Marché des médicaments ophtalmiques – Croissance, tendances, impact du COVID-19 et prévisions (2022-2027)

Le marché des médicaments ophtalmiques est segmenté par classe de médicaments (médicament anti-glaucome, médicament contre la sécheresse oculaire, anti-allergique ophtalmique / inflammatoire, médicament rétinien, médicaments anti-infectieux et autres médicaments), type de produit (médicament en vente libre et médicament sur ordonnance), et géographie (Amérique du Nord, Europe, Asie-Pacifique, Moyen-Orient et Afrique et Amérique du Sud). Le rapport offre la valeur (en millions USD) pour les segments ci-dessus.

Aperçu du marché

Ophthalmic Drugs Market 1
Study Period: 2018 - 2026
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia-Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 4.6 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Aperçu du marché

Le marché des médicaments ophtalmiques devrait enregistrer un TCAC de près de 4,6 % au cours de la période de prévision.

Le marché des médicaments ophtalmiques devrait être affecté par l'épidémie de COVID-19, qui est principalement attribuée au verrouillage suivi par les principaux pays. Les visites dans les cliniques ophtalmologiques ou les hôpitaux ont considérablement diminué et seules les procédures d'urgence sont effectuées. Comme la plupart des médicaments ophtalmiques sont des médicaments sur ordonnance et sans la visite chez le médecin, on ne peut pas acheter les médicaments et, par conséquent, le marché est susceptible de voir une diminution en raison de la pandémie

Les principaux facteurs attribués à la croissance du marché des médicaments ophtalmiques comprennent l'incidence et la prévalence croissantes des troubles oculaires, l'augmentation des activités de R et D relatives au développement de nouveaux médicaments et l'accent accru mis sur le développement de thérapies combinées.

La prévalence croissante des maladies oculaires augmente la demande de médicaments ophtalmiques à l'échelle mondiale. Dans de nombreux pays développés et en développement, les affections oculaires sont déjà apparues comme des menaces potentielles pour la perception visuelle de leurs habitants. L'augmentation de la prévalence du diabète dans divers pays a conduit à l'introduction du traitement du diabète. Le glaucome, maladie oculaire connue depuis des siècles, reste à l'ordre du jour de la santé publique en raison de la difficulté à le dépister précocement et de la nécessité d'un traitement au long cours.

Selon l'Organisation mondiale de la santé, en 2021, on estimait qu'environ 2,2 milliards de personnes avaient une déficience visuelle ou la cécité, dont au moins 1 milliard avaient une déficience visuelle évitable. Le milliard de personnes comprend celles qui ont une déficience visuelle limitée ou grave due à une erreur de réfraction non résolue (123,7 millions), à la cataracte (65,2 millions), au glaucome (6,9 millions), aux opacités cornéennes (4,2 millions), à la rétinopathie diabétique (3 millions) et au trachome. (2 millions) et une déficience visuelle imminente causée par une presbytie non précisée (826 millions). L'augmentation de la population gériatrique aggrave encore la prévalence des troubles ophtalmiques, et les principales causes de déficience visuelle sont les erreurs de réfraction non corrigées et les cataractes. La plupart des personnes ayant une déficience visuelle ont plus de 50 ans.

Par conséquent, l'incidence croissante des troubles oculaires projette un impact important sur la croissance du marché étudié.

Portée du rapport

Selon la portée du rapport, les médicaments ophtalmiques sont les médicaments utilisés pour traiter le glaucome, la cataracte, la rétinopathie diabétique et d'autres troubles ophtalmiques. Le marché des médicaments ophtalmiques est segmenté par classe de médicaments (médicament anti-glaucome, médicament contre la sécheresse oculaire, anti-allergique ophtalmique / inflammatoire, médicament rétinien, médicaments anti-infectieux et autres médicaments), type de produit (médicament en vente libre et médicament sur ordonnance), et géographie (Amérique du Nord, Europe, Asie-Pacifique, Moyen-Orient et Afrique, et Amérique du Sud). Le rapport de marché couvre également la taille et les tendances estimées du marché pour 17 pays différents dans les principales régions du monde. Le rapport offre la valeur (en millions USD) pour les segments ci-dessus.

By Drug Class
Anti-glaucoma Drug
Dry eye Drug
Ophthalmic Anti-allergy/Inflammatory
Retinal Drug
Anti-infective Drugs
Other Drugs
By Product Type
OTC Drug
Prescription Drug
Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Italy
Spain
Rest of Europe
Asia-Pacific
China
Japan
India
Australia
South Korea
Rest of Asia-Pacific
Middle East and Africa
GCC
South Africa
Rest of Middle East and Africa
South America
Brazil
Argentina
Rest of South America

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Principales tendances du marché

Le segment des médicaments anti-glaucome sous la classe de médicaments devrait représenter la croissance la plus rapide au cours de la période de prévision

Le nombre de personnes atteintes de maladies oculaires majeures augmente à travers le monde et la perte de vision devient un problème de santé publique majeur. sera d'environ 80 millions de personnes atteintes de glaucome, soit une augmentation d'environ 20 millions depuis 2010. En outre, un chiffre qui devrait atteindre 111 millions d'ici 2040 avec l'augmentation de la prévalence, à moins qu'un dépistage amélioré et des stratégies de traitement efficaces ne réussissent. est un besoin croissant de meilleurs médicaments pour contrôler la maladie.

De plus, chaque année, janvier est célébré comme le mois de la sensibilisation au glaucome dans le monde pour sensibiliser au diagnostic et au traitement du glaucome. La prise de conscience croissante de la maladie stimule la croissance du marché. En juin 2020, Senju Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd. et Otsuka Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd. ont lancé une nouvelle solution ophtalmique combinée pour le traitement du glaucome et de l'hypertension oculaire, la suspension ophtalmique combinée AILAMIDE au Japon. De tels lancements dans le segment stimulent sa croissance au cours de la période de prévision.

glaucoma

Le segment Asie-Pacifique devrait représenter le taux de croissance le plus rapide

Le marché des médicaments ophtalmiques est en expansion et en croissance à l'échelle mondiale. Le marché a connu une croissance exponentielle dans la région Asie-Pacifique. Les médicaments contre le glaucome et les substituts lacrymaux (pour les yeux secs) sont les produits phares en Asie-Pacifique. Selon Clinical and Experimental Vision and Eye Research, India, 2018, l'Inde figurera probablement parmi les trois premiers marchés pharmaceutiques en termes de croissance progressive et le sixième marché mondial en taille absolue. ménages, l'avancement des infrastructures médicales et la pénétration croissante de l'assurance maladie dans le pays sont susceptibles de jouer un rôle important en influençant cette croissance. Selon la National Health Policy (NHP), 2019 en Inde, le glaucome est la principale cause de cécité dans laquelle au moins 12 millions de personnes ont été infectées et environ 1. 2 millions de personnes ont été aveuglées par la maladie. Plus de 90% des cas de glaucome restent non détectés dans le pays.

Selon les données de la Banque mondiale 2018, le pourcentage de personnes âgées de plus de 65 ans est passé de 21,24 % en 2008 à 27,58 % en 2018, et selon les Nations Unies, le Japon compte 51 personnes âgées de 65 ans ou plus pour 100 personnes. De plus, la prévalence du glaucome augmente avec l'âge. Ainsi, la prévalence croissante du glaucome et l'augmentation des dépenses de santé stimulent la croissance du marché des médicaments ophtalmiques dans la région.

Ophthalmic Drugs Market  - Growth Rate by Region

Paysage concurrentiel

Le marché étudié est composé d'une combinaison de petites et de grandes entreprises. La plupart des grandes entreprises se concentrent sur la recherche et le développement pour mettre sur le marché des produits innovants. Certains des principaux acteurs du marché des médicaments ophtalmiques sont Aerie Pharmaceuticals Inc., Abbive (Allergan), Bausch Health, Bayer AG, F. Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd, Hoya Corporation, Novartis AG, Pfizer Inc. et Regeneron Pharmaceuticals Inc.

RECENT DEVELOPMENTS

  • In March 2021, Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. has announced the launch of its first available version of AZOPT 1%, approved by the US Food and Drug Administration to treat high blood pressure inside the eye due to high blood pressure and open-angle glaucoma.
  • In January 2020, Horizon Therapeutics’ Tepezza injection was approved by the FDA for the treatment of Thyroid Eye Disease

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Increasing Incidence and Prevalence of Eye-related Disorders

      2. 4.2.2 Rising R and D Pertaining to the Development of Novel Drugs

      3. 4.2.3 Increasing Focus on Developing Combination Therapies

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

      1. 4.3.1 Loss of Patent Protection for Popular Drugs

      2. 4.3.2 Lack of Health Insurance in the Developing Countries

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Drug Class

      1. 5.1.1 Anti-glaucoma Drug

      2. 5.1.2 Dry eye Drug

      3. 5.1.3 Ophthalmic Anti-allergy/Inflammatory

      4. 5.1.4 Retinal Drug

      5. 5.1.5 Anti-infective Drugs

      6. 5.1.6 Other Drugs

    2. 5.2 By Product Type

      1. 5.2.1 OTC Drug

      2. 5.2.2 Prescription Drug

    3. 5.3 Geography

      1. 5.3.1 North America

        1. 5.3.1.1 United States

        2. 5.3.1.2 Canada

        3. 5.3.1.3 Mexico

      2. 5.3.2 Europe

        1. 5.3.2.1 Germany

        2. 5.3.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.3.2.3 France

        4. 5.3.2.4 Italy

        5. 5.3.2.5 Spain

        6. 5.3.2.6 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.3.3 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.3.3.1 China

        2. 5.3.3.2 Japan

        3. 5.3.3.3 India

        4. 5.3.3.4 Australia

        5. 5.3.3.5 South Korea

        6. 5.3.3.6 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.3.4 Middle East and Africa

        1. 5.3.4.1 GCC

        2. 5.3.4.2 South Africa

        3. 5.3.4.3 Rest of Middle East and Africa

      5. 5.3.5 South America

        1. 5.3.5.1 Brazil

        2. 5.3.5.2 Argentina

        3. 5.3.5.3 Rest of South America

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 Aerie Pharmaceuticals Inc.

      2. 6.1.2 Abbive (Allergan)

      3. 6.1.3 Bausch Health Companies Inc.

      4. 6.1.4 Bayer AG

      5. 6.1.5 F. Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd

      6. 6.1.6 Hoya Corporation

      7. 6.1.7 Novartis AG

      8. 6.1.8 Pfizer Inc.

      9. 6.1.9 Regeneron Pharmaceuticals Inc.

      10. 6.1.10 Santen Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Competitive Landscape covers- Business Overview, Financials, Products and Strategies and Recent Developments

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Le marché mondial du marché des médicaments ophtalmiques est étudié de 2018 à 2026.

Le marché mondial des médicaments ophtalmiques croît à un TCAC de 4,6 % au cours des 5 prochaines années.

L'Asie-Pacifique affiche le TCAC le plus élevé sur la période 2021-2026.

L'Amérique du Nord détient la part la plus élevée en 2021.

Bausch Health Companies Inc., Novartis AG, Pfizer Inc., Abbvie, F. Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd sont les principales sociétés opérant sur le marché mondial des médicaments ophtalmiques.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Ophthalmic Drugs Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2021 - 2026)

The ophthalmic drugs market is segmented by Drug Class (Anti-glaucoma Drug, Dry eye Drug, Ophthalmic Anti-allergy/Inflammatory, Retinal Drug, Anti-infective Drugs, and Other Drugs), Product Type (OTC Drug, and Prescription Drug), and Geography (North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, Middle East and Africa, and South America). The report offers the value (in USD million) for the above segments.

Market Snapshot

Ophthalmic Drugs Market 1
Study Period: 2018 - 2026
Base Year: 2020
Fastest Growing Market: Asia-Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 4.6 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The Ophthalmic Drugs Market is expected to register a CAGR of nearly 4.6% during the forecast period.

The market for ophthalmic drugs is expected to be affected by the COVID – 19 outbreak which is majorly attributed to the lockdown being followed by major countries. The visits to eye clinics or hospitals have reduced drastically and only emergency procedures are being performed.​ As most of the ophthalmic drugs are prescription drugs and without the visit to the doctor one cannot buy the drugs and hence the market is likely to see a decrease due to the pandemic

The major factors attributed to the growth of the ophthalmic drugs market include the increasing incidence and prevalence of eye-related disorders, rising R and D activities pertaining to the development of novel drugs, and increasing focus on developing combination therapies.

The increasing prevalence of eye diseases is increasing the demand for ophthalmic drugs, globally. In many developed and developing countries, eye conditions have already emerged as potential threats to their people's visual perception. The increase in the prevalence of diabetes in various countries has led to the introduction of diabetes treatment. Glaucoma, an eye disease known for centuries, remains on the public health agenda because of the difficulty in finding it early and the need for long-term treatment.

According to the World Health Organization, in 2021, it was estimated that around 2.2 billion people have a vision impairment or blindness, of whom at least 1 billion have a vision impairment that can be prevented. The 1 billion people include those with limited or severe visual impairment due to unresolved refractive error (123.7 million), cataract (65.2 million), glaucoma (6.9 million), corneal opacities (4.2 million ), diabetic retinopathy (3 million), and trachoma (2 million), and imminent visual impairment caused by unspecified presbyopia (826 million).The increasing geriatric population is further aggravating the prevalence of ophthalmic disorders, and the foremost causes of vision impairment are uncorrected refractive errors and cataracts. Most people with vision impairment are over the age of 50 years.

Hence, the rising incidence of eye-related disorders is projecting a great impact on the growth of market studied.

Scope of the Report

As per the scope of the report, ophthalmic drugs are the drugs used for treating glaucoma, cataracts, diabetic retinopathy, and other ophthalmic disorders. The ophthalmic drugs market is segmented by Drug Class (Anti-glaucoma Drug, Dry eye Drug, Ophthalmic Anti-allergy/Inflammatory, Retinal Drug, Anti-infective Drugs, and Other Drugs), Product Type (OTC Drug, and Prescription Drug), and Geography (North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, Middle East and Africa, and South America). The market report also covers the estimated market sizes and trends for 17 different countries across major regions, globally. The report offers the value (in USD million) for the above segments.

By Drug Class
Anti-glaucoma Drug
Dry eye Drug
Ophthalmic Anti-allergy/Inflammatory
Retinal Drug
Anti-infective Drugs
Other Drugs
By Product Type
OTC Drug
Prescription Drug
Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Italy
Spain
Rest of Europe
Asia-Pacific
China
Japan
India
Australia
South Korea
Rest of Asia-Pacific
Middle East and Africa
GCC
South Africa
Rest of Middle East and Africa
South America
Brazil
Argentina
Rest of South America

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

The Anti-glaucoma Drug Segment under Drug Class is Expected to Account for the Fastest Growth in the Forecast period

The number of people with major eye diseases is increasing across the world, and vision loss is becoming a major public health concern.​ As per the International Agency for the Prevention of Blindness, 2019, it has been estimated that by the end of 2020 there will be approximately 80 million people with glaucoma, an increase of about 20 million since 2010. Furthermore, a figure that is set to rise to 111 million by 2040 with the increasing prevalence, unless improved screening and effective treatment strategies are successful.​ therefore there is an increasing need for better drugs to control the disease.

Moreover, every year January is celebrated as Glaucoma Awareness Month globally to create awareness about glaucoma diagnosis and treatment. The growing awareness of the disease is boosting the market growth. In June 2020, Senju Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd. and Otsuka Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd. launched a new combination ophthalmic solution for the treatment of glaucoma and ocular hypertension, AILAMIDE Combination Ophthalmic Suspension in Japan. Such launches in the segment boost its growth in the forecast period.

glaucoma

To understand key trends, Download Sample Report

The Asia-Pacific Segment is Expected to Account for the Fastest Growth Rate

The ophthalmic drugs market is expanding and growing, globally. The market has been witnessing exponential growth in the Asia-Pacific region. Glaucoma and tear substitute (for dry eye) drugs are the leading products in Asia-Pacific. India is likely to be among the top three pharmaceutical markets by incremental growth and the sixth-largest market, globally, in absolute size, according to the Clinical and Experimental Vision and Eye Research, India, 2018. Increase in the number of middle-class households, advancement in medical infrastructure, and the increasing penetration of health insurance in the country are likely to play a significant role in influencing this growth. According to the National Health Policy (NHP), 2019 in India, glaucoma is the leading cause of blindness in which at least 12 million people have been infected and about 1.2 million people have been blinded by the disease. More than 90% of cases of glaucoma remain undetected in the country.

According to World bank data 2018, the percentage of older population above 65 years increased from 21.24% in 2008 to 27.58% in 2018, and as per United Nations, Japan has 51 persons aged 65 years or over per 100 persons. Moreover, the prevalence of glaucoma increases with age. Thus, the rising prevalence of glaucoma and an increase in healthcare expenditure are spurring the growth of the ophthalmic drugs market in the region.

Ophthalmic Drugs Market  - Growth Rate by Region

To understand geography trends, Download Sample Report

Competitive Landscape

The market studied is composed of a combination of both small and large firms. Most of the big companies are focusing on research and development to bring innovative products to the market. Some of the major players in the ophthalmic drugs market are Aerie Pharmaceuticals Inc., Abbive (Allergan), Bausch Health, Bayer AG, F. Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd, Hoya Corporation, Novartis AG, Pfizer Inc., and Regeneron Pharmaceuticals Inc.

RECENT DEVELOPMENTS

  • In March 2021, Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. has announced the launch of its first available version of AZOPT 1%, approved by the US Food and Drug Administration to treat high blood pressure inside the eye due to high blood pressure and open-angle glaucoma.
  • In January 2020, Horizon Therapeutics’ Tepezza injection was approved by the FDA for the treatment of Thyroid Eye Disease

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Increasing Incidence and Prevalence of Eye-related Disorders

      2. 4.2.2 Rising R and D Pertaining to the Development of Novel Drugs

      3. 4.2.3 Increasing Focus on Developing Combination Therapies

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

      1. 4.3.1 Loss of Patent Protection for Popular Drugs

      2. 4.3.2 Lack of Health Insurance in the Developing Countries

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Drug Class

      1. 5.1.1 Anti-glaucoma Drug

      2. 5.1.2 Dry eye Drug

      3. 5.1.3 Ophthalmic Anti-allergy/Inflammatory

      4. 5.1.4 Retinal Drug

      5. 5.1.5 Anti-infective Drugs

      6. 5.1.6 Other Drugs

    2. 5.2 By Product Type

      1. 5.2.1 OTC Drug

      2. 5.2.2 Prescription Drug

    3. 5.3 Geography

      1. 5.3.1 North America

        1. 5.3.1.1 United States

        2. 5.3.1.2 Canada

        3. 5.3.1.3 Mexico

      2. 5.3.2 Europe

        1. 5.3.2.1 Germany

        2. 5.3.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.3.2.3 France

        4. 5.3.2.4 Italy

        5. 5.3.2.5 Spain

        6. 5.3.2.6 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.3.3 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.3.3.1 China

        2. 5.3.3.2 Japan

        3. 5.3.3.3 India

        4. 5.3.3.4 Australia

        5. 5.3.3.5 South Korea

        6. 5.3.3.6 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.3.4 Middle East and Africa

        1. 5.3.4.1 GCC

        2. 5.3.4.2 South Africa

        3. 5.3.4.3 Rest of Middle East and Africa

      5. 5.3.5 South America

        1. 5.3.5.1 Brazil

        2. 5.3.5.2 Argentina

        3. 5.3.5.3 Rest of South America

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 Aerie Pharmaceuticals Inc.

      2. 6.1.2 Abbive (Allergan)

      3. 6.1.3 Bausch Health Companies Inc.

      4. 6.1.4 Bayer AG

      5. 6.1.5 F. Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd

      6. 6.1.6 Hoya Corporation

      7. 6.1.7 Novartis AG

      8. 6.1.8 Pfizer Inc.

      9. 6.1.9 Regeneron Pharmaceuticals Inc.

      10. 6.1.10 Santen Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Subject to Availability
**Competitive Landscape covers- Business Overview, Financials, Products and Strategies and Recent Developments

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Global Ophthalmic Drugs Market market is studied from 2018 - 2026.

The Global Ophthalmic Drugs Market is growing at a CAGR of 4.6% over the next 5 years.

Asia-Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

North America holds highest share in 2020.

Bausch Health Companies Inc., Novartis AG, Pfizer Inc., Abbvie, F. Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd are the major companies operating in Global Ophthalmic Drugs Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!