北美轻型汽车市场 - 增长、趋势、COVID-19 影响和预测(2022 - 2027 年)

北美轻型汽车市场按材料类型(金属、复合材料、塑料)、制造工艺(挤压、冲压、锻造、铸造和其他(成型和成型))、应用(结构、动力总成、内部、外部),并按国家/地区。

市场快照

North American Lightweight Car Market_Overview
Study Period: 2018-2027
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 10.27 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

市场概况

预计北美轻型汽车市场在预测期内(2020 年至 2025 年)的复合年增长率约为 10.27%。

目前,轻型汽车市场主要由推动燃油效率的监管机构推动。北美的轻型汽车市场变得越来越严格,以满足美国 CAFE 要求的严格燃​​油经济性标准,加拿大和墨西哥也正在采用这些标准。

这个市场上轻量化汽车的理想材料包括铝、高强度钢和镁。在豪华车领域,碳纤维汽车,如宝马使用的汽车,不再昂贵,并且越来越多地用于大众市场汽车生产。北美经济体正致力于通过集中研究来降低材料成本,以推动轻型汽车市场的增长。

随着电动汽车的出现,以及柴油车生产汽油和柴油发动机的禁令越来越多,化石燃料汽车行业的增长可能面临负增长。然而,由于其在替代燃料汽车市场中的应用,轻量化汽车材料仍将是一个驱动因素。

Scope of the report

The North America lightweight cars market report covers the current and upcoming trends with recent technological developments in various market areas by materials, manufacturing process, and application type. The country-level analysis and market share of significant lightweight car manufacturing companies across North America will be provided.

Material Type
Metals
Composites
Plastics
Manufacturing Process
Extrusion
Stamping
Forging
Casting
Others
Application
Powertrain
Exterior
Interior
Structural

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

主要市场趋势

汽车 AHSS 技术的不断发展

全球对减轻重量以提高车辆性能和安全性的需求正在增长,北美是 AHSS 市场最大的市场之一。因此,先进高强度钢 (AHSS) 是减少大众汽车的重要材料,已成为当今汽车行业发展最快的材料之一。

钢材约占汽车平均重量的 70%。与标准钢材相比,先进高强钢可使普通乘用车减重 23-35%,约为 165-250 公斤,在车辆的整个生命周期内减少 3-4.5 吨温室气体排放。这种减排比在汽车所需钢材的完整生产过程中排放的二氧化碳要大得多。

车身结构、面板、车门和行李箱盖的钢成分占 34%,使其在发生碰撞时具有能量吸收和高强度。23%是用于耐磨齿轮的发动机和可加工碳钢。12% 用于悬架,使用轧制高强度钢,其余用于车轮、轮胎、油箱、转向和制动系统。

为了产生更高的强度以减小钢截面尺寸和重量,汽车制造商使用更少的材料,从而显着降低了车辆的重量。钢铁行业正专注于开发用于加工组合的不同合金、具有高抗拉强度和延展性的钢,以及优化化学成分以实现 AHSS 的多相微观结构。

其他进步包括对具有高强度的汽车钢的扩展能力,这使得设计更薄的零件能够优化刚度但保持几何形状。Nano Steel 等 AHSS 有助于提供更薄的钢材和组件,以便在室温下进行制造。

2018 年,阿斯顿马丁与陶氏的技术合作伙伴关系推动了 AHSS 的发展,并在轻量化、动力总成效率和车辆电气化方面实施了行业领先的定制解决方案。

North American Lightweight Car Market_Key Market Trend1

美国仍然是最大的市场

在美国,企业平均燃油经济性 (CAFE) 实施了到 2025 年提高汽车类别燃油效率的法律。1975 年实施的企业平均燃油经济性 (CAFE) 法规定,汽车的燃油经济性必须从目前的自 1990 年以来的 27.5 mpg,到 2018 年达到 37.8 mpg。2019 年汽车和卡车的平均油耗应为 34.1 mpg,比目前的 25.3 mpg 增长 35%。每加仑英里数 (MPG) 法规的增长率不断提高,所有汽车细分市场每年都在增长 5%。

制造商正在努力减轻车辆的整体重量,从而降低操作车辆所需的能量并提高燃油经济性。白车身系统是汽车制造商寻求节省燃料的关键焦点,因为它具有减轻重量的潜力、对碰撞安全的重要性以及对其他子系统(例如动力总成)的复合减重的影响。

此外,材料通常不会被回收并送往垃圾填埋场。环境保护署 (EPA) 提出了生命周期评估 (LCA) 研究,以检测车辆整个生命周期中的较高排放。LCA 着眼于资源、能源、排放、提取阶段、报废阶段以及处置和回收。因此,由于限制车辆温室气体排放的法规,轻量化汽车技术及其可回收过程变得越来越重要。

然而,即使在美国,由于碳纤维和 AHSS 等材料的高成本以及对材料组合的持续研究,该行业的增长还没有充分发挥其潜力。

North American Lightweight Car Market_Key Market Trend2

竞争格局

北美轻型汽车市场与联合钢铁公司、AG、SSAB AB、POSCO、ArcelorMittal SA 和 AK Steel Holding Corporation 等现有参与者适度整合。随着该地区对轻型汽车的需求不断增长,汽车制造商正试图通过建立合资企业、合作伙伴关系和推出采用先进技术的新产品来超越竞争对手。

例如,现代圣达菲和 2019 年的讴歌 RDX 都过度依赖钢框架,其成分为 67% 和 50% 的高强度钢。此外,2019 Jeep Cherokee、2019 Mercedes-Benz G-Class 和 2019 Subaru Forester 等车辆使用 AHSS 来改进碰撞安全法规。

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Drivers

    2. 4.2 Market Restraints

    3. 4.3 Porters Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.3.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.3.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Material Type

      1. 5.1.1 Metals

      2. 5.1.2 Composites

      3. 5.1.3 Plastics

    2. 5.2 Manufacturing Process

      1. 5.2.1 Extrusion

      2. 5.2.2 Stamping

      3. 5.2.3 Forging

      4. 5.2.4 Casting

      5. 5.2.5 Others

    3. 5.3 Application

      1. 5.3.1 Powertrain

      2. 5.3.2 Exterior

      3. 5.3.3 Interior

      4. 5.3.4 Structural

  6. 6. Geography

    1. 6.1 North America

      1. 6.1.1 United States

      2. 6.1.2 Canada

      3. 6.1.3 Rest Of North America

  7. 7. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 7.1 Vendor Market Share

    2. 7.2 Company Profiles

      1. 7.2.1 United States Steel Corp.

      2. 7.2.2 Ssab Steel

      3. 7.2.3 Arcelor Mittal Steel

      4. 7.2.4 Posco

      5. 7.2.5 AK Steel Holdings Corp.

      6. 7.2.6 Toyota Motors

      7. 7.2.7 General Motors

      8. 7.2.8 Volkswagen AG

      9. 7.2.9 Hyundai Motors

  8. 8. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The North American Lightweight Car Market market is studied from 2018 - 2027.

The North American Lightweight Car Market is growing at a CAGR of 10.27% over the next 5 years.

United States Steel Corporation, SSAB , Posco, Arcelor Mittal Steel, AK Steel Holding Corporation are the major companies operating in North American Lightweight Car Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

North American Lightweight Car Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2021 - 2026)

The North American Lightweight Car Market is Segmented by Material types (Metals, Composites, Plastics), by Manufacturing Process (Extrusion, Stamping, Forging, Casting, and Others (Molding and Forming)), by Application (Structural, Powertrain, Interior, Exterior), and by Country.

Market Snapshot

North American Lightweight Car Market_Overview
Study Period: 2018 - 2026
Base Year: 2019
CAGR: 10.27 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The North American lightweight car market is expected to register a CAGR of about 10.27% during the forecast period (2020 – 2025).

Currently, the market for lightweight vehicles is primarily driven by regulatory authorities pushing for fuel-efficiency. The lightweight vehicle's market in North America is becoming stringent to serve the strict fuel economy standards of the US CAFE requirements, which are also being adopted by Canada and Mexico.

The ideal materials for lightweight cars in this market include aluminum, high strength steel, and magnesium. In the luxury segment, carbon fiber cars, like those used in BMW, are no longer expensive and are increasingly being used in mass-market car production. North American economies are focusing on reducing the cost of materials through concentrated research to drive the lightweight car market's growth.

With the emergence of electric vehicles and an increasing ban on diesel vehicles' production of gasoline and diesel engines, the fossil fuel-run automotive industry's growth may face negative growth. However, lightweight car materials will remain a driving factor due to its application in an alternative fuel vehicle market.

Scope of the report

The North America lightweight cars market report covers the current and upcoming trends with recent technological developments in various market areas by materials, manufacturing process, and application type. The country-level analysis and market share of significant lightweight car manufacturing companies across North America will be provided.

Material Type
Metals
Composites
Plastics
Manufacturing Process
Extrusion
Stamping
Forging
Casting
Others
Application
Powertrain
Exterior
Interior
Structural

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Continuous Evolution in automotive AHSS technology

The demand for reducing the weight to enhance vehicle performance and safety is growing globally, and North America is one the largest for AHSS Market. As a result, Advanced High Strength Steel (AHSS), an essential material for mass vehicle reduction, has become one of the fastest-growing material in today's automotive industry.

Steel makes up around 70 % of an average automobile's weight. Compared to standard steel, AHSS enable to reduce vehicle weight by 23-35% which is around 165 to 250 kg, for a regular passenger car, saving 3 - 4.5 tons of greenhouse gases over the vehicle's total life cycle. This saving in emissions is much more substantial than the CO2 emitted during the complete production of steel needed in a car.

The steel composition involves 34% as the body structure, panels, doors, and trunk closures, giving it an energy absorption and high-strength in case of a crash. 23% is the engine and machinable carbon steel for the wear-resistant gears. 12% is used in the suspension, using rolled high-strength steel and the remainder in the wheels, tires, fuel tank, steering, and braking systems.

To produce higher strength for reduced steel section size and weight, automakers use less material, significantly reducing a vehicle's weight. The steel industry is focusing on developing different alloys for processing combinations, steel with high tensile strength and ductility, along with optimizes chemical compositions to achieve multiphase microstructures of AHSS.

Other advancements include the expanded capabilities to automotive steels that have high strength, which enable the design of thinner parts optimizing stiffness but maintaining geometries. AHSS such as Nano Steel helps deliver thinner gauges of steel and components to manufacture at room temperature.

In 2018, the technical partnership between Aston Martin and Dow had enabled the development towards AHSS and implementation of customized industry-leading solutions in light-weighting, powertrain efficiency, and vehicle electrification.

North American Lightweight Car Market_Key Market Trend1

United State Remains the Largest Market

In the United States, the Corporate Average Fuel Economy (CAFE) implemented laws to improve fuel efficiency for automobiles categories by 2025. The Corporate Average Fuel Economy (CAFE) law, installed in 1975, dictates that cars' fuel economy must improve from the current 27.5 mpg, where it has been since 1990, to 37.8 mpg by 2018. Combined, cars and trucks in 2019 should average 34.1 mpg, up 35 percent from the current 25.3 mpg. There is an increasing growth rate for miles per gallon (MPG) regulation, which is growing at 5% every year for all segments of automobiles.

Manufacturers are working to reduce overall vehicle weight, which lowers the energy required to operate the vehicle and increasing fuel economy. The Body-In-White system is the critical focal point for automakers looking for fuel savings because of its weight reduction potential, importance to crash safety, and impact on compounded weight reduction for other sub-systems, such as the powertrain.

Also, materials are often not recycled and sent to landfills. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) proposed life cycle assessment (LCA) studies to detect higher emissions over the vehicle's entire life cycle. LCA looks at resources, energy, emissions, extraction phase, end-of-life phase, and disposal, and recycling. As a result, there is growing importance being given to lightweight car technology and its recyclability process due to regulations to limit GHG emissions from vehicles.

However, even in the United States, the high cost of materials like carbon fiber and AHSS, and the ongoing research on the material mix, the growth of this industry hasn't reached its full potential.

North American Lightweight Car Market_Key Market Trend2

Competitive Landscape

The North American lightweight car market is moderately consolidated with existing players such as United Steel Corporation, AG, SSAB AB, POSCO, ArcelorMittal SA, and AK Steel Holding Corporation, Ltd. As the demand for the lightweight car is growing in the region, the automotive manufacturers are trying to edge over its competitors by making joint-ventures, partnerships, and launching new products with advanced technology.

For instance, Hyundai Santa Fe and the 2019 Acura RDX both relied on excessively on the steel framework., with a composition of 67% and 50% high-strength steel. Also, vehicles like 2019 Jeep Cherokee, the 2019 Mercedes-Benz G-Class, and the 2019 Subaru Forester use AHSS for improved crash safety regulations.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Drivers

    2. 4.2 Market Restraints

    3. 4.3 Porters Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.3.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.3.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Material Type

      1. 5.1.1 Metals

      2. 5.1.2 Composites

      3. 5.1.3 Plastics

    2. 5.2 Manufacturing Process

      1. 5.2.1 Extrusion

      2. 5.2.2 Stamping

      3. 5.2.3 Forging

      4. 5.2.4 Casting

      5. 5.2.5 Others

    3. 5.3 Application

      1. 5.3.1 Powertrain

      2. 5.3.2 Exterior

      3. 5.3.3 Interior

      4. 5.3.4 Structural

  6. 6. Geography

    1. 6.1 North America

      1. 6.1.1 United States

      2. 6.1.2 Canada

      3. 6.1.3 Rest Of North America

  7. 7. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 7.1 Vendor Market Share

    2. 7.2 Company Profiles

      1. 7.2.1 United States Steel Corp.

      2. 7.2.2 Ssab Steel

      3. 7.2.3 Arcelor Mittal Steel

      4. 7.2.4 Posco

      5. 7.2.5 AK Steel Holdings Corp.

      6. 7.2.6 Toyota Motors

      7. 7.2.7 General Motors

      8. 7.2.8 Volkswagen AG

      9. 7.2.9 Hyundai Motors

  8. 8. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The North American Lightweight Car Market market is studied from 2018 - 2026.

The North American Lightweight Car Market is growing at a CAGR of 10.27% over the next 5 years.

United States Steel Corporation, SSAB , Posco, Arcelor Mittal Steel, AK Steel Holding Corporation are the major companies operating in North American Lightweight Car Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!