Markt für Verpackungsschäume – Wachstum, Trends, Auswirkungen von COVID-19 und Prognosen (2023 – 2028)

Der Markt ist nach Material (Polystyrol, Polyurethan und Polyolefin), Struktur (flexibel und starr), Service (Lebensmittelverpackung, Transport, Elektrik und Elektronik, Körperpflege, Pharmazie und andere) und Geografie (Asien-Pazifik, Nordamerika) unterteilt , Europa, Südamerika und Naher Osten und Afrika). Der Bericht bietet Marktgröße und Prognosen für den Umsatz des Verpackungsschaummarktes (Mio. USD) für alle oben genannten Segmente.

Markt-Snapshot

Packaging Foams Market Overview
Study Period: 2017-2027
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: Asia Pacific
CAGR: < 5 %

Major Players

rd-img

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

setting-icon

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Marktübersicht

Der weltweite Markt für Verpackungsschäume wird auf mehr als 10 Mrd. USD geschätzt und soll im Prognosezeitraum mit einer CAGR von rund 5 % wachsen. Die steigende Nachfrage aus dem Industrieverpackungssektor treibt den Markt für Verpackungsschäume weltweit an.

Aufgrund von COVID-19 kam es im Jahr 2020 zu einer Verlangsamung im Industrieverpackungssektor aufgrund bestimmter Regeln und Vorschriften, die von den Ländern auferlegt wurden. Die Branche erlebte jedoch im Jahr 2021 eine Erholung, wodurch die Nachfrage nach dem untersuchten Markt wieder auflebte.

  • Es wird erwartet, dass in kurzer Zeit eine steigende Nachfrage aus dem Segment der industriellen Verpackungsdienstleistungen den Markt antreiben wird.
  • Auf der anderen Seite behindert die Verfügbarkeit von engen Substitute den Markt.
  • Das schnelle Wachstum der intelligenten Elektronikindustrie wird voraussichtlich in Zukunft als Chance für den Markt fungieren.
  • Es wird erwartet, dass der asiatisch-pazifische Raum den globalen Markt für Verpackungsschäume dominieren wird und aufgrund des steigenden Verbrauchs aus Ländern wie China und Indien im Prognosezeitraum auch der am schnellsten wachsende Markt sein wird.

Umfang des Berichts

Verpackungsschaum wird häufig als Polstermaterial für Schachteln verwendet, und diese Verpackungslösung ist bekannt für ihre Vielseitigkeit und ihre Fähigkeit, individuell angepasst zu werden. Der Markt für Verpackungsschaum ist nach Material, Struktur, Service und Geografie unterteilt. Nach Material ist der Markt in Polystyrol, Polyurethan und Polyolefin unterteilt. Nach Struktur wird der Markt in Flexibel und Starr unterteilt. Nach Service ist der Markt in Lebensmittelverpackungen, Transport, Elektrik und Elektronik, Körperpflege, Pharmazie und andere unterteilt. Der Bericht deckt auch die Marktgröße und Prognosen für den Verpackungsschaummarkt in 15 Ländern in wichtigen Regionen ab. Für jedes Segment wurden die Marktgröße und Prognosen auf der Grundlage des Umsatzes (Mio. USD) erstellt.

Material
Polystyrene
Polyurethane
Polyolefin
Other
Structure
Flexible
Rigid
Service
Food Packaging
Transportation
Electrical & Electronics
Personal Care
Pharmaceutical
Others
Geography
Asia-Pacific
China
India
Japan
South Korea
Rest of Asia-Pacific
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
Italy
France
Rest of Europe
South America
Brazil
Argentina
Rest of South America
Middle-East and Africa
Saudi Arabia
South Africa
Rest of Middle-East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Wichtige Markttrends

Steigende Nachfrage aus dem Industrieverpackungssektor

  • Verpackungsschaumstoff wird häufig als Polstermaterial für Schachteln verwendet, und diese Verpackungslösung ist bekannt für ihre Vielseitigkeit und ihre Fähigkeit, individuell angepasst zu werden.
  • Schäume werden in einer Vielzahl von Verpackungsanwendungen verwendet, bei denen optimaler Schutz und Haltbarkeit vorrangige Erwägungen sind. 
  • Es gibt viele Arten von Verpackungsschaum, die in der Versand- und Verpackungsindustrie verwendet werden, und dazu gehören Polystyrol, Polyurethan, Polyolefin wie Polyethylen, vernetztes Polyethylen, expandiertes Polyethylen (EPE), expandiertes Polypropylen (EPP) usw.
  • Anstieg im E-Commerce: Die Nachfrage nach Verpackungsschaum hat in den letzten Jahren einen deutlichen Anstieg erfahren. Die Nachfrage wird durch den Online-Einkauf von Produkten steigend gesehen. Schaumfolie wurde als Alternative zur Luftpolsterfolie zum Verpacken zerbrechlicher Produkte verwendet. Es ist dünn, leicht und einfach zu verarbeiten, was die Schaumfolie ansprechend macht.
  • Von Januar bis September 2021 beliefen sich die E-Commerce-Umsätze im US-Einzelhandel auf fast 652 Milliarden US-Dollar. Die Verkaufserlöse von April bis Juni desselben Jahres beliefen sich auf rund 222 Milliarden US-Dollar. Dieser Quartalsverkauf war höher als die Quartalsergebnisse von 2020.
  • Es wurde erwartet, dass die europäische E-Commerce-Branche Ende 2020 einen Wert von 717 Mrd. Der Hauptbeitrag in der Region kommt aus Westeuropa, das 70 % des gesamten E-Commerce-Werts ausmacht.
  • So hat das Wachstum im E-Commerce zu einem exponentiellen Wachstum des Verpackungssektors geführt, wobei das zunehmende Bewusstsein und die Verwendung von umweltfreundlichen Verpackungen in den kommenden Jahren voraussichtlich positive Auswirkungen auf den Verpackungsschaummarkt haben werden.
E-commerce revenue

Asien-Pazifik-Region soll den Markt dominieren

  • Die Region Asien-Pazifik dominierte den globalen Marktanteil mit rund 40 %, vor allem aufgrund der wachsenden Nachfrage nach Verpackungen in der Logistik, der wachsenden Luft- und Raumfahrtindustrie und anderen Fertigungsbetrieben.
  • China ist einer der wichtigsten Akteure auf dem weltweiten Markt für Verpackungsschäume, insbesondere im asiatisch-pazifischen Raum. Es wird erwartet, dass die wachsende Lebensmittel- und Getränke-, Automobil-, Elektronik-, Körperpflege- und Pharmaindustrie das Wachstum des Marktes ankurbeln wird.
  • China hat eine der größten Lebensmittelindustrien der Welt. Es wird erwartet, dass das Land im Prognosezeitraum aufgrund des Anstiegs kundenspezifischer Verpackungen im Lebensmittelsegment wie Mikrowellennahrung, Snacks und Tiefkühlkost sowie steigender Exporte ein beständiges Wachstum verzeichnen wird. Die Verwendung von Verpackungsschäumen wird voraussichtlich in Zukunft zunehmen. ​
  • Der südkoreanische E-Commerce-Markt beläuft sich auf über 92 Mrd. USD pro Jahr. Eine Bau- und Investitionswelle hat erhebliches Interesse und Kapital von internationalen Investoren angezogen, darunter GIC, APG, Angelo Gordon, Warburg Pincus und Blackstone. Südkorea ist auch der viertgrößte Drittlogistikmarkt (3PL) im asiatisch-pazifischen Raum und wächst mit einer jährlichen Rate von fast 8 % schneller als Japan, Australien und Singapur.
  • Der größte Akteur auf dem südkoreanischen E-Commerce-Markt ist coupang.co. Der Store erzielte 2021 einen Umsatz von 16,6 Milliarden US-Dollar. Es folgen ssg.com mit 1,5 Milliarden US-Dollar Umsatz und yes24.com mit 541 Millionen US-Dollar Umsatz. Insgesamt machen die Top-3-Stores 20 % des Online-Umsatzes in Südkorea aus. Daher wird erwartet, dass der südkoreanische Logistikmarkt weiterhin Möglichkeiten für Verpackungsschäume von Staumaterialherstellern schaffen wird.
  • Daher wird erwartet, dass die Nachfrage nach Verpackungsschäumen in der schnell wachsenden Verpackungsindustrie im asiatisch-pazifischen Raum im Prognosezeitraum ebenfalls schnell steigen wird.
Packaging Foams Market Regional Trends

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der globale Markt für Verpackungsschäume ist teilweise fragmentiert. Zu den wichtigsten Unternehmen gehören unter anderem Borealis AG, Sealed AIR, Armacell, Recticel NV/SA (in keiner bestimmten Reihenfolge).

Hauptakteure

  1. Armacell LLC

  2. Borealis AG

  3. Sealed Air

  4. Recticel NV/SA

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

Armacell LLC, Borealis AG, Zotefoams PLC, Sealed Air, Foampartner Group

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der globale Markt für Verpackungsschäume ist teilweise fragmentiert. Zu den wichtigsten Unternehmen gehören unter anderem Borealis AG, Sealed AIR, Armacell, Recticel NV/SA (in keiner bestimmten Reihenfolge).

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Drivers

      1. 4.1.1 Rising Demand from the Packaging Industry

    2. 4.2 Restraints

      1. 4.2.1 Molded Pulp as a Green Alternative

    3. 4.3 Industry Value-Chain Analysis

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products and Services

      5. 4.4.5 Degree of Competition

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Material

      1. 5.1.1 Polystyrene

      2. 5.1.2 Polyurethane

      3. 5.1.3 Polyolefin

      4. 5.1.4 Other

    2. 5.2 Structure

      1. 5.2.1 Flexible

      2. 5.2.2 Rigid

    3. 5.3 Service

      1. 5.3.1 Food Packaging

      2. 5.3.2 Transportation

      3. 5.3.3 Electrical & Electronics

      4. 5.3.4 Personal Care

      5. 5.3.5 Pharmaceutical

      6. 5.3.6 Others

    4. 5.4 Geography

      1. 5.4.1 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.4.1.1 China

        2. 5.4.1.2 India

        3. 5.4.1.3 Japan

        4. 5.4.1.4 South Korea

        5. 5.4.1.5 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      2. 5.4.2 North America

        1. 5.4.2.1 United States

        2. 5.4.2.2 Canada

        3. 5.4.2.3 Mexico

      3. 5.4.3 Europe

        1. 5.4.3.1 Germany

        2. 5.4.3.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.4.3.3 Italy

        4. 5.4.3.4 France

        5. 5.4.3.5 Rest of Europe

      4. 5.4.4 South America

        1. 5.4.4.1 Brazil

        2. 5.4.4.2 Argentina

        3. 5.4.4.3 Rest of South America

      5. 5.4.5 Middle-East and Africa

        1. 5.4.5.1 Saudi Arabia

        2. 5.4.5.2 South Africa

        3. 5.4.5.3 Rest of Middle-East and Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Mergers & Acquisitions, Joint Ventures, Collaborations, and Agreements

    2. 6.2 Market Ranking Analysis

    3. 6.3 Strategies Adopted by Leading Players

    4. 6.4 Company Profiles

      1. 6.4.1 Armacell

      2. 6.4.2 Atlas Roofing Corporation

      3. 6.4.3 Borealis AG

      4. 6.4.4 Drew Foam

      5. 6.4.5 Foamcraft Inc.

      6. 6.4.6 TotalEnergies

      7. 6.4.7 Huntington Solutions

      8. 6.4.8 Recticel NV/SA

      9. 6.4.9 Sealed Air

      10. 6.4.10 Williams Foam

      11. 6.4.11 Zotefoams PLC

    5. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

    1. 7.1 Growing Quest for Eco-Friendly Packaging Foam

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Der Markt für Verpackungsschäume wird von 2017 bis 2027 untersucht.

Der Markt für Verpackungsschäume wächst in den nächsten 5 Jahren mit einer CAGR von >4,5 %.

Der asiatisch-pazifische Raum wächst zwischen 2021 und 2026 mit der höchsten CAGR.

Asien-Pazifik hält 2021 den höchsten Anteil.

Armacell LLC, Borealis AG, Sealed Air, Recticel NV/SA und TotalEnergies sind die wichtigsten Unternehmen, die auf dem Markt für Verpackungsschäume tätig sind.

close-icon
80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Packaging Foams Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2022 - 2027)

The market is segmented by Material (Polystyrene, Polyurethane and Polyolefin), Structure (Flexible, and Rigid), Service (Food Packaging, Transportation, Electrical & Electronics, Personal Care, Pharmaceutical and Others), and Geography (Asia-Pacific, North America, Europe, South America, and Middle-East and Africa). The report offers market size and forecasts for Packaging Foam Market in Revenue (USD Million) for all the above segments.

Market Snapshot

packaging foams market growth
Study Period: 2017-2027
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: Asia Pacific
CAGR: <5 %
packaging foams market key players

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The global market for packaging foams valued at more than USD 10 billion and is expected to grow at a CAGR of around 5% during the forecast period. Increasing demand from the Industrial packaging sector is driving the market of packaging foams globally.

Due to COVID-19, there was a slowdown in the Industrial Packaging sector in 2020 due to certain rules and regulations being imposed by countries. However, the industry witnessed a recovery in 2021 thus rebouncing the demand for the market studied.

  • Over a short time, increasing demand from the industrial packaging service segment is expected to drive the market.
  • On the flip side, the availability of close substitutes is hindering the market.
  • The rapid growth of the smart electronic industry is projected to act as an opportunity for the market in the future.
  • Asia-Pacific is expected to dominate the global packaging foams market and is also forecasted to be the fastest-growing market over the forecast period owing to the increasing consumption from countries such as China, and India.

Scope of the Report

Packaging Foam is commonly used as cushioning material for boxes, and this packaging solution is known for its versatility and its ability to be customized. The Packaging Foam market is segmented by material, structure, service, and geography. By material, the market is segmented into Polystyrene, Polyurethane, and Polyolefin. By Structure, the market is segmented into Flexible, and Rigid. By Service, the market is segmented into Food Packaging, Transportation, Electrical & Electronics, Personal Care, Pharmaceutical and Others. The report also covers the market size and forecasts for the packaging foam market in 15 countries across major regions. For each segment, the market sizing and forecasts have been done on the basis of revenue (USD million).

Material
Polystyrene
Polyurethane
Polyolefin
Other
Structure
Flexible
Rigid
Service
Food Packaging
Transportation
Electrical & Electronics
Personal Care
Pharmaceutical
Others
Geography
Asia-Pacific
China
India
Japan
South Korea
Rest of Asia-Pacific
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
Italy
France
Rest of Europe
South America
Brazil
Argentina
Rest of South America
Middle-East and Africa
Saudi Arabia
South Africa
Rest of Middle-East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Increasing demand from the Industrial Packaging Sector

  • Packaging foam is commonly used as a cushioning material for boxes, and this packaging solution is known for its versatility and its ability to be customized.
  • Foams are used in a wide variety of packaging applications where optimum protection and durability are overriding considerations. 
  • There are many types of packing foam that are used in the shipping and packaging industries, and these include polystyrene, polyurethane, polyolefin like polyethylene, cross-linked polyethylene, expanded polyethylene (EPE), expanded polypropylene (EPP), etc.
  • Rise in E-commerce: The demand for packaging foam has witnessed a significant increase demand in the past few years. The demand is seen increasing from online shopping for products. Foam wrap has been used an alternative to bubble wrap for wrapping fragile products. It is thin, light, and easy to work with making foam wrap appealing.
  • From January to September 2021, U.S. retail e-commerce sales amounted to almost USD 652 billion. Sales revenue from April to June of in the same year was neared about USD 222 billion. This quarterly sale was higher than the quarterly results of 2020.
  • The European e-commerce industry was expected to be worth EUR 717 billion at the end of 2020, which is an increase of 12.7% as compared to the situation last year. The major contribution in the region comes from Western Europe which accounts for 70% of the total e-commerce value.
  • Thus, the growth in e-commerce, has led to the exponential growth of the packaging sector, with the rising awareness and use of green packaging, therefore expected to have a potentially positive impact on the packaging foam market in the coming years.
packaging foams market size

Asia-Pacific Region to Dominate the Market

  • Asia-Pacific region dominated the global market share with around 40% priamrily due to the growing demand for packaging in logistics, the growing aerospace manufacturing industry, and other manufacturing operations.
  • China is one of the major contributors to the packaging foams market globally, especially in Asia-Pacific. The growing food and beverages, automotive, electronics, personal care, and pharmaceutical industry are expected to boost the growth of the market.
  • China has one of the largest food industries in the world. The country is expected to witness a consistent growth during the forecast period, due to the rise of customized packaging in the food segment, like microwave food, snack foods, and frozen foods, along with increasing exports. The use of packaging foams is expected to increase in the future. ​
  • The South Korean e-commerce market stands at over USD 92 billion per annum. A wave of building and investment has been drawing significant interest and capital from international investors, including GIC, APG, Angelo Gordon, Warburg Pincus, and Blackstone. South Korea is also the 4th largest third-party logistics (3PL) market in Asia-Pacific and is growing at an annual rate of nearly 8%, faster than Japan, Australia, and Singapore.
  • The biggest player in the South Korean eCommerce Market is coupang.co. The store had a revenue of USD 16.6 billion in 2021. It is followed by ssg.com with USD 1.5 billion revenue and yes24.com with USD 541 million revenue. Altogether, the top three stores account for 20% of online revenue in South Korea. Hence, the South Korean logistics market is expected to continue to create opportunities for packaging foams from dunnage manufacturers.
  • Hence, such rapidly growing packaging industry in Asia-Pacific region, the demand for packaging foams is also expected to rapidly increase over the forecast period.
packaging foams market analysis

Competitive Landscape

The global packaging foams market is partially fragmented in nature. The major companies include (not in any particular order) Borealis AG, Sealed AIR, Armacell, Recticel NV/SA among others.

Recent Development

  • In March 2021, Recticel announced that it successfully acquired FoamPartner, the Swiss-based global provider of high added-value technical foams. Recticel Flexible Foams and FoamPartner would now be merged to form the Recticel Engineered Foams business line. The new organization would leverage numerous synergies in resources and talents to promote excellence, grow its global presence and accelerate the commercialization of sustainable innovations and leading-edge solutions to global markets

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Drivers

      1. 4.1.1 Rising Demand from the Packaging Industry

    2. 4.2 Restraints

      1. 4.2.1 Molded Pulp as a Green Alternative

    3. 4.3 Industry Value-Chain Analysis

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products and Services

      5. 4.4.5 Degree of Competition

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Material

      1. 5.1.1 Polystyrene

      2. 5.1.2 Polyurethane

      3. 5.1.3 Polyolefin

      4. 5.1.4 Other

    2. 5.2 Structure

      1. 5.2.1 Flexible

      2. 5.2.2 Rigid

    3. 5.3 Service

      1. 5.3.1 Food Packaging

      2. 5.3.2 Transportation

      3. 5.3.3 Electrical & Electronics

      4. 5.3.4 Personal Care

      5. 5.3.5 Pharmaceutical

      6. 5.3.6 Others

    4. 5.4 Geography

      1. 5.4.1 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.4.1.1 China

        2. 5.4.1.2 India

        3. 5.4.1.3 Japan

        4. 5.4.1.4 South Korea

        5. 5.4.1.5 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      2. 5.4.2 North America

        1. 5.4.2.1 United States

        2. 5.4.2.2 Canada

        3. 5.4.2.3 Mexico

      3. 5.4.3 Europe

        1. 5.4.3.1 Germany

        2. 5.4.3.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.4.3.3 Italy

        4. 5.4.3.4 France

        5. 5.4.3.5 Rest of Europe

      4. 5.4.4 South America

        1. 5.4.4.1 Brazil

        2. 5.4.4.2 Argentina

        3. 5.4.4.3 Rest of South America

      5. 5.4.5 Middle-East and Africa

        1. 5.4.5.1 Saudi Arabia

        2. 5.4.5.2 South Africa

        3. 5.4.5.3 Rest of Middle-East and Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Mergers & Acquisitions, Joint Ventures, Collaborations, and Agreements

    2. 6.2 Market Ranking Analysis

    3. 6.3 Strategies Adopted by Leading Players

    4. 6.4 Company Profiles

      1. 6.4.1 Armacell

      2. 6.4.2 Atlas Roofing Corporation

      3. 6.4.3 Borealis AG

      4. 6.4.4 Drew Foam

      5. 6.4.5 Foamcraft Inc.

      6. 6.4.6 TotalEnergies

      7. 6.4.7 Huntington Solutions

      8. 6.4.8 Recticel NV/SA

      9. 6.4.9 Sealed Air

      10. 6.4.10 Williams Foam

      11. 6.4.11 Zotefoams PLC

    5. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

    1. 7.1 Growing Quest for Eco-Friendly Packaging Foam

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Global Packaging Foams Market market is studied from 2017 - 2027.

The Global Packaging Foams Market is growing at a CAGR of <5% over the next 5 years.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

Asia Pacific holds highest share in 2021.

Armacell LLC, Borealis AG , Sealed Air , Recticel NV/SA are the major companies operating in Global Packaging Foams Market .

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!