Markt für Recycling von faserverstärktem Kunststoff (FRP) – Wachstum, Trends, Auswirkungen von COVID-19 und Prognosen (2022 – 2027)

Der Recyclingmarkt für faserverstärkte Kunststoffe (FRP) ist nach Produkttyp (glasfaserverstärkter Kunststoff, kohlefaserverstärkter Kunststoff und andere Produkttypen), Recyclingtechnik (thermisches/chemisches Recycling, Verbrennung und Mitverbrennung sowie mechanisch) unterteilt Recycling (Größenreduzierung)) und Geographie (Asien-Pazifik, Nordamerika, Europa und Rest der Welt). Der Bericht bietet Marktgröße und Prognosen für das Recycling von faserverstärktem Kunststoff (FRP) in Volumen (Tonnen) für alle oben genannten Segmente.

INSTANT ACCESS

Markt-Snapshot

Fiber-Reinforced Plastic (FRP) Recycling - Market Summary
Study Period: 2017-2027
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: Europe
CAGR: 9.34 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Marktübersicht

Auf den globalen Recyclingmarkt für faserverstärkte Kunststoffe (FRP) entfielen im Jahr 2021 91.366,62 Tonnen und es wird erwartet, dass er im Prognosezeitraum (2022-2027) mit einer CAGR von 9,34 % wachsen wird.

Der Markt wurde im Jahr 2020 durch COVID-19 negativ beeinflusst und verzeichnete im Jahr 2021 eine positive Wachstumsrate aufgrund der verstärkten Verwendung von recycelten Faserkunststoffverbundwerkstoffen in verschiedenen Endverbraucherbranchen wie der Automobil-, Bau- und Konstruktionsindustrie und anderen.

  • Mittelfristig dürften die zunehmende Ansammlung von Composite-Abfällen, strengere Vorschriften zur Entsorgung von Composites in Europa und neue Strategien zur Förderung der Wiederverwendung von kohlenstofffaserverstärktem Kunststoff (CFK) das Wachstum des Marktes vorantreiben.
  • Auf der anderen Seite wird erwartet, dass Schwierigkeiten während des Recyclingprozesses, das Fehlen geeigneter Recyclingtechniken für CFK und die lange Lebensdauer von CFK, was zu einer begrenzten Verfügbarkeit von Verbundabfall führt, das Wachstum des untersuchten Marktes behindern werden.
  • Die kontinuierliche Entwicklung im Bereich der Recycling-Verbundwerkstoffe dürfte eine Chance für den untersuchten Markt darstellen.
  • Es wird erwartet, dass die Verbrennungs- und Mitverbrennungs-Recyclingtechnik den globalen Recyclingmarkt für faserverstärkte Kunststoffe im Prognosezeitraum dominieren wird.
  • Die Region Europa dominierte den untersuchten Markt, jedoch wird die Region Asien-Pazifik im Prognosezeitraum wahrscheinlich die höchste CAGR verzeichnen.

Umfang des Berichts

Die faserverstärkten Kunststoffe sind leicht und fest. Sie besitzen eine hohe chemische Beständigkeit, bessere Zugfestigkeit, Temperaturtoleranz, geringe Wärmeausdehnung und Steifigkeit. Aufgrund dieser Vorteile werden sie häufig überall dort eingesetzt, wo ein hohes Festigkeits-Gewichts-Verhältnis erforderlich ist, insbesondere im Schiffbau, in der Luft- und Raumfahrt sowie in der Automobilindustrie. Der Markt für faserverstärktes Kunststoffrecycling ist nach Produkttyp, Recyclingtechnik und Geografie unterteilt. Nach Produkttyp ist der Markt in glasfaserverstärkte Kunststoffe, kohlefaserverstärkte Kunststoffe und andere Produkttypen unterteilt. Nach Recyclingverfahren wird der Markt in thermisches/chemisches Recycling, Verbrennung und Mitverbrennung sowie mechanisches Recycling (Zerkleinerung) unterteilt. Der Bericht deckt auch die Marktgröße und Prognosen für den Recyclingmarkt für faserverstärkte Kunststoffe in 13 Ländern in wichtigen Regionen ab. Für jedes Segment wurden die Marktgröße und Prognose auf der Grundlage des Volumens (Tonnen) vorgenommen.

Product Type
Glass Fiber-reinforced Plastic
Carbon Fiber-reinforced Plastic
Other Product Types
Recycling Technique
Thermal/Chemical Recycling
Incineration and Co-incineration
Mechanical Recycling (Size Reduction)
Geography
Asia-Pacific
China
India
Japan
South Korea
Rest of Asia-Pacific
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Italy
Rest of Europe
Rest of the World
South America
Middle-East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Wichtige Markttrends

Verbrennungs- und Mitverbrennungs-Recyclingtechnik soll den Markt dominieren

  • Die Verbrennung und Mitverbrennung ist das größte Segment der Recyclingtechniken. Die Mitverbrennungstechnik dominierte das Segment aufgrund ihrer zunehmenden Verwendung beim Recycling von glasfaserverstärkten Kunststoffen (GFK).
  • Die Verbrennung ist ein thermisches Verfahren, das es ermöglicht, Energie aus der Verbrennungsabwärme zurückzugewinnen. Wärme kann direkt genutzt oder in Strom umgewandelt werden. Ein Nachteil dieser Technologie ist die Luftverschmutzung durch die Verbrennung von FVK-Schrott. Das Faser- und Asche-Nebenprodukt des Verbrennungsprozesses (Verbrennung) ist ein erheblicher Nachteil, da das Material immer noch als Deponieabfall landen würde, wobei die Asche aufgrund der chemischen Analyse das Potenzial hätte, gefährlicher Abfall zu werden.
  • Außerdem ist bei der Umwandlung von Wärme in Strom nur ein Wirkungsgrad von 35 Prozent erreichbar. Die Fasern werden nicht zurückgewonnen und haben erhebliche negative Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt sowie einen finanziellen Verlust aufgrund der Nichtverwertung der wertvollen Fasern. Schrott und End of Life Kohlefaserverstärkter Kunststoff (CFK) und Glasfaserverstärkter Kunststoff (GFK) sind derzeit größtenteils für die Deponierung oder Verbrennung bestimmt, da dies die Prozesse sind, die von traditionellen Entsorgungsunternehmen verwendet werden.
  • Die Kosten der GFK-Verbrennung sind im Vergleich zur Deponierung höher, da sowohl der hohe Heizwert als auch die toxischen Emissionen dazu neigen, das System zu überlasten. Außerdem ist es für große Teile und Glasfaserreste nicht sinnvoll, da es zu Prozessstillständen kommen kann.
  • Bei der GFK-Verbrennung sind ca. 50-70 % der Reststoffe mineralisch und verbleiben als Asche, die deponiert werden muss. Aufgrund von Umweltproblemen, gesetzlichen Beschränkungen im Zusammenhang mit der Deponierung und Verbrennung von GFK-Abfällen und steigenden Kosten werden die Nutzung und Nachfrage nach dem Verfahren in den kommenden Jahren wahrscheinlich negative Auswirkungen haben.
  • Die Mitverbrennung hingegen dient sowohl der stofflichen als auch der energetischen Verwertung. Bei der Mitverbrennungstechnik werden Zementöfen zum Recycling verwendet. Es ist eine bessere, kostengünstigere Option für GFK-Abfälle und bietet eine kombinierte stoffliche und energetische Verwertung.
  • Dabei werden die zerkleinerten GFK-Abfälle als Rohstoff zur Herstellung von Zementklinker und als Sekundärbrennstoff dem Zementofen zugeführt. Im Ofen verbrennt das Harz unter Energiezufuhr und der mineralische Bestandteil wird zu Calciumoxid (Hauptbestandteil von Portlandzement), das als Ausgangsstoff für den Zementklinker dient. So bleiben am Ende keine Reste für das GFK-Recycling übrig.
  • Abfallentsorgungsunternehmen haben jedoch kürzlich auf vollständige Faserrückgewinnungsmethoden wie thermische, chemische und andere Verfahren umgestellt, unter Berücksichtigung von Problemen, die durch Verbrennung und Mitverbrennung verursacht werden, wie Klimawandel, globale Erwärmung und eine nachhaltige Alternativ- und Kreislaufwirtschaft. Diese Verschiebung erfolgt aufgrund des erheblichen Beitrags von Studien, die sich auf das Recycling von CFK- und GFK-Müll konzentrieren.
  • Die Neocomp GmbH, der weltweit größte Recycler, nutzt das Mitverbrennungsverfahren, um GFK-Abfälle zu recyceln.
  • Die vorgenannten Faktoren dürften sich daher zukünftig auf die Nachfrage nach Verbrennungs- und Mitverbrennungsverfahren auswirken.
Fiber-Reinforced Plastic (FRP) Recycling Market - Segmentation

Region Europa, um den Markt zu dominieren

  • Aufgrund der steigenden Nachfrage aus wichtigen Ländern wie Deutschland, Italien und Großbritannien wird erwartet, dass die Region Europa den Weltmarkt dominieren wird.
  • In den europäischen Ländern, einschließlich Deutschland, ist die Deponierung verboten, und die Einführung von recycelten Kunststoffen/Verbundwerkstoffen gewinnt an Dynamik. Die Verwendung solcher recycelter FRPs findet sich hauptsächlich in der Bau-, Luft- und Raumfahrt- und Windkraftindustrie.  
  • Windenergie entwickelt sich schnell zur wichtigsten Energiequelle Deutschlands und ist ein entscheidender Bestandteil der globalen Energiewendepläne der Länder. Forscher und Industrie fordern jedoch ein kohärenteres und integriertes System von Beschaffungs- und Recyclingverfahren, um eine zuverlässige Versorgung mit Eingangsmaterialien für ihren Bau sicherzustellen und zu verhindern, dass das schnelle Wachstum der Technologie im Zusammenhang mit den Klimaschutzzielen eine Reihe neuer Umweltbelastungen schafft Herausforderungen. 
  • Recycelte GFK finden Anwendung in Windmühlenflügeln. Die Windkraft ist einer der wichtigsten Treiber der Energiewende in Deutschland. Die meisten stillgelegten Rotorblätter werden voraussichtlich in Deutschland und Spanien gefunden, gefolgt von Dänemark. Lufthansa hat mehr als 40 Flugzeuge endgültig außer Dienst gestellt und ihre Billigsparte Germanwings gestrichen.
  • Wind Europe hat sich für ein Abfallverbot für veraltete Rotorblätter von Windturbinen in ganz Europa bis 2025 eingesetzt. Die Windbranche in Europa setzt sich aggressiv dafür ein, ausgemusterte Rotorblätter wiederzuverwenden, zu recyceln oder zu 100 % zu verwerten. Dies folgt auf die Ankündigung ehrgeiziger Recycling- und Verwertungspläne für Klingen durch zahlreiche branchenführende Unternehmen. Ein Deponieverbot kann die Entwicklung umweltfreundlicher Recyclingtechnologien beschleunigen.
  • Darüber hinaus ist Italien auf dem GFK-Recyclingmarkt aktiv, da es über eine etablierte Pilotanlage für diese Aktivität verfügt und die anderen großen Anlagen auf die Kommerzialisierung umstellen. Karborek Recycling Carbon Fibers ist ein Pionier in Italien und spezialisiert auf das Recycling und die Rückgewinnung von Kohlenstofffasern. Die recycelten Produkte des Unternehmens werden hauptsächlich in der Luftfahrt-, Automobil-, Industrie-, Militär- und Sportindustrie eingesetzt. 
  • Aeolia Windtech, Aira, Ergowind, IWT und RG Wind sind einige Hersteller von Windkraftanlagen in Italien. Laut dem Offshore Renewable Energy Catapult in Italien beträgt die prognostizierte Stilllegung von Onshore-Windkraftanlagen bis 2050 etwa 8 GW. Diese zunehmende Stilllegung von Windkraftanlagen erhöht die Menge an FRP-Abfall aus dem Windsektor.
  • Darüber hinaus wird im Vereinigten Königreich das Recycling von Verbundwerkstoffen aus glasfaserverstärktem Polymer (GFK) im Land in sehr geringem Umfang durchgeführt, wobei der größte Teil davon aus Eigenproduktion besteht. Die Bau- und Windenergiesektoren dominieren die Verwendung von recycelten FVK im Land. 
  • Glasfaserverstärkter Kunststoff (GFK) trägt zu 6.200 Tonnen Produktionsabfällen im Land bei. Da derzeit so viel FVK-Abfall auf Deponien landet, sind Recyclinglösungen für Verbundwerkstoffe erforderlich. 
  • Die Deponierung im Land liegt bei etwa 35 % für Kohlenstofffasern und 67 % für Glasfasern, wobei nur 20 % der Kohlenstofffasern und 13 % der Glasfasern recycelt und nur eine kleine Menge davon wiederverwendet wird, dh 2 % für Kohlenstoff Faser und 6 % für Glasfaser.
  • Laut dem Offshore Renewable Energy Catapult beträgt die geplante Stilllegung von Offshore-Windkraftanlagen im Vereinigten Königreich bis 2050 19 GW und die geplante Stilllegung von Onshore-Windkraftanlagen etwa 25 GW. Diese zunehmende Stilllegung von Windkraftanlagen erhöht die Menge an FRP-Abfall aus dem Wind Sektor. 
  • Alle oben genannten Faktoren werden sich in den kommenden Jahren wahrscheinlich erheblich auf die Nachfrage nach untersuchten Märkten auswirken.
Fiber-Reinforced Plastic (FRP) Recycling Market - Regional Trend

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der Recyclingmarkt für faserverstärkte Kunststoffe (FRP) ist in seiner Natur stark fragmentiert. Die großen Recyclingunternehmen arbeiten mit den Verbundstoff- und OEM-Herstellern zusammen, um den Abfall zu sammeln und zu recyceln. Einige der großen Recyclingunternehmen (nicht in einer bestimmten Reihenfolge) sind unter anderem Toray Industries Inc., Vartega Inc., Gen 2 Carbon Limited, Ucomposites AS und Carbon Conversions.

Hauptakteure

  1. Ucomposites AS

  2. Gen 2 Carbon Limited

  3. Carbon Conversions

  4. Vartega Inc

  5. Toray Industries Inc.

Fiber-Reinforced Plastic (FRP) Recycling Market - Market Concentration.png

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der Recyclingmarkt für faserverstärkte Kunststoffe (FRP) ist in seiner Natur stark fragmentiert. Die großen Recyclingunternehmen arbeiten mit den Verbundstoff- und OEM-Herstellern zusammen, um den Abfall zu sammeln und zu recyceln. Einige der großen Recyclingunternehmen (nicht in einer bestimmten Reihenfolge) sind unter anderem Toray Industries Inc., Vartega Inc., Gen 2 Carbon Limited, Ucomposites AS und Carbon Conversions.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Drivers

      1. 4.1.1 Growing Accumulation of Composite Waste

      2. 4.1.2 Other Drivers

    2. 4.2 Restraints

    3. 4.3 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    4. 4.4 Porters Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products and Services

      5. 4.4.5 Degree of Competition

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Product Type

      1. 5.1.1 Glass Fiber-reinforced Plastic

      2. 5.1.2 Carbon Fiber-reinforced Plastic

      3. 5.1.3 Other Product Types

    2. 5.2 Recycling Technique

      1. 5.2.1 Thermal/Chemical Recycling

      2. 5.2.2 Incineration and Co-incineration

      3. 5.2.3 Mechanical Recycling (Size Reduction)

    3. 5.3 Geography

      1. 5.3.1 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.3.1.1 China

        2. 5.3.1.2 India

        3. 5.3.1.3 Japan

        4. 5.3.1.4 South Korea

        5. 5.3.1.5 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      2. 5.3.2 North America

        1. 5.3.2.1 United States

        2. 5.3.2.2 Canada

        3. 5.3.2.3 Mexico

      3. 5.3.3 Europe

        1. 5.3.3.1 Germany

        2. 5.3.3.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.3.3.3 France

        4. 5.3.3.4 Italy

        5. 5.3.3.5 Rest of Europe

      4. 5.3.4 Rest of the World

        1. 5.3.4.1 South America

        2. 5.3.4.2 Middle-East and Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Mergers and Acquisitions, Joint Ventures, Collaborations, and Agreements

    2. 6.2 Producer Recycler Partnerships

    3. 6.3 Strategies Adopted by Leading Players

    4. 6.4 Company Profiles

      1. 6.4.1 Aeron Composite Pvt. Ltd

      2. 6.4.2 Carbon Conversions

      3. 6.4.3 Carbon Fiber Recycle Industry Co. Ltd

      4. 6.4.4 Carbon Fiber Recycling

      5. 6.4.5 Mitsubishi Chemical Advanced Materials GmbH

      6. 6.4.6 Conenor Ltd

      7. 6.4.7 Eco-Wolf Inc.

      8. 6.4.8 Gen 2 Carbon Limited

      9. 6.4.9 Global Fiberglass Solutions

      10. 6.4.10 Karborek Recycling Carbon Fibers​

      11. 6.4.11 MCR Mixt Composites Recyclables

      12. 6.4.12 Neocomp GmbH

      13. 6.4.13 Procotex​

      14. 6.4.14 ReFiber ApS

      15. 6.4.15 The Japan Carbon Fiber Manufacturers Association

      16. 6.4.16 Ucomposites AS

      17. 6.4.17 Vartega Inc.

      18. 6.4.18 Toray industries Inc.

    5. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

    1. 7.1 Continuous Developments in the Field of Recycling Composites

**Subject to Availability
You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Der Recyclingmarkt für faserverstärkte Kunststoffe (FRP) wird von 2017 bis 2027 untersucht.

Der Recyclingmarkt für faserverstärkte Kunststoffe (FRP) wächst in den nächsten 5 Jahren mit einer CAGR von 9,34 %.

Der asiatisch-pazifische Raum wächst zwischen 2021 und 2026 mit der höchsten CAGR.

Europa hält 2021 den höchsten Anteil.

Ucomposites AS, Gen 2 Carbon Limited, Carbon Conversions, Vartega Inc, Toray Industries Inc. sind die wichtigsten Unternehmen, die auf dem Recyclingmarkt für faserverstärkte Kunststoffe (FRP) tätig sind.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Fiber-reinforced Plastic (FRP) Recycling Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2022 - 2027)

The Fiber-reinforced Plastic (FRP) Recycling Market is segmented by Product Type (Glass Fiber-reinforced Plastic, Carbon Fiber-reinforced Plastic, and Other Product Types), Recycling Technique (Thermal/Chemical Recycling, Incineration and Co-incineration, and Mechanical Recycling [Size Reduction]), and Geography (Asia-Pacific, North America, Europe, and Rest of the World). The report offers the market size and forecasts in volume (ton) for all the above segments.

Market Snapshot

Fiber-Reinforced Plastic (FRP) Recycling - Market Summary
Study Period: 2017-2027
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: Europe
CAGR: 9.34 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The fiber-reinforced plastic (FRP) recycling market accounted for 91,366.62 ton in 2021, and it is expected to register a CAGR of 9.34% during the forecast period (2022-2027).

The market was negatively impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic in 2020, and it recorded a positive growth rate in 2021 due to the increased usage of recycled fiber plastic composites in various end-user industries, such as automotive, building and construction, and others.

Over the medium term, the growing accumulation of composite waste, stringent regulations on the disposal of composites in Europe, and new strategies to promote the reuse of carbon-fiber-reinforced plastic (CFRP) are expected to drive the market's growth.

On the flip side, difficulties faced during the recycling process, lack of proper recycling techniques for CFRP, and the long service life of CFRP, resulting in the limited composite waste availability, are expected to hinder the growth of the market studied.

Continuous developments in the field of recycling composites are likely to act as an opportunity for the studied market.

The incineration and co-incineration recycling techniques are expected to dominate the fiber-reinforced plastic recycling market over the forecast period.

The European region dominated the market; however, the Asia-Pacific region is likely to witness the highest CAGR during the forecast period.

Scope of the Report

The fiber-reinforced plastics are light in weight and strong. They possess high chemical resistance, better tensile strength, tolerance to temperature, low thermal expansion, and stiffness. Owing to these advantages, they are commonly used wherever a high strength-to-weight ratio is required, particularly in the shipbuilding, aerospace, and automotive industries. The fiber-reinforced plastic recycling market is segmented by product type, recycling technique, and geography. By product type, the market is segmented into glass fiber-reinforced plastic, carbon fiber-reinforced plastic, and other product types. By recycling technique, the market is segmented into thermal/chemical recycling, incineration and co-incineration, and mechanical recycling (size reduction). The report also covers the market size and forecasts for the fiber-reinforced plastic recycling market in 13 countries across the major regions. For each segment, the market sizing and forecast have been done on the basis of volume (ton).

Product Type
Glass Fiber-reinforced Plastic
Carbon Fiber-reinforced Plastic
Other Product Types
Recycling Technique
Thermal/Chemical Recycling
Incineration and Co-incineration
Mechanical Recycling (Size Reduction)
Geography
Asia-Pacific
China
India
Japan
South Korea
Rest of Asia-Pacific
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Italy
Rest of Europe
Rest of the World
South America
Middle-East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Incineration and Co-incineration Recycling Technique is Expected to Dominate the Market

Incineration and co-incineration is the largest segment in terms of recycling techniques. The co-incineration technique dominated the segment due to its growing usage in glass fiber-reinforced plastic (GFRP) recycling.

Incineration is a thermal technique that permits energy to be recovered from waste combustion heat. Heat can be directly utilized or turned into electricity. The air pollution caused by the combustion of FRP scrap is a disadvantage of this technology. The fiber and ash by-product of the combustion (incineration) process is a significant disadvantage as the material would still wind up as landfill debris, with the ash having the potential to become hazardous waste based on chemical analysis.

Furthermore, while converting heat to electricity, only a 35% efficiency rate is achievable. The fibers are not recovered and have a significant negative impact on the environment, as well as a financial loss due to the failure to utilize the precious fibers. Scarp and end-of-life carbon fiber-reinforced plastic (CFRP) and glass fiber-reinforced plastic (GFRP) are currently largely destined for landfill or incineration, as these are the processes used by traditional waste disposal businesses.

The cost of FRP incineration is more compared to landfilling, as both the high calorific content and toxic emissions tend to overload the system. Furthermore, it is not useful for large parts and glass fiber residue, as it can cause process stoppages.

In the case of GFRP incineration, about 50-70% of the residue material is mineral and is left as ash, which needs to be landfilled. Owing to environmental issues, legislative limitations associated with landfilling and incinerating FRP waste, and increasing costs, the usage of and demand for the process are likely to witness a negative impact in the coming years.

Co-incineration, on the other hand, provides for both material and energy recovery. In the co-incineration technique, cement kilns are used for recycling. It is a better, cost-effective option for GFRP waste and offers combined material and energy recovery.

In this process, the size-reduced GFRP waste is fed into the cement kiln as raw material to produce cement clinker and as secondary fuel. The resin burns in the kiln providing energy, and the mineral constituent turns into calcium oxide (the primary component of Portland cement), which acts as a feedstock for the cement clinker. Thus, there is no residue left at the end for GFRP recycling.

However, waste disposal firms have recently changed to complete fiber recovery methods such as thermal, chemical, and other processes, considering problems caused by incineration and co-incineration such as climate change, global warming, and a sustainable alternative and circular economy. This shift is taking place as a result of the significant contribution of studies focusing on the recycling of CFRP and GFRP trash.

Neocomp GmbH, the largest recycler across the world, uses the co-incineration technique to recycle GFRP waste.

Therefore, the aforementioned factors are likely to have an impact on the demand for incineration and co-incineration processes in the future.

Fiber-Reinforced Plastic (FRP) Recycling Market - Segmentation

The European Region is Likely to Dominate the Market

The European region is expected to dominate the global market, owing to the increasing demand from major countries like Germany, Italy, and the United Kingdom, among others.

In European countries, including Germany, landfilling is prohibited, and the adoption of recycled plastics/composites is gaining momentum. The use of such recycled FRPs may majorly be found in the construction, aerospace, and wind power industries.

Wind energy is rapidly becoming Germany's most important energy source, and it is a critical component of countries' global energy transition plans. However, researchers and industries are calling for a more coherent and integrated system of sourcing and recycling procedures to ensure a reliable supply of input materials for their construction and prevent the technology's rapid growth in the context of climate action targets from creating a slew of new environmental challenges.

Recycled FRPs find applications in windmill blades. Wind power is one of the most important drivers of Germany's transition to renewable energy. The biggest number of decommissioned blades is expected to be found in Germany and Spain, followed by Denmark. Lufthansa permanently decommissioned more than 40 aircraft and axed its Germanwings low-cost arm.

Wind Europe has advocated for a waste ban on obsolete wind turbine blades throughout Europe by 2025. The wind business in Europe is aggressively committed to reusing, recycling, or recovering 100% of decommissioned blades. This follows the announcement of ambitious blade recycling and recovery plans by numerous industry-leading companies. A landfill ban may hasten the development of environment-friendly recycling technology.

Furthermore, Italy is active in the FRP recycling market, as it has an established pilot plant for this activity, and the other major plants are shifting toward commercialization. Karborek Recycling Carbon Fibers is a pioneer in Italy and specializes in recycling and recovering carbon fibers. The company's recycled products are majorly used in the aerospace, automotive, industrial, military, and sports industries.

Aeolia Windtech, Aira, Ergowind, IWT, and RG Wind are some wind turbine manufacturers in Italy. According to the Offshore Renewable Energy Catapult, in Italy, projected onshore wind turbine decommissioning is expected to be about 8 GW by 2050. These rising decommissions of wind turbines may increase the amount of FRP waste from the wind sector.

Moreover, in the United Kingdom, recycling glass-reinforced polymer (GRP) composites are done at a very low scale in the country, most of which is in-house activity production volume. The construction and wind energy sectors dominate the usage of recycled FRPs in the country.

Glass fiber-reinforced plastic (GFRP) contributes to 6,200 metric ton of production waste in the country. With so much FRP waste currently going to landfills, recycling solutions for composites is necessary.

Landfilling in the country stands at around 35% for carbon fiber and 67% for glass fiber, with only 20% of carbon fiber and 13% of glass fiber being recycled and only a small amount of that being reused, i.e., 2% for carbon fiber and 6% for glass fiber.

According to the Offshore Renewable Energy Catapult, in the United Kingdom, projected offshore wind turbine decommissioning is 19 GW, and projected onshore wind turbine decommissioning is about 25 GW by 2050. These rising decommissions of wind turbines increase the amount of FRP waste from the wind sector.

All the above-mentioned factors are likely to significantly impact the demand in the market in the years to come.

Fiber-Reinforced Plastic (FRP) Recycling Market - Regional Trend

Competitive Landscape

The fiber-reinforced plastic (FRP) recycling market is highly fragmented in nature. The major recycling companies partner with composites and OEM manufacturers to collect the waste and recycle it. Some of the major recycling companies (not in a particular order) include Toray Industries Inc., Vartega Inc., Gen 2 Carbon Limited, Ucomposites AS, and Carbon Conversions, among others.

Recent Developments

  • In October 2021, Vartega Inc. signed an MoU with Aditya Birla Advanced Materials to develop downstream applications for composite materials based on Aditya Birla’s patented Recyclamine Technology.
  • In May 2021, Procotex Corp. acquired the short carbon fiber business of ELG Carbon Recycling UK to improve production capacity.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Drivers

      1. 4.1.1 Growing Accumulation of Composite Waste

      2. 4.1.2 Other Drivers

    2. 4.2 Restraints

    3. 4.3 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products and Services

      5. 4.4.5 Degree of Competition

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Product Type

      1. 5.1.1 Glass Fiber-reinforced Plastic

      2. 5.1.2 Carbon Fiber-reinforced Plastic

      3. 5.1.3 Other Product Types

    2. 5.2 Recycling Technique

      1. 5.2.1 Thermal/Chemical Recycling

      2. 5.2.2 Incineration and Co-incineration

      3. 5.2.3 Mechanical Recycling (Size Reduction)

    3. 5.3 Geography

      1. 5.3.1 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.3.1.1 China

        2. 5.3.1.2 India

        3. 5.3.1.3 Japan

        4. 5.3.1.4 South Korea

        5. 5.3.1.5 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      2. 5.3.2 North America

        1. 5.3.2.1 United States

        2. 5.3.2.2 Canada

        3. 5.3.2.3 Mexico

      3. 5.3.3 Europe

        1. 5.3.3.1 Germany

        2. 5.3.3.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.3.3.3 France

        4. 5.3.3.4 Italy

        5. 5.3.3.5 Rest of Europe

      4. 5.3.4 Rest of the World

        1. 5.3.4.1 South America

        2. 5.3.4.2 Middle-East and Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Mergers and Acquisitions, Joint Ventures, Collaborations, and Agreements

    2. 6.2 Producer Recycler Partnerships

    3. 6.3 Strategies Adopted by Leading Players

    4. 6.4 Company Profiles

      1. 6.4.1 Aeron Composite Pvt. Ltd

      2. 6.4.2 Carbon Conversions

      3. 6.4.3 Carbon Fiber Recycle Industry Co. Ltd

      4. 6.4.4 Carbon Fiber Recycling

      5. 6.4.5 Mitsubishi Chemical Advanced Materials GmbH

      6. 6.4.6 Conenor Ltd

      7. 6.4.7 Eco-Wolf Inc.

      8. 6.4.8 Gen 2 Carbon Limited

      9. 6.4.9 Global Fiberglass Solutions

      10. 6.4.10 Karborek Recycling Carbon Fibers​

      11. 6.4.11 MCR Mixt Composites Recyclables

      12. 6.4.12 Neocomp GmbH

      13. 6.4.13 Procotex​

      14. 6.4.14 ReFiber ApS

      15. 6.4.15 The Japan Carbon Fiber Manufacturers Association

      16. 6.4.16 Ucomposites AS

      17. 6.4.17 Vartega Inc.

      18. 6.4.18 Toray industries Inc.

    5. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

    1. 7.1 Continuous Developments in the Field of Recycling Composites

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Fiber-reinforced Plastic (FRP) Recycling Market market is studied from 2017 - 2027.

The Fiber-reinforced Plastic (FRP) Recycling Market is growing at a CAGR of 9.34% over the next 5 years.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

Europe holds highest share in 2021.

Ucomposites AS , Gen 2 Carbon Limited, Carbon Conversions, Vartega Inc, Toray Industries Inc. are the major companies operating in Fiber-reinforced Plastic (FRP) Recycling Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!