Африканский рынок семян чиа — рост, тенденции, влияние COVID-19 и прогнозы (2022–2027 гг.)

Африканский рынок семян чиа включает анализ производства (объем), анализ потребления (стоимость и объем), анализ экспорта (стоимость и объем), анализ импорта (стоимость и объем) и анализ динамики цен на семена чиа в регионе. Рынок также сегментирован по географическому признаку (Уганда, Кения, Южная Африка, Танзания и остальная часть Африки). Отчет предлагает размер рынка с точки зрения стоимости в миллионах долларов США и объема в метрических тоннах.

Обзор рынка

Africa Chia Seed Market
Study Period: 2017-2027
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 2.1 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Обзор рынка

Прогнозируется, что африканский рынок семян чиа будет расти на 2,1% в течение прогнозируемого периода (2022-2027 гг.).

Несмотря на распространение пандемии COVID-19 по всему миру, Африка оставалась перспективным континентом для производства семян чиа. Наряду с растущим числом экспортеров в регионе, фермеры также проявляют достаточную бдительность, чтобы продолжать производство на фоне растущего мирового спроса на семена чиа. Ожидается, что развитие широкой сети местных и региональных рынков поможет фермерам поставлять семена чиа на рынок без каких-либо нарушений в цепочке поставок.

Растущий спрос на древние питательные злаки и продукты на основе нескольких злаков в качестве функциональных продуктов питания стимулирует спрос на семена чиа. Семена чиа не содержат глютена и имеют высокое содержание белка. Ожидается, что безглютеновые свойства семян чиа создадут высокий спрос среди потребителей, страдающих непереносимостью глютена (целиакия) или тех, кто избегает употребления глютена из-за своего образа жизни.

Производство семян чиа в регионе в основном ориентировано на экспорт, поскольку внутреннее потребление этих семян сравнительно меньше из-за низкой осведомленности африканских потребителей об их преимуществах. Однако в Южной Африке спрос на семена чиа набирает обороты, поскольку эти семена богаты белками и ненасыщенными жирными кислотами. Кроме того, на прилавках многих супермаркетов/гипермаркетов в Южной Африке розничные продавцы хранят семена чиа под собственными торговыми марками, чтобы удовлетворить местный спрос. В Африке семена чиа в основном продаются в розницу, поскольку потребители предпочитают употреблять их ежедневно.

Объем отчета

Семена чиа получают из пустынного растения Salvia hispanica, принадлежащего к семейству мятных. Семена шалфея испанского часто продаются под общим названием «чиа». В отчете семена чиа определяются как товар, а оценка рынка проводится на оптовом уровне. Чтобы исключить любую ошибку «двойного счета» в рыночных оценках, оптовые покупатели, которые закупают продукты из семян чиа для продажи после добавления стоимости за счет дальнейшей обработки, не считаются частью рынка семян чиа. Африканский рынок семян чиа включает анализ производства (объем), анализ потребления (стоимость и объем), анализ экспорта (стоимость и объем), анализ импорта (стоимость и объем) и анализ динамики цен на семена чиа в регионе. Рынок также сегментирован по географическому признаку (Уганда, Кения, Южная Африка, Танзания и остальная часть Африки).

Geography (Production Analysis by Volume, Consumption Analysis by Volume and Value, Import Analysis by Volume and Value, Export Analysis by Volume and Value, and Price Trend Analysis)
Uganda
Kenya
South Africa
Tanzania
Rest of South Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Ключевые тенденции рынка

Растущий спрос на белковые веганские продукты

Семена чиа действуют как источник омега-3 жирных кислот для вегетарианцев, обеспечивая содержание белка, почти равное яичному белку. По мере того, как число людей, заботящихся о своем здоровье, увеличивается одновременно с ростом популярности продуктов, не подвергающихся жестокому обращению, все больше людей движутся к привитию более здорового образа жизни с вегетарианскими вариантами белков, витаминов и клетчатки, которые легко доступны в виде готовых к употреблению. ешьте упакованные продукты. Из-за меньшей доступности лучших вариантов ингредиентов в отрасли компании обращаются к использованию семян чиа, поскольку они полезны для здоровья и считаются здоровым перекусом. В большинстве доступных вариантов перекусов отсутствуют питательные вещества и пищевые волокна, и они не являются вариантами здоровой пищи. С другой стороны, семена чиа полезны для здоровья.

Инновационные продукты из семян чиа, не содержащие аллергенов, без глютена, без арахиса, с низким содержанием сахара и высоким содержанием клетчатки, приобретают все большее значение среди потребителей. Таким образом, африканский рынок семян чиа будет расти из-за растущего спроса на веганские продукты на основе белка.

chia seed

Уганда доминирует на рынке в регионе

По данным Министерства иностранных дел, Уганда является основным игроком в производстве чиа. Фермеров в Уганде поощряют выращивать семена чиа. Коммерческое производство началось с помощью НПО и прямого участия частного бизнеса. Семена чиа набирают популярность в стране из-за пользы урожая для здоровья, а также потому, что фермеры теперь хотят выращивать менее трудоемкий урожай.

Плодородная почва и мелкое земледелие позволяют очень чисто и органически производить семена чиа в стране. Тем не менее, большая часть труда выполняется вручную, и фермеры не всегда достаточно организованы, чтобы поставлять продукцию на требовательные международные рынки. Компания Ubelhor запустила собственный проект чиа в Уганде, используя 650,0 га для выращивания органического чиа. Другая немецкая компания, Davert, предлагает чиа, сертифицированные Demeter, из страны на международный рынок.

chia seeds

Recent Developments

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

    4. 4.4 Value Chain Analysis

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Geography (Production Analysis by Volume, Consumption Analysis by Volume and Value, Import Analysis by Volume and Value, Export Analysis by Volume and Value, and Price Trend Analysis)

      1. 5.1.1 Uganda

      2. 5.1.2 Kenya

      3. 5.1.3 South Africa

      4. 5.1.4 Tanzania

      5. 5.1.5 Rest of South Africa

  6. 6. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

  7. 7. AN ASSESSMENT OF IMPACT OF COVID-19

**Subject to Availability
You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Africa Chia Seeds Market market is studied from 2017 - 2027.

The Africa Chia Seeds Market is growing at a CAGR of 2.1% over the next 5 years.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Africa Chia Seeds Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2022 - 2027)

The African Chia Seed Market includes Production Analysis (Volume), Consumption Analysis (Value and Volume), Export Analysis (Value and Volume), Import Analysis (Value and Volume), and Price Trend Analysis of chia seeds across the region. The market is also segmented on the basis of Geography (Uganda, Kenya, South Africa, Tanzania, and the Rest of Africa). The report offers market sizing in terms of value in USD million and volume in metric ton.

Market Snapshot

Africa Chia Seed Market
Study Period: 2017-2027
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 2.1 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The African chia seed market is projected to register a CAGR of 2.1% during the forecast period (2022-2027).

Despite the prevalence of the COVID-19 pandemic across the world, Africa remained a promising continent for the production of chia seeds. Along with the growing number of exporters in the region, farmers have also been vigilant enough to continue the production amidst the rising global demand for chia seeds. Developing a wide network of local and regional markets is anticipated to help farmers supply the chia seeds to the market without any disruption in the supply chain.

The increasing demand for ancient nutritional grains and multi-cereal-based products as functional foods drives the demand for chia seeds. Chia seeds are gluten-free and have high protein content. The gluten-free property of chia seeds is expected to create a strong demand among consumers suffering from gluten intolerance (celiac disease) or those who avoid gluten intake because of their lifestyle choices.

The chia seed production in the region is majorly export-oriented, as the domestic consumption of these seeds is comparatively less due to the low awareness among African consumers about their benefits. However, in South Africa, the demand for chia seeds is gaining traction, as these seeds are rich in proteins and unsaturated fatty acids. Moreover, on the retail shelves of many supermarkets/hypermarkets in South Africa, the retailers stock their own brands of chia seeds to meet the local demand. In Africa, chia seeds go majorly into retail, as consumers prefer to consume them daily.

Scope of the Report

Chia seeds are derived from the desert plant Salvia hispanica, a member of the mint family. Salvia hispanica seed is often sold under its common name “chia”. The report defines the chia seed as a commodity, and the market sizing is done at the wholesale level. To eliminate any ‘double-count’ error in the market estimations, bulk buyers that procure chia seed products for sale after value-addition through further processing are not considered a part of the chia seed market. The African chia seed market includes production analysis (volume), consumption analysis (value and volume), export analysis (value and volume), import analysis (value and volume), and price trend analysis of chia seeds across the region. The market is also segmented on the basis of geography (Uganda, Kenya, South Africa, Tanzania, and the Rest of Africa).

Geography (Production Analysis by Volume, Consumption Analysis by Volume and Value, Import Analysis by Volume and Value, Export Analysis by Volume and Value, and Price Trend Analysis)
Uganda
Kenya
South Africa
Tanzania
Rest of South Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Increasing Demand for Protein-based Vegan Food

Chia seeds act as a source of omega-3 fatty acids for vegetarians by providing protein content that is almost equal to an egg protein. As the number of health-conscious people increases concomitantly, with the rising popularity of cruelty-free foods, more people are moving toward inculcating a healthier lifestyle with vegetarian options for proteins, vitamins, and fiber, which are easily available as ready-to-eat packaged foods. Due to the less availability of better ingredient options in the industry, companies are turning toward the use of chia seeds as they are good for health and considered as a healthy snack option. Most available snacking options lack nutrients and dietary fiber and are not healthy food options. On the other hand, chia seeds are good for health, and snacks made from chia seeds are popular as healthy food options among consumers.

The innovative products made from chia seeds featuring allergen-friendly, gluten-free, peanut-free, low in sugar, and high in fiber are gaining importance among consumers. Thus, the African chia seed market is bound to increase due to the increasing demand for protein-based vegan food.

chia seed

Uganda Dominates the Market in the Region

According to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Uganda is the main player in chia production. Farmers in Uganda have been encouraged to grow chia seeds. Commercial production started with the help of NGOs and the direct involvement of private businesses. Chia seeds are gaining popularity in the country because of the crop's health benefits and since farmers now want a less laborious crop.

Fertile soil and small-scale farming allow for very clean and organic production of chia seeds in the country. Still, much of the labor is manual, and farmers are not always organized enough to supply the demanding international markets. The company, Ubelhor, started its own chia project in Uganda, using 650.0 hectares to grow organic chia. Another German company, Davert, offers Demeter-certified chia from the country to the international market.

chia seeds

Recent Developments

.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

    4. 4.4 Value Chain Analysis

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Geography (Production Analysis by Volume, Consumption Analysis by Volume and Value, Import Analysis by Volume and Value, Export Analysis by Volume and Value, and Price Trend Analysis)

      1. 5.1.1 Uganda

      2. 5.1.2 Kenya

      3. 5.1.3 South Africa

      4. 5.1.4 Tanzania

      5. 5.1.5 Rest of South Africa

  6. 6. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

  7. 7. AN ASSESSMENT OF IMPACT OF COVID-19

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Africa Chia Seeds Market market is studied from 2017 - 2027.

The Africa Chia Seeds Market is growing at a CAGR of 2.1% over the next 5 years.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!