Markt für Papierverpackungen – Wachstum, Trends, Auswirkungen von COVID-19 und Prognosen (2023 – 2028)

Der Markt für Papierverpackungen ist nach Qualität (Karton, Containerboard), Produkttyp (Faltschachteln, Wellpappenschachteln), Endverbraucherbranche (Lebensmittel, Getränke, Gesundheitswesen, Körperpflege, Haushaltspflege, Elektroprodukte) und Geografie unterteilt.

Markt-Snapshot

paper and packaging industry overview
Study Period: 2018 - 2026
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: Asia Pacific
CAGR: 3.87 %

Major Players

paper packaging companies

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

setting-icon

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Marktübersicht

Der Papierverpackungsmarkt verzeichnete im Prognosezeitraum 2021-2026 eine CAGR von 3,87 %. Die Verpackungsindustrie war aufgrund der COVID-19-Pandemie mit einigen großen Problemen konfrontiert, darunter die Auswirkungen der landesweiten Sperrung, die Verlagerung von Unternehmen aus China und die Überarbeitung von Verpackungsmaterialien. Obwohl die Angebotsseite der Papierverpackung erhebliche Auswirkungen hat, hat ein drastischer Anstieg der Endverbrauchernachfrage in einigen Anwendungen den Anwendungsbereich der Papierverpackung erheblich erweitert.

  • Papierverpackungen sind eine vielseitige und kostengünstige Methode zum Schutz, zur Aufbewahrung und zum Transport einer Vielzahl von Produkten. Darüber hinaus kann es an die Bedürfnisse der Kunden oder produktspezifischen Anforderungen angepasst werden. Die Eigenschaften wie geringes Gewicht, biologische Abbaubarkeit und Recyclingfähigkeit sind die Vorteile von Papierverpackungen, die sie zu einem wesentlichen Bestandteil für Verpackungen machen.
  • Das zunehmende Bewusstsein der Verbraucher für nachhaltige Verpackungen sowie die strengen Vorschriften verschiedener Umweltschutzbehörden (in Bezug auf die Verwendung umweltfreundlicher Verpackungsprodukte) sind die Faktoren, die den Markt für Papierverpackungen treiben. Das schnelle Wachstum von Online-Shopping und Lieferservices auf Abruf hat die Verwendung von Karton- und Papiertüten vorangetrieben.
  • Umweltfreundliche Verpackungslösungen sind für die Verpackungsunternehmen weltweit eher eine Norm als eine Ausnahme geworden. Der tiefgreifende Wandel der Unternehmensstandards, der Regierungspolitik, der Handelsvorschriften und des Verbrauchergeschmacks hat zu einem Paradigmenwechsel hin zu umweltfreundlichen Lösungen auf dem Verpackungsmarkt geführt. Frankreich hat die Verwendung von Plastiktüten seit Juli 2016 verboten. Nach Angaben der französischen Regierung werden etwa 5 Milliarden Plastiktüten verteilt und 12 Milliarden werden zum Verpacken von Obst und Gemüse verwendet.
  • Die größten Herausforderungen, denen sich der Papierverpackungsmarkt gegenübersieht, ist die Unfähigkeit von Papier zum Verpacken sehr schwerer Materialien, was dazu führt, dass die Industrie von der Polymer- und Metallverpackungsindustrie überwältigt wird. Darüber hinaus verursachen die Abholzung von Wäldern zur Gewinnung von Rohstoffen und die Freisetzung von Dioxinen bei der Papierherstellung Umweltbedenken. Diese Faktoren wiederum behindern das Wachstum des Papierverpackungsmarktes.
  • Die Verpackungsindustrie war aufgrund der COVID-19-Pandemie mit einigen großen Problemen konfrontiert, darunter die Auswirkungen der landesweiten Sperrung, die Verlagerung von Unternehmen aus China und die Überarbeitung von Verpackungsmaterialien. Obwohl die Angebotsseite der Papierverpackung erhebliche Auswirkungen hat, hat ein drastischer Anstieg der Endverbrauchernachfrage in einigen Anwendungen den Anwendungsbereich der Papierverpackung erheblich erweitert.
  • Das Wachstum bei Lebensmittelverpackungen und die ständig steigende Nachfrage nach Verpackungen aus Wellpappe in wachsenden E-Commerce-Sendungen sind einige der Haupttreiber des untersuchten Marktes, die sich aus dem Ausbruch von COVID-19 ergeben haben. In E-Commerce-Portalen hat die Nachfrage nach Verpackungen für Lebensmittel, Gesundheitsprodukte und E-Commerce-Sendungen stark zugenommen. Gleichzeitig ist die Nachfrage nach Industrie-, Luxus- und einigen B2B-Transportverpackungen zurückgegangen.

Umfang des Berichts

Verpackungsmaterialien aus Papier können im Vergleich zu anderen Materialien wie Metallen und Kunststoffen problemlos wiederverwendet und recycelt werden. Aus diesem Grund gelten Papierverpackungen als die umweltfreundlichste und wirtschaftlichste Verpackungsform. Die wachsende Nachfrage nach flexiblen Papierverpackungen aufgrund des gestiegenen Bewusstseins der Verbraucher für die schädlichen Auswirkungen von Kunststoff auf die Umwelt trägt zum Wachstum der Papierverpackungsindustrie bei.                                                                                                                                    

Grade
Carton board​
Solid bleached sulphate (SBS)
Solid unbleached sulphate (SUS)
Folding boxboard (FBB)
Coated Recycled Board (CRB)
Uncoated recycled board (URB)​
Containerboard​
White-top Kraftliner
Other Kraftliners
White top Testliner
Other Testliners
Semi Chemical Fluting
Recycled Fluting
Other Grades
Product
Folding Cartons
Corrugated Boxes
Other Types
End User Industry
Food
Beverage
Healthcare
Personal Care
Household Care
Electrical Products
Other End User Industries
Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
Italy
France
Rest of Europe
Asia Pacific
China
Japan
India
Rest of Asia Pacific
Latin America
Brazil
Argentina
Mexico
Rest of Latin America
Middle East and Africa
Saudi Arabia
South Africa
Rest of Middle East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Wichtige Markttrends

Es wird erwartet, dass Lebensmittel und Getränke einen bedeutenden Marktanteil halten

  • Papierverpackungen sind das wichtigste Kapital der Lebensmittelindustrie. Es ist umweltfreundlich und erhöht den Komfort für die Verbraucher. Aus diesem Grund gibt es auf dem Lebensmittel- und Getränkemarkt einen erheblichen Wettbewerb zwischen den Akteuren, die den Verbrauchern Qualitätsprodukte anbieten. Verschiedene Verpackungsmaterialien auf dem Markt sind verfügbar, um die unterschiedlichen Verpackungsanforderungen zu erfüllen, wie Wellpappschachteln und Kartons.
  • Unter den Anbietern von Qualitätsprodukten auf dem Lebensmittelmarkt herrscht ein harter Wettbewerb. Aus diesen Gründen produzieren und liefern verschiedene Hersteller auf dem Lebensmittelmarkt kontinuierlich hochwertige Produkte. Die Zahl der Verbrauchermärkte und Supermärkte nimmt zu. Dieser Faktor dürfte einer der Schlüsselfaktoren für die Nachfrage nach Papier- und Kartonbehältern sein. Dies wiederum wird voraussichtlich das Wachstum des Verpackungsmarktes in der Zukunft vorantreiben.
  • Viele Einzelhandelsgeschäfte verwenden Verpackungsmaterialien, um Lebensmittel zu konservieren und den Nährwert von Lebensmitteln zu erhalten. Aufgrund der steigenden Zahl von Verbrauchern, die Lebensmittel kaufen (einschließlich gefrorener und gekühlter Lebensmittel), wird erwartet, dass der Markt in Zukunft wachsen wird.
  • Der regionale Lebensmittel- und Getränkesektor im Nahen Osten wirkt als wichtiger Treiber für die Einführung von Papierverpackungen. Laut Alpen Capital wird der lokale Lebensmittelverbrauch im Jahr 2019 voraussichtlich 51,9 Millionen Tonnen erreichen.
paper packaging market size

Nordamerika wird voraussichtlich einen erheblichen Marktanteil haben

  • Nordamerika ist nach wie vor einer der führenden Märkte für Kartonverpackungsprodukte mit einer Vielzahl von Akteuren, die im Land tätig sind. Allein im Jahr 2018 erreichte der Papier- und Kartonverbrauch in Nordamerika 74,21 Millionen Tonnen. Dies geht aus von FAO und UNECE veröffentlichten Daten hervor.
  • Die Vereinigten Staaten dominieren den Faltschachtelverpackungsmarkt in der nordamerikanischen Region, wo Lebensmittel voraussichtlich weiterhin der primäre Endverbraucher von Faltschachteln sein werden. Laut der Association for Packaging and Processing Technologies wird beispielsweise erwartet, dass die US-Lebensmittelindustrie bis 2022 mit einer konstanten Wachstumsrate von 2,9 % CAGR wachsen wird.
  • Im Jahr 2018 erhob die Trump-Administration einen Zoll von 10 % auf Faltschachteln aus China, der bis Januar 2019 auf 25 % steigen sollte. Im Dezember 2018 einigten sich die Vereinigten Staaten und China jedoch auf die vorübergehende Aussetzung jeglicher Erhöhung Tarife. Wenn die Zölle wie geplant weiter steigen, ist mit einer Steigerung der heimischen Produktion und einer schnelleren Umstellung auf flexible Verpackungsformate zu rechnen. Dies wird sich voraussichtlich positiv auf das Wachstum des Marktes im Prognosezeitraum auswirken.
  • Darüber hinaus investieren Marktteilnehmer zunehmend in fortschrittliche und kundenspezifische Verpackungslösungen, durch verstärkte M&A-Aktivitäten oder F&E-Strategien. Darüber hinaus erlebt der Markt auch neue Akteure, die die Landschaft betreten. EdelmannUSA ist seit kurzem Mitglied der PPC. Dies ist ein Hinweis auf den verstärkten Fokus des in Europa ansässigen Unternehmens, in diesem Markt zu expandieren.
  • Beispielsweise schloss die WestRock Company im November 2018 die Übernahme der KapStone Paper and Packaging Corporation ab. Die Übernahme von KapStone erweitert das differenzierte Portfolio des Unternehmens an Papier- und Verpackungslösungen, wie Faltschachteln und Karton, und wird es ihnen wahrscheinlich ermöglichen, Kunden übergreifend besser zu bedienen.
paper packaging industry analysis

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der Papierverpackungsmarkt ist fragmentiert. Es ist ein hart umkämpfter Markt mit einer Reihe von Akteuren auf dem Markt. Es gibt keinen dominanten Player auf dem Markt. Die Unternehmen setzen auf Innovationen und gehen strategische Partnerschaften ein, um ihren Marktanteil zu halten.

  • Sept. 2020 – Der Verpackungs- und Papierhersteller Mondi Group gibt eine Partnerschaft mit dem Biohof BIOhof Kirchweidach bekannt. Diese Partnerschaft würde die Entwicklung einer nachhaltigen Verpackungslösung für frische Produkte aus der Rebe umfassen. Die als Coral Tray bekannte neue Verpackung steht im Einklang mit dem Anspruch von BIOhof, seine Verpackung durch eine recycelbare und plastikfreie Lösung zu ersetzen. Die vollständig recycelbare Verpackung besteht aus nachwachsenden Materialien und recycelter Wellpappe, mit einer durchschnittlichen Recyclingquote von mehr als 80 % in Europa.

Hauptakteure

  1. Westrock Inc.

  2. International Paper Company

  3. Mondi Group

  4. Smurfit Kappa Group

  5. DS Smith PLC

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

Westrock Inc., International Paper Company, Mondi Group, Smurfit Kappa Group, DS Smith PLC

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der Papierverpackungsmarkt ist fragmentiert. Es ist ein hart umkämpfter Markt mit einer Reihe von Akteuren auf dem Markt. Es gibt keinen dominanten Player auf dem Markt. Die Unternehmen setzen auf Innovationen und gehen strategische Partnerschaften ein, um ihren Marktanteil zu halten.

  • Sept. 2020 – Der Verpackungs- und Papierhersteller Mondi Group gibt eine Partnerschaft mit dem Biohof BIOhof Kirchweidach bekannt. Diese Partnerschaft würde die Entwicklung einer nachhaltigen Verpackungslösung für frische Produkte aus der Rebe umfassen. Die als Coral Tray bekannte neue Verpackung steht im Einklang mit dem Anspruch von BIOhof, seine Verpackung durch eine recycelbare und plastikfreie Lösung zu ersetzen. Die vollständig recycelbare Verpackung besteht aus nachwachsenden Materialien und recycelter Wellpappe, mit einer durchschnittlichen Recyclingquote von mehr als 80 % in Europa.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions​ and Market Definition​

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Development of Barrier-coated Paperboard Products

      2. 4.2.2 Growing Consumer Awareness on Paper Packaging

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

      1. 4.3.1 Effects of Deforestation on Paper Packaging

      2. 4.3.2 Increasing Operational Costs

    4. 4.4 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Force Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

    5. 4.5 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    6. 4.6 Impact of COVID-19 on PPAER Packaging Industry

  5. 5. GLOBAL RECOVERED PAPER PRODUCTION STATISTICS

    1. 5.1 Recovered Paper, Production Quantity

    2. 5.2 Recovered Paper, Import Value, and Import Quantity

    3. 5.3 Recovered Paper, Export Value, and Export Quantity

    4. 5.4 Recovered Paper Production, by Leading Countries

  6. 6. CARTONBOARD EXIM SCENARIO

    1. 6.1 Cartonboard Exports By Value & Volume (USD Million, Million Tonnes)

    2. 6.2 Cartonboard Import By Value & Volume (USD Million, Million Tonnes)

  7. 7. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 7.1 Grade

      1. 7.1.1 Carton board​

        1. 7.1.1.1 Solid bleached sulphate (SBS)

        2. 7.1.1.2 Solid unbleached sulphate (SUS)

        3. 7.1.1.3 Folding boxboard (FBB)

        4. 7.1.1.4 Coated Recycled Board (CRB)

        5. 7.1.1.5 Uncoated recycled board (URB)​

      2. 7.1.2 Containerboard​

        1. 7.1.2.1 White-top Kraftliner

        2. 7.1.2.2 Other Kraftliners

        3. 7.1.2.3 White top Testliner

        4. 7.1.2.4 Other Testliners

        5. 7.1.2.5 Semi Chemical Fluting

        6. 7.1.2.6 Recycled Fluting

      3. 7.1.3 Other Grades

    2. 7.2 Product

      1. 7.2.1 Folding Cartons

      2. 7.2.2 Corrugated Boxes

      3. 7.2.3 Other Types

    3. 7.3 End User Industry

      1. 7.3.1 Food

      2. 7.3.2 Beverage

      3. 7.3.3 Healthcare

      4. 7.3.4 Personal Care

      5. 7.3.5 Household Care

      6. 7.3.6 Electrical Products

      7. 7.3.7 Other End User Industries

    4. 7.4 Geography

      1. 7.4.1 North America

        1. 7.4.1.1 United States

        2. 7.4.1.2 Canada

      2. 7.4.2 Europe

        1. 7.4.2.1 Germany

        2. 7.4.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 7.4.2.3 Italy

        4. 7.4.2.4 France

        5. 7.4.2.5 Rest of Europe

      3. 7.4.3 Asia Pacific

        1. 7.4.3.1 China

        2. 7.4.3.2 Japan

        3. 7.4.3.3 India

        4. 7.4.3.4 Rest of Asia Pacific

      4. 7.4.4 Latin America

        1. 7.4.4.1 Brazil

        2. 7.4.4.2 Argentina

        3. 7.4.4.3 Mexico

        4. 7.4.4.4 Rest of Latin America

      5. 7.4.5 Middle East and Africa

        1. 7.4.5.1 Saudi Arabia

        2. 7.4.5.2 South Africa

        3. 7.4.5.3 Rest of Middle East and Africa

  8. 8. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 8.1 Company Profiles*

      1. 8.1.1 International Paper Company

      2. 8.1.2 Mondi Group

      3. 8.1.3 Smurfit Kappa Group

      4. 8.1.4 DS Smith PLC

      5. 8.1.5 WestRock Company

      6. 8.1.6 Packaging Corporation of America

      7. 8.1.7 Cascades Inc.

      8. 8.1.8 Holdings Corporation

      9. 8.1.9 Nippon Paper Industries Ltd.

      10. 8.1.10 Rengo Co. Ltd.

      11. 8.1.11 Graphic Packaging International

      12. 8.1.12 Metsä Board Oyj

      13. 8.1.13 Sonoco Products Company

      14. 8.1.14 Visy Industries

      15. 8.1.15 Seaboard Folding Box Company Inc.

  9. 9. FUTURE OUTLOOK OF THE MARKET

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Der Papierverpackungsmarkt wird von 2018 bis 2028 untersucht.

Der Papierverpackungsmarkt wächst in den nächsten 5 Jahren mit einer CAGR von 3,87 %.

Der asiatisch-pazifische Raum wächst von 2018 bis 2028 mit der höchsten CAGR.

Asien-Pazifik hält 2021 den höchsten Anteil.

Westrock Inc., International Paper Company, Mondi Group, Smurfit Kappa Group und DS Smith PLC sind die wichtigsten Unternehmen, die auf dem Markt für Papierverpackungen tätig sind.

close-icon
80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Paper Packaging Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2021 - 2026)

The Paper Packaging Market is segmented by Grade (Carton board​, Containerboard), Product Type (Folding Cartons, Corrugated Boxes), End User Industry (Food, Beverage, Healthcare, Personal Care, Household Care, Electrical Products), and Geography.

Market Snapshot

Paper Packaging Market Overview
Study Period: 2018 - 2026
Base Year: 2020
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: Asia Pacific
CAGR: 3.87 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The paper packaging market registered a CAGR of 3.87% during the forecast period of 2021-2026. The packaging industry witnessed some major issues due to the COVID-19 pandemic, including the effects of nationwide lockdown, companies moving to source away from China, and reconsidering materials used in packaging. Although the supply side of the paper packaging has witnessed significant impact, a drastic increase in the end-user demand in some applications has significantly expanded the scope of the paper packaging.

  • Paper packaging is a versatile and cost-efficient method to protect, preserve, and transport a wide range of products. In addition, it can be customized to meet the customers' needs or product-specific needs. The attributes, like lightweight, biodegradability, and recyclability, are the advantages of paper packaging that make it an essential component for packaging.
  • The increasing consumer consciousness regarding sustainable packaging, as well as the strict regulations imposed by various environmental protection agencies (regarding the use of environment-friendly packaging products) are the factors driving the market for paper packaging. The rapid growth of online shopping and delivery-on-demand services has fueled the usage of cardboard and paper-based bags.
  • Environment-friendly packaging solutions have become a norm rather than an exception for the packaging companies worldwide. The profound change in corporate standards, governmental policies, trade regulations, and consumer tastes have led to a paradigm shift toward eco-friendly solutions in the packaging market. France has banned the use of plastic bags since July 2016. According to the French Government, about 5 billion plastic bags are distributed at and 12 billion are used to pack fruit and vegetables.
  • The major challenges faced by the paper packaging market is the inability of paper in the packaging of very heavy materials, resulting in the industry being overpowered by the polymers and metal packaging industries. Furthermore, deforestation to acquire raw material and the release of dioxins during paper production cause environmental concerns. These factors, in turn, are hindering the growth of the paper packaging market.
  • The packaging industry witnessed some major issues due to the COVID-19 pandemic, including the effects of nationwide lockdown, companies moving to source away from China, and reconsidering materials used in packaging. Although the supply side of the paper packaging has witnessed significant impact, a drastic increase in the end-user demand in some applications has significantly expanded the scope of the paper packaging.
  • Growth in food packaging and ever-increasing demand corrugated packages in growing e-commerce shipments are some of the primary drivers of the studied market that resulted due to the COVID-19 outbreak. In e-commerce portals, demand has sharply increased for packaging for groceries, healthcare products, and e-commerce shipments. At the same time, demand for industrial, luxury, and some B2B-transport packaging have declined.

Scope of the Report

Paper packaging materials can be easily reused and recycled, compared to other materials, such as metals and plastics. This is the reason for considering paper packaging as the most eco-friendly and economic forms of packaging. The growing demand for flexible paper packaging, due to the rise in consumer awareness regarding the harmful effects of plastic on the environment, is helping in the growth of the paper packaging industry to grow.                                                                                                                                    

Grade
Carton board​
Solid bleached sulphate (SBS)
Solid unbleached sulphate (SUS)
Folding boxboard (FBB)
Coated Recycled Board (CRB)
Uncoated recycled board (URB)​
Containerboard​
White-top Kraftliner
Other Kraftliners
White top Testliner
Other Testliners
Semi Chemical Fluting
Recycled Fluting
Other Grades
Product
Folding Cartons
Corrugated Boxes
Other Types
End User Industry
Food
Beverage
Healthcare
Personal Care
Household Care
Electrical Products
Other End User Industries
Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
Italy
France
Rest of Europe
Asia Pacific
China
Japan
India
Rest of Asia Pacific
Latin America
Brazil
Argentina
Mexico
Rest of Latin America
Middle East and Africa
Saudi Arabia
South Africa
Rest of Middle East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Food and Beverage Expected to Hold Significant Market Share

  • Paper packaging is the main asset of the food industry. It is environment-friendly and increases the convenience for consumers. Due to this, there is significant competition in the food and beverage market among the players who provide quality products to the consumers. Various packaging materials in the market are available to fulfill the diverse packaging needs, like corrugated boxes and cardboard boxes.
  • There is fierce competition among the quality-product providers in the food market. Due to these reasons, various manufacturers in the food market are continuously making and delivering high-quality products. There is an increase in the number of hypermarkets and supermarkets. This factor is expected to be one of the key factors driving the demand for paper and paperboard containers. This, in turn, is expected to drive the growth of the packaging market in the future.
  • Many retail stores use packaging materials to preserve food and to retain the nutritional value of foods. Due to the increase in the number of consumers purchasing grocery items (like includes frozen and chilled foods), the market is expected to witness growth in the future.
  • The regional food and beverage sector in the Middle East region is acting as a significant driver for the adoption of paper packaging. According to Alpen Capital, local food consumption is expected to reach 51.9 million metric ton in 2019.
Paper Packaging Market Share

To understand key trends, Download Sample Report

North America Expected To Have Significant Market Share

  • North America continues to be one of the leading markets for paperboard packaging products with a host of players operating in the country. In 2018 alone, the paper and paperboard consumption in North America reached 74.21 million metric ton. This is according to data released by FAO and UNECE.
  • The United States dominates the folding carton packaging market in the North American region, where food is expected to continue as the primary end user of folding cartons. For instance, according to the Association for Packaging and Processing Technologies, the US food industry is expected to proliferate at a steady rate of 2.9% CAGR through 2022.
  • In 2018, the Trump administration levied a tariff of 10% on folding cartons from China, which was scheduled to increase to 25% on January 2019. However, in December 2018, the United States and China agreed on the temporary suspension of any increase in tariffs. If tariffs continue to rise as planned, it is expected to result in the increase in domestic production, along with a more rapid transition to flexible packaging formats. This is expected to have a positive impact on the market’s growth over the forecast period.
  • Furthermore, players in the market are increasingly investing in advanced and customized packaging solutions, through increased M&A activities or R&D strategies. Moreover, the market is also witnessing new players entering the landscape. EdelmannUSA recently became a member of the PPC. This is indicative of the increased focus of the Europe-based company to expand in this market.
  • For instance, in November 2018, WestRock Company completed the acquisition of KapStone Paper and Packaging Corporation. The acquisition of KapStone enhances the company’s differentiated portfolio of paper and packaging solutions, such as folding cartons and paperboard, and is likely to enable them to serve customers better across.
Paper Packaging Market Growth Rate By Region

To understand geography trends, Download Sample Report

Competitive Landscape

The paper packaging market is fragmented. It is a highly competitive market with a number of players in the market. There is no dominant player present in the market. The companies keep on innovating and entering into strategic partnerships in order to retain their market share.

  • Sept 2020 -The packaging and paper manufacturer, Mondi Group, announced a partnership with the organic farm, BIOhof Kirchweidach. This partnership would involve developing a sustainable packaging solution for fresh produce on the vine. Known as Coral Tray, the new packaging is in line with BIOhof’saims to replace its packaging with a recyclable and plastic-free solution. The fully recyclable packaging is made of renewable materials and recycled corrugated boards, with an average recycling rate of more than 80% in Europe.

Recent Developments

  • June 2020 - Amazon India announced the replacement of all single-use plastic with plastic-free and biodegradable paper in packaging originating from its 50-plus fulfilment centres in the country.
  • May 2020 - US-based market vendor, International Paper, donated 2 million corrugated boxes, due to the dramatic increases in demand for food assistance driven by the economic impact of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions​ and Market Definition​

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Development of Barrier-coated Paperboard Products

      2. 4.2.2 Growing Consumer Awareness on Paper Packaging

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

      1. 4.3.1 Effects of Deforestation on Paper Packaging

      2. 4.3.2 Increasing Operational Costs

    4. 4.4 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Force Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

    5. 4.5 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    6. 4.6 Impact of COVID-19 on PPAER Packaging Industry

  5. 5. GLOBAL RECOVERED PAPER PRODUCTION STATISTICS

    1. 5.1 Recovered Paper, Production Quantity

    2. 5.2 Recovered Paper, Import Value, and Import Quantity

    3. 5.3 Recovered Paper, Export Value, and Export Quantity

    4. 5.4 Recovered Paper Production, by Leading Countries

  6. 6. CARTONBOARD EXIM SCENARIO

    1. 6.1 Cartonboard Exports By Value & Volume (USD Million, Million Tonnes)

    2. 6.2 Cartonboard Import By Value & Volume (USD Million, Million Tonnes)

  7. 7. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 7.1 Grade

      1. 7.1.1 Carton board​

        1. 7.1.1.1 Solid bleached sulphate (SBS)

        2. 7.1.1.2 Solid unbleached sulphate (SUS)

        3. 7.1.1.3 Folding boxboard (FBB)

        4. 7.1.1.4 Coated Recycled Board (CRB)

        5. 7.1.1.5 Uncoated recycled board (URB)​

      2. 7.1.2 Containerboard​

        1. 7.1.2.1 White-top Kraftliner

        2. 7.1.2.2 Other Kraftliners

        3. 7.1.2.3 White top Testliner

        4. 7.1.2.4 Other Testliners

        5. 7.1.2.5 Semi Chemical Fluting

        6. 7.1.2.6 Recycled Fluting

      3. 7.1.3 Other Grades

    2. 7.2 Product

      1. 7.2.1 Folding Cartons

      2. 7.2.2 Corrugated Boxes

      3. 7.2.3 Other Types

    3. 7.3 End User Industry

      1. 7.3.1 Food

      2. 7.3.2 Beverage

      3. 7.3.3 Healthcare

      4. 7.3.4 Personal Care

      5. 7.3.5 Household Care

      6. 7.3.6 Electrical Products

      7. 7.3.7 Other End User Industries

    4. 7.4 Geography

      1. 7.4.1 North America

        1. 7.4.1.1 United States

        2. 7.4.1.2 Canada

      2. 7.4.2 Europe

        1. 7.4.2.1 Germany

        2. 7.4.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 7.4.2.3 Italy

        4. 7.4.2.4 France

        5. 7.4.2.5 Rest of Europe

      3. 7.4.3 Asia Pacific

        1. 7.4.3.1 China

        2. 7.4.3.2 Japan

        3. 7.4.3.3 India

        4. 7.4.3.4 Rest of Asia Pacific

      4. 7.4.4 Latin America

        1. 7.4.4.1 Brazil

        2. 7.4.4.2 Argentina

        3. 7.4.4.3 Mexico

        4. 7.4.4.4 Rest of Latin America

      5. 7.4.5 Middle East and Africa

        1. 7.4.5.1 Saudi Arabia

        2. 7.4.5.2 South Africa

        3. 7.4.5.3 Rest of Middle East and Africa

  8. 8. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 8.1 Company Profiles*

      1. 8.1.1 International Paper Company

      2. 8.1.2 Mondi Group

      3. 8.1.3 Smurfit Kappa Group

      4. 8.1.4 DS Smith PLC

      5. 8.1.5 WestRock Company

      6. 8.1.6 Packaging Corporation of America

      7. 8.1.7 Cascades Inc.

      8. 8.1.8 Holdings Corporation

      9. 8.1.9 Nippon Paper Industries Ltd.

      10. 8.1.10 Rengo Co. Ltd.

      11. 8.1.11 Graphic Packaging International

      12. 8.1.12 Metsä Board Oyj

      13. 8.1.13 Sonoco Products Company

      14. 8.1.14 Visy Industries

      15. 8.1.15 Seaboard Folding Box Company Inc.

  9. 9. FUTURE OUTLOOK OF THE MARKET

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Paper Packaging Market market is studied from 2018 - 2026.

The Paper Packaging Market is growing at a CAGR of 3.87% over the next 5 years.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

Asia Pacific holds highest share in 2020.

Westrock Inc., International Paper Company, Mondi Group, Smurfit Kappa Group, DS Smith PLC are the major companies operating in Paper Packaging Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!