中国塑料包装市场 - 增长、趋势、COVID-19 影响和预测(2022 - 2027 年)

中国塑料包装市场按类型(硬质塑料、软质塑料)、最终用户行业(食品、饮料、医疗保健、个人护理和家居)和产品(瓶子、罐子、袋子、托盘、容器、袋子)细分,电影,包装)。

市场快照

China Plastic Packaging
Study Period: 2019-2026
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 2.5 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

市场概况

预计中国塑料包装市场在预测期内(2021 - 2026 年)的全球复合年增长率为 2.5%。由于 COVID-19 的爆发,食品和饮料公司正在制定应对行动和有效计划,以帮助降低风险并为如何应对冠状病毒的影响做好准备。这些计划包括建立一个由业务各方面人员组成的跨学科危机应对团队,以识别、评估和管理所呈现的风险。塑料广泛用于保存、运输和交付各种产品,包括药品、食品、饮料和化妆品。

  • 由于消费者对网上购物的偏好不断扩大,支付方式的增加,以及包括单日优惠、诱人折扣和增强的物流基础设施在内的网上购物活动,中国成为电子商务行业发展的新兴国家之一迅速扩张。
  • 中国也是全球最大的电子商务市场,超过美国和欧盟。根据 Statista 的数据,在线买家的数量从 2018 年的 6.101 亿增加到 2020 年的 7.824 亿。这一激增归因于全球各国的封锁。
  • 此外,塑料是一种有利可图的包装材料,因为它成本低、印刷适性好。由于性能优势和可持续性,包装和薄膜、小袋和袋子等挤压产品广泛用于该国大多数消费和工业应用。全国有组织的零售业的广泛渗透也为该国的市场增长做出了重大贡献。聚乙烯(PP)是该地区用于快递的塑料包装袋的主要材料。
  • 但是,到2020年底,中国将禁止生产和销售以可发性聚苯乙烯(EPS)为主要原料的一次性泡沫塑料餐具。
  • 此外,中国在过去两年停止进口塑料垃圾,影响了美国和印度的回收市场。该国颁布了严格的立法,禁止制造、销售和使用一次性塑料,并限制公司制造、销售和使用塑料袋、吸管、包装和胶带等产品。

Scope of the report

The China Plastic Packaging Market is segmented by Type (Rigid Plastic, Flexible Plastic), By End-User Industry (Food, Beverage, Healthcare, Personal Care and Household), and by Products (Bottles, Jars, Pouches, Trays, Containers, Bags, Films, Wraps).

Plastic packaging is a part of the multi-faceted system for providing products, from the point of manufacture to the point of consumption. Its principal purpose is to guard and ensure the safe and secure delivery of the product in its flawless and perfect condition to the end-user (manufacturer of product or consumer). Its role in a circular economy is to sustain the value in a product for as long as required and to help remove product waste.

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

主要市场趋势

电子商务行业正在推动市场

  • 为降低运输成本,电商企业更倾向于轻量化、柔性化的包装方案。普通生鲜食品、快速消费品、电子产品和服装的网上购物日益普及,可能会推动塑料包装市场的发展。
  • 中国电子商务的繁荣迫使包装公司和经销商探索可持续的包装替代品,包括再生塑料。这些举措可能会在未来几年推动电子商务包装市场的增长。
  • 此外,随着电子商务领域塑料包装的使用越来越多,阿里巴巴和京东等企业也开展了各种回收工作。例如,联合利华和阿里巴巴集团于 2021 年 3 月发起了“世界无废”倡议,这是中国首个由人工智能技术驱动的闭环塑料回收系统。作为合作的一部分,联合利华将其包装技术与阿里巴巴的业务操作系统相结合,以鼓励消费者采用废物回收。
  • 此外,中国电商市场的迅猛发展还有很多因素,例如智能手机普及率的提高、良好的零售基础设施、跨境监管和具有成本效益的劳动力。阿里巴巴公布了 2020 年 12 月的财报,其中销售额同比增长 37%,EBITA 同比增长 22%,而天猫的 GMV 同比增长 19%。
  • 此外,2020年11月,安姆科中国、腾讯和BMSmart签署了题为“万物互联,包装未来”的战略合作框架协议。根据协议,三方将集中技术和力量,探索新的智能包装。在互联网、金融等消费服务相关领域应用,并为中国一般消费品行业开发端到端的智能包装解决方案。
China Plastic Packaging Market

瓶子正在显着增加

  • 最常用的饮料瓶类型是由塑料制成的一次性瓶子。塑料用于生产一些最常见类型的饮料瓶。根据塑料汤基金会的数据,2020 年,据估计,全球每分钟售出约 100 万个塑料瓶。
  • PET 是塑料瓶的热门选择,因为与玻璃同类产品相比,它具有良好的强度重量比、降低成本和节省运输成本,以及对消费品的安全性和可靠性。考虑到制造过程,PET 被设计成一种坚固而柔韧的材料,可用于不同类型的塑料瓶。此外,它的可回收性和定制各种颜色和设计的能力使其成为一种流行的选择。
  • 此外,高密度聚乙烯 (HDPE) 聚合物的引入正在扩大塑料瓶装应用。
  • 制造商正在目睹塑料瓶使用量的扩大以及某些行业对塑料瓶的需求增加。例如,在 2021 年 1 月,Amcor 表示,增值乳制品、乳制品替代品和膳食替代品的单份包装在过去五年中增长了两位数,并且继续发现 PET 瓶的主要机会。
  • 此外,在 2020 年 12 月,百事公司承诺到 2022 年从其在九个欧盟市场销售的百事可乐品牌饮料瓶中淘汰所有原生塑料。该公司计划使用从消费后包装中回收的塑料包装该品牌下的全系列饮料例如回收的聚对苯二甲酸乙二醇酯或“rPET”。该公司预计,这一举措将每年减少 70,000 多吨原始的化石燃料塑料。
China Plastic Packaging Market

竞争格局

由于中国地区对塑料包装的需求显着增加,市场温和集中,主要参与者有 Amcor、Coveris Holding、Berry Global、Sealed Air Corporation、Constantia Flexibles 等。

  • 2021 年 9 月 - Silgan Holdings Inc. 是消费品可持续硬包装解决方案的知名供应商,宣布收购 Unicep Packaging。作为专业合同制造商和开发商 (SCMD) 解决方案提供商,Unicep Packaging 制定、制造和销售精密剂量分配包装解决方案,例如诊断测试组件、口腔护理应用和护肤产品,主要用于医疗保健、诊断、动物健康、口腔护理和个人护理市场。此次收购将把 Siligan 的精确剂量能力和全面的产品供应扩展到新的和现有的市场。
  • 2021 年 3 月 - Amcor PLC。宣布将在执行委员会层面与非营利组织终结塑料垃圾联盟 (AEPW) 合作。加入 AEPW 将是该公司在废物管理和回收基础设施方面的最新行动,并符合其可持续发展承诺,即到 2025 年使其所有包装可回收或可重复使用。

RECENT DEVELOPMENTS

  • April 2020 - Amcor PLC designed a line of stock polyethylene terephthalate (PET) bottles that help co-packers meet the demanding requirements for e-commerce-ready packaging. OmniPack PET bottles increase capacity and reduce downtime as they have the same diameter and finish. Only the height changes to accommodate the varying fill volumes.
  • February 2020 - Silgan Holdings Inc., a prominent supplier of rigid packaging for consumer goods products, announced the acquisition of Cobra Plastics, Inc. Cobra plastics manufactures and sells injection-molded plastic closures for a wide variety of consumer products, particular focus on the aerosol overcap market. The acquisition would expand the product offering of Siligan's global closures franchise into a variety of new markets and applications.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHTS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    3. 4.3 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.3.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.3.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

    4. 4.4 Market Drivers

      1. 4.4.1 Increasing Adoption of Lightweight-packaging Methods

      2. 4.4.2 Increased eco-friendly packaging and recycled plastic

    5. 4.5 Market Challenges

      1. 4.5.1 High Price of Raw Material (Plastic Resin)

      2. 4.5.2 Government Regulations & Environmental Concerns

  5. 5. IMPACT OF COVID-19 ON THE MARKET

  6. 6. MARKET SEGEMENTATION

    1. 6.1 By Packaging Type

      1. 6.1.1 Flexible Plastic Packaging

      2. 6.1.2 Rigid Plastic Packaging

    2. 6.2 By Product Type

      1. 6.2.1 Bottles and Jars

      2. 6.2.2 Trays and containers

      3. 6.2.3 Pouches

      4. 6.2.4 Bags

      5. 6.2.5 Films & Wraps

      6. 6.2.6 Other Product Types

    3. 6.3 By End-User Vertical

      1. 6.3.1 Food

      2. 6.3.2 Beverage

      3. 6.3.3 Healthcare

      4. 6.3.4 Personal care and Household

      5. 6.3.5 Other End-User

  7. 7. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 7.1 Company Profiles

      1. 7.1.1 Amcor Plc

      2. 7.1.2 Coveris Holding

      3. 7.1.3 Berry Global

      4. 7.1.4 Constantia Flexibles

      5. 7.1.5 Wipak Ltd.

      6. 7.1.6 Sonoco Products Company

      7. 7.1.7 Sealed Air Corporation

      8. 7.1.8 National Flexible

      9. 7.1.9 Tetra Laval

      10. 7.1.10 Silgan Holdings

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  8. 8. INVESTMENT ANLAYSIS

  9. 9. FUTURE OF THE MARKET

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The China Plastic Packaging Market market is studied from 2019 - 2026.

The China Plastic Packaging Market is growing at a CAGR of 2.5% over the next 5 years.

Constantia Flexibles, Berry Global, Amcor Plc, Coveris Holding, Wipak are the major companies operating in China Plastic Packaging Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

China Plastic Packaging Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2022 - 2027)

The China Plastic Packaging Market is segmented by Type (Rigid Plastic, Flexible Plastic), By End-User Industry (Food, Beverage, Healthcare, Personal Care and Household), and by Products (Bottles, Jars, Pouches, Trays, Containers, Bags, Films, Wraps).

Market Snapshot

China Plastic Packaging
Study Period: 2019-2026
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 2.5 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The China Plastic Packaging market is expected to register a CAGR of global 2.5 % over the forecast period (2021 - 2026). Owing to the COVID-19 outbreak, food & beverage companies are developing response actions and effective plans to help mitigate their risk and prepare for how they would deal with the effects of the coronavirus. These plans include establishing an interdisciplinary crisis response team of personnel from all aspects of the business to identify, assess, and manage the risk presented. Plastic is extensively used to preserve, transport, and deliver a wide range of products, including pharmaceuticals, food, beverages, and cosmetics.

  • Due to expanding consumer preference for online shopping, the proliferation of payment options, as well as online shopping events, including single-day offers, enticing discounts, and enhanced logistic infrastructure, China is one of the emerging nations where the e-commerce sector is expanding rapidly.
  • China is also the world's largest e-commerce market, surpassing the United States and the European Union. According to Statista, the number of online buyers has increased from 610.1 million in 2018 to 782.4 million in 2020. The surge is attributed to the global lockdown across various countries.
  • Additionally, plastic is a profitable packaging material because of its low cost and high printability. Due to the performance benefits and sustainability, extrusion-based goods such as wraps & films, pouches, and bags are widely employed in most consumer and industrial applications in the country. The intense penetration of organized retail across the country has also contributed significantly to the country's market growth. Polyethylene (PP) is a primary material for plastic packaging bags used in express delivery in the region.
  • However, by the end of 2020, China will ban the production and sale of single-use foam plastic tableware, which is made mainly of expandable polystyrene (EPS).
  • Furthermore, China has halted importing plastic waste for the past two years, impacting the recycling markets in the United States and India. The country enacted stringent legislation prohibiting the manufacture, sale, and use of single-use plastics and limiting the manufacturing, sale, and use of products such as plastic bags, straws, packaging, and tape by companies.

Scope of the report

The China Plastic Packaging Market is segmented by Type (Rigid Plastic, Flexible Plastic), By End-User Industry (Food, Beverage, Healthcare, Personal Care and Household), and by Products (Bottles, Jars, Pouches, Trays, Containers, Bags, Films, Wraps).

Plastic packaging is a part of the multi-faceted system for providing products, from the point of manufacture to the point of consumption. Its principal purpose is to guard and ensure the safe and secure delivery of the product in its flawless and perfect condition to the end-user (manufacturer of product or consumer). Its role in a circular economy is to sustain the value in a product for as long as required and to help remove product waste.

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

E-commerce Industry is Driving the Market

  • To reduce transportation costs, e-commerce enterprises prefer lightweight and flexible packaging solutions. The increased popularity of online shopping for regular fresh foods, FMCG products, electronics, and clothing is likely to propel the plastic packaging market.
  • The e-commerce boom in China has compelled packaging companies and resellers to explore sustainable packaging alternatives, including recycled plastics. Such initiatives are likely to boost the e-commerce packaging market growth in the coming years.
  • Moreover, with the growing usage of plastic packaging in the e-commerce sector, players like Alibaba and JD.com have launched various recycling efforts. For instance, Unilever and Alibaba Group launched the 'Waste Free World' Initiative in March 2021, a first-of-its-kind AI technology-driven closed-loop plastic recycling system in China. Unilever will merge its packaging technologies with Alibaba's business operating system as part of the partnership to encourage consumers to adopt recycling of waste.
  • Additionally, there are various factors for the surging e-commerce market in China, such as increasing penetration of smartphones, good retail infrastructure, cross-border regulation, and cost-effective labor. Alibaba announced its 2020 December earnings highlighting surged sales growth of 37% YoY and EBITA growth of 22% YoY while Tmall's GMV increased by 19% YoY.
  • Further, In November 2020, Amcor China, Tencent, and BMSmart signed a strategic collaboration framework agreement titled "Internet of Everything, Packaging for the Future. "According to the agreement, the three parties will pool their technologies and power to explore new smart packaging applications on the internet, finance, and other consumer service-related fields, as well as develop end-to-end smart packaging solutions for China's general consumer goods industries.
China Plastic Packaging Market

Bottles are Observing Significant Increase

  • Among the most commonly used types of beverage bottles are bottles made from plastics for single use. Plastics are used for producing some of the most common types of beverage bottles. According to Plastic Soup Foundation, 2020, it has been estimated that about one million plastic bottles are sold every minute across the world.
  • PET is a popular choice for plastic bottles due to its good strength-to-weight ratio, cost reduction, and transportation savings compared to glass counterparts, and its safety and reliability for consumer products. Considering the manufacturing process, PET is engineered to be a strong yet pliable material that enables its use in different types of plastic bottles. Additionally, its recyclability and the ability to customize it with various colors and designs make it a popular choice.
  • Moreover, the introduction of high-density polyethylene (HDPE) polymers is expanding plastic bottling applications.
  • Manufacturers are witnessing the expansion in the use of plastic bottles as well as increasing demand for them in some sectors. For instance, in January 2021, Amcor stated that single-serve packaging for value-added dairy, dairy alternatives, and meal replacements increased by double-digits over the past five years, and it is continuing to uncover major opportunities for PET bottles.
  • Further, in December 2020, PepsiCo committed to eliminating all virgin plastic from its Pepsi brand beverage bottles selling in the nine European Union markets by 2022. The company plans to package the complete range of beverages under that brand with plastics recycled from post-consumer packaging such as recycled polyethylene terephthalate, or ‘rPET.’ The company anticipated that this move would eliminate more than 70,000 tonnes of virgin, fossil-fuel-based plastic each year.
China Plastic Packaging Market

Competitive Landscape

As the demand for plastic packaging has been increasing significantly in the China region, the market is mildly concentrated with the presence of major players like Amcor, Coveris Holding, Berry Global, Sealed Air Corporation, Constantia Flexibles, among others.

  • September 2021 - Silgan Holdings Inc., a prominent supplier of sustainable rigid packaging solutions for consumer goods products, announced the acquisition of Unicep Packaging. As a Specialty Contract Manufacturer and Developer (SCMD) solutions provider, Unicep Packaging, formulates, manufactures, and sells precision dosing dispensing packaging solutions, such as diagnostic test components, oral care applications, and skincare products, primarily for the health care, diagnostics, animal health, oral care, and personal care markets. The acquisition would expand Siligan's precision dosing capabilities and comprehensive product offering into new and existing markets.
  • March 2021 - Amcor PLC. announced that it would partner with the non-profit organization Alliance to End Plastic Waste (AEPW) at an executive committee level. Joining AEPW would be the company's latest action on waste management and recycling infrastructure and is in line with its Sustainability Pledge to make all its packaging recyclable or reusable by 2025.

RECENT DEVELOPMENTS

  • April 2020 - Amcor PLC designed a line of stock polyethylene terephthalate (PET) bottles that help co-packers meet the demanding requirements for e-commerce-ready packaging. OmniPack PET bottles increase capacity and reduce downtime as they have the same diameter and finish. Only the height changes to accommodate the varying fill volumes.
  • February 2020 - Silgan Holdings Inc., a prominent supplier of rigid packaging for consumer goods products, announced the acquisition of Cobra Plastics, Inc. Cobra plastics manufactures and sells injection-molded plastic closures for a wide variety of consumer products, particular focus on the aerosol overcap market. The acquisition would expand the product offering of Siligan's global closures franchise into a variety of new markets and applications.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHTS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    3. 4.3 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.3.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.3.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

    4. 4.4 Market Drivers

      1. 4.4.1 Increasing Adoption of Lightweight-packaging Methods

      2. 4.4.2 Increased eco-friendly packaging and recycled plastic

    5. 4.5 Market Challenges

      1. 4.5.1 High Price of Raw Material (Plastic Resin)

      2. 4.5.2 Government Regulations & Environmental Concerns

  5. 5. IMPACT OF COVID-19 ON THE MARKET

  6. 6. MARKET SEGEMENTATION

    1. 6.1 By Packaging Type

      1. 6.1.1 Flexible Plastic Packaging

      2. 6.1.2 Rigid Plastic Packaging

    2. 6.2 By Product Type

      1. 6.2.1 Bottles and Jars

      2. 6.2.2 Trays and containers

      3. 6.2.3 Pouches

      4. 6.2.4 Bags

      5. 6.2.5 Films & Wraps

      6. 6.2.6 Other Product Types

    3. 6.3 By End-User Vertical

      1. 6.3.1 Food

      2. 6.3.2 Beverage

      3. 6.3.3 Healthcare

      4. 6.3.4 Personal care and Household

      5. 6.3.5 Other End-User

  7. 7. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 7.1 Company Profiles

      1. 7.1.1 Amcor Plc

      2. 7.1.2 Coveris Holding

      3. 7.1.3 Berry Global

      4. 7.1.4 Constantia Flexibles

      5. 7.1.5 Wipak Ltd.

      6. 7.1.6 Sonoco Products Company

      7. 7.1.7 Sealed Air Corporation

      8. 7.1.8 National Flexible

      9. 7.1.9 Tetra Laval

      10. 7.1.10 Silgan Holdings

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  8. 8. INVESTMENT ANLAYSIS

  9. 9. FUTURE OF THE MARKET

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The China Plastic Packaging Market market is studied from 2019 - 2026.

The China Plastic Packaging Market is growing at a CAGR of 2.5% over the next 5 years.

Constantia Flexibles, Berry Global, Amcor Plc, Coveris Holding, Wipak are the major companies operating in China Plastic Packaging Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!