Marché des ultra-condensateurs automobiles – Croissance, tendances, impact du COVID-19 et prévisions (2022-2027)

Le marché des ultra-condensateurs automobiles est segmenté par application (fonctionnement marche-arrêt, système de freinage à régénération et autres applications), type de véhicule (voitures particulières et véhicules utilitaires) et géographie (Amérique du Nord, Europe, Asie-Pacifique, Amérique latine, et Moyen-Orient et Afrique).

Aperçu du marché

automotive ultracapacitor market_overview
Study Period: 2018-2027
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: Europe
CAGR: >5.5 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Aperçu du marché

Le marché des ultra-condensateurs automobiles devrait enregistrer un TCAC de plus de 5,5 % au cours de la période de prévision (2020-2025).

L'utilisation d'ultra-condensateurs a augmenté la charge de la batterie et a permis aux constructeurs automobiles d'atteindre une efficacité énergétique, une durée de vie prolongée de la batterie, un poids réduit du véhicule et des émissions de CO2 réduites. Pour répondre aux règles d'émissions de plus en plus strictes à travers le monde, les ultra-condensateurs sont susceptibles de pénétrer à un rythme plus rapide dans tous les types de véhicules, y compris les véhicules conventionnels, hybrides et électriques.

Les ultra-condensateurs, généralement connectés en tandem avec les batteries du véhicule, prennent en charge les demandes de charge de pointe pendant de courts intervalles (qui sont inférieurs à 30 secondes), rencontrées lors des applications de freinage de démarrage/arrêt et de régénération. La capacité de recharge rapide et de décharge d'énergie élevée offerte par les ultra-condensateurs a poussé les constructeurs automobiles à les déployer dans les systèmes de démarrage/arrêt et les systèmes de freinage régénératif. Les sources d'énergie primaires, telles que les moteurs à combustion interne, les piles à combustible et les batteries des véhicules, ont été identifiées comme étant inefficaces pour gérer la demande de puissance de pointe ou récupérer l'énergie pendant les applications susmentionnées.

Certains des principaux acteurs du marché mondial des ultra-condensateurs automobiles sont Maxwell Technologies, NEC Tokin, Ioxus, Panasonic, LS Mtron, CAP-XX, Skeleton Technologies, Nesscap, Yunasko et Nippon Chemi-Conamong, entre autres.

Scope of the report

The automotive ultra-capacitor market is segmented by application (start-stop operation, regenerative braking system, and other applications), vehicle type (passenger cars and commercial vehicles), and geography (North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, Latin America, and Middle-East and Africa).

By Application
Start-stop Operation
Regenerative Braking System
Other Applications
By Vehicle Type
Passenger Car
Commercial Vehicle
By Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Rest of North America
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Spain
Rest of Europe
Asia-Pacific
India
China
Japan
South Korea
Rest of Asia-Pacific
Latin America
Mexico
Brazil
Argentina
Rest of Latin America
Middle-East and Africa
United Arab Emirates
Saudi Arabia
Rest of Middle-East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Principales tendances du marché

Des réglementations d'émissions de plus en plus strictes

  • L'utilisation d'ultra-condensateurs a augmenté la capacité de la batterie et permet aux constructeurs automobiles d'atteindre une efficacité énergétique, une durée de vie prolongée de la batterie, un poids réduit du véhicule et une réduction des émissions de dioxyde de carbone (CO2). Pour respecter les réglementations strictes en matière d'émissions à travers le monde, un ultra-condensateur est susceptible de pénétrer à un rythme plus rapide dans tous les types de véhicules, y compris les véhicules conventionnels, hybrides et électriques.
  • En 2013, aux États-Unis, les émissions de dioxyde de carbone étaient en moyenne de 369 grammes par mile, soit une baisse de 7 grammes par mile par rapport au chiffre de 2012. Selon l'US EPA, pour 2014, 2015 et 2016, les valeurs d'émissions de CO2 ajustées ont baissé à 369 g/mile, 361 g/mile et 359 g/mile, respectivement. Cette norme a encore réduit la norme d'émission à 352 g / mile (préliminaire) pour les véhicules pour l'exercice 2017.
  • L'Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) des États-Unis et la National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) prennent des initiatives pour soutenir la production de véhicules respectueux de l'environnement (véhicules de tourisme et véhicules utilitaires), afin d'assurer une meilleure économie de carburant et une réduction des émissions de carbone. Grâce à ces initiatives, le gouvernement prévoit de réduire environ 3 100 millions de tonnes métriques d'émissions de CO2 et d'économiser environ 6 milliards de barils de pétrole d'ici 2025.
  • En outre, l'Union européenne (UE) a établi des normes d'émission pour réglementer les niveaux d'émission de CO2 des voitures particulières et des véhicules utilitaires. Les émissions des transports ont augmenté ces dernières années et représentent désormais un quart des émissions totales de GES de l'UE. L'émission moyenne de carbone, basée sur des tests en laboratoire d'une voiture neuve immatriculée dans l'UE en 2016, était d'environ 118,1 grammes par kilomètre (g/km), bien en deçà de l'objectif de 2015 de 130 g. 
  • En conséquence, la Commission européenne, le Parlement européen et les États membres de l'UE se préparent à prolonger la réglementation sur le CO2 des véhicules utilitaires légers jusqu'en 2025-2030. De plus, pour répondre aux normes susmentionnées, l'adoption de l'ultra-condensateur est en augmentation et devrait suivre la même tendance au cours de la période de prévision.
automotive ultracapacitor market_segment

L'Asie-Pacifique et l'Europe vont dominer le marché des ultra-condensateurs automobiles

La tendance à passer des systèmes start-stop basés sur batterie à des systèmes start-stop basés sur des ultra-condensateurs est née en Europe dans le modèle PSA Peugeot Citroën 2010, qui a permis d'améliorer les performances du véhicule et d'allonger la durée de vie de la batterie. Avec la croissance rapide des ventes de véhicules hybrides et électriques dans la région européenne, la demande d'ultra-condensateurs devrait augmenter, afin de répondre à l'utilisation optimale de l'énergie électrique dans les véhicules. De plus, le système start-stop à ultra-condensateur est une caractéristique standard de la plupart des voitures européennes, telles que la Peugeot 3008, et il devrait continuer ainsi dans les nouveaux modèles à venir sur le marché.

Le marché Asie-Pacifique devrait croître à un rythme plus rapide au cours de la période de prévision, en raison du développement des infrastructures et de l'augmentation des ventes de véhicules. De plus, la Chine est en tête du marché, en termes de revenus, en raison de son utilisation massive de composants électroniques dans les véhicules, suivie du Japon, de la Corée et de l'Inde.

  • La Chine a dépassé les marchés européen et américain dans les ventes annuelles de véhicules électriques (la Chine a représenté près de quatre fois les ventes de véhicules électriques rechargeables par rapport aux États-Unis) .
  • La Chine utilise déjà des super condensateurs dans les bus hybrides. Ces bus sont équipés de moteurs stop-start, dans lesquels des supercondensateurs réduisent la charge sur la batterie, ce qui augmente la durée de vie des batteries.
  • Grâce à l'innovation continue, les fabricants chinois ont pu élargir leur portefeuille de super condensateurs. Le CRRC, le fabricant de matériel roulant appartenant à l'État chinois et le plus grand constructeur de trains au monde, a développé des supercondensateurs à base de graphène qui peuvent alimenter les bus électriques avec une efficacité plus élevée et pendant une période plus longue.
  • Maxwell Technologies Inc. a annoncé un partenariat technologique avec Zhejiang Geely Holding Group (Geely), la société mère de grandes marques telles que Volvo et Geely Auto. Ce partenariat se concentre sur l'intégration d'ultra-condensateurs et d'électronique de conversion de puissance avancée dans la gamme mondiale de véhicules automobiles de Geely, à l'appui de sa stratégie d'électrification de flotte.

De plus, l'Amérique du Nord devrait suivre l'empreinte des constructeurs automobiles européens à l'avenir. En 2015, l'Amérique du Nord a lancé le système de stabilisation de tension (VSS) continental basé sur des ultra-condensateurs dans les modèles de véhicules General Motors de 2016 Cadillac ATS, berlines CTS et coupés ATS. Par la suite, les constructeurs automobiles de la région se sont préparés à ajouter la technologie start/stop, en utilisant un ultra-condensateur dans leurs prochains véhicules, pour aider à atteindre un objectif d'économie de carburant moyenne de 54,5 mpg, d'ici 2025.

automotive ultracapacitor market_segment

Paysage concurrentiel

Le marché des ultra-condensateurs automobiles est modérément consolidé. Certains des principaux acteurs dominant le marché sont Maxwell Technologies, Skeleton Technologies, Kemet Corporation et Panasonic Corporation, entre autres.

En décembre 2017, Skeleton Technology, l'un des principaux fabricants d'ultra-condensateurs en Europe, a signé un accord de distribution avec Sumitomo Corporation Europe, afin de fournir des solutions de stockage d'énergie pour l'industrie des véhicules hybrides et électriques en croissance rapide dans la région.

Principaux acteurs

  1. Maxwell Technologies

  2. Skeleton Technologies

  3. Nesscap

  4. Nippon Chem-Con Corporation

  5. Yunasko Ltd

automotive ultracapacitor market concentration.png

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Drivers

    2. 4.2 Market Restraints

    3. 4.3 Industry Attractiveness – Porter’s Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.3.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.3.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Application

      1. 5.1.1 Start-stop Operation

      2. 5.1.2 Regenerative Braking System

      3. 5.1.3 Other Applications

    2. 5.2 By Vehicle Type

      1. 5.2.1 Passenger Car

      2. 5.2.2 Commercial Vehicle

    3. 5.3 By Geography

      1. 5.3.1 North America

        1. 5.3.1.1 United States

        2. 5.3.1.2 Canada

        3. 5.3.1.3 Rest of North America

      2. 5.3.2 Europe

        1. 5.3.2.1 Germany

        2. 5.3.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.3.2.3 France

        4. 5.3.2.4 Spain

        5. 5.3.2.5 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.3.3 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.3.3.1 India

        2. 5.3.3.2 China

        3. 5.3.3.3 Japan

        4. 5.3.3.4 South Korea

        5. 5.3.3.5 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.3.4 Latin America

        1. 5.3.4.1 Mexico

        2. 5.3.4.2 Brazil

        3. 5.3.4.3 Argentina

        4. 5.3.4.4 Rest of Latin America

      5. 5.3.5 Middle-East and Africa

        1. 5.3.5.1 United Arab Emirates

        2. 5.3.5.2 Saudi Arabia

        3. 5.3.5.3 Rest of Middle-East and Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Vendor Market Share

    2. 6.2 Company Profiles

      1. 6.2.1 Maxwell Technologies

      2. 6.2.2 Skeleton Technologies

      3. 6.2.3 Panasonic Corporation

      4. 6.2.4 Nesscap

      5. 6.2.5 Nippon Chem-Con Corporation

      6. 6.2.6 Hitachi AIC Inc.

      7. 6.2.7 ELNA America Inc.

      8. 6.2.8 LOXUS Inc.

      9. 6.2.9 Yunasko Ltd

      10. 6.2.10 Nichicon Corporation

      11. 6.2.11 LS Mtron Ltd

  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Le marché du marché des ultra-condensateurs automobiles est étudié de 2018 à 2027.

Le marché des ultra-condensateurs automobiles croît à un TCAC > 5,5 % au cours des 5 prochaines années.

L'Asie-Pacifique affiche le TCAC le plus élevé sur la période 2021-2026.

L'Europe détient la part la plus élevée en 2021.

Maxwell Technologies, Skeleton Technologies, Nesscap, Nippon Chem-Con Corporation, Yunasko Ltd sont les principales entreprises opérant sur le marché des ultra-condensateurs automobiles.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Automotive Ultra-capacitor Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2021 - 2026)

The Automotive Ultra-capacitor Market is segmented by Application (Start-stop Operation, Regeneration Braking System, and Other Applications), Vehicle Type (Passenger Cars and Commercial Vehicle), and Geography (North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, Latin America, and Middle-East and Africa).

Market Snapshot

automotive ultracapacitor market_overview
Study Period: 2018 - 2026
Base Year: 2020
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: Europe
CAGR: >5.5 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The automotive ultra-capacitor market is anticipated to register a CAGR of over 5.5%, during the forecast period (2020 - 2025).

The use of ultra-capacitors has expanded the battery load and enabled the vehicle manufacturers, to achieve fuel efficiency, extended battery life, reduced vehicle weight, and reduced CO2 emissions. To meet the growing stringent emission rules across the world, ultra-capacitor is likely to penetrate at a faster rate in all vehicle types, including conventional, hybrid, and electric vehicles.

Ultra-capacitors, typically connected in tandem with vehicle batteries, support peak load demands for short intervals (which is less than 30 seconds), encountered during start/stop and regeneration braking applications. The capacity for quick recharge and discharge of high energy offered by ultra-capacitors have driven vehicle manufacturers, to deploy them in the start/stop systems and regenerative braking systems. Primary energy sources, like internal combustion engines, fuel cells, and batteries in the vehicles, were identified to be inefficient in handling peak power demand or recapturing energy during the aforementioned applications.

Some of the key players of the global automotive ultra-capacitor market are Maxwell Technologies, NEC Tokin, Ioxus, Panasonic, LS Mtron, CAP-XX, Skeleton Technologies, Nesscap, Yunasko, and Nippon Chemi-Conamong, among others.

Scope of the report

The automotive ultra-capacitor market is segmented by application (start-stop operation, regenerative braking system, and other applications), vehicle type (passenger cars and commercial vehicles), and geography (North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, Latin America, and Middle-East and Africa).

By Application
Start-stop Operation
Regenerative Braking System
Other Applications
By Vehicle Type
Passenger Car
Commercial Vehicle
By Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Rest of North America
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Spain
Rest of Europe
Asia-Pacific
India
China
Japan
South Korea
Rest of Asia-Pacific
Latin America
Mexico
Brazil
Argentina
Rest of Latin America
Middle-East and Africa
United Arab Emirates
Saudi Arabia
Rest of Middle-East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Growing Stringent Emission Regulations

  • The use of ultra-capacitor has expanded the battery capacity and enables vehicle manufacturers to achieve fuel efficiency, extended battery life, reduced vehicle weight, and reduced carbon dioxide (CO2) emissions. To adhere to the stringent emission regulations across the world, an ultra-capacitor is likely to penetrate at a faster rate in all vehicle types, including conventional, hybrid, and electric vehicles.
  • In 2013, in the United States, carbon dioxide emission averaged 369 grams per mile, which were down by 7 grams per mile from the 2012 figure. As per the US EPA, for 2014, 2015, and 2016, adjusted CO2 emission values went down to 369 g/mile, 361 g/mile, and 359 g/mile, respectively. This standard further reduced the emission standard to 352 g/mile (preliminary) for the vehicles for FY 2017.
  • The US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) are taking initiatives to support the production of eco-friendly vehicles, (both passenger vehicles and commercial vehicles), to ensure improved fuel economy and reduced carbon emission. Through these initiatives, the government is planning to reduce about 3,100 million metric tons of CO2 emission and save about 6 billion barrels of oil, by 2025.
  • Additionally, the European Union (EU) has set emission standards to regulate the CO2 emission levels of passenger cars and commercial vehicles. Transport emissions have increased in recent years and now account for a quarter of the EU’s total GHG emission. The average carbon emission, based on laboratory tests of a new car registered in the EU’s in 2016, was about 118.1 grams per kilometer (g/km), well below the 2015 target of 130g. 
  • As a result, the European Commission, European Parliament, and EU member states are preparing to extend the light-duty vehicles’ CO2 regulation to 2025-2030. Furthermore, to meet the aforementioned standards, the adoption of the ultra-capacitor is increasing and is expected to witness the same trend, during the forecast period.
automotive ultracapacitor market_segment

Asia-Pacific and Europe to Dominate the Automotive Ultra-capacitor Market

The trend of shifting from the battery-based to ultra-capacitor-based start-stop systems originated in Europe in the 2010 PSA Peugeot Citroen model, which successfully resulted in improved vehicle performance and extended battery life expectancy. With the rapidly growing hybrid and electric vehicle sales in the European region, the demand for ultra-capacitor is anticipated to grow, in order to meet the optimal utilization of electric energy in vehicles. Additionally, the ultra-capacitor-based start-stop system comes as a standard feature in most of the European cars, such as Peugeot 3008, and it is expected to continue so in the coming new models in the market.

The Asia-Pacific market is expected to grow at a faster pace during the forecast period, owing to development in infrastructure and increased vehicle sales. Furthermore, China is leading the market, in terms of revenue, due to its massive use of electronic components in the vehicles followed by Japan, Korea, and India.

  • China overtook both the European and US markets in the annual sales of electric vehicles, (China has accounted for almost four times the sales of plug-in electric vehicles compared to the United States) .
  • China is already using super capacitors in hybrid buses. These buses are equipped with stop-start engines, in which super capacitors reduce the load on the battery, which increases the lifetime of the batteries.
  • Due to continuous innovation, the Chinese manufacturers have been able to expand their super capacitor portfolio. The CRRC, the Chinese state-owned rolling stock manufacturer and the world's largest train builder, developed graphene-based super capacitors that may power electric buses with higher efficiency and for a longer period.
  • Maxwell Technologies Inc. announced a technology partnership with Zhejiang Geely Holding Group (Geely), the parent company of leading brands, such as Volvo and Geely Auto. This partnership focuses on the integration of ultra-capacitors and advanced power conversion electronics into Geely's global automotive vehicle lineup, in support of its fleet electrification strategy.

Additionally, North America is expected to follow the footprints of European automakers in the future. In 2015, North America debuted continental ultra-capacitor-based voltage stabilization system (VSS) in General Motors vehicle models of 2016 Cadillac ATS, CTS sedans, and ATS coupes. Thereafter, automakers in the region have geared up to add the start/stop technology, using ultra-capacitor in their coming vehicles, to help meet a 54.5 mpg corporate average fuel economy target, by 2025.

automotive ultracapacitor market_segment

Competitive Landscape

The automotive ultra-capacitor market is moderately consolidated. Some of the major players dominating the market are Maxwell Technologies, Skeleton Technologies, Kemet Corporation, and Panasonic Corporation, among others.

In December 2017, Skeleton Technology, a leading ultra-capacitor manufacturer in Europe, signed a distribution agreement with the Sumitomo Corporation Europe, to provide energy storage solutions for the rapidly growing hybrid and electric vehicle industry in the region.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Drivers

    2. 4.2 Market Restraints

    3. 4.3 Industry Attractiveness – Porter’s Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.3.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.3.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Application

      1. 5.1.1 Start-stop Operation

      2. 5.1.2 Regenerative Braking System

      3. 5.1.3 Other Applications

    2. 5.2 By Vehicle Type

      1. 5.2.1 Passenger Car

      2. 5.2.2 Commercial Vehicle

    3. 5.3 By Geography

      1. 5.3.1 North America

        1. 5.3.1.1 United States

        2. 5.3.1.2 Canada

        3. 5.3.1.3 Rest of North America

      2. 5.3.2 Europe

        1. 5.3.2.1 Germany

        2. 5.3.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.3.2.3 France

        4. 5.3.2.4 Spain

        5. 5.3.2.5 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.3.3 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.3.3.1 India

        2. 5.3.3.2 China

        3. 5.3.3.3 Japan

        4. 5.3.3.4 South Korea

        5. 5.3.3.5 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.3.4 Latin America

        1. 5.3.4.1 Mexico

        2. 5.3.4.2 Brazil

        3. 5.3.4.3 Argentina

        4. 5.3.4.4 Rest of Latin America

      5. 5.3.5 Middle-East and Africa

        1. 5.3.5.1 United Arab Emirates

        2. 5.3.5.2 Saudi Arabia

        3. 5.3.5.3 Rest of Middle-East and Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Vendor Market Share

    2. 6.2 Company Profiles

      1. 6.2.1 Maxwell Technologies

      2. 6.2.2 Skeleton Technologies

      3. 6.2.3 Panasonic Corporation

      4. 6.2.4 Nesscap

      5. 6.2.5 Nippon Chem-Con Corporation

      6. 6.2.6 Hitachi AIC Inc.

      7. 6.2.7 ELNA America Inc.

      8. 6.2.8 LOXUS Inc.

      9. 6.2.9 Yunasko Ltd

      10. 6.2.10 Nichicon Corporation

      11. 6.2.11 LS Mtron Ltd

  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Automotive Ultra-capacitor Market market is studied from 2018 - 2026.

The Automotive Ultra-capacitor Market is growing at a CAGR of >5.5% over the next 5 years.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

Europe holds highest share in 2020.

Maxwell Technologies, Skeleton Technologies, Nesscap, Nippon Chem-Con Corporation, Yunasko Ltd are the major companies operating in Automotive Ultra-capacitor Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!