Marché du carton-caisse – Croissance, tendances, impact du COVID-19 et prévisions (2023-2028)

Le marché du carton-caisse est segmenté par matériau (fibres vierges, fibres recyclées et fibres vierges + recyclées), type (kraftliners, testliners et cannelures), utilisateur final vertical (aliments et boissons, biens de consommation et industriels) et géographie ( Amérique du Nord, Europe, Asie-Pacifique, Amérique du Sud, Moyen-Orient et Afrique).

Aperçu du marché

Containerboard Market Overview
Study Period: 2018 - 2026
Fastest Growing Market: North America
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 4.5 %

Major Players

Containerboard Market Key Players

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

setting-icon

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Aperçu du marché

Le marché du carton-caisse était évalué à 167,2 milliards USD en 2020, et il devrait atteindre 239,6 milliards USD d'ici 2026, avec un TCAC de 4,5 % sur la période de prévision (2021 - 2026). Le carton ondulé gagne en popularité dans l'industrie mondiale de l'emballage. C'est le matériau d'emballage le plus fréquemment utilisé en raison de sa polyvalence, de sa légèreté et de sa durabilité. De plus, il est fabriqué à partir d'une ressource renouvelable. C'est aussi le matériau d'emballage le plus recyclé. Le marché mondial du carton ondulé devrait croître de manière significative au cours de la période de prévision, principalement en raison de l'augmentation des expéditions de boîtes en carton ondulé et des expéditions de commerce électronique, de l'augmentation de la demande d'aliments emballés et des entreprises, et de l'évolution des consommateurs vers des solutions d'emballage recyclables.

  • Les États-Unis sont l'un des acteurs majeurs du marché étudié. La fabrication et la demande croissantes de carton-caisse dans le pays développent davantage le marché étudié. On s'attend à ce que les expéditions de boîtes aux États-Unis augmentent en moyenne de 2,7 % par an, entre 2018 et 2020.
  • Selon Berg Mill Supply, un fournisseur de matériaux recyclés basé aux États-Unis, la capacité de production de carton-caisse aux États-Unis est estimée à un total de 11,6 %, soit 4,45 millions de tonnes métriques d'ici 2021. Par exemple, en 2017, environ 66 % de la distribution de la production de carton ondulé en Amérique du Nord était constituée de fibres vierges + recyclées.
  • La disponibilité de solutions d'emballage alternatives est l'un des facteurs importants qui devraient freiner la croissance du marché étudié. Cependant, les préoccupations environnementales croissantes et les gouvernements poussant les entreprises d'emballage à adopter des matériaux recyclables pour l'emballage offrent une énorme opportunité pour le marché étudié au cours de la période de prévision.

Portée du rapport

Le carton ondulé est le matériau utilisé pour fabriquer des boîtes en carton ondulé, généralement appelées carton. C'est le matériau d'emballage le plus utilisé car il est polyvalent, léger, solide et fabriqué à partir de ressources renouvelables. C'est aussi le seul matériau d'emballage le plus recyclé. Par exemple, en 2017, 88,8 % des emballages en carton ondulé ont été récupérés pour être réutilisés.

By Material
Virgin Fibers
Recycled Fibers
Virgin + Recycled Fibers
By Type
Kraftliners
Testliners
Flutings
Other Types (White Top, etc.)
By End User
Food and Beverage
Consumer Goods
Industrial
Other End Users
By Geography
North America
Europe
Asia Pacific
South America
Middle-East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Principales tendances du marché

La demande d'aliments prêts à manger et emballés est en hausse

  • La demande d'aliments prêts-à-manger et emballés est en hausse, en raison du mode de vie trépidant des gens. Ainsi, les aliments transformés, dont le temps de cuisson est plus rapide, attirent de nombreux consommateurs. L'augmentation de la population jeune, en particulier des femmes qui travaillent, stimule également la demande d'aliments emballés, entraînant ainsi le marché étudié. Chaque année, les consommateurs brésiliens mangent ou boivent hors de chez eux (OOH) en moyenne 68 fois. En 2017, le marché OOH au Brésil représentait 11 milliards USD, dont l'achat de nourriture et de boissons représentait près de 50%.
  • Selon Napco National, une entreprise d'emballage saoudienne, l'essor des plats prêts à manger (RTE) et des plats à emporter façonne l'avenir des tendances en matière d'emballage des aliments et des boissons en Arabie saoudite. Comme les emballages en carton ondulé éloignent l'humidité des produits alimentaires et peuvent supporter de longs délais d'expédition, ils sont de plus en plus adoptés par les entreprises du secteur alimentaire et des boissons pour offrir de meilleurs résultats aux clients.
  • La croissance de l'industrie des boissons devrait être tirée par la forte consommation de lait et de lait UHT, et les boissons laitières et RTD qui adoptent de plus en plus les emballages en papier, alimentées par des tendances de consommation favorables dans les boissons de bien-être premium prêtes à boire et la différenciation des produits avantages. Aux Émirats arabes unis, Ipack, propriété d'Emirates Business Group, est la première usine du genre dans le pays et l'une des rares du CCG à produire des emballages en carton pour un remplissage aseptique.
Containerboard Market Key Trends

L'Amérique du Nord est l'un des marchés les plus importants du marché mondial des cartons-caisses

  • Les États-Unis sont l'un des principaux exportateurs mondiaux de carton pour conteneurs, en particulier de conteneurs en carton ondulé et de kraftliners. Les coûts des matériaux et de fabrication dans le pays sont moins chers que dans les autres régions. La préoccupation du pays pour le développement durable est également un facteur pour la fabrication de cartons d'emballage de haute qualité. La prise de conscience et les initiatives croissantes concernant le processus de recyclage incitent également les vendeurs à augmenter leurs investissements sur le marché étudié. Le pays compte 20 % d'arbres en plus qu'en 1970.
  • Selon l'American Forest & Paper Association, 88,8 % des contenants en carton ondulé ont été récupérés pour être recyclés en 2017 dans le pays. Plus de la moitié des fibres récupérées utilisées dans la fabrication du carton et du papier entrent dans la fabrication du carton-caisse. Les volumes de ventes d'emballages industriels de la région ont également augmenté de façon continue au cours des dernières années, reflétant des expéditions plus élevées de boîtes et des expéditions plus élevées de carton-caisse vers les marchés d'exportation.
  • Le nombre croissant d'expéditions dans l'industrie du commerce électronique dans la région est également un facteur important de la demande croissante de carton-caisse. Selon le département américain du Commerce, les détaillants en ligne aux États-Unis ont généré 121,460 milliards de dollars sur le Web au troisième trimestre 2018, soit une augmentation de 14,3 % par rapport à la même période l'an dernier. De plus, la valeur des ventes au détail d'aliments emballés devrait augmenter de 4 % aux États-Unis d'une année sur l'autre, entre 2018 et 2020, en raison de la sensibilisation, de la disponibilité et de l'abordabilité croissantes.
  • Selon le département américain de l'Agriculture (USDA), la diversification des demandes des consommateurs et les marchés émergents de la région Asie-Pacifique offrent d'énormes opportunités pour les exportations laitières américaines vers les marchés étrangers. International Paper, un important fabricant de carton-caisse aux États-Unis, a vendu environ 13 844 milliers de tonnes courtes de carton-caisse en 2017. De plus, environ 80 % de sa production est convertie au pays en boîtes en carton ondulé et en un autre emballage dans ses 178 usines de conteneurs en Amérique du Nord. .
Containerboard Market Growth Rate

Paysage concurrentiel

Le marché du carton ondulé est modérément concurrentiel et comprend de nombreux acteurs majeurs. En termes de part de marché, peu d'acteurs majeurs dominent actuellement le marché. Ces acteurs majeurs détenant une part importante du marché se concentrent sur l'expansion de leur clientèle à travers les pays étrangers. Ces entreprises s'appuient sur des initiatives collaboratives stratégiques pour accroître leur part de marché et accroître leur rentabilité.

  • Janvier 2018 - Le groupe Mondi a acquis Powerflute pour 365 millions d'euros. L'accord d'acquisition de Powerflute exploitait une usine de pâtes et papiers intégrée à Kuopio, en Finlande, et a été initialement signé en décembre 2017. Mondi devrait inclure l'entreprise acquise dans son unité commerciale de papier d'emballage.
  • Juin 2018 - International Paper et le World Wildlife Fund ont collaboré pour développer des objectifs scientifiques pour les forêts et faire progresser la restauration des forêts au Brésil.

Principaux acteurs

  1. Papier international

  2. Oji Fibre Solutions (NZ) Ltd

  3. Nine Dragons Paper (Holdings) Limitée

  4. Groupe Smurfit Kappa

  5. Mondi Limitée

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

International Paper, Oji Fibre Solutions (NZ) Ltd, Nine Dragons Paper (Holdings) Limited, Smurfit Kappa Group, Mondi Limited

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Deliverables

    2. 1.2 Study Assumptions

    3. 1.3 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Introduction to Market Drivers and Restraints

    3. 4.3 Market Drivers

      1. 4.3.1 Increasing Shipments through E-commerce

      2. 4.3.2 Increasing Demand for Processed and Packaged Foods

      3. 4.3.3 Environmental Concerns Leading to the High Demand for Recycled Packaging Solutions

    4. 4.4 Market Restraints

      1. 4.4.1 Availability of Alternative Packaging Solutions

    5. 4.5 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.5.1 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      2. 4.5.2 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      3. 4.5.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.5.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.5.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Material

      1. 5.1.1 Virgin Fibers

      2. 5.1.2 Recycled Fibers

      3. 5.1.3 Virgin + Recycled Fibers

    2. 5.2 By Type

      1. 5.2.1 Kraftliners

      2. 5.2.2 Testliners

      3. 5.2.3 Flutings

      4. 5.2.4 Other Types (White Top, etc.)

    3. 5.3 By End User

      1. 5.3.1 Food and Beverage

      2. 5.3.2 Consumer Goods

      3. 5.3.3 Industrial

      4. 5.3.4 Other End Users

    4. 5.4 By Geography

      1. 5.4.1 North America

      2. 5.4.2 Europe

      3. 5.4.3 Asia Pacific

      4. 5.4.4 South America

      5. 5.4.5 Middle-East and Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 International Paper

      2. 6.1.2 Oji Fibre Solutions (NZ) Ltd

      3. 6.1.3 Nine Dragons Paper (Holdings) Limited

      4. 6.1.4 Smurfit Kappa Group

      5. 6.1.5 Mondi Limited

      6. 6.1.6 Sappi Ltd

      7. 6.1.7 WestRock Company

      8. 6.1.8 Cascades Inc.

      9. 6.1.9 Stora Enso Oyj

      10. 6.1.10 Svenska Cellulosa Aktiebolaget SCA

      11. 6.1.11 Mitsubishi Corporation Packaging Ltd

      12. 6.1.12 Georgia-Pacific LLC

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  8. 8. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Subject to Availability
You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Le marché du carton plat est étudié de 2018 à 2028.

Le marché du carton-caisse croît à un TCAC de 4,5 % au cours des 5 prochaines années.

L'Amérique du Nord affiche le TCAC le plus élevé de 2018 à 2028.

L'Amérique du Nord détient la part la plus élevée en 2021.

International Paper, Oji Fiber Solutions (NZ) Ltd, Nine Dragons Paper (Holdings) Limited, Smurfit Kappa Group, Mondi Limited sont les principales entreprises opérant sur le marché du carton-caisse.

close-icon
80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Containerboard Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2021 - 2026)

The Containerboard Market is Segmented by Material (Virgin Fibers, Recycled Fibers, and Virgin + Recycled Fibers), Type (Kraftliners, Testliners, and Flutings), End-user Vertical (Food and Beverage, Consumer Goods, and Industrial), and Geography (North America, Europe, Asia Pacific, South America, and Middle-East and Africa).

Market Snapshot

Containerboard Market Overview
Study Period: 2018 - 2026
Base Year: 2020
Fastest Growing Market: North America
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 4.5 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The containerboard market was valued at USD 167.2 billion in 2020, and it is expected to reach USD 239.6 billion by 2026, at a CAGR of 4.5% over the forecast period (2021 - 2026). Containerboard is gaining popularity in the global packaging industry. It is the most frequently used packaging material due to its versatility, lightweight, and durability. Moreover, it is made from a renewable resource. It is also the single most-recycled packaging material. The global containerboard market is expected to grow significantly over the forecast period, mainly due to increasing corrugated box shipments and e-commerce shipments, increasing demand for packaged food and companies, and the consumers shifting toward recyclable packaging solutions.

  • The United States is one of the major players in the market studied. The increasing manufacturing and demand for containerboard in the country are further developing the market studied. It is expected that the US box shipments would increase by an average of 2.7% annually, between 2018 and 2020.
  • According to Berg Mill Supply, a US-based recycled material supplier, the containerboard capacity in the United States is estimated to account for a total of 11.6%, i.e., 4.45 million metric ton by 2021. For instance, in 2017, about 66% of the distribution of containerboard production in North America was of virgin + recycled fibers.
  • Availability of alternative packaging solutions is one of the significant factors expected to restrain the growth of the market studied. However, increasing environmental concerns and governments pushing the packaging firms toward adopting recyclable materials for packaging offer a massive opportunity for the market studied over the forecast period.

Scope of the Report

Containerboard is the material used to manufacture corrugated boxes – usually known as cardboard. It is the most repeatedly used packaging material since it is versatile, lightweight, strong, and made from renewable resources. It is also the only most-recycled packaging material. For example, in 2017, 88.8% of corrugated containers were recovered for reuse.

By Material
Virgin Fibers
Recycled Fibers
Virgin + Recycled Fibers
By Type
Kraftliners
Testliners
Flutings
Other Types (White Top, etc.)
By End User
Food and Beverage
Consumer Goods
Industrial
Other End Users
By Geography
North America
Europe
Asia Pacific
South America
Middle-East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

The Demand for Ready-to-Eat and Packaged Foods is on the Rise

  • The demand for ready-to-eat and packaged foods is on the rise, due to the busy lifestyles of people. Hence, processed food, which has a faster cooking time, attracts many consumers. The increasing young population, especially working women, also drives the demand for packaged food, hence, driving the market studied. Each year, Brazilian consumers eat or drink out-of-home (OOH) an average of 68 times. In 2017, the OOH market in Brazil accounted for USD 11 billion, in which the purchase of food and beverage represented almost 50%.
  • According to Napco National, a Saudi Arabian packaging firm, the rise of ready-to-eat (RTE) and grab-and-go meals are shaping the future of Saudi Arabia’s food and beverage packaging trends. As corrugated board packaging keeps moisture away from food products and can withstand long shipping times, it is increasingly being adopted by food and beverage companies to offer better outcomes to customers.
  • The growth of the beverage industry is expected to be driven by the high consumption of milk and UHT milk, and dairy and RTD beverages that are increasingly adopting paper packaging, fueled by favorable consumption trends in ready-to-drink premium wellness beverages and product differentiation advantages. In the United Arab Emirates, the Emirates Business Group-owned Ipack is the first of a kind factory in the country and one of the very few in the GCC to produce paperboard packaging for aseptic filling use.
Containerboard Market Growth

North America is One of the Most Prominent Markets in the Global Containerboard Market

  • The United States is one of the major global exporters of containerboard, especially corrugated containers and kraftliners. The material and manufacturing costs in the country are cheaper, as compared to that in the other regions. The country’s concern for sustainable development is also a factor for high containerboard manufacturing. The increasing awareness and initiatives regarding the recycling process are also motivating the vendors to increase their investments in the market studied. The country has 20% more trees than it had in 1970.
  • According to the American Forest & Paper Association, 88.8% of corrugated containers were recovered for recycling in 2017 in the country. More than half of the recovered fibers used in manufacturing paperboard and paper go into making containerboard. The region’s sales volumes in industrial packaging are also continuously increasing over the past few years, reflecting higher box shipments and higher shipments of containerboard to the export markets.
  • The increasing number of shipments in the e-commerce industry in the region is also a significant factor for the increasing demand for containerboard. According to the US Department of Commerce, the online retailers in the United States generated USD 121.460 billion on the web in Q3 2018, a 14.3% increase, as compared to that in the same period last year. Additionally, the retail value sales of packaged foods are expected to increase by 4% in the United States Y-o-Y, between 2018 and 2020, due to the increasing awareness, availability, and affordability.
  • According to the US Department of Agriculture (USDA), diversifying consumer demands and emerging markets in the Asia-Pacific region offer massive opportunities for US dairy exports in markets abroad. International Paper, a major manufacturer of containerboard in the United States, sold around 13,844 thousand of short ton of containerboard in 2017. Additionally, about 80% of its production is converted domestically into corrugated boxes and another packaging at its 178 container plants across North America.
Containerboard Market Share

Competitive Landscape

The containerboard market is moderately competitive and consists of many major players. In terms of market share, few of the major players currently dominate the market. These major players with a prominent share in the market are focusing on expanding their customer base across foreign countries. These companies are leveraging on strategic collaborative initiatives to increase their market share and increase their profitability.

  • January 2018 - Mondi Group acquired Powerflute for EUR 365 million. The agreement to acquire Powerflute operated an integrated pulp and paper mill in Kuopio, Finland, and was initially signed in December 2017. Mondi is expected to include the acquired business in its packaging paper business unit.
  • June 2018 - International Paper and World Wildlife Fund collaborated to develop science-based targets for forests and advance forest restoration in Brazil.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Deliverables

    2. 1.2 Study Assumptions

    3. 1.3 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Introduction to Market Drivers and Restraints

    3. 4.3 Market Drivers

      1. 4.3.1 Increasing Shipments through E-commerce

      2. 4.3.2 Increasing Demand for Processed and Packaged Foods

      3. 4.3.3 Environmental Concerns Leading to the High Demand for Recycled Packaging Solutions

    4. 4.4 Market Restraints

      1. 4.4.1 Availability of Alternative Packaging Solutions

    5. 4.5 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.5.1 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      2. 4.5.2 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      3. 4.5.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.5.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.5.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Material

      1. 5.1.1 Virgin Fibers

      2. 5.1.2 Recycled Fibers

      3. 5.1.3 Virgin + Recycled Fibers

    2. 5.2 By Type

      1. 5.2.1 Kraftliners

      2. 5.2.2 Testliners

      3. 5.2.3 Flutings

      4. 5.2.4 Other Types (White Top, etc.)

    3. 5.3 By End User

      1. 5.3.1 Food and Beverage

      2. 5.3.2 Consumer Goods

      3. 5.3.3 Industrial

      4. 5.3.4 Other End Users

    4. 5.4 By Geography

      1. 5.4.1 North America

      2. 5.4.2 Europe

      3. 5.4.3 Asia Pacific

      4. 5.4.4 South America

      5. 5.4.5 Middle-East and Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 International Paper

      2. 6.1.2 Oji Fibre Solutions (NZ) Ltd

      3. 6.1.3 Nine Dragons Paper (Holdings) Limited

      4. 6.1.4 Smurfit Kappa Group

      5. 6.1.5 Mondi Limited

      6. 6.1.6 Sappi Ltd

      7. 6.1.7 WestRock Company

      8. 6.1.8 Cascades Inc.

      9. 6.1.9 Stora Enso Oyj

      10. 6.1.10 Svenska Cellulosa Aktiebolaget SCA

      11. 6.1.11 Mitsubishi Corporation Packaging Ltd

      12. 6.1.12 Georgia-Pacific LLC

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  8. 8. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Containerboard Market market is studied from 2018 - 2026.

The Containerboard Market is growing at a CAGR of 4.5% over the next 5 years.

North America is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

North America holds highest share in 2020.

International Paper, Oji Fibre Solutions (NZ) Ltd, Nine Dragons Paper (Holdings) Limited, Smurfit Kappa Group, Mondi Limited are the major companies operating in Containerboard Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!