自旋电子市场 - 增长、趋势、COVID-19 影响和预测(2022 - 2027 年)

自旋电子市场按设备类型(基于金属的设备和基于半导体的设备)、应用(电动汽车和工业电机、数据存储/MRAM 和磁感应)和地理进行细分。

市场快照

Global Spintronics Market
Study Period: 2020-2027
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 39.2 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

市场概况

自旋电子市场(以下简称市场研究)在 2021 年价值 5.918 亿美元,预计到 2027 年价值 56.931 亿美元,2022-2027 年期间的复合年增长率为 39.2%(以下简称作为预测期)。自旋电子市场处于起步阶段,其中很大一部分市场仍然高度依赖研究和技术创新。此外,由于全球范围内的封锁和工厂关闭,市场的供应方面在 COVID-19 的初始阶段受到了影响。然而,随着数据中心和云计算等行业的需求和采用率大幅增长,该场景扩大了研究的市场范围。

  • 自旋电子学技术的最新进展基于具有垂直磁各向异性的纳米薄膜结构,其中自旋电流用于产生磁性层磁化强度的变化。这种效应称为自旋轨道扭矩 (SOT),可以通过设计由交替磁性或非磁性金属组成的多层堆叠来改善它。这些系统是用于自旋轨道转矩磁化切换的基本元件,用于下一代磁阻随机存取存储器 (MRAM) 设备。
  • 例如,由 IMDEA Nanociencia 的 Paolo Perna 博士指导的 SpinOrbitronics 研究小组观察到,当在对称 Pt/Co/Pt 三层中的 Pt 和 Co 之间插入超薄 Cu 中间层时,自旋轨道扭矩的界面增加。SOT 的改善伴随着自旋霍尔磁阻的降低,表明 Cu/Pt 和 Co/Cu 界面中的自旋记忆损失效应是增强 SOT 和降低自旋霍尔磁阻的原因。
  • 近年来,自旋电子学在微电子市场获得了发展势头,许多主要参与者(三星、INTEL、台积电和 Global Foundries)都推出了新型磁存储器 - MRAM(磁性随机存取存储器)的工业生产。记忆)。尽管在转移后保持电子自旋相干性仍然是一个挑战,但已经进行了全面的实验努力来调节长距离的电子位移。由于单个电子自旋可以在 5 µm 的距离内相干位移,因此控制长距离电子自旋对行业来说是一项挑战。与自旋电子技术集成的产品可应用于电动汽车、MRAM、工业电机和数据存储,以及本报告范围内讨论的其他最终用户。
  • 近年来,自旋电子技术由于其更主动的数据传输能力和与传统存储设备相比增加的存储容量,也被广泛应用于数据存储设备中。
  • 目前,自旋电子器件(例如磁性隧道结)受到工作温度低和材料选择严格限制等限制。为了克服这些限制,市场见证了 EURAMET 等组织的新研发活动。实际上,自旋电子学技术可以将磁存储设备的主要元件和先进的半导体微电子或纳米电子学整合到一个芯片中。

报告范围

自旋电子市场按设备类型(基于金属的设备和基于半导体的设备)、应用(电动汽车和工业电机、数据存储/MRAM 和磁传感)和地理进行细分。

自旋电子学,也称为自旋电子学,是对固态器件中电子的固有自旋及其相关磁矩以及其基本电荷的研究。自旋电子学领域涉及金属系统中的自旋电荷耦合,而绝缘体中的类似效应则属于多铁性领域。

研究考虑的关键基础指标是数据存储趋势、GDP、电动汽车增长、当前趋势和其他几个关键经济指标。

Type of Device
Metal-based Devices
Giant Magneto Resistance-based Device (GMRs)
Tunnel Magneto Resistance-based Device (TMRs)
Spin-transfer Torque Device
Spin-wave Logic Device
Semiconductor-based Device
Spin Diode
Spin Filter
Spin Field-effect Transistor (FETs)
Application
Electric Vehicle and Industrial Motor
Data Storage/MRAM
Magnetic Sensing
Other Applications
Geography
North America
Europe
Asia-Pacific
Rest of the World

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

主要市场趋势

由于较低的功耗,电子设备对自旋电子学的需求增加预计将推动市场

  • 预计基于自旋电子学的设备可能会取代电子设备,并在极低的功率水平下提供更高的性能。电子设备使用电子的运动进行通信和供电,而自旋电子设备使用静止电子的可转移特性、它们的自旋或角动量。自旋电子学减少了执行计算或记忆功能所需的工作量。东京大学的研究人员报告说,基于自旋电子学的存储设备可能会以低功耗提供高速。因此,他们开发了一种基于自旋电子学的新型存储器,可以在低功率感应电流的存在下快速切换其磁性状态。
  • 在过去十年中,自旋电子技术因其能够在缩小技术规模的同时解决当前电子电路中功耗增加的问题而引起了极大的关注。基于自旋电子学的结构使其具有低功耗、零待机泄漏、无限耐用、良好的读写性能、非易失性和易于 3D 集成能力,以及基于 CMOS 技术的当今电子电路。物联网和智能设备等趋势增加了对能够以低功耗处理许多功能的存储组件的需求,从而扩大了自旋电子学的范围。
  • 在过去十年中,制造技术领域的进步使 CMOS 技术的规模不断缩小,因此 IC 性能按照摩尔定律不断提高。2020 年,台湾 IC 代工厂台积电为英伟达的 GPU 制造了 540 亿个 MOSFET,而早在 2019 年,它使用 7nm 工艺技术为商用 AMD Zen2 处理器架构制造了 395.4 亿个 MOSFET。然而,进一步缩放可能会增加功耗问题,因为晶体管尺寸达到几个原子层并且量子效应开始发挥作用,导致量子隧穿,这可能会增加泄漏电流,从而增加待机功耗。
  • 由于全球半导体行业一直在通过概述材料、系统和设备的发展来不断投资于开发未来技术,这些材料、系统和设备可以维持、增强存储,并且需要低功耗并增加当前 IC 的计算能力,预计自旋电子学的范围将生长。美国数据存储公司希捷科技在自旋电子忆阻器方面进行了研究。基于自旋电子学的晶体管也可以用自旋电子学的晶体管代替电子电路板。自旋电子学是纳米技术的新兴领域之一,并且发展非常迅速。
  • 使用美国能源部阿贡国家实验室美国能源部科学用户设施办公室高级光子源 (APS) 的研究人员正在研究操纵电子自旋和开发自旋电子学新材料的方法。2020 年 9 月,由威斯康星大学麦迪逊分校材料科学与工程教授 Chang-Beom Eom 指导的研究小组在《自然通讯》杂志上发表了一项关于存储密度三倍的新材料的研究报告,并且与其他自旋电子设备相比,它使用的功率要少得多。
  • 2021 年 11 月,阿拉巴马大学伯明翰分校物理系的一名研究人员从美国国防部空军科学研究办公室获得了为期三年、价值 300,000 美元的资助,用于建模和预测诱发结构性结构的外部压力和应变,拓扑和磁拓扑系统中的磁跃迁。这项研究的成功有望帮助开发下一代量子计量设备,用于具有拓扑电流的低能耗自旋电子设备。
Global Spintronics Market

预计北美将占据主要市场份额

  • 由于区域公司所做的高水平研究以及区域最终用户行业越来越多地采用技术,北美是所研究市场的主要投资者和采用者之一。自旋电子市场中的大多数主要最终用户行业在该地区都在高度发展,使供应商能够在预测期内显着扩张。例如,电动汽车和交通运输、数据中心、企业存储、服务器 RAID、工业自动化和物联网以及电信基础设施等行业在该地区蓬勃发展,这也推动了对自旋电子学等先进技术的需求。
  • 此外,全球市场上的大多数市场供应商都位于美国,这为该地区提供了巨大的竞争优势,并使其始终处于所研究市场创新的前沿。IBM 和英特尔等大型科技公司在全球自旋电子技术商业化方面发挥着重要作用。例如,2021 年 1 月,美国能源部 (DOE) 布鲁克海文国家实验室和耶鲁大学的研究人员展示了通过改变磁性材料的厚度来控制磁性材料自旋动力学的能力。发表在《自然材料》上的一项新研究可能会导致电子设备更小、更节能,这代表了自旋电子学的重大进步。
  • 此外,美国的许多研究和创新组织都在大力投资自旋电子学的开发,这也吸引了世界各地的许多供应商。例如,2020 年,美国国家标准与技术研究院 (NIST) 及其在美国纳米电子计算研究 (nCORE) 联盟中的合作伙伴在四年内投资 1030 万美元,在明尼苏达州建立了自旋电子学研究中心。先进信息技术自旋电子材料中心 (SMART) 计划包括来自宾夕法尼亚州立大学、麻省理工学院、乔治城大学和马里兰大学的研究人员。
  • 根据国际能源署 (IEA) 的数据,该国的电动汽车使用量迅速增长,估计美国市场汽车销量的 1% 来自电动汽车。由于能源和环境问题,北美对电动汽车的需求显着增加,加速了自旋电子学集成到电动汽车的市场。在加利福尼亚开展的零排放汽车 (ZEV) 计划也通过要求汽车制造商销售特定比例的电力驱动汽车,从而推动了对电动汽车的需求,从而推动了该国的市场。2021 年 1 月,美国政府宣布计划将其全部 645,000 辆汽车和卡车更换为美国制造的电动汽车,并签署了“购买美国”协议 该行政命令为政府每年 6000 亿美元的商品和服务支出制定了新的指导方针。预计将比目前美国街道上的 160 万辆(包括政府和私人拥有的)电动汽车的总数增加至少 40%。
  • 此外,在美国,大量私营企业、学术机构和联邦研发实验室都明确专注于推进纳米技术和 MEMS。美国麻省理工学院(MIT)士兵纳米技术研究所是与美国陆军研究办公室签订 5000 万美元合同成立的,是剑桥的一个研究中心,旨在开发纳米技术以提高士兵的生存能力。
Global Spintronic market Market

竞争格局

自旋电子市场的特点是产品渗透率稳步增长、产品差异化程度低和竞争激烈。竞争优势在很大程度上取决于创新。近年来,一些著名的市场参与者,例如 Spin Transfer Technologies 和 Crocus Technologies,获得了资金来加强他们的产品创新。因此,竞争的激烈程度很高。

  • 2021 年 8 月 - Crocus Technology Inc. 宣布推出 CT430 和 CT431 隔离式电流传感器,其带宽为 1MHz,在整个温度范围内总误差 <1%。准确和高速的运算输出使客户能够优化系统设计以实现更高的效率和更小的尺寸。
  • 2021 年 5 月 - Avalanche Technology 宣布推出基于其最新自旋转移扭矩磁阻 RAM (STT-MRAM) 技术的新型空间级并行异步 x16 接口高可靠性 P-SRAM (Persistent SRAM) 存储设备。这些新产品所需的电路板空间是基于 Toggle-MRAM 的航空航天应用产品所需的 1/12,它们在读取操作期间消耗的功率是 Toggle MRAM 的 1/4。

竞争格局

自旋电子市场的特点是产品渗透率稳步增长、产品差异化程度低和竞争激烈。竞争优势在很大程度上取决于创新。近年来,一些著名的市场参与者,例如 Spin Transfer Technologies 和 Crocus Technologies,获得了资金来加强他们的产品创新。因此,竞争的激烈程度很高。

  • 2021 年 8 月 - Crocus Technology Inc. 宣布推出 CT430 和 CT431 隔离式电流传感器,其带宽为 1MHz,在整个温度范围内总误差 <1%。准确和高速的运算输出使客户能够优化系统设计以实现更高的效率和更小的尺寸。
  • 2021 年 5 月 - Avalanche Technology 宣布推出基于其最新自旋转移扭矩磁阻 RAM (STT-MRAM) 技术的新型空间级并行异步 x16 接口高可靠性 P-SRAM (Persistent SRAM) 存储设备。这些新产品所需的电路板空间是基于 Toggle-MRAM 的航空航天应用产品所需的 1/12,它们在读取操作期间消耗的功率是 Toggle MRAM 的 1/4。

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Increasing Demand for Spintronics in Electronic Devices, Due to Lesser Power Consumption

      2. 4.2.2 Rising Need for Higher Data Transfer Speed and Increased Storage Capacity

    3. 4.3 Market Challenges

    4. 4.4 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    5. 4.5 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.5.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.5.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers

      3. 4.5.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.5.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.5.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

    6. 4.6 Assessment of the COVID-19 Impact on the Market

  5. 5. SPINTRONICS PATENT LANDSCAPE

  6. 6. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 6.1 Type of Device

      1. 6.1.1 Metal-based Devices

        1. 6.1.1.1 Giant Magneto Resistance-based Device (GMRs)

        2. 6.1.1.2 Tunnel Magneto Resistance-based Device (TMRs)

        3. 6.1.1.3 Spin-transfer Torque Device

        4. 6.1.1.4 Spin-wave Logic Device

      2. 6.1.2 Semiconductor-based Device

        1. 6.1.2.1 Spin Diode

        2. 6.1.2.2 Spin Filter

        3. 6.1.2.3 Spin Field-effect Transistor (FETs)

    2. 6.2 Application

      1. 6.2.1 Electric Vehicle and Industrial Motor

      2. 6.2.2 Data Storage/MRAM

      3. 6.2.3 Magnetic Sensing

      4. 6.2.4 Other Applications

    3. 6.3 Geography

      1. 6.3.1 North America

      2. 6.3.2 Europe

      3. 6.3.3 Asia-Pacific

      4. 6.3.4 Rest of the World

  7. 7. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 7.1 Company Profiles

      1. 7.1.1 NVE Corporation

      2. 7.1.2 Everspin Technologies Inc.

      3. 7.1.3 Spin Memory Inc.

      4. 7.1.4 Crocus Technology

      5. 7.1.5 Synopsys (QuantumWise)

      6. 7.1.6 Avalanche Technology

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  8. 8. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  9. 9. FUTURE OF THE MARKET

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Spintronics Market market is studied from 2020 - 2027.

The Spintronics Market is growing at a CAGR of 39.2% over the next 5 years.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

North America holds highest share in 2021.

NVE Corporation, Everspin Technologies Inc., Crocus Technology, Synopsys (QuantumWise), Spin Memory Inc are the major companies operating in Spintronics Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Spintronics Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2022 - 2027)

The Spintronics Market is segmented by Type of Device (Metal-based Devices and Semiconductor-based Devices), Application (Electric Vehicles and Industrial Motors, Data Storage/MRAM, and Magnetic Sensing), and Geography.

Market Snapshot

Spintronics Market Overview
Study Period: 2020-2027
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 39.2 %
Spintronics Major Companies

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The spintronics market (hereafter referred to as the market studied) was valued at USD 591.8 million in 2021, and it is projected to be worth USD 5693.1 million by 2027, registering a CAGR of 39.2% during the period 2022-2027 (hereafter referred to as the forecast period). The spintronics market is in its nascent stage, in which a significant portion of the market is still highly dependent on research and technological innovations. Moreover, the supply side of the market was affected in the initial phase of COVID-19 due to nationwide lockdowns and factory closures across the world. However, the scenario expanded the scope of the market studied as industries like data centers and cloud computing witnessed a massive surge in demand and adoption.

  • The latest advances in spintronics technology are based on nanometric thin film structures, with perpendicular magnetic anisotropy, in which the spin currents are utilized for producing changes in the magnetization of a magnetic layer. This effect is called spin-orbit torque (SOT), and it can be improved by engineering multilayer stacks composed of alternated magnetic or non-magnetic metals. These systems are the basic elements used for spin-orbit torque magnetization switching, utilized in the next generation of magnetoresistive random-access memory (MRAM) devices.
  • For instance, the SpinOrbitronics research team guided by Dr. Paolo Perna at IMDEA Nanociencia observed the emergence of an interfacially enabled increase of the spin-orbit torque when an ultrathin Cu interlayer is inserted between Pt and Co in symmetric Pt/Co/Pt trilayer. The improvement of SOT is accompanied by a reduction of the spin-Hall magnetoresistance, showing that the spin memory loss effect in the Cu/Pt and Co/Cu interfaces is responsible for both enhanced SOT and a reduction in the spin-Hall magnetoresistance.
  • In recent years, spintronics has been gaining momentum in the microelectronics market with the launch of industrial production from many major players in the field (Samsung, INTEL, TSMC, and Global Foundries) of a new type of magnetic memory - MRAMs (Magnetic Random Access Memory). There have been comprehensive experimental efforts to regulate the electron displacement over long distances, although maintaining electron spin coherence after transfer continues to remain a challenge. Since individual electron spins can be displaced coherently over a distance of 5 µm, controlling the spin of electrons for long distances was challenging for the industry. Products integrated with spintronics technology have applications in an electric vehicle, MRAM, industrial motor, and data storage, among other end users discussed within this report's scope.
  • In recent years, spintronics technology has also been extensively deployed in data storage devices due to its more active data transmission capabilities and increased storage capacities compared to conventional storage devices.
  • At present, spintronic devices, for instance, magnetic tunnel junctions, suffer from limitations like low operating temperatures and severe constraints in material selection. To overcome these limitations, the market witnessed new research and development activities by organizations such as EURAMET. Practically, spintronics technology can consolidate the primary elements of magnetic storage devices and advanced semiconductor microelectronics or nanoelectronics in a single chip.

Scope of the Report

The spintronics market is segmented by type of device (metal-based devices and semiconductor-based devices), application (electric vehicles and industrial motors, data storage/MRAM, and magnetic sensing), and geography.

Spintronics, also known as spin electronics, is the study of the intrinsic spin of the electron and its associated magnetic moment, in addition to its fundamental electronic charge, in solid-state devices. The field of spintronics concerns spin-charge coupling in metallic systems, while the analogous effects in insulators fall into the field of multiferroics.

Key base indicators considered for the study are data storage trends, GDP, electric vehicle growth, current trends, and several other key economic indicators.

Type of Device
Metal-based Devices
Giant Magneto Resistance-based Device (GMRs)
Tunnel Magneto Resistance-based Device (TMRs)
Spin-transfer Torque Device
Spin-wave Logic Device
Semiconductor-based Device
Spin Diode
Spin Filter
Spin Field-effect Transistor (FETs)
Application
Electric Vehicle and Industrial Motor
Data Storage/MRAM
Magnetic Sensing
Other Applications
Geography
North America
Europe
Asia-Pacific
Rest of the World

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Increasing Demand for Spintronics in Electronic Devices due to Lesser Power Consumption is Expected to Drive the Market

  • It is expected that spintronics-based devices may replace electronic devices and offer greater performance at far low power levels. Electronic devices use electrons' motion for communication and power, whereas spintronic devices use a transferable property of stationary electrons, their spin, or angular momentum. Spintronics reduces the effort required to perform computational or memory functions. Researchers at the University of Tokyo reported that spintronics-based memory devices might offer high speeds at low power. Hence, they developed a new kind of memory based on spintronics that can quickly switch its magnetic state in the presence of an induced current at low power.
  • In the last decade, spintronics technology has attracted tremendous attention due to its capability to offer a solution for the current problem of increased power dissipation in electronic circuits while scaling down the technology. Spintronics-based structures make it possible with low power consumption, zero standby leakage, infinite endurance, a good read and write performance, nonvolatile nature, and easy 3D integration capability, with the present-day electronic circuits based on CMOS technology. Trends like IoT and smart devices have increased the demand for memory components that can handle many functions at low power, hence expanding the scope of spintronics.
  • In the last decade, advancements in the field of fabrication technology have sustained the downscaling of CMOS technology, due to which IC performance has consistently improved, following Moore's law. In 2020, the Taiwan-based IC foundry, TSMC, manufactured 54 billion MOSFETs for Nvidia's GPU, and back in 2019, it manufactured 39.54 billion MOSFETs for commercially available AMD's Zen2 processor architecture using 7nm process technology. However, further scaling may increase the power dissipation issues, as the transistor size reaches a few atomic layers and the quantum effect starts to kicks-in, resulting in quantum tunneling, which may increase leakage current, thus increasing the standby power dissipation.
  • As the global semiconductor industry has been consistently investing in developing future technologies by outlining developments in materials, systems, and devices that can maintain, enhance the storage, and requires low power with increased computational capacity of current ICs, the scope of spintronics is expected to grow. US-based data storage company, Seagate Technology, has done research in spintronic memristor. Spintronics-based transistors may also replace electronics circuit boards with spintronics ones. Spintronics is one of the emerging fields in nanotechnology and has been growing very rapidly.
  • Researchers using the Advanced Photon Source (APS), a United States Department of Energy Office of Science User Facility at DOE's Argonne National Laboratory, are studying methods to manipulate electron spins and develop new materials for spintronics. In September 2020, a research team guided by Chang-Beom Eom, a professor of materials science and engineering from the University of Wisconsin-Madison, published a research study in the journal 'Nature Communications' about a new material having three times the storage density, and it uses much less power compared to other spintronics devices.
  • In November 2021, a researcher at the University of Alabama at Birmingham's Department of Physics received a three-year, USD 300,000 grant from the United States Department of Defense Air Force Office of Scientific Research for modeling and predicting the external pressure and strain that induce structural, topological, and magnetic transitions in magnetic topological systems. The success of this research is expected to help in developing next-generation quantum metrology devices for low-energy consumption spintronics devices with topological currents.
Spintronics Market Trends

North America is Expected to Hold a Major Market Share

  • North America is one of the major investors and adopters in the studied market due to the high level of research done by regional companies and the increasing adoption of technologies among the regional end-user industries. Most of the major end-user industries in the spintronics market are highly advancing in the region, enabling the vendors to expand significantly over the forecast period. For instance, industries like electric automotive and transportation, data centers, enterprise storage, server RAID, industrial automation and IoT, and telecom infrastructure are significantly booming in the region, which is also fueling the need for advanced technologies like spintronics.
  • Furthermore, most market vendors in the global market are US-based, which provides the region a massive competitive advantage and keeps it at the forefront of the studied market's innovation. Massive technology companies like IBM and Intel are playing a significant role in globally commercializing spintronics technology. For instance, in January 2021, researchers at the United States Department of Energy's (DOE) Brookhaven National Laboratory and Yale University demonstrated the ability to control spin dynamics in magnetic materials by altering their thickness. A new study published in Nature Materials could lead to smaller and more energy-efficient electronic devices, representing a major advancement in spintronics.
  • Also, many of the United States' research and innovation organizations are significantly investing in spintronics development, which is also attracting many vendors across the world. For instance, in 2020, the United States National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) and its partners in the United States Nanoelectronic Computing Research (nCORE) consortium invested USD 10.3 million over four years to establish a spintronics research center in Minnesota. The Center for Spintronic Materials in Advanced Information Technologies (SMART) planned to include researchers from the Pennsylvania State University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Georgetown University, and the University of Maryland.
  • Electric vehicle use in the country has risen rapidly, with an estimated 1% of automotive sales in the US market coming from electric vehicles, according to the International Energy Agency (IEA). ​A notable increase in the demand for electric vehicles has been observed in North America due to energy and environmental concerns, accelerating the market for spintronics integrated into electric vehicles. The Zero Emission Vehicle (ZEV) program, undertaken in California, is also driving the demand for EVs by requiring automakers to sell a specific percentage of cars powered by electricity, thus fueling the market in the country. In January 2021, the US government announced its plan to replace its entire fleet of 645,000 cars and trucks with US-made electric vehicles and signed a "Buy America" executive order that creates new guidelines for the government's USD 600 billion in annual spending on goods and services. It is expected to boost the total number of EVs by at least 40% above the 1.6 million (including government- and privately-owned) currently on US streets.
  • Moreover, in the United States, a wealth of private-sector companies, academic institutions, and federal research-and-development laboratories are focused explicitly on advancing nanotechnology and MEMS. The Institute for Soldier Nanotechnologies of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), United States, founded by a USD 50 million contract with the United States Army Research Office, is a research center in Cambridge aimed to develop nanotechnology to improve the survivability of soldiers.
Spintronics Market Growth Rate

Competitive Landscape

The spintronics market is characterized by steadily growing levels of product penetration, low product differentiation, and high levels of competition. Competitive advantage is heavily dependent on innovation. Some of the prominent market players, such as Spin Transfer Technologies and Crocus Technologies, received funding to enhance their product innovation in recent years. Thus, the intensity of competitive rivalry is high.

  • August 2021 - Crocus Technology Inc. announced the launch of CT430 and CT431 isolated current sensors with 1MHz bandwidth and <1% total error over the full temperature range. The accurate and high-speed operation output allows customers to optimize the system design for higher efficiency and smaller size.
  • May 2021 - Avalanche Technology announced the availability of new space-grade parallel asynchronous x16-interface high-reliability P-SRAM (Persistent SRAM) memory devices based on its latest Spin Transfer Torque Magneto-resistive RAM (STT-MRAM) technology. These new products require 1/12th of the board space required by Toggle-MRAM-based products for aerospace applications, and they consume 1/4th of the power consumed by Toggle MRAM during reading operations.

Recent Developments

  • November 2021 - NVE Corporation introduced the world’s first practical non-inductive gear-tooth sensors. The new ABT-Series of Gear-Tooth Sensors are versatile analog sensors, typically used with back-biasing magnets to encode the position of a ferrous gear. It can resolve angles as fine as 0.001 degrees. They are suited for various applications, including motion, speed, position sensing, automotive sensors, rotational and linear encoders, machine tools, and closed-loop servo systems. The company offers the ABT Series in four models to match a wide range of gear pitches, from 0.6 millimeters to 4.8 millimeters.
  • May 2021 - Micross Components Inc. announced an exclusive partnership with Avalanche Technology. In this collaboration, Micross is the exclusive supplier of die and hermetically sealed devices utilizing Avalanche’s next-gen Spin Transfer Torque Magnetoresistive Random Access Memory (STT-MRAM).

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Increasing Demand for Spintronics in Electronic Devices, Due to Lesser Power Consumption

      2. 4.2.2 Rising Need for Higher Data Transfer Speed and Increased Storage Capacity

    3. 4.3 Market Challenges

    4. 4.4 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    5. 4.5 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.5.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.5.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers

      3. 4.5.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.5.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.5.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

    6. 4.6 Assessment of the COVID-19 Impact on the Market

  5. 5. SPINTRONICS PATENT LANDSCAPE

  6. 6. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 6.1 Type of Device

      1. 6.1.1 Metal-based Devices

        1. 6.1.1.1 Giant Magneto Resistance-based Device (GMRs)

        2. 6.1.1.2 Tunnel Magneto Resistance-based Device (TMRs)

        3. 6.1.1.3 Spin-transfer Torque Device

        4. 6.1.1.4 Spin-wave Logic Device

      2. 6.1.2 Semiconductor-based Device

        1. 6.1.2.1 Spin Diode

        2. 6.1.2.2 Spin Filter

        3. 6.1.2.3 Spin Field-effect Transistor (FETs)

    2. 6.2 Application

      1. 6.2.1 Electric Vehicle and Industrial Motor

      2. 6.2.2 Data Storage/MRAM

      3. 6.2.3 Magnetic Sensing

      4. 6.2.4 Other Applications

    3. 6.3 Geography

      1. 6.3.1 North America

      2. 6.3.2 Europe

      3. 6.3.3 Asia-Pacific

      4. 6.3.4 Rest of the World

  7. 7. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 7.1 Company Profiles

      1. 7.1.1 NVE Corporation

      2. 7.1.2 Everspin Technologies Inc.

      3. 7.1.3 Spin Memory Inc.

      4. 7.1.4 Crocus Technology

      5. 7.1.5 Synopsys (QuantumWise)

      6. 7.1.6 Avalanche Technology

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  8. 8. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  9. 9. FUTURE OF THE MARKET

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Spintronics Market market is studied from 2020 - 2027.

The Spintronics Market is growing at a CAGR of 39.2% over the next 5 years.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

North America holds highest share in 2021.

NVE Corporation, Everspin Technologies Inc., Crocus Technology, Synopsys (QuantumWise), Spin Memory Inc are the major companies operating in Spintronics Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!