Рынок топливных элементов — рост, тенденции, влияние COVID-19 и прогнозы (2023–2028 гг.)

Рынок топливных элементов сегментирован по приложениям (автомобилям и нетранспортным средствам), технологиям (топливные элементы с полимерно-электролитной мембраной (PEMFC), твердооксидные топливные элементы (SOFC) и другие технологии) и географии (Северная Америка, Южная Америка, Европа). , Ближний Восток и Африка и Азиатско-Тихоокеанский регион).

Обзор рынка

 fuel cell market
Study Period: 2019-2027
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: Asia Pacific
CAGR: > 14 %

Major Players

 high-performance fuel cells market

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

setting-icon

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Обзор рынка

Ожидается, что рынок топливных элементов зафиксирует среднегодовой темп роста более 14% в течение прогнозируемого периода (2022–2027 гг.). Вспышка COVID-19 в первом квартале 2020 года негативно повлияла на рынок топливных элементов, и рост рынка замедлился из-за отсутствия инвестиций и финансовой поддержки исследований и разработок. Ожидается, что рынок будут стимулировать такие факторы, как государственные субсидии и финансовые стимулы для программ топливных элементов, а также растущий спрос на электромобили на топливных элементах (FCEV). Однако ожидается, что высокая стоимость катализаторов, используемых в топливных элементах, будет препятствовать росту рынка в течение исследуемого периода.

  • Ожидается, что автомобильные приложения будут доминировать на рынке из-за растущих инноваций в секторе электромобилей и растущей экономической жизнеспособности технологии.
  • Ожидается, что растущий интерес к большегрузному транспорту и приложениям для хранения энергии, а также огромный потенциал рынка топливных элементов в Азиатско-Тихоокеанском регионе откроют значительные возможности для рынка топливных элементов в ближайшем будущем.
  • Ожидается, что Азиатско-Тихоокеанский регион будет доминировать на рынке топливных элементов, при этом большая часть спроса будет приходиться на такие страны, как Китай, Индия, Япония и Южная Корея.

Объем отчета

Отчет о рынке топливных элементов включает:

Application
Vehicular
Non-vehicular
Technology
Polymer Electrolyte Membrane Fuel Cell (PEMFC)
Solid Oxide Fuel Cell (SOFC)
Other Technologies
Geography
North America
Europe
Asia-Pacific
South America
Middle-East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Ключевые тенденции рынка

Автомобильное приложение для доминирования на рынке

  • Растущие экологические проблемы, такие как изменение климата и низкое качество воздуха, из-за значительного роста регионального транспортного сектора и высокого потребления ископаемого топлива, вызвали потребность в чистых источниках энергии. ​
  • Топливные элементы генерируют нулевые выбросы и способствуют устранению парниковых газов. Топливный элемент в основном использует водород или метанол, снижая экономическую зависимость от нефти и газа и одновременно оптимизируя энергетическую безопасность. Растущие экологические проблемы и растущая инфраструктура, связанная с водородными заправочными станциями, вероятно, будут способствовать росту рынка автомобильных топливных элементов в течение прогнозируемого периода.​
  • Кроме того, в последние годы автомобильные транспортные средства на топливных элементах стали более прибыльными благодаря высокой производительности и сокращению времени дозаправки. Выхлоп с точки зрения воды, снижение доли выбросов и превосходная выходная мощность и крутящий момент играют важную роль с точки зрения внедрения технологий топливных элементов для автомобилей. Технология топливных элементов обеспечивает дальность пробега более 300 миль. на традиционном транспортном средстве. Это снижает вес тяжелых аккумуляторов по сравнению с аккумуляторными электромобилями, тем самым ускоряя рост рынка в течение прогнозируемого периода. ​
  • Кроме того, правительственные постановления по снижению загрязнения окружающей среды поощряют использование топливных элементов в автомобильном секторе. ​Страны сосредоточены на исследованиях и разработках и инвестируют в технологии топливных элементов, чтобы улучшить свой общественный транспорт при одновременном снижении вредных выбросов. Например, правительство Южной Кореи планирует к 2030 году заменить около 26 000 автобусов, работающих на сжатом природном газе, автобусами на топливных элементах.
  • Ожидается, что в ближайшие годы такие страны, как Китай, Япония и Южная Корея, станут центральным звеном в развитии технологии электромобилей на топливных элементах, поскольку крупные корпорации, такие как Toyota и Hyundai-Kia, пытаются стать лидерами в области производства топлива. клеточная технология. Кроме того, правительства стремятся постепенно отказаться от стимулов для аккумуляторных электромобилей (BEV) во всем мире, начиная с 2020 года, параллельно с продолжающимися государственными субсидиями для электромобилей на топливных элементах (FCEV) в азиатских странах, таких как Китай, Япония и Южная Корея. .
  • Согласно Global EV Outlook 2021 IEA, в 2020 году Южная Корея заняла ведущее место на рынке FCEV, превзойдя США и Китай, и достигла более 10 000 автомобилей. Чтобы поддержать эти FCEV, Южная Корея увеличила заправочную станцию ​​водородом (HRS) на 50%, добавив 18 новых станций в 2020 году.
  • Следовательно, автомобильное приложение, как ожидается, будет доминировать на рынке из-за растущих технологических инноваций и растущего участия частных игроков.
 fuel cell technology market growth

Азиатско-Тихоокеанский регион доминирует на рынке

  • В 2020 году значительная доля приходилась на Азиатско-Тихоокеанский регион, и ожидается, что он продолжит доминировать в течение прогнозируемого периода. Азиатско-Тихоокеанский регион является одним из перспективных региональных рынков для топливных элементов в ближайшие годы благодаря благоприятной государственной политике в таких странах, как Китай, Япония и Южная Корея, которые стимулируют использование экологически чистой энергии. Среди доступных технологий топливных элементов PEMFC является наиболее часто используемым топливным элементом в регионе.
  • Китай обладает большим потенциалом на рынке топливных элементов, поскольку правительство все больше внимания уделяет способам использования технологий экологически чистой энергии для перехода к низкоуглеродной экономике.
  • Кроме того, индустрия водородных топливных элементов в стране набирает обороты благодаря благоприятным национальным и провинциальным правительственным субсидиям и программам стимулирования со стороны местных властей, направленным на поощрение использования водородных транспортных средств для сокращения загрязнения.
  • В Китае правительство города Чжанцзякоу разместило заказ на 74 электробуса на топливных элементах (FCEB) в рамках подготовки к зимним Олимпийским играм 2022 года. Развертывание FCEB, вероятно, будет расти в других городах Китая в ближайшем будущем.
  • В сентябре 2021 года Hyzon Motors Inc. объявила о подписании меморандума о взаимопонимании (MoU) с Shanghai Hydrogen HongYun Automotive Co. Ltd о покупке 500 водородных электрогрузовиков. Первоначальный заказ на 100 автомобилей ожидается до конца 2021 года, а остальные 400 автомобилей будут заказаны в 2022 году.
  • Кроме того, в ноябре 2021 года Hyzon поставила грузовики на топливных элементах в рамках более крупного заказа на 62 водородных автомобиля.
  • Согласно Global EV Outlook 2021 МЭА, на долю Китая приходится 94% мировых автобусов на топливных элементах и ​​99% грузовиков на топливных элементах. Рынок электромобилей на топливных элементах почти удвоился благодаря значительному расширению в Китае, Японии и Корее.
  • Таким образом, ожидается, что такие факторы, как поддерживающая государственная политика и усилия по внедрению технологии топливных элементов в транспорт и другие приложения, будут стимулировать рынок топливных элементов в регионе в течение прогнозируемого периода.
 high-performance fuel cells market size

Конкурентная среда

Рынок топливных элементов умеренно фрагментирован. Ключевые игроки на рынке включают Ballard Power Systems Inc., FuelCell Energy Inc., Mitsubishi Power Ltd, Plug Power Inc. и Cummins Inc.

Основные игроки

  1. Ballard Power Systems Inc.

  2. FuelCell Energy Inc.

  3. Plug Power Inc.

  4. Mitsubishi Power, Ltd.

  5. Cummins Inc.

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

 Ballard Power Systems Inc., Horizon Fuel Cell Technologies Pte. Ltd, Toshiba Energy Systems & Solutions Corporation, FuelCell Energy Inc.

Конкурентная среда

Рынок топливных элементов умеренно фрагментирован. Ключевые игроки на рынке включают Ballard Power Systems Inc., FuelCell Energy Inc., Mitsubishi Power Ltd, Plug Power Inc. и Cummins Inc.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Scope of the Study

    2. 1.2 Market Definition

    3. 1.3 Study Assumptions

  2. 2. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  3. 3. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  4. 4. MARKET OVERVIEW

    1. 4.1 Introduction

    2. 4.2 Market Size and Demand Forecast in USD billion, till 2027

    3. 4.3 Recent Trends and Developments

    4. 4.4 Government Policies and Regulations

    5. 4.5 Market Dynamics

      1. 4.5.1 Drivers

      2. 4.5.2 Restraints

    6. 4.6 Supply Chain Analysis

    7. 4.7 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.7.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.7.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.7.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.7.4 Threat of Substitute Products and Services

      5. 4.7.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Application

      1. 5.1.1 Vehicular

      2. 5.1.2 Non-vehicular

    2. 5.2 Technology

      1. 5.2.1 Polymer Electrolyte Membrane Fuel Cell (PEMFC)

      2. 5.2.2 Solid Oxide Fuel Cell (SOFC)

      3. 5.2.3 Other Technologies

    3. 5.3 Geography

      1. 5.3.1 North America

      2. 5.3.2 Europe

      3. 5.3.3 Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.3.4 South America

      5. 5.3.5 Middle-East and Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Mergers and Acquisitions, Joint Ventures, Collaborations, and Agreements

    2. 6.2 Strategies Adopted by Leading Players

    3. 6.3 Company Profiles

      1. 6.3.1 Ballard Power Systems Inc.

      2. 6.3.2 Horizon Fuel Cell Technologies Pte. Ltd

      3. 6.3.3 Toshiba Energy Systems & Solutions Corporation

      4. 6.3.4 FuelCell Energy Inc.

      5. 6.3.5 Plug Power Inc.

      6. 6.3.6 Nuvera Fuel Cells LLC

      7. 6.3.7 Intelligent Energy Limited

      8. 6.3.8 SFC Energy AG

      9. 6.3.9 Mitsubishi Power Ltd

      10. 6.3.10 Cummins Inc.

    4. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Subject to Availability
You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Рынок топливных элементов изучается с 2019 по 2028 год.

Рынок топливных элементов будет расти со среднегодовым темпом роста более 14% в течение следующих 5 лет.

Азиатско-Тихоокеанский регион демонстрирует самый высокий среднегодовой темп роста в 2019–2028 годах.

Азиатско-Тихоокеанский регион будет иметь самую высокую долю в 2021 году.

Ballard Power Systems Inc., FuelCell Energy Inc., Plug Power Inc., Mitsubishi Power, Ltd., Cummins Inc. являются основными компаниями, работающими на рынке топливных элементов.

close-icon
80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Fuel Cell Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2022 - 2027)

The Fuel Cell Market is segmented by Application (Vehicular and Non-vehicular), Technology (Polymer Electrolyte Membrane Fuel Cell (PEMFC), Solid Oxide Fuel Cell (SOFC), and Other Technologies), and Geography (North America, South America, Europe, Middle-East and Africa, and Asia-Pacific).

Market Snapshot

 Fuel Cell Market Summary
Study Period: 2019-2027
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: Asia Pacific
CAGR: >14 %
 Fuel Cell Market Major Players

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The fuel cell market is expected to register a CAGR of more than 14% during the forecast period. With the COVID-19 outbreak in Q1 of 2020, the fuel cell market was negatively impacted, and the growth of the market declined due to the lack of investments and financial support for R&D activities. Factors, such as government subsidies and financial incentives for fuel cell programs and the increasing demand for fuel cell electric vehicles (FCEVs), are expected to drive the market. However, the high cost of catalysts used in fuel cells is expected to hinder the market growth during the study period.

  • Vehicular application is expected to dominate the market, due to the increasing innovation in the EV sector and rising economic viability of the technology.
  • Rising interest in heavy-duty transport and energy storage applications and huge market potential in Asia-Pacific for fuel cells are expected to create significant opportunities for the fuel cell market in the near future.
  • Asia-Pacific is expected to dominate the fuel cell market, with the majority of the demand coming from countries, such as China, India, Japan, and South Korea.

Scope of the Report

The fuel cell market report includes:

Application
Vehicular
Non-vehicular
Technology
Polymer Electrolyte Membrane Fuel Cell (PEMFC)
Solid Oxide Fuel Cell (SOFC)
Other Technologies
Geography
North America
Europe
Asia-Pacific
South America
Middle-East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Vehicular Application to Dominate the Market

  • The rising environmental issues, such as climate change and low air quality, due to significant growth in the regional transportation sector and high fossil fuel consumption, have generated the need for clean energy sources. ​
  • Fuel cells generate zero emissions and contribute to eliminating greenhouse gases. A fuel cell majorly uses hydrogen or methanol, reducing economic dependence on oil and gas while optimizing energy security. Rising environmental concerns and increasing infrastructure related to hydrogen refueling stations are likely to support the vehicular fuel cell market’s growth over the forecast period.​
  • Moreover, fuel cell-based automotive vehicles have become more lucrative in recent years due to high performance and reduced refueling time. The exhaust in terms of water, a decline in the proportion of emissions, and superior power and torque output play a significant role in terms of the adoption of fuel cell technologies for automobiles.​ The fuel cell technology provides a driving range of over 300 miles on a traditional vehicle. It reduces the weight of carrying heavy batteries compared to battery electric vehicles, thereby boosting the market’s growth over the forecast period. ​
  • Furthermore, government regulations for reducing environmental pollution are encouraging the adoption of fuel cells in the automotive sector. ​The countries are focusing on R&D and investing in fuel cell technology to improve their public transportation while reducing harmful emissions​. For instance, the South Korean government is planning to replace around 26,000 CNG buses with fuel cell buses by 2030. ​
  • In the coming years, countries, such as China, Japan, and South Korea, are expected to act as a pivot in advancing fuel cell electric vehicle technology, as large corporations such as Toyota and Hyundai-Kia are trying to become the leaders in fuel cell technology. Also, the governments are looking to phase out the battery electric vehicle (BEV) incentives globally, from 2020 onward, paralleled by the continued government subsidies for fuel cell electric vehicles (FCEVs) in Asian countries, such as China, Japan, and South Korea.
  • As per the IEA's Global EV Outlook 2021, in 2020, South Korea gained a leading market share in FCEVs, surpassing the United States and China, to reach more than 10,000 vehicles. To support these FCEVs, South Korea increased the hydrogen refueling station (HRS) by 50%, with 18 new stations in 2020.
  • Hence, the vehicular application is expected to dominate the market due to the increasing technological innovation and rising private player involvement.
 Fuel Cell Market: Fuel Cell Electric Vehicle (FCEV) Stock, in Number, Global, 2010-2020

Asia-Pacific to Dominate the Market

  • Asia-Pacific accounted for the significant share in 2021, and it is expected to continue its dominance during the forecast period. Asia-Pacific is one of the promising regional markets for fuel cells in the coming years, on account of the favorable government policies in countries such as China, Japan, and South Korea, which are driving clean energy usage. Among the available fuel cell technologies, the PEMFC is the most commonly used fuel cell in the region.
  • China has great potential in the fuel cell market, as the government is increasingly focusing on ways to utilize clean energy technology in order to switch to a low-carbon economy.
  • Moreover, the country's hydrogen fuel cell industry has been gaining traction on the back of favorable national and provincial government subsidies and incentive programs from local authorities to encourage the uptake of hydrogen vehicles to cut pollution.
  • In China, an order for 74 fuel cell electric buses (FCEBs) was placed by the government of Zhangjiakou City in preparation for the 2022 Winter Olympics. The deployment of FCEBs is likely to grow in other cities in China in the near future.
  • In September 2021, Hyzon Motors Inc. announced the signing of a memorandum of understanding (MoU) with Shanghai Hydrogen HongYun Automotive Co. Ltd for the purchase of 500 hydrogen-powered electric trucks. The initial order of 100 vehicles is expected before the end of 2021, while the other 400 vehicles will be ordered in 2022.
  • Furthermore, in November 2021, Hyzon delivered the fuel cell trucks as part of a larger order of 62 hydrogen vehicles.
  • As per the IEA's Global EV Outlook 2021, China accounts for 94% of global fuel cell buses and 99% of fuel cell trucks. The fuel cell electric vehicle market almost doubled, owing to outstanding expansion in China, Japan, and Korea.
  • Therefore, factors such as supportive government policies and efforts to incorporate fuel cell technology in transportation and other applications are expected to drive the region's fuel cell market during the forecast period.
Fuel Cell Market - Growth Rate by Region, 2022-2027

Competitive Landscape

The fuel cell market is moderately fragmented. The key players in the market include Ballard Power Systems Inc., FuelCell Energy Inc., Mitsubishi Power Ltd, Plug Power Inc., and Cummins Inc.

Major Players

  1. Ballard Power Systems Inc.

  2. FuelCell Energy Inc.

  3. Plug Power Inc.

  4. Mitsubishi Power, Ltd.

  5. Cummins Inc.

 Fuel Cell Market Concentration

Recent Developments

  • In March 2021, Toyota Corporation unveiled a new hydrogen production facility and refueling station at its decommissioned car factory in Melbourne, Australia, ahead of the arrival of its second-generation fuel-cell car, the Mirai FCEV. The facility includes a 200-kilowatt electrolyzer powered by an on-site 84-kilowatt solar array and a 100-kilowatt battery.
  • In December 2021, Hyzon Motors Inc. announced the delivery of 29 fuel cell electric trucks to be used by a major steel conglomerate in China through Shanghai Hydrogen HongYun Automotive Co.
  • In December 2021, Edison Motors signed an agreement with Plug Power to develop and market a hydrogen fuel-cell-powered electric city bus. Plug Power’s 125kW ProGen fuel cell engine will provide power to Edison Motors’ electric bus platform. The companies are expected to have a fuel cell electric bus prototype completed by the second half of 2022.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Scope of the Study

    2. 1.2 Market Definition

    3. 1.3 Study Assumptions

  2. 2. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  3. 3. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  4. 4. MARKET OVERVIEW

    1. 4.1 Introduction

    2. 4.2 Market Size and Demand Forecast in USD billion, till 2027

    3. 4.3 Recent Trends and Developments

    4. 4.4 Government Policies and Regulations

    5. 4.5 Market Dynamics

      1. 4.5.1 Drivers

      2. 4.5.2 Restraints

    6. 4.6 Supply Chain Analysis

    7. 4.7 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.7.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.7.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.7.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.7.4 Threat of Substitute Products and Services

      5. 4.7.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Application

      1. 5.1.1 Vehicular

      2. 5.1.2 Non-vehicular

    2. 5.2 Technology

      1. 5.2.1 Polymer Electrolyte Membrane Fuel Cell (PEMFC)

      2. 5.2.2 Solid Oxide Fuel Cell (SOFC)

      3. 5.2.3 Other Technologies

    3. 5.3 Geography

      1. 5.3.1 North America

      2. 5.3.2 Europe

      3. 5.3.3 Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.3.4 South America

      5. 5.3.5 Middle-East and Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Mergers and Acquisitions, Joint Ventures, Collaborations, and Agreements

    2. 6.2 Strategies Adopted by Leading Players

    3. 6.3 Company Profiles

      1. 6.3.1 Ballard Power Systems Inc.

      2. 6.3.2 Horizon Fuel Cell Technologies Pte. Ltd

      3. 6.3.3 Toshiba Energy Systems & Solutions Corporation

      4. 6.3.4 FuelCell Energy Inc.

      5. 6.3.5 Plug Power Inc.

      6. 6.3.6 Nuvera Fuel Cells LLC

      7. 6.3.7 Intelligent Energy Limited

      8. 6.3.8 SFC Energy AG

      9. 6.3.9 Mitsubishi Power Ltd

      10. 6.3.10 Cummins Inc.

    4. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Subject to Availability
You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Fuel Cell Market market is studied from 2019 - 2027.

The Fuel Cell Market is growing at a CAGR of >14% over the next 5 years.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

Asia Pacific holds highest share in 2021.

Ballard Power Systems Inc., FuelCell Energy Inc., Plug Power Inc., Mitsubishi Power, Ltd., Cummins Inc. are the major companies operating in Fuel Cell Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!