基于 MEMS 的振荡器市场 - 增长、趋势、COVID-19 影响和预测(2022 - 2027 年)

基于 MEMS 的振荡器市场按类型(温度补偿振荡器 (TCXO)、扩频振荡器 (SSXO)、电压控制振荡器 (VCXO)、数控振荡器 (DCXO))、最终用户行业(汽车、航空航天和国防、消费电子、IT 和电信)和地理。

市场快照

MEMS-Based Oscillator Market Size
Study Period: 2018 - 2026
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: Asia Pacific
CAGR: 25.3 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

市场概况

2020 年全球基于 MEMS 的振荡器市场价值为 9350 万美元,预计到 2026 年将达到 4.178 亿美元,在预测期间(2021-2026 年)的复合年增长率为 25.3%。然而,由于压力和微流体与 COVID-19 相关联,用于医疗监测应用的基于 MEMS 振荡器的设备受到了积极影响,包括呼吸诊断和其他研究病毒和患者监测的研究工具。例如,在 COVID-19 爆发期间,Raltron 一直在加强对医疗设备制造商的支持服务。截至 2020 年 4 月,该公司位于迈阿密的工厂以 100% 的产能运行,而亚洲工厂的产能为 90%。Raltron 的 MEMS 振荡器、晶体谐振器和滤波器主要用于便携式医疗设备。

  • 振荡器是一种电子电路,用于通过利用振动晶体(压电材料)的机械共振产生特定频率的电信号。MEMS 振荡器是基于可编程架构的完整计时系统。它进一步见证了改进功能、增强性能和电子设备小型化的巨大需求。
  • 同样,随着移动基础设施、物联网和电子可穿戴设备的进步,MEMS 振荡器往往会增强产品在选择定时组件方面的使用。其他值得注意的趋势,如 5G,已经给供应商带来了相当大的压力,要求他们提供基于更高频率的相关解决方案。MEMS 振荡器具有利用五分之一能耗的优势,这意味着,它可能是许多计划于 2020 年推出的 5G 设计的重要时钟源选择。
  • 由于典型的智能手机或平板电脑最多使用五个振荡器,因此这些振荡器最近基于石英晶体谐振器。然而,技术进步和制造演变引入了先进版本的晶体振荡器,如基于微机电系统 (MEMS) 谐振器的时钟和振荡器,使得石英晶体振荡器相对成为一种过时的技术。
  • 例如,IDT 和 SiTime 等公司提供 MEMS 振荡器。基于 MEMS 的振荡器具有可靠性、坚固性、小型化和成本效益。预计此类解决方案将极大地挑战市场增长并影响对即将到来的应用的需求。
  • 基于硅的制造和封装技术开发了与跨标准半导体封装的其他电路集成的能力。这使得谐振器和更广泛的定时技术的可扩展标准硅制造成为可能。
  • 此外,MEMS 和基于硅的技术在广泛的频率范围内运行,同时对振动、机械冲击、温度变化具有很强的抵抗力,并且不易受频率跳跃的影响。因此,该技术非常适合小尺寸、高性能、稳健性和可编程性的时序解决方案。例如,Microchip 的 DSC1001 是一种基于硅 MEMS 的振荡器。该器件在很宽的电源电压和温度范围内提供低至 10ppm 的抖动和稳定性性能,例如 1MHz 至 150MHz,电源电压在 1.8 至 3.3 VDC 之间,温度范围高达 -40ºC 至 105ºC。
  • 随着汽车、航空航天、消费电子产品的成品运输延迟,大流行的爆发也影响了频率控制设备的生产。随着主要半导体工厂的关闭,供应链的影响受到了重大打击。 

报告范围

基于 MEMS 的振荡器是工业中实现的每个电路的组成部分,它发出可以测量时间的高度稳定的频率。这些参考频率可用于对电子系统进行排序、管理数据传输、定义无线电频率和测量经过的时间。基于石英晶体的振荡器一直是工业中广泛应用的常规选择。然而,在过去十年中,基于 MEMS 的硅振荡器的商业应用的出现改变了振荡器市场。

 

Type
Temperature Compensated Oscillator (TCXO)
Spread Spectrum Oscillator (SSXO)
Voltage Control Oscillator (VCXO)
Digitally Controlled Oscillator (DCXO)
Other Types
End User Industry
Automotive
Aerospace & Defense
Consumer Electronics
IT and Telecomm
Other End-user Industries
Geography
North America
Europe
Asia Pacific
Rest of the World

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

主要市场趋势

消费电子行业有望推动市场增长

  • 消费电子产品的频繁推出预计将推动基于 MEMS 的振荡器市场。随着智能手机和可穿戴设备的应用,以及实现更小、更低功耗的物联网设备的驱动力,基于 MEMS 的振荡器有望显着增长。
  • 随着每年出货量的增加,消费市场一直在观察对活动追踪器的需求增加,其次是智能手表、可穿戴相机和智能眼镜。这些设备正在通过 MEMS 技术的进步来简化时序解决方案和无线连接。
  • MEMS 时序技术的创新也为可穿戴应用的物理空间和功耗节省做出了重大贡献,同时提高了可靠性。在这种情况下,由于该细分市场属于消费者类别,因此成本提出了重大挑战。随着 5G 网络的推出,尤其是在消费市场中,消费电子产品对更紧凑、更高频率和更少基于时序斜率的 MEMS 振荡器的需求预计将增长。
  • 研究市场中的多家供应商都在提供相关的计时解决方案。例如,2020 年 1 月,Abracon 推出了用于紧凑型网络应用的超低抖动 AK2 ClearClock 振荡器。此版本主要与提供更紧凑的振荡器一致。光学模块、小型摄像机和有源电缆等应用对下一代数据速率时钟的需求正在增加。
  • 5G 在基于 MEMS 的振荡器的消费电子应用中推动的另一个关键方面是需要通过低电流消耗来延长电池寿命。需要在移动设备上开发低频、低功耗的计时设备,其中设备持续开启以计时或控制睡眠模式。
MEMS-Based Oscillator Market Trends

北美将占据重要市场份额

  • 北美是基于 MEMS 的振荡器的最大市场,这得益于成熟的工业部门以及蓬勃发展的汽车和消费电子行业。该地区的汽车产量在 2014-2021 年期间出现增长。
  • 此外,该地区联网和无人驾驶汽车的增长以及汽车领域的物联网应用也有望推动对基于 MEMS 的振荡器的需求。
  • 此外,该地区对智能手机的需求逐渐增加,正是由于本地厂商苹果的产品 iPhone 和三星的旗舰 S 系列,预计将推动对基于 MEMS 的振荡器的需求。这种不断增长的渗透率主要是因为它们的固有优势,例如小尺寸、高可靠性和低功耗。
  • 此外,该地区的参与者也参与了产品开发。例如,2019 年 7 月,SiTimes 推出了其产品组合,即“Endura”(MEMS 时序解决方案)作为商业标准产品,包括六个振荡器系列和 17 个时序解决方案产品变体。该产品组合专门设计用于在恶劣条件下提供稳定的性能,包括高冲击、振动和极端温度。
MEMS-Based Oscillator Market Share

竞争格局

主要参与者包括 SITime Corporation、Microchip Technology Inc.、Vectron International Inc.、Abracon Holdings, LLC、TXC Corporation、IQD Frequency Product Ltd 等。由于自动化的蓬勃发展,主要参与者之间存在激烈的竞争,主要是在该行业的汽车领域。主要参与者在研发上投入更多,这反过来又在市场上创造了激烈的竞争。

  • 2021 年 1 月 - Rakon Ltd 推出了 RVC1616S——一种符合太空要求的混合压控振荡器 (VCO)。该设计基于专有的厚膜技术,使用低噪声双极晶体管和超突变变容二极管。该技术提高了相位噪声性能,并提供了高可靠性和改进的热管理。RVC1616S 经过 100 kRad (Si) 辐射硬化和密封,可在恶劣的太空环境中运行。

竞争格局

主要参与者包括 SITime Corporation、Microchip Technology Inc.、Vectron International Inc.、Abracon Holdings, LLC、TXC Corporation、IQD Frequency Product Ltd 等。由于自动化的蓬勃发展,主要参与者之间存在激烈的竞争,主要是在该行业的汽车领域。主要参与者在研发上投入更多,这反过来又在市场上创造了激烈的竞争。

  • 2021 年 1 月 - Rakon Ltd 推出了 RVC1616S——一种符合太空要求的混合压控振荡器 (VCO)。该设计基于专有的厚膜技术,使用低噪声双极晶体管和超突变变容二极管。该技术提高了相位噪声性能,并提供了高可靠性和改进的热管理。RVC1616S 经过 100 kRad (Si) 辐射硬化和密封,可在恶劣的太空环境中运行。

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions​ and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Force Analysis

      1. 4.2.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.2.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.2.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.2.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.2.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

    3. 4.3 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    4. 4.4 Assessment of COVID-19 Impact on the MEMS Oscillator Market

    5. 4.5 Key Considerations on Adopting MEMS Oscillators (To include coverage on the utilization of MEMS Oscillators in Reducing Time-to-Market and Project Cost)

    6. 4.6 Market Drivers

      1. 4.6.1 Advancement in Silicon-based Manufacturing and Packaging Techniques

    7. 4.7 Market Challenges

      1. 4.7.1 Complex Designs Leading to High R&D Costs

    8. 4.8 Market Opportunities

      1. 4.8.1 Emergence of 5G creating demand for better timing devices

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Type

      1. 5.1.1 Temperature Compensated Oscillator (TCXO)

      2. 5.1.2 Spread Spectrum Oscillator (SSXO)

      3. 5.1.3 Voltage Control Oscillator (VCXO)

      4. 5.1.4 Digitally Controlled Oscillator (DCXO)

      5. 5.1.5 Other Types

    2. 5.2 End User Industry

      1. 5.2.1 Automotive

      2. 5.2.2 Aerospace & Defense

      3. 5.2.3 Consumer Electronics

      4. 5.2.4 IT and Telecomm

      5. 5.2.5 Other End-user Industries

    3. 5.3 Geography

      1. 5.3.1 North America

      2. 5.3.2 Europe

      3. 5.3.3 Asia Pacific

      4. 5.3.4 Rest of the World

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles*

      1. 6.1.1 Maxim Integrated Products Inc.

      2. 6.1.2 Microchip Technology Inc.

      3. 6.1.3 Raltron Electronics (Rami Technology USA LLC

      4. 6.1.4 Renesas Electronics Corporation

      5. 6.1.5 Abracon LLC

      6. 6.1.6 TXC Corporation

      7. 6.1.7 SiTime Corporation

      8. 6.1.8 Daishinku Corp.

      9. 6.1.9 Rakon Limited

  7. 7. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  8. 8. FUTURE OF THE MARKET​

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The MEMS-based Oscillator Market market is studied from 2018 - 2026.

The MEMS-based Oscillator Market is growing at a CAGR of 25.3% over the next 5 years.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

Asia Pacific holds highest share in 2021.

TXC Corporation, Microchip Technology Inc., SiTime Corporation, Renesas Electronics Corporation, Maxim Integrated Products Inc. are the major companies operating in MEMS-based Oscillator Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

MEMS-based Oscillator Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2021 - 2026)

The MEMS-based Oscillator Market is segmented by Type (Temperature Compensated Oscillator (TCXO), Spread Spectrum Oscillator (SSXO), Voltage Control Oscillator (VCXO), Digitally Controlled Oscillator (DCXO)), End User Industry (Automotive, Aerospace & Defense, Consumer Electronics, IT and Telecomm), and Geography.

Market Snapshot

mems based oscillator market
Study Period:

2018 - 2026

Base Year:

2020

Fastest Growing Market:

Asia Pacific

Largest Market:

Asia Pacific

CAGR:

25.3 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The Global MEMS-based Oscillator Market was valued at USD 93.5 million in 2020 and is expected to reach a value of USD 417.80 million by 2026, registering a CAGR of 25.3% over the forecast period (2021 – 2026). However, MEMS oscillator-based devices for medical monitoring applications have been positively impacted as pressure and microfluidics are linked to COVID-19, including respiratory diagnostics and other research tools to study the virus and patient monitoring. For instance, Raltron has been enhancing support services for Medical Equipment Manufacturers amid the COVID-19 outbreak. As per April 2020, the company had its Miami-based facility running at 100% capacity, while the Asian facilities at 90% capacity. Raltron’s MEMS oscillators, crystal resonators, and filters were primarily being demanded across portable medical devices.

  • Oscillators are electronic circuits used to generate an electrical signal of a particular frequency by utilizing the vibrating crystal’s (piezoelectric material) mechanical resonance. MEMS oscillators are complete timing systems based on a programmable architecture. It further witnesses significant demand being aided by improved functionality, enhanced performance, and electronic device miniaturization.
  • Likewise, with the advancement of mobile infrastructure, the IoT, and electronic wearables, MEMS oscillators tend to enhance the product’s usage with respect to the select timing component. Other notable trends, such as 5G, have been putting considerable pressure on vendors to offer allied solutions based on higher frequencies. MEMS oscillators provide an advantage of utilizing one-fifth of the energy consumption, meaning, it could be a significant clock source of choice for many 5G designs scheduled to roll in 2020.
  • Since a typical smartphone or tablet uses up to five oscillators, these oscillators were recently based on quartz crystal resonators. However, technology advancements and fabrication evolution introduced advanced versions of the crystal oscillators, like microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) resonator-based clocks and oscillators, making the quartz crystal oscillators relatively an obsolete technology.
  • For instance, companies, such as IDT and SiTime, offer MEMS oscillators. MEMS-based oscillators offer reliability, ruggedness, miniaturization, cost-effectiveness. Such solutions are expected to significantly challenge market growth and influence the demand over the upcoming applications.
  • Silicon-based manufacturing and packaging techniques developed capabilities to integrate with other circuits across standard semiconductor packages. This has made scalable standard silicon manufacturing possible for the resonator and broader timing technology.
  • Further, MEMS and silicon-based technologies operate in a wide range of frequencies, while being highly resistant to vibration, mechanical shock, temperature changes, and less susceptible to frequency jumps. Therefore, this technology has been ideal for timing solutions that are small in size and offer high performance, robustness, and programmability. For instance, the DSC1001 from Microchip is a silicon MEMS-based oscillator. The device offers jitter and stability performance as low as 10ppm over a wide range of supply voltages and temperatures, such as 1MHz to 150MHz with supply voltages between 1.8 to 3.3 VDC and temperature ranges up to -40ºC to 105ºC.
  • With delays in the shipping of finished products across automobiles, aerospace, consumer electronics, the outbreak of pandemic also affected the production of frequency control devices. With major semiconductor factories shut down, the supply chain impacts have taken the major hit. 

Scope of the Report

MEMS-based oscillators are an integral part of every circuit implemented in the industry which emits highly stable frequencies that can measure time. These reference frequencies may be used to sequence electronic systems, manage data transfer, define radio frequencies, and measure elapsed time. The Quartz crystal-based oscillators have been the conventional choice for a wide range of applications in the industry. However, the emergence of commercial applications of MEMS-based silicon oscillators in the last decade has transformed the oscillator market.

 

Type
Temperature Compensated Oscillator (TCXO)
Spread Spectrum Oscillator (SSXO)
Voltage Control Oscillator (VCXO)
Digitally Controlled Oscillator (DCXO)
Other Types
End User Industry
Automotive
Aerospace & Defense
Consumer Electronics
IT and Telecomm
Other End-user Industries
Geography
North America
Europe
Asia Pacific
Rest of the World

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Consumer Electronics Industry is Expected to Drive the Market Growth

  • The frequent new launches of consumer electronics products are expected to fuel the market for MEMS-based oscillators. With applications across smartphones, and wearables, and the drive to enable smaller, lower power IoT enabled devices, significant growth in MEMS-based oscillators is expected.
  • The consumer markets have been observing an increased demand for activity trackers by the rising number of units being shipped per year, followed by smartwatches, wearable cameras, and smart glasses. These devices are being enabled by advancement across MEMS technology to simplify timing solutions and wireless connectivity.
  • Innovations across MEMS timing technology is also making significant contributions to physical space and power savings in wearable applications, whilst improving reliability. Cost, in such cases, presents significant challenges as the segment falls into the consumer category. With the advent of 5G network rollouts, particularly in consumer markets, the demand for compacter, higher frequency enabled, and less timing slop-based MEMS oscillators for consumer electronics is expected to grow.
  • Multiple vendors in the market studied are offering allied timing solutions. For instance, in January 2020, Abracon launched its Ultra-Low Jitter AK2 ClearClock Oscillators for compact networking applications. This release has been mainly in line with offering compacter oscillators. The demand for next-generation data rate clocking requirements for applications, like optical modules, small video cameras, and active cables, is increasing.
  • Another critical aspect being driven by 5G across consumer electronic applications of MEMS-based oscillators is the need for extended battery life through low current consumption. Development of low frequency, low power timekeeping devices are demanded across mobile devices where the device is continuously ON for timekeeping or controlling sleep modes.
MEMs 1.png

To understand key trends, Download Sample Report

North America to Account for Significant Market Share

  • North America accounts for the largest market for MEMS-based oscillators, reinforced by the presence of an established industrial sector and booming automotive and consumer electronics industries. The volume of automobile production in the region has witnessed a growth in the 2014-2021 period.
  • In addition, the growth of connected and driverless cars in the region and IoT applications in the automotive segment are also expected to drive the demand for MEMS-based oscillators.
  • Moreover, the gradually increasing demand for smartphones in the region, precisely due to the local player Apple's product, iPhone, and Samsung's flagship S-series, is expected to drive the demand for MEMS-based oscillators. This increasing penetration is mainly because of their inherent advantages, such as small size, high reliability, and low power consumption.
  • Further, players in the region are involved in product development. For instance, in July 2019, SiTimes launched its portfolio, namely, 'Endura' (MEMS timing solutions) as commercial standard products inclusive of six oscillator families and 17 product variants for timing solutions. The portfolio was designed specifically to offer stable performance in harsh conditions, including high impact, vibration, and extreme temperatures.
MEMs Map.png

To understand geography trends, Download Sample Report

Competitive Landscape

The major players include SITime Corporation, Microchip Technology Inc., Vectron International Inc., Abracon Holdings, LLC, TXC Corporation, IQD Frequency Product Ltd, amongst others. There is high competition among major players due to the boom of automation, mainly in the automotive sector in this industry. The major players are spending more on R&D, which in return, create high competition in the market.

  • January 2021 - Rakon Ltd launched RVC1616S – a space qualified, hybrid Voltage Controlled Oscillator (VCO). Based on proprietary thick film technology, the design uses low noise bipolar transistors and hyper abrupt varactor diodes. The technology advances phase noise performance and provides high reliability and improved thermal management. The RVC1616S is 100 kRad (Si) radiation-hardened and hermetically sealed, to operate in the harsh environment of space.

Recent Developments

  • March 2021 - Abracon LLC acquired AEL Crystals Ltd., a privately held company that supplies frequency and timing products. This will help Abracon add new products and solidify its global presence in Europe.
  • February 2021 - Sitime Corporation launched SiT5008 temperature-compensated silicon MEMS oscillator (TCXO) for connected consumer and IoT devices such as Internet-connected audio-video, over-the-top streaming devices, industrial smart meters, and other devices that use low power wireless connectivity. It also offers programmable features, high reliability, and environmental resilience in a small package

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions​ and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Force Analysis

      1. 4.2.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.2.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.2.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.2.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.2.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

    3. 4.3 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    4. 4.4 Assessment of COVID-19 Impact on the MEMS Oscillator Market

    5. 4.5 Key Considerations on Adopting MEMS Oscillators (To include coverage on the utilization of MEMS Oscillators in Reducing Time-to-Market and Project Cost)

    6. 4.6 Market Drivers

      1. 4.6.1 Advancement in Silicon-based Manufacturing and Packaging Techniques

    7. 4.7 Market Challenges

      1. 4.7.1 Complex Designs Leading to High R&D Costs

    8. 4.8 Market Opportunities

      1. 4.8.1 Emergence of 5G creating demand for better timing devices

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Type

      1. 5.1.1 Temperature Compensated Oscillator (TCXO)

      2. 5.1.2 Spread Spectrum Oscillator (SSXO)

      3. 5.1.3 Voltage Control Oscillator (VCXO)

      4. 5.1.4 Digitally Controlled Oscillator (DCXO)

      5. 5.1.5 Other Types

    2. 5.2 End User Industry

      1. 5.2.1 Automotive

      2. 5.2.2 Aerospace & Defense

      3. 5.2.3 Consumer Electronics

      4. 5.2.4 IT and Telecomm

      5. 5.2.5 Other End-user Industries

    3. 5.3 Geography

      1. 5.3.1 North America

      2. 5.3.2 Europe

      3. 5.3.3 Asia Pacific

      4. 5.3.4 Rest of the World

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles*

      1. 6.1.1 Maxim Integrated Products Inc.

      2. 6.1.2 Microchip Technology Inc.

      3. 6.1.3 Raltron Electronics (Rami Technology USA LLC

      4. 6.1.4 Renesas Electronics Corporation

      5. 6.1.5 Abracon LLC

      6. 6.1.6 TXC Corporation

      7. 6.1.7 SiTime Corporation

      8. 6.1.8 Daishinku Corp.

      9. 6.1.9 Rakon Limited

  7. 7. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  8. 8. FUTURE OF THE MARKET​

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The MEMS-based Oscillator Market market is studied from 2018 - 2026.

The MEMS-based Oscillator Market is growing at a CAGR of 25.3% over the next 5 years.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

Asia Pacific holds highest share in 2020.

  • TXC Corporation
  • Microchip Technology Inc.
  • SiTime Corporation
  • Renesas Electronics Corporation
  • Maxim Integrated Products Inc.

Are the major companies operating in MEMS-based Oscillator Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!