Marché des véhicules utilitaires électriques – Croissance, tendances, impact du COVID-19 et prévisions (2023-2028)

Le marché des véhicules utilitaires électriques est segmenté par type de véhicule (bus, camions, camionnettes et fourgonnettes), par propulsion (véhicules électriques à batterie, véhicules électriques hybrides rechargeables et véhicules électriques à pile à combustible), par puissance de sortie (moins inférieure à 150 kW, 150 - 250 kW et supérieure à 250 kW), et par géographie (Amérique du Nord, Europe, Asie-Pacifique et Reste du monde). Le rapport propose la taille du marché et des prévisions pour le marché des véhicules utilitaires électriques en valeur (milliards USD) pour tous les segments ci-dessus.

Aperçu du marché des véhicules utilitaires électriques

Electric Commercial Vehicle Market Overview
Study Period: 2018-2027
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: Asia Pacific
CAGR: 29.73 %

Major Players

rd-img

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

setting-icon

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Aperçu du marché

Le marché mondial des véhicules utilitaires électriques était évalué à 52,99 milliards USD en 2020 et devrait atteindre 252,97 milliards USD d'ici 2026, enregistrant un TCAC de 29,73 % au cours de la période de prévision.

La pandémie de COVID-19 a frappé le marché et a posé des défis à l'ensemble de l'industrie automobile. Les blocages dans de nombreux pays ont limité les ventes de véhicules à travers le monde et perturbé l'ensemble de la chaîne d'approvisionnement. Affecté par le COVID-19, le marché mondial des véhicules utilitaires électriques attire de plus en plus l'attention sur les tendances de son industrie post-pandémique. On s'attend à ce que l'industrie accélère progressivement le rythme dans les années à venir, les entreprises prenant de l'élan grâce à la croissance économique.

En raison de la croissance phénoménale de secteurs tels que la logistique et les industries de la chaîne d'approvisionnement, l'adoption des véhicules électriques est assez évidente dans de nombreux marchés émergents. De plus, les normes d'émissions strictes dans les pays du monde entier poussant de nombreuses entreprises à électrifier les véhicules jouent également un rôle crucial dans la croissance du marché.

Les progrès de la technologie des batteries et l'utilisation des dernières technologies telles que ADAS, AI, IoT, etc., alimentent la croissance du marché. Les principaux acteurs investissent massivement pour apporter les dernières fonctionnalités à leurs véhicules, intensifier la concurrence entre les équipementiers et aider le marché à se développer. Alors que de nombreux pays tentent d'adopter la mobilité électrique, la principale préoccupation est de recharger les infrastructures pour résister à la pression des nouveaux véhicules entrant sur le marché.

La plupart des pays tentent de passer à l'électricité d'ici 2050 pour réduire leurs émissions liées au trafic. Certains pays, comme les États-Unis, le Canada, la Chine, le Japon et l'Inde, ont déjà introduit des seuils pour les véhicules utilitaires. Les réglementations gouvernementales, les incitations financières aux véhicules électriques et la mise en place rapide d'infrastructures prenant en charge les véhicules électriques peuvent stimuler le marché au cours de la période de prévision.

Portée du rapport

Le marché des véhicules utilitaires électriques est segmenté par type de véhicule (bus, camions, camionnettes et camionnettes), par propulsion (BEV, PHEV et FCEV), par puissance de sortie (moins de 150 kW, 150 - 250 kW et Au-dessus de 250 kW) et Géographie (Amérique du Nord, Europe, Asie-Pacifique et Reste du monde). Le rapport propose la taille du marché et des prévisions pour le marché des véhicules utilitaires électriques en valeur (milliards USD) pour tous les segments ci-dessus.

By Vehicle Type
Bus
Trucks
Pick-up Trucks
Vans
By Propulsion
Battery Electric Vehicles
Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicles
Fuel Cell Electric Vehicles
By Power Output
Less than 150 Kw
150-250 Kw
Above 250 Kw
Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Rest of North America
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Russia
Spain
Rest of Europe
Asia-Pacific
India
China
Japan
South Korea
Rest of Asia-Pacific
Rest of the World
South America
Middle-East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Principales tendances du marché

Le coût initial élevé et les problèmes de batterie entravent la croissance du marché des véhicules utilitaires électriques

Actuellement, le plus gros problème auquel le marché est confronté est le capital initial pour les véhicules électriques. Les véhicules électriques sont chers car des batteries lithium-ion sont utilisées à la place des batteries plomb-acide. Bien que les batteries au plomb soient moins chères, les facteurs de risque environnementaux obligent les fabricants à se tourner vers les batteries lithium-ion, bien qu'elles soient chères mais respectueuses de l'environnement. Il a également été prouvé que les batteries lithium-ion augmentent l'efficacité et les performances à long terme, raison pour laquelle de nombreuses entreprises les choisissent.

La majeure partie du prix des camions électriques est due à leurs batteries. Le prix moyen par kilowatt utilisable d'une batterie Li-ion pour un groupe motopropulseur électronique varie de 900 à 1 250 USD. La batterie du véhicule électrique représente la plus grande partie du coût du véhicule. Le coût de la batterie fait qu'une flotte de camions électriques coûte beaucoup plus cher qu'une flotte de camions diesel, ce qui augmente considérablement le montant de l'investissement. Un camion ordinaire à moteur diesel coûte environ 400 000 à 500 000 USD. Cependant, un camion hybride diesel-électrique coûte environ 800 000 USD.

Outre le coût de la batterie, le temps nécessaire pour recharger une batterie de camion électrique, combiné à un nombre limité de bornes de recharge, peut également freiner la croissance du marché.

Electric commercial vehicle market

L'Asie-Pacifique devrait dominer le marché

Le marché des véhicules utilitaires électriques devrait être dominé par l'Asie-Pacifique, suivi de l'Europe et de l'Amérique du Nord. En 2019, la part de marché des véhicules utilitaires électriques sur le plus grand marché automobile du monde, la Chine, est passée de 4,5 % à 4,7 %, même après une réduction significative des incitations. L'augmentation de la part de marché des véhicules électriques s'accompagne d'une baisse de 8,4 % des ventes de véhicules à combustion (26,82 millions en 2018 à 24,56 millions en 2019), les ventes de véhicules électriques restant relativement sûres (1,26 million réduit à 1,21 million).

En Asie-Pacifique, la Chine représentait la plus grande part des revenus de plus de 80 % en 2020. La Chine est également loin en tête en ce qui concerne l'utilisation des bus électriques : la région devrait détenir une part de revenus dominante tout au long de la période de prévision en raison de la présence de grandes entreprises telles que Dongfeng, BYD Auto, Daimler AG, FAW Group, etc. Il y a environ 385 000 e-bus en circulation dans le monde, dont 99 % en Chine.

Malgré le nombre de ventes, le marché européen se distingue par un meilleur accès aux bornes de recharge pour camions électriques. L'industrie européenne du camionnage électrique devrait progresser rapidement après que l'UE prévoit de réduire les péages de 50 % pour les camions sans émissions jusqu'en avril 2023. La décision de l'UE de réduire les péages constitue une aide aux investissements privés dans les camions électriques. L'Union européenne s'est également fixé pour objectif d'atteindre une réduction de 40 % des gaz à effet de serre d'ici 2040. Des acteurs majeurs tels que Volvo et Daimler proposent déjà une gamme plus large de véhicules utilitaires lourds aux industries en vendant une gamme complète de camions électriques à batterie pour la distribution dans L'Europe .

electric commercial vehicle market geography

Paysage concurrentiel

Quelques acteurs majeurs dominent le marché des véhicules utilitaires électriques, à savoir BYD Auto Co. Ltd, Proterra Inc., AB Volvo, Daimler AG, Zhongtong Bus Holding et Ashok Leyland.

Les constructeurs développent des véhicules électriques commerciaux par le biais de coentreprises, de partenariats et transforment leur parc de moteurs thermiques existant en véhicules électriques. Par exemple,

  • Volvo Trucks, la principale marque de camions d'AB Volvo en Suède, a pour objectif de vendre une gamme complète de poids lourds électriques en Europe à partir de 2021.
  • En avril 2021, Daimler et Portland General Electric (PGE) ont dévoilé une nouvelle borne de recharge pour camions électriques, la première du genre, à Portland, dans l'Oregon.

Principaux acteurs

  1. BYD Auto Co., Ltd

  2. Proterra, Inc.

  3. AB Volvo

  4. Olectra Greentech Limited

  5. Tesla

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

BYD Auto Co., Ltd, Proterra, Inc., AB Volvo, Olectra Greentech Limited, Tesla

Paysage concurrentiel

Quelques acteurs majeurs dominent le marché des véhicules utilitaires électriques, à savoir BYD Auto Co. Ltd, Proterra Inc., AB Volvo, Daimler AG, Zhongtong Bus Holding et Ashok Leyland.

Les constructeurs développent des véhicules électriques commerciaux par le biais de coentreprises, de partenariats et transforment leur parc de moteurs thermiques existant en véhicules électriques. Par exemple,

  • Volvo Trucks, la principale marque de camions d'AB Volvo en Suède, a pour objectif de vendre une gamme complète de poids lourds électriques en Europe à partir de 2021.
  • En avril 2021, Daimler et Portland General Electric (PGE) ont dévoilé une nouvelle borne de recharge pour camions électriques, la première du genre, à Portland, dans l'Oregon.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Drivers

    2. 4.2 Market Restraints

    3. 4.3 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.3.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.3.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Vehicle Type

      1. 5.1.1 Bus

      2. 5.1.2 Trucks

      3. 5.1.3 Pick-up Trucks

      4. 5.1.4 Vans

    2. 5.2 By Propulsion

      1. 5.2.1 Battery Electric Vehicles

      2. 5.2.2 Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicles

      3. 5.2.3 Fuel Cell Electric Vehicles

    3. 5.3 By Power Output

      1. 5.3.1 Less than 150 Kw

      2. 5.3.2 150-250 Kw

      3. 5.3.3 Above 250 Kw

    4. 5.4 Geography

      1. 5.4.1 North America

        1. 5.4.1.1 United States

        2. 5.4.1.2 Canada

        3. 5.4.1.3 Mexico

        4. 5.4.1.4 Rest of North America

      2. 5.4.2 Europe

        1. 5.4.2.1 Germany

        2. 5.4.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.4.2.3 France

        4. 5.4.2.4 Russia

        5. 5.4.2.5 Spain

        6. 5.4.2.6 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.4.3 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.4.3.1 India

        2. 5.4.3.2 China

        3. 5.4.3.3 Japan

        4. 5.4.3.4 South Korea

        5. 5.4.3.5 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.4.4 Rest of the World

        1. 5.4.4.1 South America

        2. 5.4.4.2 Middle-East and Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Vendor Market Share

    2. 6.2 Company Profiles*

      1. 6.2.1 BYD Auto Co. Ltd

      2. 6.2.2 Proterra Inc.

      3. 6.2.3 AB Volvo

      4. 6.2.4 Daimler AG

      5. 6.2.5 Tata Motors Limited

      6. 6.2.6 Ford Motor Company

      7. 6.2.7 Tesla Inc.

      8. 6.2.8 Traton SE

      9. 6.2.9 Rivian

      10. 6.2.10 Zhengzhou Yutong Bus Co. Ltd

      11. 6.2.11 Olectra Greentech Limited

  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Le marché du marché des véhicules utilitaires électriques est étudié de 2018 à 2027.

Le marché des véhicules utilitaires électriques croît à un TCAC de 25,1 % au cours des 5 prochaines années.

Le marché des véhicules utilitaires électriques est évalué à 67 milliards USD en 2018.

Le marché des véhicules utilitaires électriques est évalué à 258 milliards USD en 2027.

L'Asie-Pacifique affiche le TCAC le plus élevé sur la période 2021-2026.

L'Asie-Pacifique détient la part la plus élevée en 2021.

BYD Auto Co., Ltd, AB Volvo, Traton SE, Daimler AG, Zhengzhou Yutong Bus Co., Ltd. sont les principales entreprises opérant sur le marché des véhicules utilitaires électriques.

close-icon
80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Electric Commercial Vehicle Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecast (2021 - 2026)

The Electric Commercial Vehicle Market is Segmented by Vehicle Type (Bus, Trucks, Pick-up Trucks, and Vans), by Propulsion (Battery Electric Vehicles, Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicles, and Fuel Cell Electric Vehicles), by Power Output (Less than 150 kW, 150 – 250 kW, and Above 250 kW), and by Geography (North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, and Rest of the world). The report offers market size and forecasts for the Electric Commercial Vehicle Market in value (USD billion) for all the above segments.

Electric Commercial Vehicle Market Snapshot

Electric Commercial Vehicle Market Overview
Study Period: 2018 - 2026
Base Year: 2020
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: Asia Pacific
CAGR: 29.73 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The Global Electric Commercial Vehicle Market was valued at USD 52.99 billion in 2020, and it is expected to reach USD 252.97 billion by 2026, registering a CAGR of 29.73% during the forecast period.

The COVID-19 pandemic struck the market and brought challenges to the whole automotive industry. Lockdowns in many nations limited the sales of vehicles across the globe and disrupted the entire supply chain. Affected by COVID-19, the global electric commercial vehicle market is attracting growing attention to its post-pandemic industry trends. It is expected the industry would pick up the pace gradually in the coming years, with companies gaining momentum by economic growth.

Due to tremendous growth among sectors like logistics and supply chain industries, the adoption of electric vehicles is quite evident in many emerging markets. Adding to that, the stringent emission norms in the countries worldwide pushing many companies to electrify the vehicles also play a crucial role in the market's growth.

The advancements in battery technology and the use of the latest technologies like ADAS, AI, IoT, etc., are fuelling the market's growth. Major players are heavily investing in bringing the latest features to their vehicles, increasing competition between OEMs and helping the market grow. As many nations are trying to adopt electric mobility, the major concern is charging infrastructures to hold the pressure from new vehicles entering the market.

Most of the countries are trying to go electric by 2050 to reduce their traffic-related emissions. Some countries, such as the United States, Canada, China, Japan, and India, have already introduced thresholds for commercial vehicles. The government regulations, financial incentives towards electric vehicles, and the quick establishment of infrastructure supporting EVs can boost the market during the forecast period.

Scope of the Report

The Electric Commercial Vehicle Market is Segmented by Vehicle Type (Bus, Trucks, Pick-up Trucks, and Vans), by Propulsion (BEV, PHEV, and FCEV), by Power Output (Less than 150 kW, 150 – 250 kW, and Above 250 kW), and Geography (North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, and Rest of the world). The report offers market size and forecasts for the Electric Commercial Vehicle Market in value (USD billion) for all the above segments.

By Vehicle Type
Bus
Trucks
Pick-up Trucks
Vans
By Propulsion
Battery Electric Vehicles
Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicles
Fuel Cell Electric Vehicles
By Power Output
Less than 150 Kw
150-250 Kw
Above 250 Kw
Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Rest of North America
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Russia
Spain
Rest of Europe
Asia-Pacific
India
China
Japan
South Korea
Rest of Asia-Pacific
Rest of the World
South America
Middle-East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

High Initial Cost and Battery Concerns are Hindering the Growth of the Electric Commercial Vehicle Market

Currently, the biggest issue market is facing is the initial capital for EV's. Electric vehicles are expensive as lithium-ion batteries are being used instead of lead-acid batteries. Though lead-acid batteries are cheaper, the environmental risk factors are forcing manufacturers towards lithium-ion batteries though they are expensive but eco-friendly. Lithium-ion batteries are also proven to increase efficiency and performance during the long run, the reason many companies are opting for them.

The major portion of the price of electric trucks is owed to their battery packs. The average price per usable kilowatt of a Li-ion battery for an electronic powertrain ranges from USD 900 to 1,250. The battery of the electric vehicle makes up the largest portion of the vehicle's cost. The cost of the battery makes an electric truck fleet cost much more than a diesel truck fleet, increasing the investment amount by a huge margin. A regular diesel-powered truck costs approximately USD 400,000- 500,000. However, a diesel-electric hybrid truck costs about USD 800,000.

In addition to the battery cost, the time taken to charge an electric truck battery, combined with a limited number of charging stations, can also hinder the growth of the market.

Electric commercial vehicle market

Asia-Pacific is Expected to Lead the Market

The electric commercial vehicle market is expected to be led by Asia-Pacific, followed by Europe and North America. In 2019, the electric commercial vehicle market share in the world's largest auto market, China, increased from 4.5% to 4.7%, even after a significant trimming of incentives. The EV market share increase comes at an 8.4% fall in sales of combustion vehicles (26.82 million in 2018 to 24.56 million in 2019), with EV sales remaining relatively safe (1.26 million trimmed to 1.21 million).

In Asia-Pacific, China accounted for the largest revenue share of over 80% in 2020. China is also far ahead when it comes to the use of electric buses: The region is expected to hold a dominant revenue share throughout the forecast period owing to the presence of major companies such as Dongfeng, BYD Auto, Daimler AG, FAW Group, etc. There are around 385,000 e-buses on the road worldwide, 99% of them in China.

Despite the number of sales, the European market is noted for greater access to electric truck charging points. Europe's electric trucking industry is likely to advance rapidly after the EU plans to cut tolls by 50% for emission-free trucks until April 2023. The EU's decision to cut tolls comes as an aid for private investments in electric trucks. European Union has also set the target to achieve 40% greenhouse gas reduction by 2040. Major players such as Volvo and Daimler are already offering a wider range of heavy-duty vehicles to industries by selling a complete range of battery-electric trucks for distribution in Europe.

electric commercial vehicle market geography

Competitive Landscape

A few major players dominate the electric commercial vehicle market, namely BYD Auto Co. Ltd, Proterra Inc., AB Volvo, Daimler AG, Zhongtong Bus Holding, and Ashok Leyland.

The manufacturers develop commercial electric vehicles through joint ventures, partnerships, and transforming their existing IC engine fleet into electric. For instance,

  • Volvo Trucks, Sweden's AB Volvo's main truck brand, aims to sell a complete range of electric, heavy-duty trucks in Europe from 2021.
  • In April 2021, Daimler and Portland General Electric (PGE) unveiled a new first-of-its-kind electric truck charging station in Portland, Oregon.

Recent Developments

  • In September 2021, BYD unveiled two revolutionary battery-electric heavy-duty trucks, the third-generation 8TT, and 6F. The extended range versions of the 8TT and 6F offer a range of up to 200 miles on a charge. The trucks come standard with Advanced Driver-Assistance Systems (ADAS), making driving easier and safer.
  • In July 2021, ROUSH CleanTech, Penske Truck Leasing, and Proterra Inc. announced a new collaboration under which Proterra will supply its industry-leading battery technology to ROUSH CleanTech for the development of its next-gen Ford F-650 all-electric commercial trucks.
  • In April 2021, Electric truck specialist Tevva announced a new partnership with European energy giant Vattenfall designed to make it easier for businesses to switch to a zero-emission vehicle fleet and curb their transport-related emissions.
  • In April 2021, Rivian announced that it would use Samsung SDI battery cells for its R1T electric pickup truck and R1S electric SUV, as well as upcoming commercial vehicles.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Drivers

    2. 4.2 Market Restraints

    3. 4.3 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.3.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.3.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Vehicle Type

      1. 5.1.1 Bus

      2. 5.1.2 Trucks

      3. 5.1.3 Pick-up Trucks

      4. 5.1.4 Vans

    2. 5.2 By Propulsion

      1. 5.2.1 Battery Electric Vehicles

      2. 5.2.2 Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicles

      3. 5.2.3 Fuel Cell Electric Vehicles

    3. 5.3 By Power Output

      1. 5.3.1 Less than 150 Kw

      2. 5.3.2 150-250 Kw

      3. 5.3.3 Above 250 Kw

    4. 5.4 Geography

      1. 5.4.1 North America

        1. 5.4.1.1 United States

        2. 5.4.1.2 Canada

        3. 5.4.1.3 Mexico

        4. 5.4.1.4 Rest of North America

      2. 5.4.2 Europe

        1. 5.4.2.1 Germany

        2. 5.4.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.4.2.3 France

        4. 5.4.2.4 Russia

        5. 5.4.2.5 Spain

        6. 5.4.2.6 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.4.3 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.4.3.1 India

        2. 5.4.3.2 China

        3. 5.4.3.3 Japan

        4. 5.4.3.4 South Korea

        5. 5.4.3.5 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.4.4 Rest of the World

        1. 5.4.4.1 South America

        2. 5.4.4.2 Middle-East and Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Vendor Market Share

    2. 6.2 Company Profiles*

      1. 6.2.1 BYD Auto Co. Ltd

      2. 6.2.2 Proterra Inc.

      3. 6.2.3 AB Volvo

      4. 6.2.4 Daimler AG

      5. 6.2.5 Tata Motors Limited

      6. 6.2.6 Ford Motor Company

      7. 6.2.7 Tesla Inc.

      8. 6.2.8 Traton SE

      9. 6.2.9 Rivian

      10. 6.2.10 Zhengzhou Yutong Bus Co. Ltd

      11. 6.2.11 Olectra Greentech Limited

  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Electric Commercial Vehicle Market market is studied from 2018 - 2026.

The Electric Commercial Vehicle Market is growing at a CAGR of 29.73% over the next 5 years.

The Electric Commercial Vehicle Market is valued at 53 Billion USD in 2018.

The Electric Commercial Vehicle Market is valued at 253 Billion USD in 2026.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

Asia Pacific holds highest share in 2020.

BYD Auto Co., Ltd, Proterra, Inc., AB Volvo, Olectra Greentech Limited, Tesla are the major companies operating in Electric Commercial Vehicle Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!