Markt für Schutzverpackungen – Wachstum, Trends, Auswirkungen von COVID-19 und Prognosen (2022 – 2027)

Der Markt für Schutzverpackungen ist nach Materialtyp (Kunststoff, Papier und Pappe), Produkt (starr, flexibel und Schaum), vertikaler Endbenutzer (Lebensmittel und Getränke, Industrie, Pharmazie, Unterhaltungselektronik, Schönheit und Haushaltspflege) und unterteilt Erdkunde.

Markt-Snapshot

Protective Packaging Market Overview
Study Period: 2018 - 2026
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: Asia Pacific
CAGR: 5.4 %
Protective Packaging Market Key Players

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Marktübersicht

Der Markt für Schutzverpackungen wurde im Jahr 2020 auf 30,56 Mio. USD geschätzt, und es wird erwartet, dass er bis 2026 einen Wert von 41,65 Mio. USD bei einer CAGR von 5,4 % im Prognosezeitraum von 2021 bis 2026 erreichen wird Entwicklung und Innovation, hat eine bedeutende Rolle bei der Entwicklung und Einführung von Verpackungsprodukten der neuen Generation gespielt. Diese Schutzverpackungsprodukte haben sich zu intelligenten Produkten entwickelt, und die Reduzierung der Preise für Sensoren, Netzwerke und Kommunikationsgeräte hat den Markt vergrößert.

  • Der zunehmende Trend des Online-Kaufs durch Verbraucher treibt die Veränderungen in Produktdesign, Verpackung, Kommissionierung, Abwicklung und Versand voran. Daher gilt der Produktschutz als eines der kritischsten Themen. Das exponentielle Wachstum des E-Commerce, kombiniert mit den technologischen Fortschritten bei den Verpackungsmaterialoptionen, verändert in erster Linie die Art und Weise, wie die meisten Unternehmen die richtige Lösung auswählen. Die wichtigsten berücksichtigten Punkte sind die Leistung, Kostenüberlegungen aufgrund von Materialverbesserungen, Verpackungsanforderungen, Liefersysteme, die On-Demand-Verpackungen erstellen, und Nachhaltigkeit
  • Mehrere Unternehmen haben in den letzten Jahren versucht, ihre Verpackungslösungen zu rationalisieren und zu optimieren, was zur Entwicklung von Schutzverpackungen geführt hat. Die alten traditionellen Methoden gelten immer noch als effektiv und weit verbreitet. Die jüngsten Fortschritte bei Materialien und Ausrüstung haben jedoch die Einführung von Schutzverpackungen in der nächsten Generation vorangetrieben. Darüber hinaus erleben automatisierte Verpackungslösungen eine zunehmende Akzeptanz, da sie Arbeitsaufwand und Abfall reduzieren und gleichzeitig die Verarbeitungsgeschwindigkeiten für Verpackungen mit hohem Volumen erhöhen.'
  • Der Markt ist Zeuge ständiger Bemühungen und erhöhter Investitionen zur Entwicklung umweltfreundlicher und nachhaltiger Verpackungsmaterialien, die recycelt und wiederverwendet werden können. Die Papiermailer gewinnen durch ihre umweltfreundlichen Eigenschaften, wie beispielsweise eine bessere Recyclingfähigkeit, an Bedeutung. Dies ist einer der signifikanten Trends in entwickelten Märkten wie Nordamerika, wo strenge Umweltvorschriften gelten und Recyclingprogramme in großem Umfang eingesetzt werden.
  • Auch die steigende Nachfrage nach Unterhaltungselektronik in verschiedenen Regionen und die zunehmende Smartphone-Durchdringung erhöhen den Bedarf an Schutzverpackungen für diese Produkte, da die Anbieter bestrebt sind, ihre Produkte unbeschadet an die Verbraucher zu liefern. Die richtige Auswahl von Schutzverpackungslösungen hängt in erster Linie von der Art des zu verpackenden Produkts ab, wie z. B. Unterhaltungselektronik und Lebensmittel, sowie von den Umgebungsbedingungen, vor denen das Produkt geschützt werden soll. Auswahlfaktoren können Produkttyp, Material, Spezifikationen und andere Merkmale umfassen
  • Speziell für die Marktnachfrage haben die Schutzverpackungsmaterialien des neuen Zeitalters zu einer erhöhten Kundenbindung und Nachhaltigkeit geführt. Im gegenwärtigen Marktszenario konzentrieren sich Produkthersteller intensiv darauf, ein positives Erlebnis für ihre Endverbraucher zu schaffen. Die Kundenbindung für ein Unternehmen ist von Vorteil, da ein zufriedener Kunde das Image des Unternehmens in hohem Maße verdient und dazu beiträgt, das Vertrauen potenzieller und potenzieller Kunden zu gewinnen.

Umfang des Berichts

Die zwei Arten von Materialien, die für Schutzverpackungen verwendet werden, sind Kunststoff und Papier und Pappe. Sie sind so konzipiert und konstruiert, dass sie die Ware vor atmosphärischen, magnetischen und elektrostatischen Vibrationen oder Stößen schützen. Die betrachteten Studien befassen sich mit Markttrends, Wachstum und geschätzten Zahlen des Marktes, segmentiert nach Materialtyp, Produkten und Endbenutzervertikalen, nach Geographie, die Nordamerika, Europa, den asiatisch-pazifischen Raum und den Rest der Welt abdecken.

By Material Type
Plastic
Paper and Paperboard
Other Material Types
By Product
Rigid
Corrugated Paperboard Protectors
Molded Pulp
Insulated Shipping Containers
Other Product Types
Flexible
Protective Mailers
Bubble Wraps
Air Pillows/Air Bags
Paper Fill
Other Flexible Materials(Foil Pouches/Bags, Stretch and Shrink Films, etc.)
Foam
Molded Foam
Foam in Place (FIP)
Loose Fill
Foam Rolls/Sheets
Other Types of Foam (Corner Blocks, etc.)
By End-user Vertical
Food and Beverage
Industrial
Pharmaceuticals
Consumer Electronics
Beauty and Home Care
Other End-user Verticals
Geography
North America
Europe
Asia-Pacific
Latin America
Middle-East & Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Wichtige Markttrends

Es wird erwartet, dass Schutzverpackungen auf Kunststoffbasis einen erheblichen Marktanteil einnehmen werden

  • Kunststoff bleibt der am häufigsten verwendete Rohstoff für Verpackungen und nimmt daher den höchsten Marktanteil unter allen Rohstoffen ein, die von den Herstellern in der Verpackungsindustrie eingesetzt werden. Kunststoff bietet Herstellern die Flexibilität, kostengünstig zu sein. Seine inerte Natur gegenüber den darin gelagerten Inhalten hat es ermöglicht, es zum Verpacken von Produkten in bestimmten Branchen zu verwenden.
  • Kunststoff ist nach wie vor das am häufigsten verwendete Material für die Schutzverpackung von Produkten in verschiedenen Branchen. Fortschrittliche Verpackungsmaterialien wie Polypropylen können eine hohe Barriere gegen Verunreinigungen und Temperaturen bieten und dadurch das verpackte Produkt vor Beschädigungen schützen. Die weite Verbreitung von Kunststoffverpackungen in der Lebensmittel- und Getränkeindustrie, zu denen Tüten, Beutel, Schrumpffolien, Hüllen und Schläuche gehören, vor allem aufgrund ihrer Flexibilität, ihres geringen Gewichts und ihrer Haltbarkeit, sind einige der Faktoren, die weiterhin für Nachfrage sorgen können für die Schutzverpackungslösungen aus Kunststoff.
  • Die Nachfrage der Verbraucher nach umweltfreundlichen Produkten für Verpackungen ist jedoch deutlich gestiegen. Dies hat zu einem kritischen Rückgang des Einsatzes von Kunststoffen in der Verpackungsindustrie geführt. Die Hersteller haben Wert darauf gelegt, die Verbraucheranforderungen zu erfüllen, indem sie sich mit Umweltbelangen auseinandersetzen und Produkte entwickeln, die recycelt werden können, wobei biologisch und oxo-abbaubare Optionen auf den Markt kommen.
Protective Packaging Market Share

Für Europa wird eine stetige Wachstumsrate erwartet

  • Die E-Commerce-Branche hat sich im europäischen Raum bereits als bedeutender Vertriebskanal für ein umfassendes Produktportfolio etabliert, das von Lebensmitteln und Getränken über Unterhaltungselektronik bis hin zu Haushalts- und Schönheitspflegeprodukten reicht. Darüber hinaus haben die steigenden Online-Verkäufe zum Wachstum des Marktes für Schutzverpackungslösungen beigetragen, da diese Lösungen es den Anbietern ermöglichen, die sichere Lieferung ihrer online verkauften Produkte zu gewährleisten
  • Darüber hinaus haben technologische Fortschritte, die zur Entwicklung von recycelbaren Materialien für Schutzverpackungen geführt haben, die Nachfrage nach diesen effektiven und nachhaltigen Verpackungslösungen in verschiedenen Ländern der Region stark angekurbelt. Diese steigende Nachfrage nach nachhaltigen Schutzverpackungslösungen wird voraussichtlich das Wachstum des Marktes vorantreiben.
  • Die europäische Region verfügt über eine bedeutende Unterhaltungselektronikindustrie, die durch die hochtechnologische Konnektivitätsumgebung unterstützt wird. Mit der fortschreitenden Technologie erhöht der steigende Trend von Smart Homes und Büros die Nachfrage nach Unterhaltungselektronik und treibt den Markt an.
  • Darüber hinaus konzentrieren sich die Anbieter in der Region auf Produktinnovationen. Beispielsweise hat Macfarlane im September 2019 eine biologisch abbaubare Verpackungsschutzlösung für Weinflaschen auf den Markt gebracht. Das Flexi-Hex-Produkt wird hauptsächlich aus recycelten Materialien hergestellt, ist biologisch abbaubar und plastikfrei. Sein Design besteht aus einem Wabenhüllenschutz im Ziehharmonika-Stil, der zum Schutz eine schlagfeste Schicht um die Flaschen herum bildet.
  • Einige der Hauptantriebskräfte für das Wachstum des Marktes für Schutzverpackungen in Europa sind die verstärkte Betonung der Produktqualität, der stetige Anstieg der Produktionsleistung in ganz Europa und das Wachstum in den Branchen der Endverbraucher wie Lebensmittel und Getränke, Gesundheitswesen sowie Schönheit und Körperpflege Pflege
  • Deutschland ist beispielsweise einer der führenden Märkte der Schutzverpackungsindustrie in Europa. Ein geringes Angebot und sinkende Gewinnspannen führten zu einem erheblichen Wandel in der deutschen Verpackungsindustrie, der es Herstellern/Verkäufern ermöglichte, kreative und innovative Verpackungslösungen einzusetzen, um den Umsatz zu steigern. Die hohe Beschäftigungsquote und die robuste Wirtschaftslage haben die Kaufkraft Deutschlands erhöht und damit die Nachfrage nach der Verpackungsindustrie in der Region angekurbelt.
  • Die Entwicklung recycelbarer Materialien für Schutzverpackungen hat die Verbrauchernachfrage nach effektiven und nachhaltigen Verpackungslösungen im Land vorangetrieben. Es wird erwartet, dass diese Nachfrage nach Verpackungen das Wachstum des Marktes im Land vorantreiben wird.
  • Darüber hinaus werden die Produkthersteller wahrscheinlich weiterhin eine höhere Nachfrage an Verpackungsunternehmen ausüben, um ihre Preise zu senken, um das Gleichgewicht zwischen Innovation und Produktkosten zu halten. Es wird erwartet, dass ein größeres Verbraucherbewusstsein, das Aufkommen neuer Materialien und F&E-Tätigkeiten der etablierten Marktteilnehmer den Weg für innovative Produkte im Prognosezeitraum ebnen werden.
Protective Packaging Market Growth Rate By Region

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Die Wettbewerbslandschaft des Schutzverpackungsmarktes ist mäßig fragmentiert und besteht aus verschiedenen Anbietern, die diese Produkte und Lösungen anbieten. Anbieter auf dem Markt konzentrieren sich auf Fusions- und Übernahmeaktivitäten, um Marktanteile zu gewinnen.

  • Mai 2019 – Sealed Air Corporation gab die Unterzeichnung einer endgültigen Vereinbarung zur Übernahme von Automated Packaging Systems Inc. (APS), einem Hersteller von automatischen Verpackungssystemen, für einen Gesamtpreis von 510 Millionen USD bekannt. Es wird erwartet, dass APS Sealed Air Corp. mit hochgradig komplementären und additiven Fähigkeiten ausstattet, einschließlich Fachwissen in den Bereichen Engineering, Automatisierungstechnologie und Nachhaltigkeit, was die Schutzverpackungslösungen des Unternehmens stärken könnte.
  • Juni 2019 – Warburg Pincus, eine globale Private-Equity-Gesellschaft, vereinbarte die Übernahme von Pregis LLC, einem Hersteller von Schutzverpackungsmaterialien und automatisierten Systemen, von Olympus Partners mit Hauptsitz in Stamford, Connecticut.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHTS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview (Addendum on Void Reduction)

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Increasing Trend of E-Commerce

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

      1. 4.3.1 Alternative Forms of Packaging

    4. 4.4 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.4.4 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

      5. 4.4.5 Threat of Substitute Products

    5. 4.5 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    6. 4.6 Assessment of COVID-19 impact on the industry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Material Type

      1. 5.1.1 Plastic

      2. 5.1.2 Paper and Paperboard

      3. 5.1.3 Other Material Types

    2. 5.2 By Product

      1. 5.2.1 Rigid

        1. 5.2.1.1 Corrugated Paperboard Protectors

        2. 5.2.1.2 Molded Pulp

        3. 5.2.1.3 Insulated Shipping Containers

        4. 5.2.1.4 Other Product Types

      2. 5.2.2 Flexible

        1. 5.2.2.1 Protective Mailers

        2. 5.2.2.2 Bubble Wraps

        3. 5.2.2.3 Air Pillows/Air Bags

        4. 5.2.2.4 Paper Fill

        5. 5.2.2.5 Other Flexible Materials(Foil Pouches/Bags, Stretch and Shrink Films, etc.)

      3. 5.2.3 Foam

        1. 5.2.3.1 Molded Foam

        2. 5.2.3.2 Foam in Place (FIP)

        3. 5.2.3.3 Loose Fill

        4. 5.2.3.4 Foam Rolls/Sheets

        5. 5.2.3.5 Other Types of Foam (Corner Blocks, etc.)

    3. 5.3 By End-user Vertical

      1. 5.3.1 Food and Beverage

      2. 5.3.2 Industrial

      3. 5.3.3 Pharmaceuticals

      4. 5.3.4 Consumer Electronics

      5. 5.3.5 Beauty and Home Care

      6. 5.3.6 Other End-user Verticals

    4. 5.4 Geography

      1. 5.4.1 North America

      2. 5.4.2 Europe

      3. 5.4.3 Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.4.4 Latin America

      5. 5.4.5 Middle-East & Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE INTELLIGENCE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 Intertape Polymer Group Inc.

      2. 6.1.2 Pregis Corporation

      3. 6.1.3 Riverside Paper Co.

      4. 6.1.4 Sealed Air Corporation

      5. 6.1.5 Signode Protective Packaging Solutions

      6. 6.1.6 Sonoco Products Company

      7. 6.1.7 Smurfit Kappa Group

      8. 6.1.8 Huhtamaki Group

      9. 6.1.9 DS Smith PLC

      10. 6.1.10 International Paper Company

      11. 6.1.11 Pro-Pac Packaging Limited

      12. 6.1.12 Storopack Hans Reichenecker Gmbh

      13. 6.1.13 Crown Holdings Inc.

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  8. 8. FUTURE OF THE MARKET

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Der Markt für Schutzverpackungen wird von 2018 bis 2026 untersucht.

Der Markt für Schutzverpackungen wächst in den nächsten 5 Jahren mit einer CAGR von 5,4 %.

Der asiatisch-pazifische Raum wächst zwischen 2021 und 2026 mit der höchsten CAGR.

Asien-Pazifik hält 2021 den höchsten Anteil.

Intertape Polymer Group Inc., Sealed Air Corporation, Sonoco Products Company, Smurfit Kappa Group plc, DS Smith plc sind die wichtigsten Unternehmen, die auf dem Markt für Schutzverpackungen tätig sind.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Protective Packaging Market - Growth, Trends, and Forecasts (2020-2025)

The Protective Packaging Market is segmented by Material Type (Plastic, Paper and Paperboard), Product (Rigid, Flexible, and Foam), End-user Vertical (Food and Beverage, Industrial, Pharmaceutical, Consumer Electronics, Beauty and Home Care), and Geography.

Market Snapshot

Study Period:

2020-2025

Base Year:

2019

Fastest Growing Market:

Asia Pacific

Largest Market:

Asia Pacific

CAGR:

4.77 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The protective packaging market was valued at USD 25.78 billion in 2019, and it is expected to reach a value of USD 34.08 billion by 2025 at a CAGR of 4.77% during the forecast period of 2020 to 2025. Logistics and material handling technology, with its development and innovation, has played a significant role in the evolution and adoption of new generation packaging products. These protective packaging products have evolved to be smart, and the reduction in the price of sensors, networks, and communicating devices has augmented the market.

  • The increasing trend of online purchasing by consumers drives the changes in product design, packaging, picking, fulfillment, and shipping. As a result, product protection is considered one of the most critical issues. The exponential growth of e-commerce, combined with the technological advancements in packaging material options, is primarily changing the way most companies choose the right solution. The main points considered are the performance, cost considerations driven by material improvements, packaging needs, delivery systems that create on-demand packaging, and sustainability
  • Several businesses have attempted to streamline and optimize their packaging solutions in the past few years, which resulted in the evolution of protective packaging. The old traditional methods are still considered to be effective and commonly used. However, the recent advancements in materials and equipment have boosted the adoption of protective packaging into the next generation. Moreover, automated packaging solutions are witnessing an increase in the adoption, as they reduce labor and waste while increasing processing speeds for high volume packaging.'
  • The market is witnessing constant efforts and increased investment to develop eco-friendly and sustainable packaging materials, which can be recycled and reused. The paper mailers are gaining traction due to their eco-friendly qualities, such as better suitability for recycling. This is one of the significant trends in the developed markets, such as North America, where stringent environmental regulations are in place, and recycling programs are extensively employed.
  • Also, the increasing demand for consumer electronics across various regions and increasing smartphone penetration, the need for protective packaging of these products is rising, as the vendors aim to deliver their products to consumers without any damage. The proper selection of protective packaging solutions primarily depends on the type of product that is being packaged, such as consumer electronics and food, as well as the environmental conditions from which the product should be protected. Selection factors may include product type, material, specifications, and other features
  • Specific to market demand, the new -age protective packaging materials have led to increased customer retention and sustainability. In the present market scenario, product manufacturers are intensively focusing on creating a positive experience for their end-users. Customer retention for a business is beneficial as a satisfied customer is highly worthy of the company's image and helps gain the trust of prospective and potential customers.

Scope of the Report

The two types of materials used for protective packaging are plastic and paper and paperboard. They are designed and constructed to protect the goods from atmospheric, magnetic, and electrostatic vibrations or shocks. The studies under consideration deal with market trends, growth, and estimated numbers of the market segmented by material type, products, and end-user verticals, by geography covering North America, Europe, Asia-pacific, and the Rest of the world.

By Material Type
Plastic
Paper and Paperboard
Other Material Types
By Product
Rigid
Corrugated Paperboard Protectors
Molded Pulp
Insulated Shipping Containers
Other Product Types
Flexible
Protective Mailers
Bubble Wraps
Air Pillows/Air Bags
Paper Fill
Other Flexible Materials(Foil Pouches/Bags, Stretch and Shrink Films, etc.)
Foam
Molded Foam
Foam in Place (FIP)
Loose Fill
Foam Rolls/Sheets
Other Types of Foam (Corner Blocks, etc.)
By End-user Vertical
Food and Beverage
Industrial
Pharmaceuticals
Consumer Electronics
Beauty and Home Care
Other End-user Verticals
Geography
North America
Europe
Asia-Pacific
Latin America
Middle-East & Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Plastic-based Protective Packaging is Expected to Occupy Significant Market Share

  • Plastic remains the most used raw material for packaging, and hence, it occupies the highest market share among all the raw materials deployed by the manufacturers in the packaging industry. Plastic provides the flexibility of being cost-effective to manufacturers. Its inert nature to the contents being stored in it has allowed it to be utilized for packaging products in specific industry verticals.
  • Plastic continues to be the most used material for the protective packaging of products across various industries. Advanced packaging materials, such as polypropylene, can provide a high barrier against contamination and temperatures, thereby protecting the packaged product from being damaged. The wide adoption of plastic packaging in the food and beverage industry, which includes bags, pouches, shrink films, sleeves, and tubes, primarily owing to their flexibility, low weight, and durability, are some of the factors that may continue to create demand for the plastic protective packaging solutions.
  • However, there has been a significant rise in demand from consumers for eco-friendly products to be used for packaging. This has led to a critical decline in the usage of plastics in the packaging industry. Manufacturers have emphasized meeting the consumer demands by addressing the environmental concerns and developing products that can be recycled, with bio- and oxo-degradable options venturing into the market.

To understand key trends, Download Sample Report

Europe is Expected to Execute a Steady Growth Rate

  • The e-commerce industry has already established itself as a significant sales channel for a comprehensive portfolio of products, ranging from food and beverages to consumer electronics and home and beauty care products in the European region. Additionally, the rising online sales have helped in the growth of the market for protective packaging solutions, as these solutions enable the vendors to ensure the safe delivery of their products sold online
  • Further, technological advancements, leading to the development of recyclable materials for protective packaging, have majorly driven the demand for these effective and sustainable packaging solutions in various countries in the region. This increasing demand for sustainable protective packaging solutions is expected to drive the growth of the market.
  • The European region has a significant consumer electronics industry, which is supported by the high technological connectivity environment. With the advancing technology, the rising trend of smart homes and offices is augmenting the demand for consumer electronics, driving the market.
  • Furthermore, the vendors in the region are focusing on product innovation. For instance, in September 2019, Macfarlane launched a biodegradable packaging protection solution for wine bottles. The Flexi-Hex product is primarily made from recycled materials, and it is biodegradable and plastic-free. Its design comprises a concertina style honeycomb sleeve protector that forms an impact-resistant layer around bottles for protection.
  • Some of the major drivers for the growth of the protective packaging market in Europe include increased emphasis on product quality, steady rise in manufacturing output across Europe, and growth in end-user verticals, such as food and beverage, healthcare, and beauty and personal care
  • For instance, Germany is one of the leading markets in the protective packaging industry in Europe. Low supply and decreasing profit margins led to a considerable transformation in the German packaging industry, enabling manufacturers/vendors to adopt creative and innovative packaging solutions to boost sales. High employment levels and the robust economic situation have increased Germany's purchasing power, thus fueling the demand for the packaging industry in the region.
  • The development of recyclable materials for protective packaging has driven the consumer demand for effective and sustainable packaging solutions in the country. This demand for packaging is expected to drive the growth of the market in the country.
  • Additionally, the product manufacturers are likely to continue to exert a higher demand for packaging firms to reduce their prices to retain the balance between innovation and product costs. Greater consumer awareness, the emergence of new materials, and R&D operations undertaken by market incumbents are expected to pave the way for innovative products over the forecast period.

To understand geography trends, Download Sample Report.

Competitive Landscape

The competitive landscape of the protective packaging market is moderately fragmented and consists of various vendors providing these products and solutions. Vendors in the market are focusing on merger and acquisition activities to capture the market share.

  • May 2019 - Sealed Air Corporation announced the signing of a definitive agreement to acquire Automated Packaging Systems Inc. (APS), a manufacturer of automated bagging systems, for an overall price of USD 510 million. APS is anticipated to bring highly complementary and additive capabilities to Sealed Air Corp., including expertise in engineering, automation technology, and sustainability, which may strengthen the company’s protective packaging solutions.
  • June 2019 - Warburg Pincus, a global private equity firm, agreed to acquire Pregis LLC, a protective packaging materials and automated systems manufacturer, from Olympus Partners, headquartered in Stamford, Connecticut.

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Table Of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHTS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview (Addendum on Void Reduction)

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Increasing Trend of E-Commerce

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

      1. 4.3.1 Alternative Forms of Packaging

    4. 4.4 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.4.4 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

      5. 4.4.5 Threat of Substitute Products

    5. 4.5 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    6. 4.6 Assessment of COVID-19 impact on the industry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Material Type

      1. 5.1.1 Plastic

      2. 5.1.2 Paper and Paperboard

      3. 5.1.3 Other Material Types

    2. 5.2 By Product

      1. 5.2.1 Rigid

        1. 5.2.1.1 Corrugated Paperboard Protectors

        2. 5.2.1.2 Molded Pulp

        3. 5.2.1.3 Insulated Shipping Containers

        4. 5.2.1.4 Other Product Types

      2. 5.2.2 Flexible

        1. 5.2.2.1 Protective Mailers

        2. 5.2.2.2 Bubble Wraps

        3. 5.2.2.3 Air Pillows/Air Bags

        4. 5.2.2.4 Paper Fill

        5. 5.2.2.5 Other Flexible Materials(Foil Pouches/Bags, Stretch and Shrink Films, etc.)

      3. 5.2.3 Foam

        1. 5.2.3.1 Molded Foam

        2. 5.2.3.2 Foam in Place (FIP)

        3. 5.2.3.3 Loose Fill

        4. 5.2.3.4 Foam Rolls/Sheets

        5. 5.2.3.5 Other Types of Foam (Corner Blocks, etc.)

    3. 5.3 By End-user Vertical

      1. 5.3.1 Food and Beverage

      2. 5.3.2 Industrial

      3. 5.3.3 Pharmaceuticals

      4. 5.3.4 Consumer Electronics

      5. 5.3.5 Beauty and Home Care

      6. 5.3.6 Other End-user Verticals

    4. 5.4 Geography

      1. 5.4.1 North America

      2. 5.4.2 Europe

      3. 5.4.3 Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.4.4 Latin America

      5. 5.4.5 Middle-East & Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE INTELLIGENCE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 Intertape Polymer Group Inc.

      2. 6.1.2 Pregis Corporation

      3. 6.1.3 Riverside Paper Co.

      4. 6.1.4 Sealed Air Corporation

      5. 6.1.5 Signode Protective Packaging Solutions

      6. 6.1.6 Sonoco Products Company

      7. 6.1.7 Smurfit Kappa Group

      8. 6.1.8 Huhtamaki Group

      9. 6.1.9 DS Smith PLC

      10. 6.1.10 International Paper Company

      11. 6.1.11 Pro-Pac Packaging Limited

      12. 6.1.12 Storopack Hans Reichenecker Gmbh

      13. 6.1.13 Crown Holdings Inc.

  7. 7. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  8. 8. FUTURE OF THE MARKET

** Subject to Availability

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Related Reports