Marché des chips de pomme de terre – Croissance, tendances et prévisions (2023-2028)

Le marché des chips de pommes de terre est segmenté par type de produit (frit et cuit), saveur (nature/salée et aromatisée), canal de distribution (supermarchés/hypermarchés, dépanneurs, magasins de détail en ligne et autres canaux de distribution) et géographie.

Aperçu du marché

Potato Chips Market Overview
Study Period: 2016 - 2026
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 4.40 %

Major Players

Potato Chips Market Major Players

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

setting-icon

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Aperçu du marché

Le marché des croustilles devrait enregistrer un TCAC de 4,40 % au cours de la période de prévision (2021-2026).

L'épidémie de COVID-19 a entraîné une pression sans précédent sur la chaîne d'approvisionnement des pommes de terre, ce qui a eu un impact négatif sur la croissance globale du marché des croustilles. Par exemple, les exportations de pommes de terre déshydratées ont diminué de 16 % et celles de pommes de terre fraîches de 13 % en 2020 par rapport à l'exercice 2019 aux États-Unis.

Malgré les perturbations de la chaîne d'approvisionnement des pommes de terre, le verrouillage forcé à travers le monde et le scénario prolongé de travail à domicile ont activement soutenu la consommation alimentaire à domicile ainsi que la croissance des produits de collation, ce qui, à son tour, a augmenté la demande de croustilles. La pandémie de COVID-19 a donné lieu à la création d'opportunités pour de nombreux acteurs privés d'émerger sur les marchés pour répondre à la demande gonflée de chips.

De plus, la pandémie a accéléré la transition vers un monde plus numérique et déclenché des changements dans les comportements d'achat en ligne susceptibles d'avoir des effets durables. Ainsi, les ventes de croustilles via les canaux en ligne devraient augmenter à un rythme plus rapide.

Certains des plus grands marchés de croustilles frites à travers le monde comprennent les États-Unis, le Canada, le Mexique, la Russie et la Chine, les États-Unis étant l'un des marchés les plus matures.

Le marché est fortement consolidé, PepsiCo Inc. détenant une part de marché importante avec sa marque populaire - Lays. The Kellogg Company est un autre acteur majeur avec sa marque Pringles, qui est considérée dans le segment premium dans de nombreux pays.

Certaines des autres sociétés détenant une part de marché importante comprennent Calbee Inc., Intersnack Group GmbH & Co. KG, The Campbell Soup Company et Orkla ASA, entre autres.

Portée du rapport

Les croustilles sont de fines tranches de pomme de terre qui ont été frites ou cuites au four jusqu'à ce qu'elles soient croustillantes. Ils sont généralement servis en collation, en accompagnement ou en apéritif. Le marché des croustilles est segmenté par type de produit, saveur, canal de distribution et géographie. Basé sur le type de produit. Le marché est segmenté en frites et cuites au four. Par type de saveur, le marché a été segmenté en chips nature et salées et chips aromatisées. Par canal de distribution, le marché étudié peut être segmenté en hypermarchés/supermarchés, magasins de proximité, canaux en ligne et autres canaux de distribution. En outre, le rapport prend également en considération le marché étudié dans les économies établies et émergentes, notamment l'Amérique du Nord, l'Europe, l'Asie-Pacifique, l'Amérique du Sud, le Moyen-Orient et l'Afrique. Pour chaque tranche,

By Product Type
Baked
Fried
By Flavor
Plain/Salted
Flavored
By Distribution Channel
Supermarkets/Hypermarkets
Convenience Stores
Online Retail Stores
Other Distribution Channels
By Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Rest of North America
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
Italy
Spain
France
Russia
Rest of Europe
Asia-Pacific
China
Japan
India
Australia
Rest of Asia-Pacific
South America
Brazil
Argentina
Rest of South America
Middle-East and Africa
Saudi Arabia
South Africa
Rest of Middle-East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Principales tendances du marché

Augmentation des dépenses en collations salées

En raison de l'évolution des modes de vie, les consommateurs optent non seulement pour des options alimentaires faciles, mais recherchent également des options de collations authentiques et naturelles avec des attributs de santé et de bien-être, ce qui influence les dépenses par habitant en produits de collations salées, y compris les croustilles. De plus, les dépenses par habitant en collations salées augmentent dans les économies en développement comme l'Inde et la Chine et sont soutenues par les ventes de croustilles sur le marché étudié. Selon Defra, les dépenses moyennes par personne et par semaine en chips et collations de pommes de terre au Royaume-Uni ont augmenté d'un taux de croissance de 2,55 % au cours de la période 2009 à 2016, ce qui soutient la croissance du marché dans la région européenne. Dans les économies développées, les consommateurs négocient et dépensent davantage pour des variétés de collations salées de qualité supérieure et saines,

Potato Chips Market Key Trends

L'Asie-Pacifique reste la région à la croissance la plus rapide

L'Asie-Pacifique a été la région à la croissance la plus rapide en raison de la croissance rapide des canaux de distribution modernes, tels que les supermarchés et les hypermarchés. La popularité croissante des grignotines dans les pays asiatiques a obligé les acteurs régionaux à adapter les avancées stratégiques pour acquérir un avantage concurrentiel sur le marché des grignotines. Par exemple, Universal Robina Corporation a acquis Snack Brands Australia afin d'acquérir un avantage concurrentiel, en plus de sa réputation sur le marché. Les stratégies d'innovation des produits et des emballages devraient en outre stimuler la croissance du marché des chips dans les pays asiatiques. Les acteurs locaux de Singapour lancent des saveurs exotiques de croustilles, en raison de la demande identique sur le marché local. Ce facteur est le moteur principal du marché des croustilles dans la région Asie-Pacifique. Par exemple,

Potato Chips Market Growth Rate

Paysage concurrentiel

PepsiCo. Inc. est l'un des leaders incontestés du marché, avec une mainmise sur la majorité du marché des chips de pommes de terre frites. Grâce à son portefeuille de marques fortes sur le marché des chips, PepsiCo a créé une base de consommateurs distincte sur chaque marché sur lequel elle pénètre. Les principales marques de croustilles de l'entreprise sont Lay's, Miss Vickie's, Red Rock Deli, Ruffles et Munchos. Les autres principaux acteurs du marché à travers le monde sont The Kellogg Company, Calbee, Intersnack Group, The Campbell Soup Company et Orkla. Afin de renforcer leur emprise sur le marché, ces entreprises innovent dans leurs saveurs, élargissent leurs marchés cibles et renforcent leurs canaux de distribution.

Principaux acteurs

  1. Burts Potato Chips Ltd

  2. Kellogg Company

  3. Intersnack Foods GmbH

  4. The Campbell Soup Company

  5. PepsiCo, Inc

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

Burts Potato Chips Ltd, Kellogg Company, Intersnack Foods GmbH, The Campbell Soup Company, PepsiCo, Inc

Paysage concurrentiel

PepsiCo. Inc. est l'un des leaders incontestés du marché, avec une mainmise sur la majorité du marché des chips de pommes de terre frites. Grâce à son portefeuille de marques fortes sur le marché des chips, PepsiCo a créé une base de consommateurs distincte sur chaque marché sur lequel elle pénètre. Les principales marques de croustilles de l'entreprise sont Lay's, Miss Vickie's, Red Rock Deli, Ruffles et Munchos. Les autres principaux acteurs du marché à travers le monde sont The Kellogg Company, Calbee, Intersnack Group, The Campbell Soup Company et Orkla. Afin de renforcer leur emprise sur le marché, ces entreprises innovent dans leurs saveurs, élargissent leurs marchés cibles et renforcent leurs canaux de distribution.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Drivers

    2. 4.2 Market Restraints

    3. 4.3 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.3.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.3.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Product Type

      1. 5.1.1 Baked

      2. 5.1.2 Fried

    2. 5.2 By Flavor

      1. 5.2.1 Plain/Salted

      2. 5.2.2 Flavored

    3. 5.3 By Distribution Channel

      1. 5.3.1 Supermarkets/Hypermarkets

      2. 5.3.2 Convenience Stores

      3. 5.3.3 Online Retail Stores

      4. 5.3.4 Other Distribution Channels

    4. 5.4 By Geography

      1. 5.4.1 North America

        1. 5.4.1.1 United States

        2. 5.4.1.2 Canada

        3. 5.4.1.3 Mexico

        4. 5.4.1.4 Rest of North America

      2. 5.4.2 Europe

        1. 5.4.2.1 Germany

        2. 5.4.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.4.2.3 Italy

        4. 5.4.2.4 Spain

        5. 5.4.2.5 France

        6. 5.4.2.6 Russia

        7. 5.4.2.7 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.4.3 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.4.3.1 China

        2. 5.4.3.2 Japan

        3. 5.4.3.3 India

        4. 5.4.3.4 Australia

        5. 5.4.3.5 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.4.4 South America

        1. 5.4.4.1 Brazil

        2. 5.4.4.2 Argentina

        3. 5.4.4.3 Rest of South America

      5. 5.4.5 Middle-East and Africa

        1. 5.4.5.1 Saudi Arabia

        2. 5.4.5.2 South Africa

        3. 5.4.5.3 Rest of Middle-East and Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Most Active Companies

    2. 6.2 Most Adopted Strategies

    3. 6.3 Market Share Analysis

    4. 6.4 Company Profiles

      1. 6.4.1 Burts Potato Chips Ltd

      2. 6.4.2 Calbee Inc.

      3. 6.4.3 PepsiCo Inc.

      4. 6.4.4 The Campbell Soup Company

      5. 6.4.5 Intersnack Foods GmbH

      6. 6.4.6 Great Lakes Potato Chips

      7. 6.4.7 The Lorenz Bahlsen Snack-World GmbH & Co. KG

      8. 6.4.8 Intersnack Group GmbH & Co. KG

      9. 6.4.9 Herr Foods Inc.

      10. 6.4.10 The Kellogg Company

    5. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

  8. 8. IMPACT OF COVID-19 ON THE MARKET

**Subject to Availability
You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Le marché des chips de pommes de terre est étudié de 2018 à 2028.

Le marché des chips de pommes de terre croît à un TCAC de 5,6 % au cours des 5 prochaines années.

L'Asie-Pacifique affiche le TCAC le plus élevé de 2018 à 2028.

L'Amérique du Nord détient la part la plus élevée en 2021.

Burts Potato Chips Ltd, The Campbell Soup Company, PepsiCo, Inc, Utz Brands Inc., Intersnack Foods GmbH & Co. KG sont les principales entreprises opérant sur le marché des chips.

close-icon
80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Potato Chips Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2021 - 2026)

Potato Chips Market is Segmented by Product Type (Fried, Baked); by Flavor (Plain/Salted and Flavored); by Distribution Channel (Supermarket/Hypermarket, Convenience Stores, Online Retail Stores, and Other Distribution Channels); and by Geography. The report offers market size and forecasts for potato chips in value (USD million) for all the above segments.

Market Snapshot

Global Potato Chips Market Summary
Study Period:

2016 - 2026

Base Year:

2020

Fastest Growing Market:

Asia Pacific

Largest Market:

North America

CAGR:

4.40 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The global potato chips market is projected to grow at a CAGR of 4.40% during the forecast period (2021 - 2026).

The outbreak of COVID-19, resulted in unprecedented stress on the supply chain of potatoes, resulting in negative impact on the overall growth of the potato chip of the market. For instance: Exports of dehydrated potatoes declined by 16%, and fresh by 13% in 2020 as compared to fiscal year 2019 in United States.

Despite the disruptions in the supply chain of potatoes, the forced lockdown across the globe and extended work form home scenario, actively supported the at-home food consumption as well growth in snack products which in turn augmented the demand for potato chips. The COVID-19 pandemic has resulted in the generation of opportunities for many private players to emerge in the markets, in order to cater to the inflated demand for potato chips.

Furthermore, the pandemic has accelerated the shift towards a more digital world and triggered changes in online shopping behaviours that are likely to have lasting effects. Thus, the sales of potato chips through online channel is expected to grow at a faster rate and is expected to benefit the overall growth of the market.

Some of the largest markets for fried potato chips across the world include the United States, Canada, Mexico, Russia, and China, with the United States being one of the most matured markets.

The market is highly consolidated with PepsiCo Inc. holding major market share, with its popular brand - Lays. The Kellogg Company is another major player with its brand Pringles, which is considered in the premium segment across many countries.

Some of the other companies, holding prominent market share, include Calbee Inc., Intersnack Group GmbH & Co. KG, The Campbell Soup Company, and Orkla ASA, among others.

Scope of the Report

Potato chips are thin slices of potato that have been either deep-fried or baked until crunchy. They are commonly served as a snack, side dish, or appetizer. The global potato chips market is segmented by product type, flavor, distribution channel and geography. Based on product type. the market is segmented into fried and baked. By flavor type, the market has been segmented into plain and salted chips and flavored chips. By distribution channel, the market studied can be segmented into hypermarkets/supermarkets, convenience stores, online channels, and other distribution channels. Furthermore, the report also takes into consideration the market studied in the established and emerging economies, including North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, South America, and Middle East & Africa. For each segment, the market sizing and forecasts have been done on the basis of value (USD million).

By Product Type
Baked
Fried
By Flavor
Plain/Salted
Flavored
By Distribution Channel
Supermarket/Hypermarket
Convenience Stores
Online Retail Stores
Other Distribution Channel
Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Rest of North America
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
Italy
Spain
France
Russia
Rest of Europe
Asia Pacific
China
Japan
India
Australia
Rest of Asia-Pacific
South America
Brazil
Argentina
Rest of South America
Middle East and Africa
Saudi Arabia
South Africa
Rest of Middle East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Increasing Expenditure on Savoury Snacks

Due to changing lifestyles, consumers are not only opting for easy food options but also looking for authentic and natural snack options with health & wellness attributes, which is influencing per capita expenditure in savory snacks products including potato chips. Additionally, the per capita expenditure on savory snacks products is growing in developing economies such as India and China and is supported by the sales of potato chips in the market studied. According to Defra, the average expenditure per person per week on crips and potato snacks in the United Kingdom increased by a growth rate of 2.55% during the time period 2009 to 2016 which is supporting the market growth in Europe region. In developed economies, consumers are trading up and spending more on premium and healthy varieties of savory snacks, while consumers in emerging countries including Brazil, China and India, typically base their snack choices on product availability and experimentation.

Global Potato Chips Market1

To understand key trends, Download Sample Report

Asia-Pacific Remains The Fastest Growing Region

Asia-Pacific was the fastest-growing region, due to the rapid growth of modern distribution channels, such as supermarkets and hypermarkets. The growing popularity of snack foods in Asian countries has compelled the regional players to adapt strategic advancements to gain a competitive edge in the snack food market. For instance, Universal Robina Corporation acquired Snack Brands Australia, in order to gain a competitive advantage, in addition to its reputation in the market. The product and packaging innovation strategies are further expected to drive the growth of the potato chips market in Asian countries. The local players from Singapore are launching exotic flavors of potato chips, owing to the demand for the same in the local market. This factor is majorly driving the potato chips market in the Asia-Pacific region. For example, Flavors of the East launched Hainanese Chicken Rice and Singapore Laksa flavors from a temporary booth, which are now being sold in hypermarkets and exported to Japan.

Global Potato Chips Market2

To understand geography trends, Download Sample Report

Competitive Landscape

PepsiCo. Inc., is one of the undisputed market leaders, with a stronghold over the majority of the fried potato chips market. Through its portfolio of strong brands in the potato chips market, PepsiCo has been creating a separate consumer base in every market it enters. The leading potato chips brands for the company are Lay’s, Miss Vickie’s, Red Rock Deli, Ruffles, and Munchos. The other leading market players across the world include The Kellogg Company, Calbee, Intersnack Group, The Campbell Soup Company, and Orkla. Intersnack Group, Kettle Brands, and Orkla. In order to strengthen their hold in the market, these companies are innovating their flavors, expanding their target markets, and strengthening their distribution channels.

Recent Developments

In 2017, Orkla Food Ingredients signed a license agreement with the Canadian bioscience company, Renaissance, to bring its acrylamide-reducing yeast, used in potato chips and snacks, to food manufacturers in Europe. Orkla planned to offer the product first in the Nordic and Baltic markets.

In 2018, Calbee acquired British brand Seabrook Crisps as it aims to strengthen its position in Europe. Calbee was drawn to Seabrook’s “iconic” brand of potato chips, which includes straight cut, crinkle cut, and lattice variants. The brand’s crisp flavors include sea salt and red wine vinegar, cream cheese and chives, and lamb and mint.

In 2019, Pringles, subsidiary of Kellog's company launched a special edition at the Super Bowl, Pickle Rick flavor, inspired from the series Rick and Morty. The flavor was expected to be offered in the United States market in February 2020.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Drivers

    2. 4.2 Market Restraints

    3. 4.3 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.3.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.3.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Product Type

      1. 5.1.1 Baked

      2. 5.1.2 Fried

    2. 5.2 By Flavor

      1. 5.2.1 Plain/Salted

      2. 5.2.2 Flavored

    3. 5.3 By Distribution Channel

      1. 5.3.1 Supermarket/Hypermarket

      2. 5.3.2 Convenience Stores

      3. 5.3.3 Online Retail Stores

      4. 5.3.4 Other Distribution Channel

    4. 5.4 Geography

      1. 5.4.1 North America

        1. 5.4.1.1 United States

        2. 5.4.1.2 Canada

        3. 5.4.1.3 Mexico

        4. 5.4.1.4 Rest of North America

      2. 5.4.2 Europe

        1. 5.4.2.1 Germany

        2. 5.4.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.4.2.3 Italy

        4. 5.4.2.4 Spain

        5. 5.4.2.5 France

        6. 5.4.2.6 Russia

        7. 5.4.2.7 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.4.3 Asia Pacific

        1. 5.4.3.1 China

        2. 5.4.3.2 Japan

        3. 5.4.3.3 India

        4. 5.4.3.4 Australia

        5. 5.4.3.5 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.4.4 South America

        1. 5.4.4.1 Brazil

        2. 5.4.4.2 Argentina

        3. 5.4.4.3 Rest of South America

      5. 5.4.5 Middle East and Africa

        1. 5.4.5.1 Saudi Arabia

        2. 5.4.5.2 South Africa

        3. 5.4.5.3 Rest of Middle East and Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Most Active Companies

    2. 6.2 Most Adopted Strategies

    3. 6.3 Market Share Analysis

    4. 6.4 Company Profiles

      1. 6.4.1 Burts Potato Chips Ltd

      2. 6.4.2 Calbee, Inc.

      3. 6.4.3 PepsiCo, Inc

      4. 6.4.4 The Campbell Soup Company

      5. 6.4.5 Intersnack Foods GmbH

      6. 6.4.6 Great Lakes Potato Chips

      7. 6.4.7 The Lorenz Bahlsen Snack-World GmbH & Co KG

      8. 6.4.8 Intersnack Group GmbH & Co. KG

      9. 6.4.9 Herr Foods Inc.

      10. 6.4.10 The Kellogg Company

    5. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

  8. 8. IMPACT OF COVID-19 ON THE MARKET

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Potato Chips Market market is studied from 2016 - 2026.

The Potato Chips Market is growing at a CAGR of 4.40% over the next 5 years.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

North America holds highest share in 2020.

  • Burts Potato Chips Ltd
  • Kellogg Company
  • Intersnack Foods GmbH
  • The Campbell Soup Company
  • PepsiCo, Inc

Are the major companies operating in Potato Chips Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!