Marché des produits agrochimiques en Amérique du Nord – Croissance, tendances, impacts et prévisions du COVID-19 (2022-2027)

Le marché nord-américain des produits agrochimiques est segmenté par type (engrais, pesticides, adjuvants et régulateurs de croissance des plantes), application (grains et céréales, légumineuses et oléagineux, fruits et légumes, gazons et plantes ornementales et autres applications) et géographie (États-Unis). , Canada, Mexique et reste de l'Amérique du Nord). Le rapport propose une estimation du marché et des prévisions du marché nord-américain des produits agrochimiques en valeur (en millions USD) pour les segments mentionnés ci-dessus.

Aperçu du marché

North America Agrochemical Market
Study Period: 2017-2027
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 4.1 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Aperçu du marché

Le marché agrochimique nord-américain devrait enregistrer un TCAC de 4,1 % au cours de la période de prévision (2022-2027).

En raison de l'émergence de la pandémie de COVID-19, il y a eu une perturbation de la chaîne d'approvisionnement car le secteur agricole a dû faire face à l'indisponibilité de la main-d'œuvre, aux obstacles au transport, à la restriction de l'accès au marché et au manque de stocks dans certaines régions. De nombreux fabricants d'engrais et de pesticides ont rencontré des problèmes en raison d'un manque de disponibilité des matières premières, ce qui a entraîné la réduction de la fabrication de divers produits agrochimiques. Ainsi, le COVID-19 a eu un impact négatif sur le marché nord-américain des produits agrochimiques.

À moyen-long terme, l'évolution des techniques de production et la nécessité d'augmenter la productivité dynamiseraient le marché. Il est nécessaire non seulement d'augmenter la production pour répondre à la demande, mais aussi de veiller à ce que les besoins nutritionnels d'une population de plus en plus aisée soient satisfaits. L'application de produits agrochimiques était devenue essentielle pour stimuler la production dans un contexte de diminution des terres arables et de pertes de récoltes dues aux attaques de ravageurs entraînant un gaspillage.

L'industrie agrochimique de la région s'est transformée au fil des ans, avec une croissance robuste, associée à l'évolution des tendances des mélanges de cultures et des réglementations environnementales. La réglementation joue un rôle important dans ce secteur, ce qui a entraîné l'émergence de méthodes de production innovantes et respectueuses de l'environnement sur le marché de l'agrochimie.

Les États-Unis détiennent la plus grande partie du marché. Selon la FAO, l'utilisation agricole des engrais azotés aux États-Unis est passée de 11 581,7 milliers de tonnes métriques en 2017 à 11 672,4 milliers de tonnes métriques en 2019. tandis que l'utilisation agricole des pesticides s'élevait à 407 779 tonnes métriques en 2019 et est restée stable au cours de la dernière quelques années. Parallèlement à la demande croissante d'aliments nutritionnels, le besoin d'améliorer la production et la productivité est apparu. Cela obligerait essentiellement les agriculteurs à appliquer des engrais et des pesticides pour éviter les pertes de récoltes.

Le marché se caractérise par des acteurs majeurs qui renforcent leur part de marché grâce à des lancements de produits uniques pour répondre aux problèmes rencontrés par les agriculteurs. Par exemple, en 2021, BASF Canada Agricultural Solutions (BASF) a reçu l'élargissement de l'étiquette de l'ARLA de Santé Canada pour Serifel. Serifel est maintenant approuvé pour une utilisation sur une gamme de fruits, de légumes à feuilles, de racines et de cucurbitacées, et de baies, qui étaient auparavant homologués pour une utilisation dans le ciblage de l'oïdium et du botrytis dans les raisins.

Scope of the report

According to the OECD, agrochemicals are commercially produced, usually synthetic, chemical compounds used in farming, such as fertilizers, pesticides, or soil conditioners. Corporations in the agrochemical industry operate in B2B and B2C business formats. To eliminate any double-count errors in market estimations, bulk buyers procuring agrochemicals for retail sale after value-addition through further processing are not considered a part of the agrochemical market. 

The North American Agrochemicals Market is segmented by Type ( Fertilizers, Pesticides, Adjuvants, and Plant Growth Regulators), Application (Grains and Cereals, Pulses and Oilseeds, Fruits and Vegetables, Turfs and Ornamentals, and Other Applications), and Geography ( United States, Canada, Mexico, and the Rest of North America). The report offers market estimation and forecast of the North American agrochemicals market in value(USD million) for the above-mentioned segments

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Principales tendances du marché

Adoption rapide des produits agrochimiques biosourcés

Bien que la prévalence des pesticides synthétiques ou chimiques se poursuive dans la région, une préférence croissante pour les pesticides biologiques a été observée ces dernières années, principalement en raison de la rapidité de l'adoption de pratiques agricoles durables, telles que les techniques de lutte intégrée contre les ravageurs (IPM) et l'agriculture biologique. . Les produits agrochimiques biosourcés qui peuvent non seulement améliorer le rendement, mais aussi influer positivement sur la qualité et le calibre de la récolte dans les cultures spécialisées, ainsi que sur la durée de conservation et la qualité nutritionnelle, suscitent un intérêt croissant.

Selon l'USDA, dans l'enquête biologique de 2019, il y avait 16 585 fermes certifiées biologiques, soit une augmentation de 17 % par rapport à 2016, qui représentaient 5,5 millions d'acres certifiés, soit une augmentation de 9 % par rapport à 2016. Les terres agricoles biologiques sont passées de 3,13 hectares à 3,65. hectares, à mesure que les terres agricoles augmentent, les ventes de produits biologiques certifiés ont augmenté. Les fermes et les ranchs américains ont vendu près de 7,60 milliards USD de produits biologiques certifiés en 2019. Plus loin au Canada, la superficie des terres agricoles biologiques est passée de 1,19 million d'hectares en 2017 à 1,42 million d'hectares d'ici 2020 selon l'Institut de recherche de l'agriculture biologique (FiBL).

L'un des principaux moteurs du marché des biopesticides est l'augmentation des investissements en R&D puisque les grandes entreprises agrochimiques augmentent leurs investissements dans la recherche et le développement de solutions biologiques nouvelles et améliorées. Par exemple, Seipasa, une entreprise espagnole spécialisée dans le développement et la fabrication de biopesticides, de biostimulants et d'engrais pour l'agriculture, a reçu l'autorisation d'enregistrer 3 nouveaux produits phytosanitaires au Mexique en 2020. Les produits enregistrés comprennent Pirecris (bioinsecticide), Seipa System (biofongicide ) et Seican (produit à action triple mode).

Par conséquent, un taux d'adoption rapide de l'agriculture biologique, ainsi qu'une participation active des acteurs à l'introduction de nouveaux produits, devraient stimuler le marché global des produits agrochimiques au cours de la période de prévision .

North America Agrochemicals Market

Les États-Unis dominent le marché

Selon une étude menée par le Département de l'agriculture des États-Unis , conformément à l'Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), le chlorpyrifos et l'acéphate sont les ingrédients actifs pesticides les plus couramment utilisés dans le secteur agricole du pays.

Actuellement, le maïs, le soja, le blé et le coton représentent la plus grande utilisation de produits agrochimiques sur le marché américain. Comme indiqué par la FAO, le rendement du soja est passé de 31 875 kg/ha en 2019 à 33 785 kg/ha en 2020. Selon le Service national des statistiques agricoles (NASS), environ 96 % de la récolte de soja est cultivée dans les États du centre-ouest de la de campagne. 

Le Montana est une zone de culture majeure dans la région ouest du pays, avec un maximum de terres consacrées à la culture du blé. Selon le NASS, l'utilisation de la potasse dans la culture du blé est passée de 40 livres/acre en 2017 à 46 livres/acre en 2019. Cela indique l'utilisation intensive de produits agrochimiques, proposant une activité lucrative dans la région concernée.

Ainsi, en tant que premier producteur de maïs, de soja et de blé, le pays est également un grand consommateur d'engrais. Cependant, avec une technologie et une innovation accrues pour les produits à la ferme, l'utilisation d'engrais aux États-Unis devrait être optimisée au cours des prochaines années.  

North America Agrochemicals Market

Paysage concurrentiel

Le marché agrochimique nord-américain est un marché hautement consolidé, les principaux acteurs représentant une part importante du marché en 2021. Des entreprises telles que Archer Daniels Midland Company (ADM), BASF SE, Bayer CropScience AG, Syngenta AG, Yara International ASA , Corteva Agriscience et FMC Corporation sont les principaux acteurs du marché. Ces acteurs du marché se font concurrence pour détenir une part constante du marché grâce à diverses stratégies telles que les fusions et acquisitions, les partenariats, les expansions et les lancements de produits.

Principaux acteurs

  1. Bayer AG

  2. Corteva Agriscience

  3. BASF SE

  4. Archer Daniels Midland Company (ADM)

  5. Yara International ASA

North America Agrochemical Market  _ CL.PNG

Paysage concurrentiel

Le marché agrochimique nord-américain est un marché hautement consolidé, les principaux acteurs représentant une part importante du marché en 2021. Des entreprises telles que Archer Daniels Midland Company (ADM), BASF SE, Bayer CropScience AG, Syngenta AG, Yara International ASA , Corteva Agriscience et FMC Corporation sont les principaux acteurs du marché. Ces acteurs du marché se font concurrence pour détenir une part constante du marché grâce à diverses stratégies telles que les fusions et acquisitions, les partenariats, les expansions et les lancements de produits.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Hypothèses de l'étude et définition du marché

      1. 1.2 Portée de l'étude

      2. 2. MÉTHODOLOGIE DE RECHERCHE

        1. 3. RÉSUMÉ

          1. 4. DYNAMIQUE DU MARCHÉ

            1. 4.1 Aperçu du marché

              1. 4.2 Facteurs de marché

                1. 4.3 Contraintes du marché

                  1. 4.4 Attractivité de l'industrie - Analyse des cinq forces de Porter

                    1. 4.4.1 Pouvoir de négociation des fournisseurs

                      1. 4.4.2 Pouvoir de négociation des acheteurs/consommateurs

                        1. 4.4.3 Menace des produits de substitution

                          1. 4.4.4 La menace de nouveaux participants

                            1. 4.4.5 Intensité Compétitivité Rivalité

                          2. 5. SEGMENTATION DU MARCHÉ

                            1. 5.1 Taper

                              1. 5.1.1 Les engrais

                                1. 5.1.2 Pesticides

                                  1. 5.1.3 Adjuvants

                                    1. 5.1.4 Régulateurs de croissance des plantes

                                    2. 5.2 Application

                                      1. 5.2.1 Grains et Céréales

                                        1. 5.2.2 Légumineuses et graines oléagineuses

                                          1. 5.2.3 Fruits et légumes

                                            1. 5.2.4 Gazon et plantes ornementales

                                              1. 5.2.5 Les autres

                                              2. 5.3 Géographie

                                                1. 5.3.1 Amérique du Nord

                                                  1. 5.3.1.1 États-Unis

                                                    1. 5.3.1.2 Canada

                                                      1. 5.3.1.3 Mexique

                                                        1. 5.3.1.4 Reste de l'Amérique du Nord

                                                    2. 6. PAYSAGE CONCURRENTIEL

                                                      1. 6.1 Stratégies les plus adoptées

                                                        1. 6.2 Analyse des parts de marché

                                                          1. 6.3 Profils d'entreprise

                                                            1. 6.3.1 UPL limitée

                                                              1. 6.3.2 Bayer Cropscience SA

                                                                1. 6.3.3 BASF SE

                                                                  1. 6.3.4 Corteva Agriscience

                                                                    1. 6.3.5 Compagnie Archer Daniels Midland (ADM)

                                                                      1. 6.3.6 Société FMC

                                                                        1. 6.3.7 Adama Solutions Agricoles

                                                                          1. 6.3.8 Entreprise Gowan

                                                                            1. 6.3.9 Nufarm Ltd

                                                                              1. 6.3.10 Syngenta SA

                                                                                1. 6.3.11 Yara International ASA

                                                                              2. 7. OPPORTUNITÉS DE MARCHÉ ET TENDANCES FUTURES

                                                                                1. 8. UNE ÉVALUATION DE L'IMPACT DU COVID 19 SUR LE MARCHÉ

                                                                                  You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

                                                                                  Frequently Asked Questions

                                                                                  Le marché du marché nord-américain des produits agrochimiques est étudié de 2017 à 2027.

                                                                                  Le marché nord-américain des produits agrochimiques croît à un TCAC de 4,1 % au cours des 5 prochaines années.

                                                                                  Bayer AG, Corteva Agriscience, BASF SE, Archer Daniels Midland Company (ADM), Yara International ASA sont les principales entreprises opérant sur le marché nord-américain des produits agrochimiques.

                                                                                  80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

                                                                                  Please enter a valid email id!

                                                                                  Please enter a valid message!

North America Agrochemicals Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impacts, and Forecasts (2022 - 2027)

The North American Agrochemicals Market is segmented by Type ( Fertilizers, Pesticides, Adjuvants, and Plant Growth Regulators), Application (Grains and Cereals, Pulses and Oilseeds, Fruits and Vegetables, Turfs and Ornamentals, and Other Applications), and Geography ( United States, Canada, Mexico, and Rest of North America). The report offers market estimation and forecast of the North American agrochemicals market in value (USD million) for the above-mentioned segments.

Market Snapshot

North America Agrochemical Market
Study Period: 2017-2027
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 4.1 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The North American agrochemical market is projected to register a CAGR of 4.1% during the forecast period (2022-2027).

Due to the emergence of the COVID-19 pandemic, there has been a supply chain disruption as the agricultural sector had to face labor unavailability, transportation barriers, restriction on market access, and a lack of inventories in some regions. Many fertilizer and pesticide manufacturers have faced issues due to a lack of raw material availability, which has led to the reduction of various agrochemical product manufacturing. Thus, COVID-19 has caused a negative impact on the North American agrochemicals market.

Over the medium-long term, the changing production techniques and the need for increasing productivity would drive the market. There is a need not just to increase production to meet demand but also to ensure that the nutritional needs of an increasingly affluent population are met. Application of agrochemicals had become critical to boosting production amid shrinking arable land and loss of crops due to pest attacks, leading to wastage.

The agrochemicals industry in the region has been transforming over the years, with robust growth, coupled with changing crop mix trends and environmental regulations. Regulation plays an important role in this sector, which has resulted in the emergence of innovative eco-friendly production methods in the agrochemical market.

The United States holds the larger chunk of the market. According to the FAO, the agricultural use of nitrogen fertilizers in the United States increased from 11,581.7 thousand metric ton in 2017 to 11,672.4 thousand metric ton in 2019. Agriculture use of pesticides stood at 407,779 metric ton in 2019 and has remained stable over the past few years. Alongside the growing demand for nutritional food, the need for enhancing production and productivity has arisen. This would essentially compel farmers to apply fertilizer and pesticides to avoid crop loss.

The market is characterized by major players strengthening the market share through unique product launches to cater to the problems dealt with by farmers. For instance, in 2021, BASF Canada Agricultural Solutions (BASF) received Health Canada PMRA label expansion for Serifel. Serifel is now approved for use on a range of fruit, leafy, root, cucurbit vegetables, and berries, which was previously registered for use in targeting powdery mildew and botrytis in grapes.

Scope of the Report

According to the OECD, agrochemicals are commercially produced, usually synthetic, chemical compounds used in farming, such as fertilizers, pesticides, or soil conditioners. Corporations in the agrochemical industry operate in B2B and B2C business formats. To eliminate any double-count errors in market estimations, bulk buyers procuring agrochemicals for retail sale after value-addition through further processing are not considered a part of the agrochemical market.

The North American Agrochemicals Market is segmented by Type ( Fertilizers, Pesticides, Adjuvants, and Plant Growth Regulators), Application (Grains and Cereals, Pulses and Oilseeds, Fruits and Vegetables, Turfs and Ornamentals, and Other Applications), and Geography (United States, Canada, Mexico, and the Rest of North America). The report offers market estimation and forecast of the North American agrochemicals market in value(USD million) for the above-mentioned segments.

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Rapid Adoption of Bio-based Agrochemicals

Although the prevalence of synthetic or chemical pesticides continues in the region, an emerging preference for biological pesticides has been observed in recent years, primarily due to the rapid adoption of sustainable agricultural practices, such as integrated pest management (IPM) techniques and organic farming. Bio-based agrochemical products that can improve yield and positively affect harvest grade and sizing in specialty crops, along with shelf life and nutritional quality, are gaining interest.

According to the USDA, in the 2019 Organic survey, there were 16,585 certified organic farms, a 17% increase from 2016, which accounted for 5.5 million certified acres, an increase of 9% over 2016. The organic farmland increased from 3.13 hectares to 3.65 hectares. As the farmland increased, the sales of certified organic products increased. US farms and ranches sold nearly USD 7.60 billion in certified organic goods in 2019. Further, Canada's area under organic farmland increased from 1.19 million hectares in 2017 to 1.42 million hectares by 2020, according to the Research Institute of Organica Agriculture(FiBL).

One of the key factors driving the biopesticides market is greater investment in R&D since the major agrochemical companies are increasing their investments in the research and development of new and improved biological solutions. For instance, Seipasa, a Spanish company specializing in developing and manufacturing biopesticides, biostimulants, and fertilizers for agriculture, received approval to register three new phytosanitary products in Mexico in 2020. The products registered include Pirecris (bioinsecticide), Seipa System (biofungicide), and Seican (triple mode action product).

Therefore, a rapid rate of adoption of organic farming, along with the active participation of the players in introducing new products, is expected to drive the overall agrochemicals market during the forecast period.

North America Agrochemicals Market

The United States Dominates the Market

According to a study conducted by the United States Department of Agriculture, in accordance with Environmental Protection Agency(EPA), chlorpyrifos and acephate are the most commonly used pesticide active ingredients in the country's agricultural sector.

Currently, corn, soybeans, wheat, and cotton account for the largest use of agrochemicals in the US market. As reported by FAO, soybean yield increased from 31,875 kg/ha in 2019 to 33,785 kg/ha in 2020. According to National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS), about 96% of the soybean crop is grown in the mid-west states of the country.

Montana is one major crop growing area in the western region of the country, with maximum land contributed to wheat cultivation. As per NASS, the use of potash in wheat cultivation increased from 40lbs/acre in 2017 to 46lbs/acre in 2019. This indicates the extensive use of agrochemicals, proposing a lucrative in the concerned region.

Thus, as a leading producer of corn, soybeans, and wheat, the country is also a large consumer of fertilizer. However, with increased technology and innovation for on-farm products, the use of fertilizer in the United States is anticipated to be optimized over the coming years.

North America Agrochemicals Market

Competitive Landscape

The North American agrochemical market is a highly consolidated market, with the major players accounting for a major share in the market in 2021. Companies such as Archer Daniels Midland Company (ADM), BASF SE, Bayer CropScience AG, Syngenta AG, Yara International ASA, Corteva Agriscience, and FMC Corporation are the major players in the market. These players compete to hold a consistent share in the market through various strategies such as mergers and acquisitions, partnerships, expansions, and product launches.

Recent Developments

In August 2021, Corteva launched two new herbicide products, Resicore XL and Lumiderm. The product Resicore XL is a herbicide that features three active ingredients/modes of action – acetochlor, mesotrione, and clopyralid. It is a propellant, pre-, and postemergence corn herbicide that will offer increased crop safety and application flexibility on corn greater than 11-inches tall. The Lumiderm contains the active ingredient cyantraniliprole and shields soybean seedlings against insect species.

In May 2021, Corteva Agriscience and BASF Canada Agricultural Solutions (BASF) partnered toward a joint approach to weed control by recommending the combined use of Liberty 200 SN and Enlist herbicides on Enlist E3TM soybean acres. This partnership will increase the use of herbicides, thereby expanding the market for agrochemicals.

In August 2020, FMC and Zymergen collaborated to focus on creating breakthrough crop protection solutions. FMC and Zymergen will develop a new and faster natural products discovery process that leads to the development of novel crop protection solutions for growers around the world.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

    4. 4.4 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Threat of Substitute Products

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of New Entrants

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Type

      1. 5.1.1 Fertilizers

      2. 5.1.2 Pesticides

      3. 5.1.3 Adjuvants

      4. 5.1.4 Plant Growth Regulators

    2. 5.2 Application

      1. 5.2.1 Grains and Cereals

      2. 5.2.2 Pulses and Oilseeds

      3. 5.2.3 Fruits and Vegetables

      4. 5.2.4 Turf and Ornamentals

      5. 5.2.5 Other Applications

    3. 5.3 Geography

      1. 5.3.1 North America

        1. 5.3.1.1 United States

        2. 5.3.1.2 Canada

        3. 5.3.1.3 Mexico

        4. 5.3.1.4 Rest of North America

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Most Adopted Strategies

    2. 6.2 Market Share Analysis

    3. 6.3 Company Profiles

      1. 6.3.1 UPL Limited

      2. 6.3.2 Bayer Cropscience AG

      3. 6.3.3 BASF SE

      4. 6.3.4 Corteva Agriscience

      5. 6.3.5 Archer Daniels Midland Company (ADM)

      6. 6.3.6 FMC Corporation

      7. 6.3.7 Adama Agricultural Solutions

      8. 6.3.8 Gowan Company

      9. 6.3.9 Nufarm Ltd

      10. 6.3.10 Syngenta AG

      11. 6.3.11 Yara International ASA

  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TREND

  8. 8. AN ASSESSMENT OF THE IMPACT OF COVID-19 ON THE MARKET

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The North America Agrochemicals Market market is studied from 2017 - 2027.

The North America Agrochemicals Market is growing at a CAGR of 4.1% over the next 5 years.

Bayer AG, Corteva Agriscience, BASF SE, Archer Daniels Midland Company (ADM), Yara International ASA are the major companies operating in North America Agrochemicals Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!