语言服务市场 - 增长、趋势、COVID-19 影响和预测(2022 - 2027 年)

语言服务市场按服务(翻译、本地化和口译)、最终用户垂直(生命科学、媒体和娱乐、法律、金融、专利和电子商务)和地理划分。

语言服务市场快照

Translation Services Market Size
Study Period: 2018 - 2026
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 5.3 %
Language Services Market Companies

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

市场概况

预计语言服务市场在预测期间(2021 年至 2026 年)的复合年增长率为 5.3%。大流行期间的封锁限制迫使整个世界都呆在家里,这有力地推动了互联网贸易的发展。Netflix、YouTube、Amazon Prime 和社交媒体等应用程序的用户数量激增。这导致全球对更多内容的需求增加,这对翻译人员来说是个好消息,因为对其服务的需求增加,同时提供了远程组织的便利。

  • 推动语言服务需求的主要因素包括企业之间快速增长的全球化、数字化内容的逐步兴起以及日益个性化和国际化的客户服务的增加。
  • 科大讯飞是一家总部位于中国并提供翻译服务的语音识别公司,成功从其投资者那里筹集了 4.07 亿美元(28 亿人民币)的资金,其中包括国有投资基金国新控股和安徽铁路发展基金。该公司声称,这笔资金将用于提高翻译输出以及人工智能翻译引擎的输出。这些发展为预测期内的市场增长提供了巨大的空间,尤其是对于初创企业。
  • 语言服务的需求不再集中于大型跨国公司。尽管如此,大小企业、地方和州政府,包括所有其他类型的组织,也增加了对笔译、口译和各种语言服务的使用。
  • 在过去的几十年里,国际贸易一直在稳步扩大,其中包括自由贸易协定的扩散,这些协定导致了全球国际贸易的爆炸式增长。此外,日益激烈的外国竞争和各种政府举措导致各种规模的企业都采取主动行动,以寻求在外国市场上提供给他们的机会。
  • 国际营销的持续趋势也有望加速语言服务市场的增长。借助这些服务,公司现在能够通过网络以更低的成本接触全球越来越多的受众。随着这些观众越来越多地由外国人组成,预计市场将进一步增长。
  • 互联网使用量的增加,加上内容营销的趋势,为语言行业开辟了新的途径。针对外国受众的 PPC 广告和社交媒体营销也在以惊人的速度扩张。活跃于世界各地的社交网站和多个博客也为有效的内容营销提供了平台,包括文章、信息图表、视频和多媒体作品。所有这些内容都已本地化以实现最佳效果,这是推动市场的主要因素之一。
  • 此外,市场正在见证参与者的多项并购活动,以加强其在市场中的地位。例如,2019 年 1 月,Lionbridge 收购了日本技术和服务公司 Gengo。2019年3月,澳鹏收购了位于硅谷的机器学习培训平台Figure Eight。此外,2019 年 11 月,Datawords 收购了亚洲的聊天机器人提供商基地 Whatsquare。
  • 现在整个世界都在家里,这有力地推动了互联网贸易和娱乐的发展。YouTube、Netflix、社交媒体、亚马逊见证了用户数量的激增。它产生了对全球更多内容的需求。这对翻译人员来说是个好消息,因为他们的服务需求更高,而且他们的工作更容易远程组织。
  • 另一个原因是积极交流抗击病毒和治疗患者的经验,推动了医疗保健、病毒学、免疫学、流行病学等领域的研究人员之间的全球讨论和信息交流。因此,可以预期对翻译人员的最高需求医疗部门和领域知识将受到欢迎。

报告范围

该报告涵盖了按所提供的不同服务类型对市场进行的详细细分,例如翻译服务、本地化服务、口译服务等。该报告还涵盖了多个最终用户行业,例如生命科学、媒体和娱乐、法律、金融和专利、电子商务等。该研究的范围目前主要集中在北美、欧洲、亚太地区、拉丁美洲以及中东和非洲等关键地区。该研究跟踪了关键市场参数、潜在的增长影响因素以及该行业的主要供应商。该研究还跟踪了 COVID-19 对整个语言服务市场及其表现的影响。

By Type
Translation Services
Localization Services
Interpreting Services
Other Services
By End-user Vertical
Life Sciences (Pharmaceuticals, Medical Devices, Biotechnology, CROs)
Media and Entertainment (OTT, Games, Box Office, Pay TV)
Legal, Finance, and Patents
E-commerce
Other End-user Verticals
By Geography
North America (United States, Canada)
Europe (United Kingdom, Germany, France, Rest of Europe)
Asia Pacific (China, Japan, Singapore, Rest of Asia Pacific)
Latin America
Middle East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

主要市场趋势

翻译服务有望显着增长

  • 在语言服务中,翻译服务在促进不同语言用户之间的交流方面发挥着关键作用。这些服务包括口语和手语通信,并遵循国际标准组织 (ISO) 的定义,该定义规定通过保留源语言内容的含义将口语或手语信息呈现为另一种语言。
  • 不断扩大的客户外展扩大了翻译服务的范围,以满足客户的需求,除了语言偏好。历史数据表明,各种公司都在选择翻译服务,以便为国内和国际客户提供舒适感。
  • 翻译服务通常需要云计算和大数据分析的集成平台,以确保数据从任何地方访问。这也导致增加的存储容量和更高的效率。
  • 随着越来越多的公司通过 Internet 提供服务,对网站和 Web 内容翻译的需求也越来越多。世界各地的企业都在寻求翻译服务,旨在为客户服务并满足他们的需求。虽然个人也在使用这种类型的服务,但这种使用的份额非常小。
  • 根据最新数据,每分钟约有 300 小时的视频内容被上传到 YouTube,用户每天观看的视频约有 50 亿个。此外,大约 70% 的 YouTube 观众来自美国以外的非英语人群。这一趋势无疑正在大规模增加对视频翻译和本地化的需求。
  • 在预测期内,机器翻译 (PEMT) 的后期编辑预计将成为翻译服务领域的主要趋势。
Language Services Market Trends

北美有望见证显着增长

  • 由于该地区日益多样化,预计北美地区的语言服务市场将出现显着增长。随着该地区的人口不断变化,并且变得更加多样化,预计该地区所有行业对有效语言服务的需求都会增加,而合格的笔译和口译员对于满足这一日益多样化的人口的需求至关重要.
  • 如今,多元文化营销的出现已成为一个重要的话题,预计将推动语言服务需求。该地区不断变化的人口结构使针对不同社区的营销策略成为以前仅依赖一种语言的多家企业的优先事项。
  • 此外,根据美国人口普查局的数据,美国有 350 多种语言。由于移民增加,亚洲人口也在增加。新的移民趋势正在扩大当前的语言服务市场以服务这些人群。
  • 了解他们所在地区当前的语言趋势以及它们如何继续塑造市场和国家,有助于组织了解迅速增长的需求,即通过专业语言服务为多元文化消费者提供更有效的沟通。
  • 市场参与者希望通过多方并购活动、产品创新、加大研发力度以及开拓海外市场等多种方式来增强竞争力。例如,2020 年 4 月,人工智能 (AI)、机器学习 (ML)、自动语音识别 (ASR)、神经机器翻译 (NMT) 和自然语言理解 (NLU) 技术的领导者 AppTek 今天宣布了一项与 TransPerfect 建立新的合作伙伴关系。AppTek 强大的 ASR 引擎与 TransPerfect 的专业翻译和本地化服务相结合,将通过缩短项目周转时间来进一步改善客户工作流程。
Translation Services Market Report

竞争格局

由于存在多家供应商在国内和国际市场上提供服务,语言服务市场竞争激烈。市场似乎是分散的,主要参与者采用产品创新和并购等策略,主要是为了扩大其服务组合并在市场环境中保持竞争力。市场上的一些主要参与者包括 Atlas Language Service Inc.、Lionbridge Technologies Inc.、RWS Holdings Plc 和 SDL Plc 等。

  • 2021 年 1 月 - Semantix 及其长期合作伙伴 ESTeam 获得了欧盟委员会的招标 GROW/2020/OP/0002。该合同适用于与指令 (EU) 2015/15351 中规定的信息社会服务技术法规和规则相关的翻译服务。 
  • 2020 年 6 月 - RSW Holdings PLC 宣布收购 Iconic Translation Machines Ltd,初始投资为 1000 万美元,额外递延对价高达 1000 万美元。此次收购预计将为公司提供利用语言技术改善服务交付的竞争优势,并增强其在神经机器翻译 (NMT) 解决方案中提供服务的能力。

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Increased Global Corporate Presence

      2. 4.2.2 Increase in Online and Offline Content

    3. 4.3 Market Challenges

    4. 4.4 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitutes

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

    5. 4.5 Impact of COVID-19 on the Market

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Type

      1. 5.1.1 Translation Services

      2. 5.1.2 Localization Services

      3. 5.1.3 Interpreting Services

      4. 5.1.4 Other Services

    2. 5.2 By End-user Vertical

      1. 5.2.1 Life Sciences (Pharmaceuticals, Medical Devices, Biotechnology, CROs)

      2. 5.2.2 Media and Entertainment (OTT, Games, Box Office, Pay TV)

      3. 5.2.3 Legal, Finance, and Patents

      4. 5.2.4 E-commerce

      5. 5.2.5 Other End-user Verticals

    3. 5.3 By Geography

      1. 5.3.1 North America (United States, Canada)

      2. 5.3.2 Europe (United Kingdom, Germany, France, Rest of Europe)

      3. 5.3.3 Asia Pacific (China, Japan, Singapore, Rest of Asia Pacific)

      4. 5.3.4 Latin America

      5. 5.3.5 Middle East and Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE INTELLIGENCE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 Atlas Language Services Inc.

      2. 6.1.2 Globe language Services Inc.

      3. 6.1.3 Lionbridge Technologies Inc.

      4. 6.1.4 RWS Holdings PLC

      5. 6.1.5 SDL PLC

      6. 6.1.6 Semantix AB

      7. 6.1.7 Summa Linguae Technologies

      8. 6.1.8 Teleperformance SE

      9. 6.1.9 TransPerfect Global Inc.

      10. 6.1.10 Welocalize Inc.

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  8. 8. FUTURE OF THE MARKET

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Language Services Market market is studied from 2018 - 2026.

The Language Services Market is growing at a CAGR of 5.3% over the next 5 years.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

North America holds highest share in 2021.

Atlas Language Services Inc., Lionbridge Technologies Inc., RWS Holdings plc, SDL Plc, Semantix AB are the major companies operating in Language Services Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Language Services Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2021 - 2026)

The Language Services Market is Segmented By Services (Translation, Localization, and Interpretation), End-user Vertical (Life Sciences, Media and Entertainment, Legal, Finance, and Patents and E-commerce), and Geography.

Language Services Market Snapshot

Language Services Market
Study Period: 2018 - 2026
Base Year: 2020
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 5.3 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The language services market is expected to register a CAGR of 5.3% during the forecast period (2021 - 2026). The lockdown restrictions amidst the pandemic have forced the entire world to stay at home, which has given a strong impetus to the development of trade via the internet. Applications like Netflix, YouTube, Amazon Prime, and social media have witnessed a surge in the number of users. This has resulted in an increased need for more content across the globe and has served as good news for translators, owing to increased demand for their services while providing the ease to be organized remotely.

  • The primary factors that are driving the demand for language services include the rapidly increasing globalization among businesses, the incremental rise of digitizing content, and the increase in customer service that's becoming more personalized and international.
  • iFlytek, a speech recognition company based out of China and providing translation services, was successful in raising USD 407 million (CNY 2.8 billion) from its investors, that includes the state-run investment fund China Reform Holdings and the Anhui Railway Development Fund. The company claims that the funding will be used to enhance the translation output along with the output of the AI translation engine. Such developments provide significant scope for market growth over the forecast period, especially for startups.
  • The demand for language services is no longer concentrated on large multinational corporations. Still, the small and large businesses, and local and state governments, including all types of other organizations, have also increased their use of translation, interpretation, and different kinds of language services.
  • International trade has been steadily expanding over the past few decades, which includes the proliferation of free trade agreements that have led to a virtual explosion of international trades across the world. Moreover, the increasing foreign competition and various government initiatives have led all kinds of businesses irrespective of size to take initiatives regarding opportunities available to them in foreign markets.
  • The ongoing trends in international marketing are also expected to accelerate the growth in the language services market. With these services, companies are now able to reach increasing audiences across the globe at a lower cost through the web. As these audiences are increasingly composed of foreign people, the market is expected to grow even further.
  • The increase in internet usage, combined with the trend toward content marketing, has opened up new avenues for the language industry. The PPC advertising and social media marketing that is aimed at foreign audiences are also expanding at remarkable rates. Social networking sites and multiple blogs that are active across the world are also providing platforms for effective content marketing that include articles, infographics, videos, and multimedia productions. All this content is localized for optimum effectiveness, which is one of the major factors driving the market.
  • Moreover, the market is witnessing multiple M&A activities by the players in order to strengthen their positions in the market. For instance, in Jan 2019, Lionbridge acquired Gengo, which is a Japanese technology and services company. In Mar 2019, Appen acquired Figure Eight, which is a machine-learning training platform, based in Silicon Valley. Also, in Nov 2019, Datawords acquired a chatbot provider base in Asia called Whatsquare.
  • The entire world now is at home which gives a strong impetus to the development of trade and entertainment on the internet. YouTube, Netflix, social media, Amazon witness a surge in the number of users. It produces the need for more content globally. It is good news for translators since their services will be in higher demand and their work is much easier to be organized remotely.
  • Another reason is the active exchange of the experience of fighting against the virus and treatment of the patients that drives the global discussion and information exchange between researchers in healthcare, virology, immunology, epidemiology, etc. So the highest demand can be expected in translators in the medical sector and the field knowledge will be most welcome.

Scope of the Report

The report covers detailed segmentation of the market by different service types provided, such as translation services, localization services, interpreting services, among other services. The report also covers multiple end-user industries, such as life sciences, media, and entertainment, legal, finance, and patents, e-commerce, among others. The scope of the study is currently focused on key regions such as North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, Latin America, and Middle East & Africa. The study tracks the key market parameters, underlying growth influencers, and major vendors operating in the industry. The study also tracks the impact of COVID-19 on the overall language services market and its performance.

By Type
Translation Services
Localization Services
Interpreting Services
Other Services
By End-user Vertical
Life Sciences (Pharmaceuticals, Medical Devices, Biotechnology, CROs)
Media and Entertainment (OTT, Games, Box Office, Pay TV)
Legal, Finance, and Patents
E-commerce
Other End-user Verticals
By Geography
North America (United States, Canada)
Europe (United Kingdom, Germany, France, Rest of Europe)
Asia Pacific (China, Japan, Singapore, Rest of Asia Pacific)
Latin America
Middle East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Translation Services is Expected to Witness Significant Growth

  • Within language services, translation services play a key role in facilitating communication between users of different languages. These services encompass both spoken as well as signed communication and follow the International Standards Organization (ISO) definition that states the rendering of a spoken or signed message into another language by preserving the meaning of the source language content.
  • The growing customer outreach has enhanced the scope of translation services in order to fulfill the needs of the customers, barring language preferences. Historical data signifies that various companies are opting for translation services in order to provide comfort to their clients, both national as well as international.
  • Translation services usually require an integrated platform of cloud computing and big data analytics, so as to ensure the access of data from anywhere. This also results in increased storage capacity and more efficiency.
  • With more and more companies offering their services through the Internet, the need for websites and web content translation has grown manifold. Businesses across the world are seeking translation services with an intention to serve their customers and keep up with their demands. While individuals also are using this type of service, the share of such usage is very minimal.
  • According to the latest figures, around 300 hours of video content is being uploaded to YouTube every single minute, and around 5 billion videos are being watched on a daily basis by users. Also, around 70% of the YouTube viewers are from outside the United States and are non-English speaking people. This trend is certainly increasing the demand for video translations and localizations on a large scale.
  • The post-editing of machine translations (PEMT) is expected to be a major trend in the translation services domain during the forecast period.
language g1.png

North America is Expected to Witness Significant Growth

  • The language services market in the North American region is expected to witness significant growth owing to the increasing diversity in the region. As the population in the region continues to shift, and it becomes more diverse, the need for effective language services is expected to increase in all the industries across the region, and qualified translators and interpreters are crucial in serving the needs of this increasingly diverse population.
  • The advent of multicultural marketing has become a topic of importance these days, which is expected to drive the language services demand. The changing demographics of the region have made marketing strategies to diverse communities a priority for multiple businesses that previously used to rely only on a single language.
  • Moreover, according to the United States Census Bureau, there are more than 350 languages spoken in the United States. The Asian population is also rising, owing to increased immigration. New immigration trends are expanding the current language services market to serve these populations.
  • The understanding of the current language trends in their region and how they continue to shape the market and the country, help the organizations to understand the rapidly rising need for providing multicultural consumers with much more effective communication through professional language services.
  • The players in the market are looking to strengthen their competitiveness through various efforts such as multiple M&A activities, innovation of products, increased R&D, as well as an exploration of overseas markets. For instance, in April 2020, AppTek, a leader in Artificial Intelligence (AI), Machine Learning (ML), Automatic Speech Recognition (ASR), Neural Machine Translation (NMT), and Natural Language Understanding (NLU) technologies, today announced a new partnership with TransPerfect. The combined capabilities of AppTek’s powerful ASR engine and TransPerfect’s specialized translation and localization services will further improve customer workflows by reducing project turnaround times.
language g2.png

Competitive Landscape

The language services market is highly competitive owing to the presence of multiple vendors providing their services in domestic and in the international markets. The market appears to be fragmented, with the major players adopting strategies, like product innovation, and mergers and acquisitions, primarily to expand their service portfolio and to stay competitive in the market landscape. Some of the major players in the market are Atlas Language Service Inc., Lionbridge Technologies Inc., RWS Holdings Plc, and SDL Plc, among others.

  • January 2021 - Semantix and its long-term partner ESTeam were awarded the EU Commission’s call for tender GROW/2020/OP/0002. The contract is for translation services associated with the technical regulations and rules on information society services laid down in Directive (EU) 2015/15351. 
  • June 2020 - RSW Holdings PLC announced the acquisition of Iconic Translation Machines Ltd, with an initial investment of USD 10 million and additional deferred consideration of up to USD 10 million in the company’s shares. The acquisition is anticipated to provide the company with the competitive advantage of leveraging language technology to improve its service delivery, as well as strengthen its capabilities in service offerings in the Neural Machine Translation (NMT) solutions.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Increased Global Corporate Presence

      2. 4.2.2 Increase in Online and Offline Content

    3. 4.3 Market Challenges

    4. 4.4 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitutes

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

    5. 4.5 Impact of COVID-19 on the Market

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Type

      1. 5.1.1 Translation Services

      2. 5.1.2 Localization Services

      3. 5.1.3 Interpreting Services

      4. 5.1.4 Other Services

    2. 5.2 By End-user Vertical

      1. 5.2.1 Life Sciences (Pharmaceuticals, Medical Devices, Biotechnology, CROs)

      2. 5.2.2 Media and Entertainment (OTT, Games, Box Office, Pay TV)

      3. 5.2.3 Legal, Finance, and Patents

      4. 5.2.4 E-commerce

      5. 5.2.5 Other End-user Verticals

    3. 5.3 By Geography

      1. 5.3.1 North America (United States, Canada)

      2. 5.3.2 Europe (United Kingdom, Germany, France, Rest of Europe)

      3. 5.3.3 Asia Pacific (China, Japan, Singapore, Rest of Asia Pacific)

      4. 5.3.4 Latin America

      5. 5.3.5 Middle East and Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE INTELLIGENCE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 Atlas Language Services Inc.

      2. 6.1.2 Globe language Services Inc.

      3. 6.1.3 Lionbridge Technologies Inc.

      4. 6.1.4 RWS Holdings PLC

      5. 6.1.5 SDL PLC

      6. 6.1.6 Semantix AB

      7. 6.1.7 Summa Linguae Technologies

      8. 6.1.8 Teleperformance SE

      9. 6.1.9 TransPerfect Global Inc.

      10. 6.1.10 Welocalize Inc.

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  8. 8. FUTURE OF THE MARKET

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Language Services Market market is studied from 2018 - 2026.

The Language Services Market is growing at a CAGR of 5.3% over the next 5 years.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

North America holds highest share in 2020.

Atlas Language Services Inc., Lionbridge Technologies Inc., RWS Holdings plc, SDL Plc, Semantix AB are the major companies operating in Language Services Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!