Markt für Zollabfertigung in den Vereinigten Staaten – Wachstum, Trends, Auswirkungen von COVID-19 und Prognosen (2022 – 2027)

Der Zollabfertigungsmarkt der Vereinigten Staaten ist nach Transportarten (See-, Luft- und grenzüberschreitender Landtransport) unterteilt.

Markt-Snapshot

United States Customs Brokerage Market Overview
Study Period: 2016 - 2026
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: >3.5 %
United States Customs Brokerage Market Key Players

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Marktübersicht

Der Markt für Zollabfertigung in den Vereinigten Staaten wird auf mehr als 4 Mrd. USD geschätzt und soll im Prognosezeitraum mit einer CAGR von mehr als 3,5 % wachsen.

  • Der Markt für Zollabfertigung in den Vereinigten Staaten ist stetig gewachsen und das Wachstum wird sich voraussichtlich im Prognosezeitraum fortsetzen. Die Zahl der von der US-amerikanischen Zoll- und Grenzschutzbehörde (CBP) bearbeiteten Einreisen nimmt mit zunehmenden Importen stetig zu. 
  • Im Jahr 2019 wurden Importe im Wert von 2,7 Billionen USD verarbeitet, was 35,5 Millionen Einreisen und mehr als 28,7 Millionen importierten Frachtcontainern in den US-Einreisehäfen entspricht. 
  • Das sich ständig verändernde Handelsumfeld und die zunehmende Komplexität der Compliance treiben die Nachfrage nach Zollabfertigungsdiensten voran, insbesondere mit Abschnitt 301.
  • Die US CBP hat im Jahr 2019 rund 80,7 Milliarden USD an Zöllen, Steuern und anderen Gebühren eingenommen, darunter 71,9 Milliarden USD an Zöllen. Die im Jahr 2019 erhobenen Gesamtabgaben sind im Vergleich zu 2018 um mehr als 70 % gestiegen.
  • Der Markt für Zollabfertigung ist hart umkämpft, da eine große Anzahl von Zollagenten tätig ist, insbesondere entlang der Grenzen. Die Hauptakteure machen jedoch einen erheblichen Marktanteil aus.
  • Die Unternehmen, die Zollabfertigungsdienste anbieten, investieren in Forschungs- und Entwicklungsaktivitäten, um sich einen Wettbewerbsvorteil auf dem Markt zu verschaffen. Da die Nachfrage nach optimierten und effektiveren Zollabfertigungsprozessen in kurzen Bearbeitungszeiten wächst, werden die Ausgaben für Forschung und Entwicklung im Prognosezeitraum voraussichtlich steigen. 
  • Die Logistikakteure auf der ganzen Welt, einschließlich Zollagenten, erforschen die Anwendung der Blockchain-Technologie. Beispielsweise ist die Blockchain In Transport Alliance (BiTA) eine Allianz, die von Logistikern und anderen Akteuren gegründet wurde, um die Einführung von Blockchain voranzutreiben. 
  • Im März 2019 gab Livingston seine Mitgliedschaft in der Blockchain in Transport Alliance (BiTA) bekannt. Die Mitgliedschaft ermöglicht es dem Unternehmen, einen Beitrag zu einer sich entwickelnden Reihe von Industriestandards für die sich schnell entwickelnde Blockchain-Technologie zu leisten, die als Kern digitalisierter Geschäftstransaktionen in der Welt der internationalen Fracht dienen wird.

Umfang des Berichts

Der Bericht enthält eine vollständige Hintergrundanalyse des US-Zollabfertigungsmarktes, die eine Bewertung der Wirtschaft, einen Marktüberblick, eine Marktgrößenschätzung für Schlüsselsegmente und aufkommende Markttrends, Marktdynamik und wichtige Unternehmensprofile umfasst.

By Mode of Transport
Sea
Air
Cross-border Land Transport

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Wichtige Markttrends

Wachstum der Importe treibt den US-Zollabfertigungsmarkt voran:

Frachttransportarrangements werden stärker vom Volumen der Importe in die Vereinigten Staaten beeinflusst, was die Nachfrage nach Industriedienstleistungen in Bezug auf Zollbestimmungen für fertige Konsumgüter und halbfertige Vorleistungen für die inländische Produktion erhöht. Das Wachstum der Importe ist ein Hauptantriebsfaktor für den Zollabfertigungsmarkt. Die Importe des Landes blieben 2019 im Vergleich zu 2018 stabil, während es 2018 ein Wachstum von mehr als 9 % gab. Die Verlangsamung im Jahr 2019 ist auf den Handelskrieg zwischen den USA und China zurückzuführen. 

Das verarbeitende Gewerbe ist auf rechtzeitige und zuverlässige Lieferungen von Rohstoffen oder Halbfabrikaten als Inputs für die Weiterverarbeitung angewiesen. Außerdem müssen fertige Produkte zu Lagern oder Vertriebszentren transportiert werden. Die Hauptdeterminante der Nachfrage im verarbeitenden Gewerbe sind die Konsumausgaben. Der Trend zu Just-in-Time-Lagerbeständen (JIT) hat auch zu einer erhöhten Nachfrage nach Transportdienstleistungen geführt, da die Hersteller nach kleineren und häufigeren Lieferungen suchen. JIT ermöglicht es Unternehmen, die Rentabilität zu verbessern, indem sie Materialien nur nach Bedarf einkaufen und dadurch die Lagerhaltungskosten senken. Für solche zeitnahen Lieferanforderungen ist eine effiziente Zollabfertigung von großer Bedeutung, was den Bedarf an Zollagenten antreibt. 

United States Customs Brokerage Market Key Trends

Der Seetransport dominiert den US-Zollabfertigungsmarkt:

Der Seegüterverkehr ist der wichtigste Verkehrsträger des internationalen Güterverkehrs. Die Zahl der Zolleingaben nach Verkehrsträgern ist beim Seetransport am höchsten und damit auch die Einnahmen des Zollvermittlungsmarktes. Die Nachfrage nach Luftfrachttransporten steigt mit der wachsenden Nachfrage nach verderblichen Gütern, Chemikalien und Wertsachen und der steigenden Nachfrage nach Just-in-Time-Produktion von Waren. Der US-Zollabfertigungsmarkt für den Luftfrachtverkehr wird im Prognosezeitraum im Vergleich zu anderen Verkehrsträgern voraussichtlich schneller wachsen.

Der Straßengüterverkehr ist das dominierende Transportmittel in den Vereinigten Staaten und ein wichtiger Faktor für das Wirtschaftswachstum. Der grenzüberschreitende Landtransport, einschließlich Straßen-, Schienen- und Pipelinetransport zwischen den US-amerikanischen und nordamerikanischen Partnern Kanada und Mexiko, nimmt stetig zu und wird voraussichtlich in Zukunft durch USMCA getrieben werden. Die Zollabfertigungsdienste für den grenzüberschreitenden Landverkehr sind stark fragmentiert, da an jedem Grenzeingangshafen viele kleine Zollagenten tätig sind.

United States Customs Brokerage Market Growth Rate

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der Markt für Zollabfertigung in den Vereinigten Staaten ist ziemlich fragmentiert. Da viele Zollagenten auf dem Markt tätig sind, ist die Konkurrenz groß. Zu den Top-Playern auf dem Markt gehören United Parcel Service und FedEx Corporation. Einige andere bedeutende Akteure sind Livingston International, Expeditors, AN Deringer und CH Robinson. Basierend auf der Anzahl der Einträge wurde geschätzt, dass FedEx und UPS zusammen fast 35 % des Gesamtmarktes ausmachen. Obwohl die fünf bis zehn führenden Akteure mehr als 50 % des Marktes einnehmen, sind die Unternehmen, die den verbleibenden Marktanteil ausmachen, zahlreicher mit sehr geringeren Marktanteilen.

Abgesehen von diesen Akteuren haben auch die großen globalen Speditionsunternehmen wie DB Schenker und Kühne + Nagel ein gutes Dienstleistungsangebot auf dem US-Zollabfertigungsmarkt. In den letzten zehn Jahren gab es viele Übernahmen, wie z. B. Carmichael von APL Logistics und Livingston, der FPA Customs Brokers und viele andere erwarb, usw.

Hauptakteure

  1. United Parcel Service Inc.

  2. FedEx Corporation

  3. Deutsche Post DHL group

  4. Livingston International

  5. Expeditors International

  6. A.N. Deringer

United Parcel Service Inc., FedEx Corporation, Deutsche Post DHL group, Livingston International, Expeditors International, A.N. Deringer

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

    1. 2.1 Analysis Methodology

    2. 2.2 Research Phases

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHTS

    1. 4.1 Current Market Scenario

    2. 4.2 Technological Trends

    3. 4.3 Government Regulations

    4. 4.4 Value Chain / Supply Chain Analysis

    5. 4.5 Insights on Imports and Custom Brokerage Services by State

    6. 4.6 Brief on Customs Brokerage as a Freight Forwarding Function

    7. 4.7 Insights on Standalone or Predominant Customs Brokerage Operations-only Firm - Penetration in the Market

    8. 4.8 Review of Customs Brokerage Costs as Percentage of Total Logistics Spend

    9. 4.9 Shipper Insourcing vs. Outsourcing Trends in Customs Brokerage Related Tasks

    10. 4.10 Overview of Customs Pricing

    11. 4.11 Insights on Customs Brokerage Services by End-user Industry

    12. 4.12 Insights from Industrial Surveys

  5. 5. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 5.1 Drivers

    2. 5.2 Restraints

    3. 5.3 Opportunities

    4. 5.4 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 5.4.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 5.4.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 5.4.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 5.4.4 Threat of Substitutes

      5. 5.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  6. 6. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 6.1 By Mode of Transport

      1. 6.1.1 Sea

      2. 6.1.2 Air

      3. 6.1.3 Cross-border Land Transport

  7. 7. MARKET OVERVIEW FOR SOLUTIONS ALLIED TO CUSTOMS BROKERAGE SERVICE

    1. 7.1 Software

    2. 7.2 Consulting

    3. 7.3 Contract Logistics-based Customs Brokerage

    4. 7.4 Other Related Value-added Services

  8. 8. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 8.1 Overview (Market Share and Major Players)

    2. 8.2 Company Profiles

      1. 8.2.1 United Parcel Service Inc.

      2. 8.2.2 FedEx Corporation

      3. 8.2.3 Deutsche Post DHL group

      4. 8.2.4 Expeditors International

      5. 8.2.5 Livingston International

      6. 8.2.6 A.N. Deringer

      7. 8.2.7 C.H. Robinson

      8. 8.2.8 Carmichael International

      9. 8.2.9 Charter Brokerage LLC

      10. 8.2.10 CH Powell Company*

    3. *List Not Exhaustive
    4. 8.3 Other Companies (Key Information/Overview)

      1. 8.3.1 Trans American Customhouse Brokers Inc., GHY International, Flexport Inc. Purolator International, Samuel Shapiro & Company, Inc., Scarbrough International, Ltd.*

  9. 9. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

  10. 10. APPENDIX

    1. 10.1 GDP Distribution, by Activity and Region

    2. 10.2 Insights on Capital Flows

    3. 10.3 E-commerce and Consumer Spending-related Statistics

    4. 10.4 Exports and Imports Statistics of the United States

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Der Markt für Zollabfertigung in den Vereinigten Staaten wird von 2016 bis 2026 untersucht.

Der Zollabfertigungsmarkt der Vereinigten Staaten wächst in den nächsten 5 Jahren mit einer jährlichen Wachstumsrate von >3,5 %.

United Parcel Service Inc., FedEx Corporation, Deutsche Post DHL Group, Livingston International, Expeditors International und AN Deringer sind die wichtigsten Unternehmen, die auf dem Zollabfertigungsmarkt der Vereinigten Staaten tätig sind.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

BESTSELLER

United States Customs Brokerage Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2022 - 2027)

The United States Customs Brokerage Market is segmented by Mode of Transport (Sea, Air, and Cross-border Land Transport).

Market Snapshot

United States Customs Brokerage Market Overview
Study Period: 2016 - 2026
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: >3.5 %
United States Customs Brokerage Market Key Players

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The United States Customs Brokerage market is estimated to be valued at more than USD 4 billion and is estimated to grow at a CAGR of more than 3.5% during the forecast period.

  • The Market for customs brokerage in United States has been growing steadily and the growth is expected to continue through the forecast period. The number of entries processed by US Customs and Border Protection (CBP) has been increasing steadily with increasing imports. 
  • In 2019, USD 2.7 trillion of imports were processed, equating to 35.5 million entries and more than 28.7 million imported cargo containers at the US ports of entry. 
  • The continuously changing trade environment and increasing complexity of compliance are driving the demand for customs brokerage services, especially with section 301.
  • The US CBP has collected approximately USD 80.7 billion in duties, taxes, and other fees in 2019, which includes USD 71.9 billion in duties. The total duties collected in 2019 has increased by more than 70% when compared to 2018.
  • The market for customs brokerage is highly competitive with large number of brokers operating, especially along the borders. However, the major players account for significant market share.
  • The companies providing customs brokerage services are investing in research and development activities to gain competitive edge in the market. As the demand for streamlined and more effective customs clearance process in short turnaround times is growing, R&D spending is expected to increase through the forecast period. 
  • The logistics players across the world, including customs brokers are exploring the application of blockchain technology. For instance, Blockchain In Transport Alliance (BiTA) is an alliance formed by logistics and other players to drive the adoption of blockchain. 
  • In Mar 2019, Livingston announced its membership in the Blockchain in Transport Alliance (BiTA). The membership allows the company to provide input into an evolving set of industry standards for rapidly developing blockchain technology that will serve as the core of digitized business transactions in the world of international freight.

Scope of the Report

A complete background analysis of the US Customs Brokerage market, which includes an assessment of the economy, market overview, market size estimation for key segments, and emerging trends in the market, market dynamics, and key company profiles are covered in the report.

By Mode of Transport
Sea
Air
Cross-border Land Transport

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Growth in Imports Driving the US Customs Brokerage Market:

Freight transportation arrangements are more influenced by the volume of imports into the United States, which increases demand for industry services regarding customs regulations for finished consumer goods and semi-finished inputs to domestic production. The growth in imports is a prime driving factor for customs brokerage market. The imports of the country remained steady in 2019 when compared to 2018, while there is growth of more than 9% in 2018. The slowdown in 2019 can be attributed to US-China trade war. 

The manufacturing sector depends on timely and reliable deliveries of raw materials, or semi-finished products as inputs to further processing. It also requires finished products to be transported to warehouses or distribution centers. The major determinant of manufacturing demand is consumer spending. The trend toward just-in-time (JIT) inventories has also created increased demand for transportation services, as manufacturers seek smaller and more frequent deliveries. JIT allows companies to improve profitability by purchasing materials only as needed, thereby reducing inventory costs. For such timely delivery needs, efficient customs clearance is of high importance driving the need for customs brokers. 

United States Customs Brokerage Market Key Trends

Sea Transportation Dominates the US Customs Brokerage Market:

Maritime freight transport is the major mode of transport of international transport of goods. The number of customs entries by mode is highest in case of Sea transport and so, the revenue of customs brokerage market. The demand for air freight transport is increasing with growing demand for perishables, chemicals & valuables, and the rising demand for just-in-time production of goods. The US Customs Brokerage Market for Air freight transport is expected to witness faster growth over the forecast period when compared to other modes of transport.

The road freight movement of goods is the dominant mode of transportation in the United States and is an important factor for the economic growth. The cross-border land transport, including road, rail, and pipeline transport between US and North American partners Canada and Mexico is increasing steadily and is expected to grow in future driven by USMCA. The customs brokerage services for cross-border land transport is highly fragmented with many number of small brokers operating at each border portof entry.

United States Customs Brokerage Market Growth Rate

Competitive Landscape

The market for Customs Brokerage in United States is fairly fragmented. With many number of customs brokers operating in the market, the competition is high. The top players in the market include United Parcel Service, and FedEx Corporation. Some other significant players include Livingston International, Expeditors, A.N. Deringer, and C.H. Robinson. Based on number of entries, it was estimated that FedEx and UPS together account for almost 35% of the total market. Although the top five to ten players take up more than 50% of the market, the companies that account for the remaining market share are more in number with very less market shares.

Apart from these players, the major global freight forwarding companies such as DB Schenker, and Kuehne + Nagel also have good service offering in the US customs brokerage market. A lot of acquisitions have occurred in the past decade such as Carmichael by APL Logistics, and Livingston acquiring FPA Customs brokers and many others, etc.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

    1. 2.1 Analysis Methodology

    2. 2.2 Research Phases

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHTS

    1. 4.1 Current Market Scenario

    2. 4.2 Technological Trends

    3. 4.3 Government Regulations

    4. 4.4 Value Chain / Supply Chain Analysis

    5. 4.5 Insights on Imports and Custom Brokerage Services by State

    6. 4.6 Brief on Customs Brokerage as a Freight Forwarding Function

    7. 4.7 Insights on Standalone or Predominant Customs Brokerage Operations-only Firm - Penetration in the Market

    8. 4.8 Review of Customs Brokerage Costs as Percentage of Total Logistics Spend

    9. 4.9 Shipper Insourcing vs. Outsourcing Trends in Customs Brokerage Related Tasks

    10. 4.10 Overview of Customs Pricing

    11. 4.11 Insights on Customs Brokerage Services by End-user Industry

    12. 4.12 Insights from Industrial Surveys

  5. 5. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 5.1 Drivers

    2. 5.2 Restraints

    3. 5.3 Opportunities

    4. 5.4 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 5.4.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 5.4.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 5.4.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 5.4.4 Threat of Substitutes

      5. 5.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  6. 6. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 6.1 By Mode of Transport

      1. 6.1.1 Sea

      2. 6.1.2 Air

      3. 6.1.3 Cross-border Land Transport

  7. 7. MARKET OVERVIEW FOR SOLUTIONS ALLIED TO CUSTOMS BROKERAGE SERVICE

    1. 7.1 Software

    2. 7.2 Consulting

    3. 7.3 Contract Logistics-based Customs Brokerage

    4. 7.4 Other Related Value-added Services

  8. 8. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 8.1 Overview (Market Share and Major Players)

    2. 8.2 Company Profiles

      1. 8.2.1 United Parcel Service Inc.

      2. 8.2.2 FedEx Corporation

      3. 8.2.3 Deutsche Post DHL group

      4. 8.2.4 Expeditors International

      5. 8.2.5 Livingston International

      6. 8.2.6 A.N. Deringer

      7. 8.2.7 C.H. Robinson

      8. 8.2.8 Carmichael International

      9. 8.2.9 Charter Brokerage LLC

      10. 8.2.10 CH Powell Company*

    3. *List Not Exhaustive
    4. 8.3 Other Companies (Key Information/Overview)

      1. 8.3.1 Trans American Customhouse Brokers Inc., GHY International, Flexport Inc. Purolator International, Samuel Shapiro & Company, Inc., Scarbrough International, Ltd.*

  9. 9. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

  10. 10. APPENDIX

    1. 10.1 GDP Distribution, by Activity and Region

    2. 10.2 Insights on Capital Flows

    3. 10.3 E-commerce and Consumer Spending-related Statistics

    4. 10.4 Exports and Imports Statistics of the United States

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The United States Customs Brokerage Market market is studied from 2016 - 2026.

The United States Customs Brokerage Market is growing at a CAGR of >3.5% over the next 5 years.

United Parcel Service Inc. , FedEx Corporation, Deutsche Post DHL group, Livingston International , Expeditors International , A.N. Deringer are the major companies operating in United States Customs Brokerage Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!