Weißer Biotech-Markt – Wachstum, Trends, Auswirkungen von COVID-19 und Prognose (2022 – 2027)

Der Markt für weiße Biotechnologie ist nach Typ (Biokraftstoffe, Biomaterialien, Biochemikalien und Industrieenzyme), Anwendung (Chemikalien, Pharmazeutika, Lebensmittel und Getränke, Futtermittel und andere Anwendungen) und Geografie (Nordamerika, Europa, Asien-Pazifik und Übrigen Welt). Der Bericht bietet Marktgröße und Prognose für den Markt für weiße Biotechnologie in Bezug auf Umsatz (Milliarden USD) und Volumen (Millionen Tonnen) für die oben genannten Segmente.

Markt-Snapshot

white biotech market trends
Study Period: 2016 - 2026
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 15.14 %
white biotech market key players

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Marktübersicht

Der globale weiße Biotech-Markt wurde im Jahr 2020 auf 641,68 Mrd. USD geschätzt, und es wird prognostiziert, dass er im Prognosezeitraum (2021–2026) eine CAGR von 15,14 % verzeichnen wird.

COVID-19 hat dem weißen Biotech-Markt einen enormen Impuls gegeben. Massive Anstrengungen zur Entwicklung von Impfstoffen, zum Einsatz von Testkits, zur Entwicklung hochprädiktiver Antikörpertests, zur Wiederverwendung vorhandener antiviraler Medikamente und zur Entwicklung neuer Medikamente führen dazu, dass Milliarden von Dollar in viele Biotech-Unternehmen fließen.

Im Jahr 2021 wird der Biotech-Sektor voraussichtlich höher bewertet als Ende 2019. Die vorklinische Arbeit wird voraussichtlich robust sein. Klinische Studien können in der Nähe des Volumens eines Jahres zuvor liegen. Die behördliche Überprüfung klinischer Studien kann effizienter sein.

Darüber hinaus beteiligen sich große Pharmamarktgiganten aktiv an Produktinnovationen und Fusionen und Übernahmen mit kleinen und großen Pharmaunternehmen, um in Zukunft eine Hochburg auf dem weißen Biotech-Markt zu werden.

Somit hatte die globale COVID-19-Pandemie einen erheblichen Einfluss auf den Markt für weiße Biotechnologie in Bezug auf Innovationen in der pharmazeutischen Industrie, was auf ein profitables Marktwachstum der Kategorie hindeutet.

Die steigende Verbrauchernachfrage nach umweltfreundlichen Chemikalien, vor allem in entwickelten Regionen wie Nordamerika und Europa, ist bereit, für zahlreiche erneuerbare Produkte einen höheren Preis oder eine grüne Prämie zu zahlen, was die Hersteller voraussichtlich dazu drängen wird, weiße biotechnologische Verfahren anstelle traditioneller Chemikalien einzusetzen Herstellung.

Es wird erwartet, dass der steigende Bedarf verschiedener Verbraucherindustrien, einschließlich der Automobil- und Konsumgüterbranche, die Nachhaltigkeitsziele zu erreichen, die Technologienachfrage im Prognosezeitraum anheizen wird.

Die industrielle Biotechnologie oder Weiße Biotechnologie ist einer der vielversprechendsten Ansätze zur Vermeidung von Umweltverschmutzung, Ressourcenschonung und Kostensenkung. Sie wird oft als die dritte Welle in der Biotechnologie bezeichnet. Der Einsatz der Weißen Biotechnologie kann zu einer Reduzierung der Kohlendioxidemissionen um bis zu 50 %, des Energieverbrauchs um 20 % und des Wasserverbrauchs um 75 % führen.

Umfang des Berichts

Weiße Biotechnologie, auch als industrielle Biotechnologie bekannt, umfasst die Verwendung von Enzymen und Mikroorganismen zur Herstellung biobasierter Produkte in so unterschiedlichen Sektoren wie Chemikalien, Lebens- und Futtermittel, Gesundheitswesen, Waschmittel, Papier und Zellstoff, Textilien und Bioenergie. Der untersuchte Markt ist nach Typ, Anwendung und Geographie segmentiert. Basierend auf dem Typ ist der globale Marktbericht für weiße Biotechnologie in Biokraftstoffe, Biomaterialien, Biochemikalien und industrielle Enzyme unterteilt. Je nach Anwendung ist der Marktbericht in Chemikalien, Pharmazeutika, Lebensmittel und Getränke, Futtermittel und andere Anwendungen unterteilt. Geografisch ist der Markt in Nordamerika, Europa, den asiatisch-pazifischen Raum und den Rest der Welt unterteilt. Für jedes Segment wurden die Marktgröße und Prognosen auf der Grundlage von Wert (in USD Millionen) und Volumen (in Millionen Tonnen) erstellt.

By Type
Biofuels
Biomaterials
Biochemicals
Industrial Enzymes
By Application
Chemicals
Pharmaceuticals
Food and Beverages
Feed
Other Applications
Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Rest of North America
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Spain
Italy
Rest of Europe
Asia-Pacific
China
Japan
India
Australia
Rest of Asia-Pacific
Rest of the World
South America
Middle-East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Wichtige Markttrends

Breite Anwendung auf dem Markt mit vielfältigen Funktionen

Das wachsende Bewusstsein für die zahlreichen Vorteile, die mit der Anwendung der Weißen Biotechnologie verbunden sind, wie z. B. umweltfreundliche, reduzierte Herstellungskosten, geringe Abfallerzeugung und maximaler Rohstoffverbrauch, hat die Nachfrage nach Weißer Biotechnologie unter den Endverbrauchern in den letzten paar Jahren gesteigert Jahre. Beispielsweise hat die weiße Biotechnologie bei der Zellstoff- und Papierherstellung und beim Bleichen zu einer Reduzierung des Einsatzes von Chlorchemikalien um 10-15 % geführt. Das Verfahren ist effizienter und verbraucht 40 % weniger Energie als das herkömmliche Herstellungsverfahren. Damit leistet es einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Nachhaltigkeit und optimalen Nutzung von Rohstoffen, reduziert negative Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt und erzielt maximalen Gewinn aus dem Endprodukt.

Der wachsende Bedarf verschiedener High-End-Industrien, einschließlich der Automobil- und Konsumgüterindustrie, die Nachhaltigkeitsziele zu erreichen, treibt die Nachfrage nach Biokraftstoffen weltweit in die Höhe.

white biotech market growth

Der asiatisch-pazifische Raum ist die am schnellsten wachsende Region auf dem Markt für weiße Biotechnologie

Chinas Biotech-Industrie ist in den letzten zehn Jahren schnell gewachsen und wird von medizinischen Technologien und Biologika dominiert. Das Wachstum wird durch die biotechnologisch veränderten Lebensmittelzutaten auf dem Markt eskaliert. Daher investieren die Akteure strategisch in lokale Unternehmen.

Beispielsweise investierte BASF Venture Capital (BVC) im Jahr 2021 in Bota Biosciences Ltd (Bota Bio), ein industrielles Unternehmen für synthetische Biotechnologie mit Sitz in Hangzhou, China, das Biotechnologieplattformen der nächsten Generation entwickelt, die eine nachhaltige und wirtschaftliche Produktion von hochwertigen Produkten ermöglichen Produkte für ein breites Spektrum industrieller Anwendungen, wie Süßstoffe, Vitamine, Körperpflege- oder Pflanzenschutzmittel.

Zusätzlich zu den oben genannten industriellen Anwendungen hat die weiße Biotechnologie aufgrund der zunehmenden Neigung der Verbraucher zu Lebensmitteln und Getränken mit hohem Nährwertanspruch große Chancen im japanischen Segment für funktionelle Lebensmittel und Getränke eröffnet. Daher eröffnen Biochemikalien und industrielle Enzyme große Möglichkeiten im Lebensmittel- und Getränkebereich des Landes.

Im Jahr 2020 brachte DuPont Nutrition & Biosciences (DuPont) in Japan Powerfresh Special und Powersoft Cake 8010 auf den Markt, seine neueste Enzymreihe für süße Backwaren.

white biotech market share

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der globale weiße Biotech-Markt ist hart umkämpft, mit einer starken Präsenz regionaler und globaler Akteure. Die Nachfrage wird hauptsächlich durch das Bewusstsein der Verbraucher für Nachhaltigkeit und effiziente Produktivität getrieben. So versuchen die am Markt agierenden Player, sich entsprechend der demografischen Gruppe zu positionieren.

Prominente Akteure wie Corbion, ADM und DuPont haben sich auf die Entwicklung neuer und innovativer Produkte konzentriert, indem sie die neue Formulierung auf den Markt ausgerichtet und die verschiedenen unerforschten Mikroorganismen auf dem Markt entwickelt haben.

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der globale weiße Biotech-Markt ist hart umkämpft, mit einer starken Präsenz regionaler und globaler Akteure. Die Nachfrage wird hauptsächlich durch das Bewusstsein der Verbraucher für Nachhaltigkeit und effiziente Produktivität getrieben. So versuchen die am Markt agierenden Player, sich entsprechend der demografischen Gruppe zu positionieren.

Prominente Akteure wie Corbion, ADM und DuPont haben sich auf die Entwicklung neuer und innovativer Produkte konzentriert, indem sie die neue Formulierung auf den Markt ausgerichtet und die verschiedenen unerforschten Mikroorganismen auf dem Markt entwickelt haben.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Drivers

    2. 4.2 Market Restraints

    3. 4.3 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.3.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.3.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION (Market Size by Volume - million ton and Value - USD billion)

    1. 5.1 By Type

      1. 5.1.1 Biofuels

      2. 5.1.2 Biomaterials

      3. 5.1.3 Biochemicals

      4. 5.1.4 Industrial Enzymes

    2. 5.2 By Application

      1. 5.2.1 Chemicals

      2. 5.2.2 Pharmaceuticals

      3. 5.2.3 Food and Beverages

      4. 5.2.4 Feed

      5. 5.2.5 Other Applications

    3. 5.3 Geography

      1. 5.3.1 North America

        1. 5.3.1.1 United States

        2. 5.3.1.2 Canada

        3. 5.3.1.3 Mexico

        4. 5.3.1.4 Rest of North America

      2. 5.3.2 Europe

        1. 5.3.2.1 Germany

        2. 5.3.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.3.2.3 France

        4. 5.3.2.4 Spain

        5. 5.3.2.5 Italy

        6. 5.3.2.6 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.3.3 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.3.3.1 China

        2. 5.3.3.2 Japan

        3. 5.3.3.3 India

        4. 5.3.3.4 Australia

        5. 5.3.3.5 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.3.4 Rest of the World

        1. 5.3.4.1 South America

        2. 5.3.4.2 Middle-East and Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Most Active Companies

    2. 6.2 Most Adopted Strategies

    3. 6.3 Market Share Analysis

    4. 6.4 Company Profiles

      1. 6.4.1 EUCODIS Bioscience GmbH

      2. 6.4.2 DuPont

      3. 6.4.3 Koninklijke DSM NV

      4. 6.4.4 BASF SE

      5. 6.4.5 Evonik Industries AG

      6. 6.4.6 Lonza Group Ltd

      7. 6.4.7 Laurus Labs

      8. 6.4.8 Corbion NV

      9. 6.4.9 Novozymes

      10. 6.4.10 Archer Daniels Midland Company

    5. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

  8. 8. IMPACT OF COVID-19 ON THE MARKET

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Der Markt für weißen Biotech-Markt wird von 2016 bis 2026 untersucht.

Der weiße Biotech-Markt wächst in den nächsten 5 Jahren mit einer CAGR von 15,14 %.

Der asiatisch-pazifische Raum wächst zwischen 2021 und 2026 mit der höchsten CAGR.

Nordamerika hält 2021 den höchsten Anteil.

Eucodis Bioscience GMBH, DuPont, Koninklijke DSM NV, BASF SE und Evonik Industries AG sind die wichtigsten Unternehmen, die auf dem Markt für weiße Biotechnologie tätig sind.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

White Biotech Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2021 - 2026)

White Biotech Market is segmented by Type (Biofuels, Biomaterials, Biochemicals, and Industrial Enzymes); by Application (Chemicals, Pharmaceuticals, Food and Beverages, Feed, and Other Applications); and by Geography (North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, and Rest of the World). The report offers market size and forecasts for White Biotech Market in revenue (USD billion) and volume (million tons) for the above segments.

Market Snapshot

white biotech market
Study Period:

2016 - 2026

Base Year:

2020

Fastest Growing Market:

Asia Pacific

Largest Market:

North America

CAGR:

15.14 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The global white biotech market was valued at USD 641.68 billion in 2020 and is projected to witness a CAGR of 15.14% during the forecast period (2021 - 2026).

COVID-19 has provided a huge stimulus to the white biotech market. Massive efforts to develop vaccines, deploy test kits, develop highly predictive antibody tests, repurpose existing anti-viral drugs, and develop new drugs are causing billions of dollars to flow toward many biotech companies.

In 2021, the biotech sector may have a valuation at or above than the valuation it had in late 2019. Pre-clinical work is expected to be robust. Clinical trials may be near the volume of a year earlier. The regulatory review of clinical trials may be more efficient.

Furthermore, major pharmaceutical market giants are actively involved in product innovation and mergers and acquisitions with small-large pharmaceutical companies in order to make a stronghold on the white biotech market in the future.

Thus, the global COVID-19 pandemic has made a significant impact on the white biotechnology market in terms of innovation in the pharmaceutical industry, which is indicating a fruitful market growth of the category.

Rising consumer demand for green chemicals, majorly in developed regions like North America and Europe who are willing to pay a higher price or a green premium for numerous renewable products, is expected to push manufacturers to employ white biotechnology processes as opposed to traditional chemical manufacturing.

In addition, the rising need from various consumer industries, including automotive and consumer goods, to meet sustainability targets is expected to fuel technology demand over the forecast period.

Industrial biotechnology or white biotechnology is one of the most promising approaches to pollution prevention, resource conservation, and cost reduction. It is often referred to as the third wave in biotechnology. For example, the use of white biotechnology can lead to the reduction of carbon dioxide emissions by as much as 50%, energy consumption by 20%, and water consumption by 75%.

Scope of the Report

White biotechnology, also known as industrial biotechnology, involves the use of enzymes and microorganisms to make bio-based products in sectors as varied as chemicals, food and feed, healthcare, detergents, paper and pulp, textiles and bioenergy. The market studied is segmented on the basis of type, application, and geography. Based on type, the global white biotech market report is segmented into biofuels, biomaterials, biochemicals, and industrial enzymes. Based on application, the market report is segmented into chemicals, pharmaceuticals, food and beverages, feed, and other applications. By geography, the market is segmented into North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, and Rest of the World. For each segment, the market sizing and forecasts have been done on the basis of value (in USD million) and volume (in million ton)

By Type
Biofuels
Biomaterials
Biochemicals
Industrial Enzymes
By Application
Chemicals
Pharmaceuticals
Food and Beverages
Feed
Other Applications
Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Rest of North America
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Spain
Italy
Rest of Europe
Asia-Pacific
China
Japan
India
Australia
Rest of Asia-Pacific
Rest of the World
South America
Middle East & Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Wide Application in Market with Diverse Functionality

The growing awareness about the numerous benefits associated with the application of white biotechnology, such as eco-friendly, reduced manufacturing costs, low wastage generation, and maximum raw material consumption, among others, has boosted the demand for white biotechnology among end-users in the past couple of years. For instance, in pulp and paper production and bleaching, white biotechnology has led to the reduction of chlorine chemicals application by 10-15%. In addition, the process is more efficient, consuming 40% less energy than the traditional manufacturing process. Thus, it makes an important contribution to sustainability and optimum utilization of raw material, thereby reducing negative impacts on the environment while gaining maximum profit from the final product.

In addition, the rising need from various high-end industries, including automotive and consumer goods, to meet sustainability targets is boosting the demand for biofuels across the world.

White Biotech Market1

To understand key trends, Download Sample Report

Asia-Pacific is the Fastest-Growing Region in White Biotech Market

China’s biotech industry has grown rapidly over the past decade, and it is dominated by medical technologies and biologics. The growth is escalated by the biotechnologically altered food ingredients in the market. Thus, players are strategically investing in the local companies.

For instance, in 2021, BASF Venture Capital (BVC) invested in Bota Biosciences Ltd (Bota Bio), an industrial synthetic biotech company located in Hangzhou, China, which develops next-generation biotechnology platforms, enabling sustainable and economical production of high-value products for a broad array of industrial applications, like sweetener, vitamins, personal care, or crop protection products.

In addition to the above-mentioned industrial applications, white biotech has paved great opportunity in Japan's functional food and beverage segment too due to the increased consumer inclinational toward food and beverage with high nutritional claims. Thus, biochemicals and industrial enzymes are paving great opportunity in the country’s food and beverage domain.

In 2020, DuPont Nutrition & Biosciences (DuPont) launched Powerfresh Special and Powersoft Cake 8010 in Japan, its latest enzyme range for sweet baked goods.

White Biotech Market2

To understand geography trends, Download Sample Report

Competitive Landscape

The global white biotech market is highly competitive, with a strong presence of regional and global players in the market, where demand is mostly driven by more adaptation toward consumer awareness on sustainability, efficient productivity, and others. Hence, the players operating in the market are trying to position themselves according to the demographic group.

Further, prominent players like Corbion, ADM, and DuPont in the market have been focusing on developing new and innovative products by targeting the new formulation for the market, thereby engineering the various unexplored microorganisms in the market.

Recent Developments

In November 2020, EUCODIS Bioscience and Biosynth Carbosynth signed a new distribution agreement for EUCODIS enzyme products.

In November 2019, Dupont Industrial Biosciences launched Leiden Bio Science Park in Oegstgeest, the Netherlands. The capacity of the new site in Oegstgeest doubled the potential for growth of the current employee base, with the potential of creating an additional 100 jobs at the facility, including research and development, application development, marketing, sales and customer service. The building served as the new EMEA (Europe, Middle East and Africa) headquarters for DuPont Industrial Biosciences.

In June 2018, DSM introduced BakeZyme AAA. The solution enables bakeries to reduce ascorbic acid in their recipes while maintaining the ideal bread texture and volume

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Drivers

    2. 4.2 Market Restraints

    3. 4.3 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.3.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.3.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION (Market Size by Volume - million ton and Value - USD billion)

    1. 5.1 By Type

      1. 5.1.1 Biofuels

      2. 5.1.2 Biomaterials

      3. 5.1.3 Biochemicals

      4. 5.1.4 Industrial Enzymes

    2. 5.2 By Application

      1. 5.2.1 Chemicals

      2. 5.2.2 Pharmaceuticals

      3. 5.2.3 Food and Beverages

      4. 5.2.4 Feed

      5. 5.2.5 Other Applications

    3. 5.3 Geography

      1. 5.3.1 North America

        1. 5.3.1.1 United States

        2. 5.3.1.2 Canada

        3. 5.3.1.3 Mexico

        4. 5.3.1.4 Rest of North America

      2. 5.3.2 Europe

        1. 5.3.2.1 Germany

        2. 5.3.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.3.2.3 France

        4. 5.3.2.4 Spain

        5. 5.3.2.5 Italy

        6. 5.3.2.6 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.3.3 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.3.3.1 China

        2. 5.3.3.2 Japan

        3. 5.3.3.3 India

        4. 5.3.3.4 Australia

        5. 5.3.3.5 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.3.4 Rest of the World

        1. 5.3.4.1 South America

        2. 5.3.4.2 Middle East & Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Most Active Companies

    2. 6.2 Most Adopted Strategies

    3. 6.3 Market Share Analysis

    4. 6.4 Company Profiles

      1. 6.4.1 EUCODIS Bioscience GmbH

      2. 6.4.2 DuPont

      3. 6.4.3 Koninklijke DSM NV

      4. 6.4.4 BASF SE

      5. 6.4.5 Evonik Industries AG

      6. 6.4.6 Lonza Group Ltd

      7. 6.4.7 Laurus Labs

      8. 6.4.8 Corbion NV

      9. 6.4.9 Novozymes

      10. 6.4.10 Archer Daniels Midland Company

    5. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

  8. 8. IMPACT OF COVID-19 ON THE MARKET

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The White Biotech Market market is studied from 2016 - 2026.

The White Biotech Market is growing at a CAGR of 15.14% over the next 5 years.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

North America holds highest share in 2020.

  • Eucodis Bioscience GMBH
  • DuPont
  • Koninklijke DSM NV
  • BASF SE
  • Evonik Industries AG

Are the major companies operating in White Biotech Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!