Рынок разведки и добычи нефти и газа Южного Судана — рост, тенденции, влияние COVID-19 и прогнозы (2022–2027 гг.)

Отчет о рынке разведки и добычи нефти и газа Южного Судана дает представление о размере рынка, его росте, доле, тенденциях, анализе, государственной политике и правилах, конкурентной среде, динамике рынка, ключевых отечественных и зарубежных игроках и рыночных возможностях.

Обзор рынка

South Sudan Oil and Gas Upstream - Market Summary
Study Period: 2019-2027
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 1.5 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Обзор рынка

Ожидается, что рынок нефти и газа Южного Судана будет демонстрировать среднегодовой темп роста около 1,5% в течение прогнозируемого периода 2022-2027 гг., достигнув примерно 146,7 тыс. баррелей в сутки к 2027 г. с 134,7 тыс. баррелей в сутки в 2021 г. Индекс ВВП Южного Судана упал на 1,69% в 2020 году. Во время этой пандемии добыча нефти в стране упала примерно на 26 000 баррелей в сутки в 2020 году, в результате чего совокупная добыча снизилась до 154 000 баррелей в сутки из-за перебоев в работе нефтяных месторождений. Ожидается, что такие факторы, как поддерживающая государственная политика и растущая стабильность в стране, будут стимулировать рынок в течение прогнозируемого периода. Однако ожидается, что высокая волатильность нефти и газа будет сдерживать рынок разведки и добычи нефти и газа Южного Судана в течение прогнозируемого периода.

Ожидается, что растущая политическая стабильность в стране привлечет несколько новых инвестиций в сектор разведки и добычи нефти и газа, что будет стимулировать рынок в течение прогнозируемого периода.

С момента обретения независимости Республика Южный Судан создала уникальную возможность закрепиться на прибыльной позиции в качестве новейшего мирового производителя нефти в Африке. Кроме того, 90% запасов газа и нефти не используются, что, как ожидается, привлечет несколько иностранных инвесторов и создаст несколько возможностей для рынка добычи нефти и газа в стране в будущем.

Высокая волатильность цен на нефть и газ вызывает неопределенность среди инвесторов, что, как ожидается, будет препятствовать росту рынка в течение прогнозируемого периода.

Объем отчета

Отчет о рынке нефти и газа Южного Судана включает:

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Ключевые тенденции рынка

Ожидается, что рост политической стабильности будет стимулировать рынок

Республика Южный Судан стала 55-й страной Африки и самой молодой страной в мире в июле 2011 года. Возобновившиеся конфликты в конце 2013 года и июле 2016 года поставили под угрозу достижения в области развития, достигнутые с момента обретения независимости, и ухудшили гуманитарную ситуацию. Следовательно, Южный Судан остается в паутине нестабильности, экономической стагнации и нестабильности спустя десятилетие после освобождения. Подписание перемирия в сентябре 2018 года и последующее формирование правительства национального единства в феврале 2020 года обеспечили стабильность и миростроительство.​

В Южном Судане гражданская война и политическая нестабильность подорвали его способность увеличивать производство до пиковых производственных мощностей. Низкое доверие инвесторов и неблагоприятная ситуация с безопасностью создали серьезные препятствия для способности правительства увеличить добычу сырой нефти. Однако прекращение конфликта значительно увеличило рост рынка. В 2020 году добыча сырой нефти увеличилась в четыре раза по сравнению с 2012 годом.​

Кроме того, правительство Республики Южный Судан и правительство Республики Судан заключили ряд соглашений о сотрудничестве в ряде областей, представляющих взаимный интерес, и обязались выполнять эти соглашения, в том числе «Соглашение о нефти и связанных с ней экономических Имеет значение (АОРЭМ)».

В соответствии с Соглашениями о сотрудничестве Южный Судан будет иметь права доступа к перерабатывающим и транспортным предприятиям GNPOC (Nile Blend) и Petrodar (Dar Blend), расположенным на территории Судана: Южный Судан предоставит свою пропорциональную долю заполнения трубопровода, которая будет доставлена в Южный Судан по истечении срока действия соглашения до марта 2022 года.​

В феврале 2020 года было сформировано промежуточное правительство, а выборы планировалось провести в течение следующих трех лет. Это соглашение принесло политическую стабильность в страну. Таким образом, правительство сосредотачивается на развитии Южного Судана, особенно в нефтегазовом секторе, чтобы увеличить инвестиционные возможности.​

В июне 2021 года Министерство нефти (MoP) Республики Южный Судан запустило первый в стране раунд лицензирования нефти. Раунд лицензирования нефти направлен на привлечение интереса со стороны разнообразной группы иностранных инвесторов к региону, где уже находятся крупные нефтегазовые компании из Китая и Малайзии. Страна надеется приветствовать опытных партнеров и операторов после значительного прогресса в возвращении к миру и стабильности. Благодаря новым данным, анализу и механизмам управления министерство стремится привлечь высококачественных инвесторов и партнеров.​

Блоки A2, A5, B1, B4 и D2 подлежат инвестированию в рамках Первого раунда лицензирования нефти, запущенного в июне 2021 года Министерством нефти. Предлагаемые блоки варьируются от 4000 до 25 000 квадратных километров, хотя большинство из них имеют площадь от 15 000 до 20 000 квадратных километров.​

Следовательно, ожидается, что повышенная политическая стабильность привлечет больше инвестиций на рынок, что, в свою очередь, будет стимулировать рынок в течение прогнозируемого периода.​

South Sudan Oil and Gas Upstream Market - Monthly Crude Oil Production

Ожидается, что высокая волатильность цен на нефть и газ будет сдерживать рынок

В государственных доходах Южного Судана преобладает нефтяной сектор, который зависит от добычи нефти. Южный Судан — это небольшая открытая экономика, которая очень уязвима для внешних потрясений, таких как цены на нефть и пандемия COVID-19. Эта уязвимость усугубляется зависимостью от одного товара — сырой нефти, которая составляет около 33% его валового внутреннего продукта (ВВП), 90% доходов правительства Южного Судана (ПЮС) и 95% его экспорта по состоянию на финансовый год. 2020.​

Зависимость Южного Судана от нефти привела к тяжелым временам в 2020 году, когда более низкие цены на нефть нанесли ущерб экономике страны, а пандемия COVID-19 нарушила логистику и поставки. ​

Наиболее серьезное экономическое воздействие пандемии на экономику страны оказала цена на сырую нефть, которая упала примерно до 15,0 долларов США за баррель в четвертом квартале 2019/2020 финансового года. По данным Министерства финансов (GoSS), этот обвал цен был усугублен тем фактом, что Южный Судан платит правительству Судана 24,1 доллара США за баррель за экспорт нефти через его территорию.

Нефтяной сектор, на долю которого приходится более 90% государственных доходов, пострадал от обвала мировых цен на нефть. Пандемия также нанесла ущерб государственному и частному потреблению, ключевым факторам роста спроса. В результате рост реального ВВП снизился на 3,6% в 2020 году после увеличения на 7,4% в 2019 году.

Сокращение инвестиций в нефтегазовую отрасль и доходов из-за значительной волатильности цен на нефть и влияния на финансовые рынки может стать препятствием для роста рынка в течение прогнозируемого периода.​

South Sudan Oil and Gas Upstream Market -  Crude Oil Prices

Конкурентная среда

Рынок разведки и добычи нефти и газа Южного Судана умеренно консолидирован. Некоторые из ключевых игроков на рынке включают Nile Petroleum Corporation, Niger Delta Exploration & Production PLC​, Petroliam Nasional Berhad (PETRONAS)​, ONGC Videsh Limited и Oranto Petroleum, среди прочих.

Основные игроки

  1. Nile Petroleum Corporation

  2. Niger Delta Exploration & Production Plc

  3. ONGC Videsh Limited

  4. Oranto Petroleum

  5. Petroliam Nasional Berhad (PETRONAS)​

Market Conc - South Sudan Upstream Market.png

Конкурентная среда

Рынок разведки и добычи нефти и газа Южного Судана умеренно консолидирован. Некоторые из ключевых игроков на рынке включают Nile Petroleum Corporation, Niger Delta Exploration & Production PLC​, Petroliam Nasional Berhad (PETRONAS)​, ONGC Videsh Limited и Oranto Petroleum, среди прочих.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Scope of the Study

    2. 1.2 Market Definition

    3. 1.3 Study Assumptions

  2. 2. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  3. 3. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  4. 4. MARKET OVERVIEW

    1. 4.1 Introduction

    2. 4.2 South Sudan Crude Oil Production and Forecast, till 2027

    3. 4.3 Key Statistics of Petroleum Resources By Block, South Sudan, as of 2020

    4. 4.4 Key Oil and Gas Upstream Projects Information (Existing, Ongoing, and Upcoming Projects)

    5. 4.5 Oil and Gas Export and Import Analysis

    6. 4.6 Recent Trends and Developments

    7. 4.7 Government Policies and Regulations

    8. 4.8 Market Dynamics

      1. 4.8.1 Drivers

      2. 4.8.2 Restraints

    9. 4.9 Supply Chain Analysis

    10. 4.10 PESTLE Analysis

  5. 5. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 5.1 Mergers and Acquisitions, Joint Ventures, Collaborations, and Agreements

    2. 5.2 Strategies Adopted by Leading Players

    3. 5.3 Company Profiles

      1. 5.3.1 Nile Petroleum Corporation

      2. 5.3.2 Niger Delta Exploration & Production PLC

      3. 5.3.3 Petroliam Nasional Berhad (PETRONAS)

      4. 5.3.4 China National Petroleum Corporation

      5. 5.3.5 Oranto Petroleum

      6. 5.3.6 ONGC Videsh Limited

      7. 5.3.7 Strategic Fuel Fund

    4. *List Not Exhaustive
  6. 6. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Subject to Availability
You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The South Sudan Oil and Gas Upstream Market market is studied from 2019 - 2027.

The South Sudan Oil and Gas Upstream Market is growing at a CAGR of 1.5% over the next 5 years.

Nile Petroleum Corporation, Niger Delta Exploration & Production Plc, ONGC Videsh Limited, Oranto Petroleum, Petroliam Nasional Berhad (PETRONAS)​ are the major companies operating in South Sudan Oil and Gas Upstream Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

South Sudan Oil and Gas Upstream Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2022 - 2027)

The South Sudan Oil and Gas Upstream Market report provides an insight into the market size, growth, share, trends, analysis, government policies and regulations, competitive landscape, market dynamics, key domestic and foreign players, and market opportunities.

Market Snapshot

South Sudan Oil and Gas Upstream - Market Summary
Study Period: 2019-2027
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 1.5 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The South Sudanese oil and gas market is expected to register a CAGR of about 1.5% during the forecast period of 2022-2027, reaching around 146.7 thousand barrels per day by 2027 from 134.7 thousand barrels per day in 2021. South Sudan’s GDP index fell by 1.69% in 2020. During this pandemic, the nation’s oil production dropped by around 26,000 barrels per day (b/d) in 2020, which brought down the cumulative production to 154,000 b/d due to operational interruptions at oil fields. Factors such as supportive government policies and increasing stability in the country are expected to drive the market during the forecast period. However, the high volatility of oil and gas is expected to restrain the South Sudanese oil and gas upstream market during the forecast period.

The increasing political stability in the country is expected to attract several new investments in the oil and gas upstream sector, thus driving the market during the forecast period.

Since its independence, the Republic of South Sudan created a unique opportunity to gain a lucrative foothold as Africa's newest global oil producer. Moreover, 90% of the gas and oil reserves are untapped, which is expected to attract several foreign investors and create several opportunities for the country's oil and gas upstream market in the future.

The high volatility of oil and gas prices causes uncertainty among investors, which is expected to hinder the market growth during the forecast period.

Scope of the Report

The South Sudanese oil and gas market report includes:

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Increasing Political Stability is Expected to Drive the Market

The Republic of South Sudan became Africa’s 55th country and the world’s newest nation in July 2011. Renewed conflicts in late 2013 and July 2016 compromised the development gains achieved since independence and worsened the humanitarian situation. Consequently, South Sudan remains caught in a web of fragility, economic stagnation, and instability a decade after liberation. The signing of a truce in September 2018 and the subsequent formation of a unity government in February 2020 had provided stability and peacebuilding.​

In South Sudan, the civil war and political instability have undermined its ability to increase output to peak production capacity. Low investor confidence and the unfortunate security situation posed severe obstacles to the government’s ability to boost crude oil production. However, an end to the conflict significantly increased the growth of the market. In 2020, crude oil production increased four times since 2012.​

Additionally, the government of the Republic of South Sudan and the government of the Republic of Sudan entered a number of agreements to cooperate across a range of areas of common interest and committed themselves to implement these agreements, including "The Agreement on Oil and Related Economic Matters (AOREM)."

Under the Cooperation Agreements, South Sudan would have access rights to the GNPOC (Nile Blend) and Petrodar (Dar Blend) processing and transportation facilities located on the territory of Sudan: South Sudan would provide their proportionate share of pipeline fill, which would be delivered to South Sudan at the expiry of the agreement till March 2022.​

In February 2020, an intermediate government was formed, and elections were planned to be held within the next three years. This agreement has brought political stability to the country. Thus, the government is focusing on the development of South Sudan, especially in the oil and gas sector, to boost investment opportunities.​

In June 2021, the Ministry of Petroleum (MoP) of the Republic of South Sudan launched the country's first Oil Licensing Round. The Oil Licensing Round focuses on attracting interest from a diverse group of foreign investors to a region already home to oil and gas majors from China and Malaysia. The country hopes to welcome back experienced partners and operators following significant progress in returning to peace and stability. With the new data, analysis, and governance mechanisms, the ministry seeks to attract high-quality investors and partners.​

Blocks A2, A5, B1, B4, and D2 are up for investment in the First Oil Licensing Round launched in June 2021 by the Ministry of Petroleum. The blocks on offer range between 4000 and 25,000 square kilometers, although most are between 15,000 and 20,000 square kilometers.​

Hence, the increased political stability is expected to attract more investments into the market, in turn driving the market during the forecast period.​

South Sudan Oil and Gas Upstream Market - Monthly Crude Oil Production

The High Volatility of Oil and Gas Prices is Expected to Hinder the Market

The government revenue in South Sudan is dominated by the oil sector, which depends on oil production. South Sudan is a small open economy that is highly vulnerable to external shocks such as oil prices and the COVID-19 pandemic. This vulnerability is exacerbated by dependency on a single commodity - crude oil - which constitutes about 33% of its gross domestic product (GDP), 90% of the government of South Sudan (GoSS) revenues, and 95% of its exports as of FY 2020.​

South Sudan’s dependency on oil led to a hard time in 2020, with lower oil prices taking a toll on the country’s economy and the COVID-19 pandemic disrupting logistics and supplies. ​

The most severe economic impact on the country’s economy from the pandemic was on the price of crude oil, which dropped to around USD 15.0/barrel during the fourth quarter of FY 2019/2020. According to the Ministry of Finance (GoSS), this price collapse was magnified by the fact that South Sudan pays the government of Sudan USD 24.1/barrel for oil exports through its territory.​

The oil sector, which accounts for more than 90% of public revenues, was damaged by the collapse of global oil prices. Public and private consumption, the key growth drivers on the demand side, were also hurt by the pandemic. As a result, real GDP growth declined by 3.6% in 2020 after expanding by 7.4% in 2019.

The reductions in investment from the oil and gas upstream industry and incomes due to significant oil price volatility and contagion on financial markets may act as a hindrance to the market growth during the forecast period.​

South Sudan Oil and Gas Upstream Market -  Crude Oil Prices

Competitive Landscape

The South Sudanese oil and gas upstream market is moderately consolidated. Some of the key players in the market include Nile Petroleum Corporation, Niger Delta Exploration & Production PLC​, Petroliam Nasional Berhad (PETRONAS)​, ONGC Videsh Limited, and Oranto Petroleum, among others.

Recent Developments

  • In June 2021, an announcement was made by the Ministry of Petroleum (MoP) of the Republic of South Sudan regarding the launch of South Sudan’s first-ever Oil Licensing Round.​ The country’s MoP has identified new exploration blocks with potential hydrocarbons and has compiled crucial data to provide to interested investors, operators, and counterparties. According to the Ministry’s latest analysis, approximately 90% of the country’s oil and gas reserves remain unexplored, providing unprecedented opportunities to international investors.​
  • In January 2021, South Sudan and Sudan signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) on cooperation and implementation of agreements related to the increase of oil production and expanded oil operations. The deal aims to increase oil production to 300,000 BPD within the next three years (till 2024) from 2021.​ The Ministry of Petroleum (MoP) also stated that it aims to increase production in its northern oil fields, disrupted by more than six years of conflict.​

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Scope of the Study

    2. 1.2 Market Definition

    3. 1.3 Study Assumptions

  2. 2. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  3. 3. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  4. 4. MARKET OVERVIEW

    1. 4.1 Introduction

    2. 4.2 South Sudan Crude Oil Production and Forecast, till 2027

    3. 4.3 Key Statistics of Petroleum Resources By Block, South Sudan, as of 2020

    4. 4.4 Key Oil and Gas Upstream Projects Information (Existing, Ongoing, and Upcoming Projects)

    5. 4.5 Oil and Gas Export and Import Analysis

    6. 4.6 Recent Trends and Developments

    7. 4.7 Government Policies and Regulations

    8. 4.8 Market Dynamics

      1. 4.8.1 Drivers

      2. 4.8.2 Restraints

    9. 4.9 Supply Chain Analysis

    10. 4.10 PESTLE Analysis

  5. 5. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 5.1 Mergers and Acquisitions, Joint Ventures, Collaborations, and Agreements

    2. 5.2 Strategies Adopted by Leading Players

    3. 5.3 Company Profiles

      1. 5.3.1 Nile Petroleum Corporation

      2. 5.3.2 Niger Delta Exploration & Production PLC

      3. 5.3.3 Petroliam Nasional Berhad (PETRONAS)

      4. 5.3.4 China National Petroleum Corporation

      5. 5.3.5 Oranto Petroleum

      6. 5.3.6 ONGC Videsh Limited

      7. 5.3.7 Strategic Fuel Fund

    4. *List Not Exhaustive
  6. 6. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The South Sudan Oil and Gas Upstream Market market is studied from 2019 - 2027.

The South Sudan Oil and Gas Upstream Market is growing at a CAGR of 1.5% over the next 5 years.

Nile Petroleum Corporation, Niger Delta Exploration & Production Plc, ONGC Videsh Limited, Oranto Petroleum, Petroliam Nasional Berhad (PETRONAS)​ are the major companies operating in South Sudan Oil and Gas Upstream Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!