Marché des graines de sorgho – Croissance, tendances, impact du COVID-19 et prévisions (2022-2027)

Le marché mondial des semences de sorgho est segmenté par type (variétés à pollinisation libre et hybrides) et par géographie (Amérique du Nord, Europe, Asie-Pacifique, Amérique du Sud et Afrique)

Aperçu du marché

Global Sorghum Seed Market Summary
Study Period: 2016 - 2026
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 4.4 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Aperçu du marché

Le marché mondial des semences de sorgho devrait enregistrer un TCAC de 4,4 % au cours de la période de prévision (2020-2025). 

  • Les cultures de sorgho peuvent être utilisées dans un large éventail de domaines tels que l'alimentation humaine, l'alimentation animale et les biocarburants. Comme il nécessite moins d'eau pour sa croissance, cela stimule également la croissance dans les régions où il y a une pénurie d'eau.
  • Le développement de variétés hybrides de sorgho dotées d'excellentes caractéristiques devrait également stimuler les demandes futures du marché des semences de sorgho. Les cultures de sorgho sont principalement cultivées dans des régions arides comme l'Afrique, l'Amérique centrale et l'Asie du Sud.
  • L'Amérique du Nord est le plus grand segment géographique du marché étudié. L'Amérique du Nord est le plus grand producteur de sorgho, suivie du Nigeria et du Soudan. Même si l'Afrique est l'un des plus grands producteurs de sorgho, le besoin de semences hybrides de haute qualité ouvre de plus grandes opportunités vers les marchés commerciaux internationaux, pour les semences de sorgho dans la région.
  • La pandémie de COVID-19 a affecté la production, la certification, la distribution et le coût des semences, qui jouent un rôle fondamental dans le développement de filières agricoles résilientes. Disponibilité et coût du transport en raison du nombre réduit de vols commerciaux ; moins de personnel disponible pour les processus de production, de transport et de documentation ; et une contraction du marché des plantes et des semences avait également créé des problèmes en termes de production de semences pour le commerce international. Cependant, le marché devrait croître au cours de la période de prévision, principalement en raison de la demande croissante du secteur de l'alimentation animale.

Portée du rapport

Le sorgho-grain est l'une des principales sources de nourriture pour les personnes vivant dans les pays en développement d'Afrique ainsi que pour les populations des zones arides. Aux fins de ce rapport, les semences de sorgho utilisées comme fourrage et grain ont été considérées. Les estimations de la taille du marché pour les années de prévision étaient en termes réels. Le prix de vente moyen (ASP) a été maintenu constant tout au long de la période de prévision pour chaque pays. Le marché mondial des semences de sorgho est segmenté par type en variétés et hybrides à pollinisation libre. et par géographie en Amérique du Nord, en Europe, en Asie-Pacifique, en Amérique du Sud, au Moyen-Orient et en Afrique.

Type
Open-Pollinated Varieties
Hybrids
Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Rest of North America
Europe
United Kingdom
Germany
Spain
Russia
Ukraine
France
Italy
Rest of Europe
Asia Pacific
China
India
Japan
Australia
Rest of Asia-Pacific
South America
Brazil
Argentina
Rest of South America
Middle East and Africa
Nigeria
South Africa
Rest of Middle East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Principales tendances du marché

Demande croissante du secteur de l'alimentation animale

Les principales industries utilisant le sorgho sont les fabricants d'aliments pour animaux, les distilleries d'alcool et les amidonneries. Il y a eu une augmentation sans précédent de la demande de protéines animales au cours des dernières années. Selon l'Organisation de coordination et de développement économiques (OCED), la consommation de viande est passée de 114 millions de tonnes métriques en 2017 à 116 millions de tonnes métriques en 2018. La viande de volaille est la plus consommée par l'homme avec une consommation par habitant de 30,6 kilogrammes par par an, suivi du porc avec une consommation par habitant de 23,5 kilogrammes par an. Cela a conduit à une augmentation de la population de bétail qui a un effet direct sur la production d'aliments pour animaux. En conséquence, selon un rapport publié par le NASS-USDA, l'utilisation du sorgho comme aliments concentrés est passée de 2,3 millions de tonnes métriques en 2014 à 3.

En outre, en 2016, la Commission européenne a accordé un financement à cinq pays de l'UE, dont la France, l'Espagne, l'Italie, la Bulgarie et la Roumanie, avec un budget triennal de 716 284,3 USD. Le fonds vise à promouvoir le sorgho grain, fourrage et semence, en contribuant à son développement en Europe. L'augmentation de la demande d'aliments pour animaux et la hausse des prix du maïs incitent les agriculteurs à se lancer dans la culture fourragère de sorgho. Cela devrait alimenter la demande de semences de sorgho.

Sorghum Seeds Market -1

L'Amérique du Nord détient la plus grande part

L'Amérique du Nord est le plus grand marché pour les semences de sorgho. Selon l'USDA, l'Amérique du Nord est l'un des plus grands exportateurs de graines de sorgho. Le Japon, le Mexique et les Philippines sont les principaux importateurs de sorgho nord-américain. Les variétés de sorgho disponibles aux États-Unis sont totalement exemptes de tanin. En conséquence, le sorgho peut être utilisé dans l'alimentation des volailles avec seulement des modifications mineures des autres ingrédients alimentaires. Au cours de l'année 2016, le gouvernement canadien a publié un MOA "Plan national d'ajustement de la structure de l'agriculture (2016-2020)", qui a répertorié le fourrage de sorgho comme l'une des cultures de substitution au maïs. De telles initiatives gouvernementales visant à promouvoir la production de sorgho dans le pays sont susceptibles de prospecter davantage les ventes de semences de sorgho fourrager dans la région.

Global Forage Seed Market - 2

Paysage concurrentiel

Le marché des semences de sorgho est un marché modérément concentré avec la présence de divers acteurs majeurs et mineurs. Parmi les principaux acteurs du marché figurent Corteva Agriscience, KWS, Bayer et UPL Limited. Fusions, acquisitions, expansion, innovation et lancement de produits sont quelques-unes des stratégies adoptées par les principaux acteurs. Presque tous les principaux acteurs du marché possèdent à la fois des semences de sorgho-grain et de sorgho fourrager. L'augmentation des ventes de variétés de semences de sorgho fourrager peut être principalement attribuée à l'augmentation de la force de vente, ainsi qu'à une augmentation significative du renforcement des centres de R&D.

Principaux acteurs

  1. KWS SAAT SE

  2. Corteva Agriscience

  3. Groupe Limagrain

  4. Bayer Cropscience SE

  5. UPL limitée

CL.png

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Deliverables

    2. 1.2 Study Assumptions and Maret Definition

    3. 1.3 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers

      3. 4.4.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitutes

      5. 4.4.5 Degree of Competition

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Type

      1. 5.1.1 Open-Pollinated Varieties

      2. 5.1.2 Hybrids

    2. 5.2 Geography

      1. 5.2.1 North America

        1. 5.2.1.1 United States

        2. 5.2.1.2 Canada

        3. 5.2.1.3 Mexico

        4. 5.2.1.4 Rest of North America

      2. 5.2.2 Europe

        1. 5.2.2.1 United Kingdom

        2. 5.2.2.2 Germany

        3. 5.2.2.3 Spain

        4. 5.2.2.4 Russia

        5. 5.2.2.5 Ukraine

        6. 5.2.2.6 France

        7. 5.2.2.7 Italy

        8. 5.2.2.8 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.2.3 Asia Pacific

        1. 5.2.3.1 China

        2. 5.2.3.2 India

        3. 5.2.3.3 Japan

        4. 5.2.3.4 Australia

        5. 5.2.3.5 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.2.4 South America

        1. 5.2.4.1 Brazil

        2. 5.2.4.2 Argentina

        3. 5.2.4.3 Rest of South America

      5. 5.2.5 Middle East and Africa

        1. 5.2.5.1 Nigeria

        2. 5.2.5.2 South Africa

        3. 5.2.5.3 Rest of Middle East and Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Most Adopted Strategies

    2. 6.2 Market Share Analysis

    3. 6.3 Company Profiles

      1. 6.3.1 UPL Limited

      2. 6.3.2 Corteva Agriscience

      3. 6.3.3 Bayer CropScience SE

      4. 6.3.4 KWS SAAT SE

      5. 6.3.5 Groupe Limagrain

      6. 6.3.6 Nufarm (Nuseed)

      7. 6.3.7 Pannar Pty Ltd

      8. 6.3.8 Allied Seed LLC

      9. 6.3.9 Seed Co Limited

    4. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

  8. 8. IMPACT OF COVID-19 ON THE MARKET

**Subject to Availability
You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Le marché du marché des semences de sorgho est étudié de 2016 à 2026.

Le marché des semences de sorgho croît à un TCAC de 4,4 % au cours des 5 prochaines années.

L'Asie-Pacifique affiche le TCAC le plus élevé sur la période 2021-2026.

L'Amérique du Nord détient la part la plus élevée en 2021.

KWS SAAT SE, Corteva Agriscience, Groupe Limagrain, Bayer Cropscience SE, UPL Limited sont les principales sociétés opérant sur le marché des semences de sorgho.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Sorghum Seed Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2021 - 2026)

The Global Sorghum Seed Market is segmented by Type (Open Pollinated Varieties and Hybrids) and by Geography (North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, South America, and Africa)

Market Snapshot

Global Sorghum Seed Market Summary
Study Period:

2016 - 2026

Base Year:

2020

Fastest Growing Market:

Asia Pacific

Largest Market:

North America

CAGR:

4.4 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The global sorghum seed market is projected to register a CAGR of 4.4% during the forecast period (2020-2025). 

  • Sorghum crops can be used in a wide range of fields such as human food, animal feed, and biofuels. As it requires less water for its growth, this also drives the growth in regions where there is a scarcity of water.
  • Development of the hybrid sorghum varieties with excellent traits is also expected to drive the future demands for the sorghum seed market. Sorghum crops are mostly grown in arid regions like Africa, Central America, and South Asia.
  • North America is the largest geographical segment of the market studied. North America is the largest producer of Sorghum, followed by Nigeria and Sudan. Even though Africa is one of the largest producers of sorghum, the need for high-quality hybrid seeds opens up larger opportunities toward the international trade markets, for sorghum seeds in the region.
  • The COVID-19 pandemic affected the production, certification, distribution and cost of seeds, which play a fundamental role in developing resilient agricultural sectors. Availability and cost of transport due to the reduced number of commercial flights; fewer personnel available for production, transportation and documentation processes; and a contraction in the market for plants and seeds had also created problems in terms of the production of seed for international trade. However, the market is anticipated to grow in the forecast period majorly due to the growing demand from the animal feed sector.

Scope of the Report

Grain sorghum is one of the major food sources for people living in developing countries in Africa and also for the people in dry areas. For the purpose of this report, the seeds of sorghum used as forage and grain have been considered. Market size estimations for the forecast years were in real terms. The average selling price (ASP) was kept constant throughout the forecast period for each country. The global sorghum seeds market is segmented by type into open pollinated varieties and hybrids. and by geography into North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, South America, and the Middle East and Africa.

Type
Open-Pollinated Varieties
Hybrids
Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Rest of North America
Europe
United Kingdom
Germany
Spain
Russia
Ukraine
France
Italy
Rest of Europe
Asia Pacific
China
India
Japan
Australia
Rest of Asia-Pacific
South America
Brazil
Argentina
Rest of South America
Middle East and Africa
Nigeria
South Africa
Rest of Middle East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Growing Demand From Animal Feed Sector

The main industries using sorghum are animal feed manufacturers, alcohol distilleries, and starch industries. There is an unprecedented increase in the demand for animal protein in the last few years. According to the Organisation for Economic Co-ordination and Development (OCED), meat consumption has raised from 114 million metric tons in 2017 to 116 million metric tons in 2018. Poultry meat is the most consumed by humans with per capita consumption of 30.6 kilograms per year, followed by pork with per capita consumption of 23.5 kilograms per year. This has lead to an increase in the population of livestock which directly has an effect on the production of animal feed. As a result of this, according to a report published by NASS-USDA, the usage of sorghum as feed concentrates has increased from 2.3 million metric ton in 2014 to 3.6 million metric tons globally in 2016. This will create potential demand for sorghum seeds.

Furthermore, in 2016, the European Commission granted funding for five EU countries, including France, Spain, Italy, Bulgaria, and Romania, with a three-year budget of USD 716,284.3. The fund aims to promote sorghum grain, feed, and seed, by contributing to its development in Europe. The increase in the demand for feed and increasing prices of corn are encouraging farmers to take-up sorghum forage cultivation. This is expected to fuel the demand for sorghum seeds.

Sorghum Seeds Market -1

To understand key trends, Download Sample Report

North America Holds the Largest Share

North America is the largest market for sorghum seeds. According to USDA, North America is one of the largest exporters of sorghum seeds. Japan, Mexico, and Philipines are the major importers of North American sorghum. The sorghum varieties available in the United States are completely tannin-free. As a result, sorghum can be used in poultry diets with only minor changes to the other dietary ingredients. In the year 2016, the Canadian government released an MOA “National Structure Adjustment Plan for Crop Farming (2016-2020)”, which listed sorghum forage as one of the substitute crops for corn. Such government initiatives for promoting sorghum production in the country is likely to further prospect the sales of forage sorghum seeds in the region.

Global Forage Seed Market - 2

To understand geography trends, Download Sample Report

Competitive Landscape

The Sorghum Seed market is a moderately concentrated market with the presence of various major and minor players. Some of the major players in the market include Corteva Agriscience, KWS, Bayer, and UPL Limited. Mergers, acquisitions, expansion, innovation and product launch are few strategies adopted by the major players. Almost every major player in the market has both the grain sorghum and forage sorghum seeds. The increase in the sales of forage sorghum seed varieties can be primarily attributed to increasing sales force, along with a significant increase in strengthening R&D centers.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Deliverables

    2. 1.2 Study Assumptions and Maret Definition

    3. 1.3 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers

      3. 4.4.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitutes

      5. 4.4.5 Degree of Competition

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Type

      1. 5.1.1 Open-Pollinated Varieties

      2. 5.1.2 Hybrids

    2. 5.2 Geography

      1. 5.2.1 North America

        1. 5.2.1.1 United States

        2. 5.2.1.2 Canada

        3. 5.2.1.3 Mexico

        4. 5.2.1.4 Rest of North America

      2. 5.2.2 Europe

        1. 5.2.2.1 United Kingdom

        2. 5.2.2.2 Germany

        3. 5.2.2.3 Spain

        4. 5.2.2.4 Russia

        5. 5.2.2.5 Ukraine

        6. 5.2.2.6 France

        7. 5.2.2.7 Italy

        8. 5.2.2.8 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.2.3 Asia Pacific

        1. 5.2.3.1 China

        2. 5.2.3.2 India

        3. 5.2.3.3 Japan

        4. 5.2.3.4 Australia

        5. 5.2.3.5 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.2.4 South America

        1. 5.2.4.1 Brazil

        2. 5.2.4.2 Argentina

        3. 5.2.4.3 Rest of South America

      5. 5.2.5 Middle East and Africa

        1. 5.2.5.1 Nigeria

        2. 5.2.5.2 South Africa

        3. 5.2.5.3 Rest of Middle East and Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Most Adopted Strategies

    2. 6.2 Market Share Analysis

    3. 6.3 Company Profiles

      1. 6.3.1 UPL Limited

      2. 6.3.2 Corteva Agriscience

      3. 6.3.3 Bayer CropScience SE

      4. 6.3.4 KWS SAAT SE

      5. 6.3.5 Groupe Limagrain

      6. 6.3.6 Nufarm (Nuseed)

      7. 6.3.7 Pannar Pty Ltd

      8. 6.3.8 Allied Seed LLC

      9. 6.3.9 Seed Co Limited

    4. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

  8. 8. IMPACT OF COVID-19 ON THE MARKET

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Sorghum Seed Market market is studied from 2016 - 2026.

The Sorghum Seed Market is growing at a CAGR of 4.4% over the next 5 years.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

North America holds highest share in 2020.

  • KWS SAAT SE
  • Corteva Agriscience
  • Groupe Limagrain
  • Bayer Cropscience SE
  • UPL Limited

Are the major companies operating in Sorghum Seed Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!