سوق المعادن الأساسية - النمو والاتجاهات وتأثير COVID-19 والتوقعات (2022-2027)

يتم تقسيم السوق حسب النوع (النحاس والزنك والرصاص والنيكل والألمنيوم والقصدير) وصناعة المستخدم النهائي (البناء والسيارات والنقل والكهرباء والإلكترونيات والمنتجات الاستهلاكية والأجهزة الطبية وغيرها) والجغرافيا (آسيا - المحيط الهادئ وأمريكا الشمالية وأوروبا وأمريكا الجنوبية والشرق الأوسط وأفريقيا). يقدم التقرير حجم السوق والتنبؤات للمعادن الأساسية في الإيرادات (مليون دولار أمريكي) لجميع القطاعات المذكورة أعلاه.

لقطة السوق

base metals market overview
Study Period: 2016 - 2026
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: Asia Pacific
CAGR: 5 %
base metals market key players

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

نظرة عامة على السوق

من المتوقع أن يسجل السوق العالمي للمعادن الأساسية معدل نمو سنوي مركب يبلغ حوالي 5٪ خلال فترة التنبؤ (2021-2026).

تأثر إنتاج المعادن بجائحة COVID-19 وتعطل الإنتاج الصناعي بسبب لوائح الإغلاق ونقص العمال وإمدادات المواد الخام. منذ بداية عام 2020 ، شهدت جميع المعادن الأساسية انخفاضًا كبيرًا في الأسعار حيث أدى التأثير الاقتصادي للوباء إلى تقليل الاستهلاك عبر صناعة المعادن والتعدين وخلق قدرًا كبيرًا من عدم اليقين. وفقًا لمؤتمر الصين الدولي الخامس عشر لسلسلة صناعة النحاس ، تقلص إنتاج منجم النحاس العالمي بنسبة 0.3٪ في عام 2020 ، وانخفضت واردات الصين من خام النيكل بنسبة 70٪ على أساس سنوي في أبريل 2020 ، وفقًا لسوق شنغهاي للمعادن. صناعات المستخدم النهائي الرئيسية للمعادن الأساسية مثل البناء والسيارات وتأثر النقل أيضًا سلبًا بسبب لوائح الإغلاق بسبب COVID-19 مما أثر سلبًا على السوق المدروسة. شهدت صناعة السيارات العالمية انخفاضًا في المبيعات في عام 2020 حيث بلغ 78 مليون وحدة تقريبًا ، أي أقل بكثير من 90.4 مليون وحدة تم بيعها في عام 2019. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، أثر انخفاض الطلب من صناعة البناء على التوقف عن العمل ونقص العمالة ، على الطلب على المعادن الأساسية. ومع ذلك ، من المتوقع أن تتعافى الحالة في عام 2021 ، مما سيعيد مسار نمو السوق المدروس خلال فترة التنبؤ. أثرت على الطلب على المعادن الأساسية. ومع ذلك ، من المتوقع أن تتعافى الحالة في عام 2021 ، مما سيعيد مسار نمو السوق المدروس خلال فترة التنبؤ. أثرت على الطلب على المعادن الأساسية. ومع ذلك ، من المتوقع أن تتعافى الحالة في عام 2021 ، مما سيعيد مسار نمو السوق المدروس خلال فترة التنبؤ.

  • على المدى المتوسط ​​، كان العامل الرئيسي الذي يقود نمو السوق المدروسة هو الطلب المتزايد من صناعة البناء.
  • على الجانب الآخر ، تعيق اللوائح الصارمة المرتبطة بالتعدين والتأثير السلبي لوباء COVID-19 نمو السوق.
  • يمكن أن توفر زيادة الطلب من قطاع إنتاج السيارات الكهربائية فرصًا مختلفة لنمو السوق.
  • من المتوقع أن تهيمن منطقة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ على السوق ، بأكبر استهلاك من الصين.

نطاق التقرير

تعتبر المعادن الأساسية من المعادن الشائعة ، والتي لا تعتبر ثمينة مثل النحاس والزنك والقصدير وما إلى ذلك. يتم تقسيم سوق المعادن الأساسية حسب النوع وصناعة المستخدم النهائي والجغرافيا. حسب النوع ، يتم تقسيم السوق إلى النحاس والزنك والرصاص والنيكل والألمنيوم والقصدير. من خلال صناعة المستخدم النهائي ، يتم تقسيم السوق إلى البناء والسيارات والنقل والكهرباء والإلكترونيات والمنتجات الاستهلاكية والأجهزة الطبية وغيرها. يغطي التقرير أيضًا حجم السوق والتنبؤات لسوق المعادن الأساسية في 15 دولة عبر المناطق الرئيسية. بالنسبة لكل قطاع ، تم تحديد حجم السوق والتنبؤات على أساس الإيرادات (مليون دولار أمريكي).

Type
Copper
Zinc
Lead
Nickel
Aluminum
Tin
End-user Industry
Construction
Automotive and Transportation
Electrical and Electronics
Consumer Products
Medical Devices
Others
Geography
Asia-Pacific
China
India
Japan
South Korea
Rest of Asia-Pacific
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Italy
Rest of Europe
South America
Brazil
Argentina
Rest of South America
Middle-East and Africa
Saudi Arabia
South Africa
Rest of Middle-East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

اتجاهات السوق الرئيسية

تزايد الطلب من صناعة البناء

  • تم اختيار المعادن الأساسية المستخدمة في صناعة البناء نظرًا لقوة تحملها وقوتها ، وهي تخدم مجموعة واسعة من الوظائف. الأكثر شيوعًا هم الألومنيوم والنحاس.
  • يستخدم الألمنيوم بشكل شائع في صناعة البناء لأنه مقاوم للتآكل ، وموصل عالي ، وقابل للدكتات. نظرًا لمقاومته للظروف الجوية القاسية ، يتم استخدام المعدن في النوافذ والأبواب والأسلاك ، وكذلك في اللافتات الخارجية وأضواء الشوارع. تتم معالجة المعدن إلى صفائح وأنابيب ومسبوكات. مجاري التدفئة والتهوية وتكييف الهواء والأسقف والجدران والمقابض مصنوعة من الألومنيوم. علاوة على ذلك ، كثيرا ما توجد في صناعة البناء.
  • غالبًا ما تستخدم الأنابيب النحاسية لبناء الأنابيب في المباني. النحاس معدن مرن وقابل للطرق ، ومقاوم للتآكل من الماء والتربة. كما أنها قابلة لإعادة التدوير. يتم لحام الأنابيب النحاسية بسهولة ، وتشكيل روابط دائمة. كل هذه الخصائص تجعل هذا المعدن مثاليًا للأنابيب والأنابيب. تعتبر الأنابيب النحاسية الصلبة مثالية لأنابيب مياه الصنبور الساخنة والباردة في المباني ، بينما تستخدم الأنابيب النحاسية اللينة بشكل متكرر لصنع خطوط التبريد في أنظمة التدفئة والتهوية وتكييف الهواء ومضخات الحرارة.
  • ستستمر منطقة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ في احتلال الحصة الأكبر من صناعة البناء العالمية ، مما يشير إلى أكبر منطقة مستهلكة للمعادن الأساسية. ومع ذلك ، فإن وتيرة النمو ستتباطأ ، بالنظر إلى التباطؤ الناجم عن جائحة COVID-19.
  • تشهد الصين طفرة عملاقة في مجال البناء. تمتلك الدولة أكبر سوق للبناء في العالم ، حيث تشكل 20٪ من إجمالي استثمارات البناء على مستوى العالم. من المتوقع أن تنفق الدولة وحدها ما يقرب من 13 تريليون دولار أمريكي على المباني بحلول عام 2030.
  • في الهند ، بلغ الاستثمار الأجنبي المباشر (FDI) في قطاع تطوير البناء (البلدات ، والإسكان ، والبنية التحتية المبنية ، ومشاريع تطوير البناء) في الفترة من أبريل 2000 إلى ديسمبر 2019 ، 25.37 مليار دولار أمريكي ، وفقًا لوزارة تعزيز الصناعة. والتجارة الداخلية (DPIIT).
  • ستكون صناعة البناء في أمريكا الشمالية مدفوعة بالأنشطة في الولايات المتحدة. تشمل مشاريع البنية التحتية الرئيسية في الولايات المتحدة التي من المتوقع أن تكتمل خلال فترة التوقعات مطار بالتيمور واشنطن ، مطار دالاس فورت وورث ، مطار سي أولومبوس ، ملاهي دريمبورت فيليدجز ، تي إس إكس برودواي ، إلخ.
  • في كندا ، تدعم العديد من المشاريع الحكومية ، مثل خطة البناء الجديد في كندا (NBCP) ومبادرة الإسكان الميسر (AHI) ، نمو هذا القطاع. من المتوقع أن تتعافى صناعة البناء في كندا بحلول الربع الرابع من عام 2021 ، ومن المتوقع أن تسجل نموًا معتدلاً خلال فترة التوقعات ، والذي من المرجح أن يؤدي إلى زيادة الطلب على المعادن الأساسية خلال فترة التوقعات. كجزء من "الاستثمار في خطة كندا ، تخطط الحكومة لاستثمار ما يقرب من 140 مليار دولار أمريكي لتطويرات البنية التحتية الرئيسية في البلاد بحلول عام 2028. في 2019-20 ، كانت الحكومة تخطط للموافقة على استثمارات بقيمة 5.6 مليار دولار أمريكي لمشاريع البنية التحتية الجديدة في البلاد.
  • من المتوقع أن تكون منطقة الشرق الأوسط وأفريقيا المنطقة الأسرع نموًا. عانت دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي من ضعف أسعار النفط في السنوات الأخيرة ، مما أدى إلى انخفاض كبير في الإيرادات الحكومية. مع ارتفاع أسعار النفط ، ستكون الاستثمارات واسعة النطاق في مشاريع البنية التحتية قوة دافعة رئيسية لنمو قطاع البناء في المنطقة.
  • بسبب جميع العوامل المذكورة أعلاه ، من المتوقع أن يرتفع الطلب على المعادن الأساسية خلال فترة التنبؤ.
base metals market key trends

منطقة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ للسيطرة على السوق

  • من المتوقع أن تكون منطقة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ أكبر سوق للمعادن الأساسية خلال فترة التنبؤ. تعد الاستثمارات المتزايدة في صناعة البناء ، وزيادة إنتاج الكهرباء والإلكترونيات ، والطلب المتزايد على المعدات الثقيلة ، مع قيام الشركات متعددة الجنسيات بالاستثمار في القطاع الصناعي ، من العوامل الرئيسية التي تدفع الطلب على المعادن الأساسية في المنطقة.
  • برزت الصين كأكبر سوق بناء في العالم. نظرًا لأن الحكومة خططت للتركيز على تحسين البنية التحتية في المدن الصغيرة والمتوسطة الحجم ، كان من المتوقع أن تحافظ صناعة البناء على نمو مستمر يبلغ حوالي 5 ٪ سنويًا. تستثمر الدولة 1.43 تريليون دولار أمريكي في السنوات الخمس المقبلة حتى عام 2025 في مشاريع البناء الكبرى. وفقًا للجنة الوطنية للتنمية والإصلاح (NDRC) ، تتضمن خطة شنغهاي استثمارًا بقيمة 38.7 مليار دولار أمريكي في السنوات الثلاث المقبلة ، بينما وقعت مدينة قوانغتشو 16 مشروعًا جديدًا للبنية التحتية باستثمارات تبلغ 8.09 مليار دولار أمريكي.
  • من المتوقع أن تستمر التركيبة السكانية في الصين في تحفيز النمو في البناء السكني. من المتوقع أن يستمر ارتفاع مستويات الدخل الأسري المقترن بالسكان المهاجرين من المناطق الريفية إلى المناطق الحضرية في دفع الطلب على قطاع البناء السكني في البلاد.
  • الصين هي أيضا أكبر مصنع للسيارات في العالم. على الرغم من تراجع سوق السيارات الصيني في عام 2019 ، شهد قطاع السيارات الكهربائية نموًا هائلاً. في أبريل 2020 ، أصدرت وزارة المالية في جمهورية الصين الشعبية إشعارًا بشأن طرق تعزيز الدعم المالي للسيارات الكهربائية الجديدة. وذكرت أن المركبات الكهربائية الجديدة التي تم شراؤها بين 1 يناير 2021 و 31 ديسمبر 2022 ستعفى من ضريبة شراء السيارات.
  • الهند ، كانت أكبر سوق لصناعة السيارات. ومع ذلك ، فإن الانخفاض الأخير في صناعة السيارات قد يعيق السوق في البلاد. وفقًا لـ OICA ، في الهند ، بلغ إجمالي عدد المركبات المنتجة في عام 2019 حوالي 4.5 مليون ، وبلغ إجمالي عدد المركبات المباعة حوالي 3.8 مليون. في عام 2020 ، انخفض الإنتاج بنسبة 25٪ إلى 3.4 مليون. Simiraly ، انخفضت المبيعات بنحو 23٪ لتصل إلى 2.9 مليون مقارنة بالعام السابق.
  • علاوة على ذلك ، تدير Indian Railways واحدة من أكبر شبكات السكك الحديدية في العالم ، بطول طريق يبلغ 1.23.236 كيلومترًا و 13.523 قطار ركاب و 9146 قطار شحن ينقل 23 مليون مسافر و 3 ملايين طن من الشحن يوميًا من 7349 محطة. التطورات الأخيرة والمبادرات الحكومية في السكك الحديدية في الهند قد تعزز السوق المدروسة. وفقًا لميزانية الاتحاد 2020-21 ، تم تخصيص وزارة السكك الحديدية 72.216 كرور روبية هندية (10.33 مليار دولار أمريكي). وبالتالي تعزيز سوق المعادن الأساسية في السيارات والنقل.
  • النحاس والقصدير والنيكل والألمنيوم من المعادن الشائعة المستخدمة في صناعة الإلكترونيات. تعد المنطقة الآسيوية أكبر منتج للكهرباء والإلكترونيات في جميع أنحاء العالم مع دول مثل الصين واليابان وكوريا الجنوبية وسنغافورة وماليزيا التي تهيمن على المستوى العالمي.
  • في قطاع الإلكترونيات ، حققت الصين أعلى إيرادات على مستوى العالم بحوالي 173 مليار دولار أمريكي ، وبلغ إجمالي إيرادات المنطقة 227 مليار دولار أمريكي بحلول عام 2019 ومن المتوقع أن تصل إلى 260 مليار دولار أمريكي بحلول عام 2024.
  • في اليابان ، بلغ إجمالي مبيعات الأجهزة الإلكترونية في عام 2019 حوالي 253.6 مليون وحدة محققة إيرادات بلغت 43.38 مليار دولار أمريكي. وفقًا لـ JEITA (الرابطة اليابانية للإلكترونيات وتكنولوجيا المعلومات) ، على الرغم من الأداء القوي لمعدات البنية التحتية للاتصالات السلكية واللاسلكية في عام 2020 ، انخفض الإنتاج المحلي لصناعة الإلكترونيات اليابانية بنسبة 5 ٪ على أساس سنوي إلى 9789.6 مليار ين بسبب الركود في المكونات والأجهزة الإلكترونية للمنتجات المحلية المعدات والسيارات نتيجة COVID-19.
  • وبالتالي ، من المتوقع أن تؤدي كل هذه الاتجاهات والاستثمارات الإيجابية في المنطقة إلى دفع الطلب على المعادن الأساسية خلال فترة التوقعات.
base metals market growth rate

مشهد تنافسي

سوق المعادن الأساسية العالمي مجزأ. تشمل الشركات الكبرى في السوق التي تمت دراستها Glencore و Freeport-McMoRan و Alcoa Corporation و Lundin Mining Corporation و BHP ، من بين آخرين.

اللاعبين الرئيسيين

  1. Glencore

  2. Alcoa Corporation

  3. Lundin Mining Corporation

  4. Freeport-McMoRan

  5. BHP

Glencore, Alcoa Corporation , Lundin Mining Corporation, Freeport-McMoRan, BHP

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Drivers

      1. 4.1.1 Growing Demand from the Construction Industry

      2. 4.1.2 Other Drivers

    2. 4.2 Restraints

      1. 4.2.1 Stringent Regulations associated with Mining

      2. 4.2.2 Negative Impact of COVID-19 Pandemic

    3. 4.3 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers

      3. 4.4.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Degree of Competition

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION (Market Size by Volume)

    1. 5.1 Type

      1. 5.1.1 Copper

      2. 5.1.2 Zinc

      3. 5.1.3 Lead

      4. 5.1.4 Nickel

      5. 5.1.5 Aluminum

      6. 5.1.6 Tin

    2. 5.2 End-user Industry

      1. 5.2.1 Construction

      2. 5.2.2 Automotive and Transportation

      3. 5.2.3 Electrical and Electronics

      4. 5.2.4 Consumer Products

      5. 5.2.5 Medical Devices

      6. 5.2.6 Others

    3. 5.3 Geography

      1. 5.3.1 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.3.1.1 China

        2. 5.3.1.2 India

        3. 5.3.1.3 Japan

        4. 5.3.1.4 South Korea

        5. 5.3.1.5 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      2. 5.3.2 North America

        1. 5.3.2.1 United States

        2. 5.3.2.2 Canada

        3. 5.3.2.3 Mexico

      3. 5.3.3 Europe

        1. 5.3.3.1 Germany

        2. 5.3.3.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.3.3.3 France

        4. 5.3.3.4 Italy

        5. 5.3.3.5 Rest of Europe

      4. 5.3.4 South America

        1. 5.3.4.1 Brazil

        2. 5.3.4.2 Argentina

        3. 5.3.4.3 Rest of South America

      5. 5.3.5 Middle-East and Africa

        1. 5.3.5.1 Saudi Arabia

        2. 5.3.5.2 South Africa

        3. 5.3.5.3 Rest of Middle-East and Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Mergers and Acquisitions, Joint Ventures, Collaborations, and Agreements

    2. 6.2 Market Share (%)**/Ranking Analysis

    3. 6.3 Strategies Adopted by Leading Players

    4. 6.4 Company Profiles

      1. 6.4.1 Alcoa Corporation

      2. 6.4.2 Anglo American plc

      3. 6.4.3 BHP

      4. 6.4.4 Jiangxi Copper Corporation Limited

      5. 6.4.5 Freeport-McMoRan

      6. 6.4.6 Glencore

      7. 6.4.7 Lundin Mining Corporation

      8. 6.4.8 Rio Tinto

      9. 6.4.9 Vale

      10. 6.4.10 Vedanta Resources Limited

    5. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

    1. 7.1 Increasing Demand from Electric Vehicle (EV) Production Sector

    2. 7.2 Other Opportunities

**Subject to Availability
You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

تمت دراسة سوق المعادن الأساسية من 2016 إلى 2026.

ينمو سوق المعادن الأساسية بمعدل نمو سنوي مركب يبلغ 5٪ على مدى السنوات الخمس المقبلة.

تنمو منطقة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ بأعلى معدل نمو سنوي مركب خلال الفترة 2021-2026.

تمتلك منطقة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ أعلى حصة في عام 2021.

Glencore ، Alcoa Corporation ، Lundin Mining Corporation ، Freeport-McMoRan ، BHP هي الشركات الرئيسية العاملة في سوق المعادن الأساسية.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Base Metals Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2021 - 2026)

The market is segmented by type (copper, zinc, lead, nickel, aluminum, and tin), end-user industry (construction, automotive and transportation, electrical and electronics, consumer products, medical devices, and others), and geography (Asia-Pacific, North America, Europe, South America, and Middle-East and Africa). The report offers market size and forecasts for Base Metals in revenue (USD million) for all the above segments.

Market Snapshot

Base Metals Market-Market Summary
Study Period:

2016 - 2026

Base Year:

2020

Fastest Growing Market:

Asia Pacific

Largest Market:

Asia Pacific

CAGR:

5 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The Global Base Metals Market is projected to register a CAGR of around 5% during the forecast period (2021-2026).

Metals production has been impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic and its disruption of industrial production due to lockdown regulations, shortage of workers, and raw material supply. Since the beginning of the year 2020, the base metals have all seen significant price drops as the pandemic's economic impact has reduced consumption across the metals and mining industry and created a great deal of uncertainty. According to the 15th China International Copper Industry Chain Conference, the global copper mine production shrinked by 0.3% in 2020, and China's nickel ore imports dropped 70% y-o-y in April 2020, according to Shanghai Metals Market. The major end-user industries of base metals such as construction, automobile, and transportation were also negatively impacted by the lockdown regulations due to COVID-19 thus negatively impacting the market studied. Global automotive industry wintnessed a decline in sales in 2020 which was appromixately 78 million units, much below 90.4 million units sold in 2019. Additionally, reduced demand from construction industry owning to work stoppages and labour shortages, has impacted the demand of base metals. However, the condition is expected to recover in 2021, which will restore the growth trajectory of market studied over the forecast period.

  • Over the medium term, the major factor driving the growth of the market studied is the increasing demand from the construction industry.
  • On the flip side, stringent regulations associated with mining and negative impact of COVID-19 pandemic are hindering the market’s growth.
  • Increasing demand from the electric vehicle (EV) production sector can offer various opportunities for the market’s growth.
  • The Asia-Pacific region is expected to dominate the market, with the largest consumption from China.

Scope of the Report

Base metals are considered as common metals, which are not considered precious such as cooper, zinc, tin, etc. The base metals market is segmented by type, end-user industry, and geography. By type, the market is segmented into copper, zinc, lead, nickel, aluminum, and tin. By end-user industry, the market is segmented into construction, automotive and transportation, electrical and electronics, consumer products, medical devices, and others. The report also covers the market size and forecasts for the Base Metals Market in 15 countries across major regions. For each segment, the market sizing and forecasts have been done on the basis of revenue (USD million).

Type
Copper
Zinc
Lead
Nickel
Aluminum
Tin
End-user Industry
Construction
Automotive and Transportation
Electrical and Electronics
Consumer Products
Medical Devices
Others
Geography
Asia-Pacific
China
India
Japan
South Korea
Rest of Asia-Pacific
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Italy
Rest of Europe
South America
Brazil
Argentina
Rest of South America
Middle-East and Africa
Saudi Arabia
South Africa
Rest of Middle-East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Growing Demand from the Construction Industry

  • Chosen for their durability and strength, base metals used in the construction industry serve a wide range of functions. The most common of them are aluminum and copper.
  • Aluminum is commonly used in the construction industry because it is resistant to corrosion, highly conductive, and ductile. Due to its resistance to harsh weather, the metal is used in windows, doors, and wire, as well as outdoor signage and street lights.  The metal is processed into sheets, tubes, and castings. HVAC ducts, roofs, walling, and handles are made of aluminum. Furthermore, they are frequently found in the construction industry.
  • Copper-based tubing is often used to construct pipes in buildings. Copper is a ductile and malleable metal, and it is resistant to corrosion from water and soil. It is also recyclable. Copper tubing is easily soldered, forming lasting bonds. All of these properties make this metal ideal for piping and tubing. Rigid copper tubing is ideal for hot and cold tap water pipes in buildings, while soft copper tubing is frequently used to make refrigerant lines in HVAC systems and heat pumps.
  • The Asia-Pacific region will continue to account for the largest share of the global construction industry, indicating the largest consuming region for base metals. However, the pace of growth will slow, given the slowdown due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • China is in the midst of a construction mega-boom. The country has the largest building market in the world, making up 20% of all construction investment globally. The country alone is expected to spend nearly USD 13 trillion on buildings by 2030.
  • In India, Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) received in the construction development sector (townships, housing, built-up infrastructure, and construction development projects) from April 2000 to December 2019 stood at USD 25.37 billion, according to the Department for Promotion of Industry and Internal Trade (DPIIT).
  • The North American construction industry will be driven by activities in the United States. Major infrastructure projects in the United States that are expected to be completed over the forecast period include Baltimore-Washington Airport, Dallas Fort Worth Airport, Columbus Airport, Dreamport Villages Amusement Park, TSX Broadway, etc.
  • In Canada, Various government projects, such as the New Building Canada Plan (NBCP) and Affordable Housing Initiative (AHI), are supporting the sector’s growth. ​The construction industry in Canada is expected to recover by Q4 2021, and it is estimated to post moderate growth over the forecast period, which is likely to create the demand for base metals over the forecast period.​ As a part of the ‘Investing in Canada Plan’, the government is in plans to make an investment of nearly USD 140 billion for major infrastructure developments in the country by 2028. In 2019-20, the government was in plans to approve investments valuing USD 5.6 billion for new infrastructure projects in the country.
  • The Middle East and African region are projected to be the fastest-growing region. Countries in the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) have suffered from the weakness in oil prices in recent years, greatly reducing government revenues. As oil prices pick up, large-scale investments in infrastructure projects will be a key driving force behind the construction sector's growth in the region.
  • Owing to all above mentioned factors, the demand for base metals is expected to surge during the forecast period.
Base Metals Market - Segmentation Trends

To understand key trends, Download Sample Report

Asia-Pacific Region to Dominate the Market

  • The Asia-Pacific region is projected to be the largest market for base metals during the forecast period. The increasing investments in the construction industry, rising electrical and electronics production, and surging demand for heavy equipment, with multinational companies investing in the industrial sector, are some of the major factors driving the demand for base metals in the region.
  • China emerged as the largest construction market in the world. As the government planned to focus on improving the infrastructure in small and medium-sized cities, the construction industry was projected to maintain a continuous growth of around 5%, annually. The country is investing USD 1.43 trillion in the next five year till 2025, in major construction projects. According to National Development and Reform Commission (NDRC), Shanghai plan includes the investment of USD 38.7 billion in next three years, whereas Guangzhou has signed 16 new infrastructure projects with and investment of USD 8.09 billion.
  • Demographics in China is expected to continue to spur the growth in residential construction. Rising household income levels combined with population migrating from rural to urban areas is expected to continue to drive demand for residential construction sector in the country.
  • China is also the largest manufacturer of automobiles in the world. Even though the Chinese automotive market declined in 2019, the electric vehicle segment witnessed huge growth. In April 2020, the Ministry of Finance of the People’s Republic of China has issued a notice on ways to promote financial subsidies for new electric vehicles. It stated that new EVs purchased between January 1, 2021, and December 31, 2022, would be exempted from vehicle purchase tax.
  • India, has been largest market for automobile industry. However, the recent decline in the automotive industry may hinder the market in the country. According to OICA, in India, the total number of vehicles produced in the year 2019 was around 4.5 million and the total number of vehicles sold was around 3.8 million. In 2020, the production declined abot 25% to 3.4 million. Simiraly, sales declined about 23% to 2.9 million over previous year.
  • Furthermore, Indian Railways operates one of the world's largest rail networks, with a route length of 1,23,236 kilometres and 13,523 passenger trains and 9,146 freight trains transporting 23 million passengers and 3 million tonnes of freight per day from 7,349 stations. Recent developments and government initiatives in railways in India may boost the market studied. As per Union Budget 2020-21, Ministry of Railways have been allocated INR 72,216 crore (USD 10.33 billion). Thus boosting the base metals market in automobile and transportation.
  • Copper, tin, nickel, and aluminum are some common metals used by the electronics industry. The Asian region is the largest producer of electrical & electronics across the globe with countries such as China, Japan, South Korea, Singapore, and Malaysia dominating at the global level.
  • In the electronics segment, China generated the highest revenue globally which was around USD 173 billion, and the total revenue of the region amounted to USD 227 billion by 2019 and is expected to reach more the USD 260 billion by 2024.
  • In Japan, total sales of electronic devices in 2019 were about 253.6 million units generating revenue of USD 43.38 billion. According to JEITA (Japan Electronics and Information Technology Association), despite a strong performance by telecommunications infrastructure equipment in 2020, Japanese electronics industry domestic production fell 5% year on year to YEN 9,789.6 billion due to a slump in electronic components and devices for domestically produced equipment and automobiles as a result of COVID-19.
  • Hence, all such favorable trends and investments in the region are expected to drive the demand for base metals during the forecast period.
Base Metals Market - Regional Trend

To understand geography trends, Download Sample Report

Competitive Landscape

The global base metals market is fragmented. The major companies in the market studied include Glencore, Freeport-McMoRan, Alcoa Corporation, Lundin Mining Corporation, and BHP, among others.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Drivers

      1. 4.1.1 Growing Demand from the Construction Industry

      2. 4.1.2 Other Drivers

    2. 4.2 Restraints

      1. 4.2.1 Stringent Regulations associated with Mining

      2. 4.2.2 Negative Impact of COVID-19 Pandemic

    3. 4.3 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers

      3. 4.4.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Degree of Competition

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION (Market Size by Volume)

    1. 5.1 Type

      1. 5.1.1 Copper

      2. 5.1.2 Zinc

      3. 5.1.3 Lead

      4. 5.1.4 Nickel

      5. 5.1.5 Aluminum

      6. 5.1.6 Tin

    2. 5.2 End-user Industry

      1. 5.2.1 Construction

      2. 5.2.2 Automotive and Transportation

      3. 5.2.3 Electrical and Electronics

      4. 5.2.4 Consumer Products

      5. 5.2.5 Medical Devices

      6. 5.2.6 Others

    3. 5.3 Geography

      1. 5.3.1 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.3.1.1 China

        2. 5.3.1.2 India

        3. 5.3.1.3 Japan

        4. 5.3.1.4 South Korea

        5. 5.3.1.5 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      2. 5.3.2 North America

        1. 5.3.2.1 United States

        2. 5.3.2.2 Canada

        3. 5.3.2.3 Mexico

      3. 5.3.3 Europe

        1. 5.3.3.1 Germany

        2. 5.3.3.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.3.3.3 France

        4. 5.3.3.4 Italy

        5. 5.3.3.5 Rest of Europe

      4. 5.3.4 South America

        1. 5.3.4.1 Brazil

        2. 5.3.4.2 Argentina

        3. 5.3.4.3 Rest of South America

      5. 5.3.5 Middle-East and Africa

        1. 5.3.5.1 Saudi Arabia

        2. 5.3.5.2 South Africa

        3. 5.3.5.3 Rest of Middle-East and Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Mergers and Acquisitions, Joint Ventures, Collaborations, and Agreements

    2. 6.2 Market Share (%)**/Ranking Analysis

    3. 6.3 Strategies Adopted by Leading Players

    4. 6.4 Company Profiles

      1. 6.4.1 Alcoa Corporation

      2. 6.4.2 Anglo American plc

      3. 6.4.3 BHP

      4. 6.4.4 Jiangxi Copper Corporation Limited

      5. 6.4.5 Freeport-McMoRan

      6. 6.4.6 Glencore

      7. 6.4.7 Lundin Mining Corporation

      8. 6.4.8 Rio Tinto

      9. 6.4.9 Vale

      10. 6.4.10 Vedanta Resources Limited

    5. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

    1. 7.1 Increasing Demand from Electric Vehicle (EV) Production Sector

    2. 7.2 Other Opportunities

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Base Metals Market market is studied from 2016 - 2026.

The Base Metals Market is growing at a CAGR of 5% over the next 5 years.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

Asia Pacific holds highest share in 2020.

  • Glencore
  • Freeport-McMoRan
  • Alcoa Corporation
  • Lundin Mining Corporation
  • BHP

Are the major companies operating in Base Metals Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!