Organ-on-Chip-Markt – Wachstum, Trends, Auswirkungen von COVID-19 und Prognosen (2023 – 2028)

Der Organ-on-Chip-Markt ist nach Organtyp (Leber, Herz, Lunge und andere Organtypen), Anwendung (Arzneimittelentdeckung, Toxikologieforschung und andere Anwendungen), Endbenutzer (Pharma- und Biotechnologieunternehmen, akademische und Forschungsinstitute) unterteilt und andere Endbenutzer) und Geographie (Nordamerika, Europa, Asien-Pazifik, Naher Osten und Afrika sowie Südamerika). Der Bericht bietet den Wert (in Mio. USD) für die oben genannten Segmente.

Markt-Snapshot

Organ-on-chip Market Bar Graph
Study Period: 2018-2026
Fastest Growing Market: North America
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 30 %

Major Players

Organ-on-chip Market Major Players

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

setting-icon

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Marktübersicht

Der globale Organ-on-Chip-Markt wurde im Jahr 2020 auf schätzungsweise 25 Millionen USD geschätzt, und es wird erwartet, dass er bis 2026 115 Millionen USD erreichen wird, was einer CAGR von 30 % im Prognosezeitraum entspricht.

Die Forschungsgemeinschaft und die biopharmazeutische Industrie haben mit beispielloser Geschwindigkeit gegen die COVID-19-Pandemie mobilisiert. Daher gilt Organ-on-Chip als eine der vielversprechendsten und am besten geeigneten Technologien bei der Entwicklung von Impfstoffen und Medikamenten, die derzeit in klinischen Studien zur Behandlung der Infektion untersucht werden. Beispielsweise wurde im März 2020 als Teil des Forschungs- und Entwicklungsplans der Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO) als Reaktion auf den COVID-19-Ausbruch der emulierte Lungenchip verwendet, um vorklinische Einblicke in die Wirksamkeit von Hydroxychloroquin bei COVID-19 zu gewinnen .

Ein Organ-on-a-Chip ist ein mikrofluidisches Zellkulturgerät, das kontinuierlich perfundierte Kammern enthält. Dieser Chip entwickelt einen schmalen Kanal für den Blut- und Luftstrom in Organen wie Lunge, Darm, Leber, Herz und anderen Organen. Solche Geräte produzieren mehrere Ebenen von Gewebe- und Organfunktionalitäten, die mit herkömmlichen 2D- und 3D-Kultursystemen nicht realisierbar sind. Es bietet eine breite Palette von Anwendungen, wie z. B. Krankheitsmodellierung, Patientenstratifizierung und phänotypisches Screening.

Der Organ-on-Chip-Markt wird von Faktoren wie dem Bedarf an Alternativen für Tierversuche, der Notwendigkeit der Früherkennung von Arzneimitteltoxizität sowie der Einführung neuer Produkte und technologischen Fortschritten bestimmt, die ebenfalls für die Marktentwicklung verantwortlich sind. Beispielsweise haben CN Bio und die University of Melbourne im Dezember 2020 zusammengearbeitet, um Therapien durch die Lung-on-a-Chip-Technologie für Atemwegskomplikationen bei Patienten voranzutreiben, die sich von COVID-19 erholt haben.

Darüber hinaus hat BioVox im Oktober 2020 das Bewusstsein durch eine Initiative zur Förderung der Organ-on-Chip-Technologie für die Improvisation in In-vitro-Forschungsmodellen und zur Reduzierung von Tierversuchen geschärft.

Die Nachfrage nach personalisierten Medikamenten und die weitreichenden Anwendungen von Organ-on-Chip über die pharmazeutische Industrie hinaus sind die Hauptfaktoren, die Wachstumschancen für Marktteilnehmer schaffen. Die Komplexität von Organ-on-Chip-Modellen kann jedoch das Marktwachstum im Prognosezeitraum behindern.

Umfang des Berichts

Ein Organ-on-Chip wird auch als Mehrkanal-3D-Mikrofluidik-Zellkulturchip bezeichnet. Es ist eine Art künstliches Organ, das Aktivitäten, Mechanik und physiologische Reaktionen ganzer Organe und Organsysteme simuliert. Die Größe des Organ-on-Chip entspricht etwa einer AA-Batterie, und seine Transparenz ermöglicht es uns, die Funktionalität, das Verhalten und die Reaktion des Organs auf zellulärer und molekularer Ebene zu sehen. Der Organ-on-Chip-Markt ist nach Organtyp (Leber, Herz, Lunge und andere Organtypen), Anwendung (Arzneimittelentdeckung, toxikologische Forschung und andere Anwendungen) und Endverbraucher (Pharma- und Biotechnologieunternehmen, akademische und Forschungsinstitute) unterteilt , und andere Endbenutzer) und Geografie (Nordamerika, Europa, Asien-Pazifik, Naher Osten und Afrika sowie Südamerika). Der Bericht bietet den Wert (in Mio. USD) für die oben genannten Segmente.

Organ Type
Liver
Heart
Lung
Other Organ Types
Application
Drug Discovery
Toxicology Research
Other Applications
End User
Pharmaceutical and Biotechnology Companies
Academic and Research Institutes
Other End Users
Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Italy
Spain
Rest of Europe
Asia-Pacific
China
Japan
India
Australia
South Korea
Rest of Asia-Pacific
Rest of the World

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Wichtige Markttrends

Es wird erwartet, dass die lungenbezogene Anwendung im Prognosezeitraum eine gute Wachstumsrate aufweisen wird

Die jüngste globale COVID-19-Pandemie, die durch das neuartige Coronavirus SARS-CoV-2 verursacht wurde, erfordert rasche Fortschritte in den Forschungs- und Entwicklungsaktivitäten für verschiedene Ansätze zur Behandlung der Infektion. Beispielsweise haben Forscher des Wyss Institute im April 2020 gezeigt, dass menschliche Atemwegsorganchips verwendet werden können, um COVID-19 und die Immunantwort darauf zu modellieren, um die Wirksamkeit von Medikamenten zur Eindämmung der Infektion zu testen.

Die Entwicklung neuer Lösungen zur Behandlung von Lungenerkrankungen ist derzeit von größter Bedeutung, da Lungenerkrankungen weltweit zu den schlimmsten Erkrankungen gehören.

Laut dem Global Tuberculosis Report 2020 der Weltgesundheitsorganisation gab es im Jahr 2019 schätzungsweise 10,0 Millionen neue Fälle von TB-Erkrankungen (auch bekannt als aktive TB). Dies entspricht 130 Fällen pro 100.000 Menschen, wobei schätzungsweise 1,2 Millionen Todesfälle darauf zurückzuführen sind TB, weltweit.

Die Lung-on-Chip-Technologie ist ein komplexes, dreidimensionales Modell einer lebenden, atmenden menschlichen Lunge auf einem Mikrochip. Dieses Gerät, das aus menschlichen Lungen- und Blutgefäßzellen besteht, kann die Absorption von Nanopartikeln in der Luft vorhersagen und die durch mikrobielle Krankheitserreger ausgelöste Entzündungsreaktion nachahmen.

Das Gerät kann auch verwendet werden, um die Auswirkungen von Umweltgiften, die Absorption von aerosolisierten Therapeutika und die Sicherheit und Wirksamkeit neuer Medikamente zu testen. Es soll eine Alternative zu Tierversuchen werden.

Durch die Kombination von Mikrofabrikationstechniken mit modernem Tissue Engineering bietet Lung-on-Chip auch einen neuen In-vitro-Ansatz für das Arzneimittelscreening, indem das komplizierte mechanische und biochemische Verhalten einer menschlichen Lunge nachgeahmt wird.

Im Oktober 2019 kündigte die Biomedical Advanced Research and Development Authority (BARDA), eine Abteilung des US-Gesundheitsministeriums (HHS), ihre Pläne an, Wake in den nächsten zwei Jahren mit technischem Fachwissen und rund 13,5 Millionen US-Dollar zu unterstützen Forest Institute for Regenerative Medicine (WFIRM) in Winston-Salem, North Carolina, um zu validieren, wie die Lung-on-Chip-Technologie der Gruppe, die auch als Organgewebeäquivalent bekannt ist, bei der Modellierung der Auswirkungen von Chlorgas auf die menschliche Lunge funktioniert.

Obwohl sich die Lung-on-Chip-Technologie bereits bewährt hat, muss sie daher möglicherweise weiterentwickelt werden, möglicherweise mit Muskelzellen, um die Auswirkungen einer Behandlung auf die Lunge zu testen, was zu einem weiteren Wachstum des Marktes führen kann .

Organ-on-chip Market Latest Trends

Nordamerika eroberte den größten Marktanteil und wird voraussichtlich seine Dominanz über den Prognosezeitraum beibehalten

Die COVID-19-Pandemie beschleunigte den Einsatz von Organ-on-Chip-Anwendungen für die Entwicklung und Erprobung von Arzneimitteln. Der Markt hat verschiedene Kooperationen zwischen Forschungsinstituten und Marktteilnehmern erlebt. Beispielsweise schloss die Food and Drug Administration der Vereinigten Staaten im Oktober 2020 eine Kooperationsvereinbarung zur Verwendung von Lungenchips von Emulate Inc., um die Sicherheit von COVID-19-Impfstoffen und die schützende Immunität gegen SARS-CoV-2 zu bewerten.

In ähnlicher Weise nutzten Forscher des US Army Combat Capabilities Development Command (CCDC) und des Chemical Biological Center (CBC) im Oktober 2020 die „Lunge-on-Chip“-Technologie von Emulat für die Erforschung von COVID-19.

Derzeit dominiert Nordamerika den Organ-on-Chip-Markt aufgrund von Faktoren wie der Verfügbarkeit einer breiten Palette von Dienstleistungen, die von großen Akteuren angeboten werden (einschließlich des kundenspezifischen Designs neuer Chips mit spezifischen Organanordnungen) und einer Zunahme toxikologischer Tests von Chemikalien auf die verschiedenen Arten von Organzellen. Für ihre Forschung werden enorme Investitionen von öffentlichen und privaten Instituten getätigt.

Beispielsweise beteiligen sich mehrere Forschungseinrichtungen aktiv an der Erforschung und Weiterentwicklung der Technologien für Organ-on-Chip in Nordamerika. Beispielsweise haben Forscher am Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) im März 2020 ein neues Modell für Organe auf einem Chip entwickelt, das ein entscheidender Schritt bei der Entwicklung von Behandlungen für entzündliche Erkrankungen und Leiden sein könnte.

Im September 2019 begannen Javelin Biotech und Pfizer mit der dreijährigen Entwicklung einer Plattform zur Bewertung der Absorptions-, Verteilungs-, Stoffwechsel- und Ausscheidungseigenschaften (ADME) kleiner Moleküle auf einer Organ-on-a-Chip-Plattform. Die Plattform wird dazu beitragen, Vorhersagen zur Humanpharmakokinetik (PK) zu treffen, die häufig entscheidende Messungen zur Bewertung neuer Arzneimittelkandidaten in der präklinischen Forschung sind. Dadurch konnte das Wachstum im untersuchten Markt weiter gesteigert werden.

Organ-on-chip Market Share By Region

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der Organ-on-Chip-Markt ist hart umkämpft und besteht aus mehreren großen Akteuren. In Bezug auf den Marktanteil dominieren derzeit einige der großen Akteure den Markt. Die Präsenz großer Marktteilnehmer wie AxoSim Inc., BiomimX SRL, Elveflow, Emulate Inc., Hurel Corporation, InSphero AG, MIMETAS BV, Nortis Inc., Tara Biosystems Inc. und TissUse GmbH nimmt wiederum zu die allgemeine Wettbewerbsrivalität auf dem Markt. Produktweiterentwicklungen und Verbesserungen der Organ-on-Chip-Plattformen durch die Hauptakteure verstärken die Wettbewerbsrivalität.

Hauptakteure

  1. BiomimX SRL

  2. Elveflow

  3. Hurel Corporation

  4. AxoSim Inc.

  5. Emulate Inc.

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

Organ-on-chip Market Competitive Analysis

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der Organ-on-Chip-Markt ist hart umkämpft und besteht aus mehreren großen Akteuren. In Bezug auf den Marktanteil dominieren derzeit einige der großen Akteure den Markt. Die Präsenz großer Marktteilnehmer wie AxoSim Inc., BiomimX SRL, Elveflow, Emulate Inc., Hurel Corporation, InSphero AG, MIMETAS BV, Nortis Inc., Tara Biosystems Inc. und TissUse GmbH nimmt wiederum zu die allgemeine Wettbewerbsrivalität auf dem Markt. Produktweiterentwicklungen und Verbesserungen der Organ-on-Chip-Plattformen durch die Hauptakteure verstärken die Wettbewerbsrivalität.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Deliverables

    2. 1.2 Study Assumptions

    3. 1.3 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Requirement of Alternative for Animal Testing

      2. 4.2.2 Need for Early Detection of Drug Toxicity and New Products Launches

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

      1. 4.3.1 Complexity of Organ-on-chip Models

    4. 4.4 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Organ Type

      1. 5.1.1 Liver

      2. 5.1.2 Heart

      3. 5.1.3 Lung

      4. 5.1.4 Other Organ Types

    2. 5.2 Application

      1. 5.2.1 Drug Discovery

      2. 5.2.2 Toxicology Research

      3. 5.2.3 Other Applications

    3. 5.3 End User

      1. 5.3.1 Pharmaceutical and Biotechnology Companies

      2. 5.3.2 Academic and Research Institutes

      3. 5.3.3 Other End Users

    4. 5.4 Geography

      1. 5.4.1 North America

        1. 5.4.1.1 United States

        2. 5.4.1.2 Canada

      2. 5.4.2 Europe

        1. 5.4.2.1 Germany

        2. 5.4.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.4.2.3 France

        4. 5.4.2.4 Italy

        5. 5.4.2.5 Spain

        6. 5.4.2.6 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.4.3 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.4.3.1 China

        2. 5.4.3.2 Japan

        3. 5.4.3.3 India

        4. 5.4.3.4 Australia

        5. 5.4.3.5 South Korea

        6. 5.4.3.6 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.4.4 Rest of the World

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 Altis Biosystems

      2. 6.1.2 AxoSim Inc.

      3. 6.1.3 Bi/ond

      4. 6.1.4 BiomimX SRL

      5. 6.1.5 Elveflow

      6. 6.1.6 Emulate Inc.

      7. 6.1.7 Hesperos

      8. 6.1.8 Hurel Corporation

      9. 6.1.9 Allevi Inc.

      10. 6.1.10 InSphero AG

      11. 6.1.11 MIMETAS BV

      12. 6.1.12 Netri

      13. 6.1.13 Nortis Inc.

      14. 6.1.14 Tara Biosystems Inc.

      15. 6.1.15 TissUse GmbH

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Competitive Landscape Covers - Business Overview, Financials, Products and Strategies, and Recent Developments
You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Der Organ-on-Chip-Markt wird von 2019 bis 2027 untersucht.

Der Organ-on-Chip-Markt wächst in den nächsten 5 Jahren mit einer CAGR von 30 %.

Der asiatisch-pazifische Raum wächst von 2021 bis 2026 mit der höchsten CAGR.

Nordamerika hält 2021 den höchsten Anteil.

BiomimX SRL, Elveflow, Emulate Inc., Altis Biosystems und AxoSim sind die wichtigsten Unternehmen, die auf dem Organ-on-Chip-Markt tätig sind.

close-icon
80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Organ-on-chip Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2022 - 2027)

The Organ-on-chip Market is segmented by Organ Type (Liver, Heart, Lung, and Other Organ Types), Application (Drug Discovery, Toxicology Research, and Other Applications), End User (Pharmaceutical and Biotechnology Companies, Academic and Research Institutes, and Other End Users), and Geography (North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, Middle-East and Africa, and South America). The report offers the value (in USD million) for the above segments.

Market Snapshot

organs on chips market
Study Period: 2019-2027
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: North America
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 30 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The global organ-on-chip market is expected to witness a CAGR of 30% over the forecast period of 2022-2027.

The research community and the biopharmaceutical industry have mobilized with unprecedented speed against the COVID-19 pandemic. Hence, organ-on-chip is founded to be one of the most promising and go-to technology during the development of vaccines and drugs that have been currently under clinical studies for the treatment of infection. For instance, in March 2020, as a part of the World Health Organization’s (WHO) Research and Development Blueprint response to the COVID-19 outbreak, the emulate lung chip was used to provide preclinical insights into the efficacy of hydroxychloroquine for COVID-19.

An organ-on-a-chip is a microfluidic cell culture device that contains continuously perfused chambers. This chip develops a narrow channel for the blood and airflow in organs, such as the lung, gut, liver, heart, and other organs. Such devices produce multiple levels of tissue and organ functionalities, which are not feasible using conventional 2D and 3D culture systems. It offers a wide range of applications, such as disease modeling, patient stratification, and phenotypic screening.

The organ-on-chip market is driven by factors such as a requirement for alternatives for animal testing, the need for early detection of drug toxicity, and new product launches and advancements in technology that are also responsible for driving the market. For instance, in December 2020, CN Bio and the University of Melbourne collaborated to advance therapies through lung-on-a-chip technology for respiratory complications among patients who have recovered from COVID-19.

In addition, in October 2020, BioVox raised awareness through an initiative to promote the organ-on-chip technology for improvisation of in vitro research models and for reducing animal testing.

The demand for personalized medication and the vast applications of organ-on-chip beyond the pharmaceutical industry are the major factors creating growth opportunities for market players. However, the complexity of organ-on-chip models may hinder the market growth over the forecast period.

Scope of the Report

An organ-on-chip is also called a multi-channel 3D microfluidic cell culture chip. It is a type of artificial organ that simulates activities, mechanics, and physiological responses of entire organs and organ systems. The size of the organ-on-chip is about an AA battery, and its transparency allows us to see the organ’s functionality, behavior, and response at the cellular and molecular levels. The organ-on-chip market is segmented by organ type (liver, heart, lung, and other organ types), application (drug discovery, toxicology research, and other applications), end user (pharmaceutical and biotechnology companies, academic and research institutes, and other end users), and geography (North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, Middle-East and Africa, and South America). The market report also covers the estimated market sizes and trends for 17 different countries across major regions, globally. The report offers the value (in USD million) for the above segments.

Organ Type
Liver
Heart
Lung
Other Organ Types
Application
Drug Discovery
Toxicology Research
Other Applications
End User
Pharmaceutical and Biotechnology Companies
Academic and Research Institutes
Other End Users
Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Italy
Spain
Rest of Europe
Asia-Pacific
China
Japan
India
Australia
South Korea
Rest of Asia-Pacific
Rest of the World

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Lung-related Application is Expected to Exhibit a Good Growth Rate Over the Forecast Period

The recent global COVID-19 pandemic caused by the novel coronavirus, SARS-CoV-2, necessitates rapid advances in research and development activities for different approaches to treating the infection. For instance, in April 2020, researchers at the Wyss Institute demonstrated that human airway organ chips could be used to model COVID-19 and the immune response toward the same in order to test the effectiveness of drugs to curb the infection.

The development of new solutions to treat pulmonary diseases is currently of primary importance, as pulmonary diseases are found to be among the most dreadful conditions globally. According to the World Health Organization’s Global Tuberculosis Report 2020, there were an estimated 10.0 million new cases of TB disease (also known as active TB) in 2019. This is equivalent to 130 cases per 100,000 people, with an estimated 1.2 million deaths due to TB globally.

The lung-on-chip technology is a complex, three-dimensional model of a living, breathing human lung on a microchip. This device, made up of human lung and blood vessel cells, can predict the absorption of airborne nanoparticles and mimic the inflammatory response triggered by microbial pathogens.

The device can also be used to test the effects of environmental toxins, absorption of aerosolized therapeutics, and the safety and efficacy of new drugs. It is expected to become an alternative to animal testing.

With the combination of the microfabrication techniques with modern tissue engineering, lung-on-chip also offers a new in vitro approach to drug screening by mimicking the complicated mechanical and biochemical behaviors of a human lung.

In October 2019, the Biomedical Advanced Research and Development Authority (BARDA), a part of the US Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), announced its plans to provide technical expertise and approximately USD 13.5 million over the next two years to the Wake Forest Institute for Regenerative Medicine (WFIRM) of Winston-Salem, North Carolina, to validate how the group’s lung-on-chip technology, also known as an organ tissue equivalent, works in modeling the effects of chlorine gas on human lungs.

Hence, despite having already proven its worth, the lung-on-chip technology may also need to be engineered further, perhaps with muscle cells, to help test the effects of any treatment on the lungs, which may result in further growth of the market.

organ on a chip companies

North America Captured the Largest Market Share and is Expected to Retain its Dominance Over the Forecast Period

The COVID-19 pandemic accelerated the use of organ-on-chip usage for the development and testing of drugs. The market has witnessed various collaborations between research institutes and market players. For instance, in October 2020, the United States Food and Drug Administration entered a collaborative agreement to use lung chips from Emulate Inc. to evaluate the safety of COVID-19 vaccines and protective immunity against SARS-CoV-2.

Similarly, in October 2020, researchers at the US Army Combat Capabilities Development Command (CCDC) and Chemical Biological Center (CBC) used Emulat’s lung-on-chip technology for research on COVID-19.

Currently, North America dominates the organ-on-chip market, owing to factors such as the availability of a wide range of services offered by major players (which includes customized designing of new chips with specific organ arrangements) and an increase in toxicological testing of chemicals on the different types of organ cells. Huge investments are being made by the public and private institutes for their research.

For instance, several research institutions are actively involved in research and further advancing the technologies for organ-on-chip in North America. For instance, in March 2020, researchers at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) created a new model for organs-on-a-chip that could be a crucial step in developing treatments for inflammatory diseases and afflictions.

In September 2019, Javelin Biotech and Pfizer entered a three-year development of a platform to evaluate the absorption, distribution, metabolism, and excretion (ADME) properties of small molecules on an organ-on-a-chip platform. The platform will help inform human pharmacokinetic (PK) predictions, which are often crucial measurements for evaluating new drug candidates in preclinical research. This further increased the growth in the market studied.

 organ-on-a-chip market

Competitive Landscape

The organ-on-chip market is highly competitive and consists of several major players. In terms of market share, a few of the major players currently dominate the market. The presence of major market players, such as AxoSim Inc., BiomimX SRL, Elveflow, Emulate Inc., Hurel Corporation, InSphero AG, MIMETAS BV, Nortis Inc., Tara Biosystems Inc., and TissUse GmbH, is, in turn, increasing the overall competitive rivalry in the market. Product advancements and improvements in the organ-on-chip platforms by the major players are increasing the competitive rivalry.

Recent Developments

  • In December 2021, Emulate, Inc., has announced that its Brain-Chip is being sent to the International Space Station U.S. National Laboratory (ISS National Lab) to study the effects of microgravity on human brain physiology as part of the Tissue-Chips in Space initiative sponsored by the National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the International Space Station National Lab (ISS-NL).
  • In November 2021, AIM Biotech launched the idenTx 40 Plate, a high-throughput organ-on-a-chip system that lets researchers at biotechnology and pharmaceutical companies faithfully recreate the function of human organs and tissues without using animals for research.
  • In March 2021, AIM Biotech launched a contract research service, which uses its organ-on-a-chip technology to accelerate and improve drug discovery and development.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Requirement of Alternative for Animal Testing

      2. 4.2.2 Need for Early Detection of Drug Toxicity and New Products Launches

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

      1. 4.3.1 Complexity of Organ-on-chip Models

    4. 4.4 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION (Market Size by Value – USD million)

    1. 5.1 Organ Type

      1. 5.1.1 Liver

      2. 5.1.2 Heart

      3. 5.1.3 Lung

      4. 5.1.4 Other Organ Types

    2. 5.2 Application

      1. 5.2.1 Drug Discovery

      2. 5.2.2 Toxicology Research

      3. 5.2.3 Other Applications

    3. 5.3 End User

      1. 5.3.1 Pharmaceutical and Biotechnology Companies

      2. 5.3.2 Academic and Research Institutes

      3. 5.3.3 Other End Users

    4. 5.4 Geography

      1. 5.4.1 North America

        1. 5.4.1.1 United States

        2. 5.4.1.2 Canada

      2. 5.4.2 Europe

        1. 5.4.2.1 Germany

        2. 5.4.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.4.2.3 France

        4. 5.4.2.4 Italy

        5. 5.4.2.5 Spain

        6. 5.4.2.6 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.4.3 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.4.3.1 China

        2. 5.4.3.2 Japan

        3. 5.4.3.3 India

        4. 5.4.3.4 Australia

        5. 5.4.3.5 South Korea

        6. 5.4.3.6 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.4.4 Rest of the World

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 Altis Biosystems

      2. 6.1.2 AxoSim Inc.

      3. 6.1.3 Bi/ond

      4. 6.1.4 BiomimX SRL

      5. 6.1.5 Elveflow

      6. 6.1.6 Emulate Inc.

      7. 6.1.7 Hesperos

      8. 6.1.8 Hurel Corporation

      9. 6.1.9 Allevi Inc.

      10. 6.1.10 InSphero AG

      11. 6.1.11 MIMETAS BV

      12. 6.1.12 Netri

      13. 6.1.13 Nortis Inc.

      14. 6.1.14 Tara Biosystems Inc.

      15. 6.1.15 TissUse GmbH

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Competitive Landscape Covers - Business Overview, Financials, Products and Strategies, and Recent Developments

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Global Organ-on-chip Market market is studied from 2019 - 2027.

The Global Organ-on-chip Market is growing at a CAGR of 30% over the next 5 years.

North America is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

North America holds highest share in 2021.

BiomimX SRL, Elveflow, Hurel Corporation, AxoSim Inc., Emulate Inc. are the major companies operating in Global Organ-on-chip Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!