Markt für Software-Defined Storage – Wachstum, Trends, Auswirkungen von COVID-19 und Prognosen (2022 – 2027)

Der Software-definierte Speichermarkt ist segmentiert nach Typ (Block, Datei, Objekt, hyperkonvergente Infrastruktur), Unternehmensgröße (kleine und mittlere Unternehmen, große Unternehmen), Endbenutzerbranche (BFSI, Telekommunikation und IT, Regierung), und Geographie.

Markt-Snapshot

Software Defined Storage Market Overview
Study Period: 2018 - 2026
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 25.8 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Marktübersicht

Der Markt für softwaredefinierte Speichersoftware wurde im Jahr 2020 auf 9,4 Mrd. USD geschätzt und soll bis 2026 37,24 Mrd. USD erreichen, bei einer jährlichen Wachstumsrate von 25,8 % im Prognosezeitraum 2021–2026. Software-definierter Speicher (SDS) ist einer davon die neuen Technologien, die auf dem Enterprise-Storage-Markt im Trend liegen. SDS kann die Speichersoftware von der Hardware trennen und so die Speicherkosten in Bezug auf Kapitalkosten und Betriebsausgaben senken. Daher stellen Unternehmen langsam auf softwaredefinierten Speicher um.

  • Das boomende Volumen unstrukturierter Daten in verschiedenen Unternehmen erhöht die Nachfrage nach einer skalierbaren Speicherarchitektur, die zuverlässig und sicher ist. Darüber hinaus nehmen mit der weltweiten Verbreitung des IoT auch die am Edge generierten Daten rapide zu.
  • Das SDS-Modell erfüllt diese Anforderungen, indem es die Bereitstellungsflexibilität erhöht und es Unternehmen ermöglicht, die Software mit jeder Speicherplattform über eine einzige Softwareschnittstelle zu verwenden.
  • Unternehmen oder IT-Organisationen, die sich einer digitalen Transformation unterziehen, werden aufgrund der Vorteile, die diese Technologie gegenüber herkömmlichen Speichermethoden bietet, wahrscheinlich SDS für ihre Datenspeicheranforderungen übernehmen. Der Mangel an qualifizierten Bedienern für den Übergang zu SDS und Sicherheitsbedenken dürften jedoch das Wachstum des untersuchten Marktes behindern.

Umfang des Berichts

Der Umfang der Studie für den Software-Defined-Storage-Markt beschränkt sich auf die Art der Speicherlösung, die von den Anbietern sowohl für KMU als auch für große Unternehmen angeboten wird. Die Studie hat auch die Anwendung der softwaredefinierten Speicherlösung in einer Vielzahl von Endbenutzerbranchen berücksichtigt, und die After-Sales-Services werden bei der Markteinschätzung nicht berücksichtigt.

By Type
Block
File
Object
Hyper-converged Infrastructure
By Size of Enterprise
Small and Medium Enterprise
Large Enterprise
By End-user Industries
BFSI
Telecom and IT
Government
Other End-user Industries
Geography
North America
United States
Rest of North America
Europe
Germany
France
United Kingdom
Rest of Europe
Asia-Pacific
China
Japan
India
Rest of Asia-Pacific
Latin America
Brazil
Rest of Latin America
Middle-East & Africa
United Arab Emirates
Rest of Middle-East & Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Wichtige Markttrends

BFSI-Sektor mit deutlichem Wachstum

  • Finanzorganisationen benötigen hochsichere und hochverfügbare Speicherkapazitäten für die Auf- und Abwärtsskalierung mit Appliances, die standortübergreifend miteinander verbunden sind. Die softwaredefinierten Speicherlösungen helfen bei der Verbesserung des BFSI-Betriebs, einschließlich der Handhabung riesiger Datensätze, eingeschränkter Zugriffe auf Dateien mit Verschlüsselung und sogar Datensicherung und -wiederherstellung.
  • Im Jahr 2017 gab die Bank of America 300 Millionen US-Dollar aus, als sie auf eine softwaredefinierte Infrastruktur umstellte und gleichzeitig drei Rechenzentren abschaffte. Im Rahmen eines Projekts namens Project Greenfield verlagerte die amerikanische Bank 20.000 Workloads auf ihre softwaredefinierte Infrastruktur, um die Kosten pro Workload zu senken. Da die Anzahl solcher Anwendungsfälle zunimmt, wird erwartet, dass der Markt im Prognosezeitraum erheblich wachsen wird.
  • Mit der Zunahme der digitalen Wirtschaft sind Daten alles. Softwaredefinierte Infrastruktur- und Speicherlösungen ermöglichen globalen Banken den schnellen Zugriff, die Analyse und den Austausch von Daten vor Ort und in der Cloud vom Front-to-Back-Office-Betrieb. PayPal hat erklärt, dass das jährliche Zahlungsvolumen im Jahr 2018 gegenüber dem Vorjahr um über 46 % auf 227 Mrd. USD gewachsen ist.
  • Im World Payment Report 2018 heißt es auch, dass die bargeldlosen Transaktionen im Jahr 2016 482,6 Milliarden erreicht haben, was einem Wachstum von 9,8 % seit 2012 entspricht und voraussichtlich dem wachsenden Trend im Prognosezeitraum folgen wird. Darüber hinaus wird erwartet, dass die Einführung von SDS noch weiter zunehmen wird, da erwartet wird, dass Rechenzentren die Kosten erheblich senken, wie von der US-Bundesregierung vorgeschrieben.
Software Defined Storage Market Key Trends

Asien-Pazifik-Region verzeichnet schnellstes Wachstum

  • Der asiatisch-pazifische Raum überschattet andere Regionen in Bezug auf die Akzeptanz der Online-Transaktion. Laut RBI stieg das Transaktionsvolumen für mobile Zahlungen im Jahr 2018 um etwa 10 Milliarden US-Dollar. Dieser Faktor führt dazu, dass allein durch die täglichen Transaktionen, die Unternehmen verarbeiten müssen, riesige Datenmengen generiert werden, was den Bedarf an softwaredefinierten Speicherlösungen erhöht steigern ihre Prozessleistung.
  • FalconStor, ein bekannter US-Anbieter, der SDS in China über Huawei anbietet, berichtete, dass Kunden/Unternehmen in ganz Asien, wie China, einer der größten potenziellen Märkte für IT-Services sind und einer Umstellung auf neuen Speicher positiv gegenüberstehen. Die Neigung zur Umstellung bestand hauptsächlich darin, Herausforderungen wie Datenschutz, Wiederherstellung und Integration virtueller und nicht virtualisierter Ressourcen zu begegnen.
  • Mit der drastischen betrieblichen Übertragung hin zu Cloud-Diensten und -Lösungen in der Region bietet der Markt für softwaredefinierten Speicher in der Region Wachstumschancen zur Leistungsoptimierung und Verbesserung der Kosteneffizienz des Endbenutzerunternehmens. Außerdem gab Cisco Systems an, dass der Cloud-Traffic bis 2021 voraussichtlich 3469 Exabyte pro Jahr erreichen wird, was nach Nordamerika die Region mit dem stärksten Cloud-Traffic ist.
Software Defined Storage Market Growth Rate

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der Markttrend für softwaredefinierten Speicher geht in Richtung Konsolidierung mit der Dominanz der großen Player wie IBM und Red Hat, da die Markteintrittsbarriere aufgrund der hohen Kapitalkosten für die Unternehmen, die diese Speicherlösung anbieten, hoch ist der Anfang. Aber Unternehmen, die bereits Cloud-Storage-Lösungen anbieten, steigen in den Software-Defined-Storage-Markt ein. Es wird erwartet, dass der Markt im Prognosezeitraum 2019 - 2024 einem ähnlichen Trend folgen wird.

  • Mai 2019 – SuSe Inc. stellte SUSE Enterprise Storage 6 vor, die neueste Version seiner softwaredefinierten Speicherlösung. Das Unternehmen behauptet, dass es IT-Organisationen ermöglicht, sich nahtlos an sich ändernde Geschäftsanforderungen anzupassen und gleichzeitig die IT-Betriebskosten mit neuen Funktionen zu senken, die sich auf containerisierte Cloud-Workload-Unterstützung, verbesserte Integration mit Public Cloud und verbesserte Datenschutzfunktionen konzentrieren.
  • Apr. 2018 – Red Hat Inc., Anbieter von Open-Source-Lösungen, kündigte Pläne an, seinen Kunden den Komfort hardwareoptimierter Systeme zu bieten und gleichzeitig die Flexibilität und Skalierbarkeit von softwaredefiniertem Speicher durch Red Hat Storage One zu erhalten.

Hauptakteure

  1. IBM-Corporation

  2. Oracle Corporation

  3. NetApp Inc.

  4. Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd

  5. Fujitsu Limited

IBM Corporation, Oracle Corporation, NetApp Inc., Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd, Fujitsu Limited

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Deliverables

    2. 1.2 Study Assumptions

    3. 1.3 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Increase in IT Cost Reduction, Automation, and Infrastructure Flexibility Needs

      2. 4.2.2 Booming Volume of Unstructured Data

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

      1. 4.3.1 Lack of Skilled Operators

    4. 4.4 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    5. 4.5 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Force Analysis

      1. 4.5.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.5.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.5.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.5.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.5.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Type

      1. 5.1.1 Block

      2. 5.1.2 File

      3. 5.1.3 Object

      4. 5.1.4 Hyper-converged Infrastructure

    2. 5.2 By Size of Enterprise

      1. 5.2.1 Small and Medium Enterprise

      2. 5.2.2 Large Enterprise

    3. 5.3 By End-user Industries

      1. 5.3.1 BFSI

      2. 5.3.2 Telecom and IT

      3. 5.3.3 Government

      4. 5.3.4 Other End-user Industries

    4. 5.4 Geography

      1. 5.4.1 North America

        1. 5.4.1.1 United States

        2. 5.4.1.2 Rest of North America

      2. 5.4.2 Europe

        1. 5.4.2.1 Germany

        2. 5.4.2.2 France

        3. 5.4.2.3 United Kingdom

        4. 5.4.2.4 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.4.3 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.4.3.1 China

        2. 5.4.3.2 Japan

        3. 5.4.3.3 India

        4. 5.4.3.4 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.4.4 Latin America

        1. 5.4.4.1 Brazil

        2. 5.4.4.2 Rest of Latin America

      5. 5.4.5 Middle-East & Africa

        1. 5.4.5.1 United Arab Emirates

        2. 5.4.5.2 Rest of Middle-East & Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 IBM Corporation

      2. 6.1.2 Oracle Corporation

      3. 6.1.3 NetApp Inc.

      4. 6.1.4 Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd

      5. 6.1.5 Fujitsu Limited

      6. 6.1.6 Genetec Inc.

      7. 6.1.7 VMWare Inc. (Dell Inc.)

      8. 6.1.8 Hitachi Data Systems AG

      9. 6.1.9 Pure Storage Inc.

      10. 6.1.10 Promise Technology. Inc.

      11. 6.1.11 FalconStor Software, Inc.

      12. 6.1.12 StarWind Software Inc.

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  8. 8. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Subject to Availability
You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Der Software-Defined-Storage-Markt wird von 2018 bis 2026 untersucht.

Der Software-Defined-Storage-Markt wächst in den nächsten 5 Jahren mit einer CAGR von 25,8 %.

Der asiatisch-pazifische Raum wächst zwischen 2021 und 2026 mit der höchsten CAGR.

Nordamerika hält 2021 den höchsten Anteil.

IBM Corporation, Oracle Corporation, NetApp Inc., Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd, Fujitsu Limited sind die wichtigsten Unternehmen, die auf dem Software-Defined-Storage-Markt tätig sind.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Software-Defined Storage Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2021 - 2026)

The Software-Defined Storage Market is segmented by Type (Block, File, Object, Hyper-converged Infrastructure), Size of Enterprise (Small and Medium Enterprise, Large Enterprise), End-user Industry (BFSI, Telecom and IT, Government), and Geography.

Market Snapshot

Software-Defined Storage Market Bar Graph
Study Period: 2018 - 2026
Base Year: 2020
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 25.8 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The Software-Defined Storage Software market was valued at USD 9.4 billion in 2020 and is expected to reach USD 37.24 billion by 2026, at a CAGR of 25.8% over the forecast period 2021 - 2026. Software-defined Storage (SDS) is one of the new technologies trending in the enterprise storage market. SDS can separate storage software from hardware, thus cutting down on storage costs, in terms of capital cost and operation expenditure. Hence, enterprises are slowly shifting toward software-defined storage.

  • The booming volume of unstructured data across various enterprises augments the demand for a scalable storage architecture that is reliable and secure. In addition to this, with the proliferation of IoT across the world, the data generated at the edge is also rapidly increasing.
  • The SDS model addresses these needs by increasing deployment flexibility and enabling organizations to use the software with any storage platform through a single software interface.
  • Enterprises or IT organizations undergoing digital transformation are likely to adopt SDS for their data storage needs, owing to the advantages that this technology offers, over the traditional storage methods. However, the lack of skilled operators to manage the transition toward SDS and security concerns are projected to hinder the growth of the market studied.

Scope of the Report

The scope of the study for the software-defined storage market is limited to the type of storage solution offered by the vendors for both SMEs and large enterprises. The study has also considered the application of the software-defined storage solution in a wide range of end-user industries and the after-sales services is not considered for market estimation.

By Type
Block
File
Object
Hyper-converged Infrastructure
By Size of Enterprise
Small and Medium Enterprise
Large Enterprise
By End-user Industries
BFSI
Telecom and IT
Government
Other End-user Industries
Geography
North America
United States
Rest of North America
Europe
Germany
France
United Kingdom
Rest of Europe
Asia-Pacific
China
Japan
India
Rest of Asia-Pacific
Latin America
Brazil
Rest of Latin America
Middle-East & Africa
United Arab Emirates
Rest of Middle-East & Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

BFSI Sector to Witness Significant Growth

  • Financial organizations require highly secure and highly available storage capabilities to scale up and out, with appliances that link together across sites. The software-defined storage solutions help in improving BFSI operations, including handling massive data sets, limited accesses to files with encryption, and even data backup and recovery.
  • In 2017, Bank of America spent USD 300 million, as it switched to software-defined infrastructure while getting rid of three data centers. As part of a project called Project Greenfield, the American bank moved 20,000 workloads onto its software-defined infrastructure, to bring down costs per workload. With the number of such used cases on the rise,  the market is expected to grow at a significant rate over the forecast period.
  • With the increase in the digital economy, data is everything. software-defined infrastructure and storage solutions are enabling global banks to access, analyze, and share data on-premises rapidly and in the cloud from front-to-back office operations. PayPal has declared that there has been a growth of over 46% in the annual payment volume in the year 2018 from the previous year reaching USD 227 billion.
  • It is also stated in the world payment report 2018 that, non-cash transactions has reached 482.6 billion in 2016, which is 9.8% growth since 2012 and is expected to follow the growing trend in the forecast period. Moreover, with data centers expected to reduce costs significantly, as directed by the US federal government, the adoption of the SDS is expected to increase even further.
Software-Defined Storage Market Share

Asia-Pacific Region to Witness Fastest Growth

  • Asia-Pacific is exceptionally overshadowing other regions in terms of adoption of the online transaction. According to RBI, the mobile payment transaction volume increased by about USD 10 billion in the year 2018. This factor in resulting in generating massing amount of data only through the daily transactions which companies have to process driving the need for software-defined storage solutions to boost their process performances.
  • FalconStor, a prominent US-based vendor, which offers SDS in China through Huawei, reported that customers/enterprises across Asia, such as China, are one of the largest potential markets for IT services and are positive about shifting to new storage. The propensity to shift was mainly to meet challenges, like data protection, recovery, and integration of virtual and non-virtualized resources.
  • With the drastic operational transmission is taking place towards cloud services and solutions in the region, the market for software-defined storage has growth opportunity in the region for performance optimization and improving the end-user company's cost-effectiveness. Also, Cisco systems stated that cloud traffic is expected to reach 3469 exabytes per year by 2021, which is the region with the heaviest cloud traffic after North America.
Software-Defined Storage Market Growth By Region

Competitive Landscape

The market trend for software-defined storage is towards consolidation with the dominance by the major players like IBM and Red Hat, as the barrier for entry into the market is high due to high capital cost is involved for the companies to offer this storage solution from the inception. But companies who are already offering cloud storage solutions are entering the software-defined storage market. The market is expected to follow a similar trend during the forecast period 2019 - 2024.

  • May 2019 - SuSe Inc. introduced SUSE Enterprise Storage 6, the latest release of its software-defined storage solution. The company claims that it enables IT organizations to seamlessly adapt to changing business demands while reducing IT operational expense with new features focused on containerized, cloud workload support, improved integration with public cloud and enhanced data protection capabilities.
  • Apr 2018 - Red Hat Inc., provider of open source solutions, announced plans to provide the convenience of hardware-optimized systems to its customers, while preserving the flexibility and scale of software-defined storage, through Red Hat Storage One.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Deliverables

    2. 1.2 Study Assumptions

    3. 1.3 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Increase in IT Cost Reduction, Automation, and Infrastructure Flexibility Needs

      2. 4.2.2 Booming Volume of Unstructured Data

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

      1. 4.3.1 Lack of Skilled Operators

    4. 4.4 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    5. 4.5 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Force Analysis

      1. 4.5.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.5.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.5.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.5.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.5.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Type

      1. 5.1.1 Block

      2. 5.1.2 File

      3. 5.1.3 Object

      4. 5.1.4 Hyper-converged Infrastructure

    2. 5.2 By Size of Enterprise

      1. 5.2.1 Small and Medium Enterprise

      2. 5.2.2 Large Enterprise

    3. 5.3 By End-user Industries

      1. 5.3.1 BFSI

      2. 5.3.2 Telecom and IT

      3. 5.3.3 Government

      4. 5.3.4 Other End-user Industries

    4. 5.4 Geography

      1. 5.4.1 North America

        1. 5.4.1.1 United States

        2. 5.4.1.2 Rest of North America

      2. 5.4.2 Europe

        1. 5.4.2.1 Germany

        2. 5.4.2.2 France

        3. 5.4.2.3 United Kingdom

        4. 5.4.2.4 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.4.3 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.4.3.1 China

        2. 5.4.3.2 Japan

        3. 5.4.3.3 India

        4. 5.4.3.4 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.4.4 Latin America

        1. 5.4.4.1 Brazil

        2. 5.4.4.2 Rest of Latin America

      5. 5.4.5 Middle-East & Africa

        1. 5.4.5.1 United Arab Emirates

        2. 5.4.5.2 Rest of Middle-East & Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 IBM Corporation

      2. 6.1.2 Oracle Corporation

      3. 6.1.3 NetApp Inc.

      4. 6.1.4 Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd

      5. 6.1.5 Fujitsu Limited

      6. 6.1.6 Genetec Inc.

      7. 6.1.7 VMWare Inc. (Dell Inc.)

      8. 6.1.8 Hitachi Data Systems AG

      9. 6.1.9 Pure Storage Inc.

      10. 6.1.10 Promise Technology. Inc.

      11. 6.1.11 FalconStor Software, Inc.

      12. 6.1.12 StarWind Software Inc.

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  8. 8. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Software-Defined Storage Market market is studied from 2018 - 2026.

The Software-Defined Storage Market is growing at a CAGR of 25.8% over the next 5 years.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

North America holds highest share in 2020.

IBM Corporation, Oracle Corporation, NetApp Inc., Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd, Fujitsu Limited are the major companies operating in Software-Defined Storage Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!