北美医药包装市场 - 增长、趋势、预测(2022 - 2027 年)

北美药品包装市场按产品类型(医疗袋、泡罩包装、小瓶、安瓿、墨盒和注射器)和国家/地区划分。

市场快照

na pharma
Study Period: 2020-2025
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 8.3 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

市场概况

在 2020 年至 2025 年的预测期内,北美药品包装市场的复合年增长率预计将达到 8.3%。现代包装在制药行业的重要性日益增加,这导致品牌利用独特的软包装设计的潜力从其余的竞争对手并提高盈利能力。

  • 除了保护药物的基本要求外,包装还需要足够吸引人且与众不同以进行自我宣传。因此,医疗包装的美学吸引力进一步有助于这一因素。
  • 泡罩包装见证了越来越多的采用,因为它们提高了患者的依从性,并且由于提供了广泛的材料和多种配置选项,因此很容易根据产品设计进行定制。​
  • 此外,对防篡改包装的日益增长的需求推动了对吸塑包装的需求,吸塑包装还包括增强屏障保护和减轻包装重量等特点。
  • 软包装产品,例如小袋,用于包装医疗器械和用品、诊断试剂和药品。在过去十年中,政府法规为制药和医疗器械行业带来了新的挑战。这促使包装制造商改变其生产流程,以满足对高生产速度的需求,并确保包装产品的灵活性和安全性,同时遵守 FDA 法规。​​​
  • 最近的 COVID-19 爆发进一步推动了快速增长的疫苗行业的发展。例如,赛诺菲正在与美国政府合作开发该病毒的疫苗。同样,葛兰素史克与流行病防范创新联盟 (CEPI) 合作开展疫苗计划。此外,各种公司正在扩大他们的帮助,以在大流行期间为制药商提供支持。例如,2020 年 7 月,Gerresheimer 集团在欧洲、美洲和亚洲的工厂生产用于制药行业的高质量标准小瓶,已收到用于 COVID-19 药物和疫苗小瓶的初始订单。

Scope of the report

North America is one of the largest regions for the pharmaceutical packaging industry because of its large pharmaceutical manufacturing base and the ability to introduce technological advancements to pharmaceutical packaging. The market study is focused on the trends affecting the market in major countries like the United States and Canada. The study tracks the key market parameters, underlying growth influencers, and major vendors operating in the industry. The study tracks the impact of COVID-19 on the overall pharmaceutical packaging industry and its performance.

Product Type
Medical Pouches
Unit-dose
Multi-dose
Blister Packs
Unit-dose
Multi-dose
Vials
Ampoules
Cartridges and Syringes
Other Product Types
Country
United States
Canada

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

主要市场趋势

吸塑包装有望占据重要份额

  • 泡罩包装主要用于提供对水分、气体、光线和温度的屏障保护,并延长保质期。泡罩包装有助于保持产品的完整性,因为预先包装在泡罩中的药物可以免受不利条件的影响。泡罩包装主要用于包装医药产品,如OTC药品和药品(胶囊),以及小型医疗器械。 
  • 制药行业不断增长的需求是北美地区吸塑包装需求的主要驱动力之一。FDA 法规的实施要求所有在医院和疗养院配发的处方药都必须以单位剂量格式包装,包括条形码以减少配药错误,这也增加了过去几年泡罩包装的销量.
  • 在美国,泡罩包装用于不在处方柜台后面的产品,例如过敏药物或口香糖。在包装处方药方面,美国零售商和消费者正在赶上世界其他地区。该国对泡罩包装的需求正在增加。
  • 美国医药市场是世界上最重要的国家市场之一。仅美国就占据了全球医药市场 45% 以上的份额。预计该国每年有近 600 亿美元用于药物研发目的。
  • 制药公司对药品安全性和药品包装有效性的政策严格,这反过来又导致了泡罩包装等药品包装的增加,从而积极推动了市场的增长。

na pharma graph 1.png

预计美国将占主要市场份额

  • 美国主导着医药市场,无论是消费还是发展。根据 STAT,到 2023 年,该国的处方药支出预计将达到 6000 亿美元,高于 2019 年估计的 5000 亿美元,这将进一步推动该国的药品包装市场。
  • 由于 Amcor PLC、Becton、Dickinson 和 Company、McKesson Corporation 等全球企业的大量存在,美国在北美药品包装市场占据主导地位。这些公司迎合了一些最大的制药公司,如 Abbott 、辉瑞、罗氏和诺华。这些制药公司通过其北美设施为国内和国际客户提供服务。
  • 此外,估计 0-9 岁以下年龄组人口的增加推动了对药用糖浆的需求,这反过来又反映了玻璃瓶消费的增长。据美国人口普查局统计,2019年美国0-9岁以下人口为4001万。 
  • 此外,在美国,由于各地区的预期寿命增加,人口老龄化不断增加,这为医疗器械制造商和整个制药行业创造了空间,进而推动了对这些产品包装的需求。
  • 由于美国是最大的医药产品消费国之一,并且依赖进口原料药和成品,因此由于 COVID-19 的传播而导致的长时间封锁也可能对美国市场产生负面影响。 
  • 随着该国对玻璃小瓶、安瓿和容器的需求不断增长,海外公司正在寻求抓住该国的扩张机会。例如,2019 年 8 月,来自日本的 Arglass Yamamura LLC 宣布投资超过 1.23 亿美元在佐治亚州南部建立制造工厂。随着这次扩张,该公司计划使用其最新的玻璃成型技术。
  • 此外,由于美国正面临从加拿大以外的其他国家进口昂贵的药品,美国政府授权了一个试点项目,供批发商和药剂师从加拿大进口 FDA 批准的药品版本。随着该计划的继续进行,预计未来几年加拿大对药品玻璃包装的需求将显着上升。

na pharma graph2.png

竞争格局

北美制药市场竞争激烈。市场参与者从创新中受益,主要是由于该地区参与者之间存在半差异化产品。合规性的严格性使大多数玩家能够提供类似的包装;严格来说,差异仍然存在于定制和容量方面。 

  • 2020 年 3 月——Pillo Health 宣布通过该公司正在申请专利的药房消耗品 Pharmacy Auto Load 或 PAL 实现多剂量处方的自动化。该公司通过管理多达 28 个处方剂量、触发友好、个性化的护理计划提醒、在规定时间正确配药以及为用户提供简单的语音命令和内置的快速访问护理人员,主动促进家庭健康参与相机。
  • 2019 年 10 月 - AptarGroup 用于口服固体剂量药物输送的 Activ-Blister 包装解决方案获得美国食品和药物管理局 (FDA) 的 HIV 预防药物批准。这些不断增加的泡罩包装用例将进一步增加。

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.2.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.2.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.2.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.2.4 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

      5. 4.2.5 Threat of Substitute Products

    3. 4.3 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    4. 4.4 Market Drivers

      1. 4.4.1 Growing demand for drug delivery devices & Blister packaging market

      2. 4.4.2 Rise in Medicine Counterfeiting Leading to Advanced Packaging and Labeling

    5. 4.5 Market Restraints

      1. 4.5.1 Environmental Concerns Related to Raw Materials for Packaging and Price Competition

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Product Type

      1. 5.1.1 Medical Pouches

        1. 5.1.1.1 Unit-dose

        2. 5.1.1.2 Multi-dose

      2. 5.1.2 Blister Packs

        1. 5.1.2.1 Unit-dose

        2. 5.1.2.2 Multi-dose

      3. 5.1.3 Vials

      4. 5.1.4 Ampoules

      5. 5.1.5 Cartridges and Syringes

      6. 5.1.6 Other Product Types

    2. 5.2 Country

      1. 5.2.1 United States

      2. 5.2.2 Canada

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE INTELLIGENCE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 Amcor PLC

      2. 6.1.2 Omnicell, Inc.

      3. 6.1.3 McKesson Corporation

      4. 6.1.4 Cardinal Health Inc.

      5. 6.1.5 Becton, Dickinson and Company

      6. 6.1.6 Sealed Air Corporation

      7. 6.1.7 Alpha Packaging

      8. 6.1.8 Gerresheimer AG

      9. 6.1.9 Origin Pharma Packaging

      10. 6.1.10 COMAR, LLC.

      11. 6.1.11 Graham Packaging Company

      12. 6.1.12 Rohrer Corporation

      13. 6.1.13 Sonoco Products Co

      14. 6.1.14 Winpak Ltd.

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  8. 8. FUTURE OUTLOOK OF THE MARKET

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The North America Pharmaceutical Packaging Market market is studied from 2020 - 2025.

The North America Pharmaceutical Packaging Market is growing at a CAGR of 8.3% over the next 5 years.

Amcor PLC, Sonoco Products Co, Winpak Ltd., Sealed Air Corporation, Omnicell, Inc. are the major companies operating in North America Pharmaceutical Packaging Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

North America Pharmaceutical Packaging Market - Growth, Trends, Forecasts (2020 - 2025)

The North America Pharmaceutical Packaging Market is Segmented By Product Type (Medical Pouches, Blister Packs, Vials, Ampoules, Cartridges, and Syringes), and Country.

Market Snapshot

na pharma
Study Period:

2020-2025

Base Year:

2019

CAGR:

8.3 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The North America pharmaceutical packaging market is expected to reach a CAGR of 8.3% during the forecast period 2020 - 2025. The growing significance of modern packaging in the pharmaceutical industry has led to brands exploiting the potential of distinctive flexible packaging design to stand out from the rest of their competition and to increase profitability.​

  • Apart from the basic requirement of protecting the drug, the pack also needs to be appealing and distinct enough to promote itself. Thus, the aesthetic appeal of medical packaging further aids in this factor.​
  • Blister packs witnessed an increased adoption as they enable improved patient compliance and are easily customized to product design due to the availability of a broad range of materials and multiple configuration options.​
  • Moreover, the growing demand for packaging that is tamper-evident has driven the demand for blister packaging, which also comprises features, such as enhanced barrier protection and reduced weight of the packaging.​
  • Flexible pharmaceutical packaging products, such as pouches are used to pack medical devices and supplies, diagnostic reagents, and pharmaceutical drugs. ​Government regulations have created new challenges for the pharmaceutical and medical device sectors within the last decade. This has driven packaging manufacturers to change their production processes, to meet the demand for high production speed and ensure flexibility and safety in packaging products, while complying with FDA regulations. ​
  • The recent COVID-19 outbreak has provided further impetus to the growth of the fast-growing vaccine industry. For instance, Sanofi is collaborating with the US government to develop a vaccine for the virus. Similarly, GlaxoSmithKline has partnered with the Coalition for Epidemic Preparedness Innovations (CEPI) for a vaccine program. Further various companies are extending their help to support the pharmaceutical manufacturers during a pandemic. For instance, in July 2020, Gerresheimer Group's plants in Europe, America, and Asia, where they are manufactured high-quality standards vials in the pharmaceutical industry has received initial orders for vials for drugs and vaccines against COVID-19.

Scope of the report

North America is one of the largest regions for the pharmaceutical packaging industry because of its large pharmaceutical manufacturing base and the ability to introduce technological advancements to pharmaceutical packaging. The market study is focused on the trends affecting the market in major countries like the United States and Canada. The study tracks the key market parameters, underlying growth influencers, and major vendors operating in the industry. The study tracks the impact of COVID-19 on the overall pharmaceutical packaging industry and its performance.

Product Type
Medical Pouches
Unit-dose
Multi-dose
Blister Packs
Unit-dose
Multi-dose
Vials
Ampoules
Cartridges and Syringes
Other Product Types
Country
United States
Canada

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Blister Packaging is Expected to Hold a Significant Share

  • Blister packaging is mostly used to provide barrier protection from moisture, gas, light, and temperature and longer shelf life. Blister packaging helps retain product integrity as drugs that are pre-packed in blisters are shielded from adverse conditions. Blister packs are mainly used for packaging pharmaceutical products, such as OTC drugs and medicines (capsules), and small medical devices. 
  • The growing demand for the pharmaceutical industry is one of the primary drivers of the blister packaging demand in the North American region. The implementation of FDA regulations that require that all prescribed pharmaceuticals that are dispensed in hospitals and nursing homes are to be packaged in unit-dose formats, including barcodes to reduce the dispensing errors, has also increased the sales of blister packs over the past few years.
  • In the United States, blister packaging is used for products that are not behind the prescription counter, such as allergy medication or chewing gum. The US retailers and consumers are catching up with the rest of the world when it comes to packaging prescribed medications. The demand for blister packaging is increasing in the country.
  • The US pharmaceutical market is among the world’s most important national markets. The United States alone holds over 45% of the global pharmaceutical market. It is expected that almost USD 60 billion is spent annually on pharmaceutical R&D purposes in the country.
  • Pharmaceutical companies are stringent about their policies regarding drug safety and effectiveness of drug packaging, and this, in turn, is leading to an increase in pharmaceutical packaging such as blister packs, thereby, driving the market’s growth positively.

na pharma graph 1.png

To understand key trends, Download Sample Report

United States is Expected to Account for Major Market Share

  • The United States dominates the pharmaceutical market, both in consumption and development. According to STAT, prescription drug spending in the nation is considered to add up to USD 600 billion by 2023, up from an estimated USD 500 billion in 2019, which is further expected to drive the market for pharmaceutical packaging in the country.
  • The United States dominates the North American market for pharmaceutical packaging, due to the significant presence of global players, like Amcor PLC, Becton, Dickinson, and Company, McKesson Corporation, etc. These companies cater to some of the largest pharmaceutical companies, like Abbott, Pfizer, Roche, and Novartis. These pharma companies provide both domestic and international customers from their North American facilities.
  • Moreover, the increasing population under the age group of 0-9 years is estimated to drive the demand for pharmaceutical syrups, which would, in turn, reflect the growth of glass bottles consumption. According to the United States Census Bureau, in the United States, the population under 0-9 years age group was 40.01 million in 2019. 
  • Furthermore, in United States, the growing aging population, as a result of increased life expectancy rates across regions, is creating the scope for medical device manufacturers and the pharmaceutical sector as a whole, in turn driving the demand for packaging of these products.
  • Since the United States is one of the largest consumers of pharmaceutical products and depends on imports for API and finished products, the prolonged periods of lockdown due to the spread of COVID-19 may also negatively affect the US market. 
  • With the growing demand for glass vials, ampoules and containers in the country, the overseas companies are seeking to seize the expansion opportunity in the country. For example, in August 2019, Arglass Yamamura LLC from Japan announced to invest over USD 123 million to build a manufacturing plant in south Georgia. With this expansion, the company has planned to use its latest glass-forming technology.
  • Additionally, as the United States is facing costly pharmaceutical imports from other countries than Canada, the US government authorized a pilot project for wholesalers and pharmacists to import versions of FDA-approved medicines from Canada. On the continuation of this plan, the demand for glass packaging for pharmaceuticals in Canada is expected to rise significantly in the coming years.

na pharma graph2.png

To understand geography trends, Download Sample Report

Competitive Landscape

The market for North America Pharmaceutical is highly competitive. The market players are benefiting from innovation, primarily due to the presence of semi-differentiated offerings among the players in the region. The compliance strictness has enabled most of the players to offer similar packaging; the difference remained strictly on customization and capacity grounds. 

  • March 2020 -Pillo Health had announced the automation of multi-dose prescription fulfillment enabled through the company’s patent-pending pharmacy consumable called Pharmacy Auto Load, or PAL. The company proactively facilitates in-home health engagement by managing up to 28 prescription doses, triggering friendly, personalized care plan reminders, dispensing medication properly at the prescribed times, and providing users with fast access to caregivers with a simple voice command and built-in camera.
  • Oct 2019 - AptarGroup’s Activ-Blister packaging solution for the oral solid dose drug delivery was approved by the United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for HIV prevention medicine. These increasing use cases of blister packs are set to increase further.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.2.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.2.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.2.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.2.4 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

      5. 4.2.5 Threat of Substitute Products

    3. 4.3 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    4. 4.4 Market Drivers

      1. 4.4.1 Growing demand for drug delivery devices & Blister packaging market

      2. 4.4.2 Rise in Medicine Counterfeiting Leading to Advanced Packaging and Labeling

    5. 4.5 Market Restraints

      1. 4.5.1 Environmental Concerns Related to Raw Materials for Packaging and Price Competition

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Product Type

      1. 5.1.1 Medical Pouches

        1. 5.1.1.1 Unit-dose

        2. 5.1.1.2 Multi-dose

      2. 5.1.2 Blister Packs

        1. 5.1.2.1 Unit-dose

        2. 5.1.2.2 Multi-dose

      3. 5.1.3 Vials

      4. 5.1.4 Ampoules

      5. 5.1.5 Cartridges and Syringes

      6. 5.1.6 Other Product Types

    2. 5.2 Country

      1. 5.2.1 United States

      2. 5.2.2 Canada

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE INTELLIGENCE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 Amcor PLC

      2. 6.1.2 Omnicell, Inc.

      3. 6.1.3 McKesson Corporation

      4. 6.1.4 Cardinal Health Inc.

      5. 6.1.5 Becton, Dickinson and Company

      6. 6.1.6 Sealed Air Corporation

      7. 6.1.7 Alpha Packaging

      8. 6.1.8 Gerresheimer AG

      9. 6.1.9 Origin Pharma Packaging

      10. 6.1.10 COMAR, LLC.

      11. 6.1.11 Graham Packaging Company

      12. 6.1.12 Rohrer Corporation

      13. 6.1.13 Sonoco Products Co

      14. 6.1.14 Winpak Ltd.

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  8. 8. FUTURE OUTLOOK OF THE MARKET

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The North America Pharmaceutical Packaging Market market is studied from 2020 - 2025.

The North America Pharmaceutical Packaging Market is growing at a CAGR of 8.3% over the next 5 years.

  • Amcor PLC
  • Sonoco Products Co
  • Winpak Ltd.
  • Sealed Air Corporation
  • Omnicell, Inc.

Are the major companies operating in North America Pharmaceutical Packaging Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!