Рынок RFID — рост, тенденции, влияние COVID-19 и прогнозы (2023–2028 гг.)

Глобальный рынок RFID сегментирован по приложениям (розничная торговля, здравоохранение и медицина, пассажирский транспорт/автомобилестроение, производство, потребительские товары (FMCG, электроника и т. д.), безопасность и контроль доступа) и по географии.

Обзор рынка

RFID Market
Study Period: 2019-2026
Fastest Growing Market: Asia-Pacific
Largest Market: Asia-Pacific
CAGR: 5.06 %

Major Players

 RFID Market Size

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

setting-icon

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and it's growth?

Обзор рынка

Мировой рынок RFID оценивался в 10,87 млрд долларов США в 2020 году, и ожидается, что к 2026 году он достигнет 14,42 млрд долларов США, что означает среднегодовой темп роста в 5,06% в течение прогнозируемого периода с 2021 по 2026 год. Управление цепочками поставок и логистика делают широкое использование технологии RFID. Технология радиочастотной идентификации на основе датчиков все чаще интегрируется в упаковку продуктов для отслеживания и отслеживания происхождения продукта и предотвращения любого источника загрязнения или несанкционированного доступа в цепочке поставок. Логистика и транспорт являются основными областями применения технологии RFID. Управление складом, управление двором, отгрузка и фрахт, а также распределительные центры — вот некоторые из областей, где обычно используется технология отслеживания RFID.

  • Радиочастотная идентификация (RFID) в первую очередь относится к беспроводной системе, состоящей из двух основных компонентов, включая метки и считыватели. Считыватель в основном представляет собой устройство, содержащее одну или несколько антенн, которые излучают радиоволны и принимают сигналы обратно от меток RFID. Метки, которые используют радиоволны для передачи своей личности и другой важной информации ближайшим читателям, могут быть пассивного или активного типа.
  • Пассивные метки RFID в основном питаются от считывателей и не имеют встроенной батареи. Однако RFID-метки активного типа питаются от батарей. Эти RFID-метки могут хранить широкий спектр информации, от одного серийного номера до нескольких страниц важных данных. Считыватели RFID предлагаются в мобильном форм-факторе, поэтому их можно переносить в руках или устанавливать на столбе или над головой.
  • Одним из наиболее распространенных применений технологии RFID является отслеживание товаров в цепочке поставок, отслеживание деталей, перемещающихся на производственную линию, отслеживание активов, безопасности и платежных систем, которые позволяют клиентам оплачивать товары без использования наличных. Кроме того, RFID часто используется в сфере здравоохранения на браслетах пациентов, чтобы обеспечить точную идентификацию с защитой от несанкционированного доступа для контроля доступа и обеспечения безопасности.
  • Более того, многочисленные распределительные центры и склады по всему миру вкладывают средства в повышение эффективности своих процессов, чтобы повысить эффективность процессов в целом в рамках своих программ улучшения. Ожидается, что такие инвестиции в рыночный ландшафт будут стимулировать рост и внедрение технологии RFID.
  • В авиационном секторе также наблюдается растущий спрос на этикетки RFID, особенно в предоставлении расширенных услуг для пассажиров, таких как отслеживание багажа в режиме реального времени. По словам Avery Dennison, внедрение этикеток на основе RFID в авиационной отрасли снизило количество случаев неправильного обращения на 13% и сократило время погрузки на рампу примерно на 4 минуты за один разворот самолета.

Объем отчета

Глобальный рынок RFID сегментирован по приложениям (розничная торговля, здравоохранение и медицина, пассажирский транспорт/автомобилестроение, производство, потребительские товары (FMCG, электроника и т. д.), безопасность и контроль доступа) и по географии.

RFID (радиочастотная идентификация) — это беспроводная система, состоящая из двух компонентов: меток и считывателей. Считыватель представляет собой устройство с антеннами, излучающими радиоволны и принимающими сигналы от RFID-меток. Теги могут быть пассивными или активными, сообщая свою личность и другую информацию ближайшим читателям с помощью радиоволн. Пассивные метки RFID не имеют батареи. Читатель приводит их в действие. Батареи обычно используются для питания активных RFID-меток.

By Technology
RFID Tags
RFID Interrogators
RFID Software/Services
Active RFID/RTLS
By Application
Retail
Healthcare and Medical
Passenger Transport/Automotive
Manufacturing
Consumer Products
Other Applications
By Geography
North America
Europe
Asia Pacific
Latin America
Middle East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Ключевые тенденции рынка

Ожидается, что розничный сегмент будет занимать основную долю рынка

  • RFID в розничной торговле предполагает использование RFID-меток на товарах, которые излучают сигналы для считывателей RFID, которые затем обрабатываются программным обеспечением, предоставляя результаты в реальном времени для транзакций, инвентаризации, уровней запасов или истории заказов на покупку отдельных клиентов. RFID в розничной торговле упрощает типичный процесс инвентаризации в розничной торговле, который выполняется вручную, отнимает много времени и выполняется только через заранее определенные интервалы времени. Отслеживание товаров — одно из основных приложений, в которых розничные торговцы используют RFID. RFID в розничной торговле также можно использовать для предотвращения краж и отслеживания предметов, которые обычно перемещаются и часто теряются.
  • Несколько компаний приняли RFID как подход к управлению запасами. В число лидеров входят Zara, H&M, Target, Macy's, Uniqlo, Nike, Adidas, Lululemon, Footlocker, Levi's, Tommy Hilfiger, Ralph Lauren и Victoria's Secret. Электронная коммерция в значительной степени подпитывает внедрение, поскольку для поддержки таких процессов, как выполнение заказов в магазине и BOPIS (покупка в Интернете, получение в магазине), требуется высокий уровень точности инвентаризации. Более адаптивные розничные продавцы внедряют новые приложения RFID, такие как оптимизация многоканальных предложений, таких как BOPIS (покупка онлайн и получение в магазине), а также улучшение прозрачности цепочки поставок и самообслуживания.
  • Товары, обработанные с помощью RFID, также делают фактические данные доступными для руководства. Это может привести к принятию более взвешенных решений о покупке и лучше контролировать расходы, поскольку точность инвентаризации имеет решающее значение для снижения убытков и, следовательно, для повышения прибыли. Использование RFID может улучшить общее управление товарами; точное отслеживание запасов и их местоположения экономит деньги. Это также увеличивает общий доход, поскольку становится легче гарантировать завершение продаж. В итоге внедрение системы обеспечивает более прибыльную работу, так как ведется более точный учет товара, где бы он ни хранился.
  • Ритейлеры по всему миру широко используют технологию RFID, особенно в сфере производства одежды. Канадская компания Logistik Unicorp использует радиочастотную идентификацию в качестве инструмента для обеспечения быстрой доставки канадской военной формы наряду с гарантией соблюдения строгих требований к качеству. Время, необходимое для доставки товаров, удалось сократить на 35%. Такие инициативы поощряют новые возможности, разработки и инициативы для RFID на рынке и снижают зависимость от розничных товаров.
  • Пандемия COVID-19 поставила перед ритейлерами новые задачи. Пандемия также подтолкнула розничных продавцов к более широкому внедрению RFID. Пандемия стала ускорителем тенденции цифровой трансформации, которая уже началась. Многоканальные розничные стратегии, направленные на удовлетворение потребностей клиентов по всем каналам продаж, стали приоритетом выживания. RFID расширил видимость товаров розничных продавцов в магазинах, на предприятиях и в распределительных центрах, чтобы удовлетворить постоянно меняющиеся запросы потребителей.
RFID Market Report

Ожидается, что Азиатско-Тихоокеанский регион станет самым быстрорастущим рынком

  • Ожидается, что Азиатско-Тихоокеанский регион будет занимать значительную долю рынка и, как ожидается, станет свидетелем значительного роста в течение прогнозируемого периода. Быстро растущие работы по внедрению и исследованиям в области автоматизации и значительное расширение индустрии 4.0 стимулировали спрос на решения RFID в регионе. Рост региона в значительной степени был обусловлен увеличением числа установок этих систем RFID на производственных предприятиях с целью повышения производительности. Растущее распространение электронных удостоверений личности и RFID-меток, размещаемых на смарт-картах, также является движущей силой роста рынка RFID в регионе.
  • Расширяющийся сектор розничной торговли наряду с растущим вниманием розничных продавцов к внедрению цифровых технологий для повышения покупательского опыта и оптимизации процесса управления складом также стал одним из ключевых факторов, способствующих росту рынка RFID. RFID была одной из эффективных технологий, используемых для обработки товаров и материалов в производственной среде. Расширение производственного ландшафта в регионе в сочетании с растущим внедрением решений для автоматизации и промышленного Интернета вещей (IIoT) в этом секторе способствует росту рынка. Также,
  • Кроме того, ожидается, что сектор общественного транспорта станет одной из областей, в которой ожидается расширение рынка в течение прогнозируемого периода. Однако некоторые ограничения ограничивают рост рынка. Более высокая стоимость, связанная с установкой систем RFID, может стать препятствием для роста рынка. Проблемы совместимости устройств также могут препятствовать росту рынка в течение прогнозируемого периода.
  • Ожидается, что такие страны, как Индия, станут свидетелями резкого роста внедрения технологии RFID по мере развития отраслей, а пандемия COVID-19 увеличивает потребность в бесконтактных решениях. Самый большой импульс развитию технологий также исходит от правительства. Например, в августе 2021 года Муниципальная корпорация Южного Дели (SDMC) объявила, что она обязала коммерческие автомобили нести метки RFID для въезда в национальную столицу. SDMC также выпустил уведомление об уплате дорожных сборов или экологических компенсаций, которые могут быть произведены только с помощью RFID-метки для коммерческих транспортных средств. Кроме того, чтобы защитить товарные запасы от магазинных краж и краж, оптимизировать работу магазинов и использовать решения для инвентаризации наряду с подсчетом трафика, китайские компании внедряют решения RFID в своих магазинах одежды, косметики,
  • Более того, согласно исследованию, проведенному Китайской ассоциацией торговли товарами общего назначения (CCAGM) в 2020 году, 84,4% из 90 крупных операторов универмагов Китая планировали изучить интеграцию O2O (онлайн в офлайн). Ожидается, что с ростом популярности O2O-интеграции магазины сосредоточатся на внедрении RFID-решений. Напротив, те, которые уже были установлены, скорее всего, сосредоточатся на улучшении своего решения по защите от кражи. В результате ожидается увеличение спроса на RFID, что будет способствовать расширению рынка.
 RFID Market Share

Конкурентная среда

Глобальный рынок RFID характеризуется умеренной конкуренцией и состоит из нескольких крупных игроков, таких как Avery Dennison Corporation, Alien Technology Corporation, CCL Industries Inc., William Frick & Company и т. д. Что касается доли рынка, то в настоящее время на нем доминируют несколько крупных игроков. Имея заметную долю на рынке, эти крупные игроки сосредоточены на расширении своей клиентской базы в зарубежных странах. Компании используют стратегические совместные инициативы, чтобы увеличить свою долю на рынке и повысить прибыльность. Ожидается, что конкуренция, быстрый технологический прогресс и частые изменения потребительских предпочтений будут представлять угрозу для роста рынка компаний в течение прогнозируемого периода.

  • Сентябрь 2021 г. — Nedap NV запустила свою облачную платформу Nedap iD, интегрированный набор решений SaaS, специально созданный для технологии RFID. Nedap iD Cloud позволяет ритейлерам и брендам обеспечивать идеальную видимость запасов с нулевыми отходами и потерями, отслеживая каждое уникальное движение товара по всей цепочке поставок и собирая данные в облачном хранилище запасов.
  • Апрель 2021 г. — Корпорация Zebra Technologies объявила об облачном предложении для стационарных RFID-решений, которое позволяет пользователю управлять считывателями и передавать данные считывания меток в облако с помощью режимов считывания. В связи с постоянной цифровой трансформацией во всем мире, которая вынуждает различные объекты внедрять облачные решения, ожидается, что внедрение облачных решений RFID предоставит компании больше возможностей.
  • Март 2021 г. — подразделение Smartrac корпорации Avery Dennison расширило семейство продуктов NFC Circus Pro, выпустив новые вкладыши Circus Pro и Circus Pro-Flex NFC с новым высокопроизводительным чипом em|linq для веб-аутентификации с защищенным сквозным брендом. решения для защиты потребительских товаров, продуктов питания и напитков, одежды и товаров для красоты.

Основные игроки

  1. Avery Dennison Corporation

  2. Alien Technology Corporation

  3. William Frick & Company

  4. Invengo Technology Pte Ltd.

  5. CCL Industries Inc.

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

Avery Dennison Corporation, Alien Technology Corporation, William Frick & Company,  Invengo Technology Pte Ltd.,  Impinj Inc.,  CCL Industries Inc.

RECENT DEVELOPMENTS

  • January 2021 - Avery Dennison Corporation unveiled its Avery Dennison Intelligent Labels Food Lab, making its debut in China with its Freshmarx Central all-in-one back-of-house data management and printing system. The company is focusing on driving digital transformation across the food industry in the post-pandemic era.
  • February 2021 - Nedap announced that Dutch fashion brand Scotch & Soda had selected them as a strategic RFID partner for Europe and North America. Scotch & Soda will deploy Nedap’s iD cloud inventory management platform throughout 162 stores globally to increase accuracy throughout the supply chain.
  • December 2020 - Presco Polymers Opco Inc. acquired William Frick & Company with the help of River Associates Investments. William Frick will hold its current name and will continue to operate in Libertyville, Illinois. Presco has been looking into providing safety marking and damage prevention products after completing the acquisition.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions​ and Market Definition​

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study​

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHT

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Industry Stakeholder Analysis

    3. 4.3 RFID Tag Types

    4. 4.4 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers​

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers

      3. 4.4.3 Threat of New Entrants​

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitutes​

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry​

    5. 4.5 RFID Regulations and Standards

    6. 4.6 RFID and IoT

    7. 4.7 Impact of COVID-19 on RFID and Allied Markets

    8. 4.8 Critical Success Factors for RFID Implementation

    9. 4.9 Gap Analysis

  5. 5. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 5.1 Market Drivers

      1. 5.1.1 Government Policies Favoring Digital Development

      2. 5.1.2 Increasing Installation of RFID in Manufacturing Units for Productivity Improvement and Security and Access Control Applications

    2. 5.2 Market Challenges

    3. 5.3 Technology Snapshot

  6. 6. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 6.1 By Technology

      1. 6.1.1 RFID Tags

      2. 6.1.2 RFID Interrogators

      3. 6.1.3 RFID Software/Services

      4. 6.1.4 Active RFID/RTLS

    2. 6.2 By Application

      1. 6.2.1 Retail

      2. 6.2.2 Healthcare and Medical

      3. 6.2.3 Passenger Transport/Automotive

      4. 6.2.4 Manufacturing

      5. 6.2.5 Consumer Products

      6. 6.2.6 Other Applications

    3. 6.3 By Geography

      1. 6.3.1 North America

      2. 6.3.2 Europe

      3. 6.3.3 Asia Pacific

      4. 6.3.4 Latin America

      5. 6.3.5 Middle East and Africa

  7. 7. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 7.1 Company Profiles

      1. 7.1.1 Avery Dennison Corporation

      2. 7.1.2 Alien Technology Corporation

      3. 7.1.3 William Frick & Company

      4. 7.1.4 Invengo Technology Pte Ltd.

      5. 7.1.5 Impinj Inc.

      6. 7.1.6 CCL Industries Inc.

      7. 7.1.7 Nedap NV

      8. 7.1.8 Zebra Technologies Corporation

      9. 7.1.9 Trace-Tech ID Solutions SL

      10. 7.1.10 Hangzhou Century Co. Ltd.

      11. 7.1.11 SML Group Limited

      12. 7.1.12 Honeywell Productivity and Workflow Solutions

      13. 7.1.13 CHILITAG Technology Ltd

      14. 7.1.14 Ceyon Technology Co. Ltd.

      15. 7.1.15 JADAK Technologies Inc.

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  8. 8. Investment analysis and market outlook

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Рынок RFID изучается с 2018 по 2028 год.

Рынок RFID растет со среднегодовым темпом роста 5,2% в течение следующих 5 лет.

Азиатско-Тихоокеанский регион демонстрирует самый высокий среднегодовой темп роста в 2018–2028 годах.

В Северной Америке самая высокая доля в 2021 году.

Avery Dennison Corporation, Alien Technology Corporation, William Frick & Company, Invengo Technology Pte Ltd., CCL Industries Inc. являются основными компаниями, работающими на рынке RFID.

close-icon
80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

RFID Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2022 - 2027)

The RFID Market is Segmented By Technology (RFID Tags, RFID Interrogators, RFID Software/Services, Active RFID/RTLS), Application (Retail, Healthcare & Medical, Passenger Transport/Automotive, Manufacturing, Consumer Products), and Geography.

Market Snapshot

RFID Market Size
Study Period: 2020-2027
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia-Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 5.2 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The RFID Market is expected to register a CAGR of 5.2% during the forecast period. Owing to the emergence of COVID-19, hospitals have been leveraging RFID technology to manage patients and employees during the pandemic more effectively. RFID tools that make use of wireless communication to identify and track assets and equipment have witnessed a strong adoption in the healthcare sector. As public health emergency continues, RFID drives efficiency and accountability for care teams.

  • Supply chain management and logistics make widespread usage of RFID technology. Sensor-based RFID technology is being increasingly integrated into the product packaging to track and trace the origin of the product and prevent any source of contamination or tampering within the supply chain. Logistics and transportation are major areas of implementation for RFID technology. Warehouse management, yard management, shipping and freight, and distribution centers are some of the areas where RFID tracking technology is usually used.
  • Radiofrequency identification (RFID) primarily refers to a wireless system comprising two major components that include tags and readers. The reader is basically a device comprising one or more antennas that emits radio waves and receive signals back from the RFID tags. The tags, which make use of radio waves to communicate their identity and other crucial information to the nearby readers, can be passive or active type.
  • The passive RFID tags are mainly powered by the readers and do not have a battery. However, the active type RFID tags are powered by batteries. These RFID tags can store a wide range of information, right from one serial number to several pages of crucial data. The RFID readers are offered in a mobile form factor so that they can be carried by hand or can either be mounted on a post or overhead.
  • One of the most common usages of RFID technology has been tracking goods in the supply chain, tracking parts moving to a manufacturing production line, tracing assets, security, and payment systems that let clientele pay for items without using cash. In addition, RFID is frequently used in the healthcare industry on patient wristbands to offer tamper-proof, exact identification for facility access control and security.
  • Moreover, multiple distribution centers and warehouses around the globe have been investing in improving their process efficiency to increase the efficiency of the overall processes as a part of their improvement programs. Such investments in the market landscape are anticipated to drive the growth and implementation of RFID technology.
  • There has also been an increasing demand in the aviation sector for RFID labels, especially in providing enhanced services for passengers, such as real-time baggage tracking. According to Avery Dennison, implementing RFID-based labels in the Aviation industry has reduced mishandling rates by 13% and has cut ramp loading time by around 4 minutes per aircraft turn.

Scope of the Report

RFID (Radio Frequency Identification) is a wireless system that comprises two components: tags and readers. The reader is a device with antennas that emit radio waves and receive signals from RFID tags. Tags are passive or active, communicating their identity and other information to nearby readers via radio waves. Passive RFID tags don't have a battery. The reader powers them. Batteries are usually used to power active RFID tags.

The RFID Market is Segmented By Technology (RFID Tags, RFID Interrogators, RFID Software/Services, Active RFID/RTLS), Application (Retail, Healthcare & Medical, Passenger Transport/Automotive, Manufacturing, Consumer Products), and Geography.

By Technology
RFID Tags
RFID Interrogators
RFID Software/Services
Active RFID/RTLS
By Application
Retail
Healthcare and Medical
Passenger Transport/Automotive
Manufacturing
Consumer Products
Other Applications
By Geography
North America
Europe
Asia Pacific
Latin America
Middle East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Retail Segment is Expected to Hold a Major Market Share

  • RFID in retail involves the utilization of RFID tags on items that emit signals to RFID readers, which are then processed by the software, providing real-time results for transactions, stock taking, inventory levels, or individual customer purchase order history. RFID in retail eases the typical retail inventory process, which is manual, time-consuming, and only performed at predetermined intervals. Item tracking is one of the major applications that retailers use RFID. RFID in retail can also be used to prevent theft and track items that are usually moved and often misplaced.
  • Several companies have adopted RFID as an approach to control inventories. Leaders include Zara, H&M, Target, Macy’s, Uniqlo, Nike, Adidas, Lululemon, Footlocker, Levi’s, Tommy Hilfiger, Ralph Lauren, and Victoria’s Secret. E-commerce is fueling much of the adoption, with high inventory accuracy levels required to support processes like store fulfillment and BOPIS (buy online, pick up in-store). More adaptive retailers are innovating new applications of RFID, such as streamlining omnichannel offerings, such as BOPIS (buy online and pick up in-store), as well as improving supply chain visibility and self-checkout.
  • RFID-processed merchandise also makes factual data available to management. It may lead to smarter purchase decisions and give management better expense control, as inventory accuracy is crucial to lowering shrinkage, thus, better profits. Usage of RFID may improve overall merchandise management; accurate tracking of inventory and its location saves money. It also drives greater topline revenues, as it becomes easier to assure that sales are completed. Bottom line, adoption of the system ensures more profitable performance, as there is a more accurate accounting of the merchandise wherever it is stored.
  • Retailers across the world have been making extensive use of RFID technology, especially in the Apparel business. The Canada-based company, Logistik Unicorp, has been using radio frequency identification as a tool to ensure that Canadian military uniforms are delivered swiftly, along with the guarantee of meeting strict quality requirements. It has been able to reduce the time required to ship goods by 35%. Such initiatives encourage new opportunities and developments and initiatives for RFID in the market and decrease the dependency on retail goods.
  • The COVID-19 pandemic has increased challenges for retailers. The pandemic also pushed retailers to adopt RFID on a much larger scale. The pandemic became an accelerator of the digital transformation trend, which was already underway. Omnichannel retail strategies to meet the customers’ needs on all sales channels became a priority for survival. RFID extended retailers’ visibility of merchandise across the stores and the enterprise and distribution centers to meet ever-changing consumer demands.
RFID Market

Asia Pacific is Expected to be the Fastest Growing Market

  • The Asia Pacific region is anticipated to hold a significant share of the market and is expected to witness significant growth over the forecast period. The rapidly increasing implementation and research work in the field of automation and a significant expansion of industry 4.0 have been driving the demand for RFID solutions in the region. The region's growth has been significantly driven by the increasing installation of these RFID systems in manufacturing units in order to improve productivity. The growing acceptance of electronic identity cards and RFID tags that are located in smart cards is also acting as a driver for the growth of the RFID market in the region.
  • The expanding retail sector, along with the rising retailers' focus on embracing digital technologies in order to enhance the customer's shopping experience and optimize the warehouse management process, has also been one of the key factors contributing to the growth of the RFID market. RFID has been one of the efficient technologies used to handle goods and materials in the production environment. The expanding manufacturing landscape in the region, coupled with the increasing adoption of automation and Industrial Internet of Things (IIoT) solutions in the sector, has been propelling the market's growth. Also, the growing investments in asset management by organizations across various verticals and the rising need for contactless infrastructure coupled with government initiatives such as smart cities will further drive the growth of the market during the forecast period.
  • Moreover, the public transportation sector is anticipated to be one of the areas in which the market is expected to expand over the forecast period. However, some restraints are limiting the growth of the market. The higher cost associated with installing RFID systems may challenge the market's growth. The device interoperability issues can also hinder the growth of the market over the forecasted period.
  • Countries such as India are expected to witness a surge in the adoption of RFID technology as industries mature, and the COVID-19 pandemic is increasing the need for contactless solutions. The biggest boost for technology is also coming from the government side. For instance, in August 2021, the South Delhi Municipal Corporation (SDMC) announced that it mandated commercial vehicles to carry RFID tags to enter the national capital. SDMC has also issued a notice regarding the payment of toll tax or environment compensation charges, which can only be made through an RFID tag for commercial vehicles. Also, to protect inventory loss from shoplifting and theft, optimize store performance, and enable inventory intelligence solutions along with traffic counting, Chinese companies have been deploying RFID solutions in their clothing stores, cosmetics stores, supermarkets, and other retail stores.
  • Moreover, in June 2022, Delhi Airport introduced a personalized baggage tag, enabled by radio frequency identification (RFID) technology, which will give passengers real-time information about when and on which belt is their check-in luggage arriving at the terminal.
  • Furthermore, in March 2022, Vistara Airlines partnered with an Ireland-based company, ASD, to deploy RFIDAeroCheck technology for quicker scans ensuring accurate data and timely information regarding upcoming requirements.
RFID Market

Competitive Landscape

The RFID Market is highly competitive and consists of several major players like Avery Dennison Corporation, Alien Technology Corporation, CCL Industries Inc., William Frick & Company, etc. The major players are focusing on expanding their customer base across foreign countries. The companies are leveraging strategic collaborative initiatives to increase their market share and increase their profitability. The competition, rapid technological advancements, and frequent changes in consumer preferences are expected to pose a threat to the market's growth of the companies during the forecast period.

  • December 2021 - Murata Manufacturing and Michelin partnered to co-develop a new generation of RFID modules that are embedded into tires. The passive RFID tags require no external power supply and will operate continuously while being driven on for extremely high mileage.
  • September 2021 - Nedap NV launched its Nedap iD Cloud Platform, an integrated suite of SaaS solutions purposefully built for RFID technology. Nedap iD Cloud enables retailers and brands to create perfect inventory visibility with zero waste and no losses by tracking every unique item movement throughout the supply chain and collecting data in a cloud-based inventory repository.
  • April 2021 - Zebra Technologies Corporation announced a cloud-based offering for fixed RFID solutions that enables the user to manage readers and get tag-read data to the cloud with the help of reading modes. With constant digital transformation across the world that is forcing various facilities to incorporate cloud-based solutions, the introduction of cloud-based RFID solutions is expected to provide more opportunities for the company.
  • March 2021 - Avery Dennison Corporation's Smartrac division extended its Circus Pro family of NFC products by launching new Circus Pro and Circus Pro-Flex NFC inlays that feature new high-performance Web Authentication em|linq chip, with secured, end-to-end brand protection solutions for Consumer-Packaged Goods, Food and Beverage, Apparel and Beauty markets.

Recent Developments

  • June 2022 - Fresenius Kabi announced that the company had enhanced its RFID portfolio of radio frequency-tagged medications to make it compatible with AmerisourceBergen's medication tray solution. The medication tray solution is designed to help hospitals improve medication inventory visibility and tracking using advanced Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) technology.
  • June 2022 - Impinj released the Impinj E910 Rain RFID reader chip for enterprise-grade readers that can discover and engage a high volume of connected items such as retail apparel, pallets, airline baggage, and automobile parts. The features of the chip include low power consumption and ease of use needed for loss prevention, inventory management, and supply-chain automation solutions.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions​ and Market Definition​

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study​

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHT

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Industry Stakeholder Analysis

    3. 4.3 RFID Tag Types

    4. 4.4 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers​

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers

      3. 4.4.3 Threat of New Entrants​

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitutes​

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry​

    5. 4.5 RFID Regulations and Standards

    6. 4.6 RFID and IoT

    7. 4.7 Impact of COVID-19 on RFID and Allied Markets

    8. 4.8 Critical Success Factors for RFID Implementation

    9. 4.9 Gap Analysis

  5. 5. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 5.1 Market Drivers

      1. 5.1.1 Government Policies Favoring Digital Development

      2. 5.1.2 Increasing Installation of RFID in Manufacturing Units for Productivity Improvement and Security and Access Control Applications

    2. 5.2 Market Challenges

  6. 6. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 6.1 By Technology

      1. 6.1.1 RFID Tags

      2. 6.1.2 RFID Interrogators

      3. 6.1.3 RFID Software/Services

      4. 6.1.4 Active RFID/RTLS

    2. 6.2 By Application

      1. 6.2.1 Retail

      2. 6.2.2 Healthcare and Medical

      3. 6.2.3 Passenger Transport/Automotive

      4. 6.2.4 Manufacturing

      5. 6.2.5 Consumer Products

      6. 6.2.6 Other Applications

    3. 6.3 By Geography

      1. 6.3.1 North America

      2. 6.3.2 Europe

      3. 6.3.3 Asia Pacific

      4. 6.3.4 Latin America

      5. 6.3.5 Middle East and Africa

  7. 7. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 7.1 Company Profiles

      1. 7.1.1 Avery Dennison Corporation

      2. 7.1.2 Alien Technology Corporation

      3. 7.1.3 William Frick & Company

      4. 7.1.4 Invengo Technology Pte Ltd.

      5. 7.1.5 Impinj Inc.

      6. 7.1.6 CCL Industries Inc.

      7. 7.1.7 Nedap NV

      8. 7.1.8 Zebra Technologies Corporation

      9. 7.1.9 Trace-Tech ID Solutions SL

      10. 7.1.10 Hangzhou Century Co. Ltd.

      11. 7.1.11 SML Group Limited

      12. 7.1.12 Honeywell Productivity and Workflow Solutions

      13. 7.1.13 CHILITAG Technology Ltd

      14. 7.1.14 Ceyon Technology Co. Ltd.

      15. 7.1.15 JADAK Technologies Inc.

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  8. 8. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  9. 9. FUTURE OF THE MARKET

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The RFID Market market is studied from 2020 - 2027.

The RFID Market is growing at a CAGR of 5.2% over the next 5 years.

Asia-Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

North America holds highest share in 2021.

Avery Dennison Corporation, Alien Technology Corporation, William Frick & Company, Invengo Technology Pte Ltd., CCL Industries Inc. are the major companies operating in RFID Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!