北美玻璃包装市场 - 增长、趋势、Covid-19 影响、预测((2022 - 2027 年)

北美玻璃包装市场按类型(瓶子和容器、小瓶、安瓿、注射器和墨盒)、最终用户垂直(食品、饮料(软饮料、牛奶、酒精饮料)、化妆品和香水、药品)、

市场快照

north america glass packaging market share
Study Period: 2019-2026
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 3.51 %
north america glass packaging market key players

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

市场概况

在 2021 年至 2026 年的预测期内,北美玻璃包装市场预计将以 3.51% 的复合年增长率增长。COVID-19 的爆发使餐饮行业越来越需要更多地关注卫生和消毒,并且鉴于目前的情况下,现在的人们正在选择一种健康和可持续的生活方式。由于该行业的大多数产品都包含在基本服务中,因此包装行业遵循保守做法变得至关重要。

  • 酒精饮料在美国的玻璃瓶市场占据主导地位。大部分蒸馏酒和葡萄酒使用玻璃容器包装,而在啤酒领域,玻璃容器的百分比显着下降。另一方面,在非酒精领域,玻璃只占很小的比例,用于碳酸软饮料、牛奶和较新的即饮饮料。
  • 2020 年,82% 的啤酒在国内生产,18% 从全球 100 多个不同国家进口(来源:美国 TTB 和美国商务部,2021)。多年来,酒精饮料市场和三层系统发展迅速。自 2012 年以来,全国已通过了 2,300 多项酒精饮料法(资料来源:NBWA 行业事务部,2021 年)。这些例子解决了玻璃包装的主要采用。
  • 玻璃包装在整个酒精饮料市场中占有相当大的份额,因此,随着酒精饮料需求的持续增长,预计玻璃瓶市场将在预测期内增加。2020 年 11 月,混合包装供应商 Berlin Packaging 通过收购包装供应商 Consolidated Bottle 扩大了其在加拿大的业务。合并后的企业有望为其客户提供更多的包装解决方案和增值服务,从而满足该国对玻璃瓶不断增长的需求。
  • 消费者的饮酒量比全球平均水平高出约 50%,约 78% 的加拿大成年人报告在过去一年中饮酒。男性比女性饮酒更多,年轻人比老年人更有可能成为过去一年的饮酒者。根据加拿大统计局的数据,2019/2020 年酒类总销量增长 0.2% 至 31.16 亿升,相当于加拿大法定饮酒年龄以上的每人每周 9.5 标准杯酒。

Scope of the report

Glass bottles and containers provide an ideal way to keep the consumables safe, fresh, and healthy for a longer period and ease of transportation. Glass bottles and containers are majorly used in the alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverage industry due to their ability to maintain chemical inertness, sterility, and non-permeability.

By Type
Bottles and Containers
Vials
Ampoules
Syringe and Cartridges
By End-User Vertical
Food
Beverage
Soft Drinks
Milk
Alcoholic Beverages
Other Beverages
Cosmetics and Prefumery
Pharmaceuticals
By Country
United States
Canada

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

主要市场趋势

酒精饮料有望见证巨大的市场份额

  • 根据 Brewer's Associations 的数据,2020 年美国精酿啤酒包装的包装市场百分比表明,铝可能占据 81% 的份额,而玻璃包装占据 19%。
  • 较小尺寸的瓶子,例如 7-12 盎司的瓶子,占玻璃瓶啤酒体积的 90% 以上,并继续在瓶装啤酒体积中占有一席之地。近年来,大规格瓶子失去了份额。几年前,杂货店和酒类商店等许多场外零售商极大地扩大了专门用于 22 盎司或 750 毫升等大瓶子的空间。然而,零售商越来越多地将空间重新分配给移动速度更快的包裹。
  • 酒杯包装制造商正在创新他们的产品以跟上最新趋势。例如,2020 年 9 月,Ardagh Group 的一个业务部门、美国烈酒市场的国内玻璃瓶制造商 Ardagh Group, Glass, North America 与独立家族 Heaven Hill Brands 确认了一项长期供应协议。 -拥有和经营的蒸馏酒供应商,在美国生产其优质酒瓶。
  • 推动市场增长的主要因素之一是该国的啤酒消费。根据加拿大啤酒公司的数据,2020 年啤酒总销量为 2112 万百升。但与 2019 年相比,销量有所下降。从 2019 年到 2020 年,罐装啤酒的销量增长了 12.3%,而瓶装啤酒销量下降了15.1% 在加拿大。这对 COVID-19 大流行期间的市场增长提出了挑战。
  • 此外,2019/2020 财年葡萄酒销售额增长 5.2% 至 78 亿加元,是八年来的最大增幅。虽然啤酒是去年加拿大大部分地区的首选酒精饮料,但葡萄酒在魁北克(占总销售额的 44.0%)和不列颠哥伦比亚省(34.3%)位居榜首。然而,萨斯喀彻温省的居民(15.2%)最不可能购买葡萄酒(来源:加拿大统计局)。
north america glass packaging market growth

小瓶有望见证重要的市场份额

  • 美国药品监管机构已批准多家公司使用更大的小瓶加快 COVID-19 疫苗的生产。美国食品和药物管理局 (FDA) 还授权疫苗接种人员从目前的小瓶中提取最多 11 剂疫苗。此外,2021 年 4 月,美国药品监管机构批准 Moderna Inc. 加快其 COVID-19 疫苗的生产,让其在一个小瓶中最多填充 15 剂。
  • 此外,2020 年 6 月,美国政府生物医学高级研究与发展局 (BARDA) 向康宁授予 2.04 亿美元,用于扩大其国内生产 COVID-19 疫苗玻璃瓶的能力。
  • 同样,2020 年 6 月,SiO2 从美国政府获得价值 1.43 亿美元的合同,将其制造能力扩大到 4 亿剂。到 2021 年 4 月,该公司预计将提供 1.2 亿瓶用于国内优先事项,并提供 10 亿瓶。该公司最近还宣布了 1.63 亿美元扩建其在阿拉巴马州奥本市的制造工厂。
  • 加拿大政府投资了约 1.26 亿美元,用于设计、建造、调试和认证位于蒙特利尔 Royalmount 工厂附近的新生物制造设施。新的生物制造设施称为生物制品制造中心,将支持疫苗和其他生物制品的制造。预计这将增加该地区对小瓶的需求。
north america glass packaging market analysis

竞争格局

北美玻璃包装适度整合,拥有相当数量的区域和全球参与者。创新推动了产品供应市场和增加对饮料的投资。

  • 2021 年 10 月:Owens-Illinois Glass Inc. 和德国克朗斯 AG 签署战略合作协议,通过合作创新为不断扩大的玻璃市场设计玻璃。该协议的重点领域将包括改进玻璃灌装和包装线的速度和效率,开发创新和可持续的玻璃系统,提高响应市场趋势的敏捷性和灵活性,以及​​数字解决方案的进步,例如直接到-玻璃数码印刷技术。
  • 2021 年 2 月 - Ardagh Group 推出了 Absolut 最新的限量版伏特加酒瓶“Absolut Movement”,以激励人们庆祝包容性。磨砂蓝色玻璃瓶采用16个漩涡的向上螺旋设计,象征着永无止境的变化循环。螺旋形的向上流动表明社会发展。

竞争格局

北美玻璃包装适度整合,拥有相当数量的区域和全球参与者。创新推动了产品供应市场和增加对饮料的投资。

  • 2021 年 10 月:Owens-Illinois Glass Inc. 和德国克朗斯 AG 签署战略合作协议,通过合作创新为不断扩大的玻璃市场设计玻璃。该协议的重点领域将包括改进玻璃灌装和包装线的速度和效率,开发创新和可持续的玻璃系统,提高响应市场趋势的敏捷性和灵活性,以及​​数字解决方案的进步,例如直接到-玻璃数码印刷技术。
  • 2021 年 2 月 - Ardagh Group 推出了 Absolut 最新的限量版伏特加酒瓶“Absolut Movement”,以激励人们庆祝包容性。磨砂蓝色玻璃瓶采用16个漩涡的向上螺旋设计,象征着永无止境的变化循环。螺旋形的向上流动表明社会发展。

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHTS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.2.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.2.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.2.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.2.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.2.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

    3. 4.3 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    4. 4.4 Impact of the COVID-19 on the Glass Packaging Market

  5. 5. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 5.1 Market Drivers

      1. 5.1.1 The Increasing Demand from the Food and Beverage Industry and Emergence of Premium Packaging

      2. 5.1.2 Commodity Value of Glass Increased with Recyclability

    2. 5.2 Market Restraints

      1. 5.2.1 High Competition from Substitute Packaging Solutions

      2. 5.2.2 Usage of Substitute Products (Plastic)

  6. 6. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 6.1 By Type

      1. 6.1.1 Bottles and Containers

      2. 6.1.2 Vials

      3. 6.1.3 Ampoules

      4. 6.1.4 Syringe and Cartridges

    2. 6.2 By End-User Vertical

      1. 6.2.1 Food

      2. 6.2.2 Beverage

        1. 6.2.2.1 Soft Drinks

        2. 6.2.2.2 Milk

        3. 6.2.2.3 Alcoholic Beverages

        4. 6.2.2.4 Other Beverages

      3. 6.2.3 Cosmetics and Prefumery

      4. 6.2.4 Pharmaceuticals

    3. 6.3 By Country

      1. 6.3.1 United States

      2. 6.3.2 Canada

  7. 7. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 7.1 Company Profiles

      1. 7.1.1 Owens Illinois Inc.

      2. 7.1.2 Amcor Limited

      3. 7.1.3 Ardagh Packaging Group PLC

      4. 7.1.4 Piramal Glass Ltd​​.

      5. 7.1.5 Gerresheimer AG​​

      6. 7.1.6 Sonoco Products Company

      7. 7.1.7 Reynolds Packaging

      8. 7.1.8 Gallo Glass Co.

      9. 7.1.9 AptarGroup

      10. 7.1.10 Vitro SAB DE CV

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  8. 8. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  9. 9. FUTURE OF THE MARKET

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The North America Glass Packaging Market market is studied from 2019 - 2026.

The North America Glass Packaging Market is growing at a CAGR of 3.51% over the next 5 years.

Owens Illinois Inc., Ardagh Packaging Group PLC, Amcor Limited, Gerresheimer AG​​, AptarGroup are the major companies operating in North America Glass Packaging Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

North America Glass Packaging Market - Growth, Trends, Covid-19 Impact, Forecasts ((2022 - 2027)

North America Glass Packaging Market is Segmented by Type (Bottles and Containers, Vials, Ampoules, Syringe and Cartridges), End-User Vertical (Food, Beverage (Soft Drinks, Milk, Alcoholic Beverages), Cosmetics and Perfumery, Pharmaceuticals),

Market Snapshot

north america glass packaging market share
Study Period: 2019-2026
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 3.51 %
north america glass packaging market key players

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The North America Glass Packaging Market is expected to grow at a CAGR of 3.51% during the forecasted period of 2021 to 2026. COVID-19 outbreak created a growing necessity for industries in the F&B sector to focus more on hygiene and sanitization, and given the current situation, people nowadays are opting for a healthy and sustainable lifestyle. As most of the products in this sector are included in essential services, it becomes crucial for the packaging sector to follow conservative practices.

  • Alcoholic beverages dominated the glass bottles segment in the United States. A high percentage of distilled spirits and wines are packaged using glass containers, while in the beer segment, the percentage of glass containers has decreased significantly. On the other hand, in the non-alcoholic segment, glass holds a tiny percentage and is used in CSDs, milk, and newer ready-to-drink beverages.
  • In 2020, 82% of all beer was domestically produced, and 18% was imported from more than 100 different countries around the world (source: U.S. TTB and U.S. Commerce Department, 2021). The alcohol beverage marketplace and the three-tier system have evolved rapidly over the years. Since 2012, over 2,300 alcohol beverage laws have been passed around the country (Source: NBWA Industry Affairs, 2021). Such instances address the major adoption of glass packaging.
  • Glass packaging has a significant share in the overall alcoholic beverage market, and hence, with the ongoing increase in demand for alcoholic beverages, the market for glass bottles is expected to increase in the forecast period. In November 2020, Hybrid packaging supplier Berlin Packaging expanded its Canadian presence with the acquisition of packaging supplier Consolidated Bottle. The combined businesses are expected to offer even more packaging solutions and value-added services to their customers, thereby catering to the growing demand for glass bottles in the country.
  • The consumer drinks about 50% more than the worldwide average, and about 78% of Canadian adults report having consumed alcohol in the past year. Men drink more than women, and young adults are more likely to be past-year drinkers than older adults. The total volume of alcohol sold increased by 0.2% to 3,116 million liters in 2019/2020, which is equivalent to 9.5 standard drinks per week per person over the legal drinking age in Canada as per the data from Statistics Canada.

Scope of the report

Glass bottles and containers provide an ideal way to keep the consumables safe, fresh, and healthy for a longer period and ease of transportation. Glass bottles and containers are majorly used in the alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverage industry due to their ability to maintain chemical inertness, sterility, and non-permeability.

By Type
Bottles and Containers
Vials
Ampoules
Syringe and Cartridges
By End-User Vertical
Food
Beverage
Soft Drinks
Milk
Alcoholic Beverages
Other Beverages
Cosmetics and Prefumery
Pharmaceuticals
By Country
United States
Canada

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Alcoholic Beverages Expected to Witness Significant Market Share

  • According to Brewer’s Associations, in 2020, the percentage of package market for US craft beer packaging indicated that aluminum could take 81% share whereas glass packaging took 19%.
  • Smaller-sized bottles, such as those of 7-12 ounces, compose more than 90% of beer volume in glass bottles and continue to gain a share of bottled beer volume. Large-format bottles have lost their share in recent years. A few years ago, many off-premise retailers like grocery and liquor stores greatly expanded their space dedicated to large bottles such as 22 ounce or 750 milliliters. However, retailers are increasingly reallocating space to faster-moving packages.
  • Wine glass packaging manufacturers are innovating their offerings keeping in pace with the latest trends. For instance, in September 2020, Ardagh Group, Glass, North America, a business division of Ardagh Group and the domestic manufacturer of glass bottles for the US spirits market, confirmed a long-term supply agreement with Heaven Hill Brands, the independent, family-owned, and operated distilled spirits supplier, to manufacture its premium spirits bottles in the United States.
  • One of the main factors driving the growth of the market is beer consumption in the country. According to Beer Canada, the total beer sales accounted for 21.12 million hectoliters in 2020. However, the sale has fallen as compared to the year 2019. From 2019 to 2020, sales of canned beers grew by 12.3 %, while bottled beer sales decreased by 15.1 % in Canada. This challenged the market growth during a COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Moreover, wine sales rose 5.2% to CAD 7.8 billion in FY 2019/2020, which is the largest increase in eight years. While beer was the alcoholic beverage of choice across much of Canada last year, wine claimed the top spot in Quebec (44.0% of total sales) and British Columbia (34.3%). However, residents of Saskatchewan (15.2%) were least likely to buy wine (source: Statistics Canada).
north america glass packaging market growth

Vials Expected to Witness Significant Market Share

  • The US Drug Regulator gave clearance to various companies to speed up COVID-19 vaccine output with bigger vials. The US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) also authorized vaccinators to extract a maximum of 11 doses from the current vials. Further, In April 2021, the US drug regulator gave Moderna Inc. the clearance to speed up the output of its COVID-19 vaccine by letting it fill a single vial with up to 15 doses.
  • In addition, In June 2020, the US government's Biomedical Advanced Research and Development Authority (BARDA) awarded USD 204 million to Corning to expand its domestic manufacturing capacity for glass vials for COVID-19 vaccines.
  • Similarly, In June 2020. SiO2 received a contract worth USD 143 million from the US government to scale up its manufacturing capacity to 400 million doses. The company is expected to provide 120 million vials for domestic priorities and 1 billion vials by April 2021. The company also recently announced a USD 163 million expansion of its manufacturing plant in Auburn, Alabama.
  • The Government of Canada invested around USD 126 million to design, construct, commission, and qualify a new biomanufacturing facility adjacent to its Royalmount site in Montreal. The new biomanufacturing facility, called the Biologics Manufacturing Centre, will support the manufacturing of vaccines and other biologics. This is expected to boost the demand for vials in the region.
north america glass packaging market analysis

Competitive Landscape

The North America Glass Packaging is moderately consolidated, with a considerable number of regional and global players. The innovation drives the market in the product offerings and increasing investments in beverages.

  • October 2021: Owens-Illinois Glass Inc. and Krones AG of Germany signed a strategic collaboration to design glass through collaborative innovation for the expanding glass market. The focus areas of the agreement would include improvements in glass filling and the speed and efficiency of packaging lines, development of innovative and sustainable glass systems, enhanced agility and flexibility of responding to market trends, and advancements in digital solutions, such as direct-to-glass digital printing technology.
  • February 2021 - Ardagh Group launched Absolut’s latest limited-edition vodka bottle, ‘Absolut Movement,’ to inspire people in celebration of inclusivity. The frosted blue glass bottle features an upward spiral design of 16 swirls, symbolic of the never-ending cycle of change. The upward flow of the swirling spiral indicates social growth.

Recent Developments

  • June 2021: Optibac Probiotics partnered with Beatson Clark to eliminate the plastic containers of range 30 ml, 60 ml, and 120 ml and replace them with amber glass jars with aluminum lids for all capsule products. This allows for wider recycling without compromising the delicate nature of the all-important friendly bacteria inside and ensures the quality of supplements with greener packaging.
  • April 2021:Gerresheimer AG invested EUR 25 million to establish a new factory for the production of specialized products of medical glass and plastic in TIDZ Skopje. Gerresheimer started its first investment cycle in 2019, which is expected to end by 2024. As a result, the company announced the investment of a second cycle for glass packaging for medical purposes.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHTS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.2.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.2.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.2.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.2.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.2.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

    3. 4.3 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    4. 4.4 Impact of the COVID-19 on the Glass Packaging Market

  5. 5. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 5.1 Market Drivers

      1. 5.1.1 The Increasing Demand from the Food and Beverage Industry and Emergence of Premium Packaging

      2. 5.1.2 Commodity Value of Glass Increased with Recyclability

    2. 5.2 Market Restraints

      1. 5.2.1 High Competition from Substitute Packaging Solutions

      2. 5.2.2 Usage of Substitute Products (Plastic)

  6. 6. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 6.1 By Type

      1. 6.1.1 Bottles and Containers

      2. 6.1.2 Vials

      3. 6.1.3 Ampoules

      4. 6.1.4 Syringe and Cartridges

    2. 6.2 By End-User Vertical

      1. 6.2.1 Food

      2. 6.2.2 Beverage

        1. 6.2.2.1 Soft Drinks

        2. 6.2.2.2 Milk

        3. 6.2.2.3 Alcoholic Beverages

        4. 6.2.2.4 Other Beverages

      3. 6.2.3 Cosmetics and Prefumery

      4. 6.2.4 Pharmaceuticals

    3. 6.3 By Country

      1. 6.3.1 United States

      2. 6.3.2 Canada

  7. 7. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 7.1 Company Profiles

      1. 7.1.1 Owens Illinois Inc.

      2. 7.1.2 Amcor Limited

      3. 7.1.3 Ardagh Packaging Group PLC

      4. 7.1.4 Piramal Glass Ltd​​.

      5. 7.1.5 Gerresheimer AG​​

      6. 7.1.6 Sonoco Products Company

      7. 7.1.7 Reynolds Packaging

      8. 7.1.8 Gallo Glass Co.

      9. 7.1.9 AptarGroup

      10. 7.1.10 Vitro SAB DE CV

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  8. 8. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  9. 9. FUTURE OF THE MARKET

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The North America Glass Packaging Market market is studied from 2019 - 2026.

The North America Glass Packaging Market is growing at a CAGR of 3.51% over the next 5 years.

Owens Illinois Inc., Ardagh Packaging Group PLC, Amcor Limited, Gerresheimer AG​​, AptarGroup are the major companies operating in North America Glass Packaging Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!