北美收缩和拉伸薄膜市场 - 增长、趋势、COVID-19 影响和预测(2022 - 2027 年)

北美收缩和拉伸薄膜市场按产品类型(头罩、包装、袖标)、材料(LDPE 和 LLDPE、PVC、PET)、应用(食品和饮料、消费品、制药、物料搬运)、并按国家。

市场快照

North American shrink and stretch film market
Study Period: 2020-2027
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 3.78 %
North American shrink and stretch film market size

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

市场概况

2021 年北美收缩和拉伸膜市场价值 46.2 亿美元,预计到 2027 年将达到 57.5 亿美元,在预测期内的复合年增长率为 3.78%。

  • 拉伸和收缩薄膜是采用先进工程技术制成的用于包装物品的聚乙烯薄膜。这些薄膜具有独特的化学特性,使其在柔韧性和拉伸性方面与众不同。拉伸薄膜是柔软且有弹性的聚乙烯薄膜,用于包裹托盘负载,而收缩薄膜是包裹在单个产品或商品周围的薄膜,需要加热才能包装。这些薄膜有助于防止物品因空气和湿气而变质,从而提高包装商品的质量。​
  • 收缩套管标签是指 360 度打印标签,通常在应用过程中使用热量以符合标签所应用的产品形状。收缩套管标签印在塑料或聚酯薄膜材料的两侧。收缩套管的耐用性使其非常适合遇到水分或摩擦的产品。
  • 随着各个品牌越来越关注 2025 年的可持续发展目标,探索更多的可持续发展选项对于实现其承诺变得越来越重要。许多瓶装饮料生产商选择可回收聚乙烯 (PE) 收缩膜而不是瓦楞纸和纸板,因为它使用更少的能源并降低分销渠道中的温室气体排放,同时不会影响运行速度和可加工性。​
  • Amcor 表示,PE 收缩膜是美国回收率最高的塑料薄膜类型之一,通过北美的 18,000 个店内投递地点收集。通过消费后回收 (PCR) 内容扩大循环经济闭环的努力,可以实现额外的可持续性优势,同时提供与标准 PE 收缩薄膜相同的多功能性和性能。
  • 由于需求增加,COVID-19 大流行对市场的影响对食品和饮料、制药、化妆品等行业产生了积极影响。随着工厂在大流行最初爆发期间关闭,美容品牌被迫寻找国内包装替代品,并暂时改用收缩袖标。总体而言,预计在大流行后该地区的收缩和拉伸袖子将出现增长。各种最终用户行业都坚持使用收缩和拉伸薄膜,因为它提供更短的交货时间、更低的成本、更低的最低限度和更少的库存。
  • 2021 年 9 月,Clysar 为其可回收收缩膜系列推出了 Clysar EVO-C 机密收缩膜,该收缩膜已在拉斯维加斯 PACK EXPO 期间通过 How2Recycle 计划预先批准用于商店投递标签。Clysar EVO-C 薄膜是一种独特的不透明安全和运输材料,具有紫外线阻挡特性,可显着减少包装体积和重量,同时防止光降解。它是要求苛刻的电子商务、邮寄、配送和包装应用的理想选择。

报告范围

拉伸和收缩薄膜是包裹产品整个周边并符合任何包装的独特几何形状的聚酯或塑料。北美收缩和拉伸薄膜市场按产品类型(头罩、包装、袖标)、材料(LDPE 和 LLDPE、PVC、PET)、应用(食品和饮料、消费品、制药、物料搬运)、并按国家。

By Product Type
Hoods
Wraps
Sleeve Label
By Material
LDPE & LLDPE
PVC
PET
Other Materials (PS, etc.)
By Application Type
Food and Beverage
Consumer Goods
Pharmaceutical
Material Handling
Other Packaging Types
By Country
United States
Canada
Mexico

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

主要市场趋势

食品和饮料行业是市场增长的重要因素之一

  • 此外,超过 530 万美国人使用了超过 1000 万个盒子。此外,预计 2020 年公司将生产超过 300 万吨塑料包装纸,超市和航运中商业用途的塑料包装纸。此外,同一项调查还报告称,2020 年约有 2.9329 亿客户使用厨房和食品包装纸/美国的电影。该调查还估计,到 2024 年底,美国将有 3.0328 亿客户。
  • 收缩膜也主要用于电子商务领域,用于包装各种产品。这些薄膜具有多种优势,例如广泛的氧气传输率、各种食品包装(肉类、奶酪、家禽和即食包装)的最佳保质期、优质的产品展示、高抗冲击性和抗穿刺性,包装刚性或边缘锋利的产品时泄漏更少,在冷冻温度下保持强度,并保持包装完整性。​​​​
  • 由于该地区对冷冻食品的需求不断增长,所研究的市场正在获得相当大的吸引力。根据美国农业部的数据,2020年冷冻猪肉和冷冻牛肉的冷藏量分别为4.1594亿磅和5.359亿磅,而其他肉类储存量则为3429万磅。​​​
  • 由于所研究的最终用户应用程序的需求激增,一些市场参与者提供了专门满足水果和蔬菜包装要求的解决方案。例如,总部位于加拿大的 FLAIR 软包装公司提供卷筒薄膜、封盖薄膜和用于透气薄膜的特殊微孔,以满足水果和蔬菜产品的包装需求。​
  • 冷冻食品行业对软塑料包装的需求正在激增。它正越来越多地取代传统材料,如纸板、金属和玻璃,因为它具有重量轻和成本低等有益特性。
North American shrink and stretch film market share

美国将占据市场多数份额

  • 该国对收缩和拉伸薄膜的需求受到对产品包装以及在仓储和配送过程中捆绑和保护货物的需求不断增长的推动。此外,该地区还举办了各种年度计划,详细了解消费行业对收缩和拉伸薄膜的强劲需求。 
  • 例如,AMI 的 2021 年国际拉伸和收缩薄膜美国会议于 2021 年 11 月 29 日至 12 月 1 日在美国路易斯安那州举行。年度会议邀请了品牌所有者、零售商、拉伸和收缩薄膜生产商和分销商、原材料供应商以及研究机构和大学。Stretch & Shrink Filim 2021 在国际演讲者小组之间进行了生动的互动,并全面概述了最新材料、技术和市场趋势。 
  • 该地区的供应商推出了产品创新新产品等各种发展,以提高其在市场中的地位并获得更好的客户群。例如,2021 年 1 月,Cortec 宣布推出 Eco Wrap,这是世界上首批可堆肥工业强度机器级拉伸薄膜之一。新产品是工业包装和仓储行业的一场革命,这些行业严重依赖自动化拉伸包装来准备货物托盘以进行存储、库存或运输。
  • 2021 年 10 月,Taghleef Industries 推出了 Shape360,这是一系列可持续的多功能收缩薄膜,采用全新和更新的 Shape360 TDS,专为商业分类和回收系统而设计。它是一种高 TD 收缩透明标签薄膜,通过确保可浮动印刷套管与刚性 PET 薄片的分离,提高了 PET 瓶回收质量和效率。 
  • 此外,各种公司一直在投资扩张活动以及合作、伙伴关系和收购,以在该国获得更好的影响力。例如,2021 年 8 月,美国可持续包装公司 Revolution 收购了流延手工和机器拉伸薄膜制造商 Five Points Films,以扩大 Revolution 在国内的影响力,同时扩大其在该地区的生产能力和可持续产品组合。 
North American shrink and stretch film industry

竞争格局

由于许多参与者进入包装市场,北美收缩和拉伸膜市场适度整合。此外,参与者的创新和发展正在使市场具有竞争力。市场上的一些关键发展是:

  • 2021 年 8 月:软包装供应商 CP Flexible Packaging 宣布收购威斯康星州私营制造商 Prestige-Pak Inc.,该公司专注于零售食品市场的收缩膜和其他类型的薄膜。CP Flexible Packaging 是总部位于纽约的私募股权公司 First Atlantic Capital 的投资组合。通过此次最新收购,CP Flexible 扩大了其多工厂制造基地,以提供快速响应和打印质量。
  • 2021 年 11 月:安大略省 CCL Industries 的子公司 Innovia Films 在创新前沿的 Propafilm 系列透明特种包装薄膜中推出了一款新薄膜。与传统聚丙烯薄膜相比,CHS 具有更好的耐热性和收缩性能。它旨在替代层压板中的传统外网膜,用于各种食品市场中的小袋和盖子等应用。

竞争格局

由于许多参与者进入包装市场,北美收缩和拉伸膜市场适度整合。此外,参与者的创新和发展正在使市场具有竞争力。市场上的一些关键发展是:

  • 2021 年 8 月:软包装供应商 CP Flexible Packaging 宣布收购威斯康星州私营制造商 Prestige-Pak Inc.,该公司专注于零售食品市场的收缩膜和其他类型的薄膜。CP Flexible Packaging 是总部位于纽约的私募股权公司 First Atlantic Capital 的投资组合。通过此次最新收购,CP Flexible 扩大了其多工厂制造基地,以提供快速响应和打印质量。
  • 2021 年 11 月:安大略省 CCL Industries 的子公司 Innovia Films 在创新前沿的 Propafilm 系列透明特种包装薄膜中推出了一款新薄膜。与传统聚丙烯薄膜相比,CHS 具有更好的耐热性和收缩性能。它旨在替代层压板中的传统外网膜,用于各种食品市场中的小袋和盖子等应用。

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Ability to conform to any size and shape, and yet provide the necessary protection

      2. 4.2.2 The need for Tamper-evident Protection will drive the growth of the market

    3. 4.3 Market Challenges

      1. 4.3.1 Growing demand for stand-up pouches in the beverage sector and elaborate nature of the overall recycling process

    4. 4.4 Market Opportunities

    5. 4.5 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

    6. 4.6 Impact of COVID-19 on the Shrink and Stretch Film Market

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Product Type

      1. 5.1.1 Hoods

      2. 5.1.2 Wraps

      3. 5.1.3 Sleeve Label

    2. 5.2 By Material

      1. 5.2.1 LDPE & LLDPE

      2. 5.2.2 PVC

      3. 5.2.3 PET

      4. 5.2.4 Other Materials (PS, etc.)

    3. 5.3 By Application Type

      1. 5.3.1 Food and Beverage

      2. 5.3.2 Consumer Goods

      3. 5.3.3 Pharmaceutical

      4. 5.3.4 Material Handling

      5. 5.3.5 Other Packaging Types

    4. 5.4 By Country

      1. 5.4.1 United States

      2. 5.4.2 Canada

      3. 5.4.3 Mexico

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 Berry Global Inc.

      2. 6.1.2 Klockner Pentaplast Group

      3. 6.1.3 Amcor PLC

      4. 6.1.4 Clondalkin Group Holdings BV

      5. 6.1.5 Dow Inc

      6. 6.1.6 Taghleef Industries LLC

      7. 6.1.7 Sealed Air Corporation

      8. 6.1.8 Intertape Polymer Group Inc.

      9. 6.1.9 Emsur Macdonell SA

      10. 6.1.10 Transcontinental Inc.

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  8. 8. FUTURE OF THE MARKET

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The North America Shrink and Stretch Film Market market is studied from 2020 - 2027.

The North America Shrink and Stretch Film Market is growing at a CAGR of 3.78% over the next 5 years.

Berry Global Inc. , Klockner PentaPlast Group, Amcor PLC, Clondalkin Group Holdings BV, Dow Inc. are the major companies operating in North America Shrink and Stretch Film Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

North America Shrink and Stretch Film Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2022 - 2027)

The North America Shrink and Stretch Film Market is segmented by Product Type (Hoods, Wraps, and Sleeve Labels), Material (LDPE and LLDPE, PVC, and PET), Application (Food and Beverage, Consumer Goods, Pharmaceutical, and Material Handling), and Geography.

Market Snapshot

North American shrink and stretch film market
Study Period: 2020-2027
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 3.78 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The North American shrink and stretch film market was valued at USD 4.62 billion in 2021, and it is expected to reach a value of USD 5.75 billion by 2027, registering a CAGR of 3.78% over the forecast period.

  • Stretch and shrink films are polythene films made with advanced engineering used for packaging items. These films have unique chemical properties that differentiate them in terms of flexibility and stretchability. Stretch films are thin polythene films that are flexible and elastic and are used to wrap around pallet loads, whereas shrink films are thin films wrapped around a single product or commodity and require heat to pack. These films help keep items from spoiling due to air and moisture, improving the quality of packed goods.​
  • Shrink sleeve labels refer to 360-degree printed labels that typically use heat in the application process to conform to the product's shape to which the label is applied. Shrink sleeve labels are printed on either side of plastic or polyester film material. The durability of the shrink sleeves makes them ideal for products that encounter moisture or friction.
  • With various brands increasing their focus on 2025 sustainability goals, exploring more sustainability options is becoming increasingly central to meeting their pledges. Many bottled beverage producers choose recycle-ready polyethylene (PE) shrink film over corrugate and paperboard because it uses less energy and lowers greenhouse emissions in the distribution channel without compromising run speeds and machinability.​
  • Amcor stated that PE shrink is one of the most recycled types of plastic films in the United States, collected through the 18,000 in-store drop-off locations in North America. Expanding efforts to close the loop on a circular economy with post-consumer recycled (PCR) content can achieve additional sustainability benefits while providing the same versatility and performance as standard PE shrink films.
  • The impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the market has been positive in industries, such as food and beverage, pharmaceutical, and cosmetic industries, among others, owing to increased demand. With the factories shutting down during the initial outbreak of the pandemic, beauty brands were forced to find domestic packaging alternatives and temporarily switched to shrink sleeve labels. Overall, the shrink and stretch sleeve is expected to witness growth in the region during the post-pandemic period. Various end-user industries are sticking to shrink and stretch films as they offer shorter lead times, reduced costs, lower minimums, and lesser inventory.
  • In September 2021, Clysar introduced Clysar EVO-C confidential shrink film for its family of recyclable shrink films pre-approved for the store drop-off label by the How2Recycle program during PACK EXPO Las Vegas. Clysar EVO-C film is a unique opaque security and shipping material that offers UV-blocking properties and can significantly reduce packaging volume and weight while protecting from light degradation. It is ideal for demanding e-commerce, mailing, distribution, and packaging applications.

Scope of the Report

Stretch and shrink films are polyester or plastics that wrap the entire perimeter of a product and conform to the unique geometry of any package. The North American shrink and stretch film market is segmented by product type (hoods, wraps, and sleeve labels), material (LDPE and LLDPE, PVC, and PET), application (food and beverage, consumer goods, pharmaceutical, and material handling), and geography.

Product Type
Hoods
Wraps
Sleeve Labels
Material
LDPE and LLDPE
PVC
PET
Other Materials (PS, etc.)
Application
Food and Beverage
Consumer Goods
Pharmaceutical
Material Handling
Other Packaging Types
Geography
United States
Canada
Mexico

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

The Food and Beverage Industry is one of the Significant Factors for Market Growth

  • Further, more than 5.3 million Americans used more than 10 million boxes. Moreover, commercial use of wraps in supermarkets and shipping accounts for more than 3 million metric ton of plastic wrap that companies were expected to make in 2020. The same survey also reported that in 2020, around 293.29 million customers used kitchen and food wraps/films in the United States. The survey also estimates that there will be 303.28 million customers in the United States by the end of 2024.​
  • Shrink films are also predominantly used in the e-commerce sector for wrapping various products. The films offer various benefits, such as a wide range of oxygen transmission rates, optimal shelf-life for a variety of food packaging (meat, cheese, poultry, and case-ready packaging), premium product presentation, high impact and puncture resistance, fewer leakers when packing rigid or sharp-edged products, retained strength at freezing temperatures, and preserved package integrity.​​​
  • The studied market is gaining considerable traction from the increasing demand for frozen foods in the regions. According to the US Department of Agriculture, the volume of cold storage of frozen pork and frozen beef amounted to 415.94 million pounds and 535.9 million pounds in 2020, while other meat storage volumes accounted for 34.29 million pounds. ​
  • Owing to the surging demand from the studied end-user application, several market players offer solutions that cater specifically to the fruit and vegetable packaging requirements. For instance, Canada-based FLAIR Flexible Packaging Corporation offers roll stock films, lidding films, and special micro-perforation for breathable films catering to the packaging needs of fruit and vegetable products.​
  • The demand for flexible plastic packaging in the frozen food industry is witnessing a surge. It is increasingly replacing traditional materials, such as paperboard, metals, and glass due to its beneficial properties such as being lightweight and reduced cost.
North American shrink and stretch film market share

The United States is Expected to Hold the Majority Share in the Market

  • The demand for shrink and stretch films in the country is driven by the increasing demand for product packaging and for the bundling and protection of goods during warehousing and distribution. Also, there are various annual programs hosted in the region that look in detail at the strong demand for shrink and stretch films from consumer industries.
  • For instance, AMI’s International Stretch & Shrink Film US conference 2021 took place from November 29 to December 1, 2021, in Louisiana, United States. The annual conference hosted brand owners, retailers, stretch and shrink film producers and distributors, and raw material suppliers, alongside research institutions and universities. Stretch & Shrink Film 2021 offered a lively interaction between an international panel of speakers and provided a comprehensive overview of the latest materials, technologies, and market trends.
  • There have been various developments such as product innovations and new product launches by vendors in the region to enhance their position in the market and gain a better customer base. For instance, in January 2021, Cortec announced the launch of Eco Wrap, one of the world’s first compostable industrial-strength machine-grade stretch films. The new product is a revolution for the industrial packaging and warehousing industries that rely heavily on automated stretch wrapping to prepare pallets of goods for storage, inventory, or shipment.
  • In October 2021, Taghleef Industries launched Shape360, a range of sustainable and versatile shrink films featuring new and updated Shape360 TDS designed for commercial sorting and recycling systems. It is a high TD shrink clear label film that improves PET bottle recycling quality and efficiency by ensuring the separation of floatable printed sleeves from rigid PET flakes.
  • Also, various companies have been investing in expansion activities as well as in collaborations, partnerships, and acquisitions to gain a better presence in the country. For instance, in August 2021, the US-based sustainable packaging firm Revolution purchased Five Points Films, a manufacturer of cast hand and machine stretch film, to expand Revolution’s domestic presence while widening its production capabilities and sustainable product portfolio in the region.
North American shrink and stretch film industry

Competitive Landscape

The North American shrink and stretch film market is moderately consolidated due to many players entering the packaging market. Moreover, innovations and developments by players are making the market competitive. Some of the key developments in the market are:

  • August 2021: the flexible packaging vendor, C-P Flexible Packaging, announced the acquisition of Prestige-Pak Inc., a private Wisconsin manufacturer that focuses on shrink and other types of films for the retail food market. C-P Flexible Packaging is a portfolio of the New York-based private equity firm First Atlantic Capital. With this latest acquisition, C-P Flexible expanded its multi-plant manufacturing base to provide rapid response and print quality.
  • November 2021: Innovia Films, a subsidiary of Ontario-based CCL Industries, launched a new film in its Propafilm range of transparent specialty packaging films on the innovation front. CHS offers improved thermal resistance and shrinkage properties compared to conventional polypropylene films. It is designed to substitute traditional outer web films in laminates for applications such as pouches and lidding in various food markets.

Recent Developments

  • February 2022: The federal government of Canada mandated the use of recycled plastics in shrink and stretch films and other products. The Federal Environment Agency, Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC), issued a notice that it plans to draft a minimum recycling content regulation, perhaps by the end of 2022. Overall, the government of Canada plans to require 50% recycled content in plastic packaging by 2030.
  • February 2021: CCL created a closed-loop recycling solution for stretch sleeves by using technology that enables de-inking the printed sleeves. The new investment is part of CCL Label’s long-term plan to support the design for recycling with their labels and to contribute to a more circular economy. It is the first in the industry to offer a circular solution for stretch sleeves.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Ability to Conform to Any Size and Shape and Provide the Necessary Protection

      2. 4.2.2 The Need for Tamper-evident Protection to Drive Market Growth

    3. 4.3 Market Challenges

      1. 4.3.1 Growing Demand for Stand-up Pouches in the Beverage Sector and Elaborate Nature of the Overall Recycling Process

    4. 4.4 Market Opportunities

    5. 4.5 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

    6. 4.6 Impact of COVID-19 on the Shrink and Stretch Film Market

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Product Type

      1. 5.1.1 Hoods

      2. 5.1.2 Wraps

      3. 5.1.3 Sleeve Labels

    2. 5.2 Material

      1. 5.2.1 LDPE and LLDPE

      2. 5.2.2 PVC

      3. 5.2.3 PET

      4. 5.2.4 Other Materials (PS, etc.)

    3. 5.3 Application

      1. 5.3.1 Food and Beverage

      2. 5.3.2 Consumer Goods

      3. 5.3.3 Pharmaceutical

      4. 5.3.4 Material Handling

      5. 5.3.5 Other Packaging Types

    4. 5.4 Geography

      1. 5.4.1 United States

      2. 5.4.2 Canada

      3. 5.4.3 Mexico

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 Berry Global Inc.

      2. 6.1.2 Klockner Pentaplast Group

      3. 6.1.3 Amcor PLC

      4. 6.1.4 Clondalkin Group Holdings BV

      5. 6.1.5 Dow Inc.

      6. 6.1.6 Taghleef Industries LLC

      7. 6.1.7 Sealed Air Corporation

      8. 6.1.8 Intertape Polymer Group Inc.

      9. 6.1.9 Emsur Macdonell SA

      10. 6.1.10 Transcontinental Inc.

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  8. 8. FUTURE OF THE MARKET

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The North America Shrink and Stretch Film Market market is studied from 2020 - 2027.

The North America Shrink and Stretch Film Market is growing at a CAGR of 3.78% over the next 5 years.

Berry Global Inc. , Klockner PentaPlast Group, Amcor PLC, Clondalkin Group Holdings BV, Dow Inc. are the major companies operating in North America Shrink and Stretch Film Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!