Marché des peintures et revêtements – Croissance, tendances, impact du COVID-19 et prévisions (2022-2027)

Le marché des peintures et revêtements est segmenté par résine (acrylique, alkyde, polyuréthane, époxy, polyester et autres types de résine), technologie (à base d'eau, à base de solvant, de revêtement en poudre et de revêtement durci aux UV), industrie de l'utilisateur final (architecture, automobile, bois, revêtements de protection, industrie générale, transport et emballage) et géographie (Asie-Pacifique, Amérique du Nord, Europe, Amérique du Sud, Moyen-Orient et Afrique). Le rapport présente la taille du marché et des prévisions pour le marché des peintures et revêtements en revenus (en millions USD) pour tous les segments ci-dessus.

INSTANT ACCESS

Aperçu du marché

Paints And Coatings Market Overview
Study Period: 2017-2027
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: Asia Pacific
CAGR: >4 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Aperçu du marché

Le marché mondial des peintures et revêtements était évalué à environ 137 100 millions USD en 2021, et il devrait enregistrer un TCAC de plus de 4 % au cours de la période de prévision 2022-2027.

La pandémie de Covid-19 a eu un impact négatif sur le marché des peintures et des revêtements, mais on estime maintenant que le marché a atteint des niveaux pré-pandémiques.

  • À court terme, les principaux facteurs qui animent le marché étudié sont l'augmentation rapide des activités de construction, la croissance du marché du meuble et la diversification des industries pétrolières et autres au Moyen-Orient.
  •  La montée des préoccupations environnementales devrait entraver la croissance du marché étudié.
  • Les revêtements architecturaux ont dominé le marché et le segment devrait croître au cours de la période de prévision, en raison de l'augmentation des activités de construction dans le monde.
  • L'Asie-Pacifique a dominé le marché à travers le monde, avec la plus grande consommation de pays comme la Chine, l'Inde et le Japon.

Portée du rapport

Le marché des peintures et des revêtements est segmenté par résine, technologie, industrie de l'utilisateur final et géographie. Par résine, le marché est segmenté en acrylique, alkyde, polyuréthane, époxy, polyester et autres types de résine. Par technologie, le marché est segmenté en revêtement à base d'eau, à base de solvant, en poudre et à séchage UV. Par industrie des utilisateurs finaux, le marché est segmenté en architecture, automobile, bois, revêtement de protection, industrie générale, transport et emballage. Le rapport couvre également la taille du marché et les prévisions pour le marché des peintures et des revêtements dans 41 pays des principales régions. Pour chaque segment, le dimensionnement et les prévisions du marché ont été effectués sur la base des revenus (en millions de dollars).

Resin
Acrylic
Alkyd
Polyurethane
Epoxy
Polyester
Other Resin Types
Technology
Water-borne
Solvent-borne
Powder Coating
UV-cured Coating
End-user Industry
Architectural
Automotive
Wood
Protective Coating
General Industrial
Transportation
Packaging
Geography
Asia-Pacific
China (Including Taiwan)
India
Japan
Indonesia
Australia & New-Zealand
South Korea
Thailand
Malaysia
Philippines
Bangladesh
Vietnam
Singapore
Sri Lanka
Rest of Asia-Pacific
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Italy
Benelux
Russia
Turkey
Switzerland
Scandinavian Countries
Poland
Portugal
Spain
Rest of Europe
South America
Brazil
Argentina
Colombia
Chile
Rest of South America
Middle East
Saudi Arabia
Qatar
United Arab Emirates
Kuwait
Egypt
Rest of Middle East
Africa
South Africa
Nigeria
Algeria
Morocco
Rest of Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Principales tendances du marché

Architectural pour dominer le marché

  • Les peintures et revêtements architecturaux constituent de loin le segment le plus important de l'industrie des peintures et revêtements. Les revêtements architecturaux sont destinés à protéger et à décorer les éléments de surface. Ils sont utilisés pour recouvrir les bâtiments et les maisons. La plupart sont destinés à des usages spécifiques, tels que les revêtements de toiture, les peintures murales ou les finitions de terrasse. Peu importe son utilisation, chaque revêtement architectural doit assurer certaines fonctions décoratives, durables et protectrices.
  • Les revêtements architecturaux sont utilisés dans des applications à des fins commerciales, telles que les immeubles de bureaux, les entrepôts, les dépanneurs, les centres commerciaux et les bâtiments résidentiels. De tels revêtements peuvent être appliqués sur des surfaces externes et des surfaces internes et comprennent des scellants ou des produits spécialisés. Les revêtements architecturaux peuvent être principalement divisés en revêtements intérieurs et extérieurs.
  • La durabilité, le masquage, la résistance aux taches et la faible teneur en COV font partie des fonctionnalités intégrales de chaque formulation de peinture d'intérieur. Ils ne sont pas seulement utilisés pour la décoration mais aussi pour un large éventail de fonctionnalités en fonction du type d'environnement. Par exemple, à cause de l'humidité, les murs de la salle de bain doivent pouvoir être nettoyés pour rester propres. Les peintures aux reflets plus brillants ont une structure moléculaire plus serrée que les peintures mates, ce qui les rend plus difficiles à pénétrer par l'humidité. Par conséquent, ils sont utilisés dans les salles de bains.
  • Dans les murs du salon et de la chambre, la plupart des propriétaires préfèrent la couleur de leur choix. Par conséquent, les peintures acryliques sont préférées, car elles offrent une grande variété de choix en termes de couleur et de teinte. La plupart des plafonds sont peints en blanc mat afin qu'ils reflètent le plus de lumière ambiante dans la pièce. Cela rend la pièce plus spacieuse et plus détendue. Les murs de maçonnerie du sous-sol peuvent souvent suinter de l'eau. Des peintures élastomères qui se dilatent sous la pression sont utilisées dans cette zone pour éviter les fuites d'eau.
  • Les peintures et les revêtements pour les murs extérieurs doivent être faciles à appliquer et durables, ainsi qu'une protection contre les intempéries extrêmes. Les progrès de la technologie des peintures, en particulier dans les formulations acryliques, offrent une large gamme de revêtements résistants aux intempéries.
  • L'Amérique du Nord connaît une croissance saine dans le secteur de la construction commerciale en raison d'importants investissements aux États-Unis et au Canada. Selon le US Census Bureau, en décembre 2021, les dépenses de construction dans le pays étaient estimées à un taux annuel corrigé des variations saisonnières de 1 639,9 milliards USD, soit 0,2 % de plus que l'estimation révisée de novembre de 1 636,5 milliards USD. De plus, en 2021, les dépenses de construction se sont élevées à 1 589,0 milliards USD, soit 8,2 % de plus que 1 469,2 milliards USD en 2020, augmentant ainsi la consommation de peintures et de revêtements dans les applications de construction.
  • L'Europe connaît également une expansion du commerce de détail, avec de nouvelles constructions de centres commerciaux à travers le continent. Le Metropol Mall en Turquie, le Mall of Scandinavia en Suède, le Westfield Bradford au Royaume-Uni, le Weberzeile Ried en Autriche, le Mall of Europe en Belgique et le Lublin Mall en Pologne font partie des constructions récentes en Europe.
  • L'augmentation de la population de la classe moyenne, associée à l'augmentation de son revenu disponible, a facilité l'expansion du segment des logements de la classe moyenne, entraînant ainsi la construction résidentielle. La région Asie-Pacifique est le plus grand marché pour les revêtements architecturaux en raison de la croissance de l'industrie de la construction.
  • Par exemple, le gouvernement indien pousse des projets considérables dans les prochaines années. L'initiative gouvernementale « Un logement pour tous » vise à construire plus de 20 millions de logements abordables pour les citadins pauvres d'ici 2022. Cela pourrait donner une impulsion significative à la construction résidentielle.
  • En raison de tous les facteurs mentionnés ci-dessus, le marché des peintures et des revêtements devrait connaître une croissance significative au cours de la période de prévision.
Paints and Coatings Market - Segmentation Trends

La Chine va dominer le marché dans la région Asie-Pacifique

  • La Chine est mondialement reconnue pour son boom architectural. La demande de logements sociaux et de logements commerciaux est à l'origine de sa croissance ces dernières années.
  • La Chine promeut et connaît un processus d'urbanisation continue, avec un objectif de taux de 70% pour 2030. L'augmentation des espaces de vie nécessaires dans les zones urbaines résultant de l'urbanisation et de la volonté des citadins de la classe moyenne d'améliorer leurs conditions de vie peut avoir un impact. effet profond sur le marché du logement, et ainsi augmenter la construction résidentielle dans le pays, ce qui aura à son tour un impact positif sur le marché des peintures et des revêtements.
  • La Chine a été principalement tirée par les développements importants dans les secteurs de la construction résidentielle et commerciale et soutenue par la croissance de l'économie. En Chine, les autorités du logement de Hong Kong ont lancé plusieurs mesures pour relancer la construction de logements à bas prix. Les responsables visent à fournir 301 000 logements sociaux d'ici 2030. ​
  • La hausse des niveaux de revenu des ménages, combinée à la migration de la population des zones rurales vers les zones urbaines, devrait continuer à stimuler la demande pour le secteur de la construction résidentielle dans le pays. L’accent accru mis sur le logement abordable par les secteurs public et privé stimule la croissance du secteur de la construction résidentielle.​
  • L'infrastructure non résidentielle devrait croître considérablement. Le vieillissement de la population dans le pays crée une demande pour la construction d'établissements de santé et de nouveaux hôpitaux. Les changements structurels de l'économie chinoise au cours des dernières années, le secteur des services prenant une part plus importante dans le PIB total, ont donné lieu à la construction d'immenses espaces commerciaux et de bureaux.​
  • La Chine représente plus d'un quart du marché mondial des revêtements. Selon l'Association chinoise de l'industrie nationale des revêtements, l'industrie a enregistré une croissance de 7 % au cours des dernières années. Il a été estimé qu'à partir de 2019, la construction d'au moins dix grands projets d'investissement dans les revêtements en Chine avait été rendue publique. Nippon a profité de cette situation de marché en modernisant son processus de production de revêtements dans ses nouvelles usines en Chine.
  • La Chine reste le plus grand pays de fabrication automobile et le plus grand marché automobile au monde depuis 2009. Selon l'Association chinoise des constructeurs automobiles (CAAM), la production globale de véhicules depuis le début de l'année de janvier à décembre a totalisé 25,225 millions d'unités en 2020, avec une baisse de 2,0 % par rapport à la même période. l'année précédente. En outre, selon l'OICA, la production automobile en 2021 dans le pays a atteint 26,08 millions d'unités, une augmentation de 3% par rapport à 25,23 millions d'unités en 2020.
  • De plus, la Chine est le deuxième plus grand consommateur de pétrole et de gaz au monde, mais seulement le sixième plus grand producteur de la même chose. En tant que grand consommateur de pétrole, la consommation de pétrole de la Chine augmente d'année en année avec des taux de croissance fluctuants. Cependant, comme l'offre de pétrole ne peut toujours pas répondre à la demande, la Chine dépend principalement des importations.
  • Ces facteurs, à leur tour, devraient affecter la demande de peintures et de revêtements dans la région au cours de la période de prévision.
Paints and Coatings Market - Regional Trends

Paysage concurrentiel

Le marché mondial des peintures et revêtements est partiellement consolidé par nature, les 12 principaux acteurs représentant plus de 60 % de part de marché. Les principales entreprises comprennent The Sherwin-Williams Company, PPG Industries Inc., Akzo Nobel NV, Nippon Paint Holdings Co., Ltd et RPM International Inc., entre autres.

Principaux acteurs

  1. PPG Industries Inc.

  2. RPM International Inc.

  3. The Sherwin-Williams Company

  4. Akzo Nobel NV

  5. Nippon Paint Holdings Co., Ltd.

Akzo Nobel NV, PPG Industries Inc., RPM International Inc., Nippon Paint Holdings Co., Ltd., The Sherwin-Williams Company

Paysage concurrentiel

Le marché mondial des peintures et revêtements est partiellement consolidé par nature, les 12 principaux acteurs représentant plus de 60 % de part de marché. Les principales entreprises comprennent The Sherwin-Williams Company, PPG Industries Inc., Akzo Nobel NV, Nippon Paint Holdings Co., Ltd et RPM International Inc., entre autres.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Drivers

      1. 4.1.1 Rapidly Increasing Construction Activities

      2. 4.1.2 Growth in the Furniture Market

      3. 4.1.3 Diversification of Oil and Other Industries in the Middle East

    2. 4.2 Restraints

      1. 4.2.1 Rising Environmental Concerns

    3. 4.3 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products and Services

      5. 4.4.5 Degree of Competition

    5. 4.5 Regulatory Policy Analysis

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Resin

      1. 5.1.1 Acrylic

      2. 5.1.2 Alkyd

      3. 5.1.3 Polyurethane

      4. 5.1.4 Epoxy

      5. 5.1.5 Polyester

      6. 5.1.6 Other Resin Types

    2. 5.2 Technology

      1. 5.2.1 Water-borne

      2. 5.2.2 Solvent-borne

      3. 5.2.3 Powder Coating

      4. 5.2.4 UV-cured Coating

    3. 5.3 End-user Industry

      1. 5.3.1 Architectural

      2. 5.3.2 Automotive

      3. 5.3.3 Wood

      4. 5.3.4 Protective Coating

      5. 5.3.5 General Industrial

      6. 5.3.6 Transportation

      7. 5.3.7 Packaging

    4. 5.4 Geography

      1. 5.4.1 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.4.1.1 China (Including Taiwan)

        2. 5.4.1.2 India

        3. 5.4.1.3 Japan

        4. 5.4.1.4 Indonesia

        5. 5.4.1.5 Australia & New-Zealand

        6. 5.4.1.6 South Korea

        7. 5.4.1.7 Thailand

        8. 5.4.1.8 Malaysia

        9. 5.4.1.9 Philippines

        10. 5.4.1.10 Bangladesh

        11. 5.4.1.11 Vietnam

        12. 5.4.1.12 Singapore

        13. 5.4.1.13 Sri Lanka

        14. 5.4.1.14 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      2. 5.4.2 North America

        1. 5.4.2.1 United States

        2. 5.4.2.2 Canada

        3. 5.4.2.3 Mexico

      3. 5.4.3 Europe

        1. 5.4.3.1 Germany

        2. 5.4.3.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.4.3.3 France

        4. 5.4.3.4 Italy

        5. 5.4.3.5 Benelux

        6. 5.4.3.6 Russia

        7. 5.4.3.7 Turkey

        8. 5.4.3.8 Switzerland

        9. 5.4.3.9 Scandinavian Countries

        10. 5.4.3.10 Poland

        11. 5.4.3.11 Portugal

        12. 5.4.3.12 Spain

        13. 5.4.3.13 Rest of Europe

      4. 5.4.4 South America

        1. 5.4.4.1 Brazil

        2. 5.4.4.2 Argentina

        3. 5.4.4.3 Colombia

        4. 5.4.4.4 Chile

        5. 5.4.4.5 Rest of South America

      5. 5.4.5 Middle East

        1. 5.4.5.1 Saudi Arabia

        2. 5.4.5.2 Qatar

        3. 5.4.5.3 United Arab Emirates

        4. 5.4.5.4 Kuwait

        5. 5.4.5.5 Egypt

        6. 5.4.5.6 Rest of Middle East

      6. 5.4.6 Africa

        1. 5.4.6.1 South Africa

        2. 5.4.6.2 Nigeria

        3. 5.4.6.3 Algeria

        4. 5.4.6.4 Morocco

        5. 5.4.6.5 Rest of Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Mergers and Acquisitions, Joint Ventures, Collaborations, and Agreements

    2. 6.2 Market Share (%) Analysis

    3. 6.3 Strategies Adopted by Leading Players

    4. 6.4 Company Profiles

      1. 6.4.1 Akzo Nobel NV

      2. 6.4.2 Asian Paints

      3. 6.4.3 Axalta

      4. 6.4.4 BASF SE

      5. 6.4.5 Beckers Group

      6. 6.4.6 Benjamin Moore & Co.

      7. 6.4.7 Berger Paints India Limited

      8. 6.4.8 Chugoku Marine Paints Ltd

      9. 6.4.9 DAW SE

      10. 6.4.10 Hempel A/S

      11. 6.4.11 Jazeera Paints

      12. 6.4.12 Jotun

      13. 6.4.13 Kansai Paint Co. Ltd

      14. 6.4.14 Kelly-Moore Paints

      15. 6.4.15 Masco Corporation

      16. 6.4.16 NATIONAL PAINTS FACTORIES CO. LTD

      17. 6.4.17 Nippon Paint Holdings Co. Ltd

      18. 6.4.18 NOROO Paint & Coatings Co. Ltd

      19. 6.4.19 PPG Industries Inc.

      20. 6.4.20 RPM International Inc.

      21. 6.4.21 Russian Paints Company

      22. 6.4.22 SK KAKEN Co. Ltd

      23. 6.4.23 The Sherwin-Williams Company

    5. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

    1. 7.1 Advent of Environment-friendly Paint and Coating Resins

    2. 7.2 Anti-bacterial Paints and Coatings

    3. 7.3 Growing Construction Opportunities in Africa

**Subject to Availability
You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Le marché du marché Peintures et revêtements est étudié de 2017 à 2027.

Le marché des peintures et revêtements croît à un TCAC de> 4% au cours des 5 prochaines années.

Le marché des peintures et revêtements est évalué à 137 100 millions USD en 2017.

Le marché des peintures et revêtements est évalué à 172960 millions USD en 2027.

L'Asie-Pacifique affiche le TCAC le plus élevé sur la période 2021-2026.

L'Asie-Pacifique détient la part la plus élevée en 2021.

PPG Industries Inc., RPM International Inc., The Sherwin-Williams Company, Akzo Nobel NV, Nippon Paint Holdings Co., Ltd. sont les principales entreprises opérant sur le marché des peintures et revêtements.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Paints and Coatings Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2022 - 2027)

The Paints and Coatings Market is segmented by Resin (Acrylic, Alkyd, Polyurethane, Epoxy, Polyester, and Other Resin Types), Technology (Water-borne, Solvent-borne, Powder Coating, and UV-cured Coating), End-user Industry (Architectural, Automotive, Wood, Protective Coating, General Industrial, Transportation, and Packaging), and Geography (Asia-Pacific, North America, Europe, South America, the Middle East, and Africa). The report offers market size and forecasts for the Paints and Coatings Market in revenue (USD million) for all the above segments.

INSTANT ACCESS

Market Snapshot

Paints and Coatings Market Summary
Study Period: 2017-2027
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: Asia Pacific
CAGR: >4 %
Paints and Coatings Market Major Players

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The global paints and coatings market was valued at around USD 137,100 million in 2021, and it is expected to register a CAGR of more than 4% during the forecast period, 2022-2027.

The COVID-19 pandemic had a negative impact on the paints and coatings market. However, the market has now been estimated to have reached pre-pandemic levels.

  • In the short term, the major factors driving the market studied are rapidly increasing construction activities, growth in the furniture market, and diversification of oil and other industries in the Middle East.
  • Rising environmental concerns are expected to hinder the growth of the market studied.
  • Architectural coatings dominated the market, and the segment is expected to grow during the forecast period, owing to the increasing construction activities across the world.
  • Asia-Pacific dominated the market across the world, with the largest consumption from countries such as China, India, and Japan.

Scope of the Report

The paints and coatings market is segmented by resin, technology, end-user industry, and geography. By resin, the market is segmented into acrylic, alkyd, polyurethane, epoxy, polyester, and other resin types. By technology, the market is segmented into water-borne, solvent-borne, powder coating, and UV-cured coating. By end-user industry, the market is segmented into architectural, automotive, wood, protective coating, general industrial, transportation, and packaging. The report also covers the market size and forecasts for the paints and coatings market in 41 countries across major regions. For each segment, the market sizing and forecasts have been done on the basis of revenue (USD million).

Resin
Acrylic
Alkyd
Polyurethane
Epoxy
Polyester
Other Resin Types
Technology
Water-borne
Solvent-borne
Powder Coating
UV-cured Coating
End-user Industry
Architectural
Automotive
Wood
Protective Coating
General Industrial
Transportation
Packaging
Geography
Asia-Pacific
China (Including Taiwan)
India
Japan
Indonesia
Australia & New Zealand
South Korea
Thailand
Malaysia
Philippines
Bangladesh
Vietnam
Singapore
Sri Lanka
Rest of Asia-Pacific
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Italy
Benelux
Russia
Turkey
Switzerland
Scandinavian Countries
Poland
Portugal
Spain
Rest of Europe
South America
Brazil
Argentina
Colombia
Chile
Rest of South America
Middle East
Saudi Arabia
Qatar
United Arab Emirates
Kuwait
Egypt
Rest of Middle East
Africa
South Africa
Nigeria
Algeria
Morocco
Rest of Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Architectural to Dominate the Market

  • Architectural paints and coatings are by far the largest segment in the paints and coatings industry. Architectural coatings are meant to protect and decorate surface features. They are used to coat buildings and homes. Most are designated for specific uses, such as roof coatings, wall paints, or deck finishes. No matter its use, each architectural coating must provide certain decorative, durable, and protective functions.
  • Architectural coatings are used in applications for commercial purposes, such as office buildings, warehouses, retail convenience stores, shopping malls, and residential buildings. Such coatings can be applied on outer surfaces and inner surfaces and include sealers or specialty products. Architectural coatings can be mainly divided into interior and exterior coatings.
  • Durability, hide, stain resistance, and low VOC are some of the integral functionalities in every interior paint formulation. They are not only used for decoration but also for a wide range of functionalities depending on the type of environment. For example, because of moisture, bathroom walls need wipe-ability to keep them clean. Paints with glossier sheens have a tighter molecular structure than flat paints, making them more difficult for moisture to penetrate. Hence, they are used in bathrooms.
  • In the living room and bedroom walls, most homeowners prefer the color of their choices. Hence, acrylic paints are preferred, as they offer a wide variety of choices in terms of color and shade. Most ceilings are painted flat white so that they reflect the most ambient light in the room. This makes the room feel more spacious and relaxed. Basement masonry walls can often weep water. Elastomeric paints that expand on pressure are used in this area to prevent water leakage.
  • Paints and coatings for exterior walls need ease of application and durability, along with protection from extreme weather. Advances in paint technology, especially in acrylic formulations, offer a wide range of weatherproof coatings.
  • North America witnessed healthy growth in the commercial construction sector due to significant investments in the United States and Canada. According to the US Census Bureau, in December 2021, construction spending in the country was estimated at a seasonally adjusted annual rate of USD 1,639.9 billion, 0.2% more than the revised November estimate of USD 1,636.5 billion. Moreover, in 2021, construction spending amounted to USD 1,589.0 billion, 8.2% above USD 1,469.2 billion in 2020, thereby increasing the consumption of paints and coatings in construction applications.
  • Europe also witnesses an expansion in retail, with the new construction of malls across the continent. The Metropol Mall in Turkey, Mall of Scandinavia in Sweden, Westfield Bradford in the United Kingdom, Weberzeile Ried in Austria, Mall of Europe in Belgium, and Lublin Mall in Poland are some of the recent constructions in Europe.
  • The increasing middle-class population, coupled with their increasing disposable income, has facilitated the expansion in the middle-class housing segment, thereby driving the residential construction. The Asia-Pacific region is the largest market for architectural coatings owing to the growth in the construction industry.
  • For instance, the Indian government is pushing considerable projects in the next few years. The government’s Housing for All initiative aims to build more than 20 million affordable homes for the urban poor by 2022. This may provide a significant boost to residential construction.
  • Due to all the above-mentioned factors, the market for paints and coatings is expected to witness significant growth during the forecast period.
Paints and Coatings Market, Revenue Share (%), by End-user Industry, Global, 2021

China to Dominate the Market in the Asia-Pacific Region

  • China is globally recognized for its architectural boom. The demand for low-cost housing and commercial housing is the reason for its growth in recent years.
  • China is promoting and undergoing a process of continuous urbanization, with a target rate of 70% for 2030. The increased living spaces required in the urban areas resulting from urbanization and the desire of middle-class urban residents to improve their living conditions may have a profound effect on the housing market and thereby increase the residential construction in the country, which in turn will have a positive impact on the paints and coatings market.​
  • China has been majorly driven by the ample developments in the residential and commercial construction sectors and supported by the growing economy. In China, the housing authorities of Hong Kong launched several measures to push start the construction of low-cost housing. The officials aim to provide 301,000 public housing units by 2030. ​
  • The rising household income levels, combined with the population migrating from rural to urban areas, are expected to continue to drive the demand for the residential construction sector in the country. The increased focus on affordable housing by both the public and private sectors is driving the growth in the residential construction sector.​
  • Non-residential infrastructure is expected to grow considerably. The aging population in the country is creating a demand for the construction of healthcare facilities and new hospitals. The structural changes in the Chinese economy over the past few years, with the service sector taking a larger share in the total GDP, gave rise to the construction of huge commercial and office spaces.​
  • China accounts for more than one-fourth of the global coatings market. According to the China National Coatings Industry Association, the industry has been registering a growth of 7% in recent years. It was estimated that from 2019, the construction of at least 10 large coatings investment projects in China has been reported publicly. Nippon has been tapping into this market situation by upgrading its coatings production process in its new plants in China.
  • China has remained the world's largest automotive manufacturing country and automotive market since 2009. According to the China Association of Automotive Manufacturers(CAAM), overall YTD vehicle production for January through December totaled 25.225 million units in 2020, with a 2.0% decline compared to the same period in the previous year. According to OICA, the automotive production in 2021 in the country reached 26.08 million units, a 3% increase compared to 25.23 million units in 2020.
  • China is the world's second-largest consumer of oil and gas but only the sixth largest producer of the same. As a big oil consumer, China's oil consumption is increasing year by year with fluctuating growth rates. However, as the oil supply still cannot meet the demand, China mainly relies on imports.
  • These factors, in turn, are expected to affect the demand for paints and coatings in the region during the forecast period.
Paints and Coatings Market - Growth Rate by Region, 2022 - 2027

Competitive Landscape

The global paints and coatings market is partially consolidated in nature, with the top 12 players accounting for more than 60% of the market share. The major companies include The Sherwin-Williams Company, PPG Industries Inc., Akzo Nobel NV, Nippon Paint Holdings Co. Ltd, and RPM International Inc.

Recent Developments

  • In February 2022, The Sherwin-Williams Company signed an agreement with the state of North Carolina, Iredell County, and the city of Statesville to significantly expand its architectural paint and coatings manufacturing capacity and establish a larger distribution facility in Statesville, North Carolina. Sherwin-Williams plans to invest a minimum of USD 300 million in the project.
  • In February 2022, PPG announced to acquire Powder Coating Manufacturing Business in Arsonsisi, an industrial coating company based in Milan, Italy.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Drivers

      1. 4.1.1 Rapidly Increasing Construction Activities

      2. 4.1.2 Growth in the Furniture Market

      3. 4.1.3 Diversification of Oil and Other Industries in the Middle East

    2. 4.2 Restraints

      1. 4.2.1 Rising Environmental Concerns

    3. 4.3 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products and Services

      5. 4.4.5 Degree of Competition

    5. 4.5 Regulatory Policy Analysis

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Resin

      1. 5.1.1 Acrylic

      2. 5.1.2 Alkyd

      3. 5.1.3 Polyurethane

      4. 5.1.4 Epoxy

      5. 5.1.5 Polyester

      6. 5.1.6 Other Resin Types

    2. 5.2 Technology

      1. 5.2.1 Water-borne

      2. 5.2.2 Solvent-borne

      3. 5.2.3 Powder Coating

      4. 5.2.4 UV-cured Coating

    3. 5.3 End-user Industry

      1. 5.3.1 Architectural

      2. 5.3.2 Automotive

      3. 5.3.3 Wood

      4. 5.3.4 Protective Coating

      5. 5.3.5 General Industrial

      6. 5.3.6 Transportation

      7. 5.3.7 Packaging

    4. 5.4 Geography

      1. 5.4.1 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.4.1.1 China (Including Taiwan)

        2. 5.4.1.2 India

        3. 5.4.1.3 Japan

        4. 5.4.1.4 Indonesia

        5. 5.4.1.5 Australia & New Zealand

        6. 5.4.1.6 South Korea

        7. 5.4.1.7 Thailand

        8. 5.4.1.8 Malaysia

        9. 5.4.1.9 Philippines

        10. 5.4.1.10 Bangladesh

        11. 5.4.1.11 Vietnam

        12. 5.4.1.12 Singapore

        13. 5.4.1.13 Sri Lanka

        14. 5.4.1.14 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      2. 5.4.2 North America

        1. 5.4.2.1 United States

        2. 5.4.2.2 Canada

        3. 5.4.2.3 Mexico

      3. 5.4.3 Europe

        1. 5.4.3.1 Germany

        2. 5.4.3.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.4.3.3 France

        4. 5.4.3.4 Italy

        5. 5.4.3.5 Benelux

        6. 5.4.3.6 Russia

        7. 5.4.3.7 Turkey

        8. 5.4.3.8 Switzerland

        9. 5.4.3.9 Scandinavian Countries

        10. 5.4.3.10 Poland

        11. 5.4.3.11 Portugal

        12. 5.4.3.12 Spain

        13. 5.4.3.13 Rest of Europe

      4. 5.4.4 South America

        1. 5.4.4.1 Brazil

        2. 5.4.4.2 Argentina

        3. 5.4.4.3 Colombia

        4. 5.4.4.4 Chile

        5. 5.4.4.5 Rest of South America

      5. 5.4.5 Middle East

        1. 5.4.5.1 Saudi Arabia

        2. 5.4.5.2 Qatar

        3. 5.4.5.3 United Arab Emirates

        4. 5.4.5.4 Kuwait

        5. 5.4.5.5 Egypt

        6. 5.4.5.6 Rest of Middle East

      6. 5.4.6 Africa

        1. 5.4.6.1 South Africa

        2. 5.4.6.2 Nigeria

        3. 5.4.6.3 Algeria

        4. 5.4.6.4 Morocco

        5. 5.4.6.5 Rest of Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Mergers and Acquisitions, Joint Ventures, Collaborations, and Agreements

    2. 6.2 Market Share (%) Analysis

    3. 6.3 Strategies Adopted by Leading Players

    4. 6.4 Company Profiles

      1. 6.4.1 Akzo Nobel NV

      2. 6.4.2 Asian Paints

      3. 6.4.3 Axalta

      4. 6.4.4 BASF SE

      5. 6.4.5 Beckers Group

      6. 6.4.6 Benjamin Moore & Co.

      7. 6.4.7 Berger Paints India Limited

      8. 6.4.8 Chugoku Marine Paints Ltd

      9. 6.4.9 DAW SE

      10. 6.4.10 Hempel AS

      11. 6.4.11 Jazeera Paints

      12. 6.4.12 Jotun

      13. 6.4.13 Kansai Paint Co. Ltd

      14. 6.4.14 Kelly-Moore Paints

      15. 6.4.15 Masco Corporation

      16. 6.4.16 NATIONAL PAINTS FACTORIES CO. LTD

      17. 6.4.17 Nippon Paint Holdings Co. Ltd

      18. 6.4.18 NOROO Paint & Coatings Co. Ltd

      19. 6.4.19 PPG Industries Inc.

      20. 6.4.20 RPM International Inc.

      21. 6.4.21 Russian Paints Company

      22. 6.4.22 SK KAKEN Co. Ltd

      23. 6.4.23 The Sherwin-Williams Company

    5. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

    1. 7.1 Advent of Eco-friendly Paint and Coating Resins

    2. 7.2 Anti-bacterial Paints and Coatings

    3. 7.3 Growing Construction Opportunities in Africa

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Paints and Coatings Market market is studied from 2017 - 2027.

The Paints and Coatings Market is growing at a CAGR of >4% over the next 5 years.

The Paints and Coatings Market is valued at 137100 Million USD in 2017.

The Paints and Coatings Market is valued at 172960 Million USD in 2027.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

Asia Pacific holds highest share in 2021.

PPG Industries Inc., RPM International Inc., The Sherwin-Williams Company, Akzo Nobel NV, Nippon Paint Holdings Co., Ltd. are the major companies operating in Paints and Coatings Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!