Markt für biologisch abbaubare Kunststoffverpackungen – Wachstum, Trends, Auswirkungen von COVID-19 und Prognosen (2022 – 2027)

Der Markt für biologisch abbaubare Kunststoffverpackungen ist nach Typ (Kunststoff auf Stärkebasis, Kunststoff auf Zellulosebasis, Polymilchsäure und Polyhydroxyalkanoate), Anwendung (Lebensmittel, Getränke, Pharmazeutika und Körperpflege/Haushaltspflege) und Geografie unterteilt.

Markt-Snapshot

Biodegradable Plastic Packaging Solutions Market Overview
Study Period: 2018 - 2026
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Europe
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 20.7 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Marktübersicht

Der Markt für biologisch abbaubare Kunststoffverpackungen wurde 2020 auf 2,77 Mrd. USD geschätzt und soll bis 2026 8,53 Mrd. USD erreichen und im Prognosezeitraum (2021–2026) mit einer CAGR von 20,7 % wachsen.

  • Die zunehmenden Umweltbedenken in Bezug auf die Verwendung von Kunststoff (da Kunststoffe giftige Schadstoffe enthalten, die Pflanzen, Tieren und Menschen schaden) treiben die Verwendung von biologisch abbaubaren Kunststoffalternativen voran. Schwimmende Plastikabfälle, die Tausende von Jahren im Wasser überleben, können als Transportmittel für invasive Arten dienen, die Lebensräume zerstören. Dieser oben genannte Faktor trägt zum Wachstum des Marktes bei.
  • Die strengen Vorschriften verschiedener Regierungen und Bundesbehörden mit dem Ziel, Kunststoffabfälle zu reduzieren und die Verwendung von biologisch abbaubaren Kunststoffen in Verpackungen zu fördern, steigern die Nachfrage auf diesem Markt. Die Vorschriften in Bezug auf grüne Verpackungen nehmen zu. Infolgedessen müssen verschiedene FMCG-Unternehmen biologisch abbaubare Verpackungen einführen, um die Standards zu erfüllen, was wiederum das Wachstum dieses Marktes vorantreibt.
  • Hohe Kosten (im Vergleich zu normalem Kunststoff) hemmen jedoch das Wachstum des Marktes, da biologisch abbaubarer Kunststoff aus Pflanzenstärke hergestellt wird und seine Zersetzung bestimmte Bedingungen wie Temperatur, Bakterien, Feuchtigkeit usw. erfordert (die möglicherweise nicht verfügbar sind). die meisten Müllhalden und Deponien).

Umfang des Berichts

Die biologisch abbaubaren Kunststoffe werden in der Verpackungsindustrie sehr häufig verwendet, da sie umweltfreundlich sind. Mit den steigenden Rohölpreisen und den Problemen im Zusammenhang mit erdölbasierten Kunststoffen (wie Entsorgung und effizientes Abfallmanagement) nimmt die Verwendung von biologisch abbaubarem Kunststoff als Alternative (in verschiedenen Anwendungen wie FMCG, Krankenhaus und Fertigung) zu. Dieser oben genannte Faktor treibt das Wachstum des Marktes voran.  

By Type
Starch Based plastic
Cellulose Based Plastics
Polylactic Acid (PLA)
Polyhydroxyalkanoates (PHA)
Other Plastic Types
By Application
Food
Beverage
Pharmaceutical
Personal/Homecare
Other Applications
Geography
North America
Europe
Asia-Pacific
Latin America
Middle East & Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Wichtige Markttrends

Die Verwendung von Biokunststoffen stimuliert das Marktwachstum

  • Das übergreifende Problem des Klimawandels und die zukünftig zu erwartende Verknappung fossiler Ressourcen haben die Suche nach besseren Konzepten für Kunststoffverpackungen beschleunigt. Biokunststoffverpackungen bieten die gleichen Eigenschaften wie herkömmliche Verpackungen. Es bietet auch mehr Nachhaltigkeit. 
  • Biokunststoffverpackungen zum Verpacken von Bio-Lebensmitteln sowie Premium- und Markenprodukten mit besonderen Anforderungen werden stark nachgefragt. Eine Kombination von Recyclingkomponenten aus konventionellen Kunststoffen wie rPET mit Biokunststoffen (biobasiertes PET) ermöglicht eine leistungsstarke Verarbeitung von Biokunststoffverpackungen. Biologisch abbaubare Lebensmittelverpackungen, die als industriell kompostierbar zertifiziert wurden, waren das erste erfolgreich vermarktete Biokunststoffprodukt. 
  •  Die Anwendungen von Biokunststoffen für Kosmetikverpackungen von kompakten Pudern, Cremes und Lippenstiften sowie Getränkeflaschen nehmen zu. In diesem Bereich kommen Materialien wie PLA, biobasiertes PE oder biobasiertes PET zum Einsatz. Der hohe Anteil an biobasiertem Material in diesen Produkten sowie die Kombinierbarkeit mit Rezyklaten aus herkömmlichem PE und PET führten zu einer entscheidenden Steigerung der Ressourceneffizienz und der Reduzierung von CO2-Emissionen. Es wird erwartet, dass diese Faktoren das Wachstum des Marktes in Zukunft ankurbeln werden.
  • Die Einzelhändler in Europa wie Rossmann, Aldi, Coop und Carrefour verwenden Einweg- oder Mehrwegtragetaschen aus Biokunststoff mit dem zusätzlichen Plus der biologischen Abbaubarkeit. Die zertifiziert biologisch abbaubaren/kompostierbaren Becher werden auch bei Großveranstaltungen oder in großen Fußballstadien in ganz Europa verwendet.
Biodegradable Plastic Packaging Solutions Market Key Trends

Für Europa wird im Prognosezeitraum eine erhebliche Wachstumsrate erwartet

  • Der Übergang zu einer kohlenstoffarmen Kreislaufwirtschaft, eine stärkere politische Unterstützung der Bioökonomie und ein gesteigertes Verbraucherbewusstsein für nachhaltige Produkte und Verpackungen treiben die Expansion des Marktes in Europa voran.
  • Die Entscheidung der Europäischen Union, den Gesamtverbrauch dünner Plastiktüten in der Region bis 2019 um etwa 80 % im Vergleich zu den Verbrauchswerten von 2010 zu reduzieren, wird voraussichtlich in den nächsten fünf Jahren enorme Wachstumschancen für die Hersteller von biologisch abbaubaren Kunststoffen schaffen. 
  • Die Nachfrage nach biologisch abbaubaren Kunststoffen erlebt einen deutlichen Anstieg aus konventionellen Endverbraucherindustrien wie Verpackung, Landwirtschaft und Textil. Die Verwendung von biologisch abbaubaren Kunststoffen, insbesondere in den europäischen Ländern, nimmt auch in anderen Nischensegmenten wie medizinischen Implantaten und Arzneimittelverabreichungssystemen usw. zu. Diese Faktoren treiben das Wachstum des Gesamtmarktes voran.
Biodegradable Plastic Packaging Solutions Market Growth Rate

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der Markt für biologisch abbaubare Kunststoffverpackungen ist stark fragmentiert, da sich die Global Player auf die Entwicklung neuer Technologien zur Herstellung von Kunststoffverpackungsmaterial aus verschiedenen leicht verfügbaren natürlichen Ressourcen zubewegen. Die großen Investitionen der Akteure in Forschung und Entwicklung, um innovative Produkte zu entwickeln, erzeugen einen hohen Wettbewerb auf dem Markt. Die Hauptakteure sind Tetra Pak International SA, Plastic Suppliers Inc., Kruger Inc. usw. Die jüngsten Entwicklungen auf dem Markt sind wie folgt:

  • Januar 2019 – KFC aus Plano, Texas, kündigte eine neue globale Nachhaltigkeitsverpflichtung an, wonach alle verbraucherorientierten Verpackungen auf Kunststoffbasis bis 2025 verwertbar oder wiederverwendbar sein werden. KFC sagt, dass das Ziel seinen langfristigen Plan zur Umsetzung einer nachhaltigeren Verpackungsstrategie unterstützt seine Restaurants, indem es sowohl nachhaltige Verpackungsoptionen entwickelt und verwendet als auch auf den in einigen Märkten bereits erzielten Fortschritten bei der Abschaffung von Kunststoffverpackungen aufbaut.

 

Hauptakteure

  1. Tetra Pak International SA

  2. Plastic Suppliers Inc.

  3. Krüger Inc.

  4. Amcor Limited

  5. Mondi PLC

Tetra Pak International SA, Plastic Suppliers Inc., Kruger Inc., Amcor Limited, Mondi PLC

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Deliverables

    2. 1.2 Study Assumptions

    3. 1.3 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Introduction to Market Drivers and Restraints

    3. 4.3 Market Drivers

      1. 4.3.1 Growing Environmental Concerns Regarding Plastic Pollution

      2. 4.3.2 Stringent Regulations by Various Government and Federal Agencies

    4. 4.4 Market Restraints

      1. 4.4.1 High Costs Compared to Normal Plastic

    5. 4.5 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    6. 4.6 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Force Analysis

      1. 4.6.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.6.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.6.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.6.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.6.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Type

      1. 5.1.1 Starch Based plastic

      2. 5.1.2 Cellulose Based Plastics

      3. 5.1.3 Polylactic Acid (PLA)

      4. 5.1.4 Polyhydroxyalkanoates (PHA)

      5. 5.1.5 Other Plastic Types

    2. 5.2 By Application

      1. 5.2.1 Food

      2. 5.2.2 Beverage

      3. 5.2.3 Pharmaceutical

      4. 5.2.4 Personal/Homecare

      5. 5.2.5 Other Applications

    3. 5.3 Geography

      1. 5.3.1 North America

      2. 5.3.2 Europe

      3. 5.3.3 Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.3.4 Latin America

      5. 5.3.5 Middle East & Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 Tetra Pak International SA

      2. 6.1.2 Plastic Suppliers Inc.

      3. 6.1.3 Kruger Inc.

      4. 6.1.4 Amcor PLC

      5. 6.1.5 Mondi PLC

      6. 6.1.6 International Paper Company

      7. 6.1.7 Smurfit Kappa Group PLC

      8. 6.1.8 DS Smith PLC

      9. 6.1.9 Klabin SA

      10. 6.1.10 Rengo Co. Ltd

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  8. 8. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Subject to Availability
You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Der Markt für biologisch abbaubare Kunststoffverpackungen wird von 2018 bis 2026 untersucht.

Der Markt für biologisch abbaubare Kunststoffverpackungen wächst in den nächsten 5 Jahren mit einer CAGR von 20,7 %.

Europa wächst von 2021 bis 2026 mit der höchsten CAGR.

Nordamerika hält 2021 den höchsten Anteil.

Tetra Pak International SA, Plastic Suppliers Inc., Kruger Inc., Amcor Limited und Mondi PLC sind die wichtigsten Unternehmen, die auf dem Markt für biologisch abbaubare Kunststoffverpackungen tätig sind.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Biodegradable Plastic Packaging Market Size & Share Analysis - Growth Trends & Forecasts (2024 - 2029)

The Report Covers Global Biodegradable Plastic Packaging Market Size & Industry Growth and it is Segmented by Type (Starch Based Plastic, Cellulose Based Plastics, Polylactic Acid, and Polyhydroxyalkanoates), Application (Food, Beverage, Pharmaceutical, and Personal/Homecare), and Geography.

Biodegradable Plastic Packaging Market Size

Single User License

$4750

Team License

$5250

Corporate License

$8750

Book before:
Biodegradable Plastic Packaging Market Size
Study Period 2019 - 2029
Base Year For Estimation 2023
CAGR 20.70 %
Fastest Growing Market Europe
Largest Market North America
Market Concentration Low

Major Players

Biodegradable Plastic Packaging Market

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

setting-icon

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Single User License

$4750

Team License

$5250

Corporate License

$8750

Book before:

Biodegradable Plastic Packaging Market Analysis

The biodegradable plastic packaging market was valued at USD 2.77 billion in 2020 and expected to reach USD 8.53 billion by 2026 and grow at a CAGR of 20.7% over the forecast period (2021 - 2026).

  • The increasing environmental concerns regarding plastic usage (as plastics contain toxic pollutants that harm plants, animals, and people) are driving the use of biodegradable plastic alternatives. Floating plastic waste that survives thousands of years in water can serve as a transportation device for invasive species that disrupt habitats. This aforementioned factor is contributing to the growth of the market.
  • The stringent regulations by various governments and federal agencies with an objective to reduce plastic waste and promote biodegradable plastics usage in packaging are boosting the demand of this market. The regulations related to green packaging is increasing. As a result, various FMCG companies are required to adopt biodegradable packaging to comply with the standards, which in turn, is propelling the growth of this market.
  • However, high costs (compared to normal plastic) are restraining the growth of the market, as biodegradable plastic is made from plants' starch and its decomposition needs specific conditions, like temperature, bacteria, humidity, etc. (which may not be available in most of the dump yards and landfills).

Biodegradable Plastic Packaging Market Trends

This section covers the major market trends shaping the Biodegradable Plastic Packaging Market according to our research experts:

Use of Bioplastics is Stimulating the Market Growth

  • The overarching problem of climate change and the expected future shortage of fossil resources have accelerated the search for better concepts for plastics packaging. Bioplastics packaging offers the same qualities as conventional packaging. It also offers greater sustainability. 
  • There is a high demand for bioplastic packaging for wrapping organic food, as well as premium and branded products with specific requirements. A combination of recycling components from conventional plastics, such as rPET with bioplastics (bio-based PET), provides high-performance processing of bioplastics packaging. Biodegradable food packaging, certified as industrially compostable, was the first successfully commercialized bioplastic product. 
  •  Bioplastic's applications are increasing for cosmetics packaging of compact powders, creams, and lipsticks, as well as beverage bottles. The materials, such as PLA, bio-based PE, or bio-based PET, are used in this section. The high percentage of bio-based material in these products, as well as the ability to combine them with recyclates from conventional PE and PET, resulted in a decisive increase in resource efficiency and the reduction of CO2 emissions. These factors are expected to boost the market's growth in the future.
  • The retailers in Europe, such as Rossmann, Aldi, Coop, and Carrefour, use single or multi-use carrier bags made from bioplastics, with the add-on bonus of biodegradability. The certified biodegradable/compostable cups are also used at big events, or in major football stadiums throughout Europe.
Biodegradable Plastic Packaging Market Trends

Europe is Expected to Witness a Significant Growth Rate Over the Forecast Period

  • The transition to a low-carbon and circular economy, stronger policy support for the bioeconomy, and increased consumer awareness for sustainable products and packaging are driving the expansion of the market in Europe.
  • The European Union’s decision to reduce the overall consumption of thin plastic bags in the region by about 80% by 2019, compared to the consumption levels in 2010, is expected to create huge growth opportunities for the manufacturers of biodegradable plastics in the next five years. 
  • The demand for biodegradable plastics is witnessing a significant rise from conventional end-user industries, such as packaging, agriculture, and textile. The use of biodegradable plastics, especially in the European countries, is also increasing in other niche segments, such as medical implants and drug delivery systems, etc. these factors are driving the overall market's growth.
Biodegradable Plastic Packaging Market Growth

Biodegradable Plastic Packaging Industry Overview

The biodegradable plastic packaging marketis highly fragmented, as the global players are moving toward developing new technologies to manufacture plastic packaging material from various easily available natural resources. The major investments in research and development by the players, in order to developinnovative products, aregenerating high competitions in the market. The key players are Tetra Pak International SA, Plastic Suppliers Inc., Kruger Inc.,etc. The recent developments in the market are as follows -

  • January 2019 - KFC of Plano, Texas,announced a new global sustainability commitment that all plastic-based consumer-facing packaging will be recoverable or reusable by 2025. KFC says the goal supports its long-term plan to implement a more sustainable packaging strategy in its restaurants by both developing and using sustainable packaging options, as well as buildingon the progress already made in some markets to eliminate plastic packaging items.

Biodegradable Plastic Packaging Market Leaders

  1. Tetra Pak International SA

  2. Plastic Suppliers Inc.

  3. Kruger Inc.

  4. Amcor Limited

  5. Mondi PLC

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

e Tetra Pak International SA, Plastic Suppliers Inc., Kruger Inc
Need More Details on Market Players and Competitors?
Download Sample

Biodegradable Plastic Packaging Market Report - Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Deliverables

    2. 1.2 Study Assumptions

    3. 1.3 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Introduction to Market Drivers and Restraints

    3. 4.3 Market Drivers

      1. 4.3.1 Growing Environmental Concerns Regarding Plastic Pollution

      2. 4.3.2 Stringent Regulations by Various Government and Federal Agencies

    4. 4.4 Market Restraints

      1. 4.4.1 High Costs Compared to Normal Plastic

    5. 4.5 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    6. 4.6 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Force Analysis

      1. 4.6.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.6.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.6.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.6.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.6.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Type

      1. 5.1.1 Starch Based plastic

      2. 5.1.2 Cellulose Based Plastics

      3. 5.1.3 Polylactic Acid (PLA)

      4. 5.1.4 Polyhydroxyalkanoates (PHA)

      5. 5.1.5 Other Plastic Types

    2. 5.2 By Application

      1. 5.2.1 Food

      2. 5.2.2 Beverage

      3. 5.2.3 Pharmaceutical

      4. 5.2.4 Personal/Homecare

      5. 5.2.5 Other Applications

    3. 5.3 Geography

      1. 5.3.1 North America

      2. 5.3.2 Europe

      3. 5.3.3 Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.3.4 Latin America

      5. 5.3.5 Middle East & Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 Tetra Pak International SA

      2. 6.1.2 Plastic Suppliers Inc.

      3. 6.1.3 Kruger Inc.

      4. 6.1.4 Amcor PLC

      5. 6.1.5 Mondi PLC

      6. 6.1.6 International Paper Company

      7. 6.1.7 Smurfit Kappa Group PLC

      8. 6.1.8 DS Smith PLC

      9. 6.1.9 Klabin SA

      10. 6.1.10 Rengo Co. Ltd

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  8. 8. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Subject to Availability
You Can Purchase Parts Of This Report. Check Out Prices For Specific Sections
Get Price Break-up Now

Biodegradable Plastic Packaging Industry Segmentation

The biodegradable plastics are very much used in the packaging industry, as they are eco-friendly. With the increasing crude oil prices and the issues related to petroleum-based plastics (such as disposal and efficient waste management), the use of biodegradable plastic as an alternative (in various applications, like FMCG, hospital, and manufacturing) is increasing. This aforementioned factor is driving the market's growth.  

By Type
Starch Based plastic
Cellulose Based Plastics
Polylactic Acid (PLA)
Polyhydroxyalkanoates (PHA)
Other Plastic Types
By Application
Food
Beverage
Pharmaceutical
Personal/Homecare
Other Applications
Geography
North America
Europe
Asia-Pacific
Latin America
Middle East & Africa
Need A Different Region Or Segment?
Customize Now

Biodegradable Plastic Packaging Market Research FAQs

The Biodegradable Plastic Packaging Market is projected to register a CAGR of 20.70% during the forecast period (2024-2029)

Tetra Pak International SA, Plastic Suppliers Inc., Kruger Inc., Amcor Limited and Mondi PLC are the major companies operating in the Biodegradable Plastic Packaging Market.

Europe is estimated to grow at the highest CAGR over the forecast period (2024-2029).

In 2024, the North America accounts for the largest market share in Biodegradable Plastic Packaging Market.

The report covers the Biodegradable Plastic Packaging Market historical market size for years: 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022 and 2023. The report also forecasts the Biodegradable Plastic Packaging Market size for years: 2024, 2025, 2026, 2027, 2028 and 2029.

Biodegradable Plastic Packaging Industry Report

Statistics for the 2024 Biodegradable Plastic Packaging market share, size and revenue growth rate, created by Mordor Intelligence™ Industry Reports. Biodegradable Plastic Packaging analysis includes a market forecast outlook to 2029 and historical overview. Get a sample of this industry analysis as a free report PDF download.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Biodegradable Plastic Packaging Market Size & Share Analysis - Growth Trends & Forecasts (2024 - 2029)