变频驱动器市场 - 增长、趋势、COVID-19 影响和预测(2022 - 2027 年)

变频驱动器市场按额定功率(低压、中压)、最终用户行业(基础设施、食品加工、能源和电力、采矿和金属、纸浆和造纸)和地理进行细分。

市场快照

Variable Frequency Drive Overview
Study Period: 2019- 2026
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: Asia Pacific
CAGR: 5.51 %
Variable Frequency Drive Major Players

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

市场概况

2020 年全球变频驱动器 (VFD) 市场价值 93.8 亿美元,预计到 2026 年将达到 133.2 亿美元,2021 年至 2026 年的复合年增长率为 5.51%。物联网 (IoT) 是每个行业的全球趋势,通过加速和简化从机器到技术人员再返回的信息流,对 VFD 产生影响。制造商正在对从机器到信息技术 (IT) 部门的一切进行更改,以促进驱动数据的收集、分析和应用。

  • 对流程优化不断增长的需求正在推动市场。现代电机控制器(例如 VFD 和过程自动化控制器)之间的通信,现在可以通过更详细地了解功耗变化的位置和原因来实现更高的效率以及过程改进,同时减少电费的高峰需求费用。
  • 对能源效率的不断增长的需求正在推动市场。VFD 使用交流电机来控制系统中的泵和风扇,而无需使用阀门和阻尼器。传统上,必须使用阀门和阻尼器来控制定速电机,但它们是大量能量损失的来源。VFD 可以产生相同的能量流,而无需调整流量所需的高压和功率,从而节省大量能源。
  • 此外,先进和现代的驱动器将网络和诊断功能集成到更好的性能和更高的生产力中。智能电机控制、节能和减少峰值电流是在每个电机驱动系统中选择 VFD 作为控制器的一些主要原因。
  • COVID-19 的爆发对 VFD 市场产生了前所未有的影响,一些部署变频驱动器的最终用户行业面临着一些困难。这些行业充斥着全国性的封锁,这使它们陷入停顿。然而,随着后 COVID-19 时代办公室和行业的重新开放,预计该行业将见证对节能设备的日益增长的需求,从而产生对变频驱动器的辅助需求。
  • 此外,各家公司正在大力投资于先进产品的研发,研究人员致力于开发下一代驱动器,如再生能源驱动器、混合安全驱动器等。例如,2021 年 5 月,艾默生推出了谷轮 VFD 产品线,该产品线分为两个系列。Copeland EVM VFD 系列适用于冷却器、医疗制冷、展示柜、步入式、伸入式和其他需要较少控制功能的应用。预计这些发展将导致产品创新并在研究期间推动市场。

报告范围

随着主要垂直行业对 VFD 的使用增加、快速工业化、城市化以及对基础设施发展的投资增加以及对能源效率的关注转移,变频驱动器市场正在增长。先进和现代的驱动器将网络和诊断功能集成到更好的性能和更高的生产力,为能源和电力、采矿和金属等应用市场提供服务。

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

主要市场趋势

能源和电力部门将占据重要市场份额

  • 变频驱动器 (VFD) 在节能、提高性能、简化系统和减少核反应堆停机时间方面发挥着关键作用。例如,在运行过程中,当需要液体快速通过以冷却堆芯时,通常有四个 6kV 大循环泵和 100 多个控制值同时运行。这一因素占运行核电站能源成本的 25% 以上。
  • 此外,驱动技术的应用正在帮助工厂保护核燃料和燃料棒,它们都容易受到湍流的影响,确保水的连续循环而不会中断。这方面的规定非常严格。当电力供应增加时,其提升应该是渐进的,这可以通过对VFD的精确控制来实现。
  • 随着先进能源收入的增加,各种应用都需要节能,因为随着需求的不断增长,除了安装新发电机组之外,只能通过节能来满足对电力的需求。变频驱动器是众所周知的节能驱动器之一,特别是在暖通空调应用中使用的电机。
  • 此外,风能是世界上最重要的可再生能源之一,与不同类型的发电机一起使用的变速风力涡轮机取决于许多原因。双馈感应 (DFIG) 发电机是这些发电机之一。最近,研究人员展示了使用变频驱动器 (VFD) 来提高变速恒频 (VSCF) 的 DFIG 的单机性能,并通过 MATLAB 仿真实际实现了该系统。这些研究反映了在风能领域实施 VFD 的迹象。
Variable Frequency Drive Key Trends

亚太地区见证显着增长

  • 由于主要在发电和石油和天然气行业的业务增加,以及对建立制造设施的大胆支出,预计变频驱动器市场将在中国占据重要份额。
  • 中国本土VSD厂商正在利用其在市场、技术、品牌影响力等方面的行业积累,发展低压和高压VFD业务。除了国内市场,供应商也着力扩大在国外的市场份额。
  • 此外,印度变频驱动器市场正在进入增长阶段,能源价格上涨导致对高效电机控制系统和驱动器的需求。此外,一些减少能源使用、碳排放和电力的政府法规可能会导致消费者倾向于使用节能变频驱动器。
  • 例如,根据印度品牌资产基金会 (IBEF) 2021 年数据,印度电动汽车行业在 2020-2021 年的投资额为 33.7 亿美元,其中商用电动汽车处于领先地位,占投资的 32%。这可能会促进印度汽车行业对 VFD 行业的需求。
  • 东南亚工业自动化和过程控制的激增主要得益于政府举措、不断增长的生产需求支持的工业自动化需求不断增长以及工业 4.0 的出现。对大规模生产的日益增长的需求和降低运营成本的压力是促成该地区 VFD 市场整体发展的一些关键因素。
Variable Frequency Drive Growth Rate

竞争格局

由于市场上有许多大小参与者,变频驱动器市场竞争激烈。市场观察到对节能设备的需求不断增长,市场上的国际参与者正在迅速增加他们的足迹,而本地供应商发现在质量、安全和价格方面难以与他们竞争,这给了竞争激烈。一些主要参与者是伊顿公司、ABB 有限公司、霍尼韦尔国际公司等。

  • 2021 年 7 月 - ABB 驱动器和电机帮助一家专门从事交钥匙测试和数据采集设备的公司 CATE 在模拟山区测试跟踪车辆。两个电机提供的制动功能和 ABB 的驱动器允许客户测试高达 650HP 的跟踪车辆。
  • 2021 年 6 月 - 伊顿宣布推出 PowerXL DM1 微型变频驱动器,专为商业、工业和原始设备制造商 (OEM) 客户设计。新型 VFD 通过板载基于以太网的通信、物联网、网络服务器、蓝牙、安全断开扭矩、SIL2 等提供同类产品中最大的价值。

竞争格局

由于市场上有许多大小参与者,变频驱动器市场竞争激烈。市场观察到对节能设备的需求不断增长,市场上的国际参与者正在迅速增加他们的足迹,而本地供应商发现在质量、安全和价格方面难以与他们竞争,这给了竞争激烈。一些主要参与者是伊顿公司、ABB 有限公司、霍尼韦尔国际公司等。

  • 2021 年 7 月 - ABB 驱动器和电机帮助一家专门从事交钥匙测试和数据采集设备的公司 CATE 在模拟山区测试跟踪车辆。两个电机提供的制动功能和 ABB 的驱动器允许客户测试高达 650HP 的跟踪车辆。
  • 2021 年 6 月 - 伊顿宣布推出 PowerXL DM1 微型变频驱动器,专为商业、工业和原始设备制造商 (OEM) 客户设计。新型 VFD 通过板载基于以太网的通信、物联网、网络服务器、蓝牙、安全断开扭矩、SIL2 等提供同类产品中最大的价值。

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHTS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    3. 4.3 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers

      3. 4.3.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.3.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

    4. 4.4 Technology Snapshot

      1. 4.4.1 By Type

        1. 4.4.1.1 AC Drives

        2. 4.4.1.2 DC Drives

    5. 4.5 Assessment of the Impact of COVID-19 on the Market

  5. 5. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 5.1 Market Drivers

      1. 5.1.1 Rapid Industrialization and Increased use of VFDs across Major Vertical Industries

      2. 5.1.2 Growing Demand for Energy Efficiency

    2. 5.2 Market Restraints

      1. 5.2.1 Technical Concerns of the Equipment

      2. 5.2.2 High Cost of the Equipment

      3. 5.2.3 Cybersecurity Apprehensions

  6. 6. SEGMENTATION

    1. 6.1 By Power Rating

      1. 6.1.1 Low Voltage

      2. 6.1.2 Medium Voltage

    2. 6.2 By End-user Industry

      1. 6.2.1 Infrastructure

      2. 6.2.2 Food Processing

      3. 6.2.3 Energy and Power

      4. 6.2.4 Mining and Metals

      5. 6.2.5 Pulp and Paper

      6. 6.2.6 Other End-user Industries

    3. 6.3 By Geography

      1. 6.3.1 North America

        1. 6.3.1.1 United States

        2. 6.3.1.2 Canada

      2. 6.3.2 Europe

        1. 6.3.2.1 United Kingdom

        2. 6.3.2.2 Germany

        3. 6.3.2.3 France

        4. 6.3.2.4 Rest of Europe

      3. 6.3.3 Asia Pacific

        1. 6.3.3.1 China

        2. 6.3.3.2 India

        3. 6.3.3.3 Japan

        4. 6.3.3.4 Rest of Asia Pacific

      4. 6.3.4 Latin America

      5. 6.3.5 Middle East and Africa

  7. 7. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 7.1 Company Profiles

      1. 7.1.1 Eaton Corporation

      2. 7.1.2 ABB Ltd (GE Industrial)

      3. 7.1.3 Crompton Greaves Ltd

      4. 7.1.4 Honeywell International Inc.

      5. 7.1.5 Rockwell Automations Inc.

      6. 7.1.6 Hitachi Group

      7. 7.1.7 Siemens AG

      8. 7.1.8 Mitsubishi Corporation

      9. 7.1.9 Toshiba Corporation

      10. 7.1.10 Schneider Electric SE

      11. 7.1.11 Johnson Controls Inc.

      12. 7.1.12 Nidec Corporation

      13. 7.1.13 Danfoss A/S

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  8. 8. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  9. 9. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Variable Frequency Drives Market market is studied from 2019 - 2026.

The Variable Frequency Drives Market is growing at a CAGR of 5.51% over the next 5 years.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

Asia Pacific holds highest share in 2021.

Eaton Corporation PLC, ABB Ltd., Honeywell International Inc., Rockwell Automation Inc., Hitachi Group are the major companies operating in Variable Frequency Drives Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Variable Frequency Drives Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2021 - 2026)

The Variable Frequency Drives Market is segmented by Power Rating (Low Voltage, Medium Voltage), End-user Industry (Infrastructure, Food Processing, Energy and Power, Mining and Metals, Pulp and Paper), and Geography.

Market Snapshot

Variable Frequency Drives Market Overview
Study Period: 2019- 2026
Base Year: 2020
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: Asia Pacific
CAGR: 5.51 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The global variable frequency drives (VFD) market was valued at USD 9.38 billion in 2020, and it is expected to reach USD 13.32 billion by 2026, registering a CAGR of 5.51% from 2021 to 2026. The Internet of Things (IoT) is a global trend in every industry, having an impact on VFDs by speeding and simplifying the flow of information from the machine to the technician and back again. Manufacturers are making changes to everything from their machines to their information technology (IT) departments to facilitate the collection, analysis, and application of drive data.

  • The rising demand for process optimization is driving the market. Communication between modern motor controllers, such as VFD and process automation controllers, it is now possible to achieve much higher efficiency along with process improvement with reducing peak demand charges on an electricity bill by understanding in greater detail where and why power consumption varies.
  • Rising demand for energy efficiency is driving the market. VFD uses an AC motor to control pumps and fans in a system without using valves and dampers. Traditionally, fixed-speed motors have to be controlled using valves and dampers, but they are a source of large amounts of energy loss. VFDs can create the same energy flow without the high pressure and power needed to adjust the flow, saving a high amount of energy.
  • Additionally, advanced and modern drives integrate networking and diagnostic capabilities into better performance and increased productivity. Intelligent motor control, energy savings, and reduction of peak-current drawn are some of the major reasons to choose a VFD as the controller in every motor-driven system.
  • The COVID-19 outbreak had an unprecedented impact on the VFD market, with several end-user industries that deploy variable frequency drives facing several difficulties. The industries were riddled with nationwide lockdowns, which brought them to a standstill. However, with the reopening of the offices and industries in the post-COVID-19 era, the industry is expected to witness an increasing need for energy-efficient devices creating an ancillary demand for Variable Frequency Drives.
  • Furthermore, various companies are investing significantly in the R&D of advanced products, with researchers working on developing next-generation drives, like regenerative energy drives, hybrid safety drives, and others. For instance, in May 2021, Emerson launched the Copeland VFD product line, which is available in two series. The Copeland EVM VFD series is intended for chillers, medical refrigeration, display cases, walk-ins, reach-ins, and other applications where less control functionality is needed. Such developments are expected to lead to product innovations and drive the market during the study period.

Scope of the Report

The variable frequency drives market is growing with the increased usage of VFDs across major industry verticals, rapid industrialization, urbanization, and increasing investments in infrastructure development and shifting focus on energy efficiency. Advanced and modern drives integrate networking and diagnostic capabilities into better performance and increased productivity for the market in applications like energy and power, mining and metals, etc.

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Energy and Power Segment to Hold Significant Market Share

  • Variable Frequency Drives (VFDs) play the critical role of saving energy, improving performance, simplifying the system, and cutting downtime in Nuclear Reactors. For instance, during operations when the fast passage of liquid is required to cool down the reactor core, it is usual to have four big 6kV recirculation pumps and more than 100 control values to operate simultaneously. This factor accounts for over 25% of the energy costs to run a nuclear power plant.
  • Further, the applications of drive technology are assisting the plants with protecting nuclear fuel and fuel rods, both of which are vulnerable to turbulence, by ensuring the continuous circulation of water without disruption. The regulations are very stringent in this respect. When the electricity supply is increased, its ascension should be gradual, which can be achieved through precise control of VFDs.
  • As the advanced energy revenues are increasing, energy conservation is necessary for various applications because, with the ever-increasing demand, the need for electrical power can only be met by conserving electrical power in addition to the installation of new generating units. Variable frequency drive is one of the well-known energy-efficient drives, especially used in HVAC applications in the motor.
  • Furthermore, wind energy is one of the most important sources of renewable energy in the world, variable speed wind turbines used with different types of generators depend on many causes. The doubly-fed induction (DFIG) generator is one of these generators. Recently, researchers presented the stand-alone performance of DFIG using variable frequency drive (VFD) to improve variable speed constant frequency (VSCF), where it implemented the system practically by MATLAB simulation. Such research reflects a sign for the implementation of VFD in the wind energy sector.
Global Advanced Energy Revenue

Asia Pacific to Witness Significant Growth Rate

  • The variable-frequency drive market is anticipated to hold a significant share in China, owing to the increasing operations primarily across power generation and the oil and gas industry, along with bold spending towards the establishment of manufacturing facilities.
  • China domestic VSD manufacturers are taking advantage of their accumulation in the market, technology, brand influence, and other aspects of the industry to develop low-voltage and high voltage VFD business. In addition to their domestic markets, vendors are also focusing on expanding their market share in foreign countries.
  • Furthermore, the Indian variable frequency drives market is obtaining a growth phase, with increasing energy prices leading to a need for efficient motor control systems and drives. Moreover, several government regulations to cut down energy usage, carbon emission, and electricity are likely to result in consumer inclination to uses energy-saving variable frequency drives.
  • For instance, according to the India Brand Equity Foundation (IBEF) 2021 data, India's Electric Vehicle Industry has recorded USD 3.37 Billion Investments in 2020-2021, with commercial electric vehicles taking the lead, comprising 32% share of the investments. This is likely to promote the VFD industry demand within the Indian automobile industry.
  • The surge of industrial automation and process control in Southeast Asia is mostly backed by government initiatives, rising demand for industrial automation supported by growing production demands, and the advent of Industry 4.0. The growing requirements for mass production and mounting pressure for decreasing operational costs are some of the key factors contributing to the overall development of the VFD market in this region.
Picture1.png

Competitive Landscape

The variable frequency drives market is highly competitive owing to the presence of many small and large players in the market. The market has observed a growing need for energy-efficient equipment, by which international players in the market are fast increasing their footprints, and local vendors find it difficult to compete with them in terms of quality, safety, and price, which is giving a high competition. Some of the key players are Eaton Corporation, ABB Ltd., Honeywell International Inc., etc.

  • July 2021 - ABB drives and motors helped test tracking vehicles in the simulated mountainous areas for a company specializing in turnkey testing and data acquisition equipment, CATE. The braking features provided by the two motors and the drive from ABB allow the customer to test tracking vehicles up to 650HP.
  • June 2021 - Eaton announced the PowerXL DM1 micro variable frequency drive launch, designed for commercial, industrial, and original equipment manufacturer (OEM) customers. The new VFD offers the most value in its class through onboard Ethernet-based communications, IoT, webserver, Bluetooth, safe torque off, SIL2, and more.

Recent Developments

  • April 2021 - TotalFORCE technology, which enables more precise speed and torque control, diagnostic information for tracking system health, and automatic changes to keep operations operating smoothly, was added to Rockwell Automation's Allen-Bradley PowerFlex 6000T medium voltage drives.
  • May 2020 - Mitsubishi Electric Automation Inc. launched the FR-E800 Series lineup of variable frequency drives. Micro-drive features a built-in PLC and will include safety functionality meeting IEC 61508 standards and support various networks, including Ethernet/IP, MODBUS/TCP, and CC-Link IE TSN. The FR-E800 Series is designed for engineering, technology, and product management in industries, such as packaging, material handling, food and beverage, water, and pumping, and industries that adopt PM motors to improve energy efficiency.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHTS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    3. 4.3 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers

      3. 4.3.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.3.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

    4. 4.4 Technology Snapshot

      1. 4.4.1 By Type

        1. 4.4.1.1 AC Drives

        2. 4.4.1.2 DC Drives

    5. 4.5 Assessment of the Impact of COVID-19 on the Market

  5. 5. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 5.1 Market Drivers

      1. 5.1.1 Rapid Industrialization and Increased use of VFDs across Major Vertical Industries

      2. 5.1.2 Growing Demand for Energy Efficiency

    2. 5.2 Market Restraints

      1. 5.2.1 Technical Concerns of the Equipment

      2. 5.2.2 High Cost of the Equipment

      3. 5.2.3 Cybersecurity Apprehensions

  6. 6. SEGMENTATION

    1. 6.1 By Power Rating

      1. 6.1.1 Low Voltage

      2. 6.1.2 Medium Voltage

    2. 6.2 By End-user Industry

      1. 6.2.1 Infrastructure

      2. 6.2.2 Food Processing

      3. 6.2.3 Energy and Power

      4. 6.2.4 Mining and Metals

      5. 6.2.5 Pulp and Paper

      6. 6.2.6 Other End-user Industries

    3. 6.3 By Geography

      1. 6.3.1 North America

        1. 6.3.1.1 United States

        2. 6.3.1.2 Canada

      2. 6.3.2 Europe

        1. 6.3.2.1 United Kingdom

        2. 6.3.2.2 Germany

        3. 6.3.2.3 France

        4. 6.3.2.4 Rest of Europe

      3. 6.3.3 Asia Pacific

        1. 6.3.3.1 China

        2. 6.3.3.2 India

        3. 6.3.3.3 Japan

        4. 6.3.3.4 Rest of Asia Pacific

      4. 6.3.4 Latin America

      5. 6.3.5 Middle East and Africa

  7. 7. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 7.1 Company Profiles

      1. 7.1.1 Eaton Corporation

      2. 7.1.2 ABB Ltd (GE Industrial)

      3. 7.1.3 Crompton Greaves Ltd

      4. 7.1.4 Honeywell International Inc.

      5. 7.1.5 Rockwell Automations Inc.

      6. 7.1.6 Hitachi Group

      7. 7.1.7 Siemens AG

      8. 7.1.8 Mitsubishi Corporation

      9. 7.1.9 Toshiba Corporation

      10. 7.1.10 Schneider Electric SE

      11. 7.1.11 Johnson Controls Inc.

      12. 7.1.12 Nidec Corporation

      13. 7.1.13 Danfoss A/S

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  8. 8. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  9. 9. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Variable Frequency Drives Market market is studied from 2019 - 2026.

The Variable Frequency Drives Market is growing at a CAGR of 5.51% over the next 5 years.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

Asia Pacific holds highest share in 2020.

Eaton Corporation PLC, ABB Ltd., Honeywell International Inc., Rockwell Automation Inc., Hitachi Group are the major companies operating in Variable Frequency Drives Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!