Markt für Farben und Beschichtungen – Wachstum, Trends, Auswirkungen von COVID-19 und Prognosen (2022 – 2027)

Der Markt für Farben und Beschichtungen ist nach Harz (Acryl-, Alkyd-, Polyurethan-, Epoxid-, Polyester- und andere Harztypen), Technologie (wasserbasierte, lösungsmittelbasierte, Pulverbeschichtung und UV-gehärtete Beschichtung) und Endbenutzerindustrie unterteilt (Architektur, Automobil, Holz, Schutzbeschichtung, allgemeine Industrie, Transport und Verpackung) und Geografie (Asien-Pazifik, Nordamerika, Europa, Südamerika, Naher Osten und Afrika). Der Bericht bietet Marktgröße und Prognosen für den Umsatz des Marktes für Farben und Beschichtungen (Mio. USD) für alle oben genannten Segmente.

INSTANT ACCESS

Markt-Snapshot

Paints And Coatings Market Overview
Study Period: 2017-2027
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: Asia Pacific
CAGR: >4 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Marktübersicht

Der weltweite Markt für Farben und Beschichtungen wurde im Jahr 2021 auf rund 137.100 Millionen USD geschätzt, und es wird erwartet, dass er im Prognosezeitraum 2022-2027 eine CAGR von mehr als 4 % verzeichnen wird.

Die Covid-19-Pandemie wirkte sich negativ auf den Markt für Farben und Lacke aus, es wird jedoch geschätzt, dass der Markt jetzt das Niveau vor der Pandemie erreicht hat.

  • Kurzfristig sind die wichtigsten Faktoren, die den untersuchten Markt antreiben, die schnell steigenden Bauaktivitäten, das Wachstum auf dem Möbelmarkt und die Diversifizierung der Öl- und anderer Industrien im Nahen Osten.
  •  Es wird erwartet, dass zunehmende Umweltbedenken das Wachstum des untersuchten Marktes behindern.
  • Bautenfarben dominierten den Markt, und das Segment dürfte im Prognosezeitraum aufgrund der weltweit zunehmenden Bauaktivitäten wachsen.
  • Asien-Pazifik dominierte den Markt auf der ganzen Welt, mit dem größten Verbrauch aus Ländern wie China, Indien und Japan.

Umfang des Berichts

Der Markt für Farben und Beschichtungen ist nach Harz, Technologie, Endverbraucherindustrie und Geografie unterteilt. Nach Harz ist der Markt in Acryl-, Alkyd-, Polyurethan-, Epoxid-, Polyester- und andere Harztypen unterteilt. Technisch ist der Markt in wasserbasierte, lösungsmittelbasierte, Pulverbeschichtungen und UV-härtende Beschichtungen unterteilt. Nach Endverbraucherbranche ist der Markt in Architektur, Automobil, Holz, Schutzbeschichtung, allgemeine Industrie, Transport und Verpackung unterteilt. Der Bericht deckt auch die Marktgröße und Prognosen für den Farben- und Beschichtungsmarkt in 41 Ländern in den wichtigsten Regionen ab. Für jedes Segment wurden die Marktgröße und Prognosen auf der Grundlage des Umsatzes (Mio. USD) erstellt.

Resin
Acrylic
Alkyd
Polyurethane
Epoxy
Polyester
Other Resin Types
Technology
Water-borne
Solvent-borne
Powder Coating
UV-cured Coating
End-user Industry
Architectural
Automotive
Wood
Protective Coating
General Industrial
Transportation
Packaging
Geography
Asia-Pacific
China (Including Taiwan)
India
Japan
Indonesia
Australia & New-Zealand
South Korea
Thailand
Malaysia
Philippines
Bangladesh
Vietnam
Singapore
Sri Lanka
Rest of Asia-Pacific
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Italy
Benelux
Russia
Turkey
Switzerland
Scandinavian Countries
Poland
Portugal
Spain
Rest of Europe
South America
Brazil
Argentina
Colombia
Chile
Rest of South America
Middle East
Saudi Arabia
Qatar
United Arab Emirates
Kuwait
Egypt
Rest of Middle East
Africa
South Africa
Nigeria
Algeria
Morocco
Rest of Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Wichtige Markttrends

Architektur, um den Markt zu dominieren

  • Bautenfarben und -lacke sind das mit Abstand größte Segment in der Farben- und Lackindustrie. Architekturbeschichtungen sollen Oberflächenmerkmale schützen und dekorieren. Sie werden verwendet, um Gebäude und Wohnungen zu beschichten. Die meisten sind für bestimmte Verwendungszwecke bestimmt, wie z. B. Dachbeschichtungen, Wandfarben oder Decklackierungen. Unabhängig von ihrer Verwendung muss jede Baubeschichtung bestimmte dekorative, dauerhafte und schützende Funktionen erfüllen.
  • Bautenbeschichtungen werden in Anwendungen für gewerbliche Zwecke verwendet, wie beispielsweise Bürogebäude, Lagerhäuser, Einzelhandelsläden und Einkaufszentren sowie Wohngebäude. Solche Beschichtungen können auf Außenflächen und Innenflächen aufgebracht werden und beinhalten Versiegelungen oder Spezialprodukte. Bautenanstriche lassen sich hauptsächlich in Innen- und Außenanstriche unterteilen.
  • Haltbarkeit, Deckkraft, Fleckenbeständigkeit und niedriger VOC-Gehalt sind einige der integralen Funktionen in jeder Innenfarbenformulierung. Sie werden nicht nur zur Dekoration verwendet, sondern je nach Art der Umgebung auch für eine Vielzahl von Funktionen. Aufgrund von Feuchtigkeit müssen beispielsweise Badezimmerwände abwischbar sein, um sie sauber zu halten. Farben mit glänzenderem Glanz haben eine engere Molekularstruktur als matte Farben, was das Eindringen von Feuchtigkeit erschwert. Daher werden sie in Badezimmern verwendet.
  • In Wohnzimmer- und Schlafzimmerwänden bevorzugen die meisten Hausbesitzer die Farbe ihrer Wahl. Daher werden Acrylfarben bevorzugt, da sie eine große Auswahl an Farben und Schattierungen bieten. Die meisten Decken sind mattweiß gestrichen, damit sie das meiste Umgebungslicht im Raum reflektieren. Dadurch wirkt der Raum großzügiger und entspannter. Kellermauerwerk kann oft Wasser tropfen. In diesem Bereich werden Elastomerfarben verwendet, die sich unter Druck ausdehnen, um Wasseraustritt zu verhindern.
  • Farben und Beschichtungen für Außenwände müssen einfach aufzutragen und haltbar sein, zusammen mit Schutz vor extremem Wetter. Fortschritte in der Lacktechnologie, insbesondere bei Acrylformulierungen, bieten eine große Auswahl an wetterfesten Beschichtungen.
  • Nordamerika verzeichnet aufgrund erheblicher Investitionen in den Vereinigten Staaten und Kanada ein gesundes Wachstum im gewerblichen Bausektor. Nach Angaben des US Census Bureau wurden die Bauausgaben im Land im Dezember 2021 auf eine saisonbereinigte Jahresrate von 1.639,9 Mrd. USD geschätzt, 0,2 % mehr als die revidierte Novemberschätzung von 1.636,5 Mrd. USD. Darüber hinaus beliefen sich die Bauausgaben im Jahr 2021 auf 1.589,0 Milliarden US-Dollar, 8,2 % über den 1.469,2 Milliarden US-Dollar im Jahr 2020, wodurch der Verbrauch von Farben und Beschichtungen für Bauanwendungen anstieg.
  • Europa erlebt auch eine Expansion im Einzelhandel, mit dem Neubau von Einkaufszentren auf dem ganzen Kontinent. Die Metropol Mall in der Türkei, die Mall of Scandinavia in Schweden, Westfield Bradford im Vereinigten Königreich, die Weberzeile Ried in Österreich, die Mall of Europe in Belgien und die Lublin Mall in Polen sind einige der jüngsten Bauten in Europa.
  • Die wachsende bürgerliche Bevölkerung, gepaart mit ihrem steigenden verfügbaren Einkommen, hat die Ausweitung des bürgerlichen Wohnungssegments erleichtert und damit den Wohnungsbau vorangetrieben. Der asiatisch-pazifische Raum ist aufgrund des Wachstums in der Bauindustrie der größte Markt für Bautenfarben.
  • So treibt die indische Regierung in den nächsten Jahren erhebliche Projekte voran. Die Regierungsinitiative „Wohnen für alle“ zielt darauf ab, bis 2022 mehr als 20 Millionen bezahlbare Wohnungen für die städtische Armut zu bauen. Dies könnte dem Wohnungsbau einen erheblichen Schub verleihen.
  • Aufgrund all der oben genannten Faktoren wird für den Markt für Farben und Lacke im Prognosezeitraum ein deutliches Wachstum erwartet.
Paints and Coatings Market - Segmentation Trends

China dominiert den Markt im asiatisch-pazifischen Raum

  • China ist weltweit für seinen architektonischen Boom bekannt. Die Nachfrage nach kostengünstigem Wohnraum und Gewerbewohnungen ist der Grund für das Wachstum in den letzten Jahren.
  • China fördert und durchläuft einen Prozess der kontinuierlichen Urbanisierung mit einer Zielquote von 70 % für 2030. Der durch die Urbanisierung bedingte erhöhte Wohnraumbedarf in den städtischen Gebieten und der Wunsch der städtischen Mittelschicht, ihre Lebensbedingungen zu verbessern, können eine Rolle spielen tiefgreifende Auswirkungen auf den Wohnungsmarkt und dadurch die Steigerung des Wohnungsbaus im Land, was sich wiederum positiv auf den Farben- und Beschichtungsmarkt auswirken wird
  • China wurde maßgeblich von den umfangreichen Entwicklungen im Wohnungs- und Gewerbebausektor angetrieben und von der wachsenden Wirtschaft unterstützt. In China haben die Wohnungsbehörden von Hongkong mehrere Maßnahmen ergriffen, um den Bau von kostengünstigen Wohnungen voranzutreiben. Bis 2030 wollen die Beamten 301.000 Sozialwohnungen bereitstellen
  • Es wird erwartet, dass das steigende Haushaltseinkommen in Verbindung mit der Abwanderung der Bevölkerung aus ländlichen in städtische Gebiete die Nachfrage nach dem Wohnungsbausektor im Land weiter ankurbeln wird. Der zunehmende Fokus auf bezahlbaren Wohnraum sowohl im öffentlichen als auch im privaten Sektor treibt das Wachstum im Wohnungsbausektor voran
  • Es wird erwartet, dass die Nichtwohninfrastruktur erheblich wachsen wird. Die alternde Bevölkerung des Landes schafft eine Nachfrage nach dem Bau von Gesundheitseinrichtungen und neuen Krankenhäusern. Die strukturellen Veränderungen in der chinesischen Wirtschaft in den letzten Jahren mit einem größeren Anteil des Dienstleistungssektors am gesamten BIP führten zum Bau riesiger Gewerbe- und Büroflächen
  • Auf China entfällt mehr als ein Viertel des globalen Beschichtungsmarktes. Laut der China National Coatings Industry Association verzeichnete die Branche in den letzten Jahren ein Wachstum von 7 %. Es wurde geschätzt, dass ab 2019 der Bau von mindestens zehn großen Investitionsprojekten für Beschichtungen in China öffentlich gemeldet wurde. Nippon hat sich diese Marktsituation zunutze gemacht, indem es seinen Produktionsprozess für Beschichtungen in seinen neuen Werken in China modernisiert hat.
  • China bleibt seit 2009 das weltweit größte Automobilherstellungsland und der größte Automobilmarkt. Laut der China Association of Automotive Manufacturers (CAAM) belief sich die gesamte YTD-Fahrzeugproduktion von Januar bis Dezember im Jahr 2020 auf 25,225 Millionen Einheiten, was einem Rückgang von 2,0 % im Vergleich zum gleichen Zeitraum entspricht im Vorjahr. Darüber hinaus erreichte die Automobilproduktion im Jahr 2021 laut OICA im Land 26,08 Millionen Einheiten, eine Steigerung von 3 % gegenüber 25,23 Millionen Einheiten im Jahr 2020.
  • Darüber hinaus ist China der weltweit zweitgrößte Verbraucher von Öl und Gas, aber nur der sechstgrößte Produzent derselben. Als großer Ölverbraucher steigt Chinas Ölverbrauch Jahr für Jahr mit schwankenden Wachstumsraten. Da das Ölangebot die Nachfrage jedoch immer noch nicht decken kann, ist China hauptsächlich auf Importe angewiesen.
  • Diese Faktoren wiederum dürften sich im Prognosezeitraum auf die Nachfrage nach Farben und Lacken in der Region auswirken.
Paints and Coatings Market - Regional Trends

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der weltweite Markt für Farben und Beschichtungen ist von Natur aus teilweise konsolidiert, wobei die Top-12-Player mehr als 60 % des Marktanteils ausmachen. Zu den wichtigsten Unternehmen gehören unter anderem The Sherwin-Williams Company, PPG Industries Inc., Akzo Nobel NV, Nippon Paint Holdings Co., Ltd und RPM International Inc.

Hauptakteure

  1. PPG Industries Inc.

  2. RPM International Inc.

  3. The Sherwin-Williams Company

  4. Akzo Nobel NV

  5. Nippon Paint Holdings Co., Ltd.

Akzo Nobel NV, PPG Industries Inc., RPM International Inc., Nippon Paint Holdings Co., Ltd., The Sherwin-Williams Company

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der weltweite Markt für Farben und Beschichtungen ist von Natur aus teilweise konsolidiert, wobei die Top-12-Player mehr als 60 % des Marktanteils ausmachen. Zu den wichtigsten Unternehmen gehören unter anderem The Sherwin-Williams Company, PPG Industries Inc., Akzo Nobel NV, Nippon Paint Holdings Co., Ltd und RPM International Inc.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Drivers

      1. 4.1.1 Rapidly Increasing Construction Activities

      2. 4.1.2 Growth in the Furniture Market

      3. 4.1.3 Diversification of Oil and Other Industries in the Middle East

    2. 4.2 Restraints

      1. 4.2.1 Rising Environmental Concerns

    3. 4.3 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products and Services

      5. 4.4.5 Degree of Competition

    5. 4.5 Regulatory Policy Analysis

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Resin

      1. 5.1.1 Acrylic

      2. 5.1.2 Alkyd

      3. 5.1.3 Polyurethane

      4. 5.1.4 Epoxy

      5. 5.1.5 Polyester

      6. 5.1.6 Other Resin Types

    2. 5.2 Technology

      1. 5.2.1 Water-borne

      2. 5.2.2 Solvent-borne

      3. 5.2.3 Powder Coating

      4. 5.2.4 UV-cured Coating

    3. 5.3 End-user Industry

      1. 5.3.1 Architectural

      2. 5.3.2 Automotive

      3. 5.3.3 Wood

      4. 5.3.4 Protective Coating

      5. 5.3.5 General Industrial

      6. 5.3.6 Transportation

      7. 5.3.7 Packaging

    4. 5.4 Geography

      1. 5.4.1 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.4.1.1 China (Including Taiwan)

        2. 5.4.1.2 India

        3. 5.4.1.3 Japan

        4. 5.4.1.4 Indonesia

        5. 5.4.1.5 Australia & New-Zealand

        6. 5.4.1.6 South Korea

        7. 5.4.1.7 Thailand

        8. 5.4.1.8 Malaysia

        9. 5.4.1.9 Philippines

        10. 5.4.1.10 Bangladesh

        11. 5.4.1.11 Vietnam

        12. 5.4.1.12 Singapore

        13. 5.4.1.13 Sri Lanka

        14. 5.4.1.14 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      2. 5.4.2 North America

        1. 5.4.2.1 United States

        2. 5.4.2.2 Canada

        3. 5.4.2.3 Mexico

      3. 5.4.3 Europe

        1. 5.4.3.1 Germany

        2. 5.4.3.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.4.3.3 France

        4. 5.4.3.4 Italy

        5. 5.4.3.5 Benelux

        6. 5.4.3.6 Russia

        7. 5.4.3.7 Turkey

        8. 5.4.3.8 Switzerland

        9. 5.4.3.9 Scandinavian Countries

        10. 5.4.3.10 Poland

        11. 5.4.3.11 Portugal

        12. 5.4.3.12 Spain

        13. 5.4.3.13 Rest of Europe

      4. 5.4.4 South America

        1. 5.4.4.1 Brazil

        2. 5.4.4.2 Argentina

        3. 5.4.4.3 Colombia

        4. 5.4.4.4 Chile

        5. 5.4.4.5 Rest of South America

      5. 5.4.5 Middle East

        1. 5.4.5.1 Saudi Arabia

        2. 5.4.5.2 Qatar

        3. 5.4.5.3 United Arab Emirates

        4. 5.4.5.4 Kuwait

        5. 5.4.5.5 Egypt

        6. 5.4.5.6 Rest of Middle East

      6. 5.4.6 Africa

        1. 5.4.6.1 South Africa

        2. 5.4.6.2 Nigeria

        3. 5.4.6.3 Algeria

        4. 5.4.6.4 Morocco

        5. 5.4.6.5 Rest of Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Mergers and Acquisitions, Joint Ventures, Collaborations, and Agreements

    2. 6.2 Market Share (%) Analysis

    3. 6.3 Strategies Adopted by Leading Players

    4. 6.4 Company Profiles

      1. 6.4.1 Akzo Nobel NV

      2. 6.4.2 Asian Paints

      3. 6.4.3 Axalta

      4. 6.4.4 BASF SE

      5. 6.4.5 Beckers Group

      6. 6.4.6 Benjamin Moore & Co.

      7. 6.4.7 Berger Paints India Limited

      8. 6.4.8 Chugoku Marine Paints Ltd

      9. 6.4.9 DAW SE

      10. 6.4.10 Hempel A/S

      11. 6.4.11 Jazeera Paints

      12. 6.4.12 Jotun

      13. 6.4.13 Kansai Paint Co. Ltd

      14. 6.4.14 Kelly-Moore Paints

      15. 6.4.15 Masco Corporation

      16. 6.4.16 NATIONAL PAINTS FACTORIES CO. LTD

      17. 6.4.17 Nippon Paint Holdings Co. Ltd

      18. 6.4.18 NOROO Paint & Coatings Co. Ltd

      19. 6.4.19 PPG Industries Inc.

      20. 6.4.20 RPM International Inc.

      21. 6.4.21 Russian Paints Company

      22. 6.4.22 SK KAKEN Co. Ltd

      23. 6.4.23 The Sherwin-Williams Company

    5. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

    1. 7.1 Advent of Environment-friendly Paint and Coating Resins

    2. 7.2 Anti-bacterial Paints and Coatings

    3. 7.3 Growing Construction Opportunities in Africa

**Subject to Availability
You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Der Markt für Farben und Beschichtungen wird von 2017 bis 2027 untersucht.

Der Markt für Farben und Beschichtungen wächst in den nächsten 5 Jahren mit einer CAGR von >4 %.

Der Markt für Farben und Beschichtungen wird 2017 auf 137100 Millionen USD geschätzt.

Der Markt für Farben und Beschichtungen wird im Jahr 2027 auf 172960 Millionen USD geschätzt.

Der asiatisch-pazifische Raum wächst zwischen 2021 und 2026 mit der höchsten CAGR.

Asien-Pazifik hält 2021 den höchsten Anteil.

PPG Industries Inc., RPM International Inc., The Sherwin-Williams Company, Akzo Nobel NV, Nippon Paint Holdings Co., Ltd. sind die wichtigsten Unternehmen, die auf dem Markt für Farben und Beschichtungen tätig sind.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Paints and Coatings Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2022 - 2027)

The Paints and Coatings Market is segmented by Resin (Acrylic, Alkyd, Polyurethane, Epoxy, Polyester, and Other Resin Types), Technology (Water-borne, Solvent-borne, Powder Coating, and UV-cured Coating), End-user Industry (Architectural, Automotive, Wood, Protective Coating, General Industrial, Transportation, and Packaging), and Geography (Asia-Pacific, North America, Europe, South America, the Middle East, and Africa). The report offers market size and forecasts for the Paints and Coatings Market in revenue (USD million) for all the above segments.

INSTANT ACCESS

Market Snapshot

Paints and Coatings Market Summary
Study Period: 2017-2027
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: Asia Pacific
CAGR: >4 %
Paints and Coatings Market Major Players

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The global paints and coatings market was valued at around USD 137,100 million in 2021, and it is expected to register a CAGR of more than 4% during the forecast period, 2022-2027.

The COVID-19 pandemic had a negative impact on the paints and coatings market. However, the market has now been estimated to have reached pre-pandemic levels.

  • In the short term, the major factors driving the market studied are rapidly increasing construction activities, growth in the furniture market, and diversification of oil and other industries in the Middle East.
  • Rising environmental concerns are expected to hinder the growth of the market studied.
  • Architectural coatings dominated the market, and the segment is expected to grow during the forecast period, owing to the increasing construction activities across the world.
  • Asia-Pacific dominated the market across the world, with the largest consumption from countries such as China, India, and Japan.

Scope of the Report

The paints and coatings market is segmented by resin, technology, end-user industry, and geography. By resin, the market is segmented into acrylic, alkyd, polyurethane, epoxy, polyester, and other resin types. By technology, the market is segmented into water-borne, solvent-borne, powder coating, and UV-cured coating. By end-user industry, the market is segmented into architectural, automotive, wood, protective coating, general industrial, transportation, and packaging. The report also covers the market size and forecasts for the paints and coatings market in 41 countries across major regions. For each segment, the market sizing and forecasts have been done on the basis of revenue (USD million).

Resin
Acrylic
Alkyd
Polyurethane
Epoxy
Polyester
Other Resin Types
Technology
Water-borne
Solvent-borne
Powder Coating
UV-cured Coating
End-user Industry
Architectural
Automotive
Wood
Protective Coating
General Industrial
Transportation
Packaging
Geography
Asia-Pacific
China (Including Taiwan)
India
Japan
Indonesia
Australia & New Zealand
South Korea
Thailand
Malaysia
Philippines
Bangladesh
Vietnam
Singapore
Sri Lanka
Rest of Asia-Pacific
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Italy
Benelux
Russia
Turkey
Switzerland
Scandinavian Countries
Poland
Portugal
Spain
Rest of Europe
South America
Brazil
Argentina
Colombia
Chile
Rest of South America
Middle East
Saudi Arabia
Qatar
United Arab Emirates
Kuwait
Egypt
Rest of Middle East
Africa
South Africa
Nigeria
Algeria
Morocco
Rest of Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Architectural to Dominate the Market

  • Architectural paints and coatings are by far the largest segment in the paints and coatings industry. Architectural coatings are meant to protect and decorate surface features. They are used to coat buildings and homes. Most are designated for specific uses, such as roof coatings, wall paints, or deck finishes. No matter its use, each architectural coating must provide certain decorative, durable, and protective functions.
  • Architectural coatings are used in applications for commercial purposes, such as office buildings, warehouses, retail convenience stores, shopping malls, and residential buildings. Such coatings can be applied on outer surfaces and inner surfaces and include sealers or specialty products. Architectural coatings can be mainly divided into interior and exterior coatings.
  • Durability, hide, stain resistance, and low VOC are some of the integral functionalities in every interior paint formulation. They are not only used for decoration but also for a wide range of functionalities depending on the type of environment. For example, because of moisture, bathroom walls need wipe-ability to keep them clean. Paints with glossier sheens have a tighter molecular structure than flat paints, making them more difficult for moisture to penetrate. Hence, they are used in bathrooms.
  • In the living room and bedroom walls, most homeowners prefer the color of their choices. Hence, acrylic paints are preferred, as they offer a wide variety of choices in terms of color and shade. Most ceilings are painted flat white so that they reflect the most ambient light in the room. This makes the room feel more spacious and relaxed. Basement masonry walls can often weep water. Elastomeric paints that expand on pressure are used in this area to prevent water leakage.
  • Paints and coatings for exterior walls need ease of application and durability, along with protection from extreme weather. Advances in paint technology, especially in acrylic formulations, offer a wide range of weatherproof coatings.
  • North America witnessed healthy growth in the commercial construction sector due to significant investments in the United States and Canada. According to the US Census Bureau, in December 2021, construction spending in the country was estimated at a seasonally adjusted annual rate of USD 1,639.9 billion, 0.2% more than the revised November estimate of USD 1,636.5 billion. Moreover, in 2021, construction spending amounted to USD 1,589.0 billion, 8.2% above USD 1,469.2 billion in 2020, thereby increasing the consumption of paints and coatings in construction applications.
  • Europe also witnesses an expansion in retail, with the new construction of malls across the continent. The Metropol Mall in Turkey, Mall of Scandinavia in Sweden, Westfield Bradford in the United Kingdom, Weberzeile Ried in Austria, Mall of Europe in Belgium, and Lublin Mall in Poland are some of the recent constructions in Europe.
  • The increasing middle-class population, coupled with their increasing disposable income, has facilitated the expansion in the middle-class housing segment, thereby driving the residential construction. The Asia-Pacific region is the largest market for architectural coatings owing to the growth in the construction industry.
  • For instance, the Indian government is pushing considerable projects in the next few years. The government’s Housing for All initiative aims to build more than 20 million affordable homes for the urban poor by 2022. This may provide a significant boost to residential construction.
  • Due to all the above-mentioned factors, the market for paints and coatings is expected to witness significant growth during the forecast period.
Paints and Coatings Market, Revenue Share (%), by End-user Industry, Global, 2021

China to Dominate the Market in the Asia-Pacific Region

  • China is globally recognized for its architectural boom. The demand for low-cost housing and commercial housing is the reason for its growth in recent years.
  • China is promoting and undergoing a process of continuous urbanization, with a target rate of 70% for 2030. The increased living spaces required in the urban areas resulting from urbanization and the desire of middle-class urban residents to improve their living conditions may have a profound effect on the housing market and thereby increase the residential construction in the country, which in turn will have a positive impact on the paints and coatings market.​
  • China has been majorly driven by the ample developments in the residential and commercial construction sectors and supported by the growing economy. In China, the housing authorities of Hong Kong launched several measures to push start the construction of low-cost housing. The officials aim to provide 301,000 public housing units by 2030. ​
  • The rising household income levels, combined with the population migrating from rural to urban areas, are expected to continue to drive the demand for the residential construction sector in the country. The increased focus on affordable housing by both the public and private sectors is driving the growth in the residential construction sector.​
  • Non-residential infrastructure is expected to grow considerably. The aging population in the country is creating a demand for the construction of healthcare facilities and new hospitals. The structural changes in the Chinese economy over the past few years, with the service sector taking a larger share in the total GDP, gave rise to the construction of huge commercial and office spaces.​
  • China accounts for more than one-fourth of the global coatings market. According to the China National Coatings Industry Association, the industry has been registering a growth of 7% in recent years. It was estimated that from 2019, the construction of at least 10 large coatings investment projects in China has been reported publicly. Nippon has been tapping into this market situation by upgrading its coatings production process in its new plants in China.
  • China has remained the world's largest automotive manufacturing country and automotive market since 2009. According to the China Association of Automotive Manufacturers(CAAM), overall YTD vehicle production for January through December totaled 25.225 million units in 2020, with a 2.0% decline compared to the same period in the previous year. According to OICA, the automotive production in 2021 in the country reached 26.08 million units, a 3% increase compared to 25.23 million units in 2020.
  • China is the world's second-largest consumer of oil and gas but only the sixth largest producer of the same. As a big oil consumer, China's oil consumption is increasing year by year with fluctuating growth rates. However, as the oil supply still cannot meet the demand, China mainly relies on imports.
  • These factors, in turn, are expected to affect the demand for paints and coatings in the region during the forecast period.
Paints and Coatings Market - Growth Rate by Region, 2022 - 2027

Competitive Landscape

The global paints and coatings market is partially consolidated in nature, with the top 12 players accounting for more than 60% of the market share. The major companies include The Sherwin-Williams Company, PPG Industries Inc., Akzo Nobel NV, Nippon Paint Holdings Co. Ltd, and RPM International Inc.

Recent Developments

  • In February 2022, The Sherwin-Williams Company signed an agreement with the state of North Carolina, Iredell County, and the city of Statesville to significantly expand its architectural paint and coatings manufacturing capacity and establish a larger distribution facility in Statesville, North Carolina. Sherwin-Williams plans to invest a minimum of USD 300 million in the project.
  • In February 2022, PPG announced to acquire Powder Coating Manufacturing Business in Arsonsisi, an industrial coating company based in Milan, Italy.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Drivers

      1. 4.1.1 Rapidly Increasing Construction Activities

      2. 4.1.2 Growth in the Furniture Market

      3. 4.1.3 Diversification of Oil and Other Industries in the Middle East

    2. 4.2 Restraints

      1. 4.2.1 Rising Environmental Concerns

    3. 4.3 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products and Services

      5. 4.4.5 Degree of Competition

    5. 4.5 Regulatory Policy Analysis

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Resin

      1. 5.1.1 Acrylic

      2. 5.1.2 Alkyd

      3. 5.1.3 Polyurethane

      4. 5.1.4 Epoxy

      5. 5.1.5 Polyester

      6. 5.1.6 Other Resin Types

    2. 5.2 Technology

      1. 5.2.1 Water-borne

      2. 5.2.2 Solvent-borne

      3. 5.2.3 Powder Coating

      4. 5.2.4 UV-cured Coating

    3. 5.3 End-user Industry

      1. 5.3.1 Architectural

      2. 5.3.2 Automotive

      3. 5.3.3 Wood

      4. 5.3.4 Protective Coating

      5. 5.3.5 General Industrial

      6. 5.3.6 Transportation

      7. 5.3.7 Packaging

    4. 5.4 Geography

      1. 5.4.1 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.4.1.1 China (Including Taiwan)

        2. 5.4.1.2 India

        3. 5.4.1.3 Japan

        4. 5.4.1.4 Indonesia

        5. 5.4.1.5 Australia & New Zealand

        6. 5.4.1.6 South Korea

        7. 5.4.1.7 Thailand

        8. 5.4.1.8 Malaysia

        9. 5.4.1.9 Philippines

        10. 5.4.1.10 Bangladesh

        11. 5.4.1.11 Vietnam

        12. 5.4.1.12 Singapore

        13. 5.4.1.13 Sri Lanka

        14. 5.4.1.14 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      2. 5.4.2 North America

        1. 5.4.2.1 United States

        2. 5.4.2.2 Canada

        3. 5.4.2.3 Mexico

      3. 5.4.3 Europe

        1. 5.4.3.1 Germany

        2. 5.4.3.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.4.3.3 France

        4. 5.4.3.4 Italy

        5. 5.4.3.5 Benelux

        6. 5.4.3.6 Russia

        7. 5.4.3.7 Turkey

        8. 5.4.3.8 Switzerland

        9. 5.4.3.9 Scandinavian Countries

        10. 5.4.3.10 Poland

        11. 5.4.3.11 Portugal

        12. 5.4.3.12 Spain

        13. 5.4.3.13 Rest of Europe

      4. 5.4.4 South America

        1. 5.4.4.1 Brazil

        2. 5.4.4.2 Argentina

        3. 5.4.4.3 Colombia

        4. 5.4.4.4 Chile

        5. 5.4.4.5 Rest of South America

      5. 5.4.5 Middle East

        1. 5.4.5.1 Saudi Arabia

        2. 5.4.5.2 Qatar

        3. 5.4.5.3 United Arab Emirates

        4. 5.4.5.4 Kuwait

        5. 5.4.5.5 Egypt

        6. 5.4.5.6 Rest of Middle East

      6. 5.4.6 Africa

        1. 5.4.6.1 South Africa

        2. 5.4.6.2 Nigeria

        3. 5.4.6.3 Algeria

        4. 5.4.6.4 Morocco

        5. 5.4.6.5 Rest of Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Mergers and Acquisitions, Joint Ventures, Collaborations, and Agreements

    2. 6.2 Market Share (%) Analysis

    3. 6.3 Strategies Adopted by Leading Players

    4. 6.4 Company Profiles

      1. 6.4.1 Akzo Nobel NV

      2. 6.4.2 Asian Paints

      3. 6.4.3 Axalta

      4. 6.4.4 BASF SE

      5. 6.4.5 Beckers Group

      6. 6.4.6 Benjamin Moore & Co.

      7. 6.4.7 Berger Paints India Limited

      8. 6.4.8 Chugoku Marine Paints Ltd

      9. 6.4.9 DAW SE

      10. 6.4.10 Hempel AS

      11. 6.4.11 Jazeera Paints

      12. 6.4.12 Jotun

      13. 6.4.13 Kansai Paint Co. Ltd

      14. 6.4.14 Kelly-Moore Paints

      15. 6.4.15 Masco Corporation

      16. 6.4.16 NATIONAL PAINTS FACTORIES CO. LTD

      17. 6.4.17 Nippon Paint Holdings Co. Ltd

      18. 6.4.18 NOROO Paint & Coatings Co. Ltd

      19. 6.4.19 PPG Industries Inc.

      20. 6.4.20 RPM International Inc.

      21. 6.4.21 Russian Paints Company

      22. 6.4.22 SK KAKEN Co. Ltd

      23. 6.4.23 The Sherwin-Williams Company

    5. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

    1. 7.1 Advent of Eco-friendly Paint and Coating Resins

    2. 7.2 Anti-bacterial Paints and Coatings

    3. 7.3 Growing Construction Opportunities in Africa

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Paints and Coatings Market market is studied from 2017 - 2027.

The Paints and Coatings Market is growing at a CAGR of >4% over the next 5 years.

The Paints and Coatings Market is valued at 137100 Million USD in 2017.

The Paints and Coatings Market is valued at 172960 Million USD in 2027.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

Asia Pacific holds highest share in 2021.

PPG Industries Inc., RPM International Inc., The Sherwin-Williams Company, Akzo Nobel NV, Nippon Paint Holdings Co., Ltd. are the major companies operating in Paints and Coatings Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!