Marché du riz en Amérique du Nord – Croissance, tendances, impact du COVID-19 et prévisions (2023-2028)

Le marché nord-américain du riz est analysé par production, consommation, commerce (importation et exportation), prix et géographie (États-Unis, Canada et Mexique).

Aperçu du marché

 North America Rice Market
Study Period: 2016 - 2026
CAGR: 2.4 %
setting-icon

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Aperçu du marché

Le marché nord-américain du riz devrait connaître un TCAC de 2,4 % au cours de la période de prévision (2020-2025). Au cours des dernières années, le marché du riz a connu une croissance considérable en raison de la demande croissante de riz américain dans les pays émergents et en développement du monde entier, l'Amérique du Nord étant un producteur de riz orienté vers l'exportation, mais avec des valeurs de consommation intérieure considérablement inférieures. Outre le soutien du gouvernement, quelques-uns des principaux facteurs responsables de la prospérité du marché comprennent l'accès à de bons intrants, de bons systèmes de gestion des cultures et une technologie de pointe. Ceux-ci contribuent à un riz de haute qualité à la récolte et à la capacité de maintenir cette qualité tout au long de la chaîne de mouture et de distribution. En même temps, 

Les États-Unis sont le principal marché du riz en Amérique du Nord, suivis du Mexique et du Canada. Arkansas Grand Prairie, le delta du Mississippi, la côte du golfe et la vallée de Sacramento en Californie sont les principales régions productrices de riz aux États-Unis. Selon la FAO, la production de riz aux États-Unis était de 10,1 millions de tonnes métriques en 2018. Le Mexique est le deuxième marché de riz de la région, avec 283,8 milliers de tonnes métriques de production de riz en 2018. 

Scope of the report

Rice is a primary staple crop for more than half the world's population, with Asia, Sub-Saharan Africa, and South American regions being the largest consumers. The North American rice market report offers key insights into the latest market developments. It analyzes the recent trends, drivers, and challenges affecting the rice market across the North American region. The North American rice market is analyzed by production, consumption, trade (import and export), price, and geography (United States, Canada, Mexico, and the Rest of North America).

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Principales tendances du marché

Soutien du gouvernement et d'autres associations

Le soutien croissant des organisations gouvernementales et non gouvernementales qui travaillent pour l'amélioration du marché du riz est le deuxième facteur clé responsable de la prospérité du marché global dans la région. De nombreux gouvernements américains ont offert un soutien aux producteurs par le biais d'achats importants, de droits de douane sur le riz importé, d'incitations à l'exportation et de subventions directes des contribuables basées sur la production, les prix et la superficie historique. Ces programmes font du riz l'un des produits les plus fortement soutenus dans les pays, comme les États-Unis, avec des ramifications pour les contribuables américains, les consommateurs et les producteurs de riz à l'étranger.

Les Américains paient trois fois le programme du riz – en tant que contribuables, en tant que consommateurs et en tant que travailleurs. Les subventions directes des contribuables dans le secteur du riz étaient en moyenne de 1 milliard USD par an de 1998 à 700 millions USD par an jusqu'en 2015. De même, la Saskatchewan Crop Insurance Corporation (SCIC) soutient un programme d'assurance-récolte de riz sauvage depuis 2006. La couverture est basée sur le production moyenne pour les trois régions productrices de riz sauvage (Est, Centre et Ouest). Les réclamations sont déclenchées lorsque la région déclare une production annuelle inférieure à la production historique moyenne, en raison d'une cause de perte assurable, c'est-à-dire le gel, le vent, les pluies excessives, la foudre, l'ouragan, la tornade, les insectes, les maladies des plantes ou la grêle.

North America Rice Market Trends

Les États-Unis dominent le marché

Les États-Unis sont le principal producteur de riz en Amérique du Nord. Arkansas Grand Prairie, le delta du Mississippi, la côte du golfe et la vallée de Sacramento en Californie sont les principales régions productrices de riz aux États-Unis. Selon la FAO, la production de riz aux États-Unis était de 10 167,0 milliers de tonnes métriques en 2016, et est passée à 10 170,0 milliers de tonnes métriques en 2018. Le grain long, le grain moyen et le grain court sont les trois principaux types de variétés de riz produites dans le pays. 

L'augmentation de la production a ouvert la voie à une augmentation des exportations de riz. Selon UN Comtrade, les exportations de riz décortiqué par les États-Unis étaient de 206,3 milliers de tonnes métriques en 2016, qui sont passées à 216,8 milliers de tonnes métriques en 2019. La Corée, Taïwan, le Canada et le Mexique sont les principaux importateurs de riz des États-Unis en 2019, représentant respectivement 57,4 %, 15,0 %, 13,4 % et 4,6 % en termes de volume. Les activités promotionnelles au Mexique et divers accords internationaux entre les États-Unis et d'autres pays, dont la Corée, Taïwan et le Nicaragua, ont été les principales raisons de l'augmentation des exportations de riz en 2019. Par exemple, en 2019, les activités promotionnelles et commerciales les visites au Mexique ont stimulé les importations de riz des États-Unis de 15 %.

North America Rice Market Forecast

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Hypothèses de l'étude et définition du marché

      1. 1.2 Portée de l'étude

      2. 2. MÉTHODOLOGIE DE RECHERCHE

        1. 3. RÉSUMÉ

          1. 4. DYNAMIQUE DU MARCHÉ

            1. 4.1 Aperçu du marché

              1. 4.2 Facteurs de marché

                1. 4.3 Contraintes du marché

                  1. 4.4 Analyse de la chaîne de valeur / de la chaîne d'approvisionnement

                  2. 5. SEGMENTATION DU MARCHÉ

                    1. 5.1 Géographie

                      1. 5.1.1 Amérique du Nord

                        1. 5.1.1.1 États-Unis

                          1. 5.1.1.1.1 Analyse de production

                            1. 5.1.1.1.2 Analyse de la consommation et valeur marchande

                              1. 5.1.1.1.3 Analyse des importations par volume et valeur

                                1. 5.1.1.1.4 Analyse des exportations par volume et valeur

                                  1. 5.1.1.1.5 Analyse de la tendance des prix

                                  2. 5.1.1.2 Canada

                                    1. 5.1.1.2.1 Analyse de production

                                      1. 5.1.1.2.2 Analyse de la consommation et valeur marchande

                                        1. 5.1.1.2.3 Analyse des importations par volume et valeur

                                          1. 5.1.1.2.4 Analyse des exportations par volume et valeur

                                            1. 5.1.1.2.5 Analyse de la tendance des prix

                                            2. 5.1.1.3 Mexique

                                              1. 5.1.1.3.1 Analyse de production

                                                1. 5.1.1.3.2 Analyse de la consommation et valeur marchande

                                                  1. 5.1.1.3.3 Analyse des importations par volume et valeur

                                                    1. 5.1.1.3.4 Analyse des exportations par volume et valeur

                                                      1. 5.1.1.3.5 Analyse de la tendance des prix

                                                2. 6. OPPORTUNITÉS DE MARCHÉ ET TENDANCES FUTURES

                                                  You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

                                                  Frequently Asked Questions

                                                  Le marché du riz en Amérique du Nord est étudié de 2018 à 2028.

                                                  Le marché du riz en Amérique du Nord connaît une croissance à un TCAC de 2,4 % au cours des 5 prochaines années.

                                                  close-icon
                                                  80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

                                                  Please enter a valid email id!

                                                  Please enter a valid message!

North America Rice Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2021 - 2026)

The North American rice market is analyzed by Production, Consumption, Trade (Import and Export), Price, and Geography (United States, Canada, and Mexico).

Market Snapshot

rice cultivation in america
Study Period: 2016 - 2026
Base Year: 2020
CAGR: 2.4 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The North American rice market is projected to witness a CAGR of 2.4% during the forecast period (2020-2025). Over the recent years, the rice market has witnessed considerable growth on the back of the increasing demand for American rice in emerging and developing nations across the world, as North America is an export-oriented rice producer, but with considerably lower domestic consumption values. In addition to the support from the government, a few of the major factors responsible for the prosperity of the market include access to good inputs, good crop management systems, and advanced technology. These contribute to high-quality rice at harvest and the ability to maintain that quality throughout the milling and distribution chain. At the same time, highly efficient transportation and logistics contribute to the growth of the market in North America. 

The United States is the major market for rice in North America, followed by Mexico and Canada. Arkansas Grand Prairie, Mississippi Delta, Gulf Coast, and Sacramento Valley of California are the major rice-producing areas in the United States. According to FAO, rice production in the United States was 10.1 million metric ton in 2018. Mexico is the second-largest rice market in the region, with 283.8 thousand metric ton of rice production in 2018. 

Scope of the report

Rice is a primary staple crop for more than half the world's population, with Asia, Sub-Saharan Africa, and South American regions being the largest consumers. The North American rice market report offers key insights into the latest market developments. It analyzes the recent trends, drivers, and challenges affecting the rice market across the North American region. The North American rice market is analyzed by production, consumption, trade (import and export), price, and geography (United States, Canada, Mexico, and the Rest of North America).

Geography
North America
United States
Production Analysis
Consumption Analysis and Market Value
Import Analysis by Volume and Value
Export Analysis by Volume and Value
Price Trend Analysis
Canada
Production Analysis
Consumption Analysis and Market Value
Import Analysis by Volume and Value
Export Analysis by Volume and Value
Price Trend Analysis
Mexico
Production Analysis
Consumption Analysis and Market Value
Import Analysis by Volume and Value
Export Analysis by Volume and Value
Price Trend Analysis

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Support from Government and Other Associations

The increasing support from governmental and non-governmental organizations that are working for the betterment of the rice market is the second key factor responsible for the prosperity of the overall market in the region. Many US governments have offered support to producers through large procurement purchases, tariffs on imported rice, export incentives, and direct taxpayer subsidies based on production, prices, and historical acreage. These programs make rice one of the most heavily supported commodities in the countries, such as the United States, with ramifications for the US taxpayers and consumers and rice producers abroad.

Americans pay for the rice program three times over – as taxpayers, as consumers, and as workers. Direct taxpayer subsidies in the rice sector averaged from USD 1 billion a year from 1998 to USD 700 million annually through 2015. Similarly, Saskatchewan Crop Insurance Corporation (SCIC) has supported a wild rice crop insurance program since 2006. The coverage is based on the average production for the three wild rice-producing regions (Eastern, Central, and Western). Claims are triggered when the region reports annual production less than the average historical production, due to an insurable cause of loss, i.e., frost, wind, excessive rain, lightning, hurricane, tornado, insects, plant diseases, or hail.

rice production in US

The United States Dominates the Market

The United States is the major producer of rice in North America. Arkansas Grand Prairie, Mississippi Delta, Gulf Coast and Sacramento Valley of California are the major rice-producing areas in the United States. According to FAO, rice production in the United States was 10,167.0 thousand metric ton in 2016, which has increased to 10,170.0 thousand metric ton in 2018. Long grain, medium grain, and short-grain are the three major types of rice varieties produced in the country. 

Increased production has paved way for higher export of rice. According to UN Comtrade, exports of husked rice by the United States were 206.3 thousand metric ton in 2016, which increased to 216.8 thousand metric ton in 2019. Korea, Taiwan, Canada, and Mexico are the major importers of rice from the United States in 2019, accounting for 57.4%, 15.0%, 13.4%, and 4.6%, respectively, in terms of volume. Promotional activities in Mexico and various international agreements between the United States and other countries, including Korea, Taiwan, and Nicaragua, were the major reasons for the boost in the export of rice in 2019. For instance, in 2019, the promotional activities and trade visits to Mexico boosted rice import from the United States by 15%.

North America Rice Market

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions & Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

    4. 4.4 Value Chain / Supply Chain Analysis

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Geography

      1. 5.1.1 North America

        1. 5.1.1.1 United States

          1. 5.1.1.1.1 Production Analysis

          2. 5.1.1.1.2 Consumption Analysis and Market Value

          3. 5.1.1.1.3 Import Analysis by Volume and Value

          4. 5.1.1.1.4 Export Analysis by Volume and Value

          5. 5.1.1.1.5 Price Trend Analysis

        2. 5.1.1.2 Canada

          1. 5.1.1.2.1 Production Analysis

          2. 5.1.1.2.2 Consumption Analysis and Market Value

          3. 5.1.1.2.3 Import Analysis by Volume and Value

          4. 5.1.1.2.4 Export Analysis by Volume and Value

          5. 5.1.1.2.5 Price Trend Analysis

        3. 5.1.1.3 Mexico

          1. 5.1.1.3.1 Production Analysis

          2. 5.1.1.3.2 Consumption Analysis and Market Value

          3. 5.1.1.3.3 Import Analysis by Volume and Value

          4. 5.1.1.3.4 Export Analysis by Volume and Value

          5. 5.1.1.3.5 Price Trend Analysis

  6. 6. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The North America Rice Market market is studied from 2016 - 2026.

The North America Rice Market is growing at a CAGR of 2.4% over the next 5 years.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!