Рынок электроэнергии Восточной Африки — рост, тенденции, влияние COVID-19 и прогнозы (2023–2028 гг.)

Рынок сегментирован по секторам (производство электроэнергии (тепловые, гидроэнергетические и негидроэнергетические возобновляемые источники энергии) и передача и распределение электроэнергии) и по географии (Кения, Эфиопия, Танзания, Уганда и остальная часть Восточной Африки).

Обзор рынка

East Africa Power Market Overview
Study Period: 2019-2026
CAGR: > 3 %

Major Players

East Africa Power Market Major Players

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

setting-icon

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Обзор рынка

Ожидается, что рынок электроэнергии в регионе Восточной Африки будет расти в среднем на более чем 3% в течение прогнозируемого периода 2021-2026 годов. Пандемия пандемии COVID-19 серьезно повлияла на экономику африканских стран из-за их зависимости от экономики других стран, хотя влияние COVID-19 в регионе было меньше, чем в других странах. Такие факторы, как растущий спрос на электроэнергию из-за роста населения и быстро растущая доля возобновляемых источников энергии и тепловых электростанций, работающих на газе, вероятно, будут стимулировать рынок. Ожидается, что уровень урбанизации и электрификации также повлияет на энергопотребление. С другой стороны, отсутствие крупных инвестиций в создание и модернизацию сетей производства, передачи или распределения электроэнергии сдерживает рост рынка.

  • Ожидается, что в регионе будет наблюдаться значительный рост гидро- и негидровозобновляемых источников энергии благодаря таким факторам, как увеличение инвестиций в этот сектор в сочетании с усилением внимания к производству экологически чистой энергии.
  • Создание таких организаций, как East Africa Power Pool, которые сосредоточены на развитии энергетической инфраструктуры в регионе, помогло рынку расти в прошлом и, как ожидается, продолжит это делать в течение прогнозируемого периода.
  • Ожидается, что Эфиопия станет свидетелем значительного роста мощностей по выработке электроэнергии среди стран в прогнозируемый период из-за значительного потребления электроэнергии и стремления правительства снизить зависимость от импортируемого ископаемого топлива. Ожидается также, что страна будет инвестировать в проекты по возобновляемым источникам энергии, что, вероятно, будет способствовать росту рынка.

Объем отчета

Отчет о рынке электроэнергии Восточной Африки включает:

Sector
Power Generation
Thermal
Hydro and Non-Hydro Renewables
Power Transmission and Distribution
Geography
Kenya
Ethiopia
Tanzania
Uganda
Rest of East Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Ключевые тенденции рынка

Ожидается значительный рост гидро- и негидровозобновляемых источников энергии

  • Сегмент гидро- и негидровозобновляемых источников энергии включает плотины водохранилищ различных размеров, которые можно использовать для получения возобновляемой энергии и других возобновляемых источников энергии, таких как энергия ветра и солнца. Гидроэнергетика является наиболее используемой возобновляемой энергией в Восточной Африке.
  • Гидроэнергетика (включая смешанные электростанции) составляет почти 78% от общего объема возобновляемой энергии, вырабатываемой в регионе в 2019 году. Ожидается, что в прогнозируемый период она останется единственным сегментом, вносящим наибольший вклад в возобновляемую энергию.
  • В 2018 году Kenya Electricity Generating Co. и Voith GmbH начали проект модернизации, чтобы увеличить выходную мощность гидроэнергетического проекта Wanjii примерно на 20%. Ожидается, что модернизация будет происходить путем замены электрооборудования, такого как турбины, генераторы и системы управления.
  • Географические особенности стран региона способствуют выработке энергии за счет гидроэнергетики. Из-за наличия физических структур, таких как река Нил, горы и великие озера.
  • В последние годы снижение стоимости солнечных панелей и аккумуляторов также помогло сектору солнечной энергетики значительно вырасти в регионе, и ожидается, что он продолжит расти и в течение прогнозируемого периода.
  • Ожидается, что вышеупомянутые факторы помогут сегменту возобновляемых источников энергии и энергии, не относящимся к гидроэнергетике, добиться значительного роста в течение прогнозируемого периода.
East Africa Power Market Key Trends

Эфиопия, как ожидается, станет свидетелем значительного роста

  • Самая большая река в мире берет начало в горах Эфиопии. На реке были задуманы и построены многочисленные плотины, обеспечивающие возобновляемую энергию. Однако нехватка воды в этом районе вызвала дипломатические разногласия между Египтом и Эфиопией и может привести к некоторым задержкам в реализации проектов.
  • Гидроэнергетические проекты производят значительную долю электроэнергии в стране. В 2020 году по этим проектам в стране было произведено 4071 МВт установленной мощности. Гидроэнергетика составляет около 90% всех мощностей по выработке электроэнергии в стране.
  • В 2019 году министерство финансов Эфиопии объявило тендер на строительство шести солнечных электростанций общей мощностью 798 МВт. Ожидается, что это будет государственно-частное предприятие, которое, вероятно, уменьшит дефицит энергии в стране. Подобные крупномасштабные проекты также обеспечивают рост рынка.
  • В 2020 году строится Великая плотина эфиопского возрождения. Ожидается, что после завершения строительства он будет иметь мощность 6000 МВт. Ожидается, что она станет крупнейшей действующей плотиной в Африке, что, в свою очередь, будет стимулировать рынок в течение прогнозируемого периода.
  • Следовательно, ожидается, что Эфиопия будет доминировать на рынке из-за значительного увеличения установленной мощности возобновляемых источников энергии в прогнозируемый период.
East Africa Power Market Growth Rate

Конкурентная среда

Рынок электроэнергии Восточной Африки умеренно консолидирован из-за того, что несколько компаний владеют значительной долей рынка. Ключевыми игроками на этом рынке являются Кенийская электрогенерирующая компания PLC, Эфиопская электроэнергетическая компания, Танзания Электроснабжающая компания с ограниченной ответственностью, Кенийская электроэнергетическая и осветительная компания PLC и Кенийская компания по передаче электроэнергии.

Основные игроки

  1. Kenya Electricity Generating Company PLC

  2. Ethiopian Electric Power

  3. Tanzania Electric Supply Company Limited

  4. Kenya Power and Lighting Company PLC

  5. Kenya Electricity Transmission Company

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

JinkoSolar Holding Co Ltd., ACWA POWER BARKA SAOG, Dubai Electricity and Water Authority, Eskom Holdings SOC Ltd, Saudi Electricity Company

Конкурентная среда

Рынок электроэнергии Восточной Африки умеренно консолидирован из-за того, что несколько компаний владеют значительной долей рынка. Ключевыми игроками на этом рынке являются Кенийская электрогенерирующая компания PLC, Эфиопская электроэнергетическая компания, Танзания Электроснабжающая компания с ограниченной ответственностью, Кенийская электроэнергетическая и осветительная компания PLC и Кенийская компания по передаче электроэнергии.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Scope of the Study

    2. 1.2 Market Definition

    3. 1.3 Study Assumptions

  2. 2. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  3. 3. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  4. 4. MARKET OVERVIEW

    1. 4.1 Introduction

    2. 4.2 Power Generation Installed Capacity and Forecast, in GW, till 2026

    3. 4.3 Recent Trends and Developments

    4. 4.4 Government Policies and Regulations

    5. 4.5 Market Dynamics

      1. 4.5.1 Drivers

      2. 4.5.2 Restraints

    6. 4.6 Supply Chain Analysis

    7. 4.7 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.7.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.7.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.7.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.7.4 Threat of Substitutes Products and Services

      5. 4.7.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

    8. 4.8 Assesment of Impact of COVID-19 on the Market

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Sector

      1. 5.1.1 Power Generation

        1. 5.1.1.1 Thermal

        2. 5.1.1.2 Hydro and Non-Hydro Renewables

      2. 5.1.2 Power Transmission and Distribution

    2. 5.2 Geography

      1. 5.2.1 Kenya

      2. 5.2.2 Ethiopia

      3. 5.2.3 Tanzania

      4. 5.2.4 Uganda

      5. 5.2.5 Rest of East Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Mergers and Acquisitions, Joint Ventures, Collaborations, and Agreements

    2. 6.2 Strategies Adopted by Leading Players

    3. 6.3 Company Profiles

      1. 6.3.1 Power Generation Companies

        1. 6.3.1.1 Kenya Electricity Generating Company Plc

        2. 6.3.1.2 Ethiopian Electric Company

        3. 6.3.1.3 Tanzania Electric Supply Company

        4. 6.3.1.4 Uganda Electricity Generation Company Limited

      2. 6.3.2 Tower Transmission and Distribution Companies

        1. 6.3.2.1 Kenya Power and Lightinh Company PLC

        2. 6.3.2.2 Kenya Electricty Transmission Company

        3. 6.3.2.3 Uganda Electricity Transmission Company Limited

    4. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Subject to Availability
You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Рынок электроэнергии Восточной Африки изучается с 2019 по 2028 год.

Рынок электроэнергии Восточной Африки будет расти со среднегодовым темпом роста более 3% в течение следующих 5 лет.

Kenya Electricity Generating Company PLC, Ethiopian Electric Power, Tanzania Electric Supply Company Limited, Kenya Power and Lighting Company PLC, Kenya Electricity Transmission Company являются основными компаниями, работающими на рынке электроэнергии Восточной Африки.

close-icon
80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

East Africa Power Market Size & Share Analysis - Growth Trends & Forecasts (2024 - 2029)

The East Africa Power Market is segmented by Sector (Power Generation (Thermal, Hydro, and Non-Hydro Renewables) and Power Transmissions and Distribution) and Geography (Kenya, Ethiopia, Tanzania, Uganda, and Rest of East Africa).

East Africa Power Market Size

Single User License

$4750

Team License

$5250

Corporate License

$8750

Book before:
View Global Report
East Africa Power Market Overview
Study Period 2020 - 2029
Base Year For Estimation 2023
Forecast Data Period 2024 - 2029
Historical Data Period 2020 - 2022
CAGR > 3.00 %

Major Players

East Africa Power Market Major Players

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

setting-icon

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Single User License

$4750

Team License

$5250

Corporate License

$8750

Book before:

East Africa Power Market Analysis

The power market in the East Africa region is expected to grow at a CAGR of more than 3% in the forecast period of 2021-2026. The COVID-19 pandemic pandemic severely impacted on economies of African countries, because of their dependence economy of other countries, even though the impact of COVID-19 was less in the region than foreign nations. Factors such as increasing power demand due to the increasing population and the rapidly increasing share of renewable and gas-based thermal power plants are likely to drive the market. The degree of urbanization and electrification is also expected to drive power consumption. On the other hand, the lack of huge investments for setting up and modernizing power generation, transmission, or distribution networks is restraining the growth of the market.

  • Hydro and Non-Hydro Renewables are expected to witness significant growth in the region, owing to factors like increasing investments in the sector combined with increasing focus on producing clean energy.
  • The formation of organizations like East Africa Power Pool, which are focused on the development of power infrastructure in the region has helped the market grow in the past and are expected to continue to do so during the forecast period too.
  • Ethiopia is expected to witness significant growth in terms of power generation capacity among the nations in the forecast period due to its significant consumption of electricity and government focus to decrease dependence on imported fossil fuel. The country is also expected to invest in renewable energy projects, which is likely to aid in the growth of the market.

East Africa Power Market Trends

This section covers the major market trends shaping the East Africa Power Market according to our research experts:

Hydro and Non-Hydro Renewables are Expected to Witness Significant Growth

  • The Hydro and Non-Hydro Renewable segment includes the different sized reservoir dams that can be used to provide renewable energy and other renewable energies like wind and solar energy. Hydropower is the most used renewable energy in East Africa.
  • Hydropower (including mixed plants) constitute almost 78% of the total renewable energy generated in the region, in 2019. It is expected to remain the single largest renewable energy contributing segment in the forecast period.
  • In 2018, an upgrade project began by the Kenya Electricity Generating Co. and Voith GmbH to increase the Wanjii hydropower project's output capacity by about 20%. Modernization is expected to take place by changing the electrical equipment like turbines, generators, and control systems.
  • The geographical features of the countries in the region aid in the creation of energy from hydropower. Due to the presence of physical structures like the Nile River, Mountains, and the great lakes.
  • In recent years, the declining costs of solar panels and batteries have also helped solar energy sector to grow significnalty in the region, and is expected to continue to grow during the forecast period too.
  • The aforementioned factors are expected thelp the Hydro and Non-Hydro Renewables segment to witness significant grwoth during the forecast period.
East Africa Power Market Key Trends

Ethiopia Expected to Witness Significant Growth

  • The largest river in the world starts in the mountains of Ethiopia. Numerous dams have been conceived and built on the river, which has provided for renewable energy. However, water scarcity in the area has caused diplomatic differences between Egypt and Ethiopia and may cause some delays in the execution of the projects.
  • Hydropower projects produce a significant share of power in the country. In 2020, the country had 4071 MW of installed capacity produced through these projects. Hydropower constitutes around 90% of all power generation capacity in the country.
  • In 2019, Ethiopia's Ministry of Finance announced a tender for the construction of six solar plants, which are expected to have a combined 798 MW capacity. It is expected to be a public-private enterprise and is likely to decrease the country's energy deficit. Large-scale projects such as these also provide growth to the market.
  • In 2020, the Grand Ethiopian Renaissance Dam is in construction. It is expected to have a capacity to generate 6000 MW when fully built. It is expected to become the largest operational dam in Africa, in turn driving the market during the forecast period.
  • Hence, Ethiopia is expected to dominate the market due to its large increase in the installed renewable energy capacity in the forecast period.
East Africa Power Market Growth Rate

East Africa Power Industry Overview

The East Africa Power market is moderately consolidated, due to a few companies holding a major share of the market. The key players in this market include Kenya Electricity Generating Company PLC, Ethiopian Electric Power, Tanzania Electric Supply Company Limited, Kenya Power and Lighting Company PLC, and Kenya Electricity Transmission Company.

East Africa Power Market Leaders

  1. Kenya Electricity Generating Company PLC

  2. Ethiopian Electric Power

  3. Tanzania Electric Supply Company Limited

  4. Kenya Power and Lighting Company PLC

  5. Kenya Electricity Transmission Company

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

JinkoSolar Holding Co Ltd., ACWA POWER BARKA SAOG, Dubai Electricity and Water Authority, Eskom Holdings SOC Ltd, Saudi Electricity Company
Need More Details on Market Players and Competitors?
Download PDF

East Africa Power Market News

  • In September 2021, Kenyan telecoms operator Safaricom, announced that the company has submitted a proposal to Kenya Power for the installation of a USD 300 million smart meter system at the utility, The main objective behind the proposal was to control power losses of the utility company.
  • In November 2020, Kenya Electricity Generating Company PLC unveiled an elaborate renewable energy project pipeline focussed on supporting the government's economic growth agenda. The company's target in 2021 is to deliver the Olkaria 1 Unit 6 geothermal power plant which is expected to add 83.3 MW to the national grid.

East Africa Power Market Report - Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Scope of the Study

    2. 1.2 Market Definition

    3. 1.3 Study Assumptions

  2. 2. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  3. 3. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  4. 4. MARKET OVERVIEW

    1. 4.1 Introduction

    2. 4.2 Power Generation Installed Capacity and Forecast, in GW, till 2026

    3. 4.3 Recent Trends and Developments

    4. 4.4 Government Policies and Regulations

    5. 4.5 Market Dynamics

      1. 4.5.1 Drivers

      2. 4.5.2 Restraints

    6. 4.6 Supply Chain Analysis

    7. 4.7 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.7.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.7.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.7.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.7.4 Threat of Substitutes Products and Services

      5. 4.7.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

    8. 4.8 Assesment of Impact of COVID-19 on the Market

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Sector

      1. 5.1.1 Power Generation

        1. 5.1.1.1 Thermal

        2. 5.1.1.2 Hydro and Non-Hydro Renewables

      2. 5.1.2 Power Transmission and Distribution

    2. 5.2 Geography

      1. 5.2.1 Kenya

      2. 5.2.2 Ethiopia

      3. 5.2.3 Tanzania

      4. 5.2.4 Uganda

      5. 5.2.5 Rest of East Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Mergers and Acquisitions, Joint Ventures, Collaborations, and Agreements

    2. 6.2 Strategies Adopted by Leading Players

    3. 6.3 Company Profiles

      1. 6.3.1 Power Generation Companies

        1. 6.3.1.1 Kenya Electricity Generating Company Plc

        2. 6.3.1.2 Ethiopian Electric Company

        3. 6.3.1.3 Tanzania Electric Supply Company

        4. 6.3.1.4 Uganda Electricity Generation Company Limited

      2. 6.3.2 Tower Transmission and Distribution Companies

        1. 6.3.2.1 Kenya Power and Lightinh Company PLC

        2. 6.3.2.2 Kenya Electricty Transmission Company

        3. 6.3.2.3 Uganda Electricity Transmission Company Limited

    4. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Subject to Availability
You Can Purchase Parts Of This Report. Check Out Prices For Specific Sections
Get Price Break-up Now

East Africa Power Industry Segmentation

The East Africa Power Market report includes:

Sector
Power Generation
Thermal
Hydro and Non-Hydro Renewables
Power Transmission and Distribution
Geography
Kenya
Ethiopia
Tanzania
Uganda
Rest of East Africa
Need A Different Region Or Segment?
Customize Now

East Africa Power Market Research FAQs

The East Africa Power Market is projected to register a CAGR of greater than 3% during the forecast period (2024-2029)

Kenya Electricity Generating Company PLC, Ethiopian Electric Power, Tanzania Electric Supply Company Limited, Kenya Power and Lighting Company PLC and Kenya Electricity Transmission Company are the major companies operating in the East Africa Power Market.

The report covers the East Africa Power Market historical market size for years: 2020, 2021, 2022 and 2023. The report also forecasts the East Africa Power Market size for years: 2024, 2025, 2026, 2027, 2028 and 2029.

Power Energy in East Africa Industry Report

Statistics for the 2024 Power Energy in East Africa market share, size and revenue growth rate, created by Mordor Intelligence™ Industry Reports. Power Energy in East Africa analysis includes a market forecast outlook 2029 and historical overview. Get a sample of this industry analysis as a free report PDF download.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

East Africa Power Market Size & Share Analysis - Growth Trends & Forecasts (2024 - 2029)