功率半导体市场 - 增长、趋势、COVID-19 影响和预测(2022 - 2027 年)

功率半导体市场按组件(分立、模块、功率集成电路)、材料(硅/锗、碳化硅、氮化镓)、最终用户行业(汽车、消费电子、IT 和电信、军事和航空航天、电力,工业)和地理。

市场快照

Power Semiconductor Market Overview
Study Period: 2019- 2026
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 3.17 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

市场概况

2020年全球功率半导体市场(以下简称研究市场)价值379.0亿美元,预计到2026年将达到460.2亿美元,2021-2026年期间复合年增长率为3.17%(此后,称为预测期)。COVID -19 的爆发从需求端和供给端影响了整个半导体市场。全国范围内半导体工厂的停工和关闭进一步助长了主要出现在2019年的供应短缺趋势。这些影响也体现在SiC和GaN功率半导体上。然而,其中许多影响可能是短期的。

此外,世界各地政府为支持汽车和半导体行业而采取的预防措施可能有助于重振行业增长。大流行的爆发给世界各地的小型、中型和大型行业造成了经济动荡。除此之外,世界各国政府实施的国家封锁(以尽量减少病毒的传播)进一步导致行业受到打击,并在全球范围内的供应链和制造业务中中断,作为制造业的很大一部分包括在工厂车间工作。

  • 功率半导体执行与常规半导体相同的任务,只是规模更大。这些高性能组件能够处理高达数千兆瓦的极高电流、电压和频率。与所有半导体器件一样,功率半导体用于整流和放大电信号或打开和关闭电流。这些通常用于工业应用和电力的长距离传输和分配。
  • 该材料主要由碳化硅(SiC)和氮化镓(GaN)组成。与硅相比,GaN 和 SiC 具有更宽的带隙(Si:1.1、SiC:3.3 和 GaN:3.4),因此也称为宽带隙半导体。SiC MOSFET 和二极管提供高开关频率和高功率密度,非常适合电动汽车车载充电器。由于全球多个政府的举措,电动汽车行业正在迎合快速增长。
  • 2020年12月,日本京都功率半导体制造商罗姆半导体与中国一级汽车制造商联合汽车电子系统有限公司(UAES)举行开幕式,宣布成立碳化硅(SiC)联合实验室位于中国上海的阿联酋总部的技术。
  • 新的联合实验室包含汽车应用中的器件和应用评估所需的主要设备,例如车载充电器 (OBC) 和 DC/DC 转换器。两家公司预计,这将使他们能够加强合作伙伴关系并加速基于 SiC 的电源解决方案的开发。
  • 电力传输为充电器带来更多智能,并能够检测与其连接的设备。这允许充电器在尽可能短的时间内提供充电所需的精确电量。采用 GaN(氮化镓)的充电器可提高效率、降低热量并减小每个产品的尺寸。
  • 2020 年 12 月,Avenir Telecom 以其 Energizer 品牌发布了一系列采用 GaN(氮化镓)半导体材料的 20W、38W、65W 和 90W 功率输出壁式充电器。从 USB-C 到 Lightning 数据线,这款充电器可识别以下设备:游戏机、平板电脑、笔记本电脑和智能手机。
  • 每个市场的电力需求都在增加,因为预计全球电力需求将从目前的 25,000 TWh 增加到 2050 年的 38,000 TWh。在行业层面,全球 800 万个数据中心使用世界能源的 2-3%使用,预计这一份额将上升到 5% 以上。工业电机消耗 30% 并且还在增长;到 2040 年,电动汽车将成为全球能源消耗的 5% 的大消费者(来源:GaN Systems)。GaN 降低了所有这些系统的损耗。

报告范围

功率半导体是一种半导体器件,用作电力电子设备中的开关或整流器(例如,在开关模式电源中)。这些设备是现代电力电子电路机器和仪器的基本组成部分。这些设备被用于无线通信、电力驱动的高级控制、运动控制和伺服驱动、高级计算机系统、天线、传播和卫星系统、宽带无线技术等。它们构成了电器、机器和系统不可或缺的一部分。该研究涵盖了分立模块和功率集成电路等组件以及碳化硅、氮化镓等材料。

By Component
Discrete
Module
Power Integrated Circuits
By Material
Silicon/Germanium
Silicon Carbide (Sic)
Gallium Nitride (Gann)
By End-user Industry
Automotive
Consumer Electronics
IT and Telecommunication
Military and Aerospace
Power
Industrial
Other End-user Industries
By Geography
North America
Europe
Asia Pacific
Latin America
Middle East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

主要市场趋势

汽车行业有望显着增长

  • 如今,电动汽车在道路上变得越来越普遍,价格下降,续航里程上升。根据国际能源署的报告《2020 年全球电动汽车展望》,2019 年有超过 720 万辆电动乘用车上路。
  • 在过去的几年里,许多原始设备制造商宣布对电动汽车进行价值数十亿美元的投资,这也得益于对二氧化碳排放的限制。未来几年将采取关键步骤,并且将看到更高比例的电动汽车上路。半导体在电动汽车和内燃机汽车中都发挥着关键作用。
  • 关于在汽车动力系统中使用碳化硅 (SiC) 器件的研究一直在进行。由于最近的进步,它逐渐成为一种可行的解决方案。
  • 随着政府继续鼓励清洁能源和制造商想方设法让他们的汽车更容易获得,预计街道上的电动汽车数量将继续增加。使这成为可能的一个重要部分是电池技术的持续创新,这是由对更小、更轻、更安全、充电速度更快、使用寿命更长的电池的需求推动的。例如,使用快速充电解决方案的特斯拉今天已经在其车辆架构中使用 SiC。
  • SiC 半导体非常适用于插电式混合动力 (PHEV) 和全电动汽车 (EV) 中使用的车载充电器和逆变器等应用。这是因为与传统硅相比,它们的能源效率要高得多。
  • 为了确保电动汽车能够长距离运行并在合理的时间内充电,车辆的电力电子设备必须能够承受高温。碳化硅半导体受益于超过 95% 的能源效率,即在功率转换过程中只有 5% 的能量作为热量损失,例如在大功率快速充电器上为车辆充电。
  • 2021 年 5 月,英飞凌科技推出了一款采用 CoolSiCMOSFET 技术的用于汽车应用的新型功率模块。使用 SiCi 代替 Si 确保了电动汽车转换器的更高效率。现代汽车集团报告称,与基于英飞凌 CoolSiCpower 模块的牵引逆变器相比,与硅基解决方案相比,这种 SiC 解决方案的损耗更低,从而提高了效率,从而使车辆的续航里程增加了 5% 以上.
  • 在日本,东京大学一直在与三菱电机公司合作,以提高 SiC 半导体器件的可靠性。2017 年,三菱电机发布了一款专为混合动力汽车设计的新型超紧凑型 SiC 逆变器,目标是在 2021 年左右实现大规模商业化。
Power Semiconductor Market

亚太地区有望显着增长

  • 亚太地区有望主导全球功率半导体市场,因为该地区主导全球半导体市场,政府政策进一步支持。此外,该地区的半导体产业由中国、日本、台湾和韩国推动,它们合计占全球分立半导体市场的 65% 左右,而越南、泰国、马来西亚和新加坡等其他国家也对该地区的主导地位做出了重大贡献在市场上。
  • 根据印度电子和半导体协会的数据,到 2025 年,该国的半导体组件市场预计价值 323.5 亿美元,复合年增长率为 10.1%(2018-2025 年)。该国是全球研发中心利润丰厚的目的地。因此,政府正在进行的“印度制造”计划预计将导致对半导体市场的投资。​
  • 此外,该地区是一个电子中心,每年生产数百万台电子设备供该地区消费并出口到其他地方。电子设备和组件的高产量极大地提高了所研究市场的市场份额。例如,印度对消费电子产品的需求不断增长也促进了该地区市场的增长。根据印度工商联合会 (FICCI) 的数据,印度的电子产品需求预计在 2012-2020 年期间的复合年增长率为 25%。​​​
  • 该地区的参与者经常参与产品开发,并正在寻找机会来提高他们的能力。例如,2020 年 9 月,三菱电机公司宣布即将推出第二代全 SiC(碳化硅)功率模块,该模块采用新开发的工业用 SiC 芯片。SiC-MOSFET(金属氧化物半导体场效应晶体管)和 SiC-SBD(肖特基势垒二极管)芯片的模块的低功耗特性和高载波频率操作有望开发更高效、更小和更轻的电源各种工业领域的设备。
  • 新加坡正在努力成为亚洲 GaN 半导体技术的中心。2020 年 8 月,总部位于新加坡的 IGSS GaN (IGaN) 是硅基氮化镓/碳化硅 (GaN-on-Si/SiC) 的技术开发商和商业化专家,宣布在试点线取得成功后继续扩张的客户。该公司正在新加坡建立一个商业和全球联合实验室,用于 4-8" 金属有机化学气相沉积 (MOCVD) GaN Epi 中心。此外,IGaN 最近与一家知名工具制造商合作,再次证明了其为建立创新的 GaN 生态系统所做的努力这支持了全球对节能、可持续和移动未来的需求。
  • 该地区拥有大量参与者,如 SK Siltron,它是韩国唯一的半导体硅片生产商,也是全球前五名的晶圆制造商之一,年销售额达 1.542 万亿韩元,约占全球硅片销售额的 17% (基于 300 毫米)。2020年3月,SK Siltron完成了对杜邦碳化硅晶圆(SiC Wafer)部门的收购。据SK Siltron称,即使在收购之后,它仍将继续在相关领域进行投资,这有望增加SiC晶圆的产量并在美国创造更多的就业机会。
  • 为了满足市场需求,功率半导体制造商正在迅速采用碳化硅 (SiC) 等材料,这种材料可以在更高的电压、温度和频率下工作,同时提高效率和可靠性。
  • 例如,2020 年 6 月,中国大型电动客车商用车制造商郑州宇通集团有限公司(宇通集团)宣布在 StarPower 功率模块中使用 Cree 1200 V 碳化硅器件,用于其新的、行业领先的电动客车高效动力总成系统。双方正在共同努力,加速基于碳化硅的逆变器在电动巴士应用中的商业应用。推出后,宇通集团将在中国交付其第一辆在动力总成中使用碳化硅的电动客车,这代表着在向市场提供更高效的电动客车方面取得了重大进展。
Power Semiconductor Market

竞争格局

功率半导体市场是一个由少数主要参与者主导的综合市场。就市场份额而言,少数主要参与者主导市场。预计不久将进行各种大公司的收购和合作,重点是创新。市场上的一些主要参与者是英飞凌科技和德州仪器。

  • 2021 年 3 月 - Magnachip 推出了一款新的低压差 (LDO) 线性稳压器,该稳压器具有超快瞬态响应,适用于基于通用闪存 (UFS) 的多芯片封装 (MCP)。它是嵌入式多媒体控制器 (eMMC) 的高级版本,专为实现更高速度的并发读写性能而开发。
  • 2021 年 3 月 - Alpha and Omega Semiconductor 宣布推出符合 AEC-Q101 标准的新型 1200V 碳化硅 (SiC) αSiC MOSFET。这非常适合电动汽车 (EV) 车载充电器、电机驱动逆变器和非车载充电站的高效率和可靠性要求。
  • 2021 年 2 月 - Nexperia 使用符合 AEC-Q101 标准的半桥封装扩展了 LFPAK56D MOSFET 产品线。它为动力传动系、电机控制和 DC/DC 应用提供降低 60% 的寄生电感和改进的热性能。

竞争格局

功率半导体市场是一个由少数主要参与者主导的综合市场。就市场份额而言,少数主要参与者主导市场。预计不久将进行各种大公司的收购和合作,重点是创新。市场上的一些主要参与者是英飞凌科技和德州仪器。

  • 2021 年 3 月 - Magnachip 推出了一款新的低压差 (LDO) 线性稳压器,该稳压器具有超快瞬态响应,适用于基于通用闪存 (UFS) 的多芯片封装 (MCP)。它是嵌入式多媒体控制器 (eMMC) 的高级版本,专为实现更高速度的并发读写性能而开发。
  • 2021 年 3 月 - Alpha and Omega Semiconductor 宣布推出符合 AEC-Q101 标准的新型 1200V 碳化硅 (SiC) αSiC MOSFET。这非常适合电动汽车 (EV) 车载充电器、电机驱动逆变器和非车载充电站的高效率和可靠性要求。
  • 2021 年 2 月 - Nexperia 使用符合 AEC-Q101 标准的半桥封装扩展了 LFPAK56D MOSFET 产品线。它为动力传动系、电机控制和 DC/DC 应用提供降低 60% 的寄生电感和改进的热性能。

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions​ and Market Definition​

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHTS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview​

    2. 4.2 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    3. 4.3 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis​

      1. 4.3.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers​

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers​

      3. 4.3.3 Threat of New Entrants​

      4. 4.3.4 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry​

      5. 4.3.5 Threat of Substitutes​

    4. 4.4 Assessment of the Impact of COVID-19 on the Market

    5. 4.5 Technology Snapshot

  5. 5. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 5.1 Market Drivers

      1. 5.1.1 Increasing Demand for Consumer Electronics and Wireless Communications

      2. 5.1.2 Growing Demand for Energy-efficient Battery-powered Portable Devices

    2. 5.2 Market Restraints

      1. 5.2.1 Shortage of Silicon Wafers and Variable Driving Requirements

  6. 6. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 6.1 By Component

      1. 6.1.1 Discrete

      2. 6.1.2 Module

      3. 6.1.3 Power Integrated Circuits

    2. 6.2 By Material

      1. 6.2.1 Silicon/Germanium

      2. 6.2.2 Silicon Carbide (Sic)

      3. 6.2.3 Gallium Nitride (Gann)

    3. 6.3 By End-user Industry

      1. 6.3.1 Automotive

      2. 6.3.2 Consumer Electronics

      3. 6.3.3 IT and Telecommunication

      4. 6.3.4 Military and Aerospace

      5. 6.3.5 Power

      6. 6.3.6 Industrial

      7. 6.3.7 Other End-user Industries

    4. 6.4 By Geography

      1. 6.4.1 North America

      2. 6.4.2 Europe

      3. 6.4.3 Asia Pacific

      4. 6.4.4 Latin America

      5. 6.4.5 Middle East and Africa

  7. 7. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 7.1 Company Profiles

      1. 7.1.1 Infineon technologies AG

      2. 7.1.2 Texas instruments Inc.

      3. 7.1.3 United Silicon Carbide Inc.

      4. 7.1.4 ST Microelectronics NV

      5. 7.1.5 NXP semiconductor Inc.

      6. 7.1.6 ON Semiconductor Corporation

      7. 7.1.7 Renesas Electronic Corporation

      8. 7.1.8 Broadcom Inc.

      9. 7.1.9 Toshiba Corporation

      10. 7.1.10 Mitsubishi Electric Corporation

      11. 7.1.11 Fuji Electric Co. Ltd

      12. 7.1.12 Semikron International

      13. 7.1.13 Cree Inc.

      14. 7.1.14 ROHM​ Co Ltd

      15. 7.1.15 Vishay Intertechnology Inc.​

      16. 7.1.16 Nexperia BV​

      17. 7.1.17 Alpha & Omega Semiconductor

      18. 7.1.18 Magnachip​ Semiconductor Corp

      19. 7.1.19 Microchip​ Technology Inc

      20. 7.1.20 Littlefuse Inc

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  8. 8. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS​​​

  9. 9. FUTURE OF THE MARKET​

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Power Semiconductor Market market is studied from 2019 - 2026.

The Power Semiconductor Market is growing at a CAGR of 3.17% over the next 5 years.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

North America holds highest share in 2021.

Infineon Technologies AG, Texas Instruments Inc., STMicroelectronics NV, NXP Semiconductors NV, On Semiconductor Corporation are the major companies operating in Power Semiconductor Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

BESTSELLER

Power Semiconductor Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2021 - 2026)

The Power Semiconductor Market is Segmented By Component (Discrete, Module, Power Integrated Circuits), Material (Silicon/ Germanium, Silicon Carbide, Gallium Nitride), End-User Industry (Automotive, Consumer Electronics, IT & Telecommunications, Military & Aerospace, Power, Industrial), and Geography.

Market Snapshot

Power Semiconductor Market Overview
Study Period: 2019- 2026
Base Year: 2020
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 3.17 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The global power semiconductor market(henceforth referred to as the market studied) was valued at USD 37.90 billion in 2020, and it is expected to reach USD 46.02 billion by 2026, registering a CAGR of 3.17 %, during the period of 2021-2026 (henceforth, referred to as the forecast period). The COVID -19 outbreak has affected the overall semiconductor market from the demand side and the supply side. The nationwide lockdown and closure of semiconductor plants have further fueled the supply shortage trend, which mainly emerged in 2019. These effects were also reflected in the SiCand GaN power semiconductors. However, many of these effects are likely to be in the short term.

Moreover, government precautions around the world to support automotive and semiconductor sectors could help revive industry growth. The pandemic outbreak has created economic turmoil for small, medium, and large-scale industries alike across the world. Adding to it, country-wise lockdown inflicted by the governments across the world (to minimize the spread of the virus) has further resulted in industries taking a hit and disruption in supply chain and manufacturing operations across the world, as a large part of manufacturing includes work on the factory floor.

  • Power semiconductors perform the same tasks as regular semiconductors, only on a much larger scale. These high-performance components are capable of handling extremely high electrical currents, voltages, and frequencies up to several gigawatts. Like all semiconductor devices, power semiconductors are used to rectify and amplify electrical signals or turn the flow of electricity on and off. These are typically used for industrial applications and the long-distance transmission and distribution of electricity.
  • The material is majorly comprised of Silicon Carbide (SiC) and Gallium Nitride (GaN). Compared to silicon, GaN and SiC have a wider bandgap (Si:1.1, SiC:3.3, and GaN:3.4), and therefore it is also called Wide Band Gap Semiconductors. SiC MOSFETs and diodes offer high switching frequency and high power density and are ideally suited for electric vehicle onboard chargers. The electric vehicles industry is catering to rapid growth owing to initiatives from several governments across the world.
  • In December 2020, the power semiconductor maker ROHM Semiconductor of Kyoto, Japan, together with Chinese tier-1 automotive manufacturer United Automotive Electronic Systems Co. Ltd (UAES) held an opening ceremony announcing the establishment of a joint laboratory for silicon carbide (SiC) technology at UAES’ headquarters in Shanghai, China.
  • The new joint laboratory contains major equipment required for device and application evaluation in automotive applications, such as onboard chargers (OBCs) and DC/DC converters. The firms expect that this will allow them to strengthen their partnership and accelerate the development of SiC-based power solutions.
  • Power delivery brings more intelligence to the charger and enables the detection of the device connected to it. This allows the charger to deliver the precise amount of power needed to charge it in the shortest possible time. Charger with GaN (Gallium Nitride) increases efficiency, lowers the heat, and decreases each product’s size.
  • In December 2020, Avenir Telecom, under its Energizer brand, announced a new range of Power Delivery wall chargers in 20W, 38W, 65W, and 90W that use GaN (Gallium Nitride) semiconductor material. From USB-C to Lightning cable, this charger recognizes the devices: gaming consoles, tablets, laptops, and smartphones.
  • Power requirements are increasing in every market, as global requirements for electricity are anticipated to increase from 25,000 TWh currently to 38,000 TWh in the year 2050. At the sector level, 8 million data centers in the world use 2-3% of the world’s energy use, and that share is expected to rise to more than 5%. Industrial motors consume 30% and growing; electric vehicles will become large consumers to 5% of global energy consumption by 2040 (source: GaN Systems). GaN reduces losses in all these systems.

Scope of the Report

A power Semiconductor is a semiconductor device used as a switch or rectifier in power electronics (for example, in a switch-mode power supply). These devices are the fundamental component of modern power electronic circuitry machines and instruments. These devices are being used for wireless communication, advanced control of electric drives, motion control & servo drives, advanced computer systems, antennas, propagation & satellite systems, broadband wireless techniques, and others. They form an indispensable part of electrical appliances, machines, and systems. The study covers the components such as discrete modules and power integrated circuits along with materials such as silicon carbide, gallium nitride, and others.

By Component
Discrete
Module
Power Integrated Circuits
By Material
Silicon/Germanium
Silicon Carbide (Sic)
Gallium Nitride (Gann)
By End-user Industry
Automotive
Consumer Electronics
IT and Telecommunication
Military and Aerospace
Power
Industrial
Other End-user Industries
By Geography
North America
Europe
Asia Pacific
Latin America
Middle East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Automotive Industry Expected to Have Significant Growth

  • Electric cars are becoming common on the road nowadays with prices coming down and range going up. As per the International Energy Agency’s report ‘Global EV Outlook 2020’, over 7.2 million electric passenger cars were on the roads in 2019.
  • In the past few years, many OEMs have announced billions of dollars worth of investment in EVs, which is also strong due to the restrictions on CO2 emissions. Key steps will be taken in the coming years, and a higher percentage of EVs on the road will be seen. Semiconductors play a key role in both electric vehicles and those with internal combustion engines.
  • Research has been undergoing when it comes to the use of silicon carbide (SiC) devices within the automotive powertrain. Due to the recent advancements, it is gradually becoming a feasible solution.
  • The number of electric vehicles out on the streets is expected to keep multiplying as governments continue to incentivize clean energy and manufacturers find ways to make their cars more accessible. A big part of making that possible is the ongoing innovation in battery technology, driven by the demand for smaller, lighter, and safer batteries that charge faster and last longer. For instance, Tesla, which uses a rapid charging solution, is already using SiC within its vehicle architectures today.
  • SiC semiconductors are ideal for applications, such as onboard chargers and inverters used within plug-in hybrid (PHEV) and fully electric vehicles (EVs). This is because their energy efficiency is significantly higher compared to traditional silicon.
  • To ensure that EVs can operate over long distances and charge within a reasonable timeframe, the vehicle’s power electronics must be capable of handling high temperatures. SiC semiconductors benefit from more than 95% energy efficiency, i.e., only 5% of the energy is lost as heat during power conversion instances, such as recharging the vehicle at a high-power rapid-charger.
  • In May 2021, Infineon Technologies launched a new power module with CoolSiCMOSFET technology for automotive applications. The use of SiCi instead of Si ensured higher efficiency in converters in electric vehicles. Hyundai Motor Group reported that it was able to increase the range of its vehicles by more than 5% because of efficiency gains resulting from the lower losses of this SiCsolution compared to Si-based solution with the help of the traction inverters based on Infineon’s CoolSiCpower module.
  • In Japan, the University of Tokyo has been working with Mitsubishi Electric Corporation to enhance the reliability of SiC semiconductor devices. In 2017, Mitsubishi Electric revealed a new ultra-compact SiC inverter designed for hybrid vehicles, with mass commercialization targeted for around 2021.
Power Semiconductor Market

Asia Pacific Expected to Have Significant Growth

  • The Asia Pacific region is expected to dominate the global power semiconductor market, as the region dominates the global semiconductor market, which is further supported by government policies. Moreover, the region's semiconductor industry is driven by China, Japan, Taiwan, and South Korea, which together constitute around 65% of the global discrete semiconductor market, while others like Vietnam, Thailand, Malaysia, and Singapore also contribute significantly to the region's dominance in the market.
  • According to the Indian Electronics and Semiconductor Association, the country's semiconductor component market is expected to be worth USD 32.35 billion by 2025, registering a CAGR of 10.1% (2018-2025). The country is a lucrative destination for global R&D centers. Thus, the government's ongoing Make In India initiative is expected to result in investments in the semiconductor market.​
  • Moreover, the region is an electronics hub with millions of electronic devices made every year for consumption in the region and exported to other places. This high production of electronic devices and components significantly contributes to the market share of the market studied.​ For instance, the growing demand for consumer electronics in India has also contributed to the regional market's growth. According to the Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FICCI), India's electronics demand is estimated to record a CAGR of 25% during 2012-2020.​​
  • Players in the region are regularly involved in product development and are seeking opportunities to enhance their capabilities. For instance, in September 2020, Mitsubishi Electric Corporation announced its coming launch of second-generation full-SiC (silicon carbide) power modules featuring a newly developed SiC chip for industrial use. The modules' low power loss characteristics and high carrier frequency operation of the SiC-MOSFET (metal oxide semiconductor field-effect transistor) and SiC-SBD (Schottky barrier diode) chips are expected the development of more efficient, smaller, and lighter weight power equipment in various industrial fields.
  • Singapore is making initiatives to become Asia's epicenter for GaN semiconductor technology. In Aug 2020, Singapore-based IGSS GaN (IGaN), a technology developer and commercialization expert in gallium nitride-on-silicon/silicon carbide (GaN-on-Si/SiC), announced to continue its expansion following demonstrated successes in pilot lines of customers. The company is setting up a combined commercial and Global Joint Lab for 4-8" metal-organic chemical vapor deposition (MOCVD) GaN Epi Centre in Singapore. Additionally, IGaN's recent onboarding of a renowned toolmaker reaffirms its efforts to establish an innovative GaN ecosystem that supports global demand for an energy-efficient, sustainable, and mobile future.
  • The region has a robust presence of players such as SK Siltron, which is South Korea's only producer of semiconductor silicon wafers and one of the top five global wafer manufacturers with annual sales of KRW 1.542 trillion, accounting for about 17 % of global silicon wafer sales (based on 300mm). In March 2020, SK Siltron completed the acquisition of DuPont's Silicon Carbide Wafer (SiC Wafer) unit. According to SK Siltron, it will continue to invest in related fields even after the acquisition, which is expected to increase SiC wafers' production and create additional jobs in the United States.
  • To address market needs, power semiconductor manufacturers are quickly adopting materials such as silicon carbide (SiC), which can operate at higher voltages, temperatures, and frequencies, while delivering improved efficiency and reliability.
  • For instance, in June 2020, Zhengzhou Yutong Group Co. Ltd (Yutong Group), a large-scale industrial Chinese manufacturer of commercial vehicles specializing in electric buses, announced using Cree 1200 V silicon carbide devices in a StarPower power module for its new, industry-leading high-efficiency powertrain system for electric buses. The parties are working together to accelerate the commercial adoption of silicon carbide-based inverters in electric bus applications. Upon rollout, Yutong Group will deliver its first electric bus in China to use silicon carbide in its powertrain, representing a significant advancement in providing an even more efficient e-bus to the market.
Power Semiconductor Market

Competitive Landscape

The power semiconductor market is a consolidated market dominated by a few major players. In terms of market share, few of the major players dominate the market. Various acquisitions and collaborations of large companies are expected to take place shortly, which focuses on innovation. Some of the key players in the market are Infineon Technologies and Texas Instruments.

  • March 2021- Magnachip launched a new Low-dropout (LDO) linear regulator featuring an ultra-fast transient response for a Universal Flash Storage (UFS)-based Multi-Chip Package (MCP). It is an advanced version of an Embedded Multi-Media Controller (eMMC), which was developed for concurrent read and write performance at higher speeds.
  • March 2021- Alpha and Omega Semiconductor announced the new AEC-Q101 qualified 1200V silicon carbide (SiC) αSiC MOSFETs. This is ideal for the high efficiency and reliability requirements of electric vehicle (EV) on-board chargers, motor drive inverters, and off-board charging stations.
  • February 2021- Nexperia extended the LFPAK56D MOSFET line-up with the AEC-Q101-qualified half-bridge package. It offers 60% lower parasitic inductance and improved thermal performance for power trains, motor control, and DC/DC application.

Recent Developments

  • April 2021- Nexperia announced the availability of its second-generation 650 V GaN FETs which enable 80 PLUS Titanium-class power supplies operating at 2 kW and above. It offers significant performance and advantages over previous technologies and competitive devices.
  • April 2021- ROHM developed four new 600V IGBT Intelligent Power Modules (IPMs), BM6437x series, that deliver low noise characteristics together with the low loss ideal for power conversion in inverters. The devices are used in compact industrial equipment, such as small capacity motors for robots and home appliances, including air conditioners and washing machines.
  • March 2021- Nexperia announced a comprehensive partnership covering gallium nitride (GaN) power semiconductor devices with United Automotive Electronic Systems Co., Ltd. (UAES). This partnership will focus on power systems for EVs and the development of automotive applications using GaN technology.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions​ and Market Definition​

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHTS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview​

    2. 4.2 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    3. 4.3 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis​

      1. 4.3.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers​

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers​

      3. 4.3.3 Threat of New Entrants​

      4. 4.3.4 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry​

      5. 4.3.5 Threat of Substitutes​

    4. 4.4 Assessment of the Impact of COVID-19 on the Market

    5. 4.5 Technology Snapshot

  5. 5. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 5.1 Market Drivers

      1. 5.1.1 Increasing Demand for Consumer Electronics and Wireless Communications

      2. 5.1.2 Growing Demand for Energy-efficient Battery-powered Portable Devices

    2. 5.2 Market Restraints

      1. 5.2.1 Shortage of Silicon Wafers and Variable Driving Requirements

  6. 6. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 6.1 By Component

      1. 6.1.1 Discrete

      2. 6.1.2 Module

      3. 6.1.3 Power Integrated Circuits

    2. 6.2 By Material

      1. 6.2.1 Silicon/Germanium

      2. 6.2.2 Silicon Carbide (Sic)

      3. 6.2.3 Gallium Nitride (Gann)

    3. 6.3 By End-user Industry

      1. 6.3.1 Automotive

      2. 6.3.2 Consumer Electronics

      3. 6.3.3 IT and Telecommunication

      4. 6.3.4 Military and Aerospace

      5. 6.3.5 Power

      6. 6.3.6 Industrial

      7. 6.3.7 Other End-user Industries

    4. 6.4 By Geography

      1. 6.4.1 North America

      2. 6.4.2 Europe

      3. 6.4.3 Asia Pacific

      4. 6.4.4 Latin America

      5. 6.4.5 Middle East and Africa

  7. 7. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 7.1 Company Profiles

      1. 7.1.1 Infineon technologies AG

      2. 7.1.2 Texas instruments Inc.

      3. 7.1.3 United Silicon Carbide Inc.

      4. 7.1.4 ST Microelectronics NV

      5. 7.1.5 NXP semiconductor Inc.

      6. 7.1.6 ON Semiconductor Corporation

      7. 7.1.7 Renesas Electronic Corporation

      8. 7.1.8 Broadcom Inc.

      9. 7.1.9 Toshiba Corporation

      10. 7.1.10 Mitsubishi Electric Corporation

      11. 7.1.11 Fuji Electric Co. Ltd

      12. 7.1.12 Semikron International

      13. 7.1.13 Cree Inc.

      14. 7.1.14 ROHM​ Co Ltd

      15. 7.1.15 Vishay Intertechnology Inc.​

      16. 7.1.16 Nexperia BV​

      17. 7.1.17 Alpha & Omega Semiconductor

      18. 7.1.18 Magnachip​ Semiconductor Corp

      19. 7.1.19 Microchip​ Technology Inc

      20. 7.1.20 Littlefuse Inc

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  8. 8. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS​​​

  9. 9. FUTURE OF THE MARKET​

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Power Semiconductor Market market is studied from 2019 - 2026.

The Power Semiconductor Market is growing at a CAGR of 3.17% over the next 5 years.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

North America holds highest share in 2020.

Infineon Technologies AG, Texas Instruments Inc., STMicroelectronics NV, NXP Semiconductors NV, On Semiconductor Corporation are the major companies operating in Power Semiconductor Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!