玻璃瓶和容器市场 - 增长、趋势、COVID-19 影响和预测(2022 - 2027 年)

玻璃瓶和容器市场按最终用户垂直(饮料、食品、化妆品、制药)和地理细分。

市场快照

Glass Bottles Containers Market Overview
Study Period: 2020-2027
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Middle-East and Africa
Largest Market: Asia Pacific
CAGR: 4.4 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

市场概况

玻璃瓶及容器市场2020年产量为6305.2亿件,预计到2027年将达到8835.2亿件,2022-2027年复合年增长率为4.40%。COVID-19 的爆发使餐饮行业越来越需要更多地关注卫生和消毒,鉴于目前的情况,如今的人们正在选择健康和可持续的生活方式。由于该行业的大多数产品都包含在基本服务中,因此包装行业遵循保守做法变得至关重要。

  • 啤酒等酒精饮料占据了市场的最大份额,因为玻璃不会与饮料中存在的化学物质发生反应,因此可以保留这些饮料的香气、强度和风味,使其成为包装的有利选择。由于这个原因,大部分啤酒是用玻璃瓶运输的,预计这一趋势将在研究期间持续下去。玻璃包装是 100% 可回收的,从环境角度来看,这使其成为理想的包装选择。6吨再生玻璃直接节约资源6吨,减少二氧化碳排放1吨。
  • 推动市场增长的主要因素之一是全球啤酒消费量的增加。啤酒是使用玻璃瓶包装的酒精饮料之一。它装在深色玻璃瓶中以保存内容物,当暴露在紫外线下时容易变质。
  • 此外,消费者越来越喜欢由小型和大型啤酒厂在当地酿造的精酿啤酒。这一趋势导致玻璃包装制造商调整生产,在某些情况下,甚至转向其他增长领域,例如食品和饮料。与塑料等其他包装选择相比,高级食品和饮料品牌更喜欢玻璃(容器玻璃),因为玻璃具有化学惰性、无孔和不渗透性。餐厅和品酒室的销售额约占酒厂平均销售额的 43% 2020 年 4 月。当政府在大流行期间发布就地避难令时,这两个渠道都关闭了。弹性生产商立即演变为电话销售、电子商务和路边取货等策略。到 2020 年 11 月,转变的幅度显而易见,
  • 2021 年 2 月,与 Loblaw Inc 合作,Loop 可重复使用/可回收包装平台在加拿大推出,为一系列食品和家居产品带来无浪费购物。此外,标志性的亨氏番茄酱(玻璃)瓶也可在 Loop 上使用。此外,卡夫亨氏加拿大公司最近的一项调查(2020 年 12 月 9 日至 15 日对 1,521 名加拿大人进行了在线调查)表明,尽管成本增加,但加拿大人偏爱更可持续的选择。近 65% 的受访者努力选择具有可持续包装选项的品牌。
  • 在过去的几年里,食品包装的透明度呈上升趋势。除了标签上列出的成分外,消费者还希望在购买前看到实物产品。为了抓住这一趋势,许多公司,尤其是乳制品公司,已经开始提供装在透明玻璃容器中的产品。
  • 来自塑料金属等替代包装的激烈竞争正在挑战市场的增长。塑料包装解决方案的逐步进步正在对所研究的市场构成威胁。这主要归因于塑料的普及,例如聚对苯二甲酸乙二醇酯 (PET),作为玻璃瓶的替代品。

报告范围

玻璃瓶和容器市场按最终用户垂直(饮料、食品、化妆品和药品)和地理区域进行细分。

玻璃瓶和容器提供了一种理想的方式来保持耗材的安全、新鲜和健康,从而延长使用期限并便于运输。玻璃瓶和容器主要用于酒精和非酒精饮料行业,因为它们能够保持化学惰性、无菌性和非渗透性。

End-user Vertical
Bevarages
Alcoholic
Beer and Cider
Wine and Spirits
Other Alcoholic
Non-alcoholic
Carbonated Soft Drinks
Milk
Water and Other Non-alcoholic (Juices, etc.)
Food
Cosmetics
Pharmaceutical
Other End-user Verticals
Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Europe
United Kingdom
Germany
France
Italy
Spain
Poland
Russia
Rest of Europe
Middle-East and Africa
United Arab Emirates
Saudi Arabia
South Africa
Rest of Middle-East and Africa
Asia-Pacific
China
India
Japan
South Korea
Rest of Asia-Pacific (SEA, ANZ etc.)

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

主要市场趋势

牛奶预计将占据重要的市场份额

根据欧洲大学的几项研究,旧玻璃奶瓶似乎正在卷土重来。在过去的两年里,每台装有玻璃瓶的牛奶自动售货机已经在北爱尔兰出现,并且还在继续。除了可持续性之外,健康意识是促使客户改用玻璃的另一个因素。来自《国家地理》、《时代》、《商业内幕》、《卫报》和《纽约时报》等权威来源的研究,以及世界各地大学甚至美国食品药品监督管理局发表的无数研究论文,都凸显了使用与玻璃瓶的相对优势特性相比,塑料瓶。

2021 年 6 月,总部位于英国的超市 Morrisons 决定将传统的玻璃奶瓶带回其肯特七家商店的货架上。一品脱的瓶子将由奶牛场运送到超市,一旦被顾客退回,将被收集和消毒,以使其可以重复使用,可能长达 10 年。Morrisons 表示,它已承诺到 2025 年将自有品牌的初级塑料包装减少 50%,现在 Morrisons 超过 83% 的自有品牌塑料包装可以回收利用。

此外,COVID-19 大流行帮助增加了对玻璃杯上门送奶的需求。英国最大的传统牛奶配送公司 Milk & More 新增了 175,000 名在线客户,销售额从 1.56 亿英镑增长到 1.86 亿英镑,增长了 20%。该业务还提供杂货,现在在英格兰大部分地区拥有 400,000 名客户,其中 90% 的人注册了玻璃瓶,每品脱牛奶的价格为 81 便士,高于塑料容器中平均每品脱 50 便士的价格。DiaryDrop 总部位于 Alderly Edge,在柴郡拥有 3,000 名客户,该公司宣布玻璃奶瓶配送趋势发生重大逆转。另一家总部位于柴郡的牛奶供应商 Creamline Dairies 见证了自去年以来收到玻璃瓶运送的人数增加了 85%。

泛英国公司 Milk & More 和东伦敦乳业巨头 Parker Dairies 见证了对玻璃瓶的需求大幅增长。来自伦敦的大多数乳制品厂都提到,这种变化主要来自他们的年轻消费者,他们的家人似乎更愿意为这项服务多付一点钱,而不是为了保护环境而购买塑料制品。该公司还提供可再填充奶瓶的服务。完成并冲洗后,Milk & More 可以从门口收集瓶子,重新装满,然后重复使用。

此外,许多乳制品厂一直在采用玻璃瓶包装牛奶,以增加销量和品牌知名度。例如,苏格兰的奶牛场 Mossgiel Farm 在将塑料牛奶容器换成玻璃瓶后,其牛奶销量大幅增长,几乎翻了一番。

Global Glass Bottles and Containers Market

预计亚太地区将占据最大市场份额

  • 由于对制药和化学工业的需求增加,由于玻璃瓶的惰性,它们更喜欢玻璃包装,与其他国家相比,预计亚太地区的增长率将显着提高。中国、印度、日本和澳大利亚等国家是对亚太地区玻璃包装市场增长做出重大贡献的主要国家。
  • 中国是世界上最大的医药市场之一。与许多工业化国家相比,其整体医疗保健支出仍然不大。该国正在稳步提高其国内药物研发技能以及国内药物生产,使政府能够为越来越多的中国人提供负担得起的医疗保健。作为建立具有国际竞争力的本土生物制药产业的长期目标的一部分,中国政府正在给予税收和其他财政优势。北京的国家卫生战略目前重视效率和创新中心的建设,这两者都得到了财政激励措施的支持。
  • 三大创新中心——上海附近的张江高科技园区、苏州生物湾和深圳创新中心,深圳创新中心通常被称为中国的硅谷,因为它已经是华为等全球公司的所在地——是政府在此采取措施的主要支柱。因此,容器市场的国内参与者有潜在的增长机会,因为他们可能会遇到这些公司对玻璃瓶和容器的需求增加。此外,多年来,中国的酒精消费量显着增加。根据巴西银行 Banco do Nordeste 的数据,到 2021 年,中国的酒精饮料消费量预计将达到 541.2 亿升。此外,
  • 此外,美容产品出口已成为韩国最赚钱的业务之一。据《韩国先驱报》发表的一篇文章称,韩国国际贸易协会(KITA)的数据显示,2019年前七个月,韩国化妆品对华出口增长了两倍多,在中国市场排名第二。韩国化妆品行业每年通过 Nature Republic、Etude House、Missha 和 Tony Moly 等商店的销售额约为 100 亿美元。对中国和东南亚的出口一直在快速增长,许多游客直接前往该国的这些商店。
  • 韩国美容产品之所以受欢迎,是因为它们的高性能、有趣的包装和感官提示,以及实惠的价格。通过赢得博主、视频博主和媒体的关注,K-beauty 浪潮正在向亚洲以外的零售商蔓延。这是该国化妆品出口增加的主要原因,进一步推动了化妆品包装市场。因此,化妆品行业的增长正在推动合作和伙伴关系,并有望在预测期内推动韩国的玻璃瓶和容器市场。
  • 2021年3月,香水和化妆品玻璃制造商Verescence收购了韩国玻璃包装商Pacifglas,并与爱茉莉太平洋建立了长期合作伙伴关系。Verescence 在欧洲和北美的三个玻璃生产基地和四个装饰基地每年生产 5 亿瓶。Verescence 打算在这个坚实的基础上发展成为泛亚洲的领导者,投资于技术和产能以满足对高端玻璃日益增长的需求。
  • 2021年6月,国际美容包装制造商和供应商Quadpack任命韩国包装制造商LM为“Quadpack官方合作伙伴”,帮助公司拓展亚洲市场。除了 2 月份宣布的与 Yuga 在中国的交易外,Quadpack 正在新的区域运营模式下建立合作伙伴关系,以帮助扩大 Quadpack 品牌、提高市场份额、改善本地服务并与利益相关者分享价值。
 Global Glass Bottles & Containers Market

竞争格局

玻璃瓶和容器市场竞争激烈且分散。这个市场上的几家主要公司是 Owens-Illinois Inc.、Hindustan National Glass & Industries Ltd、Vitro、SAB De CV、Amcor Ltd 等。这些拥有强大分销渠道的成熟供应商在市场上占有一席之地研究过。

  • 2021 年 11 月 - Saverglass 在加利福尼亚州费尔菲尔德开设了一个新的 430,000 平方英尺的多服务仓库,为葡萄酒和酒类公司提供快速访问一系列玻璃瓶服务的机会。该公司在加利福尼亚州经营了三十多年,在纳帕附近经营着多个仓库,以满足客户不断增长的需求。这个新的多功能仓库展示了公司致力于为客户提供卓越的服务和创新的现代玻璃瓶解决方案。
  • 2021 年 11 月 - Verescence 宣布推出 Verre Infini 20(无限玻璃),这是一种新的玻璃成分,旨在扩大 Verescence 在全球范围内的 PCR1 玻璃制造能力。这种创新组合物结合了 20% PCR 和玻璃色调,旨在满足高档企业的视觉需求。这种已经在法国和西班牙制造的玻璃成分将在 2022 年第一季度在美国和 2023 年在韩国逐步实施。
  • 2021 年 10 月 - Vitro 宣布投资约 7000 万美元,用于在墨西哥州托卢卡的 Vitro 工厂建造一座新的 Container 熔炉。新熔炉将提供额外的产能,以支持我们的客户及其对玻璃容器不断增长的需求,在我们参与的地区和细分市场提供更高水平的服务。

竞争格局

玻璃瓶和容器市场竞争激烈且分散。这个市场上的几家主要公司是 Owens-Illinois Inc.、Hindustan National Glass & Industries Ltd、Vitro、SAB De CV、Amcor Ltd 等。这些拥有强大分销渠道的成熟供应商在市场上占有一席之地研究过。

  • 2021 年 11 月 - Saverglass 在加利福尼亚州费尔菲尔德开设了一个新的 430,000 平方英尺的多服务仓库,为葡萄酒和酒类公司提供快速访问一系列玻璃瓶服务的机会。该公司在加利福尼亚州经营了三十多年,在纳帕附近经营着多个仓库,以满足客户不断增长的需求。这个新的多功能仓库展示了公司致力于为客户提供卓越的服务和创新的现代玻璃瓶解决方案。
  • 2021 年 11 月 - Verescence 宣布推出 Verre Infini 20(无限玻璃),这是一种新的玻璃成分,旨在扩大 Verescence 在全球范围内的 PCR1 玻璃制造能力。这种创新组合物结合了 20% PCR 和玻璃色调,旨在满足高档企业的视觉需求。这种已经在法国和西班牙制造的玻璃成分将在 2022 年第一季度在美国和 2023 年在韩国逐步实施。
  • 2021 年 10 月 - Vitro 宣布投资约 7000 万美元,用于在墨西哥州托卢卡的 Vitro 工厂建造一座新的 Container 熔炉。新熔炉将提供额外的产能,以支持我们的客户及其对玻璃容器不断增长的需求,在我们参与的地区和细分市场提供更高水平的服务。

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.2.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.2.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers

      3. 4.2.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.2.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.2.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

    3. 4.3 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    4. 4.4 Industry Policies

    5. 4.5 Market Drivers

      1. 4.5.1 Improved Technology Offering Better Solutions

      2. 4.5.2 Sustainability and Recyclability Initiatives Moving Packagers and Consumer Brands to Glass Packaging

    6. 4.6 Market Restraints

      1. 4.6.1 High Carbon Footprint due to Glass Manufacturing

      2. 4.6.2 Operation and Logistical Concerns

  5. 5. INFLUENCE OF COVID-19 ON GLASS BOTTLES AND CONTAINERS MARKET

  6. 6. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 6.1 End-user Vertical

      1. 6.1.1 Bevarages

        1. 6.1.1.1 Alcoholic

          1. 6.1.1.1.1 Beer and Cider

          2. 6.1.1.1.2 Wine and Spirits

          3. 6.1.1.1.3 Other Alcoholic

        2. 6.1.1.2 Non-alcoholic

          1. 6.1.1.2.1 Carbonated Soft Drinks

          2. 6.1.1.2.2 Milk

          3. 6.1.1.2.3 Water and Other Non-alcoholic (Juices, etc.)

      2. 6.1.2 Food

      3. 6.1.3 Cosmetics

      4. 6.1.4 Pharmaceutical

      5. 6.1.5 Other End-user Verticals

    2. 6.2 Geography

      1. 6.2.1 North America

        1. 6.2.1.1 United States

        2. 6.2.1.2 Canada

      2. 6.2.2 Europe

        1. 6.2.2.1 United Kingdom

        2. 6.2.2.2 Germany

        3. 6.2.2.3 France

        4. 6.2.2.4 Italy

        5. 6.2.2.5 Spain

        6. 6.2.2.6 Poland

        7. 6.2.2.7 Russia

        8. 6.2.2.8 Rest of Europe

      3. 6.2.3 Middle-East and Africa

        1. 6.2.3.1 United Arab Emirates

        2. 6.2.3.2 Saudi Arabia

        3. 6.2.3.3 South Africa

        4. 6.2.3.4 Rest of Middle-East and Africa

      4. 6.2.4 Asia-Pacific

        1. 6.2.4.1 China

        2. 6.2.4.2 India

        3. 6.2.4.3 Japan

        4. 6.2.4.4 South Korea

        5. 6.2.4.5 Rest of Asia-Pacific (SEA, ANZ etc.)

  7. 7. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 7.1 Company Profiles

      1. 7.1.1 Owens-Illinois Inc.

      2. 7.1.2 Vidrala SA

      3. 7.1.3 Ardagh Packaging Group PLC

      4. 7.1.4 Wiegand-Glas GmbH

      5. 7.1.5 Verallia Packaging SAS (Horizon Holdings II SAS)

      6. 7.1.6 Vetropack Holding Ltd

      7. 7.1.7 Stolzle Glass Group (CAG Holding GmbH)

      8. 7.1.8 Gaasch Packaging (UK) Ltd

      9. 7.1.9 Beatson Clark Limited

      10. 7.1.10 Vitro SAB de CV

      11. 7.1.11 Consol glass (Pty) Ltd

      12. 7.1.12 Glassworks International Limited

      13. 7.1.13 Gerresheimer AG

      14. 7.1.14 Middle East Glass Manufacturing Co SAE

      15. 7.1.15 Crestani SRL

      16. 7.1.16 BA VIDRO SA ( BA Glass BV)

      17. 7.1.17 PGP Glass Private Limited

      18. 7.1.18 Verescence France

      19. 7.1.19 SGD SA (SGD Pharma)

      20. 7.1.20 Saver Glass SAS

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  8. 8. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  9. 9. FUTURE OF THE MARKET

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Glass Bottles and Containers Market market is studied from 2020 - 2027.

The Glass Bottles and Containers Market is growing at a CAGR of 4.4% over the next 5 years.

Middle-East and Africa is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

Asia Pacific holds highest share in 2021.

Owens-Illinois Inc., Ardagh Packaging Group Plc, Vidrala, S.A., Verallia Packaging SAS (Horizon Holdings II SAS) , Wiegand-Glas GmBH are the major companies operating in Glass Bottles and Containers Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Glass Bottles and Containers Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2022 - 2027)

The Glass Bottles and Containers Market is segmented by End-user Vertical (Beverages, Food, Cosmetics, Pharmaceutical) and Geography.

Market Snapshot

glass bottles containers market
Study Period: 2020-2027
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Middle-East and Africa
Largest Market: Asia Pacific
CAGR: 4.4 %
 glass container market

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The glass bottles and containers market, with a production of 630.52 billion units in 2020, is expected to reach 883.52 billion units by 2027, registering a CAGR of 4.40% during 2022-2027. The COVID-19 outbreak created a growing necessity for industries in the F&B sector to focus more on hygiene and sanitization, and given the current situation, people nowadays are opting for a healthy and sustainable lifestyle. As most of the products in this sector are included in essential services, it becomes crucial for the packaging sector to follow conservative practices.

  • Alcoholic drinks, like beer, accounted for the largest segment of the market, as glass does not react with the chemicals present in drinks and, therefore, preserves the aroma, strength, and flavor of these beverages, making it a favorable option for packaging. Due to this reason, a majority of the beer volume is transported in glass bottles, and this trend is expected to continue over the study period. Glass packaging is 100% recyclable, which makes it a desirable packaging option from the environmental point of view. 6 ton of recycled glass directly save 6 ton of resources and reduce the emission of CO2 by 1 ton.
  • One of the main factors driving the growth of the market is the increase in beer consumption worldwide. Beer is one of the alcoholic beverages that use glass bottles for packaging. It is packed in dark-colored glass bottles to preserve the contents, which are prone to spoilage when exposed to UV light.
  • Besides, consumers increasingly prefer craft beer brewed locally by small and large breweries. This trend has led glass packaging manufacturers to adjust their production and, in some cases, even switch to other growth areas, such as food and beverage. Premium food and beverage brands prefer glass (container glass) over other packaging options, such as plastic, as glass is chemically inert, non-porous, and impermeable.​ Restaurant and tasting room sales made up about 43% of the average winery’s sales in April 2020. When the government issued shelter-in-place orders during the pandemic, both these channels were closed. Resilient producers immediately evolved to phone sales, e-commerce, and curbside pickup, among other tactics. By November 2020, the magnitude of the shift was apparent, with online sales showing the most significant total change (source: SVB Financial Group).
  • In February 2021, the Loop Reusable/Returnable Packaging platform was launched in Canada in partnership with Loblaw Inc to bring waste-free shopping for a range of food and household products. Also, the iconic Heinz Ketchup (Glass) Bottle is made available on the Loop. Additionally, a recent survey (1,521 Canadians were surveyed online from December 9-15, 2020) by Kraft Heinz Canada showcased that Canadians have preferences for more sustainable options, despite an incremental cost. Almost 65% of respondents made an effort to choose brands that come in sustainable packaging options.
  • There has been an increasing trend of transparency in food packaging over the past few years. Going beyond the listed ingredients on the label, consumers also want to see the physical product before purchase. In order to capture this trend, many companies, especially dairy product companies, have started offering their products in transparent glass containers.
  • High competition from substitute packaging like plastic metal is challenging the market’s growth. Incremental advancements in plastic packaging solutions are posing a threat to the market studied. This can be primarily attributed to the popularity of plastics, such as polyethylene terephthalate (PET), as substitutes for glass bottle formats.

Scope of the Report

The glass bottles and containers market is segmented by end-user vertical (beverages, food, cosmetics, and pharmaceutical) and geography.

Glass bottles and containers provide an ideal way to keep the consumables safe, fresh, and healthy for a longer period and ease of transport. Glass bottles and containers are majorly used in the alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverage industry due to their ability to maintain chemical inertness sterility, and non-permeability.

End-user Vertical
Bevarages
Alcoholic
Beer and Cider
Wine and Spirits
Other Alcoholic
Non-alcoholic
Carbonated Soft Drinks
Milk
Water and Other Non-alcoholic (Juices, etc.)
Food
Cosmetics
Pharmaceutical
Other End-user Verticals
Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Europe
United Kingdom
Germany
France
Italy
Spain
Poland
Russia
Rest of Europe
Middle-East and Africa
United Arab Emirates
Saudi Arabia
South Africa
Rest of Middle-East and Africa
Asia-Pacific
China
India
Japan
South Korea
Rest of Asia-Pacific (SEA, ANZ etc.)

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Milk is Expected to Account for a Significant Market Share

According to several studies by European universities, the old glass milk bottle appears to be making a comeback. Milk vending machines, each containing glass bottles, have been popping up across Northern Ireland over the last two years and continue to do so. Apart from sustainability, health consciousness is another factor that is compelling customers to switch to glass. Studies from authoritative sources, such as National Geographic, Time, Business Insider, The Guardian, and the New York Times, along with countless research papers published by universities across the world and even the US Food and Drug Administration, have highlighted the drawbacks of using plastic bottles when compared to the relatively advantageous traits of glass bottles.

In June 2021, the UK-based supermarket Morrisons decided to bring traditional glass milk bottles back to the shelves of seven of its Kent stores. The one-pint bottles will be delivered to supermarkets by the dairy farms and, once returned by customers, will be collected and sanitized to enable them to be reused, possibly for up to 10 years. Morrisons says it has committed to a 50% reduction across its own-brand primary plastic packaging by 2025, with over 83% of Morrisons' own-brand plastic packaging now able to be recycled.

Moreover, the COVID-19 pandemic helped in the surge in demand for doorstep milk delivery in the glass. Britain’s biggest traditional milk delivery company, Milk & More, added 175,000 new online customers, helping sales to grow by 20 % from GBP 156 million to GBP 186 million. The business, which also delivers groceries, now has 400,000 customers across much of England, with 90 % signing up for glass bottles that cost 81p for a pint of milk, more than the average 50p-a-pint in plastic containers. DiaryDrop, based in Alderly Edge, which has 3,000 customers in Cheshire, announced a significant reversal in the glass milk bottle delivery trend. Another Cheshire-based milk supplier, Creamline Dairies, witnessed an increase of 85% in the number of people getting glass bottles delivered since last year.

The Pan-UK company, Milk & More, and East-London dairy giant, Parker Dairies, witnessed a substantial increase in the demand for glass bottles. Most dairies from London mentioned that the change is mostly from their younger consumers, whose families seem more willing to pay a little extra for the service rather than the plastic in their efforts to help the environment. The company also provides services offering refillable milk bottles. Once finished and rinsed, the bottles can be collected from doorsteps by Milk & More to be refilled and then reused.

Moreover, many dairies have been adopting glass bottle packaging for milk to increase sales and brand recognition. For instance, Mossgiel Farm, a dairy farm in Scotland, has seen an impressive increase in popularity, almost doubling its milk sales, after swapping its plastic milk containers for glass bottles.

glass container market trends

Asia-Pacific is Expected to Hold the Largest Market Share

  • The Asia-Pacific region is expected to register a significant growth rate compared to other nations owing to an increase in demand for pharmaceutical and chemical industries, which prefer glass packaging because of the inert nature of glass bottles. China, India, Japan, and Australia, among others, are the prominent nations majorly contributing to the growth of the Asia Pacific glass packaging market.
  • China is one of the world's largest pharmaceutical markets. In comparison to many industrialized countries, its overall healthcare spending is still modest. The country is steadily improving its domestic drug research and development skills, as well as its domestic medication production, allowing the government to provide affordable health care to an increasing number of Chinese people. As part of a long-term aim to establish an internationally competitive homegrown biopharmaceutical industry, the Chinese government is granting tax and other financial advantages. Beijing's national health strategy currently places a premium on efficiency and the construction of innovation centers, both of which are aided by financial incentives.
  • Three vast centers of innovation – the Zhangjiang Hi-Tech Park near Shanghai, the BioBay in Suzhou, and the Shenzhen innovation hub, which is often referred to as China's Silicon Valley for pharma companies because it is already home to global companies such as Huawei – are the main pillars of the government's approach here. Hence, there is a potential growth opportunity for the domestic players in the containers market as they might experience an increase in demand for glass bottles and containers from these companies. Additionally, alcohol consumption in China is significantly increasing over the years. As per Brazil-based bank Banco do Nordeste, consumption of alcoholic beverages in China is expected to reach 54.12 billion liters in 2021. Also, many alcoholic beverage companies are seeking to expand in the country to seize the opportunity.
  • Additionally, the exportation of beauty products has become one of South Korea's most profitable businesses. According to an article published in the Korean Herald, the data from the Korea International Trade Association (KITA) showed that South Korean cosmetic exports to China more than tripled in the first seven months of 2019, ranking second in the Chinese market. The South Korean cosmetic industry boasts about USD 10 billion in sales annually through stores, such as Nature Republic, Etude House, Missha, and Tony Moly. Exports to China and Southeast Asia have been growing at a rapid pace, and many tourists head straight to these shops in the country.
  • The popularity of South Korean beauty products is due to their high performance, coupled with fun packaging and sensorial cues, as well as affordable prices. By winning the attention of bloggers, vloggers, and the media, the K-beauty wave is spreading to retailers outside of Asia. This has been the primary reason for the increase in exports of the country's cosmetic products, which is further propelling the market for cosmetic packaging. Thus, growth in the cosmetic sector is driving collaborations and partnerships and is expected to drive the glass bottle and containers market in South Korea over the forecast period.
  • In March 2021, Verescence, a glass manufacturer for perfumery and cosmetics, acquired Pacifglas, a South Korean glass packager, and formed a long-term partnership with Amorepacific. Verescence's three glass production sites and four decoration locations in Europe and North America manufacture 500 million bottles every year. Verescenceintends to build on this strong foundation to become a pan-Asian leader, investing in technology and capacity to meet the growing demand for high-end glass.
  • In June 2021, Quadpack, an international beauty packaging manufacturer and provider, named LM, a Korean packaging manufacturer, as a "QuadpackOfficial Partner" to help the company expand into the Asian market. Quadpack is forming partnerships under a new, regional operating model to help expand the Quadpackbrand, boost market share, improve local service, and share value with stakeholders, in addition to the deal with Yuga in China announced in February.
glass bottle manufacturers

Competitive Landscape

The glass bottles and containers market is highly competitive and fragmented. A few of the major companies in this market are Owens-Illinois Inc., Hindustan National Glass & Industries Ltd, Vitro, S.A.B. De CV, Amcor Ltd, etc. These established vendors with strong access to distribution channels have a strong foothold in the market studied.

  • November 2021 - Saverglass opened a new 430,000 square-foot multi-service warehouse in Fairfield, California, to provide wine and alcohol companies fast access to a spectrum of glass bottle services. With more than three decades in California, the company operates multiple warehouses near Napa to meet the customers' increasing demand. This new multi-service warehouse demonstrates the company's dedication to providing exceptional service and creative and modern glass bottle solutions to its clients.
  • November 2021 - Verescence announced the launch of Verre Infini 20 (Infinite Glass), a new glass composition designed to expand Verescence's PCR1 glass manufacturing capabilities worldwide. This innovative composition combines 20% PCR with a glass tint designed to meet the visual needs of upscale businesses. This glass composition, which is already being made in France and Spain, will be gradually implemented in the United States in the first quarter of 2022 and in South Korea in 2023.
  • October 2021 - Vitro announced an investment of approximately USD 70 million for the construction of a new Container furnace at the Vitro plant in Toluca, State of Mexico. The new furnace will provide additional capacity to support our customers and their growing requirements for glass containers, providing a higher level of service in the regions and segments where we participate.

Recent Developments

  • February 2022 - Stoelzle Oberglas, headquarters of the Stoelzle Glass Group, successfully completed the rebuild and expansion of its flint furnace, a EUR 22 million investment, which focused on making the production site more efficient and also more sustainable in terms of energy efficiency and CO2 emissions. The new flint furnace will reach a daily capacity of around 270 tons of melted glass. The state-of-the-art melting technology will reduce the amount of energy used in the melting process by an estimated 13% per ton of glass.
  • October 2021 - Owens-Illinois (O-I), a glass packaging company, announced to spend BRL 990 million (USD 178.8 million) on two new facilities in Brazil. The investment is part of a USD 680 million package from the world's largest container glassmaker that will be made between 2022 and 2024 to enhance production in areas with limited supply and introduce a technology that will alter the glass manufacturing process.
  • Aug 2021 - ALPLA Group announced the acquisition of Wolf Plastics Group to expand its product portfolio and increase its presence in Central and Southeastern Europe. The company intends to use Wolf Plastic’s expertise in the manufacture of plastic buckets and canisters to expand its product portfolio.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.2.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.2.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers

      3. 4.2.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.2.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.2.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

    3. 4.3 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    4. 4.4 Industry Policies

    5. 4.5 Market Drivers

      1. 4.5.1 Improved Technology Offering Better Solutions

      2. 4.5.2 Sustainability and Recyclability Initiatives Moving Packagers and Consumer Brands to Glass Packaging

    6. 4.6 Market Restraints

      1. 4.6.1 High Carbon Footprint due to Glass Manufacturing

      2. 4.6.2 Operation and Logistical Concerns

  5. 5. INFLUENCE OF COVID-19 ON GLASS BOTTLES AND CONTAINERS MARKET

  6. 6. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 6.1 End-user Vertical

      1. 6.1.1 Bevarages

        1. 6.1.1.1 Alcoholic

          1. 6.1.1.1.1 Beer and Cider

          2. 6.1.1.1.2 Wine and Spirits

          3. 6.1.1.1.3 Other Alcoholic

        2. 6.1.1.2 Non-alcoholic

          1. 6.1.1.2.1 Carbonated Soft Drinks

          2. 6.1.1.2.2 Milk

          3. 6.1.1.2.3 Water and Other Non-alcoholic (Juices, etc.)

      2. 6.1.2 Food

      3. 6.1.3 Cosmetics

      4. 6.1.4 Pharmaceutical

      5. 6.1.5 Other End-user Verticals

    2. 6.2 Geography

      1. 6.2.1 North America

        1. 6.2.1.1 United States

        2. 6.2.1.2 Canada

      2. 6.2.2 Europe

        1. 6.2.2.1 United Kingdom

        2. 6.2.2.2 Germany

        3. 6.2.2.3 France

        4. 6.2.2.4 Italy

        5. 6.2.2.5 Spain

        6. 6.2.2.6 Poland

        7. 6.2.2.7 Russia

        8. 6.2.2.8 Rest of Europe

      3. 6.2.3 Middle-East and Africa

        1. 6.2.3.1 United Arab Emirates

        2. 6.2.3.2 Saudi Arabia

        3. 6.2.3.3 South Africa

        4. 6.2.3.4 Rest of Middle-East and Africa

      4. 6.2.4 Asia-Pacific

        1. 6.2.4.1 China

        2. 6.2.4.2 India

        3. 6.2.4.3 Japan

        4. 6.2.4.4 South Korea

        5. 6.2.4.5 Rest of Asia-Pacific (SEA, ANZ etc.)

  7. 7. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 7.1 Company Profiles

      1. 7.1.1 Owens-Illinois Inc.

      2. 7.1.2 Vidrala SA

      3. 7.1.3 Ardagh Packaging Group PLC

      4. 7.1.4 Wiegand-Glas GmbH

      5. 7.1.5 Verallia Packaging SAS (Horizon Holdings II SAS)

      6. 7.1.6 Vetropack Holding Ltd

      7. 7.1.7 Stolzle Glass Group (CAG Holding GmbH)

      8. 7.1.8 Gaasch Packaging (UK) Ltd

      9. 7.1.9 Beatson Clark Limited

      10. 7.1.10 Vitro SAB de CV

      11. 7.1.11 Consol glass (Pty) Ltd

      12. 7.1.12 Glassworks International Limited

      13. 7.1.13 Gerresheimer AG

      14. 7.1.14 Middle East Glass Manufacturing Co SAE

      15. 7.1.15 Crestani SRL

      16. 7.1.16 BA VIDRO SA ( BA Glass BV)

      17. 7.1.17 PGP Glass Private Limited

      18. 7.1.18 Verescence France

      19. 7.1.19 SGD SA (SGD Pharma)

      20. 7.1.20 Saver Glass SAS

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  8. 8. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  9. 9. FUTURE OF THE MARKET

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Glass Bottles and Containers Market market is studied from 2020 - 2027.

The Glass Bottles and Containers Market is growing at a CAGR of 4.4% over the next 5 years.

Middle-East and Africa is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

Asia Pacific holds highest share in 2021.

Owens-Illinois Inc., Ardagh Packaging Group Plc, Vidrala, S.A., Verallia Packaging SAS (Horizon Holdings II SAS) , Wiegand-Glas GmBH are the major companies operating in Glass Bottles and Containers Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!