印度人寿和非人寿保险市场 - 增长、趋势、COVID-19 影响和预测(2022 - 2027 年)

印度的人寿和非人寿保险市场按保险类型(人寿保险和非人寿保险)和分销渠道(直接、经纪人、银行和其他分销渠道)进行细分。

市场快照

Life and Non-life Insurance Market Overview
Study Period: 2016 - 2026
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: <7 %
Life and Non-life Insurance Market Key Players

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

市场概况

在预测期内,印度人寿和非人寿保险市场的复合年增长率估计约为 7%。

在保险业自由化的第一个十年中,保险业的保险深度从 2001 年的 2.71% 持续上升到 2009 年的 5.20%。此后,深度水平有所下降。此外,2015 年(3.44%)、2016 年(3.49%)、2017 年(3.69%)和 2018 年(3.70%)略有增加。保险密度水平从2001年的11.5美元上升到2010年的64.4美元。但保险密度水平略有下降,但在当年逐渐恢复到74美元的位置2018 年,而 2017 年为 73 美元。

寿险深度从 2001 年的 2.15% 上升到 2009 年的 4.60%,此后一直到 2014 年呈现下降趋势。2015 年保险深度略有上升,达到 2.72%,而 2015 年保持不变。 2016 年,2017 年上升到 2.76%,2018 年下降到 2.74%。全国非寿险行业的保险深度从 2001 年的 0.56% 上升到 2018 年的 0.97%(2017 年为 0.93)。它的密度从 2001 年的 2.4 美元上升到 2017 年和 2018 年的 18 美元和 19 美元,分别。

人寿保险业在 2018-2019 年录得 508,132.03 千万印度卢比的保费收入,而上一财年为 458,809.44 千万印度卢比,增长 10.75%(上一年增长 9.64%)。私营保险公司的保费收入增长 21.37%(上一年增长 19.15%),而 LIC(印度人寿保险公司)则增长 6.06%(上一年增长 5.90%)。

一般保险业在 2018-2019 财年在印度承保的直接保费总额为 169,448 千万印度卢比,而 2017-2018 财年为 150,662 千万印度卢比,增长率为 12.47%,高于 17.59% 的增长率。前一年。公共部门保险公司在 2018-2019 年的增长率为 1.28%,高于上年 12.58% 的增长率,而私营综合保险公司的增长率为 24.25%,高于上年 21.59% 的增长率。

2018-2019年,寿险公司新开个人保单2864.8万份,其中,LIC新开保单2140.4万份,私人寿险公司新开保单724.4万份。与上年相比,私营部门发布的新政策数量实现了 5.61% 的增长,而 LIC 实现了 0.31% 的增长。一般保险公司(不包括独立健康保险公司)在 2018-2019 财年签发了 1,​​8327.4 万份保单,而 2017-2018 财年签发了 1,​​7023 万份保单,因此报告在 2018-2019 财年期间增长了 7.7%(超过 10.4%) 2017-2018 财年增加)。

此外,公共部门保险公司的保单数量有所下降。他们报告称,2018-2019 财年发布的保单数量减少了 8.1%(2017-2018 财年减少了 6.4% 以上)。鉴于私营部门保险公司报告的保单数量在 2018-2019 财年增长了 29.7%(2017-2018 财年增长超过 26.1%)。专业保险公司报告称,2018-2019 财年发布的保单数量减少了 33.2%(2017-2018 财年增加了 79.2%)。

报告范围

该报告旨在提供对印度人寿和非人寿保险市场的详细分析。它侧重于市场动态、细分市场的新兴趋势、区域市场以及对各种产品和应用类型的见解。此外,它还分析了所研究市场中的主要参与者和竞争格局。

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

主要市场趋势

保险业发展迅速

  • 2018年,印度在全球保险市场的份额为1.92%。同年,该国总保费增长9.3%,而全球总保费增长1.5%。从全球来看,2018 年寿险业务占总保费的份额为 54.30%,非寿险保费的份额为 45.70%。然而,印度寿险业务的份额非常高,达到 73.85%,而非寿险业务占比为 26.15%。
  • 在人寿保险业务方面,印度在瑞士再保险发布的 88 个国家中排名第 10。2018 年印度在全球寿险市场的份额为 2.61%。然而,在全球寿险保费仅增长 0.2% 的情况下,印度的寿险保费增长了 7.7%,印度非寿险行业实现了14%,2018 年。
  • 同期,全球非寿险保费增长3%。然而,印度非寿险保费在全球非寿险保费中的份额为 1.1%,印度在全球非寿险市场排名第 15 位。
Life and Non-life Insurance Market Key Trends

全球格局中的保险渗透

  • 与发达经济体和新兴经济体相比,印度保险业表现不佳。作为保险业关键绩效指标的保险深度和密度在印度尤其低。
  • 此外,保险范围和价值之间存在显着差距,这凸显了该国的高风险状态。由于这些重要参数正在以停滞的增长速度改善,印度的保险深度(以支付的保险费与该国 GDP 的比率衡量)从 2001 年的 2.71% 增加到 2018 年的 3.7%。
  • 尽管这是一项重大发展,但考虑到业务量,它落后于世界其他地区(6.13%)和亚洲新兴经济体(5.62%)的渗透水平。保险业报告保险深度同比持续增长,预计未来将进一步增加。
Life and Non-life Insurance Market Growth by Region

竞争格局

该报告涵盖了印度寿险和非寿险市场的主要参与者。市场得到巩固,主要市场份额被前五名公司占据。由于保险深度和其他少数因素的持续增长,预计市场将在预测期内增长。

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Deliverables

    2. 1.2 Study Assumptions

    3. 1.3 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Insurance type

      1. 5.1.1 Life Insurance

        1. 5.1.1.1 Individual

        2. 5.1.1.2 Group

      2. 5.1.2 Non-life Insurance

        1. 5.1.2.1 Fire

        2. 5.1.2.2 Motors

        3. 5.1.2.3 Marine

        4. 5.1.2.4 Health

        5. 5.1.2.5 Others

    2. 5.2 By Distribution Channel

      1. 5.2.1 Direct

      2. 5.2.2 Brokers

      3. 5.2.3 Banks

      4. 5.2.4 Other Distribution Channels

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Vendor Market Share

    2. 6.2 Mergers and Acquisitions

    3. 6.3 Company Profiles

      1. 6.3.1 Life Insurance Corporation of India

      2. 6.3.2 General Insurance Corporation of India (GIC)

      3. 6.3.3 SBI Life Insurance Company Limited

      4. 6.3.4 ICICI Prudential Life Insurance Company Limited

      5. 6.3.5 HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited

      6. 6.3.6 New India Assurance Co. Ltd

      7. 6.3.7 United India Insurance Company Limited

      8. 6.3.8 National Insurance Company Limited

      9. 6.3.9 The Oriental Insurance Company Ltd

      10. 6.3.10 Shriram Life Insurance Company Ltd

    4. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The India Life & Non-Life Insurance Market market is studied from 2016 - 2026.

The India Life & Non-Life Insurance Market is growing at a CAGR of <7% over the next 5 years.

Life Insurance Corporation of India, General Insurance Corporation of India (GIC), SBI Life Insurance Company Limited, ICICI Prudential Life Insurance Company Limited, HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited are the major companies operating in India Life & Non-Life Insurance Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Life and Non-life insurance market in India - Growth, Trends, and Forecasts (2020 - 2025)

The Life and Non-life Insurance Market in India is segmented by Insurance type (Life Insurance and Non-life Insurance) and Distribution Channel (Direct, Brokers, Banks, and Other Distribution Channels).

Market Snapshot

Study Period:

2020-2025

Base Year:

2019

CAGR:

7 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The life and non-life insurance market in India is estimated to register a CAGR of approximately 7%, during the forecast period.

In the first decade of insurance sector liberalization, the insurance sector reported a consistent increase in insurance penetration from 2.71% in 2001, to 5.20% in 2009. Since then, the level of penetration has declined. Additionally, there was a slight increase in the years 2015 (3.44%), 2016 (3.49%), 2017 (3.69%), and 2018 (3.70%). The level of insurance density reached up to USD 64.4 in the year 2010, from the level of USD 11.5 in 2001. However, there was a slight decline in the level of insurance density, but it regained its position gradually to USD 74 in the year 2018, as compared to USD 73 in 2017.

The life insurance penetration had gone up from 2.15% in 2001, to 4.60% in 2009. Since then, it exhibited a declining trend till 2014. There was a slight increase in insurance penetration in 2015 reaching 2.72%, while it remained the same in 2016, increased to 2.76% in 2017, and decreased to 2.74% in 2018. The insurance penetration of the non-life insurance sector in the country has gone up from 0.56% in 2001, to 0.97% in 2018 (0.93 in 2017). Its density has gone up from USD 2.4 in 2001, to USD 18 and USD 19 in 2017 and 2018, respectively.

The life insurance industry recorded a premium income of INR 508,132.03 crore during 2018-2019, as opposed to INR 458,809.44 crores in the previous financial year, registering a growth of 10.75% (9.64% growth in the previous year). While private-sector insurers witnessed 21.37% growth (19.15% growth in the previous year) in their premium income, LIC (Life Insurance Corporation of India) recorded 6.06% growth (5.90% growth in previous year).

The general insurance industry underwrote a total direct premium of INR 169,448 crore in India for the financial year 2018-2019, as compared to INR 150,662 crores in 2017-2018, registering a growth rate of 12.47%, over 17.59% growth rate recorded in the previous year. The public sector insurers exhibited a growth of 1.28% in 2018-2019, over the previous year’s growth rate of 12.58%, whereas the private general insurers registered a growth rate of 24.25%, over 21.59% growth rate during the previous year.

During 2018-2019, life insurers issued 286.48 lakh new individual policies, out of which LIC issued 214.04 lakh policies and the private life insurers issued 72.44 lakh policies. While the private sector achieved a growth of 5.61% in the number of new policies issued compared to the previous year, LIC achieved a growth of 0.31%. The general insurers (excluding Standalone Health Insurers) have issued 1,832.74 lakh policies in FY 2018-2019, as compared to 1,702.30 lakh policies issued in FY 2017-2018, thus, reporting an increase of 7.7% during FY 2018-2019 (over 10.4% increase in FY 2017-2018).

Moreover, the public sector insurers witnessed a decline in the number of policies issued. They reported an 8.1% decrease in the number of policies issued during FY 2018-2019 (over 6.4% decrease in FY 2017-2018). Whereas, the private sector insurers reported growth in the number of policies issued at 29.7% in FY 2018-2019 (over 26.1% in FY 2017-2018). The specialized insurers reported a decrease of 33.2% in the number of polices issued, during the FY 2018-2019 (an increase of 79.2% in FY 2017-2018).

Scope of the Report

The report aims to provide a detailed analysis of the life and non-life insurance market in India. It focuses on the market dynamics, emerging trends in the segments, regional markets, and insights on various product and application types. Additionally, it analyses the key players and the competitive landscape in the market studied.

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Insurance Industry is Growing Rapidly

  • India’s share in the global insurance market was 1.92%, in 2018. During the same year, the total insurance premium in the country increased by 9.3%, whereas the global total insurance premium increased by 1.5%. Globally, the share of life insurance business in total premium was 54.30% and the share of non-life insurance premium was 45.70%, in 2018. However, the share of life insurance business for India was very high at 73.85%, while the share of non-life insurance business was at 26.15%.
  • In life insurance business, India is at rank 10 among the 88 countries, as published by Swiss Re. India’s share in the global life insurance market was 2.61%, in 2018. Nevertheless, the life insurance premium in India increased by 7.7% when global life insurance premium increased by just 0.2%, and the Indian non-life insurance sector witnessed a growth of 14%, in 2018.
  • During the same period, the growth in global non-life insurance premium was 3%. However, the share of Indian non-life insurance premium in global non-life insurance premium was at 1.1% and India ranked 15th in the global non-life insurance market.

To understand key trends, Download Sample Report

Insurance Penetration at Global Landscape

  • The Indian insurance sector is underperforming, as compared to the developed and emerging economies. Insurance penetration and density, which are the key performance indicators of the insurance industry, are especially low in India.
  • Furthermore, there is a significant gap between insurance coverage and value, which highlights the high-risk state of the country. Since these vital parameters are improving at a stagnant growth rate, insurance penetration (measured as the ratio of insurance premium paid and GDP of the country), has increased from 2.71% in 2001 to 3.7% in 2018, in India.
  • Although this is a significant development, considering the volume of business, it lags the penetration levels in the rest of the world (6.13%) and in the emerging Asian economies (5.62%). The insurance sector has reported a consistent increase in the insurance penetration Y-o-Y, which is expected to increase further in the future.

To understand geography trends, Download Sample Report.

Competitive Landscape

The report covers the major players operating in the life and non-life insurance market in India. The market is consolidated, as the major market share is captured by the top five companies. The market is expected to grow in the forecast period, due to a consistent growth in insurance penetration and other few factors.

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Table Of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Deliverables

    2. 1.2 Study Assumptions

    3. 1.3 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Insurance type

      1. 5.1.1 Life Insurance

        1. 5.1.1.1 Individual

        2. 5.1.1.2 Group

      2. 5.1.2 Non-life Insurance

        1. 5.1.2.1 Fire

        2. 5.1.2.2 Motors

        3. 5.1.2.3 Marine

        4. 5.1.2.4 Health

        5. 5.1.2.5 Others

    2. 5.2 By Distribution Channel

      1. 5.2.1 Direct

      2. 5.2.2 Brokers

      3. 5.2.3 Banks

      4. 5.2.4 Other Distribution Channels

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Vendor Market Share

    2. 6.2 Mergers and Acquisitions

    3. 6.3 Company Profiles

      1. 6.3.1 Life Insurance Corporation of India

      2. 6.3.2 General Insurance Corporation of India (GIC)

      3. 6.3.3 SBI Life Insurance Company Limited

      4. 6.3.4 ICICI Prudential Life Insurance Company Limited

      5. 6.3.5 HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited

      6. 6.3.6 New India Assurance Co. Ltd

      7. 6.3.7 United India Insurance Company Limited

      8. 6.3.8 National Insurance Company Limited

      9. 6.3.9 The Oriental Insurance Company Ltd

      10. 6.3.10 Shriram Life Insurance Company Ltd

  7. *List Not Exhaustive
  8. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

** Subject to Availability

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Related Reports