Kartoffelchips-Markt – Wachstum, Trends und Prognosen (2023 – 2028)

Der Markt für Kartoffelchips ist nach Produkttyp (gebraten und gebacken), Geschmack (einfach/gesalzen und aromatisiert), Vertriebskanal (Supermärkte/Verbrauchermärkte, Convenience Stores, Online-Einzelhandelsgeschäfte und andere Vertriebskanäle) und Geografie unterteilt.

Markt-Snapshot

Potato Chips Market Overview
Study Period: 2016 - 2026
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 4.40 %

Major Players

Potato Chips Market Major Players

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

setting-icon

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Marktübersicht

Der Markt für Kartoffelchips wird im Prognosezeitraum (2021–2026) voraussichtlich eine CAGR von 4,40 % verzeichnen.

Der Ausbruch von COVID-19 führte zu einer beispiellosen Belastung der Kartoffellieferkette, was sich negativ auf das Gesamtwachstum des Kartoffelchipmarktes auswirkte. Beispielsweise gingen die Exporte von dehydrierten Kartoffeln im Jahr 2020 im Vergleich zum Geschäftsjahr 2019 in den Vereinigten Staaten um 16 % und von frischen um 13 % zurück.

Trotz der Unterbrechungen in der Lieferkette von Kartoffeln unterstützten die erzwungene Sperrung auf der ganzen Welt und das Szenario der erweiterten Arbeit von zu Hause aus aktiv den Lebensmittelkonsum zu Hause sowie das Wachstum bei Snackprodukten, was wiederum die Nachfrage nach Kartoffelchips erhöhte. Die COVID-19-Pandemie hat vielen privaten Akteuren Möglichkeiten eröffnet, auf den Märkten aufzutauchen, um die überhöhte Nachfrage nach Kartoffelchips zu befriedigen.

Darüber hinaus hat die Pandemie den Übergang zu einer digitaleren Welt beschleunigt und Veränderungen im Online-Shopping-Verhalten ausgelöst, die voraussichtlich nachhaltige Auswirkungen haben werden. Daher wird erwartet, dass der Verkauf von Kartoffelchips über Online-Kanäle schneller wächst.

Einige der weltweit größten Märkte für frittierte Kartoffelchips sind die Vereinigten Staaten, Kanada, Mexiko, Russland und China, wobei die Vereinigten Staaten einer der reifsten Märkte sind.

Der Markt ist stark konsolidiert, wobei PepsiCo Inc. mit seiner beliebten Marke Lays einen großen Marktanteil hält. The Kellogg Company ist mit ihrer Marke Pringles, die in vielen Ländern im Premiumsegment gilt, ein weiterer großer Player.

Einige der anderen Unternehmen mit bedeutenden Marktanteilen sind unter anderem Calbee Inc., Intersnack Group GmbH & Co. KG, The Campbell Soup Company und Orkla ASA.

Umfang des Berichts

Kartoffelchips sind dünne Kartoffelscheiben, die entweder frittiert oder knusprig gebacken wurden. Sie werden üblicherweise als Snack, Beilage oder Vorspeise serviert. Der Markt für Kartoffelchips ist nach Produkttyp, Geschmack, Vertriebskanal und Geografie segmentiert. Basierend auf dem Produkttyp. Der Markt ist in Gebratenes und Gebackenes unterteilt. Nach Geschmackstyp wurde der Markt in einfache und gesalzene Chips und aromatisierte Chips unterteilt. Nach Vertriebskanälen kann der untersuchte Markt in SB-Warenhäuser/Supermärkte, Convenience-Stores, Online-Kanäle und andere Vertriebskanäle unterteilt werden. Darüber hinaus berücksichtigt der Bericht auch den untersuchten Markt in etablierten und aufstrebenden Volkswirtschaften, einschließlich Nordamerika, Europa, Asien-Pazifik, Südamerika sowie Naher Osten und Afrika. Für jedes Segment,

By Product Type
Baked
Fried
By Flavor
Plain/Salted
Flavored
By Distribution Channel
Supermarkets/Hypermarkets
Convenience Stores
Online Retail Stores
Other Distribution Channels
By Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Rest of North America
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
Italy
Spain
France
Russia
Rest of Europe
Asia-Pacific
China
Japan
India
Australia
Rest of Asia-Pacific
South America
Brazil
Argentina
Rest of South America
Middle-East and Africa
Saudi Arabia
South Africa
Rest of Middle-East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Wichtige Markttrends

Steigende Ausgaben für herzhafte Snacks

Aufgrund des sich ändernden Lebensstils entscheiden sich Verbraucher nicht nur für einfache Lebensmitteloptionen, sondern suchen auch nach authentischen und natürlichen Snackoptionen mit Gesundheits- und Wellnessattributen, was sich auf die Pro-Kopf-Ausgaben für herzhafte Snackprodukte, einschließlich Kartoffelchips, auswirkt. Darüber hinaus steigen die Pro-Kopf-Ausgaben für herzhafte Snackprodukte in Entwicklungsländern wie Indien und China und werden durch den Verkauf von Kartoffelchips auf dem untersuchten Markt unterstützt. Laut Defra stiegen die durchschnittlichen Ausgaben pro Person und Woche für Crips und Kartoffelsnacks im Vereinigten Königreich im Zeitraum 2009 bis 2016 um 2,55 %, was das Marktwachstum in der europäischen Region unterstützt. In entwickelten Volkswirtschaften handeln die Verbraucher und geben mehr für hochwertige und gesunde Sorten herzhafter Snacks aus.

Potato Chips Market Key Trends

Asien-Pazifik bleibt die am schnellsten wachsende Region

Der asiatisch-pazifische Raum war aufgrund des schnellen Wachstums moderner Vertriebskanäle wie Supermärkte und Verbrauchermärkte die am schnellsten wachsende Region. Die wachsende Beliebtheit von Snacks in asiatischen Ländern hat die regionalen Akteure dazu gezwungen, strategische Weiterentwicklungen anzupassen, um sich einen Wettbewerbsvorteil auf dem Snack-Food-Markt zu verschaffen. Beispielsweise erwarb die Universal Robina Corporation Snack Brands Australia, um sich zusätzlich zu ihrem guten Ruf auf dem Markt einen Wettbewerbsvorteil zu verschaffen. Es wird erwartet, dass die Produkt- und Verpackungsinnovationsstrategien das Wachstum des Kartoffelchipsmarktes in den asiatischen Ländern weiter vorantreiben werden. Die lokalen Akteure aus Singapur bringen aufgrund der Nachfrage auf dem lokalen Markt exotische Geschmacksrichtungen von Kartoffelchips auf den Markt. Dieser Faktor treibt den Kartoffelchipsmarkt im asiatisch-pazifischen Raum maßgeblich an. Zum Beispiel,

Potato Chips Market Growth Rate

Wettbewerbslandschaft

PepsiCo. Inc. ist einer der unangefochtenen Marktführer, mit einer Hochburg über den Großteil des Marktes für frittierte Kartoffelchips. Durch sein Portfolio starker Marken auf dem Markt für Kartoffelchips hat PepsiCo in jedem Markt, in den es eintritt, eine separate Verbraucherbasis geschaffen. Die führenden Marken für Kartoffelchips des Unternehmens sind Lay's, Miss Vickie's, Red Rock Deli, Ruffles und Munchos. Zu den anderen führenden Marktteilnehmern auf der ganzen Welt gehören The Kellogg Company, Calbee, Intersnack Group, The Campbell Soup Company und Orkla. Um ihre Marktposition zu stärken, erneuern diese Unternehmen ihre Geschmacksrichtungen, erweitern ihre Zielmärkte und stärken ihre Vertriebskanäle.

Hauptakteure

  1. Burts Potato Chips Ltd

  2. Kellogg Company

  3. Intersnack Foods GmbH

  4. The Campbell Soup Company

  5. PepsiCo, Inc

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

Burts Potato Chips Ltd, Kellogg Company, Intersnack Foods GmbH, The Campbell Soup Company, PepsiCo, Inc

Wettbewerbslandschaft

PepsiCo. Inc. ist einer der unangefochtenen Marktführer, mit einer Hochburg über den Großteil des Marktes für frittierte Kartoffelchips. Durch sein Portfolio starker Marken auf dem Markt für Kartoffelchips hat PepsiCo in jedem Markt, in den es eintritt, eine separate Verbraucherbasis geschaffen. Die führenden Marken für Kartoffelchips des Unternehmens sind Lay's, Miss Vickie's, Red Rock Deli, Ruffles und Munchos. Zu den anderen führenden Marktteilnehmern auf der ganzen Welt gehören The Kellogg Company, Calbee, Intersnack Group, The Campbell Soup Company und Orkla. Um ihre Marktposition zu stärken, erneuern diese Unternehmen ihre Geschmacksrichtungen, erweitern ihre Zielmärkte und stärken ihre Vertriebskanäle.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Drivers

    2. 4.2 Market Restraints

    3. 4.3 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.3.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.3.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Product Type

      1. 5.1.1 Baked

      2. 5.1.2 Fried

    2. 5.2 By Flavor

      1. 5.2.1 Plain/Salted

      2. 5.2.2 Flavored

    3. 5.3 By Distribution Channel

      1. 5.3.1 Supermarkets/Hypermarkets

      2. 5.3.2 Convenience Stores

      3. 5.3.3 Online Retail Stores

      4. 5.3.4 Other Distribution Channels

    4. 5.4 By Geography

      1. 5.4.1 North America

        1. 5.4.1.1 United States

        2. 5.4.1.2 Canada

        3. 5.4.1.3 Mexico

        4. 5.4.1.4 Rest of North America

      2. 5.4.2 Europe

        1. 5.4.2.1 Germany

        2. 5.4.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.4.2.3 Italy

        4. 5.4.2.4 Spain

        5. 5.4.2.5 France

        6. 5.4.2.6 Russia

        7. 5.4.2.7 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.4.3 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.4.3.1 China

        2. 5.4.3.2 Japan

        3. 5.4.3.3 India

        4. 5.4.3.4 Australia

        5. 5.4.3.5 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.4.4 South America

        1. 5.4.4.1 Brazil

        2. 5.4.4.2 Argentina

        3. 5.4.4.3 Rest of South America

      5. 5.4.5 Middle-East and Africa

        1. 5.4.5.1 Saudi Arabia

        2. 5.4.5.2 South Africa

        3. 5.4.5.3 Rest of Middle-East and Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Most Active Companies

    2. 6.2 Most Adopted Strategies

    3. 6.3 Market Share Analysis

    4. 6.4 Company Profiles

      1. 6.4.1 Burts Potato Chips Ltd

      2. 6.4.2 Calbee Inc.

      3. 6.4.3 PepsiCo Inc.

      4. 6.4.4 The Campbell Soup Company

      5. 6.4.5 Intersnack Foods GmbH

      6. 6.4.6 Great Lakes Potato Chips

      7. 6.4.7 The Lorenz Bahlsen Snack-World GmbH & Co. KG

      8. 6.4.8 Intersnack Group GmbH & Co. KG

      9. 6.4.9 Herr Foods Inc.

      10. 6.4.10 The Kellogg Company

    5. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

  8. 8. IMPACT OF COVID-19 ON THE MARKET

**Subject to Availability
You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Der Kartoffelchipsmarkt wird von 2018 bis 2028 untersucht.

Der Kartoffelchips-Markt wächst in den nächsten 5 Jahren mit einer CAGR von 5,6 %.

Der asiatisch-pazifische Raum wächst von 2018 bis 2028 mit der höchsten CAGR.

Nordamerika hält 2021 den höchsten Anteil.

Burts Potato Chips Ltd, The Campbell Soup Company, PepsiCo, Inc, Utz Brands Inc., Intersnack Foods GmbH & Co. KG sind die wichtigsten Unternehmen, die auf dem Markt für Kartoffelchips tätig sind.

close-icon
80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Potato Chips Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2021 - 2026)

Potato Chips Market is Segmented by Product Type (Fried, Baked); by Flavor (Plain/Salted and Flavored); by Distribution Channel (Supermarket/Hypermarket, Convenience Stores, Online Retail Stores, and Other Distribution Channels); and by Geography. The report offers market size and forecasts for potato chips in value (USD million) for all the above segments.

Market Snapshot

Global Potato Chips Market Summary
Study Period:

2016 - 2026

Base Year:

2020

Fastest Growing Market:

Asia Pacific

Largest Market:

North America

CAGR:

4.40 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The global potato chips market is projected to grow at a CAGR of 4.40% during the forecast period (2021 - 2026).

The outbreak of COVID-19, resulted in unprecedented stress on the supply chain of potatoes, resulting in negative impact on the overall growth of the potato chip of the market. For instance: Exports of dehydrated potatoes declined by 16%, and fresh by 13% in 2020 as compared to fiscal year 2019 in United States.

Despite the disruptions in the supply chain of potatoes, the forced lockdown across the globe and extended work form home scenario, actively supported the at-home food consumption as well growth in snack products which in turn augmented the demand for potato chips. The COVID-19 pandemic has resulted in the generation of opportunities for many private players to emerge in the markets, in order to cater to the inflated demand for potato chips.

Furthermore, the pandemic has accelerated the shift towards a more digital world and triggered changes in online shopping behaviours that are likely to have lasting effects. Thus, the sales of potato chips through online channel is expected to grow at a faster rate and is expected to benefit the overall growth of the market.

Some of the largest markets for fried potato chips across the world include the United States, Canada, Mexico, Russia, and China, with the United States being one of the most matured markets.

The market is highly consolidated with PepsiCo Inc. holding major market share, with its popular brand - Lays. The Kellogg Company is another major player with its brand Pringles, which is considered in the premium segment across many countries.

Some of the other companies, holding prominent market share, include Calbee Inc., Intersnack Group GmbH & Co. KG, The Campbell Soup Company, and Orkla ASA, among others.

Scope of the Report

Potato chips are thin slices of potato that have been either deep-fried or baked until crunchy. They are commonly served as a snack, side dish, or appetizer. The global potato chips market is segmented by product type, flavor, distribution channel and geography. Based on product type. the market is segmented into fried and baked. By flavor type, the market has been segmented into plain and salted chips and flavored chips. By distribution channel, the market studied can be segmented into hypermarkets/supermarkets, convenience stores, online channels, and other distribution channels. Furthermore, the report also takes into consideration the market studied in the established and emerging economies, including North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, South America, and Middle East & Africa. For each segment, the market sizing and forecasts have been done on the basis of value (USD million).

By Product Type
Baked
Fried
By Flavor
Plain/Salted
Flavored
By Distribution Channel
Supermarket/Hypermarket
Convenience Stores
Online Retail Stores
Other Distribution Channel
Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Rest of North America
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
Italy
Spain
France
Russia
Rest of Europe
Asia Pacific
China
Japan
India
Australia
Rest of Asia-Pacific
South America
Brazil
Argentina
Rest of South America
Middle East and Africa
Saudi Arabia
South Africa
Rest of Middle East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Increasing Expenditure on Savoury Snacks

Due to changing lifestyles, consumers are not only opting for easy food options but also looking for authentic and natural snack options with health & wellness attributes, which is influencing per capita expenditure in savory snacks products including potato chips. Additionally, the per capita expenditure on savory snacks products is growing in developing economies such as India and China and is supported by the sales of potato chips in the market studied. According to Defra, the average expenditure per person per week on crips and potato snacks in the United Kingdom increased by a growth rate of 2.55% during the time period 2009 to 2016 which is supporting the market growth in Europe region. In developed economies, consumers are trading up and spending more on premium and healthy varieties of savory snacks, while consumers in emerging countries including Brazil, China and India, typically base their snack choices on product availability and experimentation.

Global Potato Chips Market1

To understand key trends, Download Sample Report

Asia-Pacific Remains The Fastest Growing Region

Asia-Pacific was the fastest-growing region, due to the rapid growth of modern distribution channels, such as supermarkets and hypermarkets. The growing popularity of snack foods in Asian countries has compelled the regional players to adapt strategic advancements to gain a competitive edge in the snack food market. For instance, Universal Robina Corporation acquired Snack Brands Australia, in order to gain a competitive advantage, in addition to its reputation in the market. The product and packaging innovation strategies are further expected to drive the growth of the potato chips market in Asian countries. The local players from Singapore are launching exotic flavors of potato chips, owing to the demand for the same in the local market. This factor is majorly driving the potato chips market in the Asia-Pacific region. For example, Flavors of the East launched Hainanese Chicken Rice and Singapore Laksa flavors from a temporary booth, which are now being sold in hypermarkets and exported to Japan.

Global Potato Chips Market2

To understand geography trends, Download Sample Report

Competitive Landscape

PepsiCo. Inc., is one of the undisputed market leaders, with a stronghold over the majority of the fried potato chips market. Through its portfolio of strong brands in the potato chips market, PepsiCo has been creating a separate consumer base in every market it enters. The leading potato chips brands for the company are Lay’s, Miss Vickie’s, Red Rock Deli, Ruffles, and Munchos. The other leading market players across the world include The Kellogg Company, Calbee, Intersnack Group, The Campbell Soup Company, and Orkla. Intersnack Group, Kettle Brands, and Orkla. In order to strengthen their hold in the market, these companies are innovating their flavors, expanding their target markets, and strengthening their distribution channels.

Recent Developments

In 2017, Orkla Food Ingredients signed a license agreement with the Canadian bioscience company, Renaissance, to bring its acrylamide-reducing yeast, used in potato chips and snacks, to food manufacturers in Europe. Orkla planned to offer the product first in the Nordic and Baltic markets.

In 2018, Calbee acquired British brand Seabrook Crisps as it aims to strengthen its position in Europe. Calbee was drawn to Seabrook’s “iconic” brand of potato chips, which includes straight cut, crinkle cut, and lattice variants. The brand’s crisp flavors include sea salt and red wine vinegar, cream cheese and chives, and lamb and mint.

In 2019, Pringles, subsidiary of Kellog's company launched a special edition at the Super Bowl, Pickle Rick flavor, inspired from the series Rick and Morty. The flavor was expected to be offered in the United States market in February 2020.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Drivers

    2. 4.2 Market Restraints

    3. 4.3 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.3.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.3.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Product Type

      1. 5.1.1 Baked

      2. 5.1.2 Fried

    2. 5.2 By Flavor

      1. 5.2.1 Plain/Salted

      2. 5.2.2 Flavored

    3. 5.3 By Distribution Channel

      1. 5.3.1 Supermarket/Hypermarket

      2. 5.3.2 Convenience Stores

      3. 5.3.3 Online Retail Stores

      4. 5.3.4 Other Distribution Channel

    4. 5.4 Geography

      1. 5.4.1 North America

        1. 5.4.1.1 United States

        2. 5.4.1.2 Canada

        3. 5.4.1.3 Mexico

        4. 5.4.1.4 Rest of North America

      2. 5.4.2 Europe

        1. 5.4.2.1 Germany

        2. 5.4.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.4.2.3 Italy

        4. 5.4.2.4 Spain

        5. 5.4.2.5 France

        6. 5.4.2.6 Russia

        7. 5.4.2.7 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.4.3 Asia Pacific

        1. 5.4.3.1 China

        2. 5.4.3.2 Japan

        3. 5.4.3.3 India

        4. 5.4.3.4 Australia

        5. 5.4.3.5 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.4.4 South America

        1. 5.4.4.1 Brazil

        2. 5.4.4.2 Argentina

        3. 5.4.4.3 Rest of South America

      5. 5.4.5 Middle East and Africa

        1. 5.4.5.1 Saudi Arabia

        2. 5.4.5.2 South Africa

        3. 5.4.5.3 Rest of Middle East and Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Most Active Companies

    2. 6.2 Most Adopted Strategies

    3. 6.3 Market Share Analysis

    4. 6.4 Company Profiles

      1. 6.4.1 Burts Potato Chips Ltd

      2. 6.4.2 Calbee, Inc.

      3. 6.4.3 PepsiCo, Inc

      4. 6.4.4 The Campbell Soup Company

      5. 6.4.5 Intersnack Foods GmbH

      6. 6.4.6 Great Lakes Potato Chips

      7. 6.4.7 The Lorenz Bahlsen Snack-World GmbH & Co KG

      8. 6.4.8 Intersnack Group GmbH & Co. KG

      9. 6.4.9 Herr Foods Inc.

      10. 6.4.10 The Kellogg Company

    5. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

  8. 8. IMPACT OF COVID-19 ON THE MARKET

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Potato Chips Market market is studied from 2016 - 2026.

The Potato Chips Market is growing at a CAGR of 4.40% over the next 5 years.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

North America holds highest share in 2020.

  • Burts Potato Chips Ltd
  • Kellogg Company
  • Intersnack Foods GmbH
  • The Campbell Soup Company
  • PepsiCo, Inc

Are the major companies operating in Potato Chips Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!