Japan Markt für Schönheits- und Körperpflegeprodukte – Wachstum, Trends und Prognosen (2023 – 2028)

Der japanische Markt für Schönheits- und Körperpflegeprodukte ist nach Typ (Körperpflegeprodukte, Kosmetik/Make-up-Produkte), Kategorie (Premiumprodukte und Massenprodukte) und Vertriebskanal (Facheinzelhandel, Supermärkte/Hypermärkte, Convenience Stores, Apotheken/Drogen) unterteilt Geschäfte, Online-Einzelhandelskanäle und andere). Der Bericht bietet Marktgröße und Prognosen für japanische Schönheits- und Körperpflegeprodukte im Wert (Millionen USD) für alle oben genannten Segmente.

Markt-Snapshot

Japan Beauty and Personal Care Products Market Overview
Study Period: 2016-2027
CAGR: 3.5 %

Major Players

rd-img

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

setting-icon

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Marktübersicht

Der japanische Markt für Schönheits- und Körperpflegeprodukte wird im Prognosezeitraum voraussichtlich um 3,5 % CAGR wachsen.

Die COVID-19-Pandemie brachte monatelange Sperrungen und strenge staatliche Beschränkungen mit sich. Dies ließ den Menschen keine andere Wahl, als zu Hause zu bleiben, was wiederum die Häufigkeit des Schminkens von Frauen verringerte. Verschiedene Studien haben gezeigt, dass etwa 30 % der weiblichen Bevölkerung den Gebrauch von Make-up reduzierten, weil sie nicht häufig ausgehen konnten, und mehr als 50 % von ihnen trugen aufgrund der regelmäßigen Verwendung kein Make-up Sicherheitsmasken. Anderswo stieg die Nachfrage nach Hautpflegeprodukten, da die Menschen Zeit haben, sich um sich selbst zu kümmern und ihre Haut zu verjüngen.

Japan ist weltweit einer der größten Märkte für Kosmetik- und Körperpflegeprodukte. Japanische Verbraucher sind äußerst anspruchsvoll und gut informiert über die chemischen Formulierungen in Haarprodukten. Natürliche Inhaltsstoffe und organische Formulierungen erleben eine hohe Nachfrage auf dem Markt, was wichtige Hersteller dazu veranlasst, Produkte mit Natur-/Reinproduktetiketten auf den Markt zu bringen.

Beliebte Artikel für japanische Verbraucher sind Hochleistungsprodukte, schnell wirkende Hautpflegeprodukte und Crossover-Produkte mit Multi-Appeal-Eigenschaften. Japanische Verbraucher haben die höchsten Pro-Kopf-Ausgaben für Kosmetika, einschließlich Hautpflegeprodukten, was wiederum das Wachstum des Schönheits- und Körperpflegemarktes im Land ankurbelt.

Umfang des Berichts

Der japanische Schönheits- und Körperpflegemarkt bildet weltweit einen großen Markt, der eine Vielzahl von Hautpflege- und Kosmetikprodukten bedient. Der Markt ist nach Produkttyp, Kategorie und Vertriebskanal segmentiert. Die Segmentierung nach Produkttyp umfasst den Körperpflegemarkt und Kosmetik-/Make-up-Produkte. Der Körperpflegemarkt ist weiter unterteilt in Gesichtspflege, Lippenpflege und Körperpflege und nach Kosmetika und Make-up umfasst der Umfang Gesichts-Make-up-Produkte, Augen-Make-up-Produkte, Lippen- und Nagel-Make-up-Produkte sowie Haarstyling Produkte. Nach Kategorien wird der Markt in Premiumprodukte und Massenprodukte unterteilt. Die Segmentierung nach Vertriebskanälen umfasst Fachmärkte, Super-/Hypermärkte, Convenience Stores, Apotheken/Drogerien, Online-Einzelhandelskanäle und andere.

By Product Type
Personal Care
Hair Care
Shampoo
Conditioners
Others
Skin Care
Facial Care Products
Body Care Products
Lip Care Products
Bath and Shower
Shower Gels
Soaps
Others
Oral Care
Toothbrushes
Toothpaste
Mouthwashes and Rinses
Others
Men's Grooming Products
Deodrants and Antiperspirants
Beauty & Make-up / Cosmetics
Colour Cosmetics
Facial Make-up Products
Eye Make-up Products
Lip and Nail Make-up Products
Hair styling and colouring products
By Category
Premium Skin Care Products
Mass Skin Care Products
By Distribution Channel
Specialist Retail Stores
Supermarkets/Hypermarkets
Convenience Stores
Pharmacies/Drug Stores
Online Retail Channels
Others

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Wichtige Markttrends

Steigende Nachfrage nach Naturkosmetik und Hautpflegeprodukten

Die Nachfrage nach natürlichen Hautpflegeprodukten ist in Japan in den letzten Jahren stark gestiegen. Das wachsende Interesse der Verbraucher an der Verwendung natürlicher Inhaltsstoffe in Kosmetik- und Hautpflegeprodukten hat zu verschiedenen Produktinnovationen geführt. Die Vorteile dieser natürlichen Inhaltsstoffe wurden erkannt und genutzt, um den sich ändernden Kundenanforderungen gerecht zu werden. Unternehmen wie Unilever, Shiseido und viele andere arbeiten mit ihrer schnellen Forschung und Entwicklung daran, neue Produkte für Kunden zu entwickeln. Im Jahr 2021 führte Shiseido eine nachhaltige Hautpflegemarke namens Baum in Japan ein. Das Unternehmen schlug vor, dass 90 % der Formel für die Produkte dieser Marke aus dem Baum gewonnen wurden.

natural and organic cosmetics

Apotheken/Drogerien sind der am schnellsten wachsende Vertriebskanal

Apotheken und Drogerien sind die wichtigsten Vertriebskanäle für Kosmetikprodukte aufgrund wirtschaftlicher und professioneller Vorteile, wie z. B. großer Gewinnspannen und der Durchdringung der Verbraucherperspektive in Bezug auf eine gute Produktverfügbarkeit in diesen Geschäften. Die Kosmetikunternehmen des Landes kanalisieren ihre Produkte mit Apotheken, um den starken Vertrieb über diesen Kanal zu stärken, was das Marktwachstum im Prognosezeitraum wahrscheinlich ankurbeln wird. Unternehmen wie CANMAKE, Biore UV, Shiseido und viele andere haben ihre Produkte in Drogerien im ganzen Land erhältlich. 

Cosmetics market Japan

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der Schönheits- und Körperpflegemarkt in Japan ist ein hart umkämpfter Markt. Der Markt ist fragmentiert und wird von zahlreichen globalen und lokalen Akteuren angeführt. Die Hauptakteure wie Shiseido Company, Mandom Corporation, Loreal, Procter and Gamble, Unilever und andere treiben den Markt im Land aktiv voran, indem sie sich ständig bemühen, Verbraucher mit ihren innovativen Produkten zu versorgen. Zu den Strategien aktiver Unternehmen gehören Produkteinführungen, gefolgt von der Übernahme kleiner Akteure, um einen großen Anteil am Land zu halten.

Hauptakteure

  1. Shiseido-Unternehmen

  2. Mandom Corporation

  3. PROCTER & GAMBLE

  4. Unilever-PLC

  5. L'Oréal SA

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

Unilever PLC, Procter & Gamble Co, Kao Corporation, Mandom Corporation, Lion Corporation,  Shiseido Company

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der Schönheits- und Körperpflegemarkt in Japan ist ein hart umkämpfter Markt. Der Markt ist fragmentiert und wird von zahlreichen globalen und lokalen Akteuren angeführt. Die Hauptakteure wie Shiseido Company, Mandom Corporation, Loreal, Procter and Gamble, Unilever und andere treiben den Markt im Land aktiv voran, indem sie sich ständig bemühen, Verbraucher mit ihren innovativen Produkten zu versorgen. Zu den Strategien aktiver Unternehmen gehören Produkteinführungen, gefolgt von der Übernahme kleiner Akteure, um einen großen Anteil am Land zu halten.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definitions

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Drivers

    2. 4.2 Market Restraints

    3. 4.3 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.3.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.3.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Product Type

      1. 5.1.1 Personal Care

        1. 5.1.1.1 Hair Care

          1. 5.1.1.1.1 Shampoo

          2. 5.1.1.1.2 Conditioners

          3. 5.1.1.1.3 Others

        2. 5.1.1.2 Skin Care

          1. 5.1.1.2.1 Facial Care Products

          2. 5.1.1.2.2 Body Care Products

          3. 5.1.1.2.3 Lip Care Products

        3. 5.1.1.3 Bath and Shower

          1. 5.1.1.3.1 Shower Gels

          2. 5.1.1.3.2 Soaps

          3. 5.1.1.3.3 Others

        4. 5.1.1.4 Oral Care

          1. 5.1.1.4.1 Toothbrushes

          2. 5.1.1.4.2 Toothpaste

          3. 5.1.1.4.3 Mouthwashes and Rinses

          4. 5.1.1.4.4 Others

        5. 5.1.1.5 Men's Grooming Products

        6. 5.1.1.6 Deodrants and Antiperspirants

      2. 5.1.2 Beauty & Make-up / Cosmetics

        1. 5.1.2.1 Colour Cosmetics

          1. 5.1.2.1.1 Facial Make-up Products

          2. 5.1.2.1.2 Eye Make-up Products

          3. 5.1.2.1.3 Lip and Nail Make-up Products

          4. 5.1.2.1.4 Hair styling and colouring products

    2. 5.2 By Category

      1. 5.2.1 Premium Skin Care Products

      2. 5.2.2 Mass Skin Care Products

    3. 5.3 By Distribution Channel

      1. 5.3.1 Specialist Retail Stores

      2. 5.3.2 Supermarkets/Hypermarkets

      3. 5.3.3 Convenience Stores

      4. 5.3.4 Pharmacies/Drug Stores

      5. 5.3.5 Online Retail Channels

      6. 5.3.6 Others

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Most Active Companies

    2. 6.2 Most Adopted Strategies

    3. 6.3 Market Share Analysis

    4. 6.4 Company Profiles

      1. 6.4.1 Unilever PLC

      2. 6.4.2 Procter & Gamble Co

      3. 6.4.3 Kao Corporation

      4. 6.4.4 Mandom Corporation

      5. 6.4.5 Lion Corporation

      6. 6.4.6 Shiseido Company

      7. 6.4.7 L'Oreal S.A.

      8. 6.4.8 A S Watson Group

      9. 6.4.9 SK-II

      10. 6.4.10 Makanai

    5. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

  8. 8. IMPACT OF COVID-19 ON MARKET

**Subject to Availability
You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Der japanische Markt für Schönheits- und Körperpflegeprodukte wird von 2016 bis 2027 untersucht.

Der japanische Markt für Schönheits- und Körperpflegeprodukte wächst in den nächsten 5 Jahren mit einer CAGR von 3,5 %.

Shiseido Company, Mandom Corporation, Unilever PLC, L'Oreal S.A., Procter & Gamble Company sind die größten Unternehmen, die auf dem japanischen Markt für Schönheits- und Körperpflegeprodukte tätig sind.

close-icon
80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Japan Beauty and Personal Care Products Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2022 - 2027)

Japan Beauty and Personal Care Products Market is segmented by Type (Personal Care Products, Cosmetics/Make-up Products), by Category (Premium Products and Mass Products) and Distribution Channel ( Specialist Retail Stores Supermarkets/Hypermarkets, Convenience Stores, Pharmacies/Drug Stores, Online Retail Channels and Others). The report offers market size and forecasts for Japan Beauty and Personal Care Products in value (USD million) for all the above segments.

Market Snapshot

japan cosmetics products market overview
Study Period: 2016-2027
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 3.5 %
japan cosmetics products market key players

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The Japan beauty and personal care products market is projected to grow at a CAGR of 3.5% during the forecast period.

The COVID-19 panademic brought it with it months of lockdown and strict government restrictions. This left people with no choice but to stay at home, which in turn reduced the frequency of women wearing make up. Various studies have depicted that around 30% of women population decreased the use of make-up as a result of not being able to go out frequently and more than 50% of them didn't wear any make-up because of the regular use of safety masks. Elsewhere, the demand for skincare products increased as people has time to take care of themselves and rejuvinate their skin.

Japan is one of the largest markets for cosmetic and personal care products across the globe. Japanese consumers are extremely sophisticated and well informed regarding the chemical formulations in hair products. Natural ingredients and organic formulations are witnessing high demand in the market, which is driving key manufacturers to launch products with natural/clean product labels.

Popular items for Japanese consumers are high-performance products, quick-acting skincare products, and crossover products with multi-appeal attributes. Japanese consumers have the highest per capita expenditure on cosmetics including skin care products which in turn is boosting the growth of beauty and personal care market in the country.

Scope of the Report

Japanese beauty and personal care market forms a large market globally, catering to a variety of skincare and cosmetics products. The market is segmented based on product type, category, and distribution channel. The segmentation based on product type includes personal care market and cosmetics/make-up products. The personal care market is further segmented to facial care, lip care, and body care and by cosmetics and make-up, the scope includes facial make-up products, eye-makeup products, lip and nail make-up products, and hair styling products. By category, the market is segmented as premium products and mass products. The segmentation by distribution channels include specialist retail stores, supermarkets/hypermarkets, convenience stores, pharmacies/drug stores, online retail channels, and others.

By Product Type
Personal Care
Hair Care
Shampoo
Conditioners
Others
Skin Care
Facial Care Products
Body Care Products
Lip Care Products
Bath and Shower
Shower Gels
Soaps
Others
Oral Care
Toothbrushes
Toothpaste
Mouthwashes and Rinses
Others
Men's Grooming Products
Deodrants and Antiperspirants
Beauty & Make-up / Cosmetics
Colour Cosmetics
Facial Make-up Products
Eye Make-up Products
Lip and Nail Make-up Products
Hair styling and colouring products
By Category
Premium Skin Care Products
Mass Skin Care Products
By Distribution Channel
Specialist Retail Stores
Supermarkets/Hypermarkets
Convenience Stores
Pharmacies/Drug Stores
Online Retail Channels
Others

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Rising Demand for Natural Cosmetics and Skincare Products

The demand for natural skincare products have increased significantly since the past few years in Japan. The growing interest of consumers towards the use of natural ingredients in cosmetics and skincare product has led to various product innovations. The benefits that these natural ingredients have been recognised and utilized to cater to changing customer demands. Companies like Unilever, Shiseido, and many others are functional with their prompt research and development to create new products for customers. In 2021, Shiseido introduced a sustainable skincare brand namely, Baum in Japan. the company suggested that 90% of the formula for the products of this brand were derived from the tree.

japan cosmetics products market trends

Pharmacy/ Drug Stores is the Fastest Growing Distribution Channel

Pharmacy and drug stores are the key distribution channels for cosmetic products owing to economic and professional benefits, such as large profit margins and penetrating the consumer’s perspective towards good product availability at such stores. The cosmetic companies in the country are channelizing their products with pharmacies to empower the strong distribution through this channel, which is likely to boost the market growth over the forecast period. Companies like CANMAKE, Biore UV, Shiseido, and many other have their products available in drug stores, all over the country. 

japan cosmetics products market Analysis

Competitive Landscape

The Beauty and Personal Care Market in Japan is a highly competitive market. The market is fragmented which is led by numerous global as well as local players. The major players such as Shiseido company, Mandom Corporation, Loreal, Procter and Gamble, Unilever and others are actively driving the market in the nation with their constant efforts in providing consumers with their innovative products. The strategies adopted by active companies include product launches followed by acquiring small players to so as to hold a major share in the country.

Recent Development

In 2021, Unilever and Kao Corporation collaborated to launch a recycling program to help the cause of creating a circlular economy for plastics packaging in Japan. The companies collected old plastics bottles to recycle and form new ones for packaging.

In 2021, Kao Corporation, through its subsidiary Kao Salon Japan, launched its prestige hair salon brand namely, Oribe in Japan. The brand consists of 23 product line-ups which were made widely available in Japan.

In 2020, Otsuka Pharmaceutical Factory Inc. launched a total oral care product namely, HINORA in Japan. This product was launched in two forms viz., the oral care gel or toothpaste and oral cosmetic or the moisturising gel.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definitions

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Drivers

    2. 4.2 Market Restraints

    3. 4.3 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.3.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.3.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Product Type

      1. 5.1.1 Personal Care

        1. 5.1.1.1 Hair Care

          1. 5.1.1.1.1 Shampoo

          2. 5.1.1.1.2 Conditioners

          3. 5.1.1.1.3 Others

        2. 5.1.1.2 Skin Care

          1. 5.1.1.2.1 Facial Care Products

          2. 5.1.1.2.2 Body Care Products

          3. 5.1.1.2.3 Lip Care Products

        3. 5.1.1.3 Bath and Shower

          1. 5.1.1.3.1 Shower Gels

          2. 5.1.1.3.2 Soaps

          3. 5.1.1.3.3 Others

        4. 5.1.1.4 Oral Care

          1. 5.1.1.4.1 Toothbrushes

          2. 5.1.1.4.2 Toothpaste

          3. 5.1.1.4.3 Mouthwashes and Rinses

          4. 5.1.1.4.4 Others

        5. 5.1.1.5 Men's Grooming Products

        6. 5.1.1.6 Deodrants and Antiperspirants

      2. 5.1.2 Beauty & Make-up / Cosmetics

        1. 5.1.2.1 Colour Cosmetics

          1. 5.1.2.1.1 Facial Make-up Products

          2. 5.1.2.1.2 Eye Make-up Products

          3. 5.1.2.1.3 Lip and Nail Make-up Products

          4. 5.1.2.1.4 Hair styling and colouring products

    2. 5.2 By Category

      1. 5.2.1 Premium Skin Care Products

      2. 5.2.2 Mass Skin Care Products

    3. 5.3 By Distribution Channel

      1. 5.3.1 Specialist Retail Stores

      2. 5.3.2 Supermarkets/Hypermarkets

      3. 5.3.3 Convenience Stores

      4. 5.3.4 Pharmacies/Drug Stores

      5. 5.3.5 Online Retail Channels

      6. 5.3.6 Others

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Most Active Companies

    2. 6.2 Most Adopted Strategies

    3. 6.3 Market Share Analysis

    4. 6.4 Company Profiles

      1. 6.4.1 Unilever PLC

      2. 6.4.2 Procter & Gamble Co

      3. 6.4.3 Kao Corporation

      4. 6.4.4 Mandom Corporation

      5. 6.4.5 Lion Corporation

      6. 6.4.6 Shiseido Company

      7. 6.4.7 L'Oreal S.A.

      8. 6.4.8 A S Watson Group

      9. 6.4.9 SK-II

      10. 6.4.10 Makanai

    5. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

  8. 8. IMPACT OF COVID-19 ON MARKET

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Japan Beauty and Personal Care Products Market market is studied from 2016 - 2027.

The Japan Beauty and Personal Care Products Market is growing at a CAGR of 3.5% over the next 5 years.

Shiseido Company, Mandom Corporation, PROCTER & GAMBLE, Unilever PLC, L'Oreal S.A. are the major companies operating in Japan Beauty and Personal Care Products Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!