by the Science Advisory Board in July 2020, researchers are using a strain of SARS-CoV-2 that can infect mice to produce a new mouse model of infection and facilitate several in vivo tests of COVID-19 vaccine candidates and therapies. However, there is a significant decline in non-COVID-19 related research, which is likely to affect the market growth.

In vitro, in vivo, and in silico are the different techniques that are used to assess drug toxicity and confirm the safety of the drug in the drug discovery and development process, i.e., clinical and pre-clinical trials. Toxicity testing has become well-developed due to various advanced technologies aiding the process, and it is currently anticipated to take advantage of promising revolutions in the fields of biotechnology and pharmaceuticals.

The studied market is driven by three major factors: increasing research and development expenditure, technological advancements in toxicity screening, and rising demand for toxicological drug screening. In 2019, Roche incurred an R&D expense of CHF 11.7 billion, while Johnson & Johnson invested USD 11.36 billion in R&D. Additionally, the recent technological developments by the market players and researchers are contributing to the growth of the market studied. For instance, in the research study published in Biofabrication in 2020, a primary human cell- and stem cell-derived 3D organoid technology was employed to screen a panel of drugs that were recalled from the market by the US FDA. The platform comprises multiple tissue organoid types that remain viable for at least 28 days in vitro. Earlier, in August 2019, Covance launched a laboratory solution within its functional service provider (FSPx) offering, which expanded the capabilities of its clinical analytics services and clinical operations.

The rising prevalence of various diseases is also fueling the market demand for different toxicological screening procedures. This is because the rise in disease incidence prompts companies to develop new therapeutics. As per the World Health Organization (WHO), the burden of chronic diseases is increasing. It has been observed that almost half of the total chronic disease deaths are attributable to cardiovascular diseases, obesity, and diabetes, which are showing increasing trends. The WHO 2019 Report stated that chronic diseases kill 41 million people yearly, equivalent to 71% of all deaths globally.

Cancer is the second leading cause of death globally. It was responsible for an estimated 10 million deaths in 2020, per the WHO report for 2021. Globally, about 1 in 6 deaths was due to cancer. In addition, approximately 70% of deaths from cancer occur in low- and middle-income countries. Cancer Research UK also predicted that if the recent trends in incidence of major cancers and population growth are consistent, there may be 27.5 million new cancer cases worldwide each year by 2040. Thus, the rising burden of these diseases is expected to fuel market growth.

The applications of toxicity testing are set to increase with advances in biotechnology and pharmaceuticals, resulting in a demand for the same. Several emerging fields and techniques are providing new insights into understanding biological responses to chemicals in human tissues. Furthermore, there is an increase in pharmaceutical R&D spending globally. In 2020, the global spending on R&D reached a record high of almost USD 1.7 trillion, according to the UNESCO Institute for Statistics. The key drivers for market growth are the increasing R&D activities, the technological advancements in toxicology drug screening, and the rise in demand for toxicology drug screening in the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industries. However, the long duration of sample testing and stringent government regulations on the toxicological testing of human drug molecules are expected to hinder market growth over the forecast period.

Scope of the Report

As per the scope of the report, toxicology screening is a set of diagnostic tests conducted to evaluate the safety of potential drug candidates. The toxicology drug screening market is segmented by testing type (in vitro, in vivo, and in silico), product (instruments, reagents and consumables, animal models, software, and other products), application (immunotoxicity, systemictoxicity, developmental and reproductive toxicity (dart), endocrine disruption, and other applications), and geography (North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, Middle-East and Africa, and South America). The market report also covers the estimated market sizes and trends for 17 different countries across major regions globally. The report offers the value (USD million) for the above segments.

By Testing Type
In Vitro
In Vivo
In Silico
By Product
Instruments
Reagents and Consumables
Animal Models
Software
Other Products
By Application
Immunotoxicity
Systemictoxicity
Developmental and Reproductive Toxicity (DART)
Endocrine Disruption
Other Applications
Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Italy
Spain
Rest of Europe
Asia-Pacific
China
Japan
India
Australia
South Korea
Rest of Asia-Pacific
Middle-East and Africa
GCC
South Africa
Rest of Middle-East and Africa
South America
Brazil
Argentina
Rest of South America

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

In-silico Segment Expected to Register Robust Growth

The in-silico segment holds a significant market share in the toxicology drug screening market and is anticipated to show robust growth over the forecast period. In silico methods help identify drug targets via bioinformatics tools. They are also used to analyze the target structures to generate candidate molecules, find possible binding/active sites, check their drug-likeness, and further optimize the molecules to improve their binding characteristics.

As per the 2019 estimates of the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA), pipeline drugs experienced a growth rate of 6%, compared to 2.7% in 2018. Currently, the drug discovery process is being revolutionized by the deployment of various proteomics, genomics, bioinformatics, and efficient technologies like in silico ADMET screening and structure-based drug design, virtual screening, and de novo design, which help in the detection of drug toxicology.

The increasing research and development activities, technological advancements in drug screening, and rise in demand for toxicology drug screening in the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industries are the key driving factors of the in-silico segment.

The in-silico platform is considered a potential tool in various COVID-19-related research in predicting the immune responses of potential candidate vaccines. The Universal Immune System Simulator (UISS) in silico platform has a strong potential to predict the outcome of a vaccination strategy against the COVID-19 virus. It has been frequently employed in various researches to speed up and drive the discovery pipeline of the vaccine. Hence, the segment is expected to show positive growth during the forecast period.

Gross Domestic expenditure on Research and Development (in percentage), Global 2020

North America Expected to Hold Significant Market Share

North America is expected to hold a significant market share in the global toxicology drug screening market due to the growing research and development activities in this region to detect toxicity levels in the human body at early stages. The research and development in this region reached a plateau, as these trials are being outsourced to other regions, like Asia. However, the increasing R&D investments and rising demand for drug development are the major factors driving the market growth. The pharmaceutical companies in North America spend more money, time, and energy on R&D than most other pharmaceutical companies in other regions. According to an article published by the National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics (2020), the 42 federally funded research and development centers (FFRDCs) in the United States spent USD 23.5 billion on research and development in FY 2020, recording an annual increase of 3.4%. This increase in expenditure is primarily driven by the focus on having the edge over their competitors and the high returns gained on newly developed products.

Also, the R&D budgets of the pharmaceutical companies have increased in the past few years, owing to the rising burden of diseases, complex molecules, and therapy segments. According to the data from the Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America (2019), the research and development expenditure of the US pharmaceutical industry increased from 15.2 billion in 1995 to 79.6 billion in 2018.

Moreover, due to the presence of established market players and the focused R&D of new drugs, the market for clinical trials in the United States has been growing, which is also impacting the toxicology drug screening market positively. According to the Biotechnology Innovation Organization, in 2019, around 50 novel drugs were approved by the Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER). Furthermore, technical advancements and supportive government regulations have led to the rapid development of innovative and cost-effective testing. The presence of a well-established healthcare infrastructure is also fueling the growth of the market.

Toxicology Drug Screening Market - Growth Rate by Region

Competitive Landscape

The toxicology drug screening market is consolidated and moderately competitive with the presence of a few key players. Some companies currently dominating the market are Agilent Technologies Inc., Bio-Rad Laboratories Inc., Eurofins Scientific, Danaher, Laboratory Corporation of America Holdings, BioReliance Inc., Thermo Fisher Scientific Inc., and Enzo Life Sciences Inc.

Major Players

  1. Agilent Technologies, Inc

  2. Bio-Rad Laboratories, Inc

  3. Eurofins scientific

  4. Danaher

  5. Laboratory Corporation of America Holdings

Toxicology Drug Screening Market Concentration

Recent Developments

  • In July 2021, Chief.AI, a machine learning operations platform, in partnership with the Medicines Discovery Catapult, launched the first no-code, pay-as-you-go artificial intelligence (AI) platform for drug discovery.
  • In June 2021, Mydecine Innovations Group, an emerging biopharma and life sciences company committed to the research, development, and acceptance of alternative nature-sourced medicine for mainstream use, announced the launch of its in-silico drug discovery program in conjunction with researchers at the University of Alberta.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Increasing R&D Activities

      2. 4.2.2 Technological Advancements in Toxicology Drug Screening

      3. 4.2.3 Rise in Demand for Toxicology Drug Screening in Pharmaceuticals and Biotechnology

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

      1. 4.3.1 Longer Time for Sample Testing

      2. 4.3.2 Regulatory Issues Regarding Approval of Healthcare Molecule

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION (Market Size by Value – USD million)

    1. 5.1 By Testing Type

      1. 5.1.1 In Vitro

      2. 5.1.2 In Vivo

      3. 5.1.3 In Silico

    2. 5.2 By Product

      1. 5.2.1 Instruments

      2. 5.2.2 Reagents and Consumables

      3. 5.2.3 Animal Models

      4. 5.2.4 Software

      5. 5.2.5 Other Products

    3. 5.3 By Application

      1. 5.3.1 Immunotoxicity

      2. 5.3.2 Systemictoxicity

      3. 5.3.3 Developmental and Reproductive Toxicity (DART)

      4. 5.3.4 Endocrine Disruption

      5. 5.3.5 Other Applications

    4. 5.4 Geography

      1. 5.4.1 North America

        1. 5.4.1.1 United States

        2. 5.4.1.2 Canada

        3. 5.4.1.3 Mexico

      2. 5.4.2 Europe

        1. 5.4.2.1 Germany

        2. 5.4.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.4.2.3 France

        4. 5.4.2.4 Italy

        5. 5.4.2.5 Spain

        6. 5.4.2.6 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.4.3 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.4.3.1 China

        2. 5.4.3.2 Japan

        3. 5.4.3.3 India

        4. 5.4.3.4 Australia

        5. 5.4.3.5 South Korea

        6. 5.4.3.6 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.4.4 Middle-East and Africa

        1. 5.4.4.1 GCC

        2. 5.4.4.2 South Africa

        3. 5.4.4.3 Rest of Middle-East and Africa

      5. 5.4.5 South America

        1. 5.4.5.1 Brazil

        2. 5.4.5.2 Argentina

        3. 5.4.5.3 Rest of South America

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 Agilent Technologies Inc.

      2. 6.1.2 Bio-Rad Laboratories Inc.

      3. 6.1.3 BioReliance Inc. (Merck)

      4. 6.1.4 Charles River Laboratories International Inc.

      5. 6.1.5 Enzo Life Sciences Inc.

      6. 6.1.6 Eurofins Scientific

      7. 6.1.7 Danaher

      8. 6.1.8 Laboratory Corporation of America Holdings

      9. 6.1.9 Promega Corporation

      10. 6.1.10 The Jackson Laboratory

      11. 6.1.11 Thermo Fisher Scientific Inc.

      12. 6.1.12 Wuxi AppTec

      13. 6.1.13 Waters

      14. 6.1.14 Selvita

      15. 6.1.15 TECHCOMP GROUP (SCION INSTRUMENTS)

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Competitive Landscape covers- Business Overview, Financials, Products and Strategies, and Recent Developments
You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Toxicology Drug Screening Market market is studied from 2019 - 2027.

The Toxicology Drug Screening Market is growing at a CAGR of 11.25% over the next 5 years.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

North America holds highest share in 2021.

Agilent Technologies, Inc, Bio-Rad Laboratories, Inc, Eurofins scientific, Danaher, Laboratory Corporation of America Holdings are the major companies operating in Toxicology Drug Screening Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!