Рынок семян чиа в Северной Америке — рост, тенденции, влияние COVID-19 и прогнозы (2022–2027 гг.)

Подробный анализ рынка семян чиа представлен с указанием производства, потребления, импорта и экспорта в регионе. Рынок далее сегментирован по географии на США, Канаду и Мексику. В отчете представлены размер рынка и прогнозы рынка Семена чиа в Северной Америке по объему (метрические тонны) и стоимости (млн долларов США) для всех вышеперечисленных сегментов.

Обзор рынка

Market Snapshot
Study Period: 2017-2027
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 8.4 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Обзор рынка

Прогнозируется, что в течение прогнозируемого периода 2022–2027 годов рынок семян чиа в Северной Америке будет расти на 8,4% в год.

COVID-19 серьезно влияет на производство, сертификацию, распространение и стоимость семян, а также ограничения на перемещение и транспортировку семян, введенные правительством для защиты своего населения от вируса. Это представляет проблему для всех стран, но, вероятно, окажет большее влияние на развивающиеся страны, которые могут особенно сильно пострадать от экономического спада и в относительно большей степени зависят от сельского хозяйства. В зависимости от того, как долго будут продолжаться пандемия и связанные с ней карантинные меры, семенной сектор и связанные с ним цепочки поставок могут ощутить влияние COVID-19 на долгое время в будущем.

В Северной Америке Мексика является крупнейшим производителем семян чиа: в 2018 году было произведено 2893,4 метрических тонны, что составляет около 99% производства в регионе. Семена чиа не следуют тенденции коммодитизации, поскольку рынок все еще мал, предложение нестабильно, а в крупных отраслях недостаточно осведомлены о высоких стандартах качества. Однако, поскольку все больше потребителей теперь знают о семенах чиа и их преимуществах, рынок, вероятно, станет свидетелем огромного роста в Северной Америке. Органические и не содержащие ГМО варианты являются новой тенденцией для семян чиа. Что касается запуска продуктов, семена чиа используются в качестве функционального ингредиента в различных хлебобулочных изделиях, батончиках мюсли, арахисовом масле, хлопьях и других пищевых продуктах. Основным препятствием для канадского рынка семян чиа является их высокая цена, из-за которой,

Объем отчета

Семена чиа получают из пустынного растения Salvia Hispanica , принадлежащего к семейству мятных. Семена шалфея испанского часто продаются под общим названием «чиа». Отчет определяет семена чиа как товар с точки зрения конечных пользователей. Чтобы устранить любую ошибку «двойного учета» в рыночных оценках, оптовые покупатели, которые приобретают продукты из семян чиа для розничной продажи, после добавления стоимости в результате дальнейшей обработки, не считаются частью отчета о рынке семян чиа. В отчете представлены размер рынка и прогнозы рынка Семена чиа в Северной Америке по объему (метрические тонны) и стоимости (млн долларов США) для всех вышеперечисленных сегментов.

Geography
United States
Canada
Mexico

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Ключевые тенденции рынка

Высокий импорт семян чиа

Северная Америка производит семена чиа в минимальном количестве. Регион в основном импортирует семена чиа из разных стран, таких как Китай, Парагвай, Мексика и Аргентина. Семена чиа легко доступны в продуктовых магазинах, потому что они пользуются большим спросом в регионе. В 2020 году Соединенные Штаты импортировали семена чиа из остального мира на сумму около 168,9 млн долларов США, а Германия была вторым крупным импортером семян чиа с объемом продаж 112,2 млн долларов США в 2020 году. Они содержат большое количество кальция, магния и калия. считается, что они повышают энергию, стабилизируют уровень сахара в крови и помогают пищеварению. Эти преимущества приводят к высокому импорту семян в регионе. Это ясно показывает увеличение спроса на продукты на основе чиа в стране, который удовлетворяется за счет увеличения импорта в исследуемый период.

North America Chia Seeds Market, Share of Major Exporters in %, by Country, United States, 2018

США — крупнейший потребитель семян чиа в регионе

Соединенные Штаты производят минимальное количество чиа в средней/юго-западной и восточной частях страны. По данным заинтересованных сторон отрасли, рынок семян чиа в США в 2018 году оценивался в 5 340,6 тысяч долларов США, большая часть продаж приходится на чистые семена. В 2010 году только 27% потребителей в США сообщили, что слышали о чиа как о продукте питания. Однако к 2014 году этот фрагмент вырос до более чем 37%. Содержание белка в семенах чиа больше, чем во всех других зерновых культурах, поскольку оно в основном зависит от экологических и агрономических факторов. Министерство сельского хозяйства США подтвердило, что семена чиа содержат больше экзогенных и эндогенных аминокислот.  

Семена чиа маркируются как «суперпродукты» в Соединенных Штатах, и поэтому большинство продавцов указывают на упаковках витамины, минералы и антиоксиданты, чтобы привлечь покупателей. Из-за высокого содержания белка, омега-3 жирных кислот и клетчатки в последние несколько лет увеличилось потребление семян чиа. Таким образом, в Соединенных Штатах семена все больше интегрируются в тенденции сектора здравоохранения и продуктов питания, такие как закуски, энергетические напитки или в сочетании с хлопьями, что подпитывает рынок семян чиа в стране.

North America Chia Seeds Market, Consumption Share in %, by Country, 2019

Recent Development

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

    4. 4.4 Value Chain/Supply Chain Analysis

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Geography

      1. 5.1.1 United States

      2. 5.1.2 Canada

      3. 5.1.3 Mexico

  6. 6. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

  7. 7. IMPACT OF COVID-19 ON THE MARKET

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The North America Chia Seeds Market market is studied from 2017 - 2027.

The North America Chia Seeds Market is growing at a CAGR of 8.4% over the next 5 years.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

North America Chia Seeds Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2022 - 2027)

A detailed analysis of the North America Chia Seeds Market provides production, consumption, imports, and exports analysis. The market is further segmented by geography into the United States, Canada, and Mexico. The report offers market size and forecasts for the North America Chia Seeds Market in volume (metric tons) and value (USD million) for all above the segments.

Market Snapshot

North America Chia Seed Market size
Study Period: 2017-2027
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 8.4 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The North American chia seeds market is projected to register a CAGR of 8.4% during the forecast period 2022-2027.

COVID-19 seriously affected the production, certification, distribution, and cost of seeds by restricting the transportation of the seeds to curb the spread of the virus. This presents a problem for all countries but is likely to have a greater impact in developing countries, which may be particularly hard hit by the economic downturn and relatively more reliant on agriculture. Depending on how long the pandemic and associated confinement measures continue, the seed sector and its associated supply chains could feel the impact of COVID-19 long into the future.

In North America, Mexico was the largest producer of chia seeds, with 2,893.4 metric tons produced in 2018, and it accounted for around 99% of production in the region. Chia seeds do not follow the commoditization trend, as the market is still small, where supply is unstable, and there is a lack of awareness of the high-quality standards demanded by large industries. However, as more consumers are now aware of chia seeds and their benefits, the market is likely to witness tremendous growth in North America. Organic and non-GMO variants are the emerging trend for chia seeds. In terms of product launches, chia seeds are used as a functional ingredient in various bakery products, muesli bars, peanut butter, cereals, and other food products. The main hurdle to the Canadian chia seeds market is their high price, due to which chia seeds can easily be replaced by alternative seeds with similar health benefits, like flax seeds, in the country.

Scope of the Report

Chia seeds are derived from the desert plant Salvia Hispanica, which is a member of the mint family. Salvia Hispanica seed is often sold under its common name chia. The report defines chia seed as a commodity in terms of end users. To eliminate any double-count error in the market estimations, bulk buyers that procure chia seed products for retail sale, after value-addition, through further processing, are not considered a part of the chia seeds market report. The report offers size and forecasts for the North American Chia Seeds Market in volume (metric tons) and value (USD million) for all above the segments.

Geography
United States
Canada
Mexico

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

High Imports of Chia Seeds

North America produces chia seeds in a minimal amount. The region mainly imports chia seeds from various countries, such as China, Paraguay, Mexico, and Argentina. Chia seeds are readily available in grocery stores because they have a high demand in the region. In 2020, the United States imported around USD 168.9 million worth of chia seeds from the rest of the world, and Germany was the second major importer of chia seeds with USD 112.2 million in 2020. They contain a good amount of calcium, magnesium, and potassium, and they are believed to boost energy, stabilize blood sugar, and help with digestion. These benefits lead to the high imports of the seeds in the region. This clearly displays the increase in demand for chia-based products in the country, which are met by the escalating imports in the study period.

North America Chia Seed Market trends

United States- The Largest Consumer of Chia Seeds in the Region

The United States produces minimal quantities of chia in the mid/southwestern and eastern parts of the country. Based on the inputs from industry stakeholders, the US chia seeds market was estimated at USD 5,340.6 thousand in 2018; most of the sales were in the pure seed form. In 2010, only 27% of US consumers reported that they had heard of chia as a food item. However, by 2014, this fragment grew to over 37%. The protein content of the chia seeds is greater than in all other cereals crops because it mainly depends on environmental and agronomical factors. The US Department of Agriculture has confirmed that chia seeds contain some more exogenous amino acids and endogenous amino acids.

Chia seeds are labeled as superfoods in the United States, and thus, most merchants cite vitamin, mineral, and antioxidant contents on the packages to attract customers. Due to the presence of high protein, omega-3 fatty acid, and fiber content, in the past few years, there has been an increase in the consumption of chia seeds. As such, in the United States, the seeds are being increasingly integrated into the trends of health and food sectors, such as snacks, energy drinks, or aggregate with cereal, which is fueling the market for chia seeds in the country.

North America Chia Seed Market growth rate

Recent Development

In 2021, a Purdue University team developed and patented the method to separate mucilage from chia seeds, yielding a protein-rich chia seed flour with improved bioactivity and functionality compared with conventional methods. This work was supported by the USDA National Institute of Food and Agriculture. Mucilage is a thick and gluey substance that surrounds chia seeds and can make processing the seeds for food or pharmaceutical uses.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

    4. 4.4 Value Chain/Supply Chain Analysis

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Geography

      1. 5.1.1 United States

      2. 5.1.2 Canada

      3. 5.1.3 Mexico

  6. 6. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

  7. 7. IMPACT OF COVID-19 ON THE MARKET

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The North America Chia Seeds Market market is studied from 2017 - 2027.

The North America Chia Seeds Market is growing at a CAGR of 8.4% over the next 5 years.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!