北美奇亚籽市场 - 增长、趋势、COVID-19 影响和预测(2022 - 2027 年)

通过提供该地区的生产、消费、进口和出口来提供对奇亚籽市场的详细分析。该市场按地理位置进一步细分为美国、加拿大和墨西哥。该报告提供了北美奇亚籽市场的市场规模和预测,包括上述所有细分市场的数量(公吨)和价值(百万美元)。

市场快照

Market Snapshot
Study Period: 2017-2027
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 8.4 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

市场概况

北美奇亚籽市场预计在 2022-2027 年的预测期内复合年增长率为 8.4%。

COVID-19 严重影响种子的生产、认证、分发和成本,并限制政府为保护人民免受病毒感染而生产的种子的移动和运输。这对所有国家都是一个问题,但可能对发展中国家产生更大的影响,这些国家可能受到经济下滑的严重打击,并且相对更加依赖农业。根据大流行和相关限制措施持续多长时间,种子行业及其相关供应链可能会在很长一段时间内感受到 COVID-19 的影响。

在北美,墨西哥是最大的奇亚籽生产国,2018 年产量为 2,893.4 公吨,约占该地区产量的 99%。奇亚籽并没有跟上商品化的趋势,因为市场仍然很小,供应不稳定,对大行业要求的高质量标准缺乏认识。然而,随着越来越多的消费者现在意识到奇亚籽及其好处,北美市场可能会出现巨大的增长。有机和非转基因变种是奇亚籽的新兴趋势。在产品发布方面,奇亚籽被用作各种烘焙产品、麦片棒、花生酱、谷物和其他食品的功能成分。加拿大奇亚籽市场的主要障碍是价格高昂,因此,

报告范围

奇亚籽来自沙漠植物“西班牙鼠尾草”,它是薄荷科的一员。Salvia Hispanica种子通常以其通用名称“chia”出售。该报告将奇亚籽定义为最终用户的商品。为了消除市场估计中的任何“重复计算”错误,采购奇亚籽产品用于零售的大宗买家,在通过进一步加工增值后,不被视为奇亚籽市场报告的一部分。该报告提供了北美奇亚籽市场的市场规模和预测,包括上述所有细分市场的数量(公吨)和价值(百万美元)。

Geography
United States
Canada
Mexico

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

主要市场趋势

奇亚籽进口量大

北美生产的奇亚籽数量很少。该地区主要从中国、巴拉圭、墨西哥和阿根廷等国家进口奇亚籽。奇亚籽在杂货店很容易买到,因为它们在该地区的需求量很大。2020 年,美国从世界其他地区进口了价值约 1.689 亿美元的奇亚籽,德国是第二大奇亚籽进口国,2020 年为 1.122 亿美元。它们含有大量的钙、镁和钾,它们被认为可以提高能量、稳定血糖并帮助消化。这些好处导致该地区种子的大量进口。这清楚地显示了该国对奇亚籽产品的需求增加,而研究期内进口量的增加满足了这一需求。

North America Chia Seeds Market, Share of Major Exporters in %, by Country, United States, 2018

美国——该地区最大的奇亚籽消费国

美国在该国中部/西南部和东部地区生产的奇亚籽数量很少。根据行业利益相关者的投入,2018 年美国奇亚籽市场估计为 534.06 万美元,大部分销售为纯种子形式。2010 年,只有 27% 的美国消费者报告说他们听说过奇异子作为一种食品。然而,到 2014 年,这个部分增长到了 37% 以上。奇亚籽的蛋白质含量高于所有其他谷物作物,因为它主要取决于环境和农艺因素。美国农业部已经证实,奇亚籽含有更多的外源氨基酸和内源氨基酸。  

奇亚籽在美国被贴上“超级食品”的标签,因此,大多数商家都会在包装上标明维生素、矿物质和抗氧化成分来吸引顾客。由于存在高蛋白质、omega-3 脂肪酸和纤维含量,在过去几年中,奇亚籽的消费量有所增加。因此,在美国,奇亚籽正越来越多地融入健康和食品行业的趋势,例如零食、能量饮料或与谷物混合,这推动了该国的奇亚籽市场。

North America Chia Seeds Market, Consumption Share in %, by Country, 2019

Recent Development

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

    4. 4.4 Value Chain/Supply Chain Analysis

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Geography

      1. 5.1.1 United States

      2. 5.1.2 Canada

      3. 5.1.3 Mexico

  6. 6. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

  7. 7. IMPACT OF COVID-19 ON THE MARKET

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The North America Chia Seeds Market market is studied from 2017 - 2027.

The North America Chia Seeds Market is growing at a CAGR of 8.4% over the next 5 years.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

North America Chia Seeds Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2022 - 2027)

A detailed analysis of the North America Chia Seeds Market provides production, consumption, imports, and exports analysis. The market is further segmented by geography into the United States, Canada, and Mexico. The report offers market size and forecasts for the North America Chia Seeds Market in volume (metric tons) and value (USD million) for all above the segments.

Market Snapshot

North America Chia Seed Market size
Study Period: 2017-2027
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 8.4 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The North American chia seeds market is projected to register a CAGR of 8.4% during the forecast period 2022-2027.

COVID-19 seriously affected the production, certification, distribution, and cost of seeds by restricting the transportation of the seeds to curb the spread of the virus. This presents a problem for all countries but is likely to have a greater impact in developing countries, which may be particularly hard hit by the economic downturn and relatively more reliant on agriculture. Depending on how long the pandemic and associated confinement measures continue, the seed sector and its associated supply chains could feel the impact of COVID-19 long into the future.

In North America, Mexico was the largest producer of chia seeds, with 2,893.4 metric tons produced in 2018, and it accounted for around 99% of production in the region. Chia seeds do not follow the commoditization trend, as the market is still small, where supply is unstable, and there is a lack of awareness of the high-quality standards demanded by large industries. However, as more consumers are now aware of chia seeds and their benefits, the market is likely to witness tremendous growth in North America. Organic and non-GMO variants are the emerging trend for chia seeds. In terms of product launches, chia seeds are used as a functional ingredient in various bakery products, muesli bars, peanut butter, cereals, and other food products. The main hurdle to the Canadian chia seeds market is their high price, due to which chia seeds can easily be replaced by alternative seeds with similar health benefits, like flax seeds, in the country.

Scope of the Report

Chia seeds are derived from the desert plant Salvia Hispanica, which is a member of the mint family. Salvia Hispanica seed is often sold under its common name chia. The report defines chia seed as a commodity in terms of end users. To eliminate any double-count error in the market estimations, bulk buyers that procure chia seed products for retail sale, after value-addition, through further processing, are not considered a part of the chia seeds market report. The report offers size and forecasts for the North American Chia Seeds Market in volume (metric tons) and value (USD million) for all above the segments.

Geography
United States
Canada
Mexico

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

High Imports of Chia Seeds

North America produces chia seeds in a minimal amount. The region mainly imports chia seeds from various countries, such as China, Paraguay, Mexico, and Argentina. Chia seeds are readily available in grocery stores because they have a high demand in the region. In 2020, the United States imported around USD 168.9 million worth of chia seeds from the rest of the world, and Germany was the second major importer of chia seeds with USD 112.2 million in 2020. They contain a good amount of calcium, magnesium, and potassium, and they are believed to boost energy, stabilize blood sugar, and help with digestion. These benefits lead to the high imports of the seeds in the region. This clearly displays the increase in demand for chia-based products in the country, which are met by the escalating imports in the study period.

North America Chia Seed Market trends

United States- The Largest Consumer of Chia Seeds in the Region

The United States produces minimal quantities of chia in the mid/southwestern and eastern parts of the country. Based on the inputs from industry stakeholders, the US chia seeds market was estimated at USD 5,340.6 thousand in 2018; most of the sales were in the pure seed form. In 2010, only 27% of US consumers reported that they had heard of chia as a food item. However, by 2014, this fragment grew to over 37%. The protein content of the chia seeds is greater than in all other cereals crops because it mainly depends on environmental and agronomical factors. The US Department of Agriculture has confirmed that chia seeds contain some more exogenous amino acids and endogenous amino acids.

Chia seeds are labeled as superfoods in the United States, and thus, most merchants cite vitamin, mineral, and antioxidant contents on the packages to attract customers. Due to the presence of high protein, omega-3 fatty acid, and fiber content, in the past few years, there has been an increase in the consumption of chia seeds. As such, in the United States, the seeds are being increasingly integrated into the trends of health and food sectors, such as snacks, energy drinks, or aggregate with cereal, which is fueling the market for chia seeds in the country.

North America Chia Seed Market growth rate

Recent Development

In 2021, a Purdue University team developed and patented the method to separate mucilage from chia seeds, yielding a protein-rich chia seed flour with improved bioactivity and functionality compared with conventional methods. This work was supported by the USDA National Institute of Food and Agriculture. Mucilage is a thick and gluey substance that surrounds chia seeds and can make processing the seeds for food or pharmaceutical uses.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

    4. 4.4 Value Chain/Supply Chain Analysis

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Geography

      1. 5.1.1 United States

      2. 5.1.2 Canada

      3. 5.1.3 Mexico

  6. 6. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

  7. 7. IMPACT OF COVID-19 ON THE MARKET

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The North America Chia Seeds Market market is studied from 2017 - 2027.

The North America Chia Seeds Market is growing at a CAGR of 8.4% over the next 5 years.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!