سوق التأمين على الحيوانات الأليفة - النمو والاتجاهات وتأثير COVID-19 والتوقعات (2023 - 2028)

يتم تقسيم سوق التأمين على الحيوانات الأليفة حسب السياسة (الأمراض والحوادث والظروف المزمنة وغيرها) والحيوان (الكلاب والقطط وغيرها) والمزود (العام والخاص) والجغرافيا (أمريكا الشمالية وأوروبا وآسيا والمحيط الهادئ والشرق الأوسط و إفريقيا وأمريكا الجنوبية). يقدم التقرير القيمة (بالمليون دولار أمريكي) للقطاعات المذكورة أعلاه.

لقطة سوق التأمين على الحيوانات الأليفة

Pet Insurance Market Overview
Study Period: 2019-2027
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 7.1 %

Major Players

rd-img

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

setting-icon

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and it's growth?

نظرة عامة على السوق

من المتوقع أن يسجل سوق التأمين على الحيوانات الأليفة معدل نمو سنوي مركب قدره 7.1٪ خلال الفترة المتوقعة.

وفقًا للجمعية الأمريكية للطب البيطري 2020 ، كان هناك مسح تم إجراؤه لأصحاب العيادات حيث خلص إلى أن عددًا متزايدًا من الممارسات البيطرية تستخدم التطبيب عن بعد ، ويتم تنفيذ إجراءات الإغلاق الوقائي مع الحالات الحرجة فقط. ومع ذلك ، فإن COVID-19 له تأثير سلبي طفيف على سوق التأمين على الحيوانات الأليفة حيث تشهد إجراءات التشخيص والعلاج معدلات متناقصة.

تشمل العوامل التي تدفع نمو السوق عددًا متزايدًا من تبني الحيوانات الأليفة وزيادة الوعي بشأن التأمين على الحيوانات الأليفة. شهدت السنوات القليلة الماضية ارتفاعًا ملحوظًا في تبني الحيوانات ، بما في ذلك الكلاب والقطط كحيوانات مصاحبة ، والكلاب والقطط ليست فقط الحيوانات الأليفة المفضلة ولكنها معروفة أيضًا بتحسين الصحة الجسدية والعقلية للإنسان. وفقًا للبيانات الواردة في تقرير صناعة الحيوانات الأليفة في الصين ، في عام 2019 ، بواسطة منتدى الحيوانات الأليفة عبر الإنترنت goumin.com ، تم تبني حوالي 99.15 مليون كلب وقط كحيوانات أليفة في البلاد ، وأنفق أصحاب الكلاب والقطط 202 مليار يوان صيني (29 دولارًا أمريكيًا) مليار) في عام 2019 ، بزيادة قدرها 18.5٪ عن العام السابق.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، وفقًا لتقرير `` الحيوانات الأليفة في أستراليا: دراسة استقصائية وطنية للحيوانات الأليفة والأشخاص '' في عام 2019 ، زاد الإنفاق على الحيوانات الأليفة بشكل كبير بسبب زيادة تبني الحيوانات الأليفة. قدر التقرير أن الناس ينفقون أكثر من 13 مليار دولار أسترالي سنويًا لإطعام الحيوانات الأليفة وصحتها وإمكانية الوصول إليها جيدًا ، مع استمرار الخدمات الغذائية والبيطرية في تمثيل نصف جميع النفقات الجارية. من هذا ، تم إنفاق ما يقرب من 2.6 مليار دولار على الخدمات البيطرية في البلاد. لذلك ، فإن ارتفاع الدخل المتاح هو عامل رئيسي آخر يؤثر على الإنفاق على صحة الحيوان. بصرف النظر عن نصيب الفرد من الإنفاق على صحة الحيوان ، فإن الصناعات في جميع أنحاء العالم تنفق أيضًا أكثر في مجال تشخيص الأمراض البيطرية وعلاجها.

علاوة على ذلك ، فإن اعتماد التأمين الصحي للحيوانات الأليفة يزداد انتشارًا بسبب الاقتصاد القوي ، وتحسين وعي المستهلك ، وارتفاع الدخل المتاح ، وتسهيل معالجة المطالبات في جميع أنحاء العالم. من المتوقع أن تسدد تغطية التأمين الصحي للحيوانات الأليفة تكاليف الاختبارات التشخيصية والتصوير (مثل الأشعة السينية والموجات فوق الصوتية والتصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي) ، وهي تغطي كل حادث ومرض بموجب بوليصة واحدة. بعض الاختبارات التشخيصية الأكثر شيوعًا التي يغطيها التأمين على الحيوانات الأليفة هي الصور الشعاعية والموجات فوق الصوتية والأشعة المقطعية والتصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي.

الاعتماد المتزايد للتأمين الصحي للحيوانات الأليفة بين أصحاب الحيوانات الأليفة ، والذي من المتوقع أن يؤثر بشكل إيجابي على السوق. هناك أيضًا العديد من اللاعبين العاملين في جميع أنحاء العالم ، ويقوم العديد من هؤلاء اللاعبين بتسويق العديد من المنتجات ذات العلامات البيضاء أو المنتجات ذات العلامات التجارية المشتركة بمساعدة التأمين على الحيوانات الأليفة. علاوة على ذلك ، هناك أيضًا زيادة في دخول لاعبين جدد ، بما في ذلك Figo Pet Insurance و 4Paws Insurance و Toto Pet Insurance. وبالتالي ، من المتوقع أن تؤدي الزيادة في تبني الحيوانات الأليفة وزيادة الوعي بالتأمين على الحيوانات الأليفة إلى تعزيز نمو سوق التأمين على الحيوانات الأليفة خلال الفترة المتوقعة.

نطاق التقرير

وفقًا للنطاق ، يشير التأمين على الحيوانات الأليفة إلى بوليصة تأمين يشتريها مالك الحيوانات الأليفة والتي تساعد في تقليل التكاليف الإجمالية للفواتير البيطرية باهظة الثمن. هذه التغطية تشبه إلى حد ما سياسات التأمين الصحي للبشر. يغطي التأمين على الحيوانات الأليفة عادةً الإجراءات البيطرية باهظة الثمن ، إما كليًا أو جزئيًا. يتم تقسيم سوق التأمين على الحيوانات الأليفة حسب السياسة (الأمراض والحوادث والظروف المزمنة وغيرها) والحيوان (الكلاب والقطط وغيرها) والمزود (العام والخاص) والجغرافيا (أمريكا الشمالية وأوروبا وآسيا والمحيط الهادئ والشرق الأوسط و إفريقيا وأمريكا الجنوبية). يغطي تقرير السوق أيضًا أحجام واتجاهات السوق المقدرة لـ 17 دولة مختلفة عبر المناطق الرئيسية على مستوى العالم. يقدم التقرير القيمة (بالمليون دولار أمريكي) للقطاعات المذكورة أعلاه.

By Policy
Illnesses and Accidents
Chronic Conditions
Others
By Animal
Dog
Cat
Others
By Provider
Public
Private
Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Italy
Spain
Rest of Europe
Asia-Pacific
China
Japan
India
Australia
South Korea
Rest of Asia-Pacific
Middle-East and Africa
GCC
South Africa
Rest of Middle-East and Africa
South America
Brazil
Argentina
Rest of South America

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

اتجاهات السوق الرئيسية

من المتوقع أن تظهر شريحة الكلاب فرص نمو مربحة في سوق التأمين العالمي للحيوانات الأليفة

شهدت السنوات القليلة الماضية ارتفاعًا ملحوظًا في تبني الحيوانات ، وخاصة الكلاب ، لأنها من رفقاء البشر المفضلين. لطالما كانت الكلاب هي الحيوانات الأليفة المفضلة على مستوى العالم وتمثل جزءًا كبيرًا من عائدات أغذية الحيوانات الأليفة الصينية. تحتل الصين المرتبة الثالثة من حيث ملكية الكلاب ، وفقًا لمجلس الدولة الصيني لعام 2020 ، تمتلك حوالي 73.55 مليون أسرة حيوانات أليفة ، منها 46.1٪ تمتلك كلابًا و 30.7٪ قطط. زيادة تبني الحيوانات الأليفة هو أيضًا سبب رئيسي لنمو هذا القطاع. في إجمالي عدد الحيوانات الأليفة ، شكلت الكلاب 34.0٪ والقطط 20.0٪ في عام 2019. لذلك ، مع ارتفاع العدد والطلب على الكلاب ، هناك زيادة مقابلة في عدد التأمينات على الكلاب.

علاوة على ذلك ، فإن انتشار العديد من الأمراض بين الكلاب إلى جانب ارتفاع أسعار العلاجات هو المساهم الرئيسي في اعتماد التأمين على الحيوانات الأليفة بين الكلاب. يصيب السرطان الكلاب بمعدل مماثل تقريبًا لمعدل البشر. وفقًا لجمعية السرطان البيطري في يونيو 2020 ، فإن السرطان هو السبب الرئيسي للوفاة لدى 47٪ من الكلاب ، خاصة تلك التي يزيد عمرها عن 10 أعوام ، على مستوى العالم. على الرغم من أن السرطان في معظم الحالات هو مرض موجود في الحيوانات المسنة ، إلا أن بعض العائلات أو سلالات الكلاب ، مثل Rottweiler ، و Bernese Mountain Dog ، و Bouvier des Flandres ، و German Shepherd ، و Great Dane ، و Labrador Retriever ، و Bichon Frize ، و Boxer ، و Golden Retriever أكثر عرضة للإصابة بالسرطان في سن مبكرة.

وفقًا لتقرير نشرته رابطة شركات التأمين البريطانية في عام 2019 ، أفاد أن 4.8 مليون حيوان أليف في المملكة المتحدة مؤمن عليه ، منها 2.8 مليون كلب. تشير هذه البيانات إلى وجود اعتماد كبير على التأمين على الحيوانات الأليفة بين الكلاب بسبب العبء الهائل للأمراض بين الكلاب. كل هذه العوامل المذكورة أعلاه من المتوقع أن تدفع نمو السوق.

USD

أمريكا الشمالية تهيمن على السوق العالمية للتأمين على الحيوانات الأليفة

في منطقة أمريكا الشمالية ، استحوذت الولايات المتحدة على أكبر حصة في السوق. تعد ملكية الحيوانات الأليفة العالية ، والوعي ، وزيادة التأمين على الحيوانات الأليفة ، والتقدم التكنولوجي في مجال التشخيص من العوامل الرئيسية الدافعة في منطقة الولايات المتحدة. الظروف الاجتماعية والاقتصادية للبلد جيدة بما يكفي لتقديم الدعم الاقتصادي للسوق على مستوى الإنتاج وعلى مستوى المستخدم النهائي. وفقًا لمسح مالكي الحيوانات الأليفة الوطني لعام 2021-2022 الذي أجرته الرابطة الأمريكية لمنتجات الحيوانات الأليفة (APPA) ، فقد ارتفعت ملكية الحيوانات الأليفة من 67٪ إلى 70٪ من الأسر في الولايات المتحدة. تم اكتشاف جيل الألفية أيضًا ليكونوا أكبر مجموعة من أصحاب الحيوانات الأليفة ، حيث يمثلون 32 ٪ ، يليهم Boomers (27 ٪) ، والجيل X (24 ٪). أيضًا ، وفقًا للتقرير الذي نشرته منظمة دوسومثينج 2020 ، كل عام ، ما يقرب من 7. دخل 6 ملايين حيوان مصاحب إلى ملاجئ الحيوانات في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة. هناك ما يقرب من 3.9 مليون كلب و 3.4 مليون قطة بينهم. وبالتالي ، من المتوقع أن يؤدي ارتفاع معدل تبني الحيوانات الأليفة إلى زيادة الإنفاق على احتياجات الرعاية الصحية لهذه الحيوانات ، والتي بدورها من المتوقع أن تعزز نمو السوق خلال فترة التوقعات.

وفقًا لجمعية منتجات الحيوانات الأليفة الأمريكية (APPA) 2021-2022 ، هناك زيادة في الإنفاق على صناعة الحيوانات الأليفة في الولايات المتحدة. بلغ إجمالي نفقات صناعة الحيوانات الأليفة في الولايات المتحدة 103 مليار دولار أمريكي ، بزيادة 6.7٪ من 97.1 مليار دولار أمريكي في عام 2019. وتقدر APPA أن النفقات في عام 2021 ستصل إلى 109.6 مليار دولار أمريكي. وبالتالي ، فإن الزيادة في الإنفاق على الحيوانات الأليفة تؤدي إلى زيادة الطلب على منتجات العناية التي من المتوقع أن تعزز السوق المدروسة.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تنخرط الشركات في أنشطة الدمج والاستحواذ من أجل توسيع نطاق أعمالها. على سبيل المثال ، في أغسطس 2020 ، أعلنت شركة Elanco Animal Health أنها أغلقت عملية الاستحواذ على Bayer Animal Health. الصفقة ، التي تبلغ قيمتها 6.89 مليار دولار أمريكي ، توسع نطاق وقدرات Elanco ، مما يضع الشركة على المدى الطويل كشركة رائدة في صناعة الصحة الحيوانية الجذابة والمتينة. علاوة على ذلك ، في أكتوبر 2019 ، دخلت Embrace في شراكة مع PawSupport للحصول على خط مساعدة الحيوانات الأليفة على مدار الساعة طوال أيام الأسبوع للمساعدة من خلال الدردشة عبر الإنترنت والبريد الإلكتروني ودردشة الفيديو. من المتوقع أن توفر هذه الاستراتيجية خدمات جديدة لحاملي وثائق التأمين. مكنت هذه الاستراتيجية الشركة من توسيع عملياتها ، وبالتالي تعزيز وجودها في السوق. لذلك،

geo

مشهد تنافسي

يعتبر سوق التأمين على الحيوانات الأليفة العالمي تنافسيًا ويتكون من عدد من اللاعبين الرئيسيين. شركات مثل Anicom Holdings Inc ، Embrace Pet Insurance Agency ، LLC ، Figo Pet Insurance LLC ، Hartville Group ، Healthy Paws Pet Insurance ، LLC ، Dotsure.co.za ، Oneplan ، Metlife Services and Solutions ، LLC (Petfirst Healthcare LLC) ، Petplan ، تمتلك شركة أورينتال للتأمين المحدودة ، من بين شركات أخرى ، حصة سوقية كبيرة في السوق.

اللاعبين الرئيسيين

  1. Anicom Holdings Inc.

  2. Embrace Pet Insurance Agency، LLC. شركة Embrace Pet Insurance Agency، LLC

  3. شركة فيجو للتأمين على الحيوانات الأليفة ذ

  4. مجموعة هارتفيل

  5. هيلثي باوز لتأمين الحيوانات الأليفة ، ذ

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

Anicom Holdings Inc., Embrace Pet Insurance Agency, LLC, Figo Pet Insurance LLC, Hartville Group, Healthy Paws Pet Insurance, LLC

مشهد تنافسي

يعتبر سوق التأمين على الحيوانات الأليفة العالمي تنافسيًا ويتكون من عدد من اللاعبين الرئيسيين. شركات مثل Anicom Holdings Inc ، Embrace Pet Insurance Agency ، LLC ، Figo Pet Insurance LLC ، Hartville Group ، Healthy Paws Pet Insurance ، LLC ، Dotsure.co.za ، Oneplan ، Metlife Services and Solutions ، LLC (Petfirst Healthcare LLC) ، Petplan ، تمتلك شركة أورينتال للتأمين المحدودة ، من بين شركات أخرى ، حصة سوقية كبيرة في السوق.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Increasing Number of Pet Adoption

      2. 4.2.2 Rising Awareness Regarding Pet Insurance

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

      1. 4.3.1 Lack of Standardized Pet Health Codes for Reimbursement

      2. 4.3.2 Low Adoption in Emerging Countries

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Force Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION (Market Size by Value – USD million)

    1. 5.1 By Policy

      1. 5.1.1 Illnesses and Accidents

      2. 5.1.2 Chronic Conditions

      3. 5.1.3 Others

    2. 5.2 By Animal

      1. 5.2.1 Dog

      2. 5.2.2 Cat

      3. 5.2.3 Others

    3. 5.3 By Provider

      1. 5.3.1 Public

      2. 5.3.2 Private

    4. 5.4 Geography

      1. 5.4.1 North America

        1. 5.4.1.1 United States

        2. 5.4.1.2 Canada

        3. 5.4.1.3 Mexico

      2. 5.4.2 Europe

        1. 5.4.2.1 Germany

        2. 5.4.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.4.2.3 France

        4. 5.4.2.4 Italy

        5. 5.4.2.5 Spain

        6. 5.4.2.6 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.4.3 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.4.3.1 China

        2. 5.4.3.2 Japan

        3. 5.4.3.3 India

        4. 5.4.3.4 Australia

        5. 5.4.3.5 South Korea

        6. 5.4.3.6 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.4.4 Middle-East and Africa

        1. 5.4.4.1 GCC

        2. 5.4.4.2 South Africa

        3. 5.4.4.3 Rest of Middle-East and Africa

      5. 5.4.5 South America

        1. 5.4.5.1 Brazil

        2. 5.4.5.2 Argentina

        3. 5.4.5.3 Rest of South America

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 Anicom Holdings Inc

      2. 6.1.2 Embrace Pet Insurance Agency, LLC

      3. 6.1.3 Figo Pet Insurance LLC.

      4. 6.1.4 Hartville Group

      5. 6.1.5 Healthy Paws Pet Insurance, LLC

      6. 6.1.6 Dotsure.co.za

      7. 6.1.7 Oneplan

      8. 6.1.8 Metlife Services and Solutions, LLC (Petfirst Healthcare LLC)

      9. 6.1.9 Petplan

      10. 6.1.10 The Oriental Insurance Company Ltd.

      11. 6.1.11 Medibank Private Limited

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Competitive Landscape covers- Business Overview, Financials, Products and Strategies and Recent Developments
You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

تمت دراسة سوق التأمين على الحيوانات الأليفة من 2018 - 2028.

ينمو سوق التأمين على الحيوانات الأليفة بمعدل نمو سنوي مركب يبلغ 7.1٪ على مدى السنوات الخمس المقبلة.

تنمو منطقة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ بأعلى معدل نمو سنوي مركب خلال الفترة 2018-2028.

تمتلك أمريكا الشمالية أعلى حصة في عام 2021.

Anicom Holdings Inc. ، Embrace Pet Insurance Agency ، LLC ، Figo Pet Insurance LLC ، Hartville Group ، Healthy Paws Pet Insurance ، LLC هي الشركات الرئيسية العاملة في سوق تأمين الحيوانات الأليفة.

close-icon
80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Pet Insurance Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2022 - 2027)

The Pet Insurance Market is segmented by Policy (Illnesses and Accidents, Chronic Conditions, and Other Policies), Animal (Dog, Cat, and Other Animals), Provider (Public and Private), and Geography (North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, Middle-East and Africa, and South America). The report offers the value (in USD million) for the above segments.

Market Snapshot

Pet Insurance Market Size
Study Period: 2019-2027
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 7.1 %
Pet Insurance Market major players

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The pet insurance market is expected to register a CAGR of 7.1% during the forecast period.

As per the American Veterinary Medical Association 2020, an increasing number of veterinary practices are using telemedicine, and precautionary lockdown measures are being carried out with only critical cases being attended to. However, COVID-19 has a slightly negative impact on the pet insurance market as the diagnosis and treatment procedures are witnessing decreasing rates.

The factors that are driving the market growth include the increasing number of pet adoption and rising awareness regarding pet insurance. The past few years have observed a significant rise in the adoption of animals, including dogs and cats, as companion animals. Dogs and cats are not only the most preferred pets but are also known to improve the physical and mental health of humans. ​According to the data in China's pet industry report, in 2019, by online pet forum goumin.com, around 99.15 million dogs and cats were adopted as pets in the country, and dog and cat owners spent a staggering CNY 202 billion (USD 29 billion) in 2019, an increase of 18.5% from the previous year.​

In addition, as per the report ‘’Pets in Australia: A national survey of pets and people’’ in 2019, the expenditure on pets has increased tremendously owing to the increasing pet adoption. The report estimated that people spend over AUD 13 billion per year to keep their pets fed, healthy, and well-accessorized, with food and veterinary services continuing to account for half of all ongoing expenditures. Out of this, nearly 2.6 billion were spent on veterinary services in the country. Therefore, the rise in disposable income is another major factor influencing animal health expenditure. Apart from the per capita animal health expenditure, industries across the world are also spending more in the field of veterinary disease diagnosis and treatment.

Moreover, the adoption of pet health insurance is exploding in popularity because of a strong economy, improved consumer awareness, high disposable income, and easier claims processing across the world. The pet health insurance coverage is expected to reimburse the diagnostic testing and imaging (e.g., X-rays, ultrasound, and MRI), and it covers every accident and illness under one policy. Some of the most common diagnostic tests covered by pet insurance are radiographs, ultrasounds, CT scans, and MRIs.

The rising adoption of pet health insurance among pet owners is expected to positively impact the market. There are also many players operating worldwide, and many of these players market multiple white-label or co-branded products with the help of pet insurance. Furthermore, there is also an increase in the entry of new players, including Figo Pet Insurance, 4Paws Insurance, and Toto Pet Insurance. Thus, the rise in the adoption of pet animals and increasing awareness of pet insurance are expected to boost the growth of the Pet Insurance market over the forecast period.

Scope of the Report

As per the scope, pet insurance refers to an insurance policy bought by a pet owner that helps to lessen the overall costs of expensive veterinary bills. Such coverage is more or less similar to health insurance policies for humans. Pet insurance usually covers the expensive veterinary procedures, either entirely or partly. The pet insurance market is segmented by policy (illnesses and accidents, chronic conditions, and other policies), animal (dog, cat, and other animals), provider (public and private), and geography (North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, Middle-East and Africa, and South America). The report offers the value (in USD million) for the above segments.

By Policy
Illnesses and Accidents
Chronic Conditions
Other Policies
By Animal
Dog
Cat
Other Animals
By Provider
Public
Private
By Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Italy
Spain
Rest of Europe
Asia-Pacific
China
Japan
India
Australia
South Korea
Rest of Asia-Pacific
Middle-East and Africa
GCC
South Africa
Rest of Middle-East and Africa
South America
Brazil
Argentina
Rest of South America

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

The Dogs Segment is Expected to Show Lucrative Growth Opportunities in the Pet Insurance Market

The past few years have observed a significant rise in the adoption of animals, especially dogs, as they are among the favorite companions of human beings. Dogs have always been the preferred pets globally and account for a large chunk of the Chinese pet food revenue. China ranks third in terms of dog ownership. According to the State Council of China 2020, around 73.55 million households own a pet, of which 46.1% own dogs and 30.7% have cats. Increasing pet adoption is also a major reason for the segment growth. In the total pet population, dogs accounted for 34.0%, and cats accounted for 20.0% in 2019.​ Therefore, with the high number and demand for dogs, there is a corresponding increase in the number of insurances for dogs.

Moreover, the prevalence of several diseases among dogs and the high prices of treatments are the major contributor to the adoption of pet insurance among dogs. Cancer strikes dogs at a rate that is nearly identical to that of humans. According to the Veterinary Cancer Society in June 2020, cancer is the leading cause of death in 47% of dogs, especially those that are over the age of 10, globally. Even though cancer is a disease found in aging animals, some families or breeds of dogs, such as Rottweiler, Bernese Mountain Dog, Bouvier des Flandres, German Shepherd, Great Dane, Labrador Retriever, Bichon Frise, Boxer, and Golden Retriever, have a higher incidence or tendency for developing cancer at a young age.

As per a report published by the Association of British Insurers in 2019, 4.8 million pets in the United Kingdom are insured, of which 2.8 million are dogs. This data indicates that there is a huge adoption of pet insurance among dogs due to the huge burden of diseases among dogs. All these aforementioned factors are expected to propel market growth.

Pet Insurance Market trends

North America Dominates the Pet Insurance Market

In the North American region, the United States accounted for the largest market share. High pet ownership, awareness, increasing pet insurance, and technological advancements in the diagnostics field are the major driving factors in the US region. The country’s socio-economic conditions are good enough to give economic support to the market on the production and at the end-user level. According to the 2021-2022 National Pet Owners Survey conducted by American Pet Products Association (APPA), pet ownership increased from 67 % to 70% of households in the United States. Millennials were also discovered to be the greatest cohort of pet owners, accounting for 32%, followed by Boomers (27%) and Gen X (24%). Also, as per the report published by dosomething.organization 2020, every year, approximately 7.6 million companion animals enter animal shelters across the United States. There are approximately 3.9 million dogs and 3.4 million cats among them. Thus, the rise in the adoption of pet animals is expected to increase the spending on the healthcare needs of these animals, which, in turn, is expected to boost the growth of the market over the forecast period.

According to the American Pet Products Association (APPA) 2021-2022, there is an increase in expenditure on the pet industry in the United States. Pet industry expenditures in the United States totaled USD 103 billion, up 6.7% from USD 97.1 billion in 2019. APPA estimates that expenditures in 2021 will reach USD 109.6 billion. Thus, the rise in pet expenditure increases the demand for care products.

In addition, the companies are engaging themselves in merger and acquisition activities in order to expand their business. For instance, in August 2020, Elanco Animal Health has announced it had closed the acquisition of Bayer Animal Health. The transaction, valued at USD 6.89 billion, expands Elanco’s scale and capabilities, positioning the company for the long term as a leader in the attractive, durable animal health industry. Moreover, in October 2019, Embrace entered into a partnership with PawSupport for a 24/7 Pet Help Line for assistance through online chat, email, and video chat. This strategy is expected to provide new services to policyholders. This strategy enabled the company to expand its operations, thereby strengthening its market presence. Hence, all these market development strategies in this region are expected to propel market growth.

Pet Insurance growth rate

Competitive Landscape

The pet insurance market is competitive and consists of a number of major players. Companies like Anicom Holdings Inc., Embrace Pet Insurance Agency LLC, Figo Pet Insurance LLC, Hartville Group, Healthy Paws Pet Insurance, LLC, Dotsure.co.za, Oneplan, Metlife Services and Solutions LLC (Petfirst Healthcare LLC), Petplan, and The Oriental Insurance Company Ltd, among others, hold a substantial market share in the market.

Recent Developments

  • In December 2021, Chewy Inc., a leading online destination for pet parents and partners, and Trupanion Inc. Japan, an industry leader in medical insurance for pets, announced a partnership to offer an exclusive suite of pet health insurance and wellness plans to more than 20 million Chewy customers.
  • In September 2021, Lemonade, the insurance company powered by AI, launched the new pet health insurance (Lemonade Pet) for puppies and kittens.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Increasing Number of Pet Adoption

      2. 4.2.2 Rising Awareness Regarding Pet Insurance

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

      1. 4.3.1 Lack of Standardized Pet Health Codes for Reimbursement

      2. 4.3.2 Low Adoption in Emerging Countries

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Force Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION (Market Size by Value – USD million)

    1. 5.1 By Policy

      1. 5.1.1 Illnesses and Accidents

      2. 5.1.2 Chronic Conditions

      3. 5.1.3 Other Policies

    2. 5.2 By Animal

      1. 5.2.1 Dog

      2. 5.2.2 Cat

      3. 5.2.3 Other Animals

    3. 5.3 By Provider

      1. 5.3.1 Public

      2. 5.3.2 Private

    4. 5.4 By Geography

      1. 5.4.1 North America

        1. 5.4.1.1 United States

        2. 5.4.1.2 Canada

        3. 5.4.1.3 Mexico

      2. 5.4.2 Europe

        1. 5.4.2.1 Germany

        2. 5.4.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.4.2.3 France

        4. 5.4.2.4 Italy

        5. 5.4.2.5 Spain

        6. 5.4.2.6 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.4.3 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.4.3.1 China

        2. 5.4.3.2 Japan

        3. 5.4.3.3 India

        4. 5.4.3.4 Australia

        5. 5.4.3.5 South Korea

        6. 5.4.3.6 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.4.4 Middle-East and Africa

        1. 5.4.4.1 GCC

        2. 5.4.4.2 South Africa

        3. 5.4.4.3 Rest of Middle-East and Africa

      5. 5.4.5 South America

        1. 5.4.5.1 Brazil

        2. 5.4.5.2 Argentina

        3. 5.4.5.3 Rest of South America

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 Anicom Holdings Inc.

      2. 6.1.2 Embrace Pet Insurance Agency LLC

      3. 6.1.3 Figo Pet Insurance LLC

      4. 6.1.4 Hartville Group

      5. 6.1.5 Healthy Paws Pet Insurance LLC

      6. 6.1.6 Dotsure.co.za

      7. 6.1.7 Oneplan

      8. 6.1.8 Metlife Services and Solutions LLC (Petfirst Healthcare LLC)

      9. 6.1.9 Petplan

      10. 6.1.10 The Oriental Insurance Company Ltd

      11. 6.1.11 Medibank Private Limited

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Competitive Landscape Covers - Business Overview, Financials, Products and Strategies, and Recent Developments

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Pet Insurance Market market is studied from 2019 - 2027.

The Pet Insurance Market is growing at a CAGR of 7.1% over the next 5 years.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

North America holds highest share in 2021.

Anicom Holdings Inc., Embrace Pet Insurance Agency, LLC, Figo Pet Insurance LLC, Hartville Group, Healthy Paws Pet Insurance, LLC are the major companies operating in Pet Insurance Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!