北美二手卡车市场 - 增长、趋势、COVID-19 影响和预测(2022 - 2027 年)

北美二手卡车市场按车辆类型(轻型卡车、中型卡车和重型卡车)和地理位置(美国、加拿大和北美其他地区)进行细分。该报告提供了上述所有细分市场的市场规模和价值预测(十亿美元)。

市场快照

north america used truck market_overview
Study Period: 2018-2027
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: >4 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

市场概况

2020 年北美二手卡车市场价值 130 亿美元,预计到 2026 年将达到 170 亿美元,在预测期间(2021-2026 年)的复合年增长率超过 4%。

由于 COVID-19 停止了全球所有运输,在大流行的头几个月对市场的影响很大。限制措施一放宽,该地区的公司就目睹了大量客户涌入,寻找负担得起的二手卡车。由于汽车工厂关闭,消费者对购买新卡车的支出更加谨慎,在过去几个月中,公司记录了更多二手卡车的销售。

随着 Green House Gas 第 2 阶段的实施,预计北美二手卡车市场将在预测期内实现健康增长。

过去几年,该地区建筑活动的增长和对电子商务的需求不断增加,增加了对新旧卡车的需求。此外,北美自由贸易协定为该地区货物的轻松流动提供了必要的推动力,从而有助于市场的增长。

较新的卡车现在配备了先进的功能,例如具有更高客舱舒适度的自动变速箱,这促使用户购买新卡车而不是购买没有这些功能的旧卡车。这阻碍了当前的市场增长。

报告范围

二手卡车、二手卡车或二手卡车是以前拥有一个或多个车主的车辆。北美二手卡车市场按车型(轻型卡车、中型卡车和重型卡车)和地理位置(美国、加拿大和北美其他地区)进行细分。该报告提供了上述所有细分市场的市场规模和价值预测(十亿美元)。

By Vehicle Type
Light-duty Truck
Medium-duty Truck
Heavy-duty Truck
Geography
United States
Canada
Rest of North America

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

主要市场趋势

重型卡车将引领市场

预计未来几年北美的建筑业将出现显着增长,基础设施、住宅和非住宅领域将出现良好的机遇。具有更高功率和先进功能的卡车的出现,如安全气囊占用传感器、空调、巡航控制系统、ABS 和传动系统牵引力控制以及电子稳定性,使其成为建筑和制造中材料处理和运输的首选之一部门。

然而,购买新卡车是建筑公司的一项重大投资,特别是在短期项目中,因为租用重型卡车更合适,因为它们有助于避免重大的启动成本。在北美,许多建筑设备用户看到租用重型卡车或选择“按使用付费”模式作为开展业务的最佳方式。这种模式已被证明对二手重型卡车市场更有利,从而增加了对二手重型卡车的需求。

在 COVID-19 大流行之后,与新卡车相比,买家更倾向于购买二手卡车,这在去年创造了巨大的需求。有鉴于此,各大厂商纷纷增设新经销商,为客户提供更多选择和售后服务。例如,2020 年 9 月,戈登卡车中心在奥尔巴尼增加了一家新的 Freightliner Northwest 商店。该地点将为 Freightliner 和 Western Star 提供零件、服务和服务支持。

此外,为了支持社交距离,一些公司鼓励买家从网站上选择他们的车辆,并让他们的网站为客户提供更多信息。例如,2020 年 4 月,Penske 推出了新的改进版网站。升级版包括增强的在线体验,采用响应式、自适应设计,使二手卡车在线购物、购买和融资变得方便。

key market trend 1

美国有望占据市场最大份额

美国是北美地区最大的二手卡车市场。尽管有即将出现衰退的迹象,但由于美国经济预计将保持稳定,美国卡车运输业有望在未来十年内实现强劲增长。近 70% 的货运由卡车完成。平均而言,该国每年需要处理的货运量需要超过 360 万辆重型 8 级卡车(车辆总重量等级超过 33,001 磅的重型卡车)运输。

然而,由于 COVID-19,2020 年商用卡车的销量接近 410,000 辆,比 2019 年的总量下降了 22.3%。其中,2020年8级卡车的销量总计近19.2万辆,比2019年下降了30.6%。这导致对二手卡车的需求增加,这迫使卡车经销商增加了他们的二手卡车车队。

此外,随着在线零售商、数字物流业务和亚马逊、Fresh Direct 和 Instacart 等电子商务公司的发展以及石油和汽油价格的下降,全国许多主要运营商都在通过购买二手卡车来扩大他们的车队。更低的价格来增加他们的利润空间。

此外,随着最新款车型在未来 1-2​​ 年内进入二手卡车市场,二手卡车价格有望上涨。全国卡车总车队的规模可能与满足当前货运需求所需的一样大。因此,根据货运需求,卡车的租赁预计将增加,因为卡车运营商在二手卡车市场上有足够的选择余地。

key market trend 2

竞争格局

市场上的一些知名企业包括 Paccar Inc.(Kenworth Used Trucks、Peterbilt 和 Mack Trucks)、Gordon Truck Centers Inc.(Freightliner Northwest)、Volvo AB Class B、福特汽车公司和通用汽车公司等. 市场主要由零售经销商控制,在分销渠道中占有约 75% 的份额。与其他渠道相比,它提供了更好的销售和服务支持。

卡车制造商正致力于开发创新的动力总成技术,以提高卡车的整体燃油效率和生命周期。这反过来又增加了卡车的使用年限,这将增加多年来二手卡车的库存。尽管使用 2-4 年的旧卡车的行驶里程有所增加,但卡车制造商为延长卡车的生命周期所做的努力意味着现有的旧卡车库存将具有更健康的机械健康,这将影响到客户的购买决策卡车车队运营商去购买这些卡车。

竞争格局

市场上的一些知名企业包括 Paccar Inc.(Kenworth Used Trucks、Peterbilt 和 Mack Trucks)、Gordon Truck Centers Inc.(Freightliner Northwest)、Volvo AB Class B、福特汽车公司和通用汽车公司等. 市场主要由零售经销商控制,在分销渠道中占有约 75% 的份额。与其他渠道相比,它提供了更好的销售和服务支持。

卡车制造商正致力于开发创新的动力总成技术,以提高卡车的整体燃油效率和生命周期。这反过来又增加了卡车的使用年限,这将增加多年来二手卡车的库存。尽管使用 2-4 年的旧卡车的行驶里程有所增加,但卡车制造商为延长卡车的生命周期所做的努力意味着现有的旧卡车库存将具有更健康的机械健康,这将影响到客户的购买决策卡车车队运营商去购买这些卡车。

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Drivers

    2. 4.2 Market Restraints

    3. 4.3 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.3.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.3.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Vehicle Type

      1. 5.1.1 Light-duty Truck

      2. 5.1.2 Medium-duty Truck

      3. 5.1.3 Heavy-duty Truck

    2. 5.2 Geography

      1. 5.2.1 United States

      2. 5.2.2 Canada

      3. 5.2.3 Rest of North America

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Vendor Market Share

    2. 6.2 Company Profiles*

      1. 6.2.1 Gordon Truck Centers Inc.

      2. 6.2.2 Volvo AB Class B

      3. 6.2.3 International Used Trucks

      4. 6.2.4 Truckworld

      5. 6.2.5 Paccar Inc.

      6. 6.2.6 Ryder System Inc.

      7. 6.2.7 Isuzu Motor Ltd

      8. 6.2.8 General Motors Company

      9. 6.2.9 Ford Motor Company

      10. 6.2.10 Arrow Truck Sales Inc.

  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

  8. 8. ASSESSMENT OF COVID-19 IMPACT ON THE MARKET

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The North America Used Truck Market market is studied from 2018 - 2027.

The North America Used Truck Market is growing at a CAGR of >4% over the next 5 years.

The North America Used Truck Market is valued at 13 Billion USD in 2018.

The North America Used Truck Market is valued at 17 Billion USD in 2027.

Paccar Inc, Gordon Truck Centers, Inc, Volvo AB Class B, Ford Motor Company, General Motors Company are the major companies operating in North America Used Truck Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

North America Used Truck Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2022 - 2027)

The North America Used Truck Market is Segmented by Vehicle Type (Light-duty Truck, Medium-duty Truck, and Heavy-duty Truck) and Geography (United States, Canada, and Rest of North America). The report offers the market size and forecasts in value (USD billion) for all the above segments.

Market Snapshot

North America Used Truck Market Outlook
Study Period: 2018-2027
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: >4 %
North America Used Truck Market Major Players

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The North America used truck market was valued at USD 13 billion in 2020, and it is anticipated to reach USD 17 billion by 2026, at a CAGR of more than 4% during the forecast period (2021 - 2026).

With COVID-19 stopping every transport worldwide, the impact on the market was high in the first few months of the pandemic. As soon restrictions were eased, companies in the region witnessed a huge influx of customers looking for affordable used trucks. As auto plants were shut and consumers were more cautious about spending on new trucks, in the last few months, companies recorded more sales of used trucks.

The North America used truck market is expected to witness healthy growth during the forecast period, with the implementation of Green House Gas's phase 2.

The growth in construction activities and increasing demand for e-commerce in the region have increased the demand for trucks, both old and new, in the past few years. Further, the North America Free Trade Agreement has given the necessary impetus for the easy movement of goods in the region, thereby helping the growth of the market.

Newer trucks are now being equipped with advanced features like automatic transmission with more cabin comfort, which is driving the users to go for new trucks instead of purchasing old trucks without these features. This is hindering the market growth currently.

Scope of the Report

A used truck, a pre-owned truck, or a secondhand truck is a vehicle that has previously had one or more owners. The North America used truck market is segmented by vehicle type (light-duty truck, medium-duty truck, and heavy-duty truck) and geography (United States, Canada, and Rest of North America). The report offers the market size and forecasts in value (USD billion) for all the above segments.

By Vehicle Type
Light-duty Truck
Medium-duty Truck
Heavy-duty Truck
Geography
United States
Canada
Rest of North America

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Heavy Duty Trucks will Lead the Market

The construction industry in North America is expected to witness significant growth in the coming years, with good opportunities emerging from the infrastructure, residential, and non-residential sectors. The advent of trucks with higher power and advanced features, like airbag occupancy sensors, air conditioning, cruise control systems, ABS and driveline traction control, and electronic stability, makes them one of the preferred choices for material handling and transportation in the construction and manufacturing sector.

However, purchasing new trucks is a major investment for the construction companies, especially in short-term projects, as it is more suitable to lease heavy-duty trucks since they help in avoiding major start-up costs. In North America, numerous construction equipment users are seeing rented heavy-duty trucks or opt for the ‘pay-as-use’ model as an optimal way to do business. This model has been proven more beneficial for the used heavy-duty trucks market, thereby increasing the demand for used heavy-duty trucks.

After the COVID-19 pandemic, buyers were more inclined to buy used trucks as compared to new trucks, which created a huge demand last year. Owing to this, various major players added new dealerships to provide more options and after-sales services to customers. For instance, in September 2020, the Gordon Truck Centers added a new Freightliner Northwest store in Albany. The location will provide parts, services, and service support for Freightliner and Western Star.

Moreover, to support social distancing, some companies motivated buyers to select their vehicles from the website and made their websites more informative to customers. For instance, in April 2020, Penske rolled out the new and improved version of its website. The upgraded version includes an enhanced online experience featuring a responsive, adaptive design that makes shopping, buying, and financing a used truck online convenient.

North America Used Truck Market Trends

The United States is Expected to Hold the Largest Share in the Market

The United States is the largest market for used trucks in the North American region. The US trucking industry is poised to experience strong growth over the next decade as the country’s economy is slated to be steady, despite the signs of an upcoming recession. Nearly 70% of all freight transportation is done by trucks. On average, over 3.6 million heavy-duty Class 8 truck (heavy-duty trucks with a gross vehicle weight rating of greater than 33,001 pounds) movements are required to move the freight volume the country needs to handle per year.

However, due to COVID-19, commercial truck sales in 2020 reached near to 410,000 units, with a decline of 22.3% from the 2019 total. In that, sales of Class 8 trucks in 2020 totaled nearly 192,000 units, which was down by 30.6% from 2019. This has led to an increase in demand for used trucks, which has forced truck dealers to increase their used trucks fleet.

Moreover, with the growth of online retailers, digital logistics operations, and e-commerce companies such as Amazon, Fresh Direct, and Instacart and lowering of oil and gasoline prices, many major carriers across the country are expanding their fleets by purchasing used trucks at a lower price to increase their profit margins.

Moreover, the used truck prices are expected to increase with the entry of the latest model years trucks into the used truck segment in the next 1-2 years. The total nationwide fleet of trucks is probably about as big as it needs to be able to handle the current demand for freight. Hence, the leasing of trucks is expected to increase as truck operators have sufficient options to choose from in the used trucks market, according to the freight movement demand.

North America Used Truck Market Forecast

Competitive Landscape

Some of the prominent players in the market are Paccar Inc. (Kenworth Used Trucks, Peterbilt, and Mack Trucks), Gordon Truck Centers Inc. (Freightliner Northwest), Volvo AB Class B, Ford Motor Company, and General Motors Company, among others. The market is majorly controlled by retail dealerships, with about 75% of the share in the distribution channels. It offers better sales and service support compared to other channels.

Truck manufacturers are focusing on developing innovative powertrain technologies for enhancing the overall fuel efficiency and lifecycle of trucks. This, in turn, increases the operational age of the trucks, which will increase the inventory of used trucks over the years. Though there is an increase in mileage of the used trucks aging 2-4 years, the efforts by truck manufacturers to increase the lifecycle of trucks means that the existing inventory of used trucks will have healthier mechanical health, which will influence the purchasing decisions of the truck fleet operators to go for these trucks.

Recent Developments

In March 2021, Gordon Truck Centers announced the acquisition of Western Idaho Freightliner and Western Star of Nampa, Idaho. After the acquisition, GTC operates fourteen stores across Washington, Oregon, Idaho, and Hawaii doing business as Freightliner Northwest, Western Star Northwest, and Freightliner of Hawaii. 12 of GTC’s 14 stores are dual branded as Freightliner and Western Star Northwest.

In February 2021, Ryder System Inc. introduced its updated Fleet Buy-Out Program that allows customers to trade their fleets and then lease new trucks through Ryder’s leasing program. The company will purchase used commercial vehicles in a one-for-one leasing exchange with competitive offers and a guaranteed sale.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Drivers

    2. 4.2 Market Restraints

    3. 4.3 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.3.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.3.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Vehicle Type

      1. 5.1.1 Light-duty Truck

      2. 5.1.2 Medium-duty Truck

      3. 5.1.3 Heavy-duty Truck

    2. 5.2 Geography

      1. 5.2.1 United States

      2. 5.2.2 Canada

      3. 5.2.3 Rest of North America

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Vendor Market Share

    2. 6.2 Company Profiles*

      1. 6.2.1 Gordon Truck Centers Inc.

      2. 6.2.2 Volvo AB Class B

      3. 6.2.3 International Used Trucks

      4. 6.2.4 Truckworld

      5. 6.2.5 Paccar Inc.

      6. 6.2.6 Ryder System Inc.

      7. 6.2.7 Isuzu Motor Ltd

      8. 6.2.8 General Motors Company

      9. 6.2.9 Ford Motor Company

      10. 6.2.10 Arrow Truck Sales Inc.

  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

  8. 8. ASSESSMENT OF COVID-19 IMPACT ON THE MARKET

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The North America Used Truck Market market is studied from 2018 - 2027.

The North America Used Truck Market is growing at a CAGR of >4% over the next 5 years.

The North America Used Truck Market is valued at 13 Billion USD in 2018.

The North America Used Truck Market is valued at 17 Billion USD in 2027.

Paccar Inc, Gordon Truck Centers, Inc, Volvo AB Class B, Ford Motor Company, General Motors Company are the major companies operating in North America Used Truck Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!