Рынок молекулярной диагностики — рост, тенденции, влияние COVID-19 и прогнозы (2022–2027 гг.)

Рынок молекулярной диагностики сегментирован по технологиям (гибридизация in situ, чипы и микроматрицы, масс-спектрометрия (МС), секвенирование, ПЦР и другие технологии), применению (инфекционные заболевания, онкология, фармакогеномика, микробиология и скрининг генетических заболеваний, лейкоциты человека). типирование антигенов и скрининг крови), продукт (приборы, реагенты и другие продукты), конечный пользователь (больницы, лаборатории и другие конечные пользователи) и географическое положение (Северная Америка, Европа, Азиатско-Тихоокеанский регион, Ближний Восток и Африка, а также Южная Америка). Отчет предлагает стоимость (в миллионах долларов США) для вышеуказанных сегментов.

Обзор рынка

Molecular Diagnostics Market Overview
Study Period: 2019-2027
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 8.76 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Обзор рынка

Мировой рынок молекулярной диагностики оценивался в 17 838,62 млн долларов США в 2021 году, и ожидается, что к 2027 году он достигнет 29 255,49 млн долларов США, что означает среднегодовой темп роста в 9,2% в течение прогнозируемого периода 2022–2027 годов.

В глобальном масштабе интегрированные цепочки поставок, обеспечивающие более высокое качество, безопасность и инновационные подходы к распределению в секторе здравоохранения, сильно пострадали из-за сбоев в каналах распределения по всему миру. Пандемия COVID-19 привлекла внимание к индустрии молекулярной диагностики во всем мире благодаря быстрому развитию диагностики, быстрому разрешению регулирующих органов и ускоренному распространению в различных регионах, чтобы помочь обуздать распространение вируса.

Ожидается, что спрос на диагностические продукты в связи с COVID-19 в Бразилии вырастет в основном из-за растущего спроса на тесты полимеразной цепной реакции, секвенирование следующего поколения (NGS), продукты для экспресс-тестов на основе серологии и резкое увеличение целевого показателя. популяция пациентов. Например, в мае 2020 года Seegene Inc., ведущий разработчик технологий мультиплексной ПЦР, поставил пять миллионов тестов Allplex 2019-nCOV в Бразилию через дочернюю компанию Seegene do Brasil Diagnosticos Ltda.

Некоторые из факторов, ответственных за рост рынка, включают крупные вспышки бактериальных и вирусных эпидемий в мире, растущий спрос на диагностику по месту оказания медицинской помощи, последние достижения в области фармакогеномики и быстро развивающиеся технологии. Согласно отчету Всемирной организации здравоохранения за 2020 год, туберкулез занимает 13-е место среди основных причин смерти в мире и второе ведущее инфекционное заболевание, уступая только COVID-19 (но опережая ВИЧ/СПИД). По оценкам, в 2020 году во всем мире от туберкулеза страдало около 10 миллионов человек. Среди них 5,6 миллиона мужчин, 3,3 миллиона женщин и 1,1 миллиона детей. Туберкулез поражает людей всех возрастов и из всех стран. На 30 наиболее пораженных туберкулезом стран приходилось 86% новых случаев в 2020 году. Лидирует Индия с двумя третями от общего числа, за ней следует Китай, Индонезия, Филиппины, Пакистан, Нигерия, Бангладеш и Южная Африка. Таким образом, увеличение распространенности и рост пула пациентов увеличили спрос на молекулярную диагностику за этот период.

Кроме того, во всем мире растет заболеваемость раком, что способствует росту рынка. Например, согласно GLOBOCAN 2020, в 2020 году во всем мире было зарегистрировано 19 282 789 новых случаев рака, и ожидается, что к 2040 году их число возрастет до 28 887 940 случаев. рост рынка

Молекулярная диагностика считается лучшим методом идентификации и характеристики микроорганизма. Эффективный тест должен быть точным, быстрым, а также позволять измерять инфекционное бремя. Лучшее тестирование позволяет быстро определить штамм микроорганизма и его чувствительность к лекарственным препаратам, тем самым сокращая задержку с поиском подходящего антибиотика. Технологические достижения, такие как полимеразная цепная реакция (ПЦР), также позволили идентифицировать гены устойчивости к противомикробным препаратам и предоставить информацию для общественного здравоохранения, такую ​​как характеристика штамма путем генотипирования. Следовательно, исходя из факторов, упомянутых выше, рынок, по оценкам, станет свидетелем значительного роста в течение прогнозируемого периода.

Объем отчета

Согласно объему отчета, молекулярные диагностические тесты обнаруживают определенные последовательности в ДНК или РНК (включая однонуклеотидные полиморфизмы (SNP), делеции, реаранжировки, вставки и другие), которые могут быть связаны или не связаны с заболеваниями. Молекулярная диагностика произвела революцию за последние несколько десятилетий. Мировой рынок молекулярной диагностики сегментирован по технологиям (гибридизация in situ, чипы и микроматрицы, масс-спектрометрия (МС), секвенирование, ПЦР и другие технологии), применению (инфекционные заболевания, онкология, фармакогеномика, микробиология, скрининг генетических заболеваний, исследования человека). типирование лейкоцитарного антигена и скрининг крови), продукт (инструменты, реагенты и другие продукты), конечный пользователь (больницы, лаборатории и другие конечные пользователи) и географическое положение (Северная Америка, Европа, Азиатско-Тихоокеанский регион, Ближний Восток и Африка, и Южной Америки). Отчет о рынке также охватывает предполагаемые размеры рынка и тенденции для 17 различных стран в основных регионах по всему миру.. Отчет предлагает стоимость (в миллионах долларов США) для вышеуказанных сегментов.

By Technology
In Situ Hybridization
Chips and Microarrays
Mass Spectrometry (MS)
Sequencing
PCR
Other Technologies
By Application
Infectious Disease
Oncology
Pharmacogenomics
Microbiology
Genetic Disease Screening
Human Leukocyte Antigen Typing
Blood Screening
By Product
Instruments
Reagents
Other Products
By End User
Hospitals
Laboratories
Other End Users
By Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Italy
Spain
Rest of Europe
Asia Pacific
China
Japan
India
Australia
South Korea
Rest of Asia Pacific
Middle-East and Africa
GCC
South Africa
Rest of Middle-East and Africa
South America
Brazil
Argentina
Rest of South America

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Ключевые тенденции рынка

Ожидается, что сегмент инструментов будет занимать значительную долю рынка в течение прогнозируемого периода

Молекулярная диагностика играет жизненно важную роль в оценке прогноза заболевания и ответа на терапию, а также в обнаружении минимальной остаточной болезни. За последнее десятилетие молекулярная диагностика выросла благодаря достижениям в области химии и приборов, включая автоматизацию, интеграцию, пропускную способность и возможность использовать приборы в режиме произвольного доступа.

Влияние COVID-19 на инструменты молекулярной диагностики является положительным, поскольку во время пандемии Управление по санитарному надзору за качеством пищевых продуктов и медикаментов США одобрило многие инструменты для диагностики COVID-19. Например, в июле 2020 года FDA внесло поправку, добавив Promega Maxwell RSC 48 в качестве разрешенного инструмента для извлечения для использования с диагностической панелью CDC 2019-nCoV rRT-PCR.

Кроме того, в июле 2020 года компания Roche Diagnostics India запустила прибор Cobas 8800 в Национальном институте холеры и кишечных заболеваний, Калькутта, и Cobas 6800 в Национальном институте исследований репродуктивного здоровья, Мумбаи, для помощи в диагностическом тестировании SARS CoV-2. . Системы Roche Cobas 6800/8800 обеспечивают получение результатов тестирования за три с половиной часа и обеспечивают повышенную эффективность работы, гибкость и быстрое получение результатов.

Некоторые из сложных инструментов, используемых на этом рынке, включают высокоэффективную жидкостную хроматографию (ВЭЖХ), масс-спектрометрию (МС) и ядерный магнитный резонанс (ЯМР), а также ПЦР в реальном времени, твердофазный иммуноферментный анализ (ИФА), радиоиммуноанализ. (RIA), устройства для латерального потока, безопасные шприцы для пациентов и устройства для тестирования по месту оказания медицинской помощи, среди прочего.

Кроме того, имея огромные возможности диагностики in vitro, многие участники рынка применяют различные стратегии, такие как сотрудничество, приобретение, запуск новых продуктов и расширение на Азиатско-Тихоокеанском рынке.

Например, в январе 2020 года Illumina получила одобрение продукта от Агентства по фармацевтике и медицинскому оборудованию (PMDA) Японии для прибора MiSeqDx. Это одобрение позволяет распространять MiSeqDx как медицинское устройство класса I в Японии, что оказывает положительное влияние на рынок.

 Таким образом, благодаря упомянутым выше факторам ожидается, что рынок будет расти в течение прогнозируемого периода.

Mordor 2

Северная Америка доминирует на рынке и, как ожидается, будет делать то же самое в течение прогнозируемого периода

Некоторые из факторов, стимулирующих рост рынка, включают крупные вспышки бактериальных и вирусных эпидемий, растущий спрос на диагностику по месту оказания медицинской помощи, быстрое развитие технологий и присутствие ключевых игроков рынка в регионе.

Во время пандемии COVID-19 Центры США по контролю и профилактике заболеваний (CDC) использовали формат одноэтапной ПЦР для диагностики COVID-19. Анализ проводили путем выделения РНК из образца и добавления ее к мастер-миксу, содержащему прямой и обратный праймеры, воду без нуклеаз, реакционную смесь (обратная транскриптаза, полимераза, нуклеотиды, магний и другие добавки). Например, по данным Центров по контролю и профилактике заболеваний (CDC) в Соединенных Штатах, тесты на антигены и тесты на амплификацию нуклеиновых кислот (МАНК) использовались в качестве диагностических тестов для выявления инфекции SARS-CoV-2. Вирусные тесты использовались в качестве скрининговых тестов для снижения передачи SARS-CoV-2 путем выявления инфицированных лиц, которых необходимо изолировать от других.

Молекулярная диагностика сыграла жизненно важную роль в изменении подхода к диагностике заболеваний и обеспечении быстрого выявления и точного лечения пациентов в критическом состоянии. Увеличение расходов на здравоохранение на душу населения, развитие инфраструктуры здравоохранения и рост числа инфекционных и онкологических заболеваний в США привели к смещению тенденции от традиционных методов диагностики к молекулярной диагностике.

Высокое бремя хронических заболеваний во всех возрастных группах, особенно среди стареющего населения, может стимулировать спрос на молекулярные диагностические тесты в Канаде. Согласно данным, предоставленным правительством Канады, в 2019 году 44% взрослых в возрасте 20+ лет имеют как минимум 1 из 10 распространенных хронических заболеваний, и распространенность хронических заболеваний растет. 

Кроме того, растущий технологический прогресс, увеличение выхода на рынок новых игроков и быстрое внедрение передовой молекулярной диагностики способствуют росту рынка в Соединенных Штатах. Например, в марте 2020 года компания Abbott объявила о том, что Управление по санитарному надзору за качеством пищевых продуктов и медикаментов США (FDA) выдало разрешение на использование в чрезвычайных ситуациях (EUA) для самого быстрого из доступных тестов молекулярной диагностики для обнаружения нового коронавируса (COVID-19), дающего положительные результаты в максимально короткие сроки. всего за пять минут и отрицательный результат через 13 минут

Таким образом, с учетом вышеупомянутых факторов ожидается, что в прогнозируемый период будет стимулироваться рост рынка в регионе Северной Америки.

Molecular Diagnostics Market2

Конкурентная среда

Мировой рынок молекулярной диагностики отличается высокой конкуренцией и состоит из нескольких крупных игроков. Однако благодаря технологическим достижениям и инновациям в продуктах средние и малые компании увеличивают свое присутствие на рынке, предлагая новые устройства по более низким ценам. Некоторые игроки рынка включают, среди прочих, Abbott Laboratories, F Hoffmann-la Roche Ltd, Hologic Corporation, Danaher Corporation и Agilent Technology.

Основные игроки

  1. Abbott Laboratories

  2. Hologic Corporation

  3. Cepheid Inc. (Danaher Corporation)

  4. F Hoffmann-la Roche Ltd

  5. Agilent Technologies Inc.

Abbott Laboratories, Hologic Corporation, Cepheid Inc. (Danaher Corporation), F Hoffmann-la Roche Ltd, Agilent Technologies Inc.

Конкурентная среда

Мировой рынок молекулярной диагностики отличается высокой конкуренцией и состоит из нескольких крупных игроков. Однако благодаря технологическим достижениям и инновациям в продуктах средние и малые компании увеличивают свое присутствие на рынке, предлагая новые устройства по более низким ценам. Некоторые игроки рынка включают, среди прочих, Abbott Laboratories, F Hoffmann-la Roche Ltd, Hologic Corporation, Danaher Corporation и Agilent Technology.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Large Outbreaks of Bacterial And Viral Epidemics in the World

      2. 4.2.2 Increasing Demand for Point-of-care Diagnostics

      3. 4.2.3 Recent Advancements in Pharmacogenomics

      4. 4.2.4 Rapidly Evolving Technology

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

      1. 4.3.1 Limited Budgets for R&D and Economic Slowdown

      2. 4.3.2 Need for High-complexity Testing Centers

    4. 4.4 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      3. 4.4.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION (Market Size by Value – USD million)

    1. 5.1 By Technology

      1. 5.1.1 In Situ Hybridization

      2. 5.1.2 Chips and Microarrays

      3. 5.1.3 Mass Spectrometry (MS)

      4. 5.1.4 Sequencing

      5. 5.1.5 PCR

      6. 5.1.6 Other Technologies

    2. 5.2 By Application

      1. 5.2.1 Infectious Disease

      2. 5.2.2 Oncology

      3. 5.2.3 Pharmacogenomics

      4. 5.2.4 Microbiology

      5. 5.2.5 Genetic Disease Screening

      6. 5.2.6 Human Leukocyte Antigen Typing

      7. 5.2.7 Blood Screening

    3. 5.3 By Product

      1. 5.3.1 Instruments

      2. 5.3.2 Reagents

      3. 5.3.3 Other Products

    4. 5.4 By End User

      1. 5.4.1 Hospitals

      2. 5.4.2 Laboratories

      3. 5.4.3 Other End Users

    5. 5.5 By Geography

      1. 5.5.1 North America

        1. 5.5.1.1 United States

        2. 5.5.1.2 Canada

        3. 5.5.1.3 Mexico

      2. 5.5.2 Europe

        1. 5.5.2.1 Germany

        2. 5.5.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.5.2.3 France

        4. 5.5.2.4 Italy

        5. 5.5.2.5 Spain

        6. 5.5.2.6 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.5.3 Asia Pacific

        1. 5.5.3.1 China

        2. 5.5.3.2 Japan

        3. 5.5.3.3 India

        4. 5.5.3.4 Australia

        5. 5.5.3.5 South Korea

        6. 5.5.3.6 Rest of Asia Pacific

      4. 5.5.4 Middle-East and Africa

        1. 5.5.4.1 GCC

        2. 5.5.4.2 South Africa

        3. 5.5.4.3 Rest of Middle-East and Africa

      5. 5.5.5 South America

        1. 5.5.5.1 Brazil

        2. 5.5.5.2 Argentina

        3. 5.5.5.3 Rest of South America

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 F Hoffmann-la Roche Ltd

      2. 6.1.2 Illumina Ltd

      3. 6.1.3 Hologic Corporation

      4. 6.1.4 Agilent Technologies Inc.

      5. 6.1.5 Qiagen NV

      6. 6.1.6 Myriad Genetics

      7. 6.1.7 Becton, Dickinson and Company

      8. 6.1.8 Abbott Laboratories

      9. 6.1.9 Biomerieux SA

      10. 6.1.10 Bio-Rad Laboratories Inc.

      11. 6.1.11 Sysmex Corporation

      12. 6.1.12 Beckman Coulter Inc.

      13. 6.1.13 Thermo Fisher Scientific Inc.

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Competitive Landscape covers- Business Overview, Financials, Products and Strategies and Recent Developments
You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Global Molecular Diagnostics Market market is studied from 2019 - 2027.

The Global Molecular Diagnostics Market is growing at a CAGR of 8.76% over the next 5 years.

The Global Molecular Diagnostics Market is valued at 17838 Million USD in 2019.

The Global Molecular Diagnostics Market is valued at 29255 Million USD in 2027.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

North America holds highest share in 2021.

Abbott Laboratories, Hologic Corporation, Cepheid Inc. (Danaher Corporation), F Hoffmann-la Roche Ltd, Agilent Technologies Inc. are the major companies operating in Global Molecular Diagnostics Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Molecular Diagnostics Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2022 - 2027)

The Molecular Diagnostics Market is Segmented by Technology (In Situ Hybridization, Chips and Microarrays, Mass Spectrometry (MS), Sequencing, PCR, and Other Technologies), Application (Infectious Disease, Oncology, Pharmacogenomics, Microbiology, and Genetic Disease Screening, Human Leukocyte Antigen Typing, and Blood Screening), Product (Instruments, Reagents, and Other Products), End User (Hospitals, Laboratories, and Other End Users), and Geography (North America, Europe, Asia Pacific, Middle-East and Africa, and South America). The report offers the value (in USD million) for the above segments.

Market Snapshot

Molecular Diagnostics Market Summary
Study Period: 2019-2027
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 8.76 %
Molecular Diagnostics Market Major Players

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The global molecular diagnostics market was valued at USD 17,838.62 million in 2021, and it is expected to reach 29,255.49 million by 2027, registering a CAGR of 9.2% during the forecast period, 2022-2027.

Globally, the integrated supply chains that ensure better quality, safety, and innovative approaches for distribution across the healthcare sector are tremendously impacted due to the disruption in the distribution channels across the world. The COVID-19 pandemic has turned a spotlight on the molecular diagnostics industry across the world, with the rapid development of diagnostics, fast-tracked regulatory clearances, and ramped-up distribution in various regions to help curb the spread of the virus.

The demand for diagnostic products due to COVID-19 in Brazil is expected to increase mainly due to rising demand for polymerase chain reaction tests, next-generation sequencing (NGS), serology-based rapid-test products, and a sharp rise in the target patient population. For instance, in May 2020, Seegene Inc., a leading developer of multiplex PCR technologies, has supplied five million tests of Allplex 2019-nCOV assay to Brazil through subsidiary Seegene do Brasil Diagnosticos Ltda.

Some of the factors responsible for the growth of the market include large outbreaks of bacterial and viral epidemics in the world, increasing demand for point-of-care diagnostics, recent advancements in pharmacogenomics, and rapidly evolving technology. According to the World Health Organization 2020 report, tuberculosis is the world's 13th leading cause of death and the second leading infectious disease, trailing only COVID-19 (but ahead of HIV/AIDS). In 2020, it was estimated that around 10 million people suffered from tuberculosis globally. This includes 5.6 million men, 3.3 million women, and 1.1 million children. Tuberculosis affects people of all ages and from all countries. The 30 most affected countries by tuberculosis accounted for 86% of new cases in 2020. India leads the pack with two-thirds of the total, followed by China, Indonesia, the Philippines, Pakistan, Nigeria, Bangladesh, and South Africa. Thus, increasing the prevalence and rising patient pool increased the demand for molecular diagnosis over the period.

Furthermore, globally, there is an increasing incidence of cancer, which is driving the market growth. For instance, according to GLOBOCAN 2020, there were 19,282,789 new cancer cases worldwide in 2020, with the number expected to rise to 28,887,940 cases by 2040. Therefore, the global incidence of cancer, as well as modern healthcare facilities, have been major drivers of the market's growth

Molecular diagnostics is considered to be the best method to identify and characterize a microorganism. An effective test must be precise, rapid, and also be able to measure the infectious burden. Better testing quickly identifies the organism’s strain and drug susceptibility, thus, reducing the delay in finding the right antibiotic. Technological advancements, like a polymerase chain reaction (PCR), have also made it possible to identify the antimicrobial resistance genes and provide public health information, such as strain characterization by genotyping. Hence, from the factors mentioned above, the market is estimated to witness significant growth over the forecast period.

Scope of the Report

As per the scope of the report, molecular diagnostic tests detect specific sequences in DNA or RNA (including single nucleotide polymorphisms (SNP), deletions, rearrangements, insertions, and others), which may or may not be associated with diseases. Molecular diagnostics has been revolutionized over the past few decades. The global molecular diagnostics market is segmented by technology (in situ hybridization, chips, and microarrays, mass spectrometry (MS), sequencing, PCR, and other technologies), application (infectious disease, oncology, pharmacogenomics, microbiology, genetic disease screening, human leukocyte antigen typing, and blood screening), product (instruments, reagents, and other products), end-user (hospitals, laboratories, and other end-users), and geography (North America, Europe, Asia Pacific, Middle-East and Africa, and South America). The market report also covers the estimated market sizes and trends for 17 different countries across major regions, globally. The report offers the value (in USD million) for the above segments.

By Technology
In Situ Hybridization
Chips and Microarrays
Mass Spectrometry (MS)
Sequencing
PCR
Other Technologies
By Application
Infectious Disease
Oncology
Pharmacogenomics
Microbiology
Genetic Disease Screening
Human Leukocyte Antigen Typing
Blood Screening
By Product
Instruments
Reagents
Other Products
By End User
Hospitals
Laboratories
Other End Users
By Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Italy
Spain
Rest of Europe
Asia Pacific
China
Japan
India
Australia
South Korea
Rest of Asia Pacific
Middle-East and Africa
GCC
South Africa
Rest of Middle-East and Africa
South America
Brazil
Argentina
Rest of South America

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Instruments Segment is Expected to Hold Significant Market Share Over the Forecast Period

Molecular diagnostics plays a vital role in the assessment of disease prognosis and therapy response, as well as in the detection of minimal residual disease. In the past decade, molecular diagnostics has grown, due to advances in chemistries and instrumentation, including automation, integration, throughput, and the ability to use the instrumentation in a random-access mode.

The impact of COVID-19 on molecular diagnostics instruments is positive because during the pandemic US FDA has been approved many instruments in the diagnosis of COVID-19. For instance, in July 2020, FDA granted an amendment, to add the Promega Maxwell RSC 48 as an authorized extraction instrument for use with the CDC 2019-nCoV rRT-PCR Diagnostic Panel.

Additionally, in July 2020, Roche Diagnostics India launched the Cobas 8800 instrument at the National Institute of Cholera and Enteric Diseases, Kolkata, and Cobas 6800 at the National Institute for Research in Reproductive Health, Mumbai, to aid with SARS CoV-2 diagnostic testing. Roche’s Cobas 6800/8800 systems provide test results in three and half hours and offer improved operating efficiency, flexibility, and fastest time-to-time results.

Some of the sophisticated instruments used in this market are high-performance liquid chromatography (HPLC), mass spectrometry (MS), and nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR), along with real-time PCR, enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay (ELISA), radioimmunoassay (RIA), lateral flow devices, patient safety syringes, and point-of-care testing devices, among others.

Furthermore, with the tremendous opportunity in in vitro diagnostics, many market players are adopting various strategies, such as collaborations, acquisitions, new products launches, and expansions, into the Asia Pacific Market.

For instance, in January 2020, Illumina received product approval from Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency (PMDA), Japan for MiSeqDx instrument. This approval allows for the distribution of the MiSeqDx as a Class I medical device in Japan, which shows a positive impact on the market.

 Thus, owing to the factors mentioned above, it is expected to drive market growth over the forecast period.

Molecular Diagnostics Market - Incidence of Lung Cancer in Males (Per 100,00 population), by Region, 2020

North America Dominates the Market and is Expected to do the Same over the Forecast Period

Some of the factors driving the market growth include large outbreaks of bacterial and viral epidemics, increasing demand for point-of-care diagnostics, rapidly evolving technology, and the presence of key market players in the region.

During the COVID-19 pandemic, the United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) used a one-step PCR format to diagnose COVID-19. The assay was carried out by isolating RNA from the sample and adding it to the master mix containing forward and reverse primers, nuclease-free water, the reaction mixture (reverse transcriptase, polymerase, nucleotides, magnesium, and other additives). For instance, as per the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), in the United States, antigen tests and nucleic acid amplification tests (NAATs) were used as diagnostic tests to detect infection with SARS-CoV-2. Viral tests were used as screening tests to reduce the transmission of SARS-CoV-2 by identifying infected persons who need to isolate from others.

Molecular diagnostics has played a vital role in changing the face of disease diagnostics and assuring speedy detection and accurate care for critically ill patients. The increase in per capita health expenditures, the advancement in healthcare infrastructure, and the increase in the number of infectious diseases and cancer cases in the United States have led to a shift in trend from the traditional diagnostic methods to molecular diagnostics.

The high burden of chronic diseases in all age groups, especially the aging population, may drive the demand for molecular diagnostic tests in Canada. According to the data provided by the Canadian government, in 2019, 44% of adults aged 20+ years have at least 1 of 10 common chronic conditions, and the prevalence of chronic diseases is rising. 

Furthermore, rising technological advancements, increasing entry of new players, and speedy adoption of advanced molecular diagnostics are helping in the growth of the market in the United States. For Instance, in March 2020, Abbott announced that the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) issued Emergency Use Authorization (EUA) for the fastest available molecular diagnostics test for the detection of novel coronavirus (COVID-19), delivering positive results in as little as five minutes and negative results in 13 minutes

Thus, considering above mentioned factors, it is expected to fuel the market growth in North American region over the forecast period.

Molecular Diagnostics Market - Growth Rate by Region

Competitive Landscape

The global molecular diagnostics market is highly competitive and consists of several major players. However, with technological advancements and product innovations, mid-size to small companies are increasing their market presence by introducing new devices with fewer prices. Some market players include Abbott Laboratories, F Hoffmann-la Roche Ltd, Hologic Corporation, Danaher Corporation, and Agilent Technology, among others.

Major Players

  1. Abbott Laboratories

  2. Hologic Corporation

  3. Cepheid Inc. (Danaher Corporation)

  4. F Hoffmann-la Roche Ltd

  5. Agilent Technologies Inc.

Molecular Diagnostics Market Concentration

Recent Developments

  • In January 2021, MatMaCorp., a developer of comprehensive molecular diagnostic systems, was granted Emergency Use Authorization (EUA) from the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for the COVID-19 2SF RNA test for the detection of SARS-CoV-2 on the company’s Solas 8 portable detection system
  • In February 2021, Bio-Rad Laboratories, Inc., received Emergency Use Authorization (EUA) approval from the United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for Reliance SARS-CoV-2/FluA/FluB RT-PCR and Reliance SARS-CoV-2 RT-PCR Assay Kits. The multi-target Reliance SARS-CoV-2/FluA/FluB RT-PCR Assay Kit simultaneously detects and differentiates SARS-CoV-2, influenza A, and influenza B in a single multiplex reaction.​
  • In June 2021, Bio-Rad Laboratories Inc. entered a partnership agreement with Seegene Inc., a global leader in multiplex molecular diagnostics, for the clinical development and commercialization of infectious disease molecular diagnostic products in the United States.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Large Outbreaks of Bacterial And Viral Epidemics in the World

      2. 4.2.2 Increasing Demand for Point-of-care Diagnostics

      3. 4.2.3 Recent Advancements in Pharmacogenomics

      4. 4.2.4 Rapidly Evolving Technology

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

      1. 4.3.1 Limited Budgets for R&D and Economic Slowdown

      2. 4.3.2 Need for High-complexity Testing Centers

    4. 4.4 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      3. 4.4.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION (Market Size by Value – USD million)

    1. 5.1 By Technology

      1. 5.1.1 In Situ Hybridization

      2. 5.1.2 Chips and Microarrays

      3. 5.1.3 Mass Spectrometry (MS)

      4. 5.1.4 Sequencing

      5. 5.1.5 PCR

      6. 5.1.6 Other Technologies

    2. 5.2 By Application

      1. 5.2.1 Infectious Disease

      2. 5.2.2 Oncology

      3. 5.2.3 Pharmacogenomics

      4. 5.2.4 Microbiology

      5. 5.2.5 Genetic Disease Screening

      6. 5.2.6 Human Leukocyte Antigen Typing

      7. 5.2.7 Blood Screening

    3. 5.3 By Product

      1. 5.3.1 Instruments

      2. 5.3.2 Reagents

      3. 5.3.3 Other Products

    4. 5.4 By End User

      1. 5.4.1 Hospitals

      2. 5.4.2 Laboratories

      3. 5.4.3 Other End Users

    5. 5.5 By Geography

      1. 5.5.1 North America

        1. 5.5.1.1 United States

        2. 5.5.1.2 Canada

        3. 5.5.1.3 Mexico

      2. 5.5.2 Europe

        1. 5.5.2.1 Germany

        2. 5.5.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.5.2.3 France

        4. 5.5.2.4 Italy

        5. 5.5.2.5 Spain

        6. 5.5.2.6 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.5.3 Asia Pacific

        1. 5.5.3.1 China

        2. 5.5.3.2 Japan

        3. 5.5.3.3 India

        4. 5.5.3.4 Australia

        5. 5.5.3.5 South Korea

        6. 5.5.3.6 Rest of Asia Pacific

      4. 5.5.4 Middle-East and Africa

        1. 5.5.4.1 GCC

        2. 5.5.4.2 South Africa

        3. 5.5.4.3 Rest of Middle-East and Africa

      5. 5.5.5 South America

        1. 5.5.5.1 Brazil

        2. 5.5.5.2 Argentina

        3. 5.5.5.3 Rest of South America

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 F Hoffmann-la Roche Ltd

      2. 6.1.2 Illumina Ltd

      3. 6.1.3 Hologic Corporation

      4. 6.1.4 Agilent Technologies Inc.

      5. 6.1.5 Qiagen NV

      6. 6.1.6 Myriad Genetics

      7. 6.1.7 Becton, Dickinson and Company

      8. 6.1.8 Abbott Laboratories

      9. 6.1.9 Biomerieux SA

      10. 6.1.10 Bio-Rad Laboratories Inc.

      11. 6.1.11 Sysmex Corporation

      12. 6.1.12 Beckman Coulter Inc.

      13. 6.1.13 Thermo Fisher Scientific Inc.

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Competitive Landscape covers- Business Overview, Financials, Products and Strategies and Recent Developments
You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Global Molecular Diagnostics Market market is studied from 2019 - 2027.

The Global Molecular Diagnostics Market is growing at a CAGR of 8.76% over the next 5 years.

The Global Molecular Diagnostics Market is valued at 17838 Million USD in 2019.

The Global Molecular Diagnostics Market is valued at 29255 Million USD in 2027.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

North America holds highest share in 2021.

Abbott Laboratories, Hologic Corporation, Cepheid Inc. (Danaher Corporation), F Hoffmann-la Roche Ltd, Agilent Technologies Inc. are the major companies operating in Global Molecular Diagnostics Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!