Marché japonais des déchets en énergie – Croissance, tendances, impact du COVID-19 et prévisions (2022-2027)

Le marché des déchets en énergie au Japon est segmenté par technologie (physique, thermique et biologique).

Aperçu du marché

japan waste to energy market
Study Period: 2019-2027
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: >12.6 %
japan waste to energy market forecast

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Aperçu du marché

Le marché japonais de la valorisation énergétique des déchets devrait enregistrer un TCAC de plus de 12,6 % au cours de la période de prévision (2022-2027). L'épidémie de COVID-19 a eu un impact négatif sur le marché japonais de la valorisation énergétique des déchets. Même si les déchets solides municipaux (MSW) augmentent pendant la pandémie, les déchets commerciaux et industriels (C&I) ont fortement diminué, ce qui a entraîné une baisse globale de la quantité. Outre la réduction intérieure, la quantité importée pour transformation a également diminué. Des facteurs tels que le développement économique, l'industrialisation et l'attention croissante portée aux sources d'énergie non fossiles ont stimulé le marché de la valorisation énergétique des déchets du pays. Cependant, le marché a été freiné par l'augmentation des émissions de gaz nocifs et le caractère coûteux des incinérateurs, d'autant plus que les prix de l'énergie ont baissé et que plusieurs usines n'ont pas pu couvrir leurs coûts d'exploitation.

  • La technologie thermique devrait dominer le marché de la valorisation énergétique des déchets, en raison du développement croissant des technologies d'incinération et de gazéification et de la quantité croissante de déchets générés.
  • L'augmentation des investissements dans les activités de R&D liées à la digestion aérobie et anaérobie pour assurer la fiabilité en termes d'effets environnementaux devrait offrir des opportunités lucratives pour la croissance du marché à l'avenir.
  • Le Japon se concentre sur l'amélioration de ses technologies d'incinération pour réduire les émissions nocives provenant de la conversion des déchets en énergie, ce qui devrait stimuler le marché au cours de la période de prévision.

Portée du rapport

Le rapport sur le marché japonais de la transformation des déchets en énergie comprend :

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Principales tendances du marché

Technologie thermique pour dominer le marché

  • Le Japon est un pays leader avec les types d'usines de traitement thermique les plus modernes capables de traiter chaque année des millions de tonnes de déchets . En 2020, le Japon était l'un des principaux pays au monde en termes de pourcentage de déchets utilisés dans les installations de valorisation énergétique des déchets (WTE), brûlant plus de 80 % de ses DSM dans des systèmes de récupération d'énergie.
  • Le pays s'est concentré sur la technologie WTE thermique depuis les années 1960. L'industrie WTE a prospéré au Japon car il y a peu de place pour les décharges et la combustion des déchets a été considérée comme une meilleure solution.
  • En 2020, l'électricité produite à partir des déchets industriels (18522 GWh) était comparativement plus élevée que celle de l'électricité produite à partir des déchets municipaux (1824 GWh), rendant ainsi les déchets industriels beaucoup plus utiles pour produire de l'énergie.
  • De plus, en décembre 2020, Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Environmental & Chemical Engineering Co. Ltd (MHIEC) a remporté un contrat avec l'Association de l'administration régionale de Kashima pour concevoir et construire une installation de gestion thermique des déchets en chaleur dont la construction est prévue dans la ville de Kamisu en Préfecture d'Ibaraki. Le contrat est évalué à 13,59 milliards JPY, avec une livraison prévue fin mars 2024.
  • Des facteurs tels que l'industrialisation et le développement économique contribuent également à la production de DSM, ce qui devrait en outre influencer la croissance du marché japonais de la transformation des déchets thermiques en énergie.
 japan waste to energy market trends

De nouvelles technologies d'incinération pour la réduction des émissions nocives stimulent la demande du marché

  • Les usines d'incinération des déchets solides génèrent des émissions nocives, comme les dioxines, le dioxyde de carbone, l'oxyde de soufre et l'oxyde d'azote. Des technologies liées à la production d'électricité à haut rendement et à un fonctionnement sûr, telles que les dispositifs d'incinération automatique et les grues automatiques, ont été développées pour réduire les émissions nocives de ce processus.
  • La technologie japonaise des fours de stockage est une méthode d'incinération à faible teneur en air qui vise à produire de l'électricité à haut rendement, à réduire les émissions nocives, à éliminer les gaz acides et à recycler les cendres incinérées. Les technologies appliquées pour réduire la production de dioxines sont le refroidissement des gaz d'échappement, les filtres à manches et le charbon actif qui absorbe et élimine les dioxines.
  • La technologie hautement efficace de la fournaise à accumulation conventionnelle permet la production d'électricité à partir des déchets de chaleur récupérés et en fait une mesure efficace contre les émissions de gaz à effet de serre.
  • Une augmentation des nouvelles technologies d'incinération au Japon a réduit les émissions de CO2. Cependant, les émissions globales de dioxyde de carbone du Japon sont passées de 1158,4 millions de tonnes métriques en 2018 à 1027,0 millions de tonnes métriques en 2020.
  • Par conséquent, l'augmentation des investissements et les progrès dans les nouvelles technologies d'incinération à travers le Japon devraient stimuler le marché des déchets vers l'énergie au cours de la période de prévision.
japan waste to energy market growth

Paysage concurrentiel

Le marché japonais de la valorisation énergétique des déchets est modérément fragmenté. Parmi les acteurs clés figurent Hitachi Zosen Corp., Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Ltd, JFE Engineering Corporation, TAKUMA Co. Ltd et Kawasaki Heavy Industries Ltd.

Paysage concurrentiel

Le marché japonais de la valorisation énergétique des déchets est modérément fragmenté. Parmi les acteurs clés figurent Hitachi Zosen Corp., Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Ltd, JFE Engineering Corporation, TAKUMA Co. Ltd et Kawasaki Heavy Industries Ltd.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Portée de l'étude

      1. 1.2 Définition du marché

        1. 1.3 Hypothèses de l'étude

        2. 2. RÉSUMÉ

          1. 3. MÉTHODOLOGIE DE RECHERCHE

            1. 4. APERÇU DU MARCHÉ

              1. 4.1 introduction

                1. 4.2 Taille du marché et prévision de la demande en milliards USD, jusqu'en 2027

                  1. 4.3 Tendances et développements récents

                    1. 4.4 Politiques et réglementations gouvernementales

                      1. 4.5 Dynamique du marché

                        1. 4.5.1 Conducteurs

                          1. 4.5.2 Contraintes

                          2. 4.6 Analyse de la chaîne d'approvisionnement

                            1. 4.7 Analyse PILON

                            2. 5. SEGMENTATION DU MARCHÉ

                              1. 5.1 La technologie

                                1. 5.1.1 Physique

                                  1. 5.1.2 Thermique

                                    1. 5.1.3 Biologique

                                  2. 6. PAYSAGE CONCURRENTIEL

                                    1. 6.1 Fusions et acquisitions, coentreprises, collaborations et accords

                                      1. 6.2 Stratégies adoptées par les principaux acteurs

                                        1. 6.3 Profils d'entreprise

                                          1. 6.3.1 Société Hitachi Zosen

                                            1. 6.3.2 Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Ltd

                                              1. 6.3.3 Société d'ingénierie JFE

                                                1. 6.3.4 Kawasaki Industries Lourdes Ltée

                                                  1. 6.3.5 Doosan Lentjes GmbH

                                                    1. 6.3.6 TAKUMA Co. Ltd

                                                      1. 6.3.7 CR-POWER LLC

                                                    2. 7. OPPORTUNITÉS DE MARCHÉ ET TENDANCES FUTURES

                                                      **Subject to Availability

                                                      You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

                                                      Frequently Asked Questions

                                                      Le marché japonais du marché des déchets à l'énergie est étudié de 2019 à 2027.

                                                      Le marché japonais de la transformation des déchets en énergie croît à un TCAC > 12,6 % au cours des 5 prochaines années.

                                                      Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Ltd, JFE Engineering Corporation, TAKUMA Co. Ltd, Hitachi Zosen Corporation, Kawasaki Heavy Industries Ltd sont les principales entreprises opérant sur le marché japonais des déchets en énergie.

                                                      80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

                                                      Please enter a valid email id!

                                                      Please enter a valid message!

Japan Waste to Energy Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2023 - 2028)

The Waste to Energy Market in Japan is segmented by Technology (Physical, Thermal, and Biological).

Japan Waste to Energy Industry Overview

Japan Waste to Energy Market Forecast
Study Period: 2019 - 2028
CAGR: > 12.6 %

Major Players

Japan Waste to Energy Market Key Players

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

setting-icon

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Japan Waste to Energy Market Analysis

The Japanese waste-to-energy market is expected to register a CAGR of more than 12.6% during the forecast period (2022-2027). The COVID-19 outbreak negatively impacted Japan's waste-to-energy market. Even though municipal solid waste (MSW) is rising during the pandemic, commercial and industrial (C&I) waste declined sharply, resulting in the overall decline in quantity. Apart from the domestic reduction, the amount imported for processing also decreased. Factors such as economic development, industrialization, and increasing focus on non-fossil fuel energy sources have been driving the country's waste-to-energy market. However, the market has been restrained by the rising emissions of harmful gases and the expensive nature of incinerators, particularly as energy prices declined and several plants could not cover operating costs.

  • Thermal technology is expected to dominate the waste-to-energy market, owing to the increasing development in incineration, gasification technologies, and the growing amount of waste generated.
  • Increasing investments in aerobic and anaerobic digestion-related R&D activities to ensure reliability in terms of environmental effects are expected to provide lucrative opportunities for the market’s growth in the future.
  • Japan is focusing on improving its incineration technologies to reduce harmful emissions from waste to energy conversion, which is expected to drive the market during the forecast period.

Japan Waste to Energy Industry Segments

The Japanese waste to energy market report includes:

Technology
Physical
Thermal
Biological

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Japan Waste to Energy Market Trends

This section covers the major market trends shaping the Japan Waste to Energy Market according to our research experts:

Thermal Technology to Dominate the Market

  • Japan is a leading country with the most modern types of thermal treatment plants capable of processing millions of tons of waste every year. As of 2020, Japan was one of the leading countries worldwide in terms of the percentage of waste utilized in waste-to-energy (WTE) facilities, burning more than 80% of its MSW in energy recovery systems.
  • The country has focused on thermal-based WTE technology since the 1960s. The WTE industry has thrived in Japan because there is little room for landfills, and burning waste has been considered a better solution.
  • As of 2020, the electricity generated from industrial waste (18522 GWh) was comparatively higher than that of electricity generated from municipal waste (1824 GWh), thus making industrial waste much more useful to produce energy.
  • Moreover, in December 2020, Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Environmental & Chemical Engineering Co. Ltd (MHIEC) won a contract with the Kashima Regional Administration Association to design and build a thermal-based waste-to-heat management facility planned for construction in Kamisu city in Ibaraki Prefecture. The contract is valued at JPY 13.59 billion, with completion scheduled for the end of March 2024.
  • Factors such as industrialization and economic development also contribute toward MSW generation, which is further expected to influence the growth of the thermal-based waste to energy market in Japan.
Japan Waste to Energy Market Trends

New Incineration Technologies for Reduction of Harmful Emissions Driving the Market Demand

  • The incineration plants for solid waste generate harmful emissions, like dioxins, carbon dioxide, sulfur oxide, and nitrogen oxide. Technologies related to high-efficiency power generation and safe operation, such as automatic incineration devices and automatic cranes, have been developed to reduce the harmful emissions in this process.
  • The Japanese stocker furnace technology is a low-air incineration method that aims for high-efficiency power generation, reduced harmful emissions, removed acidic gas, and recycled incinerated ash. The technologies applied to reduce dioxin generation are exhaust cooling, bag filters, and activated coal that absorbs and eliminates dioxin.
  • The conventional stoker furnace's highly efficient technology enables electrical generation from recovered heat waste and makes it an effective measure against greenhouse emissions.
  • An increase in the new incineration technologies in Japan has reduced CO2 emissions. However, Japan's overall carbon dioxide emissions decreased from 1158.4 million metric ton in 2018 to 1027.0 million metric ton in 2020.
  • Hence, increasing investments and advancements in the new incineration technologies across Japan are expected to drive the waste to energy market during the forecast period.
Japan Waste to Energy Market Outlook

Japan Waste to Energy Market Competitor Analysis

The Japanese waste to energy market is moderately fragmented. Some key players include Hitachi Zosen Corp., Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Ltd, JFE Engineering Corporation, TAKUMA Co. Ltd, and Kawasaki Heavy Industries Ltd.

Japan Waste to Energy Market Top Players

  1. Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Ltd

  2. JFE Engineering Corporation

  3. TAKUMA Co. Ltd

  4. Hitachi Zosen Corporation

  5. Kawasaki Heavy Industries Ltd

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Ltd, JFE Engineering Corporation, TAKUMA Co. Ltd, Hitachi Zosen Corporation, Kawasaki Heavy Industries Ltd

Japan Waste to Energy Market Recent Developments

  • In January 2021, Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Environmental & Chemical Engineering Co. Ltd (MHIEC) received an order from Kagoshima City to refurbish its Hokubu Waste-to-Energy (WtE) plant. The order calls for renovation of the facilities, and the contract is valued at JPY 6.75 billion, with completion scheduled for February 2026.
  • In December 2020, Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Environmental & Chemical Engineering Co. Ltd (MHIEC) won a contract with the Kashima Regional Administration Association in Ibaraki Prefecture (comprising the cities of Kashima and Kamisu) to design and build a combustible waste management facility planned for construction in Kamisu city. The contract is valued at JPY 13.59 billion, with completion scheduled for the end of March 2024.

Japan Waste to Energy Market Report - Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Scope of the Study

    2. 1.2 Market Definition

    3. 1.3 Study Assumptions

  2. 2. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  3. 3. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  4. 4. MARKET OVERVIEW

    1. 4.1 Introduction

    2. 4.2 Market Size and Demand Forecast in USD billion, till 2027

    3. 4.3 Recent Trends and Developments

    4. 4.4 Government Policies and Regulations

    5. 4.5 Market Dynamics

      1. 4.5.1 Drivers

      2. 4.5.2 Restraints

    6. 4.6 Supply Chain Analysis

    7. 4.7 PESTLE Analysis

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Technology

      1. 5.1.1 Physical

      2. 5.1.2 Thermal

      3. 5.1.3 Biological

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Mergers and Acquisitions, Joint Ventures, Collaborations, and Agreements

    2. 6.2 Strategies Adopted by Leading Players

    3. 6.3 Company Profiles

      1. 6.3.1 Hitachi Zosen Corporation

      2. 6.3.2 Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Ltd

      3. 6.3.3 JFE Engineering Corporation

      4. 6.3.4 Kawasaki Heavy Industries Ltd

      5. 6.3.5 Doosan Lentjes GmbH

      6. 6.3.6 TAKUMA Co. Ltd

      7. 6.3.7 CR-POWER LLC

    4. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Subject to Availability
You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Japan Waste to Energy Market Research FAQs

The Japan Waste to Energy Market is studied from 2019 - 2028.

The Japan Waste to Energy Market is growing at a CAGR of >12.6% over the next 5 years.

Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Ltd , JFE Engineering Corporation , TAKUMA Co. Ltd, Hitachi Zosen Corporation, Kawasaki Heavy Industries Ltd are the major companies operating in Japan Waste to Energy Market.

Japan Waste to Energy Industry Reports

In-depth industry statistics and market share insights of the Japan Waste to Energy sector for 2020, 2021, and 2022. The Japan Waste to Energy research report provides a comprehensive outlook of the market size and an industry growth forecast for 2023 to 2028. Available to download is a free sample file of the Japan Waste to Energy report PDF.

close-icon
80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!