Рынок красок и покрытий — рост, тенденции, влияние COVID-19 и прогнозы (2023–2028 гг.)

Рынок красок и покрытий сегментирован по смолам (акриловые, алкидные, полиуретановые, эпоксидные, полиэфирные и другие типы смол), технологиям (водоразбавляемые, растворяющие, порошковые покрытия и покрытия с УФ-отверждением), конечным пользователям. (Архитектурные, автомобильные, деревообрабатывающие, защитные покрытия, общепромышленные, транспортные и упаковочные) и географические (Азиатско-Тихоокеанский регион, Северная Америка, Европа, Южная Америка, Ближний Восток и Африка). В отчете представлены размеры рынка и прогнозы выручки рынка красок и покрытий (млн долларов США) для всех вышеперечисленных сегментов.

Обзор рынка

Paints And Coatings Market Overview
Study Period: 2017-2027
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: Asia Pacific
CAGR: > 4 %

Major Players

rd-img

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

setting-icon

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Обзор рынка

В 2021 году мировой рынок красок и покрытий оценивался примерно в 137 100 миллионов долларов США, и ожидается, что в течение прогнозируемого периода с 2022 по 2027 год среднегодовой темп роста составит более 4%.

Пандемия COVID-19 оказала негативное влияние на рынок лакокрасочных материалов. Однако сейчас, по оценкам, рынок достиг допандемического уровня.

  • В краткосрочной перспективе основными факторами, влияющими на изучаемый рынок, являются быстрый рост строительной деятельности, рост мебельного рынка и диверсификация нефтяной и других отраслей на Ближнем Востоке.
  • Ожидается, что растущие экологические проблемы будут препятствовать росту изучаемого рынка.
  • Архитектурные покрытия доминировали на рынке, и ожидается, что этот сегмент будет расти в течение прогнозируемого периода из-за роста строительной активности во всем мире.
  • Азиатско-Тихоокеанский регион доминировал на рынке во всем мире, при этом наибольшее потребление приходилось на такие страны, как Китай, Индия и Япония.

Объем отчета

Рынок красок и покрытий сегментирован по смолам, технологиям, отраслям конечных пользователей и географическому положению. По смоле рынок делится на акриловые, алкидные, полиуретановые, эпоксидные, полиэфирные и другие типы смол. По технологиям рынок делится на водоразбавляемые, растворяющие, порошковые покрытия и покрытия с УФ-отверждением. По отраслям конечных пользователей рынок делится на архитектурную, автомобильную, деревянную, защитную, общепромышленную, транспортную и упаковочную. В отчете также рассматриваются размер рынка и прогнозы рынка красок и покрытий в 41 стране по основным регионам. Для каждого сегмента размер рынка и прогнозы были сделаны на основе выручки (млн долларов США).

Resin
Acrylic
Alkyd
Polyurethane
Epoxy
Polyester
Other Resin Types
Technology
Water-borne
Solvent-borne
Powder Coating
UV-cured Coating
End-user Industry
Architectural
Automotive
Wood
Protective Coating
General Industrial
Transportation
Packaging
Geography
Asia-Pacific
China (Including Taiwan)
India
Japan
Indonesia
Australia & New Zealand
South Korea
Thailand
Malaysia
Philippines
Bangladesh
Vietnam
Singapore
Sri Lanka
Rest of Asia-Pacific
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Italy
Benelux
Russia
Turkey
Switzerland
Scandinavian Countries
Poland
Portugal
Spain
Rest of Europe
South America
Brazil
Argentina
Colombia
Chile
Rest of South America
Middle East
Saudi Arabia
Qatar
United Arab Emirates
Kuwait
Egypt
Rest of Middle East
Africa
South Africa
Nigeria
Algeria
Morocco
Rest of Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Ключевые тенденции рынка

Архитектура для доминирования на рынке

  • Архитектурные краски и покрытия на сегодняшний день являются крупнейшим сегментом в индустрии красок и покрытий. Архитектурные покрытия предназначены для защиты и украшения поверхностей. Они используются для покрытия зданий и домов. Большинство из них предназначены для конкретных целей, таких как покрытия крыш, краски для стен или отделка террас. Каждое архитектурное покрытие, независимо от его назначения, должно выполнять определенные декоративные, прочные и защитные функции.
  • Архитектурные покрытия используются в приложениях для коммерческих целей, таких как офисные здания, склады, магазины розничной торговли, торговые центры и жилые дома. Такие покрытия можно наносить на внешние и внутренние поверхности и включать герметики или специальные продукты. Архитектурные покрытия в основном можно разделить на внутренние и наружные покрытия.
  • Долговечность, укрывистость, устойчивость к пятнам и низкое содержание летучих органических соединений являются одними из неотъемлемых функциональных качеств любой рецептуры краски для внутренних работ. Они используются не только для украшения, но и для широкого спектра функций в зависимости от типа окружающей среды. Например, из-за влаги стены ванной комнаты нуждаются в способности протирать их, чтобы поддерживать их в чистоте. Краски с более глянцевым блеском имеют более плотную молекулярную структуру, чем матовые краски, что затрудняет проникновение влаги. Поэтому их используют в ванных комнатах.
  • Для стен гостиной и спальни большинство домовладельцев предпочитают цвет по своему выбору. Следовательно, акриловые краски предпочтительнее, так как они предлагают широкий выбор цветов и оттенков. Большинство потолков окрашены в матовый белый цвет, чтобы они отражали наибольшее количество окружающего света в комнате. Это делает комнату более просторной и расслабленной. Стены цокольной кладки часто могут пропускать воду. В этой области используются эластомерные краски, которые расширяются под давлением, чтобы предотвратить утечку воды.
  • Краски и покрытия для наружных стен требуют простоты нанесения и долговечности, а также защиты от экстремальных погодных условий. Достижения в технологии окраски, особенно в акриловых составах, предлагают широкий спектр атмосферостойких покрытий.
  • В Северной Америке наблюдался здоровый рост в секторе коммерческого строительства благодаря значительным инвестициям в США и Канаде. По данным Бюро переписи населения США, в декабре 2021 года расходы на строительство в стране оценивались с учетом сезонных колебаний в годовом исчислении в размере 1 639,9 млрд долларов США, что на 0,2% больше, чем пересмотренная ноябрьская оценка в 1 636,5 млрд долларов США. Кроме того, в 2021 году расходы на строительство составили 1 589,0 млрд долларов США, что на 8,2% больше 1 469,2 млрд долларов США в 2020 году, что привело к увеличению потребления красок и покрытий в строительстве.
  • В Европе также наблюдается расширение розничной торговли благодаря строительству новых торговых центров по всему континенту. Metropol Mall в Турции, Mall of Scandinavia в Швеции, Westfield Bradford в Соединенном Королевстве, Weberzeile Ried в Австрии, Mall of Europe в Бельгии и Lublin Mall в Польше — вот лишь некоторые из последних построек в Европе.
  • Рост населения среднего класса в сочетании с увеличением их располагаемого дохода способствовал расширению сегмента жилья среднего класса, тем самым стимулируя жилищное строительство. Азиатско-Тихоокеанский регион является крупнейшим рынком архитектурных покрытий благодаря росту строительной отрасли.
  • Например, правительство Индии продвигает значительные проекты в ближайшие несколько лет. Инициатива правительства «Жилище для всех» направлена ​​на строительство более 20 миллионов доступных домов для городской бедноты к 2022 году. Это может дать значительный импульс жилищному строительству.
  • В связи со всеми вышеперечисленными факторами ожидается значительный рост рынка лакокрасочных материалов в течение прогнозируемого периода.
Paints and Coatings Market - Segmentation Trends

Китай будет доминировать на рынке Азиатско-Тихоокеанского региона

  • Китай всемирно известен своим архитектурным бумом. Спрос на недорогое жилье и коммерческое жилье является причиной его роста в последние годы.
  • Китай продвигает и переживает процесс непрерывной урбанизации с целевым уровнем 70% к 2030 году. Увеличение жилой площади, необходимой в городских районах в результате урбанизации, и желание горожан среднего класса улучшить свои жилищные условия могут иметь важное значение. сильно повлияет на рынок жилья и тем самым увеличит жилищное строительство в стране, что, в свою очередь, окажет положительное влияние на рынок лакокрасочных материалов.
  • Китай был в значительной степени движим обширными разработками в секторах жилого и коммерческого строительства и поддержан растущей экономикой. В Китае жилищные власти Гонконга предприняли ряд мер, чтобы подтолкнуть к началу строительства недорогого жилья. К 2030 году официальные лица планируют предоставить 301 000 единиц государственного жилья.
  • Ожидается, что рост уровня доходов домохозяйств в сочетании с миграцией населения из сельской местности в города будет продолжать стимулировать спрос на сектор жилищного строительства в стране. Повышенное внимание к доступному жилью как в государственном, так и в частном секторах стимулирует рост сектора жилищного строительства.​
  • Ожидается значительный рост нежилой инфраструктуры. Старение населения в стране создает спрос на строительство объектов здравоохранения и новых больниц. Структурные изменения в экономике Китая за последние несколько лет, когда сфера услуг занимает большую долю в общем ВВП, привели к строительству огромных коммерческих и офисных площадей.​
  • На Китай приходится более четверти мирового рынка ЛКМ. По данным Китайской национальной ассоциации лакокрасочной промышленности, в последние годы в отрасли наблюдается рост на 7%. Было подсчитано, что с 2019 года публично сообщалось о строительстве не менее 10 крупных инвестиционных проектов покрытий в Китае. Компания Nippon воспользовалась ситуацией на рынке, модернизировав процесс производства покрытий на своих новых заводах в Китае.
  • Китай остается крупнейшей в мире страной-производителем автомобилей и автомобильным рынком с 2009 года. По данным Китайской ассоциации производителей автомобилей (CAAM), общий объем производства автомобилей с начала года с января по декабрь составил 25,225 млн единиц в 2020 году, что на 2,0% меньше, чем в прошлом году. аналогичный период предыдущего года. По данным OICA, производство автомобилей в 2021 году в стране достигло 26,08 млн единиц, увеличившись на 3% по сравнению с 25,23 млн единиц в 2020 году.
  • Китай является вторым по величине потребителем нефти и газа в мире, но только шестым по величине их производителем. Как крупный потребитель нефти, потребление нефти в Китае увеличивается из года в год с колеблющимися темпами роста. Однако, поскольку предложение нефти по-прежнему не может удовлетворить спрос, Китай в основном полагается на импорт.
  • Эти факторы, в свою очередь, как ожидается, повлияют на спрос на лакокрасочные материалы в регионе в течение прогнозируемого периода.
Paints and Coatings Market - Regional Trends

Конкурентная среда

Мировой рынок красок и покрытий носит частично консолидированный характер, при этом на 12 ведущих игроков приходится более 60% доли рынка. Крупнейшие компании включают The Sherwin-Williams Company, PPG Industries Inc., Akzo Nobel NV, Nippon Paint Holdings Co. Ltd и RPM International Inc.

Основные игроки

  1. PPG Industries Inc.

  2. RPM International Inc.

  3. The Sherwin-Williams Company

  4. Akzo Nobel NV

  5. Nippon Paint Holdings Co., Ltd.

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

Akzo Nobel NV, PPG Industries Inc., RPM International Inc., Nippon Paint Holdings Co., Ltd., The Sherwin-Williams Company

Конкурентная среда

Мировой рынок красок и покрытий носит частично консолидированный характер, при этом на 12 ведущих игроков приходится более 60% доли рынка. Крупнейшие компании включают The Sherwin-Williams Company, PPG Industries Inc., Akzo Nobel NV, Nippon Paint Holdings Co. Ltd и RPM International Inc.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Drivers

      1. 4.1.1 Rapidly Increasing Construction Activities

      2. 4.1.2 Growth in the Furniture Market

      3. 4.1.3 Diversification of Oil and Other Industries in the Middle East

    2. 4.2 Restraints

      1. 4.2.1 Rising Environmental Concerns

    3. 4.3 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products and Services

      5. 4.4.5 Degree of Competition

    5. 4.5 Regulatory Policy Analysis

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Resin

      1. 5.1.1 Acrylic

      2. 5.1.2 Alkyd

      3. 5.1.3 Polyurethane

      4. 5.1.4 Epoxy

      5. 5.1.5 Polyester

      6. 5.1.6 Other Resin Types

    2. 5.2 Technology

      1. 5.2.1 Water-borne

      2. 5.2.2 Solvent-borne

      3. 5.2.3 Powder Coating

      4. 5.2.4 UV-cured Coating

    3. 5.3 End-user Industry

      1. 5.3.1 Architectural

      2. 5.3.2 Automotive

      3. 5.3.3 Wood

      4. 5.3.4 Protective Coating

      5. 5.3.5 General Industrial

      6. 5.3.6 Transportation

      7. 5.3.7 Packaging

    4. 5.4 Geography

      1. 5.4.1 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.4.1.1 China (Including Taiwan)

        2. 5.4.1.2 India

        3. 5.4.1.3 Japan

        4. 5.4.1.4 Indonesia

        5. 5.4.1.5 Australia & New Zealand

        6. 5.4.1.6 South Korea

        7. 5.4.1.7 Thailand

        8. 5.4.1.8 Malaysia

        9. 5.4.1.9 Philippines

        10. 5.4.1.10 Bangladesh

        11. 5.4.1.11 Vietnam

        12. 5.4.1.12 Singapore

        13. 5.4.1.13 Sri Lanka

        14. 5.4.1.14 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      2. 5.4.2 North America

        1. 5.4.2.1 United States

        2. 5.4.2.2 Canada

        3. 5.4.2.3 Mexico

      3. 5.4.3 Europe

        1. 5.4.3.1 Germany

        2. 5.4.3.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.4.3.3 France

        4. 5.4.3.4 Italy

        5. 5.4.3.5 Benelux

        6. 5.4.3.6 Russia

        7. 5.4.3.7 Turkey

        8. 5.4.3.8 Switzerland

        9. 5.4.3.9 Scandinavian Countries

        10. 5.4.3.10 Poland

        11. 5.4.3.11 Portugal

        12. 5.4.3.12 Spain

        13. 5.4.3.13 Rest of Europe

      4. 5.4.4 South America

        1. 5.4.4.1 Brazil

        2. 5.4.4.2 Argentina

        3. 5.4.4.3 Colombia

        4. 5.4.4.4 Chile

        5. 5.4.4.5 Rest of South America

      5. 5.4.5 Middle East

        1. 5.4.5.1 Saudi Arabia

        2. 5.4.5.2 Qatar

        3. 5.4.5.3 United Arab Emirates

        4. 5.4.5.4 Kuwait

        5. 5.4.5.5 Egypt

        6. 5.4.5.6 Rest of Middle East

      6. 5.4.6 Africa

        1. 5.4.6.1 South Africa

        2. 5.4.6.2 Nigeria

        3. 5.4.6.3 Algeria

        4. 5.4.6.4 Morocco

        5. 5.4.6.5 Rest of Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Mergers and Acquisitions, Joint Ventures, Collaborations, and Agreements

    2. 6.2 Market Share (%) Analysis

    3. 6.3 Strategies Adopted by Leading Players

    4. 6.4 Company Profiles

      1. 6.4.1 Akzo Nobel NV

      2. 6.4.2 Asian Paints

      3. 6.4.3 Axalta

      4. 6.4.4 BASF SE

      5. 6.4.5 Beckers Group

      6. 6.4.6 Benjamin Moore & Co.

      7. 6.4.7 Berger Paints India Limited

      8. 6.4.8 Chugoku Marine Paints Ltd

      9. 6.4.9 DAW SE

      10. 6.4.10 Hempel AS

      11. 6.4.11 Jazeera Paints

      12. 6.4.12 Jotun

      13. 6.4.13 Kansai Paint Co. Ltd

      14. 6.4.14 Kelly-Moore Paints

      15. 6.4.15 Masco Corporation

      16. 6.4.16 NATIONAL PAINTS FACTORIES CO. LTD

      17. 6.4.17 Nippon Paint Holdings Co. Ltd

      18. 6.4.18 NOROO Paint & Coatings Co. Ltd

      19. 6.4.19 PPG Industries Inc.

      20. 6.4.20 RPM International Inc.

      21. 6.4.21 Russian Paints Company

      22. 6.4.22 SK KAKEN Co. Ltd

      23. 6.4.23 The Sherwin-Williams Company

    5. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

    1. 7.1 Advent of Eco-friendly Paint and Coating Resins

    2. 7.2 Anti-bacterial Paints and Coatings

    3. 7.3 Growing Construction Opportunities in Africa

**Subject to Availability
You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Рынок красок и покрытий изучается с 2018 по 2028 годы.

Рынок красок и покрытий будет расти со среднегодовым темпом роста более 4% в течение следующих 5 лет.

Рынок красок и покрытий оценивается в 137 100 миллионов долларов США в 2018 году.

Рынок красок и покрытий оценивается в 172960 миллионов долларов США в 2028 году.

Азиатско-Тихоокеанский регион демонстрирует самый высокий среднегодовой темп роста в 2018–2028 годах.

Азиатско-Тихоокеанский регион будет иметь самую высокую долю в 2021 году.

PPG Industries Inc., RPM International Inc., The Sherwin-Williams Company, Akzo Nobel NV, Nippon Paint Holdings Co., Ltd. являются основными компаниями, работающими на рынке красок и покрытий.

close-icon
80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Paints and Coatings Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2022 - 2027)

The Paints and Coatings Market is segmented by Resin (Acrylic, Alkyd, Polyurethane, Epoxy, Polyester, and Other Resin Types), Technology (Water-borne, Solvent-borne, Powder Coating, and UV-cured Coating), End-user Industry (Architectural, Automotive, Wood, Protective Coating, General Industrial, Transportation, and Packaging), and Geography (Asia-Pacific, North America, Europe, South America, the Middle East, and Africa). The report offers market size and forecasts for the Paints and Coatings Market in revenue (USD million) for all the above segments.

INSTANT ACCESS

Market Snapshot

Paints and Coatings Market Summary
Study Period: 2017-2027
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: Asia Pacific
CAGR: >4 %
Paints and Coatings Market Major Players

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The global paints and coatings market was valued at around USD 137,100 million in 2021, and it is expected to register a CAGR of more than 4% during the forecast period, 2022-2027.

The COVID-19 pandemic had a negative impact on the paints and coatings market. However, the market has now been estimated to have reached pre-pandemic levels.

  • In the short term, the major factors driving the market studied are rapidly increasing construction activities, growth in the furniture market, and diversification of oil and other industries in the Middle East.
  • Rising environmental concerns are expected to hinder the growth of the market studied.
  • Architectural coatings dominated the market, and the segment is expected to grow during the forecast period, owing to the increasing construction activities across the world.
  • Asia-Pacific dominated the market across the world, with the largest consumption from countries such as China, India, and Japan.

Scope of the Report

The paints and coatings market is segmented by resin, technology, end-user industry, and geography. By resin, the market is segmented into acrylic, alkyd, polyurethane, epoxy, polyester, and other resin types. By technology, the market is segmented into water-borne, solvent-borne, powder coating, and UV-cured coating. By end-user industry, the market is segmented into architectural, automotive, wood, protective coating, general industrial, transportation, and packaging. The report also covers the market size and forecasts for the paints and coatings market in 41 countries across major regions. For each segment, the market sizing and forecasts have been done on the basis of revenue (USD million).

Resin
Acrylic
Alkyd
Polyurethane
Epoxy
Polyester
Other Resin Types
Technology
Water-borne
Solvent-borne
Powder Coating
UV-cured Coating
End-user Industry
Architectural
Automotive
Wood
Protective Coating
General Industrial
Transportation
Packaging
Geography
Asia-Pacific
China (Including Taiwan)
India
Japan
Indonesia
Australia & New Zealand
South Korea
Thailand
Malaysia
Philippines
Bangladesh
Vietnam
Singapore
Sri Lanka
Rest of Asia-Pacific
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Italy
Benelux
Russia
Turkey
Switzerland
Scandinavian Countries
Poland
Portugal
Spain
Rest of Europe
South America
Brazil
Argentina
Colombia
Chile
Rest of South America
Middle East
Saudi Arabia
Qatar
United Arab Emirates
Kuwait
Egypt
Rest of Middle East
Africa
South Africa
Nigeria
Algeria
Morocco
Rest of Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Architectural to Dominate the Market

  • Architectural paints and coatings are by far the largest segment in the paints and coatings industry. Architectural coatings are meant to protect and decorate surface features. They are used to coat buildings and homes. Most are designated for specific uses, such as roof coatings, wall paints, or deck finishes. No matter its use, each architectural coating must provide certain decorative, durable, and protective functions.
  • Architectural coatings are used in applications for commercial purposes, such as office buildings, warehouses, retail convenience stores, shopping malls, and residential buildings. Such coatings can be applied on outer surfaces and inner surfaces and include sealers or specialty products. Architectural coatings can be mainly divided into interior and exterior coatings.
  • Durability, hide, stain resistance, and low VOC are some of the integral functionalities in every interior paint formulation. They are not only used for decoration but also for a wide range of functionalities depending on the type of environment. For example, because of moisture, bathroom walls need wipe-ability to keep them clean. Paints with glossier sheens have a tighter molecular structure than flat paints, making them more difficult for moisture to penetrate. Hence, they are used in bathrooms.
  • In the living room and bedroom walls, most homeowners prefer the color of their choices. Hence, acrylic paints are preferred, as they offer a wide variety of choices in terms of color and shade. Most ceilings are painted flat white so that they reflect the most ambient light in the room. This makes the room feel more spacious and relaxed. Basement masonry walls can often weep water. Elastomeric paints that expand on pressure are used in this area to prevent water leakage.
  • Paints and coatings for exterior walls need ease of application and durability, along with protection from extreme weather. Advances in paint technology, especially in acrylic formulations, offer a wide range of weatherproof coatings.
  • North America witnessed healthy growth in the commercial construction sector due to significant investments in the United States and Canada. According to the US Census Bureau, in December 2021, construction spending in the country was estimated at a seasonally adjusted annual rate of USD 1,639.9 billion, 0.2% more than the revised November estimate of USD 1,636.5 billion. Moreover, in 2021, construction spending amounted to USD 1,589.0 billion, 8.2% above USD 1,469.2 billion in 2020, thereby increasing the consumption of paints and coatings in construction applications.
  • Europe also witnesses an expansion in retail, with the new construction of malls across the continent. The Metropol Mall in Turkey, Mall of Scandinavia in Sweden, Westfield Bradford in the United Kingdom, Weberzeile Ried in Austria, Mall of Europe in Belgium, and Lublin Mall in Poland are some of the recent constructions in Europe.
  • The increasing middle-class population, coupled with their increasing disposable income, has facilitated the expansion in the middle-class housing segment, thereby driving the residential construction. The Asia-Pacific region is the largest market for architectural coatings owing to the growth in the construction industry.
  • For instance, the Indian government is pushing considerable projects in the next few years. The government’s Housing for All initiative aims to build more than 20 million affordable homes for the urban poor by 2022. This may provide a significant boost to residential construction.
  • Due to all the above-mentioned factors, the market for paints and coatings is expected to witness significant growth during the forecast period.
Paints and Coatings Market, Revenue Share (%), by End-user Industry, Global, 2021

China to Dominate the Market in the Asia-Pacific Region

  • China is globally recognized for its architectural boom. The demand for low-cost housing and commercial housing is the reason for its growth in recent years.
  • China is promoting and undergoing a process of continuous urbanization, with a target rate of 70% for 2030. The increased living spaces required in the urban areas resulting from urbanization and the desire of middle-class urban residents to improve their living conditions may have a profound effect on the housing market and thereby increase the residential construction in the country, which in turn will have a positive impact on the paints and coatings market.​
  • China has been majorly driven by the ample developments in the residential and commercial construction sectors and supported by the growing economy. In China, the housing authorities of Hong Kong launched several measures to push start the construction of low-cost housing. The officials aim to provide 301,000 public housing units by 2030. ​
  • The rising household income levels, combined with the population migrating from rural to urban areas, are expected to continue to drive the demand for the residential construction sector in the country. The increased focus on affordable housing by both the public and private sectors is driving the growth in the residential construction sector.​
  • Non-residential infrastructure is expected to grow considerably. The aging population in the country is creating a demand for the construction of healthcare facilities and new hospitals. The structural changes in the Chinese economy over the past few years, with the service sector taking a larger share in the total GDP, gave rise to the construction of huge commercial and office spaces.​
  • China accounts for more than one-fourth of the global coatings market. According to the China National Coatings Industry Association, the industry has been registering a growth of 7% in recent years. It was estimated that from 2019, the construction of at least 10 large coatings investment projects in China has been reported publicly. Nippon has been tapping into this market situation by upgrading its coatings production process in its new plants in China.
  • China has remained the world's largest automotive manufacturing country and automotive market since 2009. According to the China Association of Automotive Manufacturers(CAAM), overall YTD vehicle production for January through December totaled 25.225 million units in 2020, with a 2.0% decline compared to the same period in the previous year. According to OICA, the automotive production in 2021 in the country reached 26.08 million units, a 3% increase compared to 25.23 million units in 2020.
  • China is the world's second-largest consumer of oil and gas but only the sixth largest producer of the same. As a big oil consumer, China's oil consumption is increasing year by year with fluctuating growth rates. However, as the oil supply still cannot meet the demand, China mainly relies on imports.
  • These factors, in turn, are expected to affect the demand for paints and coatings in the region during the forecast period.
Paints and Coatings Market - Growth Rate by Region, 2022 - 2027

Competitive Landscape

The global paints and coatings market is partially consolidated in nature, with the top 12 players accounting for more than 60% of the market share. The major companies include The Sherwin-Williams Company, PPG Industries Inc., Akzo Nobel NV, Nippon Paint Holdings Co. Ltd, and RPM International Inc.

Recent Developments

  • In February 2022, The Sherwin-Williams Company signed an agreement with the state of North Carolina, Iredell County, and the city of Statesville to significantly expand its architectural paint and coatings manufacturing capacity and establish a larger distribution facility in Statesville, North Carolina. Sherwin-Williams plans to invest a minimum of USD 300 million in the project.
  • In February 2022, PPG announced to acquire Powder Coating Manufacturing Business in Arsonsisi, an industrial coating company based in Milan, Italy.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Drivers

      1. 4.1.1 Rapidly Increasing Construction Activities

      2. 4.1.2 Growth in the Furniture Market

      3. 4.1.3 Diversification of Oil and Other Industries in the Middle East

    2. 4.2 Restraints

      1. 4.2.1 Rising Environmental Concerns

    3. 4.3 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products and Services

      5. 4.4.5 Degree of Competition

    5. 4.5 Regulatory Policy Analysis

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Resin

      1. 5.1.1 Acrylic

      2. 5.1.2 Alkyd

      3. 5.1.3 Polyurethane

      4. 5.1.4 Epoxy

      5. 5.1.5 Polyester

      6. 5.1.6 Other Resin Types

    2. 5.2 Technology

      1. 5.2.1 Water-borne

      2. 5.2.2 Solvent-borne

      3. 5.2.3 Powder Coating

      4. 5.2.4 UV-cured Coating

    3. 5.3 End-user Industry

      1. 5.3.1 Architectural

      2. 5.3.2 Automotive

      3. 5.3.3 Wood

      4. 5.3.4 Protective Coating

      5. 5.3.5 General Industrial

      6. 5.3.6 Transportation

      7. 5.3.7 Packaging

    4. 5.4 Geography

      1. 5.4.1 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.4.1.1 China (Including Taiwan)

        2. 5.4.1.2 India

        3. 5.4.1.3 Japan

        4. 5.4.1.4 Indonesia

        5. 5.4.1.5 Australia & New Zealand

        6. 5.4.1.6 South Korea

        7. 5.4.1.7 Thailand

        8. 5.4.1.8 Malaysia

        9. 5.4.1.9 Philippines

        10. 5.4.1.10 Bangladesh

        11. 5.4.1.11 Vietnam

        12. 5.4.1.12 Singapore

        13. 5.4.1.13 Sri Lanka

        14. 5.4.1.14 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      2. 5.4.2 North America

        1. 5.4.2.1 United States

        2. 5.4.2.2 Canada

        3. 5.4.2.3 Mexico

      3. 5.4.3 Europe

        1. 5.4.3.1 Germany

        2. 5.4.3.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.4.3.3 France

        4. 5.4.3.4 Italy

        5. 5.4.3.5 Benelux

        6. 5.4.3.6 Russia

        7. 5.4.3.7 Turkey

        8. 5.4.3.8 Switzerland

        9. 5.4.3.9 Scandinavian Countries

        10. 5.4.3.10 Poland

        11. 5.4.3.11 Portugal

        12. 5.4.3.12 Spain

        13. 5.4.3.13 Rest of Europe

      4. 5.4.4 South America

        1. 5.4.4.1 Brazil

        2. 5.4.4.2 Argentina

        3. 5.4.4.3 Colombia

        4. 5.4.4.4 Chile

        5. 5.4.4.5 Rest of South America

      5. 5.4.5 Middle East

        1. 5.4.5.1 Saudi Arabia

        2. 5.4.5.2 Qatar

        3. 5.4.5.3 United Arab Emirates

        4. 5.4.5.4 Kuwait

        5. 5.4.5.5 Egypt

        6. 5.4.5.6 Rest of Middle East

      6. 5.4.6 Africa

        1. 5.4.6.1 South Africa

        2. 5.4.6.2 Nigeria

        3. 5.4.6.3 Algeria

        4. 5.4.6.4 Morocco

        5. 5.4.6.5 Rest of Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Mergers and Acquisitions, Joint Ventures, Collaborations, and Agreements

    2. 6.2 Market Share (%) Analysis

    3. 6.3 Strategies Adopted by Leading Players

    4. 6.4 Company Profiles

      1. 6.4.1 Akzo Nobel NV

      2. 6.4.2 Asian Paints

      3. 6.4.3 Axalta

      4. 6.4.4 BASF SE

      5. 6.4.5 Beckers Group

      6. 6.4.6 Benjamin Moore & Co.

      7. 6.4.7 Berger Paints India Limited

      8. 6.4.8 Chugoku Marine Paints Ltd

      9. 6.4.9 DAW SE

      10. 6.4.10 Hempel AS

      11. 6.4.11 Jazeera Paints

      12. 6.4.12 Jotun

      13. 6.4.13 Kansai Paint Co. Ltd

      14. 6.4.14 Kelly-Moore Paints

      15. 6.4.15 Masco Corporation

      16. 6.4.16 NATIONAL PAINTS FACTORIES CO. LTD

      17. 6.4.17 Nippon Paint Holdings Co. Ltd

      18. 6.4.18 NOROO Paint & Coatings Co. Ltd

      19. 6.4.19 PPG Industries Inc.

      20. 6.4.20 RPM International Inc.

      21. 6.4.21 Russian Paints Company

      22. 6.4.22 SK KAKEN Co. Ltd

      23. 6.4.23 The Sherwin-Williams Company

    5. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

    1. 7.1 Advent of Eco-friendly Paint and Coating Resins

    2. 7.2 Anti-bacterial Paints and Coatings

    3. 7.3 Growing Construction Opportunities in Africa

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Paints and Coatings Market market is studied from 2017 - 2027.

The Paints and Coatings Market is growing at a CAGR of >4% over the next 5 years.

The Paints and Coatings Market is valued at 137100 Million USD in 2017.

The Paints and Coatings Market is valued at 172960 Million USD in 2027.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

Asia Pacific holds highest share in 2021.

PPG Industries Inc., RPM International Inc., The Sherwin-Williams Company, Akzo Nobel NV, Nippon Paint Holdings Co., Ltd. are the major companies operating in Paints and Coatings Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!